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GENERAL COAL MINER

PHOTO ID REQUIRED

Article 3 of the Coal Mine Safety Laws of Virginia establishes requirements for certification of coal
mine workers. The certification requirements are included in §45.1-161.24 through §45.1-161.41 in
which the Board of Coal Mining Examiners is established for the purpose of administering the
certification program. The Board has promulgated certification regulations 4 VAC 25-20,

which set the minimum standards and procedures required for Virginia coal miner examinations and
certifications.

CERTIFICATION CLASSIFICATION: *General Coal Miner
This certification authorizes an individual not previously employed in the Commonwealth as a coal
miner to work at underground and surface coal mines.

APPLICATION/EXPERIENCE REQUIREMENTS:

=  Application (BCME-1) and $20.00 fee 5 working days prior to examination

= Submit Verification of Training Form (BCME-3) signed by instructor and applicant. This
form verifies that training in first aid (2 hours) or Mining Laws of Virginia has been received
(2 hour equivalent of first aid training).

= Gas detection required for underground certification

= One year mining work experience, signed by company official properly notarized and a
current copy of MSHA 5000-23 Annual Retraining or New Miner Inexperienced Training
acceptable

RECOMMENDED REFERENCE/STUDY MATERIALS:
= Coal Mine Safety Laws of Virginia
= BCME Requirements
= First Aid for Miners Study Guide
= General Coal Miner Study materials (handed out in class) (Surface or Underground)

The above mentioned study materials are available at the Department of Mines, Minerals and
Energy’s Big Stone Gap Office, Customer Assistance Center (276) 523-8233 and Keen Mountain
Field Office (276) 498-4533.

*DM will also offer General Miner and gas detection training on Wednesdays at 8:00am at both the Big

Stone Gap and Keen Mountain locations. General Miner applicants will submit an application, $20.00
fee, and verification of current first aid training at this training.
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