|Implementation of 2020 legislation for registration of pharmacy technicians
|Ended on 3/4/2022
The regulations, which follow up on legislation enacted in 2020, will drastically reduce the number of pharmacy tech training programs, thereby drastically reducing the pool of trained pharmacy technicians. Responsibility for regulating training programs moves from the Board of Pharmacy to the ASHP beginning in July 2022. After July, pharmacy tech training programs not accredited by ASHP will not be able to train students to become Virginia certified Pharmacy Technicians. Many if not most of the current Board of Nursing approved programs will not be able to attain ASHP certification, due to the costs ($720 plus $2900 PER YEAR annual assessment fee), the length of the program (400 hours!) and the time and expense needed to assemble the required information. The current fee to apply to the Board of Pharmacy is $200.
As of today (Feb 23, 2022), there are just 2 programs accredited by ASHP. There are over one hundred programs approved by the Board of Pharmacy, and a number of applications pending. After July, pharmacy tech students will still need to take and pass either the ExCPT or the PTCB exam, but unless their training program is ASHP accredited, they will not be eligible to become state certified.
If Virginia wonders why there are so few new pharmacy tech students, look no further than the impact of the law and the new regulations. Is anyone on the Board of Pharmacy thinking about this?