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The Department of Planning and Budget (DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this 

proposed regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia (Code) and 

Executive Order 19. The analysis presented below represents DPB’s best estimate of the 

potential economic impacts as of the date of this analysis.1 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation 

The Board of Pharmacy (Board) is proposing to amend six regulations to increase fees for 

its licensed professions in order to comply with Virginia Code § 54.1-113 B (the Callahan Act).2  

Background 

The Callahan Act requires the Department of Health Professions (DHP) and its boards to 

revise fees in situations in which “expenses allocated to [the board] for the past biennium…[are] 

 
1 Code § 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses determine the public benefits and costs of the 

proposed amendments. Further the analysis should include but not be limited to: (1) the projected number of 

businesses or other entities to whom the proposed regulatory action would apply, (2) the identity of any localities 

and types of businesses or other entities particularly affected, (3) the projected number of persons and employment 

positions to be affected, (4) the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to implement or comply with the 

regulation, and (5) the impact on the use and value of private property. 
2 See https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title54.1/chapter1/section54.1-113/. 
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more than ten percent greater or less than moneys collected on behalf of the board.”3 DHP 

reports that over the 2022-2024 biennium, the Board’s total expenditures were $11,096,178 and 

total revenues were $10,016,277. Since the expenses exceed the revenues by 11 percent, these 

numbers would appear to satisfy the requirements of the Callahan Act, suggesting that a fee 

increase is necessary. DHP also reports that that the Board is not currently in a deficit, with a 

cash balance of $1,714,255 at the end of FY 2024. However, the Board is projected to have a 

deficit of roughly $1.05 million by the end of FY 2026.4  

DHP reports that the fees for this Board were last increased in 20205 and that the Board 

had instituted one-time fee reductions three times prior to the 2020 increase.6 DHP reports that 

since the 2020 fee increase, the Board has experienced several increases that drove up costs. 

Namely, increases in salaries (enacted by the General Assembly), the number of disciplinary 

cases and related workload, and the number of regulated entities. Regarding the latter, in 2019, 

the Board began registering nonresident third-party logistics providers, nonresident warehousers, 

and limited-use physician selling drugs; and in 2021, the Board began registering pharmacy 

technician trainees.    

To prevent the anticipated deficit, the Board proposes to increase fees for most categories 

of practitioners and programs by 45-50 percent. DHP reports that although the bulk of Board 

funding is provided by renewal fees of individual licensees, such as pharmacists, the Board has 

made a concerted effort to ensure that the majority of the proposed increases are borne by entities 

and facilities rather than individual practitioners. This unequal application of the required fee 

increase is also intended to address the cost of facility inspections, which is currently higher than 

the initial permitting, renewal, or reinspection fees applied to those facilities. Lastly, the Board 

proposes to add a new sterile compounding fee for pharmacies and nonresident pharmacies 

where sterile compounding is done. DHP reports that these inspections cost roughly $2,374 

every two years and are essential to protect public safety because the process is inherently risky. 

The proposed fee increases, which are listed in the following table, are expected to generate 

 
3 It should be noted that the Callahan Act does not specify whether “moneys collected on behalf of the board” refers 

only to the revenues in the immediately preceding biennium or if it also includes the cash balance from the biennium 

prior to that.  
4 See page 3 of the Agency Background Document (ABD) 

https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=30\6327\10369\AgencyStatement_DHP_10369_v3.pdf.   
5 See https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewAction.cfm?actionid=4938.  
6 See https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewAction.cfm?actionid=4772. 

https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=30/6327/10369/AgencyStatement_DHP_10369_v3.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewAction.cfm?actionid=4938
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewAction.cfm?actionid=4772
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approximately $2.4 million in additional revenue per year.7 Lastly, fees associated with 

pharmacy technician training programs would be eliminated due to statutory changes that 

removed the Board’s authority to approve such programs. 

