




Project 7708 - NOIRA 

Board For Barbers And Cosmetology 

General Review of Barbering and Cosmetology Regulations 

Chapter 20 

Barbering and Cosmetology Regulations 

Part I 

General 

18VAC41-20-10. Definitions.  

The following words and terms when used in this chapter shall have the following meanings, 
unless the context clearly indicates otherwise. All terms defined in Chapter 7 (§ 54.1-700 et seq.) 
of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia are incorporated in this chapter.ascribed to them in Chapter 
7 (§ 54.1-700 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia: 

"Barber" 

"Barbering" 

"Barber instructor" 

"Barbershop" 

"Board" 

"Cosmetologist" 

"Cosmetology" 

"Cosmetology instructor" 

"Cosmetology salon" 

"Master Barber" 

"Nail Care" 

"Nail salon" 

"Nail School" 

"Nail technician" 

"Nail technician instructor" 

"Physical (wax) depilatory" 

"School of Cosmetology" 

"Wax technician" 

"Waxing" 

"Waxing salon" 

"Waxing school" 

"Apprenticeship Program" means an approved cosmetology, barber, nail technician, or wax 
technician training program conducted by an approved registered apprenticeship sponsor. 

"Barber school" means a place or establishment licensed by the board to accept and train 
students and that offers a barber, master barber, or dual barber/master barber curriculum 
approved by the board. 
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"Business entity" means a sole proprietorship, partnership, corporation, limited liability 
company, limited liability partnership, or any other form of organization permitted by law. 

"Clock hours" means a minimum of 50 minutes of supervised or directed instruction and 
appropriate breaks. 

"Credit hour" means a combination of the number of hours in class each week and the number 
of hours per week in a laboratory by which a school may measure its course work. One unit of 
credit equals one hour of classroom study, two hours of laboratory experience or three hours of 
internship or practicum or a combination of the three times the number of weeks in the term. 
Emerging delivery methodologies may necessitate a unit of undergraduate credit to be measured 
in nontime base methods. These courses shall use the demonstration of competency, proficiency, 
or fulfillment of learning outcomes to ensure these courses are equivalent to traditionally delivered 
courses.  

"Direct supervision" means that a Virginia licensed barber, cosmetologist, nail technician, or 
wax technician shall be present in the barbershop, cosmetology salon, nail salon, or waxing salon 
at all times when services are being performed by a temporary permit holder, or registered 
apprentice.student instructor temporary permit holder, student instructor, student, or registered 
apprentice. 

"Each and every location" means, for the purposes of schools with multiple suites or 
classrooms, a single location is one that is enclosed under one roof and all classrooms or suites 
are within 500 feet of the main office. Any suites or classrooms that are located in a different 
building or are further than 500 feet from the main office are considered a separate location, and 
require the school hold an additional license. 

"Endorsement" means a method of obtaining a license by a person who is currently licensed 
in another state. 

"Firm" means any business entity recognized under the laws of the Commonwealth of Virginia. 

"Licensee" means any person, sole proprietorship, partnership, corporation, limited liability 
company, limited liability partnership, or any other form of organization permitted by law individual 
or firm holding a license issued by the Board for Barbers and Cosmetology., as defined in § 54.1-
700 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Post-secondary educational level" means an accredited college or university that is approved 
or accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges or 
by an accrediting agency that is recognized by the U.S. Secretary of Education. 

"Reasonable hours" means the hours between 9 a.m. and 5 p.m.; however, if the licensee 
generally is not open to the public substantially during the same hours, "reasonable hours" shall 
mean the business hours when the licensee is open to the public. 

"Reciprocity" means a conditional agreement between two or more states that will recognize 
one another's regulations and laws for equal privileges for mutual benefit. 

"Reinstatement" means having a license or certificate restored to effectiveness after the 
expiration date has passed. 

"Renewal" means continuing the effectiveness of a license or certificate for another period of 
time. 

"Responsible management" means the following individuals: 

1. The sole proprietor of a sole proprietorship; 

2. The partners of a general partnership; 

3. The managing partners of a limited partnership; 

4. The officers of a corporation; 
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5. The managers of a limited liability company; 

6. The officers or directors of an association or both; and 

7. Individuals in other business entities recognized under the laws of the Commonwealth 
as having a fiduciary responsibility to the firm. 

"Sole proprietor" means any individual, not a corporation, who is trading under his that 
individual's own name, or under an assumed or fictitious name pursuant to the provisions of §§ 
59.1-69 through 59.1-76 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Substantially equivalent exam" means an examination administered by the licensing entity 
which covers Virginia's scope of practice for that profession. 

"Substantially equivalent training" means at least 80% of the required hours in Virginia and 
curriculum content covering Virginia's scope of practice for that profession. 

"Virginia state institution" for the purposes of this chapter means any institution approved by 
the Virginia Department of Education or the Virginia Department of Corrections. 

"Wet disinfection unit" is a container large enough to hold a disinfectant solution in which the 
objects to be disinfected are completely immersed. A wet disinfection unit must have a cover to 
prevent contamination of the solution. The solution must be an Environmental Protection Agency 
(EPA) registered disinfectant that is bactericidal, virucidal, and fungicidal. Disinfectant solutions 
shall be used according to manufacturer's directions. 

Part II 

Entry 

18VAC41-20-20. General requirements for a barber, master barber, cosmetologist, nail 
technician, or wax technician license Gratuitous Services.  

A. Any individual wishing to engage in barbering, cosmetology, nail care, or waxing shall 
obtain a license in compliance with § 54.1-703 of the Code of Virginia and shall meet the following 
qualifications: 

1. The applicant shall be in good standing as a licensed barber, master barber, 
cosmetologist, nail technician, or wax technician in Virginia and all other jurisdictions 
where licensed. The applicant shall disclose to the board at the time of application for 
licensure, any disciplinary action taken in Virginia and all other jurisdictions in connection 
with the applicant's practice as a barber, master barber, cosmetologist, nail technician, or 
wax technician. This includes monetary penalties, fines, suspensions, revocations, 
surrender of a license in connection with a disciplinary action, or voluntary termination of 
a license. The applicant shall disclose to the board at the time of application for licensure 
if he has been previously licensed in Virginia as a barber, master barber, cosmetologist, 
nail technician, or wax technician. 

Upon review of the applicant's prior disciplinary action, the board, in its discretion, may 
deny licensure to any applicant wherein the board deems the applicant is unfit or unsuited 
to engage in barbering, cosmetology, nail care, or waxing. The board will decide each 
case by taking into account the totality of the circumstances. Any plea of nolo contendere 
or comparable plea shall be considered a disciplinary action for the purposes of this 
section. The applicant shall provide a certified copy of a final order, decree, or case 
decision by a court, regulatory agency, or board with the lawful authority to issue such 
order, decree, or case decision, and such copy shall be admissible as prima facie evidence 
of such disciplinary action. 

2. The applicant shall disclose the applicant's physical address. A post office box is not 
acceptable. 

DRAFT



3. The applicant shall sign, as part of the application, a statement certifying that the 
applicant has read and understands the Virginia barber and cosmetology license laws and 
this chapter. 

4. In accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia, each applicant shall disclose the 
following information regarding criminal convictions in Virginia and all other jurisdictions: 

a. All misdemeanor convictions involving moral turpitude, sexual offense, non-
marijuana drug distribution, or physical injury within two years of the date of the 
application; and 

b. All felony convictions within 20 years of the date of application. 

Any plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a conviction for purposes of this 
subsection. The record of a conviction received from a court shall be accepted as prima 
facie evidence of a conviction or finding of guilt. The board, in its discretion, may deny 
licensure to any applicant in accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia. 

5. The applicant shall provide evidence satisfactory to the board that the applicant has 
passed the board-approved examination, administered either by the board or by 
independent examiners. 

B. Eligibility to sit for board-approved examination. 

1. Training in the Commonwealth of Virginia. Any person completing an approved barber, 
master barber, cosmetology, nail technician, or wax technician training program in a 
Virginia licensed barber, cosmetology, nail technician, or wax technician school, 
respectively, or a Virginia public school's barber, master barber, cosmetology, nail 
technician, or wax technician program approved by the Virginia Department of Education 
shall be eligible for examination. 

2. Training outside of the Commonwealth of Virginia, but within the United States and its 
territories. Any person completing a barber, master barber, cosmetology, nail care, or 
waxing training program that is substantially equivalent to the Virginia program but is 
outside of the Commonwealth of Virginia must submit to the board documentation of the 
substantially equivalent training to be eligible for examination. Applicants who completed 
a training program that is not substantially equivalent to Virginia's training, including out of 
country training, may substitute five years of work experience for training. Applicants 
should provide their work history demonstrating five years of experience as a licensed 
barber, master barber, cosmetologist, nail technician, or wax technician in any other state 
or jurisdiction of the United States on a form provided by the board. 

Any individual who engages in barbering, master barbering, cosmetology, nails, or waxing 
without receiving compensation or reward, or obligation is considered to be performing gratuitous 
services and is exempt from the provisions of this chapter. Gratuitous services do not include 
services provided at no charge when goods are purchased.  

18VAC41-20-25. General Requirements for a Barber, Master Barber, Cosmetologist, Nail 
Technician, or Wax Technician License.  

A. Any individual wishing to engage in barbering, master barbering, cosmetology, nail care, 
or waxing shall obtain a license in compliance with § 54.1-703 of the Code of Virginia and shall 
meet the following qualifications: 

1. The applicant shall be in good standing as a licensed barber, master barber, 
cosmetologist, nail technician, or wax technician in Virginia and in all other jurisdictions 
where licensed, certified, or registered. The applicant shall disclose to the board at the 
time of application for licensure, any disciplinary action taken in Virginia and all other 
jurisdictions in connection with the applicant's practice as a barber, master barber, 
cosmetologist, nail technician, or wax technician. This includes monetary penalties, fines, 
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probation, suspensions, revocations, surrender of a license in connection with a 
disciplinary action pertaining to services within the respective scope of practice, or 
voluntary termination of a license. 

Upon review of the applicant's prior disciplinary action, the board, in its discretion, may 
deny licensure to any applicant wherein the board deems the applicant is unfit or unsuited 
to engage in barbering, master barbering, cosmetology, nail care, or waxing. The applicant 
shall provide a certified copy of a final order, decree, or case decision by a court, regulatory 
agency, or board with the lawful authority to issue such order, decree, or case decision, 
and such copy shall be admissible as prima facie evidence of such disciplinary action. 

2. The applicant shall disclose the applicant's physical address. A post office box may be 
provided as a secondary address. 

3. The applicant shall sign, as part of the application, a statement certifying that the 
applicant has read and understands the Virginia barber and cosmetology license laws and 
this chapter. 

4. In accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia, each applicant shall disclose the 
following information regarding criminal convictions in Virginia and all other jurisdictions: 

a. All misdemeanor convictions within two years of the date of application involving 
moral turpitude, sexual offense, non-marijuana drug distribution, or physical injury; and 

b. All felony convictions within 10 years of the date of application. 

Any plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a conviction for purposes of this 
subsection. The record of a conviction received from a court shall be accepted as prima 
facie evidence of a conviction or finding of guilt. The board, in its discretion, may deny 
licensure to any applicant in accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia. 

5. The applicant shall provide evidence satisfactory to the board that the applicant has 
passed the board-approved examination, administered either by the board or by 
independent examiners. 

6. Any changes in the name or address of the licensee shall be reported to the board in 
writing within 30 days of such changes. 

B. Eligibility to sit for board-approved examination. 

1. Training in the Commonwealth of Virginia. Any person completing one of the following 
programs can be approved for the examinations: 

a. An approved barber, master barber, cosmetology, nail technician, or wax technician 
training program in a Virginia licensed barber, cosmetology, nail technician, or wax 
technician school. 

b. A Virginia public school's barber, master barber, cosmetology, nail technician, or wax 
technician program approved by the Virginia Department of Education. 

c. A registered apprenticeship. 

d. Any barber, master barber, cosmetologist, nail technician, or wax technician applicant 
having a minimum of two years experience in barbering, master barbering, cosmetology, 
nail care, or waxing in the United States armed forces and having provided documentation 
satisfactory to the board of that experience shall be eligible for the respective examination.  

e. Virginia licensed cosmetologists with a minimum of two years of work experience shall 
be eligible for the master barber examination; likewise, a Virginia licensed master barber 
with a minimum of two years of work experience shall be eligible for the cosmetology 
examination.  
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f. Any barber, master barber, cosmetologist, nail technician, or wax technician applicant 
having been trained as a barber, master barber, cosmetologist, nail technician, or wax 
technician in any Virginia state institution shall be eligible for the respective examination.  

2. Training outside of the Commonwealth of Virginia. 

a. Any person completing a barber, master barber, cosmetology, nail care, or waxing 
training program that is substantially equivalent to the Virginia program but is outside of 
the Commonwealth of Virginia must submit to the board documentation of the substantially 
equivalent training to be eligible for examination. Applicants who have earned a degree 
from an institution outside the United States must have their degree translated, 
authenticated and evaluated by an education evaluation service if credit is sought for the 
education. The board in its discretion may decline to accept any an evaluation submitted 
by an applicant. 

b. Applicants who completed a training program that is not substantially equivalent to 
Virginia's training, including out of country training, may substitute five years of work 
experience for training. Applicants should provide their work history demonstrating three 
years of experience as a licensed barber, master barber, cosmetologist, nail technician, 
or wax technician in any other state or jurisdiction of the United States on a form provided 
by the board. 

18VAC41-20-30. License by endorsement Endorsement.  

A. Upon proper application to the board, any person currently licensed to practice as a barber, 
master barber, cosmetologist, nail technician, or wax technician or who is a licensed instructor in 
the respective profession in any other state or jurisdiction of the United States and who has 
completed both a training program and a written and practical examination that is substantially 
equivalent to that required by this chapter, may be issued a barber, master barber, cosmetologist, 
nail technician, or wax technician license or the respective instructor certificate without an 
examination. The applicant must also meet the requirements set forth in 18VAC41-20-20 A and 
18VAC41-20-100. 

B. Applicants for licensure by endorsement who completed a training program that is not 
substantially equivalent to Virginia's training but otherwise meet all the requirements listed in 
subsection A of this section, may substitute five years of work experience for training. Applicants 
should provide their work history demonstrating five years of licensed experience in any other 
state or jurisdiction of the United States on a form provided by the board. 

B. Applicants for licensure by endorsement who completed an equivalent training program 
and whose state only utilizes one licensing examination (written or practical) that is substantially 
equivalent to that required by this chapter may take the other examination (written or practical) in 
Virginia to qualify for licensure. 

C. Applicants for licensure by endorsement who completed a training program that is not 
substantially equivalent to Virginia's training but otherwise meet all the requirements listed in 
subsection A of this section, may substitute three years of work experience for training. Applicants 
should provide their work history demonstrating three years of licensed experience in any other 
state or jurisdiction of the United States on a form provided by the board. 

18VAC41-20-40. Apprenticeship training Training.  

A. Licensed barbers, master barbers, cosmetologists, and nail technicians who train 
apprentices shall comply with the standards for apprenticeship. training established by the 
Division of Apprenticeship Training of the Virginia Department of Labor and Industry and the 
Virginia Board for Barbers and Cosmetology. Owners of barbershops, cosmetology salons, and 
nail salons who train apprentices shall comply with the standards for apprenticeship training 
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established by the Division of Apprenticeship Training of the Virginia Department of Labor and 
Industry. 

B. Any person completing the Virginia apprenticeship program in barbering, master barbering, 
cosmetology, or nail care shall be eligible for examination. 

B. Responsible management of barbershops, cosmetology salons, and nail salons who train 
apprentices shall comply with the standards for registered apprenticeship training. 

18VAC41-20-50. Exceptions to training requirements. (Repealed.) 

A. Virginia licensed cosmetologists with a minimum of two years of work experience shall be 
eligible for the master barber examination; likewise, a Virginia licensed master barber with a 
minimum of two years of work experience shall be eligible for the cosmetology examination. 

B. Any barber, master barber, cosmetologist, nail technician, or wax technician applicant 
having been trained as a barber, master barber, cosmetologist, nail technician, or wax technician 
in any Virginia state institution shall be eligible for the respective examination. 

C. Any barber, master barber, cosmetologist, nail technician, or wax technician applicant 
having a minimum of two years of experience in barbering, master barbering, cosmetology, nail 
care, or waxing in the United States armed forces and having provided documentation satisfactory 
to the board of that experience shall be eligible for the respective examination. 

