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Agency Background Document 
 

 

Agency name State Board of Social Services 

Virginia Administrative Code 
(VAC) Chapter citation(s)  

22VAC40-201 

VAC Chapter title(s) Permanency Services-Prevention, Foster Care, Adoption and 
Independent Living 

Action title Exempt Permanency Regulatory Action-2022 Legislative Changes 

Final agency action date August 18, 2022 

Date this document prepared August 17, 2022 

 

This information is required for executive branch review pursuant to Executive Order 19 (2022) (EO 19), any 
instructions or procedures issued by the Office of Regulatory Management (ORM) or the Department of Planning and 
Budget (DPB) pursuant to EO 19. In addition, this information is required by the Virginia Registrar of Regulations 
pursuant to the Virginia Register Act (§ 2.2-4100 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). Regulations must conform to the 
Regulations for Filing and Publishing Agency Regulations (1 VAC 7-10), and the Form and Style Requirements for 
the Virginia Register of Regulations and Virginia Administrative Code.  
 

 

Brief Summary 
[RIS1]  

 

Provide a brief summary (preferably no more than 2 or 3 paragraphs) of this regulatory change (i.e., new 
regulation, amendments to an existing regulation, or repeal of an existing regulation). Alert the reader to 
all substantive matters. If applicable, generally describe the existing regulation.   
              

 

This regulatory action is necessary to implement the requirements of legislation passed during the 2022 
session of the Virginia General Assembly and to conform the existing regulation to current state law.  
 
Chapter 377 (HB 869) of the 2022 Acts of Assembly amends current Code related to notification and 
timely registration requirements of the Virginia Birth Father Registry.  Current regulations require that 
when the whereabouts of a birth father are reasonably ascertainable, the child-placing agency must 
provide written notice to a birth father regarding the existence of an adoption plan and the availability of 
registration with the Virginia Birth Father Registry.  Proposed regulatory changes include amendments 
that allow for the written notice to a birth father to be provided by certified mail with proof of service or 
express mail with proof of delivery to the birth father’s last known address.  
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Additional regulatory changes include a provision that specifies when written notice is provided to a birth 
father before the birth of the child, the registration with the Virginia Birth Father Registry will be 
considered untimely if it is received by the Virginia Department of Social Services more than 10 days after 
the personal service of the written notice or more than 13 days after the certified or express mailing date 
of the written notice, whichever occurs first, and a provision that specifies when the mother has 
misrepresented to the father that she terminated the pregnancy, miscarried, or the child died when the 
child is alive, the father has 10 days to register upon discovering the misrepresentation unless 180 days 
have elapsed from the date the circuit court entered the Final Order Adoption. This time frame aligns with 
§ 63.2-1216 of the Code of Virginia, which prohibits any challenges to an adoption for any reason if 180 
days have elapsed from the date the circuit court entered the Final Order of Adoption.  
 

[RIS2] 

Mandate and Impetus 
 

 

Identify the mandate for this regulatory change and any other impetus that specifically prompted its 
initiation (e.g., new or modified mandate, internal staff review, petition for rulemaking, periodic review, or 
board decision). For purposes of executive branch review, “mandate” has the same meaning as defined 
in the ORM procedures, “a directive from the General Assembly, the federal government, or a court that 
requires that a regulation be promulgated, amended, or repealed in whole or part.”  
              

 

Section 63.2-217 of the Code of Virginia gives the State Board of Social Services the responsibility to 
make rules and regulations to administer social services in the Commonwealth under Chapter 9 (63.2- 
900 et seq.) of Title 63.2 of the Code of Virginia. 
 
Chapter 377 (HB 869) of the 2022 Acts of Assembly modified a current mandate in both Virginia Code 
and Virginia Administrative Code related to notification and timely registration requirements of the Virginia 
Birth Father Registry.  
 

 

Statement of Final Agency Action 
 

 

Provide a statement of the final action taken by the agency including: 1) the date the action was taken; 2) 
the name of the agency taking the action; and 3) the title of the regulation. 
              

 

 

On August 17, 2022, the State Board of Social Services approved the exempt action to amend 22VAC40-
201, Permanency Services-Prevention, Foster Care, Adoption, and Independent Living. 
 


