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COMMONWEALTH of VIRGINIA

Office of the Attorney General S o i Eireed

Richmond, Virginia 23219

804-786-2071

FAX 804-786-1991

Mark R. Herring Virginia Relay Services

Attorney General 800-828-1120
TO: EMILY MCCELLAN

Regulatory Supervisor
Virginia Department of Medical Assistance Services

FROM: MICHELLE A. L'HOMMEDIE
Assistant Attorney General

DATE: September 29, 2015

SUBJECT: Emergency Regulations — Disregard Sterilization Compensation Payments as
Income and Resources (4339/7320)

I am in receipt of the attached regulations to make amend the current regulations to
disregard compensation payments to individuals involuntarily sterilized under the Virginia
Eugenical Sterilization Act and who are living as of February 1, 2015, for purposes of Medicaid
cligibility determinations. You have asked the Office of the Attorney General to review and
determine if the Department of Medical Assistance Services (“DMAS”™) has the legal authority to
promulgate these regulations and if they comport with state and federal law.

Based on that review, it is this Office’s view that the Director, acting on behalf of the Board
of Medical Assistance Services under Virginia Code §§ 32.1-324 and 325, has the authority to
promulgate these regulations, subject to compliance with the provisions of Article 2 of the
Administrative Process Act (“APA”™), and has not exceeded that authority.

The authority for this emergency action is based on Virginia Code § 2.2-4011(B), and the
emergency regulations will enable the Director to comply with the legislative mandate in 2015
Acts of the Assembly, Chapter 665, Item 307.T. These regulations will amend the State Plan and
approval by CMS is therefore required. It is my understanding that DMAS has received approval
from CMS to amend the State Plan to incorporate these changes.

Under Virginia Code § 2.2-4012, these emergency regulations shall be effective upon
approval by the Governor and filing with the Registrar of Regulations as no later effective date
has been specified. These regulations shall remain effective for an 18-month period. If DMAS



intends to continue regulating the subject matter beyond the 18-month period from the effective
date, DMAS must replace these emergency regulations with regulations duly promulgated under
Article 2 of the APA. A Notice of Intended Regulatory Action relating to the proposed
replacement regulations must be filed with the Registrar within 60 days of the effective date of
these emergency regulations; and the proposed regulations must be filed with the Registrar
within 180 days after the effective date of the emergency regulations.

If you have any questions or need additional information about these regulations, please
contact me at 786-6005.

ce; Kim F. Piner, Esq.

Attachment



Project 4351 - Emergency/NOIRA

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE SERVICES

Disregard Sterilization Compensation in Eligibility Determinations

12VAC30-40-290. More liberal methods of treating resources under § 1902(r)(2) of the Act:
§ 1902(f) states.

A. Resources to meet burial expenses. Resources set aside to meet the burial expenses of
an applicant/recipient or that individual's spouse are excluded from countable assets. In
determining eligibility for benefits for individuals, disregarded from countable resources is an
amount not in excess of $3,500 for the individual and an amount not in excess of $3,500 for his
spouse when such resources have been set aside to meet the burial expenses of the individual

or his spouse. The amount disregarded shall be reduced by:

1. The face value of life insurance on the life of an individual owned by the individual or
his spouse if the cash surrender value of such policies has been excluded from
countable resources; and
2. The amount of any other revocable or irrevocable trust, contract, or other arrangement
specifically designated for the purpose of meeting the individual's or his spouse's burial
expenses.

B. Cemetery plots. Cemetery plots are not counted as resources regardless of the number

owned.

C. Life rights. Life rights to real property are not counted as a resource. The purchase of a

life right in another individual's home is subject to transfer of asset rules. See 12VAC30-40-300.

D. Reasonable effort to sell.



1. For purposes of this section, "current market value" is defined as the current tax
assessed value. If the property is listed by a realtor, then the realtor may list it at an
amount higher than the tax assessed value. In no event, however, shall the realtor's list

price exceed 150% of the assessed value.

2. A reasonable effort to sell is considered to have been made:
a. As of the date the property becomes subject to a realtor's listing agreement if:
(1) It is listed at a price at current market value; and

(2) The listing realtor verifies that it is unlikely to sell within 90 days of listing given
the particular circumstances involved (e.g., owner's fractional interest; zoning
restrictions; poor topography; absence of road frontage or access; absence of

improvements; clouds on title, right of way or easement; local market conditions); or

b. When at least two realtors refuse to list the property. The reason for refusal must
be that the property is unsaleable at current market value. Other reasons for refusal

are not sufficient; or

c. When the applicant has personally advertised his property at or below current
market value for 90 days by use of a "Sale By Owner" sign located on the property
and by other reasonable efforts, such as newspaper advertisements, or reasonable

inquiries with all adjoining landowners or other potential interested purchasers.

