Agencies | Governor
Virginia Regulatory Town Hall

Preliminary Draft Text

highlight

Action:
Amend Renewal and Reinstatement Requirements
Stage: NOIRA
4/20/19  8:51 PM

18VAC120-30-100. Fees.

A. All application fees for licenses and registrations are nonrefundable and shall not be prorated. The date of receipt by the department is the date that will be used to determine whether or not the fee is on time.

B. Application and examination fees must be submitted with the application for licensure. All other fees are discussed in greater detail in later sections of this chapter.

C. In the event that a check, money draft, or similar instrument for payment of a fee required by statute or regulation is not honored by the bank or financial institution named, the applicant or regulant shall be required to remit fees sufficient to cover the original fee, plus an additional processing charge set by the department.

D. 1. The following fees listed in the table apply:

 

FEE TYPE

AMOUNT DUE

WHEN DUE

 

Application for Examiner's License

$45

With application

 

Application for Examiner's License by Reciprocity

$95

With application

 

Application for Intern Registration

$75

With application

 

Application for Examiner's License by Examination

$200

With application

 

Reexamination

$200

With approval letter

 

Renewal

$55

Up to one calendar month after the expiration date on license

 

Reinstatement

$75

One to six calendar months after the expiration date on license

2. For renewal fees received on or before June 30, 2020, the fee shall be $20.

Part III
Renewal

18VAC120-30-120. Renewal required.

Licenses issued under this chapter shall expire 12 months from the last day of the month in which the license was issued, as indicated on the license.

18VAC120-30-130. Procedures for renewal.

The department will mail a renewal application form to the licensee at the last known address of department record. Failure to receive this notice shall not relieve the licensee of the obligation to renew. Prior to the expiration date shown on the license, each licensee desiring to renew his license must return to the department all required forms and the appropriate fee as referenced in 18VAC120-30-100.

18VAC120-30-140. Fees for renewal.

Licensees shall be required to renew their license by submitting the proper fee made payable to the Treasurer of Virginia. Any licensee who fails to renew within one calendar month after the license expires, shall be required to apply for reinstatement.

18VAC120-30-150. Department discretion to deny renewal.

The department may deny renewal of a license for the same reasons as it may refuse initial licensure or discipline a licensee. The licensee is entitled to a review of such action. Appeals from such actions shall be in accordance with the provisions of the Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of Virginia).

Failure to timely pay a monetary penalty, reimbursement of cost, or other fee assessed by consent order or final order shall result in delaying or withholding services provided by the department, such as, but not limited to, renewal, reinstatement, processing of a new application, or examination administration.

18VAC120-30-160. Qualifications for renewal.

A. Applicants for renewal of a license shall continue to meet the standards for entry as set forth in subdivisions A 2 through A 5 of 18VAC120-30-40. The board may deny renewal of a license for the same reasons as it may refuse initial issuance or discipline a regulant. The regulant has a right to appeal any such action by the board under the Virginia Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of Virginia).

B. Failure to timely pay any monetary penalty, reimbursement of cost, or other fee assessed by consent order or final order shall result in delaying or withholding services provided by the department, such as, but not limited to, renewal, reinstatement, or processing of a new application; or exam administration.

Part IV
Reinstatement

18VAC120-30-170. Reinstatement required.

A. Any licensee who fails to renew his license within one calendar month after the expiration date on the license shall be required to apply for reinstatement and submit the proper fee referenced in 18VAC120-30-100.

B. Six calendar months after the expiration date on the license, reinstatement is no longer possible. To resume practice as a polygraph examiner, the former licensee must apply as a new applicant for licensure, meeting all then current entry requirements at the time of reapplication, including retaking an examination.

C. Any examiner activity conducted subsequent to the expiration of the license may constitute unlicensed activity and may be subject to prosecution under § 54.1-111 of the Code of Virginia.

18VAC120-30-180. Department discretion to deny reinstatement.

The department may deny reinstatement of a license for the same reasons as it may refuse initial licensure or discipline a licensee.

Failure to timely pay any monetary penalty, reimbursement of cost, or other fee assessed by consent order or final order shall result in delaying or withholding the services provided by the department, such as, but not limited to, renewal, reinstatement, processing of a new application, or examination administration. The regulant has a right to appeal any such action by the board under the Virginia Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of Virginia).

18VAC120-30-190. Status of a license during the period before reinstatement.

A. When a license is reinstated, the licensee shall continue to have the same license number and shall be assigned an expiration date one year from the previous expiration date of the license.

B. A licensee who reinstates his license shall be regarded as having been continually licensed without interruption. Therefore, the licensee shall remain under the disciplinary authority of the department during this entire period. Nothing in this chapter shall divest the department of its authority to discipline a licensee for a violation of the law or regulations during the period of licensure.