D. Any licensed barber or barber student enrolling in a master barber training program in a 
licensed barber school shall be given educational credit for the training and performances 
completed in a barbering program at a licensed barber school. 

18VAC41-20-60. Examination requirements and fees Requirements and Fees.  

A. Applicants for initial licensure shall pass both a practical examination and a written portion 
of the examination approved by the board. The examinations may be administered by the board 
or by a designated testing service. 

B. Any applicant who passes one part of the examination shall not be required to take that 
part again provided both parts are passed within one year of the initial examination date. 

C. Any candidate failing to appear as scheduled for examination shall forfeit the examination 
fee. 

D.C. The fee for examination or reexamination is subject to contracted charges to the board 
by an outside vendor. These contracts are competitively negotiated and bargained for in 
compliance with the Virginia Public Procurement Act (§ 2.2-4300 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). 
Fees may be adjusted and charged to the candidate in accordance with these contracts. The fee 
shall not exceed $225 per candidate. 

E.D. Any candidate failing to apply for initial licensure within five years of passing both a 
practical examination and a written portions of an examination shall be required to retake both 
portions. Records of examinations shall be maintained for a maximum of five years. 

E. Any applicant who does not pass a reexamination within one year of the initial examination 
date shall be required to submit a new application and examination fee. 

18VAC41-20-70. Reexamination requirements. (Repealed.) 

Any applicant who does not pass a reexamination within one year of the initial examination 
date shall be required to submit a new application and examination fee.  

18VAC41-20-80. Examination administration Administration.  

A. The examinations shall be administered by the board or the designated testing service. 
The practical examination shall be supervised by a chief examiner. 

B. Every barber, master barber, cosmetology, nail technician, or wax technician examiner 
shall hold a current Virginia license in his their respective profession, have three or more years of 
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active experience as a licensed professional, and be currently practicing in that profession. 
Examiners shall attend training workshops sponsored by the board or by a testing service acting 
on behalf of the board. 

C. No certified barber, master barber, cosmetology, nail technician, or wax technician 
instructor who is (i) currently teaching, (ii) or is a school owner, (iii) or is an apprentice sponsor 
shall be an examiner. 

D. Each barber, master barber, cosmetology, nail technician, and wax technician chief 
examiner (i) shall hold a current Virginia license in histheir respective profession, (ii) have five or 
more years of active experience in that profession, (iii) have three years of active experience as 
an examiner, (iv) and be currently practicing in his respective profession. A licensed cosmetology 
my serve as an examiner for any license type that is included in the cosmetology profession. Chief 
examiners shall attend training workshops sponsored by the board or by a testing service acting 
on behalf of the board. 

E. The applicant shall follow all procedures established by the board with regard to conduct 
at the examination. Such procedures shall include written instructions communicated prior to the 
examination date and instructions communicated at the site, either written or oral, on the date of 
the examination. Failure to comply with all procedures established by the board and the testing 
service with regard to conduct at the examination may be grounds for denial of application. 

18VAC41-20-90. Barber, master barber, cosmetology, nail technician, and wax technician 
temporary permits Master Barber, Cosmetology, Nail Technician, and Wax Technician 
Temporary Permit.  

A. A temporary permit to work under the direct supervision of a currently licensed barber, 
master barber, cosmetologist, nail technician, or wax technician may be issued only to applicants 
for initial licensure who the board finds eligible for examination. There shall be no fee for a 
temporary permit. 

B. The temporary permit shall remain in force for 45 90 days following the examination 
date.and no subsequent temporary permit shall be issued. The examination date shall be the first 
test date after the applicant has successfully submitted an application to the board that an 
examination is offered to the applicant by the board. 

C. Any person continuing to practice barbering, master barbering, cosmetology, nail care, or 
waxing services after a temporary permit has expired may be prosecuted and fined by the 
Commonwealth under §§ 54.1-111 A 1 and 54.1-202 of the Code of Virginia. 

D. No applicant for examination shall be issued more than one temporary permit. 

E.D. Temporary permits shall not be issued where grounds may exist to deny a license 
pursuant to § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia or 18VAC41-20-20. 

18VAC41-20-100. General requirements for a barber instructor certificate, cosmetology 
instructor certificate, nail technician instructor certificate, or wax technician instructor 
certificate Requirements for an Instructor Certificate.  

A. Any individual wishing to engage in barbering instruction, master barbering instruction, 
cosmetology instruction, nail care instruction, or waxing instruction shall meet the following 
qualifications:in barbering, master barbering, cosmetology, nail care, or waxing shall meet the 
following qualifications: 

1. The applicant shall be in good standing as a licensed barber, master barber, 
cosmetologist, nail technician, or wax technician, and instructor, respectively, in Virginia 
and all other every jurisdictions where licensed, certified, or registered. The applicant shall 
disclose to the board at the time of application for licensure any disciplinary action taken 
in Virginia and all other jurisdictions in connection with the applicant's practice as a barber, 
master barber, cosmetologist, nail technician, or wax technician, or in the practice of 
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teaching any of those professions. This includes monetary penalties, fines, probation, 
suspensions, revocations, surrender of a license in connection with a disciplinary action, 
or voluntary termination of a license. The applicant shall disclose to the board at the time 
of application for licensure if the applicant has been previously licensed in Virginia as a 
barber instructor, master barber instructor, cosmetology instructor, nail technician 
instructor, or wax technician instructor. 

Upon review of the applicant's prior disciplinary action, the board, in its discretion, may 
deny licensure to any applicant wherein the board deems the applicant is unfit or unsuited 
to engage in the instruction of barbering, cosmetology, nail care, or waxing. The board will 
decide each case by taking into account the totality of the circumstances. Any plea of nolo 
contendere or comparable plea shall be considered a disciplinary action for the purposes 
of this section. The applicant shall provide a certified copy of a final order, decree, or case 
decision by a court, regulatory agency, or board with the lawful authority to issue such 
order, decree, or case decision, and such copy shall be admissible as prima facie evidence 
of such disciplinary action; 

2. The applicant shall hold a current Virginia barber, master barber, cosmetology, nail 
technician, or wax technician license, respectively; 

3. The applicant shall: 

a. Pass a course in teaching techniques at the post-secondary educational level; or 

b. Complete an instructor training course approved by the Virginia Board for Barbers 
and Cosmetology under the supervision of a certified barber, master barber, 
cosmetologist, nail technician, or wax technician instructor in a barber, cosmetology, 
nail technician, or wax technician school, respectively; or 

c.b. Pass an instructor examination in barber, master barber, cosmetology, nail 
technician, or wax technician instruction respectively, administered by the board or by 
a testing service acting on behalf of the board; and. 

4. In accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia, each applicant shall disclose the 
following information regarding criminal convictions in Virginia and all other jurisdictions: 

a. All misdemeanor convictions within two years of the date of application involving 
moral turpitude, sexual offense, non-marijuana drug distribution, or physical injury 
within two years of the date of the application; and 

b. All felony convictions within 20 10 years of the date of application. 

Any plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a conviction for purposes of this 
subsection. The record of a conviction received from a court shall be accepted as prima 
facie evidence of a conviction or finding of guilt. The board, in its discretion, may deny 
licensure to any applicant in accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia. 

B. Instructors shall be required to maintain a barber, master barber, cosmetology, nail 
technician, or wax technician license, respectively. 

C. Certified instructors may teach in any profession in which they hold the underlying license. 

18VAC41-20-110. Student instructor temporary permit Instructor Temporary PermiI.  

A. A licensed barber, master barber, cosmetologist, nail technician, or wax technician may be 
granted a twelve (12) month student instructor temporary permit to function under the direct 
supervision of a barber instructor, master barber instructor, cosmetology instructor, nail technician 
instructor, or wax technician instructor respectively. a certified instructor in a licensed school. A 
licensed nail technician or wax technician may also be granted a student instructor permit to 
function under the direct supervision of a cosmetology instructor. No subsequent student 
instructor temporary permit shall be issued. 

DRAFT



B. The student instructor temporary permit shall remain in force for not more than 12 months 
after the date of issuance and shall be nontransferable and nonrenewable. 

C. No applicant for examination shall be issued more than one student instructor temporary 
permit. 

D. B. Student instructors may teach in any profession in which they hold the underlying 
license. Failure to maintain a barber, master barber, cosmetology, nail technician, or wax 
technician license shall disqualify an individual from holding a student instructor temporary permit. 

E.C. Temporary permits shall not be issued where grounds may exist to deny a license 
pursuant to § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia or 18VAC41-20-100. 

18VAC41-20-120. General requirements for a shop or salon license Requirements for 
a Shop or Salon License.  

A. Any firm wishing to operate a barbershop, cosmetology salon, nail salon, or waxing salon 
shall obtain a shop or salon license in compliance with § 54.1-704.1 of the Code of Virginia and 
shall meet the following qualifications in order to receive a license: 

1. The applicant and all members of the responsible management shall be in good 
standing as a licensed shop or salon in Virginia and all other jurisdictions where licensed, 
certified, or registered. The applicant and all members of the responsible management 
shall disclose to the board at the time of application for licensure any disciplinary action 
taken in Virginia and all other jurisdictions in connection with the applicant's operation of 
any barbershop, cosmetology salon, nail salon, or waxing salon or practice of the 
profession. This includes monetary penalties, fines, probation, suspensions, revocations, 
surrender of a license in connection with a disciplinary action, pertaining to services within 
the respective scope of practice, or voluntary termination of a license. The applicant shall 
disclose to the board at the time of application for licensure if the applicant or any member 
of the responsible management has been previously licensed in Virginia as a barbershop, 
cosmetology salon, nail salon, or waxing salon. 

Upon review of the applicant's and all members of the responsible management's prior 
disciplinary action, the board, in its discretion, may deny licensure to any applicant wherein 
it deems the applicant is unfit or unsuited to engage in the operation of a barbershop, 
cosmetology salon, nail salon, or waxing salon. The board will decide each case by taking 
into account the totality of the circumstances. Any plea of nolo contendere or comparable 
plea shall be considered a disciplinary action for the purposes of this section. The 
applicant shall provide a certified copy of a final order, decree, or case decision by a court, 
regulatory agency, or board with the lawful authority to issue such order, decree, or case 
decision, and such copy shall be admissible as prima facie evidence of such disciplinary 
action. 

2. The applicant shall disclose the applicant's physical address. A post office box is not 
acceptable.may be provided as secondary address. 

3. The applicant shall sign, as part of the application, a statement certifying that the 
applicant has read and understands the Virginia barber and cosmetology license laws and 
this chapter. 

4. In accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia, each applicant shall disclose the 
following information about the firm and all members of the responsible management 
regarding criminal convictions in Virginia and all other jurisdictions: 

a. All misdemeanor convictions within two years of the date of application involving 
moral turpitude, sexual offense, non-marijuana drug distribution, or physical injury 
within two years of the date of the application; and 

b. All felony convictions within 20 10 years of the date of application. 
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Any plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a conviction for purposes of this 
subsection. The record of a conviction received from a court shall be accepted as prima 
facie evidence of a conviction or finding of guilt. The board, in its discretion, may deny 
licensure to any applicant in accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia. 

5. The applicant shall disclose the firm's responsible management. 

B. Shop or salon licenses are issued to firms as defined in this chapter and shall not be 
transferable. and shall bear the same name and address of the business. Any changes in the 
name or address of the shop or salon shall be reported to the board in writing within 30 days of 
such changes. The board shall not be responsible for the licensee's, certificate holder's, or permit 
holder's failure to receive notices, communications, and correspondence caused by the 
licensee's, certificate holder's, or permit holder's failure to promptly notify the board in writing of 
any change of name or address or for any other reason beyond the control of the board. The new 
responsible management is responsible for applying for a new license within 30 days of the 
changes. 

C. Whenever the legal business entity holding the license is dissolved or altered to form a new 
business entity, the original license becomes void. and shall be returned to the board within 30 
days of the change. The firm must notify the board within 30 days of the change and destroy the 
license. Additionally, the firm shall apply for a new license, within 30 days of the change in the 
business entity. Such changes include: 

1. Death of a sole proprietor; 

2. Death or withdrawal of a general partner in a general partnership or the managing 
partner in a limited partnership; and 

3. Conversion, formation, or dissolution of a corporation, a limited liability company, an 
association, or any other business entity recognized under the laws of the Commonwealth 
of Virginia. 

D. Any change in the officers of a corporation, managers of a limited liability company, or 
officers or directors of an association shall be reported to the board in writing within 30 days of 
the change. 

E. Mobile shops and salons must have a shop or salon license and provide a physical address. 

E.F. The board or any of its agents shall be allowed to inspect during reasonable hours any 
licensed shop or salon for compliance with provisions of Chapter 7 (§ 54.1-700 et seq.) of Title 
54.1 of the Code of Virginia or this chapter. For purposes of a board inspection, "reasonable 
hours" means the hours between 9 a.m. and 5 p.m.; however, if the licensee generally is not open 
to the public substantially during the same hours, "reasonable hours" shall mean the business 
hours when the licensee is open to the public. 

18VAC41-20-130. General requirements for a school license School License.  

A. Any firm wishing to operate a barber, master barber cosmetology, nail technician, or wax 
technician school shall submit an application to the board at least 60 days prior to the date for 
which approval is sought, obtain a school license in compliance with § 54.1-704.2 of the Code of 
Virginia, and meet the following qualifications in order to receive a license: 

1. The applicant and all members of the responsible management shall be in good 
standing as a licensed school in Virginia and all other jurisdiction where licensed, certified, 
or registered. The applicant and all members of the responsible management shall 
disclose to the board at the time of application for licensure any disciplinary action taken 
in Virginia and all other jurisdictions in connection with the applicant's operation of any 
barbering, cosmetology, nail, or waxing school or practice of the profession. This includes 
to monetary penalties, fines, probation, suspensions, revocations, surrender of a license 
in connection with a disciplinary action, pertaining to services in the respective scope of 
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practice, or voluntary termination of a license. The applicant shall disclose to the board at 
the time of application for licensure if the applicant or any member of the responsible 
management has been previously licensed in Virginia as a barbering, cosmetology, nail, 
or waxing school. 

Upon review of the applicant's and all members of the responsible management's prior 
disciplinary action, the board, in its discretion, may deny licensure to any applicant wherein 
the board deems the applicant is unfit or unsuited to engage in the operation of a 
barbering, cosmetology, nail, or waxing school. The board will decide each case by taking 
into account the totality of the circumstances. Any plea of nolo contendere or comparable 
plea shall be considered a disciplinary action for the purposes of this section. The 
applicant shall provide a certified copy of a final order, decree, or case decision by a court, 
regulatory agency, or board with the lawful authority to issue such order, decree, or case 
decision, and such copy shall be admissible as prima facie evidence of such disciplinary 
action. 

2. The applicant shall disclose the applicant's physical address. A post office box is not 
acceptable.may be provided as secondary address. 

3. The applicant shall sign, as part of the application, a statement certifying that the 
applicant has read and understands the Virginia barber and cosmetology license laws and 
this chapter. 

4. In accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia, each applicant shall disclose the 
following information about the firm and all members of the responsible management 
regarding criminal convictions in Virginia and all other jurisdictions: 

a. All misdemeanor convictions within two years of the date of the application involving 
moral turpitude, sexual offense, non-marijuana drug distribution, or physical injury 
within two years of the date of the application; and 

b. All felony convictions within 20 10 years of the date of application. 

Any plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a conviction for purposes of this 
subsection. The record of a conviction received from a court shall be accepted as prima 
facie evidence of a conviction or finding of guilt. The board, in its discretion, may deny 
licensure to any applicant in accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia. 

5. The applicant shall disclose the firm's responsible management. 

B. Barber, cosmetology, nail technician, and wax technician school licenses are issued to 
firms as defined in this chapter, shall not be transferable,. and shall bear the same name and 
address as the school. Any changes in the name or the address of record or principal place of 
business of the school shall be reported to the board in writing within 30 days of such change. 
The board shall not be responsible for the licensee's, certificate holder's, or permit holder's failure 
to receive notices, communications, and correspondence caused by the licensee's, certificate 
holder's, or permit holder's failure to promptly notify the board in writing of any change of name 
or address or for any other reason beyond the control of the board. The name of the school must 
indicate that it is an educational institution. All signs, or other advertisements, must reflect the 
name as indicated on the license issued by the board and contain language indicating it is an 
educational institution. 

