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VIRGINIA HEMP PRODUCTS CIVIL PENALTY MATRIX GUIDELINES 

Virginia Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services  

  

Virginia  Hemp Product 

Civil Penalty Matrix  

Guidelines for Enforcement  

  

Revised: November 15, 2024 

  

SECTION 1: AUTHORITY  

Section 3.2-4126 of the Virginia Regulated Hemp Products Law and § 3.2-5145.2:1 of the Virginia Industrial 

Hemp Extract Intended for Human Consumption Law authorizes the Commissioner of Agriculture and Consumer 

Services to assess a civil penalty not to exceed $10,000 for each day certain violations occur.  

  

SECTION 2: DEFINITIONS  

The definitions established in the Virginia Industrial Hemp Law and the Virginia Industrial Hemp Extract Intended 

for Human Consumption Law shall be used to interpret these guidelines unless the context clearly indicates 

otherwise.  Additionally, the following words and terms, when used in these guidelines, shall have the following 

meanings, unless the context clearly indicates otherwise.  

  

"Commissioner" means the Commissioner of the Virginia Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services.  

  

"Department" means the Virginia Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services.  

 

"Edible hemp product" means any hemp product that is or includes an industrial hemp extract, as defined in 

§ 3.2-5145.1, and that is intended to be consumed orally. 

  

"Hearing officer" means an attorney selected from a list maintained by the Executive Secretary of the 

Supreme Court in accordance with § 2.2-4024 of the Code of Virginia.  

 

"Hemp product" means a product, including any raw materials from industrial hemp that are used for or 

added to a food or beverage, that (i) contains industrial hemp and has completed all stages of processing 

needed for the product and (ii) when offered for retail sale (a) contains a total tetrahydrocannabinol 

concentration of no greater than 0.3 percent and (b) contains either no more than two milligrams of total 

tetrahydrocannabinol per package or an amount of cannabidiol that is no less than 25 times greater than the 

amount of total tetrahydrocannabinol per package. 

 

"Hemp product intended for smoking" means any hemp product intended to be consumed by inhalation.  

 

 "Notice of Alleged Violation and Penalty Assessment" means a written notification from the case reviewer 

to the responsible party alleged to have committed a violation of the Virginia Regulated Hemp Products Law 

or the Virginia Industrial Hemp Extract Intended for Human Consumption Law that identifies the specific 

violation committed and indicates the amount of the civil penalty assessed.  

 

"Regulated hemp product" means a hemp product intended for smoking or an edible hemp product. 
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"Responsible party" means the person or business alleged to have violated the Virginia Regulated Hemp 

Products Law or the Virginia Industrial Hemp Extract Intended for Human Consumption Law.  

  

"Virginia Food and Drink Law" means Chapter 51 of Title 3.2 of the Code of Virginia (Va. Code § 3.2-5100 et 

seq.)  

  

"Virginia Industrial Hemp Extract Intended for Human Consumption Law" or "Law (§ 3.2-5145.1 et seq.)" 

means Article 5 (Va. Code §§ 3.2-5145.1 through 3.2-5145.5) of the Virginia Food and Drink Law.  

 

"Virginia Industrial Hemp Law" means Chapter 41.1 of Title 3.2 of the Code of Virginia (Va. Code § 3.2-4112 

et seq.) 

 

"Virginia Regulated Hemp Products Law" or "Law (§ 3.2-4122 et seq.)" means Article 4 (Va. Code §§ 3.2-

4122 through 3.2-4126) of the Virginia Industrial Hemp Law. 

  

SECTION 3: PROVISION FOR CIVIL PENALTIES GENERALLY  

Any responsible party violating any section of the Law (§ 3.2-5145.1 et seq.) or the Law (§ 3.2-4122 et seq.) may 

be assessed a civil penalty by the Department in an amount not to exceed $10,000 for each day of a violation. In 

determining the amount of any civil penalty, the Department shall give due consideration to these guidelines for 

enforcement. Any such civil penalties shall be collected by the Commissioner, and the proceeds shall be payable 

to the State Treasurer.  

