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Virginia Board of Pharmacy

Verification Sources for a Pharmaceutical Processor

To assist pharmacists and pharmacy technicians practicing at a pharmaceutical processor in
complying with §54.1-3442.7 and 18VAC110-60-310 to verify current board registration of the
patient, registered agent, parent, or legal guardian obtaining cannabis oil, the Board of Pharmacy
will provide the pharmacist-in-charge (PIC) of each pharmaceutical processor with access to the
Virginia Cannabis Patient Registration Lookup (VCPRL).

The registration information contained in the VCPRL is confidential and includes the following
information: name of patient; name of registered agent, parent, or legal guardian, as applicable;
registration number; and expiration date of registration. The PIC is responsible for granting,
monitoring, maintaining, and denying access to the VCPRL for all pharmacist and pharmacy
technician staff that have, as part of their job, the responsibility to verify that a patient, parent,
legal guardian or registered agent is currently registered with the Board of Pharmacy.

As instructed in the VCPRL, the PIC must provide information to the pharmacist or pharmacy
technician to complete his own request for access to the Lookup system. Once the request has
been submitted, an email will be sent to the PIC for granting access to the pharmacist or pharmacy
technician. The PIC should verify the necessity of the employee to have access to the VCPRL
prior to approving the request. The approved pharmacist or pharmacy technician will receive an
email alerting them that their access request has been granted. The PIC should regularly audit the
list of employees with access to the VCPRL to ensure it remains accurate. Upon termination of
employment of a pharmacist or pharmacy technician, or a change in employment responsibilities
that does not warrant access to the VCPRL, the PIC should immediately terminate the employee’s
access to the VCPRL.

Verification of a practitioner’s registration or a pharmaceutical processor permit may be completed
through the Department of Health Professions’ online License Lookup feature at
www.dhp.virginia.gov as this registration and permit information is considered public information.

To assist in ensuring no pharmaceutical processor dispenses more than a 90-day supply for any

patient during any 90-day period, the pharmacist or pharmacy technician, who is an authorized
delegate of the pharmacist, should verify the quantity and last dates of dispensing of cannabis oil
by accessing the Prescription Monitoring Program.

Code of Virginia as of July 1, 2020:
$ 54.1-3442.7. Dispensing cannabis oil; report.
A. A pharmaceutical processor or cannabis dispensing facility shall dispense or deliver cannabis oil only

in person to (i) a patient who is a Virginia resident or temporarily resides in Virginia as made evident to
the Board, has been issued a valid written certification, and is registered with the Board pursuant to §

O
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http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/54.1-3442.7
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54.1-3408.3, (ii) such patient's registered agent, or (iii) if such patient is a minor or an incapacitated
adult as defined in § 18.2-369, such patient's parent or legal guardian who is a Virginia resident or
temporarily resides in Virginia as made evident to the Board and is registered with the Board pursuant to
$ 54.1-3408.3. Prior to the initial dispensing of each written certification, the pharmacist or pharmacy
technician at the location of the pharmaceutical processor or cannabis dispensing facility shall make and
maintain for two years a paper or electronic copy of the written certification that provides an exact image
of the document that is clearly legible; shall view a current photo identification of the patient, registered
agent, parent, or legal guardian; and shall verify current board registration of the practitioner and the
corresponding patient, registered agent, parent, or legal guardian. Prior to any subsequent dispensing of
each written certification, the pharmacist, pharmacy technician, or delivery agent shall view the current
written certification, a current photo identification of the patient, registered agent, parent, or legal
guardian; and the current board registration issued to the patient, registered agent, parent, or legal
guardian. No pharmaceutical processor or cannabis dispensing facility shall dispense more than a 90-
day supply for any patient during any 90-day period. The Board shall establish in regulation an amount
of cannabis oil that constitutes a 90-day supply to treat or alleviate the symptoms of a patient's diagnosed
condition or disease.

B. A pharmaceutical processor or cannabis dispensing facility shall dispense only cannabis oil that has
been cultivated and produced on the premises of a pharmaceutical processor permitted by the Board. A
pharmaceutical processor may begin cultivation upon being issued a permit by the Board.

C. The Board shall report annually by December [ to the Chairmen of the House Committee for Courts of
Justice and the Senate Committee on the Judiciary on the operation of pharmaceutical processors and
cannabis dispensing facilities issued a permit by the Board, including the number of practitioners,
patients, registered agents, and parents or legal guardians of patients who have registered with the Board
and the number of written certifications issued pursuant to § 54.1-3408.3.

D. The concentration of tetrahydrocannabinol in any cannabis oil on site may be up to 10 percent greater
than or less than the level of tetrahydrocannabinol measured for labeling. A pharmaceutical processor
and cannabis dispensing facility shall ensure that such concentration in any cannabis oil on site is within
such range. A pharmaceutical processor producing cannabis oil shall establish a stability testing
schedule of cannabis oil.

Excerpt from 18VAC110-60-310 (as amended by the Board on June 16, 2020):

18VAC110-60-310. Dispensing of cannabis oil.

A. A pharmacist in good faith may dispense cannabis oil to any registered patient, parent, or legal
guardian as indicated on the written certification or to a registered agent for a specific patient.

1. Prior to the initial dispensing of oil pursuant to each written certification, the pharmacist or
pharmacy technician at the location of the pharmaceutical processor shall view a current photo
identification of the patient, parent, legal guardian, or registered agent. The pharmacist or
pharmacy technician shall verify in the Virginia Prescription Monitoring Program of the
Department of Health Professions or other program recognized by the board that the registrations
are current, the written certification has not expired, and the date and quantity of the last
dispensing of cannabis oil to the registered patient.
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2. The pharmacist or pharmacy technician shall make and maintain for three years a paper or
electronic copy of the current written certification that provides an exact image of the document
that is clearly legible.

3. Prior to any subsequent dispensing, the pharmacist, pharmacy technician, or delivery agent shall
view the current written certification and a current photo identification and current registration of
the patient, parent, legal guardian, or registered agent and shall maintain record of such viewing
in accordance with policies and procedures of the processor.

Excerpt from 18VACI110-60-10:
18VAC110-60-10. Definitions.

In addition to words and terms defined in §§ 54.1-3408.3 and 54.1-3442.5 of the Code of Virginia, the
following words and terms when used in this chapter shall have the following meanings, unless the context
clearly indicates otherwise:

"90-day supply" means the amount of oil reasonably necessary to ensure an uninterrupted availability
of supply for a 90-day period for registered patients.
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