C. Whenever the legal business entity holding the license is dissolved or altered to form a new 
business entity, the original license becomes void. and shall be returned to the board within 30 
days of the change. The firm must notify the board within 30 days of the change and destroy the 
license. Additionally, the firm shall apply for a new license within 30 days of the change in business 
entity. Such changes include: 

1. Death of a sole proprietor; 
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2. Death or withdrawal of a general partner in a general partnership or the managing 
partner in a limited partnership; and 

3. Conversion, formation, or dissolution of a corporation, a limited liability company, an 
association, or any other business entity recognized under the laws of the Commonwealth 
of Virginia. 

D. Any change in the officers of a corporation, managers of a limited liability company, or 
officers or directors of an association shall be reported to the board in writing within 30 days of 
the change. 

E. Barber schools, cosmetology schools, nail schools, or waxing schools under the Virginia 
Department of Education shall be exempted from licensure requirements. 

F. The board or any of its agents shall be allowed to inspect during reasonable hours any 
licensed school for compliance with provisions of Chapter 7 (§ 54.1-700 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of 
the Code of Virginia or this chapter. For purposes of a board inspection, "reasonable hours" 
means the hours between 9 a.m. and 5 p.m.; however, if the licensee generally is not open to the 
public substantially during the same hours, "reasonable hours" shall mean the business hours 
when the licensee is open to the public. 

Part III 

Fees 

18VAC41-20-140. Fees.  

The following fees apply:are nonrefundable and shall not be prorated: 

FEE TYPE 

AMOUNT DUE 
September 1, 2022, 
through August 31, 

2024 

AMOUNT DUE 
September 1, 2024, 

and after 
WHEN DUE 

Individuals: 

Application $90 $105 With application 

License by 
Endorsement 

$90 $105 With application 

Renewal: 

Barber $90 $105 
With renewal card 
prior to expiration 
date 

Master Barber $90 $105 
With renewal card 
prior to expiration 
date 

Cosmetologist $90 $105 
With renewal card 
prior to expiration 
date 

Nail Technician $90 $105 
With renewal card 
prior to expiration 
date 
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Wax 
Technician 

$90 $105 
With renewal card 
prior to expiration 
date 

Reinstatement 

$180* 
*includes $90 renewal 

fee and $90 
reinstatement fee 

$210* 
*includes $105 

renewal fee and $105 
reinstatement fee 

With reinstatement 
application 

Instructors:Instructor Certificate: 

Application $110 $125 With application 

License by 
Endorsement 

$110 $125 With application 

Renewal $110$20 $150$20 
With renewal card 
prior to expiration 
date 

Reinstatement 

$220*$40* 
*includes $110$20 

renewal fee and 
$110$20 

reinstatement fee 

$300*$40* 
*includes $150$20 

renewal fee and 
$150$20 

reinstatement fee 

With reinstatement 
application 

Facilities: 

Application $165 $190 With application 

Renewal $165 $190 
With renewal card 
prior to expiration 
date 

Reinstatement 

$330* 
*includes $165 

renewal fee and $165 
reinstatement fee 

$380* 
*includes $190 

renewal fee and $190 
reinstatement fee 

With reinstatement 
application 

Schools: 

Application $185 $220 With application 

Add Program $100 $100 With application 

Renewal $185 $220 
With renewal card 
prior to expiration 
date 

Reinstatement 

$370* 
*includes $185 

renewal fee and $185 
reinstatement fee 

$440* 
*includes $220 

renewal fee and $220 
reinstatement fee 

With reinstatement 
application 
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18VAC41-20-150. Refunds. (Repealed.) 

All fees are nonrefundable and shall not be prorated.  

Part IV 

Renewal/Reinstatement 

18VAC41-20-160. License renewal required Renewal Required.  

A license or certificate issued under this chapter shall expire two years from the last day of 
the month in which it was issued. 

18VAC41-20-170. Notice of renewal Renewal.  

The Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation will mail a renewal notice to the 
licensee or certificate holder outlining the procedures for renewal. Failure to receive this notice, 
however, shall not relieve the licensee or certificate holder of the obligation to renew. If the 
licensee or certificate holder fails to receive the renewal notice, a copy of the old license or 
certificate may be submitted as evidence of intent to renew, along with the required fee. 

18VAC41-20-180. Failure to renew Renew.  

A. When a licensed or certified individual or business entity fails to renew its license or 
certificate within 30 days following its expiration date, the licensee or certificate holder shall apply 
for reinstatement of the license or certificate by submitting to the Department of Professional and 
Occupational Regulation a reinstatement application and renewal fee and reinstatement fee. 

B. When a licensed or certified individual or business entity fails to renew its license within 
two years following the expiration date, reinstatement is no longer possible. To resume practice: 

1. The former licensee or certificate holder shall apply for licensure or certification as a 
new applicant and shall meet all current entry requirements for each respective license or 
certificate. 

2. An individual initially granted licensure under any of the following examination or training 
waiver provisions, known as grandfathering, shall submit a new application showing the 
individual met the requirements of the applicable examination or training waiver provision, 
demonstrate five years of licensed experience, and pass the required examination: 
previously licensed in Virginia for a minimum of three (3) years shall submit a new 
application, and pass the required examination. 

a. Any person who was exempted from examination for licensure as a barber, as such 
person was engaged in the practice of barbering on or before July 1, 1966, in any 
establishment or place of business within which the practice of barbering was carried 
on by only one barber, and such person filed an application with the board on or before 
January 1, 1967. 

b. Any person exempted from examination as a registered professional hair dresser, 
as such person was substantially engaged as a hairdresser in Virginia for at least nine 
months prior to June 29, 1962, and such person filed an application satisfactory to the 
board on or before July 1, 1963. 

c. Any person exempted from training requirements for licensure as a nail technician, 
as such person had experience or training as a nail technician, and such person 
applied to the board for examination by October 1, 1991. 

d. Any person exempted from examination as a wax technician pursuant to § 54.1-
703.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

C. The application for reinstatement for a school shall provide (i) the reasons for failing to 
renew prior to the expiration date and (ii) a notarized statement that all students currently enrolled 
or seeking to enroll at the school have been notified in writing that the school's license has expired. 

DRAFT



All of these materials shall be called the application package. Reinstatement will be considered 
by the board if the school consents to and satisfactorily passes an inspection of the school and if 
the school's records are maintained in accordance with 18VAC41-20-240 and 18VAC41-20-250 
by the Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation. Pursuant to 18VAC41-20-130, 
upon receipt of the reinstatement fee, application package, and inspection results, the board may 
reinstate the school's license or require requalification or both. If the reinstatement application 
package and reinstatement fee are not received by the board within six months following the 
expiration date of the school's license, the board will notify the testing service that prospective 
graduates of the unlicensed school are not acceptable candidates for the examination. Such 
notification will be sent to the school and must be displayed in a conspicuous manner by the 
school in an area that is accessible to the public. No student shall be disqualified from taking the 
examination because the school was not licensed for a portion of the time the student attended if 
the school license is reinstated by the board. 

D. The date a renewal fee is received by the Department of Professional and Occupational 
Regulation, or its agent, will be used to determine whether the requirement for reinstatement of a 
license or certificate is applicable. 

E. When a license or certificate is reinstated, the licensee or certificate holder shall be 
assigned an expiration date two years from the date of the last day of the month of reinstatement. 

F. A licensee or certificate holder that reinstates its license or certificate shall be regarded as 
having been continuously licensed or certified without interruption. Therefore, a licensee or 
certificate holder shall be subject to the authority of the board for activities performed prior to 
reinstatement. 

G. A licensee or certificate holder that fails to reinstate its license or certificate shall be 
regarded as unlicensed or uncertified from the expiration date of the license or certificate forward. 
Nothing in this chapter shall divest the board of its authority to discipline a licensee or certificate 
holder for a violation of the law or regulations during the period of time for which the individual 
was licensed or certified. 

Part V 

Barber Cosmetology, Nail, and Waxing Schools 

18VAC41-20-200. General requirements Requirements.  

A barber, master barber, cosmetology, nail, or waxing school shall: 

1. Hold a school license for each and every location. 

2. Hold a salon license if the school receives compensation for services provided in its 
clinic. 

3. Employ a staff of and ensure all training is conducted by licensed and certified barber, 
master barber, cosmetology, nail technician, or wax technician instructors, respectively. 

a. Licensed and certified cosmetology instructors may also instruct in nail and waxing 
programs. 

b. Licensed and certified esthetics instructors and master esthetics instructors may 
also instruct in waxing programs. 

b. Instructor programs must be taught by a certified instructor. 

c. Any change in instructors shall be reported to the board within 30 days of the 
change. 

d. License and certified barber instructors may instruct straight razor shaving on face 
and neck in a cosmetology school. 
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4. Develop individuals for entry -level competency in barbering, master barbering, 
cosmetology, nail care, or waxing. 

5. Submit its curricula for board approval. All changes to curricula must be resubmitted 
and approved by the board. 

a. Barber curricula shall be based on a minimum of 1,100 750 clock hours and shall 
include performances in accordance with 18VAC41-20-220. 

b. Master barber curricula shall be based on a minimum of 400 250 clock hours and 
shall include performances in accordance with 18VAC41-20-220. 

c. Dual barber/master barber program curricula shall be based on a minimum of 1,500 
1,000 clock hours and shall include performances in accordance with 18VAC41-20-
220. 

d. Cosmetology curricula shall be based on a minimum of 1,500 1,000 clock hours and 
shall include performances in accordance with 18VAC41-20-220. 

e. Nail technician curricula shall be based on a minimum of 150 clock hours and shall 
include performances in accordance with 18VAC41-20-220. 

f. Wax technician curricula shall be based on a minimum of 115 clock hours and shall 
include performances in accordance with 18VAC41-20-220. 

6. Inform the public that all services are performed by students if the school receives 
compensation for services provided in its clinic by posting a notice in the reception area 
of the shop or salon in plain view of the public. 

7. Conduct classroom instruction in an area separate from the clinic area where practical 
instruction is conducted and services are provided. 

8. Possess the necessary equipment and implements to teach the respective curriculum. 
If any such equipment or implement is not owned by the school, then a copy of all 
agreements associated with the use of such property by the school shall be provided to 
the board. 

18VAC41-20-210. Curriculum requirements Requirements.  

A. Each barber school shall submit with its application a curriculum including a course 
syllabus, a detailed course content outline, a sample of five lesson plans, a sample of evaluation 
methods to be used, days and hours of instruction, program length, and a breakdown of hours 
and performances for all courses to be taught that will lead to licensure. The outline for barbering 
shall include the following: 

1. School policies;Orientation and business topics- minimum of 25 hours of instruction. 

a. School policies; 

b. Business and shop management; and 

c. Professional ethics and personal hygiene. 

2. State law, and regulations, and professional ethics;- minimum of 10 hours of instruction. 

3. Business and shop management; 

4. Client consultation; 

5. Personal hygiene; 

6. Cutting the hair with a razor, clippers, and shears; 

7. Tapering the hair; 

8. Thinning the hair; 

9. Shampooing the hair; 

10. Shaving; 
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11. Trimming a moustache or beard; 

12. Applying hair color; 

13. Analyzing skin or scalp conditions; 

14. Giving scalp treatments; 

15. Giving basic facial massage or treatment; 

16. Sanitizing and maintaining implements and equipment; and 

17. Honing and stropping a razor. 

3. Shampooing, cutting, thinning, tapering the hair with razor, clippers, and shears- 
minimum of 270 hours of instruction. 

a. Client Consultation; and 

b. Styling hair with a hand hair dryer. 

4. Shaving and trimming a mustache or beard- minimum of 100 hours of instruction. 

a. Client Consultation. 

5. Applying hair color- minimum of 50 hours of instruction. 

a. Client Consultation. 

6. Applied sciences - minimum of 100 hours of instruction. 

a. Anatomy and physiology; 

b. Skin structure and function; 

c. Skin types; 

d. Skin conditions;  

e. Diseases and disorders of the skin; 

f. Analyzing skin or scalp conditions; and 

g. Giving scalp treatments. 

7. General sciences - minimum of 80 hours of instruction. 

a. Bacteriology; 

b. Microorganisms; 

c. Infection control, sanitation, disinfection, sterilization; 

d. Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) requirements; 

e. Safety Data Sheet (SDS); 

f. General procedures and safety measures; 

g. Cosmetic chemistry; and 

h. Products and ingredients. 

8. Facial Hair and Skin Care Services– minimum of 100 hours of instruction. 

a. Client skin analysis and consultation; 

b. Effleurage and related movements and manipulations of the face and body; 

c. Cleansing procedures; 

d. Masks; 

e. Extraction techniques; 

f. Machines, equipment, and electricity; 

g. Manual facials and treatments; 

h. Machine, electrical facials, and treatments; and 
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i. General procedures and safety measures. 

9. Understanding and maintaining implements and equipment (tools)- minimum of 15 
hours of instruction. 

B. Each barber school seeking to add a master barber program shall submit with its application a 
curriculum including a course syllabus, a detailed course content outline, a sample of five lesson 
plans, a sample of evaluation methods to be used, days and hours of instruction, program length, 
and a breakdown of hours and performances for all courses to be taught that will lead to 
licensure. The outline for master barbering shall include the following: 

1. Styling the hair with a hand hair dryer; 

2. Thermal waving; 

3. Permanent waving with chemicals; 

4. Relaxing the hair; 

5. Lightening or toning the hair; 

6. Hairpieces and wigs; and 

7. Waxing limited to the scalp. 

1. Thermal waving - minimum of 20 hours of instruction. 

2. Permanent waving and relaxing the hair with chemicals - minimum of 110 hours of instruction. 

3. Hairpieces and wigs - minimum of 15 hours of instruction. 

4. Waxing limited to the scalp - minimum of 5 hours of instruction. 

C. Each school seeking to add a dual barber/master barber program shall submit with its 
application a curriculum including a course syllabus, a detailed course content outline, a sample 
of five lesson plans, a sample of evaluation methods to be used, days and hours of instruction, 
program length, and a breakdown of hours and performances for all courses to be taught that will 
lead to licensure. The outline for dual barber/master barber program shall include the following: 

1. School policies; 

2. State law, regulations, and professional ethics; 

3. Business and shop management; 

4. Client consultation; 

5. Personal hygiene; 

6. Cutting the hair with a razor, clippers, and shears; 

7. Tapering the hair; 

8. Thinning the hair; 

9. Shampooing the hair; 
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10. Styling the hair with a hand hair dryer; 

11. Thermal waving; 

12. Permanent waving with chemicals; 

13. Relaxing the hair; 

14. Shaving; 

15. Trimming a moustache or beard; 

16. Applying hair color; 

17. Lightening or toning the hair; 

18. Analyzing skin or scalp conditions; 

19. Giving scalp treatments; 

20. Waxing limited to the scalp; 

21. Giving basic facial massage or treatment; 

22. Hair pieces; 

23. Sanitizing and maintaining implements and equipment; and 

24. Honing and stropping a razor. 

1. Orientation and business topics - minimum of 25 hours of instruction.  

a. School policies;  

b. Business and Shop Management; and  

c. Professional Ethics and personal hygiene. 

2. State law and regulations - minimum of 10 hours of instruction. 

3. Shampooing, cutting, thinning, tapering the hair with razor, clippers, and shears - minimum of 
270 hours of instruction. 

a. Client Consultation; and  

b. styling hair with a hand hair dryer. 

4. Shaving and trimming a mustache or beard - minimum of 100 hours of instruction. 

a. Client Consultation. 

5. Applying hair color - minimum of 50 hours of instruction. 

a. Client Consultation. 

6. Applied sciences - minimum of 100 hours of instruction. 

a. Anatomy and physiology; 
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b. Skin structure and function; 

c. Skin types; 

d. Skin conditions; 

e. Diseases and disorders of the skin; 

f. Analyzing skin or scalp conditions; and 

g. Giving scalp treatments. 

7. General sciences - minimum of 80 hours of instruction. 

a. Bacteriology; 

b. Microorganisms; 

c. Infection control, sanitation, disinfection, sterilization; 

d. Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) requirements; 

e. Safety Data Sheet (SDS); 

f. General procedures and safety measures; 

g. Cosmetic chemistry; and  

h. Products and ingredients; and. 

8. Facial Hair and Skin Care Services - minimum of 100 hours of instruction: 

a. Client skin analysis and consultation; 

b. Effleurage and related movements and manipulations of the face and body; 

c. Cleansing procedures; 

d. Masks; 

e. Extraction techniques; 

f. Machines, equipment, and electricity; 

g. Manual facials and treatments; 
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h. Machine, electrical facials, and treatments; and 

i. General procedures and safety measures. 