FEE TYPE CURRENT 

FEE 

PROPOSED 

FEE 

DOLLAR 

CHANGE 

PERCENTAGE 

CHANGE 

Pharmacy, 18 VAC 110-20 

Initial application fees: 

Pharmacy permit $500  $700  $200  40.00 % 

Physician licensed to dispense 

drugs  $500  $700  $200  40.00 % 

Medical equipment supplier 

permit $235  $350  $115  48.94 % 

Outsourcing facility permit $350  $900  $550  157.14 % 

Nonresident pharmacy 

registration $350  $700  $350  100.00 % 

Nonresident outsourcing facility 

registration $350  $900  $550  157.14 % 

Controlled substances registration $120  $180  $60  50.00 % 

Pilot program approval $325  $415  $90  27.69 % 

Repackaging training program 

approval $65  $85  $20  30.77 % 

Sterile compounding $0  $200  $200  N/A 

Annual renewal fees: 

Pharmacy permit $350  $490  $140  40.00 % 

Physician licensed to dispense 

drugs  $350  $490  $140  40.00 % 

Medical equipment supplier 

permit $235  $350  $115  48.94 % 

Outsourcing facility permit $350  $1,100  $750  214.29% 

Nonresident pharmacy 

registration $350  $490  $140  40.00 % 

Nonresident outsourcing facility 

registration $350  $1,100  $750  214.29% 

Controlled substances registration $120  $180  $60  50.00 % 

Innovative pilot program $260  $375  $115  44.23 % 

Repackaging training program $20  $25  $5  25.00 % 

Sterile compounding $0  $400  $400  N/A 

Reinstatement fees: 

Pharmacy permit $315  $440  $125  39.68 % 

 
7 Pages 8-20 of the ABD contain detailed explanations for each fee change. 
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Physician licensed to dispense 

drugs  $315  $440  $125  39.68 % 

Medical equipment supplier 

permit $275  $385  $110  40.00 % 

Outsourcing facility permit $315  $500  $185  58.73 % 

Nonresident pharmacy 

registration $150  $440  $290  193.33 % 

Nonresident outsourcing facility 

registration $315  $500  $185  58.73 % 

Controlled substances registration $235  $350  $115  48.94 % 

Repackaging training program $65  $85  $20  30.77 % 

Other fees: 

Change of Pharmacist-in-Charge $65  $125  $60  92.31 % 

Change of ownership $65  $125  $60  92.31 % 

Inspection for remodeling or 

change of location for any facility $300  $435  $135  45.00 % 

Reinspection $300  $435  $135  45.00 % 

Inspection of pilot location $300  $435  $135  45.00 % 

Change of pharmacist responsible 

for approved pilot $35  $150  $115  328.57 % 

Duplicate permit or registration $15 $20 $5 33.33 % 

Licensure of Pharmacists and Registration of Pharmacy Technicians, 18 VAC 110-21 

Initial application fees:     

Pharmacist license $235  $300  $65  27.66 % 

Pharmacy intern registration $20  $30  $10  50.00 % 

Pharmacy technician trainee 

registration $20  $30  $10  50.00 % 

Pharmacy technician registration $35  $40  $5  14.29 % 

Approval of CE program $130  $190  $60  46.15 % 

Annual renewal fees:     

Pharmacist active license $120  $175  $55  45.83 % 

Pharmacist inactive license $60  $95  $35  58.33 % 

Pharmacy technician $35  $45  $10  28.57 % 

Reinstatement fees:     

Pharmacist $275  $300  $25  9.09 % 

Pharmacist after 

revocation/suspension $650  $750  $100  15.38 % 

Pharmacy technician registration $45  $50  $5  11.11 % 

Pharm tech trainee or pharm tech 

after revocation/suspension $165  $200  $35  21.21 % 

Pharmacy technician trainee 

registration $0  $25  $25  N/A 

Other fees:     

Duplicate license or registration $15 $20 $5 33.33 % 
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Practitioners of the Healing Arts to Sell Controlled Substances, 18 VAC 110-30 

Initial application fees: 

Individual license $235  $300  $65  27.66 % 

Location permit $315  $700  $385  122.22 % 

Annual renewal fees: 

Individual license $120  $175  $55  45.83 % 

Location permit $315  $490  $175  55.56 % 

Late fees: 

Location permit $50 $120 $70 140 % 

Reinstatement fees:  

Individual license $195  $300  $105  53.85 % 

Location permit $315  $415  $100  31.75 % 

Individual license following 

revocation or suspension $650  $750  $100  15.38 % 

Facility reinspection $300  $435  $135  45.00 % 

Wholesale Distributors, Manufacturers and Warehousers, 18 VAC 110-50 

Initial application fees: 

