Parking Guidelines: Faculty & Staff

Parking Subscriptions

Faculty and Staff applications for parking subscriptions are available online (http://www.bsv.vcu.edu/vcupark/empapp.pdf) or from either Parking and Transportation Office locations.

In order to be eligible for university parking privileges the applicant must:

- 1. have no outstanding university parking penalties or unpaid violations.
- 2. be a current employee.

Parking assignments are made on a first come, first serve basis. No individual, office, or department, other than Parking and Transportation Services, may grant campusparking privileges, sell, transfer or alter permits. The roles of certain employees may necessitate an exception to the established parking assignment policy. In such a case, the employee should seek an exception in writing through channels advocated by the appropriate Director, Dean, or Vice President. The Office of the Provost will make recommendations on exceptions for the Monroe Park Campus and the VCU Medical Center Parking Advisory Committee will make recommendations for the VCU Medical Center.

Classified full-time and benefitted part time employees of Virginia Commonwealth University (VCU) and Virginia Commonwealth University Health System (VCUHS) are required to pay semi-monthly through payroll deduction. Adjunct faculty, graduate assistants, student workers, work-study students, hourly employees and affiliates are required to pay in advance for parking permits.

VCUHS hourly employees and affiliates are required to pay in advance for parking permits.

Permits

Each parking subscriber will be issued one parking permit and may have only one vehicle parked in a VCU facility.

Permit Placement: Application of the decal by any means other than those listed below is considered a parking violation and the vehicle is subject to enforcement action.

- 1. Permits must be displayed from the rearview mirror with the decal information facing outward.
- 2. Motorcyclists must place permits on the back of the right side view mirror or motorcycle fork.
- 3. Non-adhesive temporary permits must be displayed in full view, inside the front windshield, on top of the drivers side of the dashboard.

- 4. Convertible/soft top vehicles may display bumper decals on the drivers side back bumper.
- 5. All expired university parking decals must be completely removed from vehicles prior to displaying new decals.

Permit Cancellation: Persons canceling their parking subscriptions, voluntarily or through separation from the university, must return their permits and/or access cards to the Parking Office. If the parking permit/access card is not returned, a \$25 to \$50 fee may be assessed for both the permit and access card. Employee subscriptions are refunded based on the date of return.

Reciprocal Parking

Reciprocal parking is allowed when space is available. Upon entering the decks, simply remove a ticket from the spitter and park. Upon exiting, write your permit number in the space provided on the ticket along with your name and the date. Hand your ticket to the attendant.

- 1. Vehicles displaying a valid faculty or staff MCV Campus permit may reciprocal park in the West Broad Street Deck, West Cary Street Deck, Henry Street Deck-West, and the Jefferson Street Deck.
- 2. Vehicles displaying a valid faculty or staff Monroe Park Campus permit may reciprocal park in the N Deck and the I Lot.
- 3. Additional locations are available for faculty and staff parking subscribers. See the complete list at the **additional parking options** link.
- 4. Only authorized subscribers may park in restricted parking facilities.

Subscriber Responsibility

- **1. Finding authorized space:** Drivers are responsible for finding an authorized parking space. Perceived lack of available space, mechanical problems, or other factors do not justify parking violations.
- 2. Permits and access cards are not transferable. Parking permits and access cards are not transferable to any other person. Transferring permits or access cards is a parking violation and may result in the revocation of your parking subscription.
- **3. Payment of Fines:** All fines must be paid in full and in a timely manner. Vehicles for which tickets are outstanding are subject to immobilization/towing.

- **4. Access Cards:** Certain VCU parking facilities are ID card entry only. Subscribers must have both their ID card and decal in order to park on access card facilities to avoid being charged the daily parking fee. Please be advised that subscribers whom do not have a valid VCU ID and a valid decal will be required to pay the daily rate of \$3.75 upon exiting the facility.
- 5. Lost or Stolen Permits: If your permit is lost, please contact either Parking Office immediately. Permits stolen while on the VCU Medical Center or the Monroe Park Campus must be reported to the VCU Police. Permits stolen in other locations must be reported to the designated city or county police. The Parking Office will re-issue a parking permit with a replacement fee of \$25. The Parking Office may waive the replacement fee if given a report number.
- 6. Vehicle Disposal: In the event a vehicle is sold or disposed of, a substantial portion (50% or more) of the decal must be returned to the Parking Office before a replacement decal will be issued. If less than 50% is returned or no permit is returned, a replacement fee will be assessed. If the nature of the vehicle loss prevents the safe and proper removal of the decal or permit, the replacement fee may be waived if proof of vehicle loss, such as a letter from the insurance representative on company letterhead is presented. All fees must be paid before the reissuance of a permit.
- 7. Changes in Employment Status: When discontinuing a parking subscription on a voluntary basis due to illness or other unforeseen circumstance, the employee should contact their Human Resources department. If subscription payments are not received during the employees' absence, the reservation of a parking space cannot be guaranteed.
- **8. Change of Address:** When a subscriber's home address changes, he/she is responsible for contacting the Parking Office with this information. Home addresses are utilized for mailing renewal applications and other pertinent information. It is important that this information be kept current.