9. Understanding and maintaining implements and equipment (tools) - minimum of 15 hours of 
instruction 

10. Thermal waving - minimum of 20 hours of instruction. 

11. Permanent waving and relaxing the hair with chemicals - minimum of 110 hours of instruction. 

12. Lightening or toning the hair - minimum of 100 hours of instruction. 

13. Hairpieces and wigs - minimum of 15 hours of instruction. 

14. Waxing limited to the scalp - minimum of 5 hours of instruction. 

D. Each cosmetology school shall submit with its application a curriculum including a course 
syllabus, a detailed course content outline, a sample of five lesson plans, a sample of evaluation 
methods to be used, days and hours of instruction, program length, and a breakdown of hours 
and performances for all courses to be taught that will lead to licensure. The outline for 
cosmetology shall include the following: 

1. Orientation: 

a. School policies; 

b. State law, regulations, and professional ethics; 

c. Personal hygiene; and 

d. Bacteriology, sterilization, and sanitation. 

2. Manicuring and pedicuring:  

a. Anatomy and physiology; 

b. Diseases and disorders; 

c. Procedures to include both natural and artificial application; and 

d. Sterilization. 

3. Shampooing and rinsing: 

a. Fundamentals; 

b. Safety rules; 

c. Procedures; and 

d. Chemistry, anatomy, and physiology. 

4. Scalp treatments: 

a. Analysis; 

b. Disorders and diseases;  

c. Manipulations; and 

d. Treatments. 

5. Hair styling: 

a. Anatomy and facial shapes; 
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b. Finger waving, molding, and pin curling; 

c. Roller curling, combing, and brushing; and 

d. Heat curling, waving, and pressing. 

6. Hair cutting: 

a. Anatomy and physiology; 

b. Fundamentals, materials, and equipment; 

c. Procedures; and 

d. Safety practices. 

7. Permanent waving-chemical relaxing:  

a. Analysis;  

b. Supplies and equipment; 

c. Procedures and practical application; 

d. Chemistry; 

e. Recordkeeping; and  

f. Safety. 

8. Hair coloring and bleaching: 

a. Analysis and basic color theory; 

b. Supplies and equipment; 

c. Procedures and practical application; 

d. Chemistry and classifications; 

e. Recordkeeping; and 

f. Safety. 

9. Skin care and make-up: 

a. Analysis; 

b. Anatomy; 

c. Health, safety, and sanitary rules; 

d. Procedures; 

e. Chemistry and light therapy; 

f. Temporary removal of hair; and 

g. Lash and brow tinting. 

10. Wigs, hair pieces, and related theory: 

a. Sanitation and sterilization; 

b. Types; and 

c. Procedures. 

11. Salon management: 

a. Business ethics; and 

b. Care of equipment. 

1. Orientation and business topics - minimum of 45 hours of instruction. 

a. School policies; 

b. Management; 

c. Sales, inventory, and retailing; 
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d. Taxes and payroll; 

e. Insurance; 

f. Client records and confidentiality; and  

g. Professional ethics and practices. 

2. Laws and regulations - minimum of 10 hours of instruction. 

3. General sciences - minimum of 55 hours of instruction. 

a. Principles and practices of infection control; 

b. Safety Data Sheet(SDS);and 

c. Chemical usage and safety. 

4. Applied sciences - minimum of 40 hours of instruction. 

a. Anatomy, physiology, and histology. 

5. Shampooing, rinsing, and scalp treatments for all hair types, including textured hair - 
minimum of 25 hours of instruction. 

a. Client consultation and analysis; and 

b. Procedures, manipulations, and treatments. 

6. Hair styling for all hair types, including textured hair - minimum of 65 hours. 

a. Fingerwaving, molding, and pin curling; 

b. Roller curling, combing, and brushing; and 

c. Heat curling, waving, and pressing. 

7. Hair cutting for all hair types, including textured hair - minimum of 125 hours. 

a. Fundamentals, materials, and equipment; and 

b. Procedures. 

8. Permanent waving and chemical relaxing for all hair types, including textured hair - 
minimum of 115 hours. 

a. Chemistry; 

b. Supplies and equipment; and 

c. Procedures and practical application. 

9. Hair coloring and bleaching for all hair types, including textured hair - minimum of 160 
hours: 

a. Basic color theory; 

b. Supplies and equipment; and 

c. Procedures and practical application. 

10. Wigs, hair pieces, and related theory - minimum of 15 hours. 

a. Types; and 

b. Procedures. 

11. Straight razor use and shaving - minimum of 20 hours. 

12. Manicuring and pedicuring - minimum of 75 hours. 

a. Nail theory, nail structure, and composition; 

b. Nail procedures, including manicuring, pedicuring, and nail extensions; and  

c. Electric filing. 

13. Skin care - minimum of 160 hours of instruction. 

a. Client skin analysis and consultation; 
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b. Effleurage and related movements and manipulations of the face and body; 

c. Cleansings procedures; 

d. Masks; 

e. Extraction techniques; 

f. Machines, equipment, and electricity; 

g. Manual facials and treatments; 

h. Machine, electrical facials, and treatments; and 

i. General procedures and safety measures. 

14. Makeup - minimum of 35 hours of instruction. 

a. Setup, supplies, and implements; 

b. Color theory; 

c. Consultation; 

d. General and special occasion application; 

e. Camouflage; 

f. Application of false lashes and lash extensions; 

g. Lash and tinting; 

h. Lash perming; 

i. Lightning of the hair on the body except scalp; and 

j. General procedures and safety measures.  

15. Body and other treatments - minimum of 20 hours of instruction. 

a. Body treatments; 

b. Aromatherapy; and  

c. General procedures and safety measures. 

16. Hair removal - minimum of 35 hours of instruction: 

a. Client consultation and analysis; 

b. Waxing; 

c. Mechanical hair removal; 

d. Tweezing and threading; and 

e. Chemical hair removal. 

E. Each nail school shall submit with its application a curriculum including a course syllabus, 
a detailed course content outline, a sample of five lesson plans, a sample of evaluation methods 
to be used, days and hours of instruction, program length, and a breakdown of hours and 
performances for all courses to be taught that will lead to licensure. The outline for nail care shall 
include the following: 

1. Orientation: - minimum of 5 hours of instruction. 

a. School policies; and 

b. State law, regulations, and professional ethics; 

2. Sterilization, sanitation, bacteriology, and safety; - minimum of 35 hours of instruction. 

3. Anatomy and physiology; - minimum of 15 hours of instruction. 

4. Diseases and disorders of the nail; - minimum of 10 hours of instruction. 

5. Nail procedures (i.e., manicuring, pedicuring, and nail extensions); and - minimum of 
75 hours of instruction. 
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6. Nail theory and nail structure and composition. - minimum of 10 hours of instruction. 

F. Each waxing school shall submit with its application a curriculum including a course 
syllabus, a detailed course content outline, a sample of five lesson plans, a sample of evaluation 
methods to be used, days and hours of instruction, program length, and a breakdown of hours 
and performances for all courses to be taught that will lead to licensure. The outline for waxing 
shall include the following: 

1. Orientation: - minimum of 10 hours of instruction. 

a. School policies; 

b. State law, regulations, and professional ethics; and 

c. Personal hygiene. 

d. Salon management; and 

e. Care of equipment. 

2. Skin care theory, structure, composition, and treatment: - minimum of 30 hours of 
instruction. 

a. Analysis; 

b. Anatomy and physiology; 

c. Diseases and disorders of the skin; 

d. Health sterilization, sanitation, bacteriology, and safety including infectious disease 
control measures; and 

e. Temporary removal of hair. 

3. Skin theory, skin structure, and composition. 

4.3. Client consultation: - minimum of 10 hours of instruction. 

a. Health conditions; 

b. Skin analysis; 

c. Treatments; 

d. Client expectations; and 

e. Health forms and questionnaires. 

5.4. Waxing procedures for brow, lip, facial, legs, arms, underarm, chest, back, and bikini 
areas: - minimum of 35 hours of instruction. 

a. Fundamentals; 

b. Safety rules; and 

c. Procedures. 

6.5. Wax treatments: - minimum of 30 hours of instruction. 

a. Analysis; 

b. Disorders and diseases; 

c. Manipulations; and 

d. Treatments. 

7. Salon management: 

a. Business ethics; and 

b. Care of equipment. 

G. The instructor curriculum shall include, but not be limited to, the following: 
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1. Orientation, introduction to teaching, and professional ethics; 

2. Curriculum; 

3. Course outline and development; 

4. Lesson planning; 

5. Classroom management; 

6. Teaching techniques; 

7. Methods of instruction (including theory and practical instruction*); 

8. Learning styles; 

9. Learning disabilities; 

10. Teaching aids; 

11. Developing, administering and grading examinations; 

12. School administration; 

13. Recordkeeping; 

14. Laws and regulations; 

15. Supervision of clinic floor; and 

16. Practicum teaching. 

G.H. A licensed school with an approved barber, master barber, dual barber/master barber, 
cosmetology, nail technician, or wax technician program may conduct an assessment of a 
student's competence in the respective profession and, based on the assessment, give credit 
toward the hours requirements specified in the respective subsection of this section and 
18VAC41-20-220. 

The school shall may make the assessment based on a review of the student's transcript, 
documentation of hours and performances provided to the student by the school and the 
successful completion of a board-approved competency examination administered by the school. 
The school may also request a copy of a catalog or bulletin giving the full course description when 
making the evaluation. The number of credit hours awarded shall not exceed the actual hours of 
instruction verified on the transcript or the number of hours specified in the board-approved 
curriculum for a specific topic. 

18VAC41-20-220. Hours of instruction and performancesPractical Performance 
Requirements.  

A. Curriculum and performance requirements shall be offered over a minimum of 1,100 clock 
hours for barbering, 400 clock hours for master barbering, 1,500 clock hours for dual 
barber/master barber program and cosmetology, 150 clock hours for nail care, and 115 clock 
hours for waxing. 

B.A. The curriculum requirements for barbering must include the following minimum 
performances: 
 
Hair and scalp treatments 10 

 
Hair services 320 

 
Hair coloring (including tinting, temporary rinses, and semi-permanent color) 35 

 
Basic facials 5 
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TOTAL 370 

 
Hair and scalp treatments 10 

 Straight razor shaving on face and neck 12 
 
Hair services 285 

 
Hair coloring (including tinting, temporary rinses, and semi-permanent color) 20 

 
Basic facials 5 

 
TOTAL 332 

C.B. The curriculum requirements for master barbering must include the following minimum 
performances: 
 
Bleaching and frosting 10 

 
Cold permanent waving or chemical relaxing 25 

 
Hair shaping 50 

 
Wig care, styling, placing on model 5 

 
Finger waving and thermal waving 30 

 
TOTAL 120 

 Bleaching and frosting 20 

 Cold permanent waving or chemical relaxing 30 

 Wig care, styling, placing on model 15 

 Finger waving and thermal waving 30 

 Waxing limited to the scalp 5 

 TOTAL 100 

D.C. The curriculum requirements for dual barber/master barber program must include the 
following minimum performances: 
 
Hair and scalp treatments 10 

 
Hair styling services 320 

 
Bleaching and frosting 10 

 
Hair coloring (including tinting, temporary rinses, and semi-permanent color) 35 

 
Cold permanent waving or chemical relaxing 25 

 
Hair shaping 50 
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Wig care, styling, placing on model 5 

 
Finger waving and thermal waving 30 

 
Basic facials and waxings 5 

 
TOTAL 490 

 Hair and scalp treatments 10 

 Hair services 285 

 Straight razor shaving on face and neck 12 

 Bleaching and frosting 20 

 Hair coloring (including tinting, temporary rinses, and semi-permanent color) 20 

 Cold permanent waving or chemical relaxing 30 

 Wig care, styling, placing on model 15 

 Finger waving and thermal waving 30 

 Basic facials  5 

 Waxing limited to the scalp 5 

 TOTAL 432  

E.D. The curriculum requirements for cosmetology must include the following minimum 
performances: 

Hair and scalp treatments 10 

Hair styling 320 

Tinting 15 

Bleaching and frosting 10 

Temporary rinses 10 

Semi-permanent color 10 

Cold permanent waving or chemical relaxing 25 

Hair shaping 50 

Wig care, styling, placing on model 5 
Finger waving and thermal waving 30 
Manicures and pedicures 15 
Basic facials and waxings 5 
Sculptured nails, nail tips, and wraps 20 
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TOTAL 525 

Shampooing, rinsing, and scalp treatments, for all hair types, including textured hair 20 

Hair styling, for all hair types, including textured hair 60 

Hair cutting, for all hair types, including textured hair 60 

Permanent waving-chemical relaxing, for all hair types, including textured hair 60 

Hair coloring and bleaching, for all hair types, including textured hair 50 

Wigs, hair pieces, and related theory 5 

Straight razor shaving on face and neck 12 

Manicuring and pedicuring 15 procedures 

Individual sculptured nails and nail tips 30 

Body and other treatments 5 

Makeup 20 

Skin care 15 

Hair removal 15 

TOTAL 367 

F.E. The curriculum requirements for nail care must include the following minimum 
performances: 
 

Manicures 3025 
 

Pedicures 1520 
 

Individual sculptured nails and nail tips 200170 
 

Individual removals 1020 
 

Individual nail wraps 2020 
 

TOTAL 275255 

G.F. The curriculum requirements for waxing must include the following minimum 
performances: 
 

Arms 42 
 

Back 21 
 

Bikini area 64 
 

Brows 12 
 

Chest 1  
Facial (i.e., face, chin, and cheek and lip) 6 
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Leg 32  
Underarm 2 

 
TOTAL 3630 

18VAC41-20-240. Records.  

A. Schools shall maintain on the premises of each school and available for inspection by the 
board or any of its agents the following records for the period of a student's enrollment through 
five years after the student's completion of the curriculum, termination, or withdrawal: 

1. Enrollment application containing student's signature and a two-inch by two-inch color 
head and shoulders photograph; 

2. Daily record of attendance containing student's signature; 

3. Student clock hours containing student's signature and method of calculation; 

4. Practical performance completion sheets containing student's signature; 

5. Final transcript; and 

6. All other relevant documents that account for a student's accrued clock hours and 
practical applications. 

6. Course descriptions, and 

7. All other relevant documents that account for a student's accrued clock hours and 
practical applications. 

B. Schools shall produce to the board or any of its agents within 10 days of the request any 
document, book, or record concerning any student, or for which the licensee is required to 
maintain records, for inspection and copying by the board or its agents. The board may extend 
such timeframe upon a showing of extenuating circumstances prohibiting delivery within such 10-
day period. 

C. Schools shall, within 21 days upon receipt of a written request from a student, provide 
documentation of hours and performances completed by the student as required to be maintained 
by subsection A of this section. 

D. Prior to a school changing ownership or a school closing, the school is required to provide 
to current students documentation of hours and performances completed. 

E. For a period of one year after a school changes ownership, the school shall provide, within 
21 days upon receipt of a written request from a student, documentation of hours and 
performances completed by a current student. 

18VAC41-20-250. Reporting.  

A. Schools shall provide, in a manner, format, and frequency prescribed by the board, a roster 
of all current students and a roster of students who attended in the preceding six months prior to 
the reporting deadline. 

B. Within 30 days of ceasing to operate, whether through dissolution or alteration of the 
business entity, the school shall provide a written report to the board on performances and hours 
of each of its students who have not completed the program. 

A. Each school must provide student rosters to the board no later than January 15, April 15, 
July 15, and October 15 of every year; 

1. A roster of all enrolled students and a roster of students who attended in the preceding six 
months prior to the reporting deadline. 

2. Students who are enrolled but have not begun classes must be included in the report. 
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3. Rosters will be provided on a Board supplied spreadsheet, which will include the students 
full name, date of birth, program type, date enrolled, the total number of hours to-date, and the 
date completed, terminated, or withdrawn.  

4. Schools with no students enrolled, but the intention of operating, must submit a report to 
that effect. Schools with no students enrolled that no longer wish to operate should terminate their 
license in accordance with Board regulations. 

5. Rosters must be submitted via a secure link provided by the Board. 

B. Within 30 days of ceasing to operate, whether through dissolution or alteration of the 
business entity, the school shall provide a written report to the board on performances and hours 
of each of its students who have not completed the program.  

Part VI 

Standards of Practice 

18VAC41-20-260. Scope of Practice and Display of license.  