  

SECTION 4: PROCEDURE FOR CIVIL PENALTY ASSESSMENT    

A. Witness of Alleged Violation  

A Department employee, upon witness of an alleged violation of the Law (§ 3.2-5145.1 et seq.) or the Law (§ 

3.2-4122 et seq.), shall submit documentation of proof of alleged violation, including all relevant facts, for 

review by a case reviewer designated by the Commissioner.  

  

B. Notice of Alleged Violation and Penalty Assessment  

Upon review of all documentation of proof of the alleged violation, if the case reviewer concurs that an 

alleged violation has occurred, the case reviewer shall send to the responsible party a Notice of Alleged 

Violation and Penalty Assessment, which shall include all documentation of relevant facts, a notice of the 

potential civil penalty assessment, and a proposed consent resolution. The Notice of Alleged Violation and 

Penalty Assessment shall advise the responsible party that he may (i) agree to the violation and civil penalty 

assessment; sign a consent resolution; waive his rights to an informal fact finding conference pursuant to § 

2.2-4019 of the Code of Virginia (Code); and pay the civil penalty, which shall be due within 30 days, or (ii) 

request an informal fact finding conference pursuant to § 2.2-4019 of the Code by the date stated in the 

Notice of Alleged Violation and Penalty Assessment.  

  

C. Informal Fact Finding Conference  

The responsible party shall have an opportunity to request an informal fact-finding conference. If the 

responsible party desires an informal fact-finding conference, he shall request such by the date stated in the 

Notice of Alleged Violation and Penalty Assessment, which shall be at least 14 days after the date of the 

Notice of Alleged Violation and Penalty Assessment. The Commissioner shall designate Department staff to 

hold an informal fact-finding conference pursuant to § 2.2-4019 of the Code, render a case decision, and 

assess a civil penalty after considering the demonstrated good faith of the responsible party in attempting to 



    

  

3 of 6  

  
VIRGINIA HEMP PRODUCTS CIVIL PENALTY MATRIX GUIDELINES 

achieve compliance after receipt of the Notice of Alleged Violation and Penalty Assessment. Following the 

informal fact-finding conference, the Department shall send to the responsible party the case decision, 

including the fact basis for the case decision, and the civil penalty assessed.  

  

D. Formal Hearing  

The responsible party may appeal a case decision to the Commissioner pursuant to § 2.2-4020 of the Code. If 

the responsible party intends to appeal the case decision, he shall notify the Commissioner in writing by the 

date stated in the case decision, which shall be at least 14 days after the date of the case decision. The 

Commissioner shall arrange for a hearing officer and location of the formal hearing. The hearing officer shall 

hear the relevant information about the case, consider the facts of all violations identified in the case, and 

evaluate the civil penalty assessed. The hearing officer shall transmit his findings and recommendations to 

the Commissioner as required in § 2.2-4024(D) of the Code. The Commissioner shall consider the findings 

and recommendations of the hearing officer and render a case decision within the timeframe established in 

§ 2.2-4021(C) of the Code.  

  

SECTION 5: ASSESSMENT OF SEPARATE VIOLATIONS  

Each violation shall be assessed separately for the purpose of determining the total civil penalty assessment. 

Each product is subject to a separate violation and penalty. In cases of continued violation, a civil penalty may be 

assessed separately for each day the violation occurs beginning with the date of the Notice of Alleged Violation 

and Penalty Assessment and ending with the date of correction of the violation.   

 

SECTION 6: DETERMINATION OF CIVIL PENALTY  

The following matrix will be used to determine the dollar amount of civil penalties to be assessed per violation 

per product. See Section 5 for the manner in which separate violations shall be assessed.  

  

Violation  Penalty  

Authority  Category of Violation  1st Violation  
2nd and Subsequent 

Violations  

Va. Code § 3.2-4126 (B)(i) 

Va. Code § 3.2-4126 (B)(ii) 

Va. Code § 3.2-4126 (B)(v) 

Offering for sale or selling at retail (i) a 

regulated hemp product or (ii) a 

substance intended for human 

consumption, orally or by inhalation, that 

is advertised or labeled as containing an 

industrial hemp-derived cannabinoid 

without a regulated hemp product retail 

facility registration for each location that 

offers for sale or sells at retail  such 

products or substances. 