Parking Regulations

Permit holders should familiarize themselves with all regulations. Citations are issued for the following violations:

- 1. Parking in a prohibited zone
- 2. Parking in a loading zone
- 3. Parking in a service area

- 4. Parking on sidewalks or lawns
- 5. Failure to display a valid permit (includes access card facilities)
- 6.Blocking driveways, roadways, or sidewalks
- 7. Occupying more than one space
- 8. Improperly displaying a parking permit
- 9.Employee/student use of patient/visitor spaces
- 10.Exceeding meter times
- 11. Failure to obey posted traffic patterns
- 12. Parking in improper location for permit issued
- 13.Exceeding posted time limits
- 14. Parking in a handicapped space
- 15. Unauthorized use of a permit
- 16.Improper use of access card

If you forget to display parking permit, notify the parking office within 30 minutes of arriving on campus. We will need the following information: your name, campus phone number, license plate, and parking location. Any tickets you receive before you call in are valid and will be enforced.

In addition, there are regulations that could subject a violator to higher fines, booting, towing and/or revocation of parking privileges. All outstanding parking penalties and fines must be paid prior to release of the vehicle. These are:

- 1. Altering, forging, copying, or falsely acquiring a permit or parking pass. A penalty fine of at least \$100 to \$500 will be assessed. Violators will be automatically towed, parking privileges will be suspended for one year, and the parking permit will be removed from the vehicle. If the permit is paid by a department, the department head will be notified of the infraction. Additionally, the VCU Police may be notified at the parking manager's discretion, dependent upon the severity of the infraction.
- 2. Parking in spaces designated for mobility-impaired individuals without displaying HP license plates, a DMV issued pass, and an appropriate university permit.
- 3. Fraudulent use of access cards.

4. Parking multiple vehicles with a single parking subscription.

PLEASE NOTE: While parking tickets are normally issued, vehicles may be towed for violation of any of the parking regulations when exceptional circumstances warrant.

Administrative Review of Citations

Persons receiving parking citations can appeal. An appeal may be submitted online via our website or in the parking office. The Parking Office must receive the appeal within fifteen calendar days of the ticket issuance date. After initial review by the Parking Appeals Officer, citations may be appealed to the Richmond General District Traffic Court.

Motorist Assistance

Parking and Transportation Services offers motorist assistance to its subscribers. This assistance is limited to jumpstarts, assistance with changing tires, transportation for gasoline and calling a towing service. Due to liability issues, parking staff will not attempt to open locked vehicles.

Immobilization/Towing Program

Individuals with unpaid parking fines may have their vehicle placed on the immobilization (boot) list. Vehicles identified while on university property will be booted and the owner will be required to pay all outstanding parking penalties and fines before the boot will be removed. Additionally, there is a boot removal fee. **All fines may be paid with cash, money order, credit card, certified check, or by payroll deduction.** (payroll deduction option is not available to hourly or VCU Medical Center Physicians employees). Vehicles that remain booted after Parking and Transportation Services closes, will be towed at the owners expense.

The university reserves the right to tow vehicles at the owners expense from areas designated as tow zones that present a hazard or impede the normal and/or emergency operations of the university. After towing a vehicle, Parking and Transportation Services will notify VCU Police.

ALL FINES MUST BE PAID PRIOR TO THE VEHICLE BEING RELEASED FROM IMPOUNDMENT.

Permit Renewal

Permits will expire on the date printed on the permit. Renewal of the permit must take place five work days prior the expiration date of the permit in order for the holder to be assured of continued parking privileges. Vehicles bearing expired permits are subject to enforcement action.

Mobility Impaired Accessible Driving

All subscribers parking in accessible spaces in controlled lots/decks must display BOTH a valid university parking permit for their assigned lot or deck and a disabled person placard or license plate, issued by the state Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) or equivalent office for the state in which the car is registered, indicating that the driver is permitted to park in an accessible space for the mobility impaired.

All faculty and staff with temporary disabilities may request permission to park in designated mobility impaired spaces in their designated lot or deck. Additionally, if necessary, parking subscribers with temporary disabilities may request to move to a more proximate location. However, parking subscribers must have a disabled placard before consideration for parking reassignment will be granted. In all cases, parking subscribers must pay the applicable subscriber fee to park at any VCU parking location. VCU metered spaces are limited to 4 hours for mobility impaired parkers.

Failure to follow documented procedures will result in a \$100.00 parking fine if you are found parking in an accessible space without the proper permits.

Loading Zones/Service Areas

Persons using loading zones are required to show evidence of loading/unloading (e.g., emergency flashers in use). It is expected that drivers who utilize these zones will do so according to the specified times. Any vehicle parked longer than the posted time limit for the loading zone is in violation and subject to enforcement action. Vehicles parked in designated service areas must display a permit authorizing use of these areas. Permits for service vehicles may be obtained at the Parking Office. These permits should be used only while the operator is engaged in performing service functions.

Liability Disclaimer

Virginia Commonwealth University and the Commonwealth of Virginia do not assume responsibility for any vehicle or its contents when parked on university property. The university and the State do not assume responsibility for damage to vehicles that are immobilized or towed.

Special Event Parking

Parking for groups of 5 or more should be coordinated through our Special Events Coordinator, Stephanie Wood. Please submit a Special Event Parking Request Form with specifics of your function at least 10 business days prior to the event. Please be advised that an individual request is required for every event date. Request forms may be transmitted via the Parking and Transportation Web site or you may e-mail Ms. Wood at woodsa@vcu.edu and she will forward you a form.