Nonrestricted manufacturer 

permit $350  $1,000  $650  185.71 % 

Restricted manufacturer permit $235  $850  $615  261.70 % 

Wholesale distributor license $350  $750  $400  114.29 % 

Warehouser permit $350  $510  $160  45.71 % 

Nonresident wholesale distributor 

registration $350  $750  $400  114.29 % 

Controlled substances registration $120  $180  $60  50.00 % 

Third-party logistics provider 

permit $350  $750  $400  114.29 % 

Nonresident manufacturer 

registration $350  $1,000  $650  185.71 % 

Nonresident warehouser 

registration $350  $510  $160  45.71 % 

Nonresident third-party logistics 

provider $350  $750  $400  114.29 % 

Annual renewal fees: 

Nonrestricted manufacturer 

permit $350  $1,000  $650  185.71 % 

Restricted manufacturer permit $235  $850  $615  261.70 % 

Wholesale distributor license $350  $1,000  $650  185.71 % 

Warehouser permit $350  $750  $400  114.29 % 

Nonresident wholesale distributor 

registration $350  $510  $160  45.71 % 

Controlled substances registration $350  $510  $160  45.71 % 

Third-party logistics provider 

permit $350  $750  $400  114.29 % 
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Nonresident manufacturer 

registration $120  $180  $60  50.00 % 

Nonresident warehouser 

registration $350  $750  $400  114.29 % 

Nonresident third-party logistics 

provider $350  $750  $400  114.29 % 

Reinstatement fees: 

Nonrestricted manufacturer 

permit $315  $440  $125  39.68 % 

Restricted manufacturer permit $275  $385  $110  40.00 % 

Wholesale distributor license $315  $440  $125  39.68 % 

Warehouser permit $315  $440  $125  39.68 % 

Nonresident wholesale distributor 

registration $315  $440  $125  39.68 % 

Controlled substances registration $235  $300  $65  27.66 % 

Third-party logistics provider 

permit $315  $440  $125  39.68 % 

Nonresident manufacturer 

registration $315  $440  $125  39.68 % 

Nonresident warehouser 

registration $315  $440  $125  39.68 % 

Nonresident third-party logistics 

provider $315  $440  $125  39.68 % 

Other fees: 

Reinspection $300  $435  $135  45.00 % 

Inspection for change of location, 

structural changes, security 

system changes $300  $435  $135  45.00 % 

Change of ownership $65  $125  $60  92.31 % 

Change of responsible party $65  $125  $60  92.31 % 

 

Estimated Benefits and Costs 

The proposed fee increases would increase costs for pharmacists, pharmacy interns, 

pharmacy technicians, pharmacy technician trainees, and physicians selling controlled 

substances, as well as for owners of pharmacies, medical equipment suppliers, manufacturers, 

wholesalers, distributors, logistics providers, outsourcing facilities, and continuing education 

providers. The increased fees would allow the Board to remain financially solvent and continue 

to provide oversight for pharmacy professionals and related facilities, including issuing licenses, 

conducting inspections, investigating complaints, and implementing any disciplinary actions. 

This in turn would maintain public confidence in these professionals and entities and protect 
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public safety from unscrupulous actors and inadvertent errors in the supply chain for regulated 

pharmaceutical products. 

Businesses and Other Entities Affected  

 As mentioned previously, the proposed fee increases would increase costs for current and 

prospective pharmacists, pharmacy interns, pharmacy technicians, pharmacy technician trainees, 

and physicians selling controlled substances, as well as for owners of pharmacies, medical 

equipment suppliers, manufacturers, wholesalers, distributors, logistics providers, outsourcing 

facilities, and continuing education providers. The following table provides the numbers of each 

category of professionals and entities licensed or permitted by the Board at the close of FY 

2024.8 

Individuals Count 

Pharmacist 16,357 

Pharmacy intern 1,125 

Pharmacy technician 12,807 

Pharmacy technician trainee 8,014 

Physician selling controlled substances 559 

Entities/Programs  

Pharmacy 1,737 

Non-resident pharmacy 962 

Medical equipment supplier 212 

Non-resident medical equipment supplier 367 

Physician selling drugs location 129 

Pilot programs 18 

Repackaging training programs 1 

Continuing education courses 9 

Entities with controlled substances registration 1,498 

Outsourcing facility 1 

Non-resident outsourcing facility 33 

Restricted manufacturer 32 

Non-restricted manufacturer 34 

Non-resident manufacturer 232 

Third party logistics provider 5 

Non-resident third party logistics provider 241 

Warehouser 128 

Non-resident warehouser 142 

Wholesale distributor 62 

Non-resident wholesale distributor 624 

 
8 Source: DHP. See https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/about/stats/2024Q4/04CurrentLicenseCountQ4FY2024.pdf.  