 

 

$2,000 $5,000 
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Violation  Penalty  

Authority  Category of Violation  1st Violation  
2nd and Subsequent 

Violations  

Va. Code § 3.2-5145.2:1(B)(vi) 

Va. Code § 3.2-5126(A)(5) 

 

Refusal to permit entry to or inspection of 

or to permit the taking of a sample from a 

place in which food, including a substance 

intended to be consumed orally that is 

advertised or labeled as containing an 

industrial hemp-derived cannabinoid, is 

being offered for sale. 

 

$1,000 $5,000 

Va. Code § 3.2-5145.2:1(B)(i) 

Va. Code § 3.2-5145.2:1(B)(ii)  
Manufacturing, offering for sale, or selling 
an industrial hemp extract or food 
containing an industrial hemp extract 
without a Hemp Food Safety Permit.  
 

$500  $1,000  

Va. Code § 3.2-5145.2:1(B)(iii)  

  
Manufacturing, offering for sale, or selling 
an industrial hemp extract or food 
containing an industrial hemp extract 
without submitting an Edible Hemp 
Products Disclosure Form.  
 

 

$500  $1,000  

Va. Code § 3.2-4126 (B)(iii) 

Va. Code § 3.2-5145.2:1(B)(iv) 

 

Offering for sale or selling at retail a  
substance intended for human 
consumption, orally or by inhalation, that 
(a) contains a total THC concentration 
greater than 0.3 percent or (b) contains 
more than two milligrams of total THC per 
package and does not contain an amount 
of cannabidiol that is at least 25 times 
greater than the amount of total THC per 
package. 
 
 

$1,000; 

potential 

referral to law 

enforcement  

$5,000; 
potential referral to 
law enforcement  
  

Va. Code § 3.2-4123(B) 

Va. Code § 3.2-4126 (B)(iv) 

 

Offering for sale or sell a regulated hemp 
product that depicts or is in the shape of a 
human, animal, vehicle, or fruit 

$500 $2,000 
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Violation  Penalty  

Authority  Category of Violation  1st Violation  
2nd and Subsequent 

Violations  

Va. Code § 3.2-4126(B)(iv) Offering for sale or selling at retail a 
regulated hemp product that is not 
packaged or labeled in accordance with 
Va. Code § 3.2-4123 or offered for sale 
with the documentation required by Va. 
Code § 3.2-4123. 
 

$500 $2,000 

Va. Code § 3.2-5145.2:1(B)(vi)  Manufacturing, offering for sale, or selling 
an industrial hemp extract or food 
containing an industrial hemp extract that 
is not labeled or packaged in accordance 
with Va. Code § 3.2-5145.4:1 or offered 
for sale with the documentation required 
by Va. Code § 3.2-5145.4:1.  

$500  

  

$2,000  

  

Va. Code § 3.2-5145.2:1(B)(v) Manufacturing, offering for sale, or selling 
in violation of the Virginia Food and Drink 
Law or a regulation adopted pursuant to 
the Virginia Food and Drink Law a 
substance intended to be consumed orally 
that is advertised or labeled as containing 
an industrial hemp derived cannabinoid.  

Unless 

otherwise 

provided for in 

Section 6 of 

this document, 

$500 

Unless otherwise 

provided for in 

Section 6 of this 

document, $2,000 

Va. Code § 3.2-5145.2:1(B)(vi)  

  
Other violation of Va. Code §§ 3.2-5145.1 
through 3.2-5145.5 or 2 VAC 5- 
595, Regulations Governing the 
Manufacturing and Sale of Products that 
Contain Industrial Hemp Extracts Intended 
for Human Consumption  

Unless 
otherwise 
provided for in 
Section 6 of 
this  
document,  
$500  

Unless otherwise 
provided for in 
Section 6 of this 
document, $2,000  

Va. Code § 3.2-4124(B) 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Offering for sale or selling at retail a 

topical hemp product that does not bear a 

label stating that the product is not 

intended for human consumption  

$200 $500 
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SECTION 7: RECOVERY OF CIVIL PENALTIES  

In accordance with the Virginia Debt Collection Act (§ 2.2-4800 et seq. of the Code), the Virginia Department of 

Agriculture and Consumer Services will take all appropriate and cost-effective actions to collect all accounts 

receivable, including the non-payment of civil penalties.   