3. Notwithstanding the fact that the recipient made a reasonable effort to sell the
property and failed to sell it, and although the recipient has become eligible, the recipient

must make a continuing reasonable effort to sell by:

a. Repeatedly renewing any initial listing agreement until the property is sold. If the
list price was initially higher than the tax-assessed value, the listed sales price must

be reduced after 12 months to no more than 100% of the tax-assessed value.



b. In the case where at least two realtors have refused to list the property, the
recipient must personally try to sell the property by efforts described in subdivision 2

¢ of this subsection for 12 months.

c. In the case of a recipient who has personally advertised his property for a year
without success (the newspaper advertisements and "for sale" sign do not have to be
continuous; these efforts must be done for at least 90 days within a 12-month

period), the recipient must then:

(1) Subject his property to a realtor's listing agreement at price or below current

market value; or

(2) Meet the requirements of subdivision 2 b of this subsection which are that the
recipient must try to list the property and at least two realtors refuse to list it because

it is unsaleable at current market value; other reasons for refusal to list are not

sufficient.

4. If the recipient has made a continuing effort to sell the property for 12 months, then
the recipient may sell the property between 75% and 100% of its tax assessed value and
such sale shall not result in disqualification under the transfer of property rules. If the
recipient requests to sell his property at less than 75% of assessed value, he must
submit documentation from the listing realtor, or knowledgeable source if the property is
not listed with a realtor, that the requested sale price is the best price the recipient can
expect to receive for the property at this time. Sale at such a documented price shall not
result in disqualification under the transfer of property rules. The proceeds of the sale will

be counted as a resource in determining continuing eligibility.

5. Once the applicant has demonstrated that his property is unsaleable by following the

procedures in subdivision 2 of this subsection, the property is disregarded in determining



eligibility starting the first day of the month in which the most recent application was filed,
or up to three months prior to this month of application if retroactive coverage is
requested and the applicant met all other eligibility requirements in the period. A
recipient must continue his reasonable efforts to sell the property as required in

subdivision 3 of this subsection.

E. Automobiles. Ownership of one motor vehicle does not affect eligibility. If more than one
vehicle is owned, the individual's equity in the least valuable vehicle or vehicles must be
counted. The value of the vehicles is the wholesale value listed in the National Automobile
Dealers Official Used Car Guide (NADA) Book, Eastern Edition (update monthly). In the event
the vehicle is not listed, the value assessed by the locality for tax purposes may be used. The
value of the additional motor vehicles is to be counted in relation to the amount of assets that

could be liquidated that may be retained.

F. Life, retirement, and other related types of insurance policies. Life, retirement, and other
related types of insurance policies with face values totaling $1,500 or less on any one person 21
years old and over are not considered resources. When the face values of such policies of any

one person exceeds $1,500, the cash surrender value of the policies is counted as a resource.

G. Long-term care partnership insurance policy (partnership policy). Resources equal to the
amount of benefits paid on the insured's behalf by the long-term care insurer through a Virginia
issued long-term care partnership insurance policy shall be disregarded. A long-term care

partnership insurance policy shall meet the following requirements:

1. The policy is a qualified long-term care partnership insurance policy as defined in §

7702B(b) of the Internal Revenue Code of 1986.

2. The policy meets the requirements of the National Association of Insurance

Commissioners (NAIC) Long-Term Care Insurance Model Regulation and Long-Term



Care Insurance Model Act as those requirements are set forth in § 1917(b)(5)(A) of the

Social Security Act (42 USC § 1396p).
3. The policy was issued no earlier than May 1, 2007.

4. The insured individual was a resident of a partnership state when coverage first
became effective under the policy. If the policy is later exchanged for a different long-
term care policy, the individual was a resident of a partnership state when coverage

under the earliest policy became effective.

5. The policy meets the inflation protection requirements set forth in §

1917(b)(1 )(C)(iii)(1V) of the Social Security Act.

6. The Insurance Commissioner requires the issuer of the partnership policy to make
regular reports to the federal Secretary of Health and Human Services that include
notification of the date benefits provided under the policy were paid and the amount
paid, the date the policy terminates, and such other information as the secretary
determines may be appropriate to the administration of such partnerships. Such

information shall also be made available to the Department of Medical Assistance

Services upon request.

7. The state does not impose any requirement affecting the terms or benefits of a

partnership policy that the state does not also impose on nonpartnership policies.
8. The policy meets all the requirements of the Bureau of Insurance of the State
Corporation Commission described in 14VAC5-200.

