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Agency name Board of Counseling, Department of Health Professions 

Virginia Administrative Code 
(VAC) citation(s)  

18VAC115-80-10 et seq. 

Regulation title(s) Regulations Governing Registration of Qualified Mental Health 
Professionals 

 

Action title Reduction in application fee for trainees 

Final agency action date 11/22/19 

Date this document 
prepared 

11/22/19 

 
While a regulatory action may be exempt from executive branch review pursuant to § 2.2-4002 or § 2.2-4006 of the 
Code of Virginia, the agency is still encouraged to provide information to the public on the Regulatory Town Hall using 
this form. However, the agency may still be required to comply with the Virginia Register Act, Executive Order 14 (as 
amended, July 16, 2018), the Regulations for Filing and Publishing Agency Regulations (1 VAC7-10), and the Virginia 
Register Form, Style, and Procedure Manual for Publication of Virginia Regulations. 
 

 

Brief Summary 
  

 

Please provide a brief summary (preferably no more than 2 or 3 paragraphs) of this regulatory change 
(i.e., new regulation, amendments to an existing regulation, or repeal of an existing regulation). Alert the 
reader to all substantive matters. If applicable, generally describe the existing regulation.   
              

 

Pursuant to § 2.2- 4006 A 6 of the Code of Virginia, the Board of Counseling has reduced the 
application fee for a qualified mental health professional-trainee (QMHP-trainee) from $50 to 
$25.  
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Mandate and Impetus 
 

 

Please identify the mandate for this regulatory change, and any other impetus that specifically prompted 
its initiation (e.g., new or modified mandate, internal staff review, petition for rulemaking, periodic review, 
board decision, etc.). “Mandate” is defined as “a directive from the General Assembly, the federal 
government, or a court that requires that a regulation be promulgated, amended, or repealed in whole or 
part.”  
              
 

The impetus for the change is legislation that was enacted by the 2019 defining QMHP-trainees 
and authorizing registration. The only registration fee set in regulation is $50, so an applicant 
must pay that amount to register as a QMHP-trainee and then pay an additional $50 to register as 
a QMHP-A or QMHP-C once he has completed his training. The Board believes the reduced fee 
of $25 will encourage potential QMHPs to obtain training necessary for registration.  
 
The Board is acting under an exemption in the Administrative Process Act relating to reduction 
of fees for applicants and regulants of board within the Department of Health Professions - § 2.2-
4006(A)(6). 
 

 

Statement of Final Agency Action 
 

 

Please provide a statement of the final action taken by the agency including: 1) the date the action was 
taken; 2) the name of the agency taking the action; and 3) the title of the regulation. 
              

 

On November 22, 2019, the Board of Counseling amended 18VAC115-80-10 et seq., 
Regulations Governing Registration of Qualified Mental Health Professionals. 
 