A. Each The responsible management for shop, salon, or school shall ensure that all current 
licenses, certificates, or permits issued by the board shall be displayed in plain view of the public 
either in the reception area or at individual work stations of the shop, salon, or school. Duplicate 
licenses, certificates, or permits shall be posted in a like manner in every shop, salon, or school 
location where the regulant provides services. 

B. Each The responsible management for shop, salon, or school shall ensure that no 
employee, licensee, student, or apprentice performs any service beyond the scope of practice for 
the applicable license. 

C. All licensees, certificate holders, and permit holders shall operate under the name in which 
the license, certificate, or permit is issued. 

D. Unless also licensed as a cosmetologist, a barber or master barber is required to hold a 
separate nail technician or wax technician license if performing nail care or waxing. 

E. All apprenticeship cards issued by the Department of Labor and Industry (DOLI) shall be 
displayed in plain view of the public either in the reception area or at individual work stations of 
the shop or salon. The apprentice sponsor shall require each apprentice to wear a badge clearly 
indicating his status as a DOLI registered apprentice.Proof of apprenticeship registration issued 
by the applicable agency of the Virginia Department of Workforce Development Advancement 
(DWDA) shall be displayed in plain view of the public either in the reception area or at individual 
work stations of the shop or salon. The apprentice sponsor shall require each apprentice to wear 
a badge clearly indicating his status as a DWDA registered apprentice. 

18VAC41-20-270. Sanitation and safety standards for shops, salons, and schools Safety 
Standards for Shops, Salons, and Schools.  

A. Sanitation and safety standards. Any shop, salon, school, or facility where barber, master 
barber, cosmetology, or nail or waxing services are delivered to the public must be clean and 
sanitary at all times. Compliance with these rules does not confer compliance with other 
requirements set forth by federal, state, and local laws, codes, ordinances, and regulations as 
they apply to business operation, physical construction and maintenance, safety, and public 
health. Licensees shall take sufficient measures to prevent the transmission of communicable 
and infectious diseases and comply with the sanitation standards identified in this section and 
shall ensure that all employees likewise comply. 

A. Sanitation and safety standards. 

1. Any shop, salon, or school where barber, master barber, cosmetology, nail or wax services 
are delivered to the public must be clean and sanitary at all times. 

DRAFT



2. Compliance with these rules does not confer compliance with other requirements set forth 
by federal, state, and local laws, codes, ordinances, and regulations as they apply to business 
operation, physical construction and maintenance, safety, and public health.  

3. Licensees shall take sufficient measures to prevent the transmission of communicable and 
infectious diseases and comply with the sanitation standards identified in this section and shall 
ensure that all employees likewise comply. 

B. Disinfection and storage of implements. 

1. A wet disinfection unit is a container large enough to hold a disinfectant solution in which 
the objects to be disinfected are completely immersed. A wet disinfection unit must have 
a cover to prevent contamination of the solution. The solution must be an Environmental 
Protection Agency (EPA) registered disinfectant that is bactericidal, virucidal, and 
fungicidal. Disinfectant solutions shall be used according to manufacturer's directions. 
Each barber, master barber, cosmetologist, nail technician, and wax technician must have 
a wet disinfection unit at his station and must meet the standards in the definition of wet 
disinfection requirements. 

2. Disinfection of multiuse implements items constructed of hard, nonporous materials 
such as metal, glass, or plastic that the manufacturer designed for use on more than one 
client, including clippers, scissors, combs, and nippers is to be carried out in the following 
manner prior to servicing a client: 

a. Remove all foreign matter from the object, utilizing a brush if needed. Drill bits are 
to be soaked in acetone and scrubbed with a wire brush to remove all foreign matter; 

b. Wash thoroughly with hot water and soap; 

c. Rinse thoroughly with clean water and dry thoroughly with a clean paper towel; 

d. Fully immerse implements into wet disinfectant solution for a minimum of 10 
minutes; and 

e. After immersion, rinse articles, dry thoroughly with a clean paper towel, and store in 
a clean, predisinfected, and dry cabinet, drawer, or nonairtight sealed covered 
container, or leave instruments in an EPA-registered wet disinfection unit storage 
solution used according to manufacturer's directions. 

3. Single-use items designed by the manufacturer for use on no more than one client 
should be discarded immediately after use on each individual client, including but not 
limited to powder puffs, lip color, cheek color, sponges, styptic pencils, or nail care 
implements, or disposable razors. The disinfection and reuse of these items is not 
permitted and the use of single-use items on more than one client is prohibited. 

4. For the purpose of recharging, rechargeable clippers may be stored in an area other 
than in a closed cabinet or container. This area shall be clean and the cutting edges of 
any clippers are to be disinfected. 

5. Electrical clipper blades shall be disinfected before and after each use. If the clipper 
blade cannot be removed, the use of a spray or foam used according to the manufacturer's 
instructions will be acceptable, provided that the disinfectant is an EPA-registered 
disinfectant that is bactericidal, virucidal, and fungicidal, and that the entire handle is also 
disinfected by wiping with the disinfectant solution. 

6. All wax pots shall be cleaned and disinfected with an EPA-registered disinfectant that 
is bactericidal, virucidal, and fungicidal and with no sticks left standing in the wax at any 
time. The area immediately surrounding the wax pot shall be clean and free of clutter, 
waste materials, spills, and any other items that may pose a hazard. 
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7. Each barber, master barber, cosmetologist, nail technician, and wax technician must 
have a wet disinfection unit at his station. 

8.7. Sinks, and bowls, tubs, whirlpool units, air-jetted basins, pipe-less units, and non-
whirlpool basins used in the performance of nail care shall be maintained in accordance 
with manufacturer's recommendations. They shall be cleaned and disinfected immediately 
after each client in the following manner: 

a. Drain all water and remove all debris; 

b. Clean the surfaces and walls with soap or detergent to remove all visible debris, 
oils, and product residue and then rinse with water; 

c. Disinfect by spraying or wiping the surface with an EPA-registered disinfectant that 
is bactericidal, virucidal, and fungicidal; andin accordance with manufacturer 
directions; and 

d. Wipe dry with a clean towel. 

8. Foot tubs, whirlpool units, air-jetted basins, pipe-less units, and non-whirlpool basins 
used in the performance of nail care shall be maintained in accordance with 
manufacturer's recommendations. They shall be cleaned and disinfected immediately 
after each client in the following manner: 

a. Drain all water and remove all debris; 

b. Clean the surfaces and walls with soap or detergent to remove all visible debris, 
oils, and product residue and then rinse with water;  

c. Disinfect with an EPA-registered disinfectant that is bactericidal, virucidal, and 
fungicidal in accordance with manufacturer directions for pedicure units; and 

d. Wipe dry with a clean towel. 

C. General sanitation and safety requirements. 

1. Service chairs, wash basins, shampoo sinks, workstations and workstands, and back 
bars shall be clean; 

2. The floor surface in all work areas must be of a washable surface other than carpet. 
The floor must be kept clean and free of hair, nail clippings, dropped articles, spills, clutter, 
trash, electrical cords, other waste materials, and any other items that may pose a hazard; 

3. All furniture, fixtures, walls, floors, windows, and ceilings shall be clean and in good 
repair and free of water seepage and dirt. Any mats shall be secured or shall lie flat; 

4. A fully functional bathroom in the same building with a working toilet and sink must be 
available for clients. There must be hot and cold running water. Fixtures must be in good 
condition. The bathroom must be lighted and sufficiently ventilated. If there is a window, it 
must have a screen. There must be soap and clean single-use towels or hand air-drying 
device for the client's use. Laundering of towels is allowed, space permitting. The 
bathroom must not be used as a work area or for the open storage of chemicals. For 
facilities newly occupied after January 1, 2017, the bathroom shall be maintained 
exclusively for client use or shared with other businesses in the same building. If the 
bathroom is shared, the bathroom shall be available for client use and within 200 feet of 
the entrance and must adhere to all sanitation requirements of this chapter; 

5. General areas for client use must be neat and clean with a waste receptacle for common 
trash; 

6. Electrical cords shall be placed to prevent entanglement by the client or licensee, and 
electrical outlets shall be covered by plates; 
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7. All sharp tools, implements, and heat-producing appliances shall be in safe working 
order at all times, safely stored, and placed so as to prevent any accidental injury to the 
client or licensee; 

8. The salon area shall be sufficiently ventilated to exhaust hazardous or objectionable 
airborne chemicals, and to allow the free flow of air; and 

9. Adequate lighting shall be provided. 

D. Articles, tools, and products. 

1. Clean towels, robes, or other linens shall be used for each patron. Clean towels, robes, 
or other linens shall be stored in a clean, predisinfected, and dry cabinet, drawer, or 
nonairtight covered container. Soiled towels, robes, or other linens shall be stored in a 
container enclosed on all sides including the top, except if stored in a separate laundry 
room; 

2. Whenever a haircloth is used, a clean towel or neck strip shall be placed around the 
neck of the patron to prevent the haircloth from touching the skin; 

3. Soiled implements must be removed from the tops of work stations immediately after 
use; 

4. Any multiuse article, tool, or product that cannot be disinfected by full immersion as 
specified in 18VAC41-20-270.B.2 or cleaned according to manufactures recommendation, 
including but not limited to natural hair brushes or neck dusters, is prohibited from use.  

4.5. Lotions, ointments, creams, and powders shall be labeled and kept in closed 
containers. A clean spatula, other clean tools, or clean disposable gloves shall be used to 
remove bulk substances such as creams or ointments from jars. Sterile cotton or sponges 
shall be used to apply creams, lotions, and powders. Cosmetic containers shall be covered 
after each use; 

5.6. For nail care, if a sanitary container is provided for a client, the sanitary container shall 
be labeled and implements shall be used solely for that specific client. Disinfection shall 
be carried out in accordance with subdivisions B 1 and B 2 of this section; 

6.7. No substance other than a sterile styptic powder or sterile liquid astringent approved 
for homeostasis and applied with a sterile single-use applicator shall be used to check 
bleeding; and 

7.8. Any disposable material making contact with blood or other body fluid shall be 
disposed of in a sealed plastic bag and removed from the shop, salon, school, or facility 
in accordance with the guidelines of the Virginia Department of Health. double bagged, 
labeled as a biohazard, and disposed of in a closed receptacle. 

E. Chemical storage and emergency information. 

1. Shops, salons, schools, and facilities shall have in the immediate working area a binder 
with all Safety Data Sheets (SDS) provided by manufacturers for any chemical products 
used; 

2. Shop, salons, schools, and facilities shall have a blood spill clean-up kit in the work area 
that contains at minimum latex gloves, two 12-inch by 12-inch towels, one disposable trash 
bag, bleach, one empty spray bottle, and one mask with face shield or any Occupational 
Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) approved blood spill clean-up kit; 

3. Flammable chemicals shall be labeled and stored in a nonflammable storage cabinet 
or a properly ventilated room; and 

4. Chemicals that could interact in a hazardous manner (e.g., oxidizers, catalysts, and 
solvents) shall be labeled and separated in storage. 

F. Client health guidelines. 
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1. All employees providing client services shall cleanse their hands with a soap product 
prior to providing services to each client. Licensees shall require that clients for nail care 
services shall cleanse their hands immediately prior to the requested nail care service; 

2. An artificial nail shall only be applied to a healthy natural nail; 

3. A nail drill or motorized instrument shall be used only on the artificial nail surface only. 
free edge of the nail;Use on natural is prohibited; 

4. No shop, salon, school, or facility providing cosmetology or nail care services shall have 
on the premises cosmetic products containing hazardous substances that have been 
banned by the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) for use in cosmetic products; 

5. No product shall be used in a manner that is disapproved by the FDA; and 

6. All regulated services must be performed in a facility that is in compliance with current 
local building and zoning codes. 

G. In addition to any requirements set forth in this section, all licensees and temporary permit 
holders shall adhere to regulations and guidelines established by the Virginia Department of 
Health and the Occupational Safety and Health Compliance Division of the Virginia Department 
of Labor and Industry.Workforce Development and Advancement. 

H. All shops, salons, schools, and facilities shall immediately report the results of any 
inspection of the shop, salon, or school by the Virginia Department of Health as required by § 
54.1-705 of the Code of Virginia. 

I. All shops, salons, schools, and facilities shall maintain a self-inspection form on file to be 
updated on an annual basis, and kept for five years, so that it may be requested and reviewed by 
the board at its discretion. 

18VAC41-20-280. Grounds for license revocation or suspension; denial of application, 
renewal, or reinstatement; or imposition of a monetary penaltyGrounds for 
LicenseRevocation ,Suspension, or Probation; Denial of Application, Renewal or 
Reinstatement; or Imposition of a Monetary Penalty.  

The board may, in considering the totality of the circumstances, fine any licensee, certificate 
holder, or permit holder; suspend or revoke or refuse to issue, renew or reinstate any license, 
certificate or permit, impose a monetary penalty, place a license, certificate or permit on probation 
with such terms and conditions and for such time as it may designate, suspend a license certificate 
or permit for a stated period of time; or revoke, a license certificate or permit issued certificate, or 
permit; or deny any application issued under the provisions of Chapter 7 (§ 54.1-700 et seq.) of 
Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia and this chapter if it finds that the licensee, certificate holder, 
permit holder, or applicant: 

1. Is incompetent, or negligent in practice, or incapable unable to practice with skill or 
safety as a result of any mental or physical condition, mentally or physically, as those 
terms are generally understood in the profession, (i) to practice as a barber, master barber, 
cosmetologist, nail technician, or wax technician, or to (ii) operate a shop, salon, or school; 

2. Is convicted of fraud or deceit in the practice or teaching of barbering, master barbering, 
cosmetology, nail care, or waxing or fails to teach the board-approved curriculum as 
provided for in this chapter; 

3. Attempts to obtain, obtained, renewed or reinstated a license, certificate, or temporary 
license permit by false or fraudulent representation; 

4. Violates or induces others to violate, or cooperates with others in violating, any of the 
provisions of this chapter or Chapter 7 (§ 54.1-700 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of 
Virginia or any local ordinance or regulation governing standards of health and sanitation 
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of the establishment in which any barber, master barber, cosmetologist, nail technician, 
or wax technician may practice or offer to practice; 

5. Offers, gives, or promises anything of value or benefit to any federal, state, or local 
employee for the purpose of influencing that employee to circumvent, in the performance 
of his duties, any federal, state, or local law, regulation, or ordinance governing barbering, 
master barbering, cosmetology, nail care, or waxing as defined in § 54.1-700 of the Code 
of Virginia; 

6. Fails to respond to the board or any of its agents or provides false, misleading, or 
incomplete information to an inquiry by the board or any of its agents; 

7. Fails or refuses to allow the board or any of its agents to inspect during reasonable 
hours any licensed shop, salon, or school for compliance with provisions of Chapter 7 (§ 
54.1-700 et seq.) or this chapter; 

8. Fails to produce, upon request or demand of the board or any of its agents, any 
document, book, record, or copy thereof in a licensee's or owner's possession or 
maintained in accordance with these regulations; 

9. Fails to notify the board of a change of name or address in writing within 30 days of the 
change for each and every license, certificate, or permit; 

10. Makes any misrepresentation or publishes or causes to be published any 
advertisement that is false, deceptive, or misleading; 

11. Fails to notify the board in writing within 30 days of the suspension, revocation, or 
surrender of a license, certificate, or permit in connection with a disciplinary action in any 
jurisdiction or of any license, certificate, or permit that has been the subject of disciplinary 
action in any jurisdiction; of final action, of any disciplinary action taken against a license, 
registration, certificate or permit in any jurisdiction by a local, state or national regulatory 
body;  

12. Has been convicted or found guilty, regardless of the manner of adjudication in Virginia 
or any other jurisdiction of the United States, of a misdemeanor involving moral turpitude, 
sexual offense, non-marijuana drug distribution, or physical injury or any felony, there 
being no appeal pending therefrom or the time for appeal having elapsed. Review of 
convictions shall be subject to the requirements of § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia. Any 
plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a conviction for purposes of this subdivision. 
The record of a conviction certified or authenticated in such form as to be admissible in 
evidence under the laws of the jurisdiction where convicted shall be admissible as prima 
facie evidence of such conviction or guilt; 

13. Fails to inform the board in writing within 30 days of pleading guilty or nolo contendere 
or being convicted or found guilty regardless of adjudication of any convictions as stated 
in subdivision 12 of this section; 

14. Allows, as responsible management of a shop, salon, or school, a person who has not 
obtained a license or a temporary permit to practice as a barber, master barber, 
cosmetologist, nail technician, or wax technician unless the person is duly enrolled as a 
registered apprentice; 

15. Allows, as responsible management of a school, a person who has not obtained an 
instructor certificate or a temporary permit to practice as a barber, master barber, 
cosmetologist, nail technician, or wax technician instructor; 

16. Fails to take sufficient measures to prevent transmission of communicable or infectious 
diseases or fails to comply with sanitary requirements provided for in this chapter or any 
local, state, or federal law or regulation governing the standards of health and sanitation 
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for the practices of barbering, master barbering, cosmetology, nail care, or waxing, or the 
operation of barbershops, cosmetology salons, nail salons, or waxing salons; or 

17. Fails to comply with all procedures established by the board and the testing service 
with regard to conduct at any board examination. 