H. Reserved.

I. Resource exemption for Aid to Dependent Children categorically and medically needy (the
Act  §§ 1902(a)(10)(A)i)IN),  (IV), (VI), (VII); §§ 1902(a)(10)(A)ii)VIII), (IX);, §

1902(a)(10)(C)(i)(1N)). For ADC-related cases, both categorically and medically needy, any



individual or family applying for or receiving assistance may have or establish one interest-
bearing savings or investment account per assistance unit not to exceed $5,000 if the applicant,
applicants, recipient or recipients designate that the account is reserved for purposes related to
self-sufficiency. Any funds deposited in the account shall be exempt when determining eligibility
for medical assistance for so long as the funds and interest remain on deposit in the account.
Any amounts withdrawn and used for purposes related to self-sufficiency shall be exempt. For
purposes of this section, purposes related to self-sufficiency shall include, but are not limited to,
(i) paying for tuition, books, and incidental expenses at any elementary, secondary, or
vocational school, or any college or university; (ii) for making down payment on a primary
residence; or (iii) for establishment of a commercial operation that is owned by a member of the

medical assistance unit.

J. Disregard of resources. The Commonwealth of Virginia will disregard all resources for
qualified children covered under §§ 1902(a)(10)(A)(i)(1), 1902(a)(10)(A)(i)(I1I),

1902(a)(10)(A)(ii)(VIII), and 1905(n) of the Social Security Act.

K. Household goods and personal effects. The Commonwealth of Virginia will disregard the
value of household goods and personal effects. Household goods are items of personal
property customarily found in the home and used in connection with the maintenance, use and
occupancy of the premises as a home. Examples of household goods are furniture, appliances,
televisions, carpets, cooking and eating utensils and dishes. Personal effects are items of
personal property that are worn or carried by an individual or that have an intimate relation to
the individual. Examples of personal property include clothing, jewelry, personal care items,

prosthetic devices and educational or recreational items such as books, musical instruments, or

hobby materials.



L. Determining eligibility based on resources. When determining Medicaid eligibility, an
individual shall be eligible in a month if his countable resources were at or below the resource

standard on any day of such month.

M. Working individuals with disabilities eligible for assistance under § 1902(a)(10)(A)(ii)(XV)
of the Act who wish to increase their personal resources while maintaining eligibility for Medicaid
shall establish Work Incentive (WIN) accounts. The Commonwealth will disregard up to the
current annual SSI (Social Security Act, § 1619(b)) threshold amount (as established for Virginia
by the Social Security Administration) held in WIN accounts for workers with disabilities eligible
for assistance under § 1902(a)(10)(A)ii)(XV) of the Act. To be eligible for this resource

disregard, WIN accounts are subject to the following provisions:

1. Deposits to this account shall derive solely from the individual's income earned after

electing to enroll in the Medicaid Buy-In (MBI) program.

2. The balance of this account shall not exceed the current annual SSI (Social Security
Act § 1619(b)) threshold amount (as established for Virginia by the Social Security

Administration).

3. This account will be held separate from nonexempt resources in accounts for which
prior approval has been obtained from the department, and for which the owner
authorizes regular monitoring and reporting including deposits, withdrawals, and other
information deemed necessary by the department for the proper administration of this
provision.

4. A spouse's resources will not be deemed to the applicant when determining whether
or not the individual meets the financial eligibility requirements for eligibility under this

section.



5. Resources accumulated in the Work Incentive account shall be disregarded in
determining eligibility for aged, blind, and disabled Medicaid-covered groups for one year

after the individual leaves the Medicaid Buy-In program.

6. In addition, excluded from the resource and asset limit include amounts deposited in
the following types of IRS-approved accounts established as WIN accounts: retirement
accounts, medical savings accounts, medical reimbursement accounts, education
accounts and independence accounts. Assets retained in these WIN accounts shall be
disregarded for all future Medicaid eligibility determinations for aged, blind, or disabled

Medicaid-covered groups.

N. For all aged, blind, disabled individuals, both categorically needy and medically needy,

the Commonwealth shall disregard as resources amounts received as payment for involuntary

sterilization under the Virginia Eugenical Sterilization Act, beyond the allowable 9-month

exclusion by the SS| program's resource methodologies.

12VAC30-40-370. Variations from the basic personal needs allowance.

A. For victims of Virginia's eugenical program, the Commonwealth shall. in addition to the

basic personal needs allowance (PNA), increase the basic PNA by amounts received as

payments for involuntary sterilization under the Virginia Eugenical Sterilization Act.