https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/about/stats/2024Q4/04CurrentLicenseCountQ4FY2024.pdf
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The Code of Virginia requires DPB to assess whether an adverse impact may result from 

the proposed regulation.9 An adverse impact is indicated if there is any increase in net cost or 

reduction in net benefit for any entity, even if the benefits exceed the costs for all entities 

combined.10 Since the proposed amendments would increase costs, an adverse impact is 

indicated for the various pharmacy professionals and entities listed above that would face higher 

fees.  

Small Businesses11 Affected:12  

  Types and Estimated Number of Small Businesses Affected 

 DHP does not collect data on the number of affected small businesses. However, 

some independent pharmacies that are not part of national retail pharmacy or grocery 

chains and continuing education providers are likely small businesses. Other business 

entities that are part of the supply chain may also meet the definition of a small business. 

  Costs and Other Effects 

 Small businesses affected by the proposed changes would face higher fees as 

described above. 

  Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact 

 There are no clear alternative methods that both reduce adverse impact and meet 

the intended policy goals.    

 
9 Pursuant to Code § 2.2-4007.04(D): In the event this economic impact analysis reveals that the proposed regulation 

would have an adverse economic impact on businesses or would impose a significant adverse economic impact on a 

locality, business, or entity particularly affected, the Department of Planning and Budget shall advise the Joint 

Commission on Administrative Rules, the House Committee on Appropriations, and the Senate Committee on 

Finance. 
10 Statute does not define “adverse impact,” state whether only Virginia entities should be considered, nor indicate 

whether an adverse impact results from regulatory requirements mandated by legislation. As a result, DPB has 

adopted a definition of adverse impact that assesses changes in net costs and benefits for each affected Virginia 

entity that directly results from discretionary changes to the regulation. 
11 Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, small business is defined as “a business entity, including its 

affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and (ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has 

gross annual sales of less than $6 million.” 
12 If the proposed regulatory action may have an adverse effect on small businesses, Code § 2.2-4007.04 requires 

that such economic impact analyses include: (1) an identification and estimate of the number of small businesses 

subject to the proposed regulation, (2) the projected reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 

required for small businesses to comply with the proposed regulation, including the type of professional skills 

necessary for preparing required reports and other documents, (3) a statement of the probable effect of the proposed 

regulation on affected small businesses, and  (4) a description of any less intrusive or less costly alternative methods 

of achieving the purpose of the proposed regulation.  Additionally, pursuant to Code § 2.2-4007.1, if there is a 

finding that a proposed regulation may have an adverse impact on small business, the Joint Commission on 

Administrative Rules shall be notified. 
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Localities13 Affected14 

The proposed amendments do not appear to disproportionally affect any locality in 

particular or affect costs for local governments. 

Projected Impact on Employment 

 The proposed amendments would not be expected to affect employment prospects or 

entry into the profession for pharmacists or pharmacy technicians. Businesses impacted by the 

increased fees are unlikely to respond by reducing their staffing, so workers in manufacturing, 

warehousing, or distribution are unlikely to be affected either.   

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property 

 The proposed fee increases would increase costs for pharmacies, medical equipment 

suppliers, and other business entities that are part of the supply chain as listed above. Potentially, 

this may result in a modest decrease in their value. 

 The proposed amendments do not affect real estate development costs.  

 

 

 
13 “Locality” can refer to either local governments or the locations in the Commonwealth where the activities 

relevant to the regulatory change are most likely to occur. 
14   § 2.2-4007.04 defines “particularly affected" as bearing disproportionate material impact. 


	The Department of Planning and Budget (DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia (Code) and Executive Order 19. The analysis presented below represents DPB’s best estimat...
	Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation
	Background
	Estimated Benefits and Costs
	Businesses and Other Entities Affected
	Small Businesses  Affected:
	Types and Estimated Number of Small Businesses Affected
	Costs and Other Effects
	Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact
	Localities  Affected
	Projected Impact on Employment
	Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property