FORMS (18VAC41-20) 

Barber - Master Barber - Barber Instructor Examination & License Application, A450-
1301_EXLIC-v18 (rev. 5/2022) 

Nail Technician – Nail Technician Instructor Examination & License Application, A450-
1206_07EXLIC-v19 (rev. 5/2022) 

Wax Technician – Wax Technician Instructor Examination & License Application, A450-
1214_15EXLIC-v18 (rev. 5/2022) 

Cosmetology – Cosmetology Instructor Examination & License Application, A450-
1201_04EXLIC-v21 (rev. 5/2022) 

Temporary Permit Application, A450-1213TEMP-v3 (rev. 12/2021) 

License by Endorsement Application, A450-1213END-v18 (rev. 9/2022) 

Individuals – Reinstatement Application, A450-1213REI-v13 (rev. 9/2022) 

Salon, Shop, Spa & Parlor License/Reinstatement Application A450-1213BUS-v16 (rev. 
9/2022) 

Salon, Shop & Spa Self Inspection Form, A450-1213_SSS_INSP-v2 (eff. 5/2016) 

Instructor Certification Application, A450-1213INST-v17 (rev. 10/2022) 

Student Instructor – Temporary Permit Application A450-1213ST_TEMP-v4 (rev. 12/2021) 

School License Application, A450-1213SCHL-v18 (rev. 5/2023) 

School Reinstatement Application A450-1213SCHL-REIN-v9 (eff. 9/2022) 

School Self-Inspection Form, A450-1213_SCH_INSP-v5 (eff. 1/2022) 

Licensure Fee Notice, A450-1213FEE-v11 (rev. 9/2022) 

Change of Responsible Management Application, A450-1213CRM-v6 (rev. 12/2021) 

Training Substitution Form, A450-1213TR_SUB-v1 (rev. 10/2021) 

Training Verification Form, A450-1213TR-vs1 (eff. 5/2022) 

Experience Verification Form A450-1213EXP-v2 (eff. 7/2022) 

Barber-Cosmetology Universal License App A450-1213ULR-v1 (eff. 7/2023) 
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Project 7715 - NOIRA 

Board For Barbers And Cosmetology 

General Review of the Esthetics Regulations 

Chapter 70 

Esthetics Regulations 

Part I 

General 

18VAC41-70-10. Definitions.  

The following words and terms when used in this chapter shall have the following meanings 
unless the context clearly indicates otherwise. All terms defined in Chapter 7 (§ 54.1-700 et seq.) 
of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia are incorporated in this chapter.ascribed to them in Chapter 
7(§ 54.1-700 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia: 

"Board" 

"Esthetician" 

"Esthetics" 

"Esthetics instructor" 

"Esthetics spa" 

"Master Esthetician" 

"School of Esthetics" 

"Apprenticeship Program" means an approved cosmetology, barber, nail technician, or wax 
technician training program conducted by an approved registered apprenticeship sponsor. 

"Business entity" means a sole proprietorship, partnership, corporation, limited liability 
company, limited liability partnership, or any other form of organization permitted by law. 

"Clock Hours" - means a minimum of 50 minutes of supervised or directed instruction and 
appropriate breaks. 

"Credit hour" means a combination of the number of hours in class each week and the number 
of hours per week in a laboratory by which a school may measure its course work. One unit of 
credit equals one hour of classroom study, two hours of laboratory experience or three hours of 
internship or practicum or a combination of the three times the number of weeks in the term. 
Emerging delivery methodologies may necessitate a unit of undergraduate credit to be measured 
in nontime base methods. These courses shall use the demonstration of competency, proficiency, 
or fulfillment of learning outcomes to ensure these courses are equivalent to traditionally delivered 
courses. 

"Direct supervision" means that a Virginia licensed esthetician or master esthetician shall be 
present in the esthetics spa or esthetics school at all times when services are being performed 
by a temporary license holder, or student.student instructor temporary permit holder, student, or 
registered apprentice. 

"Each and every location"- For the purposes of schools with multiple suites or classrooms, a 
single location is one that is enclosed under one roof and all classrooms/suites are within 500 feet 
of the main office. Any suites or classrooms that are located in a different building or are further 
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than 500 feet from the main office are considered a separate location, and require the school hold 
an additional license. 

"Endorsement" means a method of obtaining a license by a person who is currently licensed 
in another state or jurisdiction. 

"Firm" means any business entity recognized under the laws of the Commonwealth of Virginia. 

"Licensee" means any sole proprietorship, partnership, corporation, limited liability company, 
limited liability partnership, or any other form of organization permitted by law holding a license 
issued by the Board for Barbers and Cosmetology, as defined in § 54.1-700 of the Code of 
Virginia.any individual or firm holding a license issued by the Board for Barbers and Cosmetology. 

"Post-secondary educational level" means an accredited college or university that is approved 
or accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges or 
by an accrediting agency that is recognized by the U.S. Secretary of Education. 

"Reasonable hours" means the hours between 9 a.m. and 5 p.m.; however, if the licensee 
generally is not open to the public substantially during the same hours, "reasonable hours" shall 
mean the business hours when the licensee is open to the public. 

"Reinstatement" means having a license restored to effectiveness after the expiration date 
has passed. 

"Renewal" means continuing the effectiveness of a license for another period of time. 

"Responsible management" means the following individuals: 

1. The sole proprietor of a sole proprietorship; 

2. The partners of a general partnership; 

3. The managing partners of a limited partnership; 

4. The officers of a corporation; 

5. The managers of a limited liability company; 

6. The officers or directors of an association or both; and 

7. Individuals in other business entities recognized under the laws of the Commonwealth 
as having a fiduciary responsibility to the firm. 

"Sole proprietor" means any individual, not a corporation, who is trading under histhat 
individual's own name or under an assumed or fictitious name pursuant to the provisions of §§ 
59.1-69 through 59.1-76 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Substantially equivalent exam" means an examination administered by the licensing entity 
which covers Virginia's scope of practice for that profession. 

"Substantially equivalent training" means at least 80% of the required hours in Virginia and 
curriculum content covering Virginia's scope of practice for that profession. 

"Virginia state institution" for the purposes of this chapter means any institution approved by 
the Virginia Department of Education. 

"Wet disinfection unit" is a container large enough to hold a disinfectant solution in which the 
objects to be disinfected are completely immersed. A wet disinfection unit must have a cover to 
prevent contamination of the solution. The solution must be an Environmental Protection Agency 
(EPA) registered disinfectant that is bactericidal, virucidal, and fungicidal. Disinfectant solutions 
shall be used according to manufacturer's directions. 
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Part II 

Entry 

18VAC41-70-20. General requirements for an esthetician license or master esthetician 
licenseGratuitous Services.  

A. Any individual wishing to engage in esthetics or master esthetics shall obtain a license in 
compliance with § 54.1-703 of the Code of Virginia and meet the following qualifications: 

1. The applicant shall be in good standing as a licensed esthetician in Virginia and all other 
jurisdictions where licensed. The applicant shall disclose to the board at the time of 
application for licensure any disciplinary action taken in Virginia and all other jurisdictions 
in connection with the applicant's practice as an esthetician. This includes monetary 
penalties, fines, suspensions, revocations, surrender of a license in connection with a 
disciplinary action, or voluntary termination of a license. The applicant shall disclose to the 
board at the time of application for licensure whether he has been previously licensed in 
Virginia as an esthetician or master esthetician. 

Upon review of an applicant's prior disciplinary action, the board, in its discretion, may 
deny licensure to any applicant wherein it deems the applicant is unfit or unsuited to 
engage in esthetics or master esthetics. The board will decide each case by taking into 
account the totality of the circumstances. Any plea of nolo contendere or comparable plea 
shall be considered a disciplinary action for the purposes of this section. The applicant 
shall provide a certified copy of a final order, decree, or case decision by a court, regulatory 
agency, or board with the lawful authority to issue such order, decree, or case decision, 
and such copy shall be admissible as prima facie evidence of such disciplinary action. 

2. The applicant shall disclose the applicant's physical address. A post office box is not 
acceptable. 

3. The applicant shall sign, as part of the application, a statement certifying that the 
applicant has read and understands the Virginia esthetics license laws and this chapter. 

4. In accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia, each applicant shall disclose the 
following information regarding criminal convictions in Virginia and all other jurisdictions: 

a. All misdemeanor convictions involving moral turpitude, sexual offense, non-
marijuana drug distribution, or physical injury within two years of the date of the 
application; and 

b. All felony convictions within 20 years of the date of application. 

Any plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a conviction for purposes of this 
subsection. The record of a conviction received from a court shall be accepted as prima 
facie evidence of a conviction or finding of guilt. The board, in its discretion, may deny 
licensure to any applicant in accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia. 

5. The applicant shall provide evidence satisfactory to the board that the applicant has 
passed the board-approved examination requirement administered either by the board or 
by independent examiners. 

B. Eligibility to sit for board-approved examination. 

1. Training in the Commonwealth of Virginia. Any person completing an approved 
esthetics training program or a master esthetics training program in a Virginia licensed 
esthetics school shall be eligible for the applicable examination. 

2. Training outside of the Commonwealth of Virginia. Any person completing esthetics 
training that is substantially equivalent to the Virginia program but is outside of the 
Commonwealth of Virginia must submit to the board documentation of the successful 
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completion of training to be eligible for examination. If less than the required hours of 
esthetics training was completed, an applicant must submit a certificate, diploma, or other 
documentation acceptable to the board verifying the completion of a substantially 
equivalent esthetics course and documentation of six months of work experience as an 
esthetician in order to be eligible for the esthetician examination. 

Any individual who engages in esthetics or master esthetics without receiving compensation 
or reward, or obligation is considered to be performing gratuitous services and is exempt from the 
provisions of this chapter. Gratuitous services do not include services provided at no charge when 
goods are purchased.  

18VAC41-70-25. General requirements for an Esthetician or Master Esthetician License.  

A. Any individual wishing to engage in esthetics or master esthetics shall obtain a license in 
compliance with § 54.1-703 of the Code of Virginia and meet the following qualifications: 

1. The applicant shall be in good standing as a licensed esthetician in Virginia and in all 
other jurisdictions where licensed, certified, or registered. The applicant shall disclose to 
the board at the time of application for licensure any disciplinary action taken in Virginia 
and all other jurisdictions in connection with the applicants practice as an esthetician or 
master esthetician. This includes monetary penalties, fines, probation, suspensions, 
revocations, surrender of a license in connection with a disciplinary action pertaining to 
services within the scope of practice, or voluntary termination of a license. 

Upon review of an applicants prior disciplinary action, the board, in its discretion, may 
deny licensure to any applicant wherein it deems the applicant is unfit or unsuited to 
engage in esthetics or master esthetics. The applicant shall provide a certified copy of a 
final order, decree, or case decision by a court, regulatory agency, or board with the lawful 
authority to issue such order, decree, or case decision, and such copy shall be admissible 
as prima facie evidence of such disciplinary action. 

2. The applicant shall disclose the applicants physical address. A post office box may be 
provided as a secondary address. 

3. The applicant shall sign, as part of the application, a statement certifying that the 
applicant has read and understands the Virginia esthetics license laws and this chapter. 

4. In accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia, each applicant shall disclose the 
following information regarding criminal convictions in Virginia and all other jurisdictions: 

a. All misdemeanor convictions within two years of the date of the application involving 
moral turpitude, sexual offense, non-marijuana drug distribution, or physical injury; and 

b. All felony convictions within 10 years of the date of application. 

Any plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a conviction for purposes of this 
subsection. The record of a conviction received from a court shall be accepted as prima 
facie evidence of a conviction or finding of guilt. The board, in its discretion, may deny 
licensure to any applicant in accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia. 

5. The applicant shall provide evidence satisfactory to the board that the applicant has 
passed the board-approved examination requirement administered either by the board or 
by independent examiners. 

6. Any changes in the name or address of the licensee shall be reported to the board in 
writing within 30 days of such changes. 

B. Eligibility to sit for board-approved examination. 

1. Training in the Commonwealth of Virginia. Any person completing one of the following 
programs can be approved for the examinations: 
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a. An approved esthetics or master esthetics training program in a Virginia licensed 
esthetic or master esthetics school. 

b. A registered apprenticeship. 

2. Training outside of the Commonwealth of Virginia.  

a. Any person completing esthetics training that is substantially equivalent to the Virginia 
program but is outside of the Commonwealth of Virginia must submit to the board 
documentation of the successful completion of training to be eligible for examination. 
Applicants who have earned a degree from an institution outside the United States must 
have their degree translated, authenticated, and evaluated by an education evaluation 
service if credit is sought for the education. The board in its discretion may decline to 
accept any an evaluation submitted by an applicant. 

b. Applicants who completed a training program that is not substantially equivalent to 
Virginia's training, including out of country training, may substitute three years of work 
experience for training. Applicants should provide their work history demonstrating three 
years of experience as a licensed esthetician or master esthetician in any other state or 
jurisdiction of the United States on a form provided by the board. 

18VAC41-70-30. License by endorsementEndorsement.  

A. Upon proper application to the board, any person currently licensed to practice as an 
esthetician or master esthetician or who is a licensed instructor in the respective profession in any 
other state or jurisdiction of the United States and who has completed both a training program 
and a written examination and a practical examination that are substantially equivalent to those 
required by this chapter may be issued an esthetician, or master esthetician license or the 
respective instructor certificate without an examination. The applicant must also meet the 
requirements set forth in 18VAC41-70-20 A. 

B. Applicants for licensure by endorsement who completed an equivalent training program 
and whose state only utilizes one licensing examination (written or practical) that is substantially 
equivalent to that required by this chapter may take the other examination (written or practical) in 
Virginia to qualify for licensure. 

C. Applicants for licensure by endorsement who completed a training program that is not 
substantially equivalent to Virginia's training but otherwise meet all the requirements listed in 
subsection A of this section, may substitute three years of work experience for training. Applicants 
should provide their work history demonstrating three years of licensed experience in any other 
state or jurisdiction of the United States on a form provided by the board. 

18VAC41-70-35. Apprenticeship trainingTraining.  

A. Licensed estheticians and master estheticians who train apprentices shall comply with the 
standards for apprenticeship training. established by the Division of Registered Apprenticeship of 
the Virginia Department of Labor and Industry and the Virginia Board for Barbers and 
Cosmetology. Owners of esthetics spas who train apprentices shall comply with the standards for 
apprenticeship training established by the Division of Registered Apprenticeship of the Virginia 
Department of Labor and Industry. 

B. Any person completing the Virginia apprenticeship program in esthetics or master esthetics 
shall be eligible for examination.Responsible management of esthetics spas who train 
apprentices shall comply with the standards for registered apprenticeship training. 

18VAC41-70-40. Examination requirements and feesRequirements and Fees.  

A. Applicants for initial licensure shall pass both a practical and written portion of the 
examination and a practical examination approved by the board. The examinations may be 
administered by the board or by a designated testing service. 
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B. Any applicant who passes one part of the examination shall not be required to take that 
part again provided both parts are passed within one year of the initial examination date. 

C. Any candidate failing to appear as scheduled for examination shall forfeit the examination 
fee. 

D.C. The fee for examination or reexamination is subject to contracted charges to the board 
by an outside vendor. These contracts are competitively negotiated and bargained for in 
compliance with the Virginia Public Procurement Act (§ 2.2-4300 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). 
Fees may be adjusted and charged to the candidate in accordance with these contracts. The fee 
shall not exceed $225 per candidate. 

E.D. Any candidate failing to apply for initial licensure within five years of passing both a 
practical and a written portion of an examination and a practical examination shall be required to 
retake both portions. Records of examinations shall be maintained for a maximum of five years. 

E. Any applicant who does not pass a reexamination within one year of the initial examination 
date shall be required to submit a new application and examination fee. 

18VAC41-70-50. Reexamination requirements. (Repealed.) 

