Virginia Regulatory Town Hall
Department of Labor and Industry
Safety and Health Codes Board
Regulation Concerning Certified Lead Contractors Notification, Lead Project Permits and Permit Fees [16 VAC 25 ‑ 35]
Guidance Documents
Chapter Information
Description This regulation requires all certified lead contractors who engage in lead projects in Virginia with a contract value of $2,000 or more to notify the department in writing at least 20 days before the beginning of the project. The regulation also requires filing of amended notifications prior to changes in or cancellation of lead projects. The regulation does not mandate the abatement of lead from any public or private property. A certified lead contractor who performs lead-related activities in certain residential buildings must provide notification to the department but is not required to pay a permit fee.
State Authority Sections 40.1-22 (5 ) and 40.1-51.20 of the Code of Virginia
Federal Authority Occupational Safety and Health Act of 1970 (P.L. 91-596)
Exempt from APA No, changes to this chapter are subject to the Administrative Process Act.
Text of Regulation Link to Virginia Administrative Code
Goals of Regulation 1. Reduce the incidence of material impairment of health of Virginians due to exposure to lead in the workplace or as an environmental pollutant.

2. Require lead abatement contractors to notify the government of lead projects and pay fees to cover the costs of administering the program.

3. The protection of the public's health, safety, and welfare with the least possible cost and intrusiveness to the citizens and businesses of the Commonwealth
Meetings See all meetings (3) relating to this chapter.

Contact Information
Name / Title: Cristin Bernhardt  / Regulatory Coordinator / Staff Attorney
Address: Main Street Centre
600 East Main Street
Richmond, VA 23219
Email Address:
Telephone: (804)786-2392    FAX: (804)786-2641    TDD: ()-
Current Actions
Action Title Latest Stage Status

Past Actions
Action Title Latest Stage Status
Amends-removes $2,000 minimum contract price provision to file notice with Dept of Labor & Industry Final Stage complete. This regulation became effective on 11/19/2015.
Amendments to Regulation Concerning Certified Lead Contractor Notification, Lead Project Permits, and Permit Fees
Action is Exempt from Article 2 of the Administrative Process Act
Final Stage complete. This regulation became effective on 09/15/2012.

Periodic Reviews
Last Activity Status
10/15/2019 Agency Completed Retain As Is
5/1/2009 Agency Completed Retain As Is
7/16/2004 Agency Completed Retain As Is
7/17/2000 Agency Completed Retain As Is