Any applicant who does not pass a reexamination within one year of the initial examination 
date shall be required to submit a new application and examination fee. 

18VAC41-70-60. Examination administrationAdministration.  

A. The examination shall be administered by the board or the designated testing service. The 
practical examination shall be supervised by a chief examiner. 

B. Every esthetics or master esthetics examiner shall hold a current Virginia license in his their 
respective profession, have three or more years of active experience as a licensed professional, 
and be currently practicing in that profession. Examiners shall attend training workshops 
sponsored by the board or by a testing service acting on behalf of the board. 

C. No certified esthetics or master esthetics instructor who (i) is currently teaching, (ii) is a 
school owner, or (iii) is an apprentice sponsor shall be an examiner. 

D. Each esthetics or master esthetics chief examiner shall (i) hold a current Virginia license in 
his respective profession, (ii) have five or more years of active experience in that profession, (iii) 
have three years of active experience as an examiner, and (iv) be currently practicing in his 
respective profession. Chief examiners shall attend training workshops sponsored by the board 
or by a testing service acting on behalf of the board. 

E. The applicant shall follow all procedures established by the board with regard to conduct 
at the examination. Such procedures shall include written instructions communicated prior to the 
examination date and instructions communicated at the site, either written or oral, on the date of 
the examination. Failure to comply with all procedures established by the board and the testing 
service with regard to conduct at the examination may be grounds for denial of application. 

18VAC41-70-70. Esthetician and Master Esthetician temporary license Temporary Permit.  

A. A temporary license permit to work under the direct supervision of a currently licensed 
esthetician or master esthetician may be issued only to applicants for initial licensure that the 
board finds eligible for the applicable examination. There shall be no fee for a temporary license. 

B. The temporary license permit shall remain in force for 45 90 days and no subsequent 
temporary permit shall be issued. following the examination date. The examination date shall be 
the first test date after the applicant has successfully submitted an application to the board. 

C. Any person continuing to practice esthetics services after a temporary license permit has 
expired may be prosecuted and fined by the Commonwealth under §§ 54.1-111 A 1 and 54.1-202 
of the Code of Virginia. 

D. No applicant for examination shall be issued more than one temporary license. 
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E.D. Temporary permits shall not be issued where grounds may exist to deny a license 
pursuant to § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia or 18VAC41-70-20. 

18VAC41-70-80. General requirements for spa licenseRequirements for Spa License.  

A. Any firm wishing to operate an esthetics spa shall obtain a spa license in compliance with 
§ 54.1-704.1 of the Code of Virginia, and shall meet the following qualifications in order to receive 
a license: 

1. The applicant, and all members of the responsible management, shall be in good 
standing as a licensed spa in Virginia and all other jurisdictions where licensed, certified, 
or registered. The applicant and all members of the responsible management shall 
disclose to the board at the time of application for licensure, any disciplinary action taken 
in Virginia and all other jurisdictions in connection with the applicant's operation of any 
esthetics spa or practice of the profession. This includes monetary penalties, fines, 
probation, suspensions, revocations, surrender of a license in connection with a 
disciplinary action, pertaining to services with the respective scope of practice, or voluntary 
termination of a license. The applicant shall disclose to the board at the time of application 
for licensure if the applicant or any member of responsible management has been 
previously licensed in Virginia as an esthetics spa. 

Upon review of the applicant's and all members of the responsible management's prior 
disciplinary action, the board, in its discretion, may deny licensure to any applicant wherein 
it deems the applicant is unfit or unsuited to engage in the operation of an esthetics spa. 
The board will decide each case by taking into account the totality of the circumstances. 
Any plea of nolo contendere or comparable plea shall be considered a disciplinary action 
for the purposes of this section. The applicant shall provide a certified copy of a final order, 
decree, or case decision by a court, regulatory agency, or board with the lawful authority 
to issue such order, decree, or case decision, and such copy shall be admissible as prima 
facie evidence of such disciplinary action. 

2. The applicant shall disclose the applicant's physical address. A post office box is not 
acceptable.may be provided as a secondary address. 

3. The applicant shall sign, as part of the application, a statement certifying that the 
applicant has read and understands the Virginia esthetics license laws and this chapter. 

4. In accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia, each applicant shall disclose the 
following information about the firm and all members of the responsible management 
regarding criminal convictions in Virginia and all other jurisdictions: 

a. All misdemeanor convictions within two years of the date of application involving 
moral turpitude, sexual offense, non-marijuana drug distribution, or physical injury 
within two years of the date of the application; and 

b. All felony convictions within 20 10 years of the date of application. 

Any plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a conviction for purposes of this 
subsection. The record of a conviction received from a court shall be accepted as prima 
facie evidence of a conviction or finding of guilt. The board, in its discretion, may deny 
licensure to any applicant in accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia. 

5. The applicant shall disclose the firm's responsible management. 

B. Spa licenses are issued to firms as defined in this chapter and shall not be transferable. 
and shall bear the same name and address of the business. Any changes in the name or address 
of the spa shall be reported to the board in writing within 30 days of such changes. The board 
shall not be responsible for the licensee's, certificate holder's, or permit holder's failure to receive 
notices, communications, and correspondence caused by the licensee's, certificate holder's, or 
permit holder's failure to promptly notify the board in writing of any change of name or address or 
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for any other reason beyond the control of the board. The new responsible management is 
responsible for applying for a new licenses within 30 days of the changes. 

C. Whenever the legal business entity holding the license is dissolved or altered to form a new 
business entity, the original license becomes void. The firm must notify the board within 30 days 
of the change and destroy the license. and shall be returned to the board within 30 days of the 
change. Additionally, the firm shall apply for a new license, within 30 days of the change in the 
business entity. Such changes include: 

1. Death of a sole proprietor; 

2. Death or withdrawal of a general partner in a general partnership or the managing 
partner in a limited partnership; and 

3. Conversion, formation, or dissolution of a corporation, a limited liability company, 
association, or any other business entity recognized under the laws of the Commonwealth 
of Virginia. 

D. Any change in the officers of a corporation, managers of a limited liability company, or 
officers or directors of an association shall be reported to the board in writing within 30 days of 
the change. 

E. Mobile spas must have a spa license and provide a physical address. 

E.F. The board or any of its agents shall be allowed to inspect during reasonable hours any 
licensed spa for compliance with provisions of Chapter 7 (§ 54.1-700 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the 
Code of Virginia or this chapter. For purposes of a board inspection, "reasonable hours" means 
the hours between 9 a.m. and 5 p.m.; however, if the licensee generally is not open to the public 
substantially during the same hours, "reasonable hours" shall mean the business hours when the 
licensee is open to the public. 

18VAC41-70-90. General requirements for a school licenseRequirements for a School 
License.  

A. Any firm wishing to operate an esthetics school shall submit an application to the board at 
least 60 days prior to the date for which approval is sought, obtain a school license in compliance 
with § 54.1-704.2 of the Code of Virginia, and meet the following qualifications in order to receive 
a license: 

1. The applicant and all members of the responsible management shall be in good 
standing as a licensed school in Virginia and all other jurisdictions where licensed. The 
applicant and all members of the responsible management shall disclose to the board at 
the time of application for licensure, any disciplinary action taken in Virginia and all other 
jurisdictions in connection with the applicant's operation of any esthetics school or practice 
of the profession. This includes monetary penalties, fines, probation, suspensions, 
revocations, surrender of a license in connection with a disciplinary action, pertaining to 
services in the respective scope of practice, or voluntary termination of a license. The 
applicant shall disclose to the board at the time of application for licensure if the applicant 
or any member of the responsible management has been previously licensed in Virginia 
as an esthetics school. 

Upon review of the applicant's and all members of the responsible management's prior 
disciplinary action, the board, in its discretion, may deny licensure to any applicant wherein 
it deems the applicant is unfit or unsuited to engage in the operation of an esthetics school. 
The board will decide each case by taking into account the totality of the circumstances. 
Any plea of nolo contendere or comparable plea shall be considered a disciplinary action 
for the purposes of this section. The applicant shall provide a certified copy of a final order, 
decree, or case decision by a court, regulatory agency, or board with the lawful authority 
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to issue such order, decree, or case decision, and such copy shall be admissible as prima 
facie evidence of such disciplinary action. 

2. The applicant shall disclose the applicant's physical address. A post office box is not 
acceptable.may be provided asd a secondary address. 

3. The applicant shall sign, as part of the application, a statement certifying that the 
applicant has read and understands the Virginia esthetics license laws and this chapter. 

4. In accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia, each applicant shall disclose the 
following information about the firm and all members of the responsible management 
regarding criminal convictions in Virginia and all other jurisdictions: 

a. All misdemeanor convictions within two years of the date of application involving 
moral turpitude, sexual offense, non-marijuana drug distribution, or physical injury 
within two years of the date of the application; and 

b. All felony convictions within 20 10 years of the date of application. 

Any plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a conviction for purposes of this 
subsection. The record of a conviction received from a court shall be accepted as prima 
facie evidence of a conviction or finding of guilt. The board, in its discretion, may deny 
licensure to any applicant in accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia. 

5. The applicant shall disclose the firm's responsible management. 

B. Esthetics school licenses are issued to firms as defined in this chapter and shall not be 
transferable. and shall bear the same name and address as the school. Any changes in the name 
or the address of record or principal place of business of the school shall be reported to the board 
in writing within 30 days of such change. The board shall not be responsible for the licensee's, 
certificate holder's, or permit holder's failure to receive notices, communications, and 
correspondence caused by the licensee's, certificate holder's, or permit holder's failure to promptly 
notify the board in writing of any change of name or address or for any other reason beyond the 
control of the board. The name of the school must indicate that it is an educational institution. All 
signs or other advertisements must reflect the name as indicated on the license issued by the 
board and contain language indicating it is an educational institution. 

C. Whenever the legal business entity holding the license is dissolved or altered to form a new 
business entity, the original license becomes void. The firm must notify the board within 30 days 
of the change and destroy the license. and shall be returned to the board within 30 days of the 
change. Additionally, the firm shall apply for a new license within 30 days of the change in 
business entity. Such changes include: 

1. Death of a sole proprietor; 

2. Death or withdrawal of a general partner in a general partnership or the managing 
partner in a limited partnership; and 

3. Conversion, formation, or dissolution of a corporation, a limited liability company, an 
association, or any other business entity recognized under the laws of the Commonwealth 
of Virginia. 

D. Any change in the officers of a corporation, managers of a limited liability company, or 
officers or directors of an association shall be reported to the board in writing within 30 days of 
the change. 

E. Esthetics schools under the Virginia Department of Education shall be exempted from 
licensure requirements. 

F. The board or any of its agents shall be allowed to inspect during reasonable hours any 
licensed school for compliance with provisions of Chapter 7 (§ 54.1-700 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of 
the Code of Virginia or this chapter. For purposes of a board inspection, "reasonable hours" 
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means the hours between 9 a.m. and 5 p.m.; however, if the licensee generally is not open to the 
public substantially during the same hours, "reasonable hours" shall mean the business hours 
when the licensee is open to the public. 

18VAC41-70-100. General requirements for an esthetics instructor certificateRequirements 
for an Esthetics Instructor Certificate.  

A. Any individual wishing to engage in esthetics instruction shall must meet the following 
qualifications: 

1. The applicant shall must be in good standing as a licensed esthetician or master 
esthetician in Virginia and all other jurisdictions where licensed. The applicant shall must 
disclose to the board at the time of application for licensure any disciplinary action taken 
in Virginia and all other jurisdictions in connection with the applicant's practice as an 
esthetician.or master esthetician. This includes monetary penalties, fines, probation, 
suspensions, revocations, surrender of a license in connection with a disciplinary action, 
or voluntary termination of a license. The applicant shall disclose to the board at the time 
of application for licensure whether he has been previously licensed in Virginia as an 
esthetician or master esthetician. 

Upon review of the applicant's prior disciplinary action, the board, in its discretion, may 
deny licensure to any applicant wherein it deems the applicant is unfit or unsuited to 
engage in esthetics.or master esthetics. The board will decide each case by taking into 
account the totality of the circumstances. Any plea of nolo contendere or comparable plea 
shall be considered a disciplinary action for the purposes of this section. The applicant 
shallmust provide a certified copy of a final order, decree, or case decision by a court, 
regulatory agency, or board with the lawful authority to issue such order, decree, or case 
decision, and such copy shall be admissible as prima facie evidence of such disciplinary 
action; 

2. The applicant shall must hold a current Virginia estheticsesthetician or master 
esthetician license; 

3. The applicant shall must complete one of the following qualifications: 

a. Pass a course in teaching techniques at the postsecondary educational level; or 

b. Complete an instructor training course approved by the Virginia Board for Barbers 
and Cosmetology under the supervision of a certified esthetics instructor or master 
esthetics instructor in an esthetics school and pass an examination in esthetics 
instruction administered by the board or by a testing service acting on behalf of the 
board; and 

b. Pass an instructor examination administered by the board or by a testing service 
acting on behalf of the board. 

4. In accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia, each applicant shall disclose the 
following information regarding criminal convictions in Virginia and all other jurisdictions: 

a. All misdemeanor convictions within two years of the date of the application involving 
moral turpitude, sexual offense, non-marijuana drug distribution, or physical injury 
within two years of the date of the application; and 

b. All felony convictions within 20 years of the date of application. 

Any plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a conviction for purposes of this 
subsection. The record of a conviction received from a court shall be accepted as prima 
facie evidence of a conviction or finding of guilt. The board, in its discretion, may deny 
licensure to any applicant in accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia. 
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5. Any changes in the name or address of the licensee shall be reported to the board in 
writing within 30 days of such changed.  

B. Instructors shall be required to maintain a Virginia esthetician license.Instructors shall be 
required to maintain an esthetician or master esthetician license, respectively. 

B. Certified instructors may teach in any profession in which they hold the underlying license. 

18VAC41-70-105. Student Instructor Temporary Permit.  

A. A licensed esthetician or master esthetician may be granted a twelve (12) month student 
instructor temporary permit to function under the direct supervision of a certified instructor in a 
licensed school. No subsequent student instructor temporary permit shall be issued. 

B. Student instructors may teach in any profession in which they hold the underlying license. 
Failure to maintain an esthetician or master esthetician license shall disqualify an individual from 
holding a student instructor temporary permit. 

C. Temporary permits shall not be issued where grounds may exist to deny a license pursuant 
to § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia or 18 VAC 41-70-100. 

18VAC41-70-110. General requirements for a master esthetics instructor certificate. 
(Repealed.) 

A. Any individual wishing to engage in master esthetics instruction shall meet the following 
qualifications: 

1. The applicant shall be in good standing as a licensed master esthetician in Virginia and 
all other jurisdictions where licensed. The applicant shall disclose to the board at the time 
of application for licensure any disciplinary action taken in Virginia and all other 
jurisdictions in connection with the applicant's practice as a master esthetician. This 
includes monetary penalties, fines, suspensions, revocations, surrender of a license in 
connection with a disciplinary action, or voluntary termination of a license. The applicant 
shall disclose to the board at the time of application for licensure if the applicant has been 
previously licensed in Virginia as an esthetician or master esthetician. 

Upon review of the applicant's prior disciplinary action, the board, in its discretion, may 
deny licensure to any applicant wherein it deems the applicant is unfit or unsuited to 
engage in esthetics or master esthetics. The board will decide each case by taking into 
account the totality of the circumstances. Any plea of nolo contendere or comparable plea 
shall be considered a disciplinary action for the purposes of this section. The applicant 
shall provide a certified copy of a final order, decree, or case decision by a court, regulatory 
agency, or board with the lawful authority to issue such order, decree, or case decision, 
and such copy shall be admissible as prima facie evidence of such disciplinary action; 

2. The applicant shall hold a current Virginia master esthetician license; 

3. The applicant shall complete one of the following qualifications: 

a. Pass a course in teaching techniques at the postsecondary educational level; or 

b. Complete an instructor training course approved by the Virginia Board for Barbers 
and Cosmetology under the supervision of a certified esthetics instructor or master 
esthetics instructor in an esthetics school and pass an examination in esthetics 
instruction administered by the board or by a testing service acting on behalf of the 
board; and 

4. In accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia, each applicant shall disclose the 
following information regarding criminal convictions in Virginia and all other jurisdictions: 

a. All misdemeanor convictions involving moral turpitude, sexual offense, non-
marijuana drug distribution, or physical injury within two years of the date of the 
application; and 
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b. All felony convictions within 20 years of the date of application. 

Any plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a conviction for purposes of this 
subsection. The record of a conviction received from a court shall be accepted as prima 
facie evidence of a conviction or finding of guilt. The board, in its discretion, may deny 
licensure to any applicant in accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia. 

B. Instructors shall be required to maintain a Virginia master esthetician license. 

Part III 

Fees 

18VAC41-70-120. Fees.  

The following fees apply:are nonrefundable and shall not be prorated:  

FEE TYPE 

AMOUNT DUE 
September 1, 2022, 

through and August 31, 
2024 

AMOUNT DUE 
September 1, 2024, 

and after 
WHEN DUE 

Individuals: 

Application $90 $105 With application 

License by 
Endorsement 

$90 $105 With application 

Renewal $90 $105 
With renewal card 
prior to expiration 
date 

Reinstatement 

$180* 
*includes $90 renewal 

fee and $90 
reinstatement fee 

$210* 
*includes $105 renewal 

fee and $105 
reinstatement fee 

With reinstatement 
application 

Instructors: 

Application $110 $125 With application 

License by 
Endorsement 

$110 $125 With application 

Renewal $110$20 $150$20 
With renewal card 
prior to expiration 
date 
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Reinstatement 

$220*$40* 
*includes $110$20 

renewal fee and 
$110$20 reinstatement 

fee 

$300*$40* 
*includes $150$20 

renewal fee and 
$150$20 reinstatement 

fee 

With reinstatement 
application 

Spas: 

Application $165 $190 With application 

Renewal $165 $190 
With renewal card 
prior to expiration 
date 

Reinstatement 

$330* 
*includes $165 renewal 

fee and $165 
reinstatement fee 

$380* 
*includes $190 renewal 

fee and $190 
reinstatement fee 

With reinstatement 
application 

Schools: 

Application $185 $220 With application 

Renewal $185 $220 
With renewal card 
prior to expiration 
date 

Reinstatement 

$370* 
*includes $185 renewal 

fee and $185 
reinstatement fee 

$440* 
*includes $220 renewal 

fee and $220 
reinstatement fee 

With reinstatement 
application 

18VAC41-70-130. Refunds. (Repealed.) 

All fees are nonrefundable and shall not be prorated. 
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Part IV 

Renewal/Reinstatement 

18VAC41-70-140. License renewal requiredRenewal Required.  

A license or certificate issued under this chapter shall expire two years from the last day of 
the month in which it was issued. 

18VAC41-70-150. Notice of renewalRenewal.  

The Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation will mail a renewal notice to the 
licensee or certificate holder outlining the procedures for renewal. Failure to receive this notice, 
however, shall not relieve the licensee or certificate holder of the obligation to renew. If the 
licensee or certificate holder fails to receive the renewal notice, a copy of the old license may be 
submitted as evidence of intent to renew, along with the required fee. 

18VAC41-70-160. Failure to renewRenew.  

A. When a licensee licensed of certified individual or business fails to renew its license within 
30 days following its expiration date, the licensee or certificate holder shall apply for reinstatement 
of the license by submitting to the Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation a 
reinstatement application and renewal fee and reinstatement fee. 

B. When a licensee fails to renew its license within two years following the expiration date, 
reinstatement is no longer possible. To resume practice: 

1. The former licensee or certificate holder shall apply for licensure or certification as a 
new applicant and shall meet all current entry requirements for each respective license or 
certificate. Individuals applying for licensure under this section shall be eligible to apply for 
a temporary license from the board under 18VAC41-70-70. 

2. An individual initially granted licensure under an examination exemption, known as 
grandfathering, pursuant to § 54.1-703.3 of the Code of Virginia shall submit a new 
application showing the individual met the requirements of the applicable examination 
waiver provision, demonstrate five years of licensed experience, and pass the required 
examination.previously licensed in Virginia for a minimum of three (3) years shall submit 
a new application and pass the required examination. 

C. The application for reinstatement for a school shall provide (i) the reasons for failing to 
renew prior to the expiration date and (ii) a notarized statement that all students currently enrolled 
or seeking to enroll at the school have been notified in writing that the school's license has expired. 
All of these materials shall be called the application package. Reinstatement will be considered 
by the board if the school consents to and satisfactorily passes an inspection of the school and if 
the school's records are maintained in accordance with 18VAC41-70-230 and 18VAC41-70-240. 
Upon receipt of the reinstatement fee, application package, and inspection results, the board may 
reinstate the school's license, require requalification, or both. If the reinstatement application 
package and reinstatement fee are not received by the board within six months following the 
expiration date of the school's license, the board will notify the testing service that prospective 
graduates of the unlicensed school are not acceptable candidates for the examination. Such 
notification will be sent to the school and must be displayed in a conspicuous manner by the 
school in an area that is accessible to the public. No student shall be disqualified from taking the 
examination because the school was not licensed for a portion of the time the student attended if 
the school license is reinstated by the board. 

D. The date a renewal fee is received by the Department of Professional and Occupational 
Regulation, or its agent, will be used to determine whether the requirement for reinstatement of a 
license is applicable and an additional fee is required. 
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E. When a license is reinstated, the licensee shall have the same license number and shall 
be assigned an expiration date two years from the previous expiration date of the license. 

E. When a license or certificate is reinstated, the licensee or certificate holder shall be 
assigned an expiration date two years from the date of the last day of the month of reinstatement.  

F. A licensee or certificate holder that reinstates its license or certificate shall be regarded as 
having been continuously licensed without interruption. Therefore, a licensee or certificate holder 
shall be subject to the authority of the board for activities performed prior to reinstatement. 

G. A licensee or certificate holder that fails to reinstate its license or certificate shall be 
regarded as unlicensed from the expiration date of the license or certificate forward. Nothing in 
this chapter shall divest the board of its authority to discipline a licensee or certificate holder for a 
violation of the law or regulations during the period of time for which the individual or business 
entity was licensed. 

Part V 

Esthetics Schools 

18VAC41-70-180. General requirementsRequirements.  

An esthetics school shall: 

1. Hold a school license for each and every location. 

2. Hold a spa license if the school receives compensation for services provided in its clinic. 

3. For esthetics courses, employ a staff of licensed and certified esthetics instructors or 
licensed and certified master esthetics instructors. 

a. Licensed and certified esthetics instructors and master esthetics instructors may also 
instruct a waxing program. 

b. Any change in instructors shall be reported to the board within 30 days of the change. 

4. For master esthetics courses, employ a staff of licensed and certified master esthetics 
instructors. 

5. Develop individuals for entry-level competency in esthetics. 

6. Submit its curricula for board approval. Esthetician curricula shall be based on a 
minimum of 600 clock or equivalent credit hours and shall include performances in 
accordance with 18VAC41-70-190. Master esthetician curricula shall be based on a 
minimum of 600 clock or equivalent credit hours and shall include performances in 
accordance with 18VAC41-70-190 C18VAC41-70-190C. All changes to curricula must be 
resubmitted and approved by the board. 

7. Inform the public that all services are performed by students if the school receives 
compensation for services provided in its clinic by posting a notice in the reception area 
of the spa in plain view of the public. 

8. Conduct classroom instruction in an area separate from the clinic area where practical 
instruction is conducted and services are provided. 

9. Complete practical instruction in the school's clinic area. 

10. Instructor programs must be taught by a certified instructor. 

18VAC41-70-190. Curriculum and hours of instruction requirementsHours of Instruction 
Requirements.  

A. Each esthetics school shall submit with its application a curriculum including a course 
syllabus, a detailed course content outline, a sample of five lessons plans, a sample of evaluation 
methods to be used, days and hours of instruction, program length, and a breakdown of hours or 
credit hours and performances for all courses to be taught that will lead to licensure or certification. 
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In addition, if a school awards credit in accordance with subsection D of this section, the school 
shall submit copies of the assessment policy, method of evaluation of transcripts and the 
examination to be used in making the assessment. 

B. The esthetics curriculum and hours of instruction in this technology shall consist of 600 
hours or equivalent credit hours and shall include but not limited to the following: 

1. Orientation and business topics - minimum of 25 hours of instruction. 

a. School policies; 

b. Management; 

c. Sales, inventory, and retailing; 

d. Taxes and payroll; 

e. Insurance; 

f. Client records and confidentiality; and 

g. Professional ethics and practices. 

2. Laws and regulations - minimum of 10 hours of instruction. 

3. General sciences - minimum of 80 hours of instruction. 

a. Bacteriology; 

b. Microorganisms; 

c. Infection control, disinfection, sterilization; 

d. Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) requirements; 

e. Material Safety Data Sheet (MSDS); 

f. General procedures and safety measures; 

g. Cosmetic chemistry; 

h. Products and ingredients; and 

i. Nutrition. 

4. Applied sciences - minimum of 95 hours of instruction. 

a. Anatomy and physiology; 

b. Skin structure and function; 

c. Skin types; 

d. Skin conditions; and 

e. Diseases and disorders of the skin. 

5. Skin care - minimum of 255 hours of instruction. 

a. Health screening; 

b. Skin analysis and consultation; 

c. Effleurage and related movements and manipulations of the face and body; 

d. Cleansings procedures; 

e. Masks; 

f. Extraction techniques; 

g. Machines, equipment, and electricity; 

h. Manual facials and treatments; 

i. Machine, electrical facials, and treatments; and 

j. General procedures and safety measures. 

6. Makeup - minimum of 65 hours of instruction. 
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a. Setup, supplies, and implements; 

b. Color theory; 

c. Consultation; 

d. General and special occasion application; 

e. Camouflage; 

f. Application of false lashes and lash extensions; 

g. Lash and tinting; 

h. Lash perming; 

i. Lightning of the hair on body except scalp; and 

j. General procedures and safety measures. 

7. Body and other treatments - minimum of 20 hours of instruction. 

a. Body treatments; 

b. Body wraps; 

c. Body masks; 

d. Body scrubs; 

e. Aromatherapy; and 

f. General procedures and safety measures. 

8. Hair removal - minimum of 50 hours of instruction. 

a. Types of hair removal; 

b. Wax types; 

c. Tweezing; 

d. Chemical hair removal; 

e. Mechanical hair removal; and 

f. General procedures and safety measures. 

C. The master esthetics curriculum and hours of instruction in this technology shall consist of 
600 hours or equivalent credit hours and shall include the following: 

1. Orientation, advanced business subjects, and infection control - minimum of 45 hours 
of instruction. 

a. School policies and procedures; 

b. Professional ethics and practices; 

c. Ethics and professional conduct; 

d. Insurance and liability issues; 

e. Confidentiality and Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act of 1996 
Privacy Rule (HIPAA); 

f. Client records and documentation; 

g. Microbiology and bacteriology; 

h. Infection control, disinfection, and sterilization; 

i. Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA), U.S. Food and Drug 
Administration (FDA); and Material Safety Data Sheet (MSDS); and 

j. Personal protective equipment. 

2. State laws, rules and regulations - minimum of 10 hours of instruction. 

3. Advanced anatomy and physiology - minimum of 65 hours of instruction. 
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a. Advanced anatomy and physiology; 

b. Advanced skin structure and functions; 

c. Advanced skin typing and conditions; 

d. Advanced disease and disorders; 

e. Advanced cosmetic ingredients; 

f. Pharmacology; and 

g. Advanced homecare. 

4. Advanced skin care and advanced modalities - minimum of 90 hours of instruction. 

a. Introduction to microdermabrasion and dermaplaning; 

b. Indications and contraindications for crystal microdermabrasion; 

c. General procedures and safety measures for crystal microdermabrasion; 

d. Indications and contraindications for crystal-free microdermabrasion and 
dermaplaning; 

e. General procedures and safety measures for crystal-free microdermabrasion and 
dermaplaning; 

f. Equipment safety: crystal and crystal-free microdermabrasion and dermaplaning; 

g. Waste disposal, Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA); 

h. Introduction to microdermabrasion techniques and proper protocols; 

i. Machine parts, operation, protocols, care, waste disposal, and safety; 

j. Practical application and consultation for crystal microdermabrasion; 

k. Practical application and consultation for crystal-free microdermabrasion and 
dermaplaning; and 

l. Pretreatment and posttreatment for microdermabrasion. 

5. Advanced procedures and chemical exfoliation - minimum of 270 hours of instruction. 

a. Advanced skin analysis and consultation and health screening and documentation; 

b. Advanced procedures, light treatments, light-emitting diode (LED), intense pulsed 
light device (IPL); 

c. Advanced manual, machine, and electric treatments, microcurrent, and ultrasound; 

d. Introduction to chemical exfoliation and peels of the epidermis; 

e. Fundamentals of skin care associated with chemical exfoliation and peels and 
wound healing; 

f. Pretreatment and posttreatment for chemical exfoliation and peels; 

g. Assessing suitability and predicting chemical exfoliation efficacy; 

h. General practical application and consultation protocols; 

i. Practical application and consultation for enzymes, herbal exfoliations, and vitamin-
based peels; 

j. Indications and contraindications for enzymes, herbal exfoliations, and vitamin-
based peels; 

k. General procedures and safety measures for herbal exfoliations, and vitamin-based 
peels; 

l. Pretreatments and posttreatments for herbal exfoliations, and vitamin-based peels; 

m. Practical application and consultation for alpha hydroxy peels; 

n. Indications and contraindications for alpha hydroxy peels; 
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o. General procedures and safety measures for alpha hydroxy peels; 

p. Pretreatment and posttreatment for alpha hydroxy peels; 

q. Practical application and consultation for beta hydroxy peels; 

r. Indications and contraindications for beta hydroxy peels; 

s. General procedures and safety measures for beta hydroxy peels; 

t. Pretreatment and posttreatment for beta hydroxy peels; 

u. Practical application and consultation for Jessner and Modified Jessner peels; 

v. Indications and contraindications for Jessner and Modified Jessner peels; 

w. General procedures and safety measures for Jessner and Modified Jessner peels; 

x. Pretreatment and posttreatment for Jessner and Modified Jessner peels; 

y. Practical application and consultation for trichloracetic acid peels; 

z. Indications and contraindications for trichloracetic acid peels; 

aa. General procedures and safety measures for trichloracetic acid peels; and 

bb. Pretreatment and posttreatment for trichloracetic acid peels. 

6. Lymphatic drainage - minimum of 120 hours of instruction. 

a. Introduction to lymphatic drainage; 

b. Tissues and organs of the lymphatic system; 

c. Functions of the lymphatic system; 

d. Immunity; 

e. Etiology of edema; 

f. Indications and contraindications for lymphatic drainage; 

g. Lymphatic drainage manipulations and movements; 

h. Face and neck treatment sequence; 

i. Lymphatic drainage on the trunk and upper extremities; 

j. Lymphatic drainage on the trunk and lower extremities; 

k. Cellulite; 

l. Using lymphatic drainage with other treatments; and 

m. Machine-aided lymphatic drainage. 

D. A licensed esthetics school with an approved esthetics program may conduct an 
assessment of a student's competence in esthetics and, based on the assessment, give credit 
toward the requirements specified in subsection B of this section and 18VAC41-70-200 A. A 
licensed esthetics school with an approved master esthetics program may conduct an 
assessment of a student's competence in master esthetics and, based on the assessment, give 
credit toward the requirements specified in subsection C of this section and 18VAC41-70-200 B. 

The school shall may make the assessment based on a review of the student's transcript, 
documentation of hours and performances provided to the student by the school and the 
successful completion of a board-approved competency examination administered by the school. 
The school may also request a copy of a catalog or bulletin giving the full course description when 
making the evaluation. The number of credit hours awarded shall not exceed the actual hours of 
instruction verified on the transcript or the number of hours specified in the board-approved 
curriculum for a specific topic. 

E. The instructor curriculum and hours of instruction shall consist of 400 hours or equivalent 
credit hours and shall include the following: 
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1. Orientation; 

2. Curriculum; 

3. Course outline and development; 

4. Lesson planning; 

5. Classroom management; 

6. Teaching techniques; 

7. Methods of instruction; 

8. Learning styles; 

9. Learning disabilities; 

10. Teaching aids; 

11. Developing, administering, and grading examinations; 

12. School administration; 

13. Recordkeeping; 

14. Laws and regulations; 

15. Presentation of theoretical subjects; 

16. Presentation of practical subjects; 

17. Supervision of clinic floor; and 

18. Practicum teaching. 

E. The instructor curriculum shall include, but not be limited to, the following: 

1. Orientation, introduction to teaching, and professional ethics; 

2. Curriculum; 

3. Course outline and development; 

4. Lesson planning; 

5. Classroom management; 

6. Teaching techniques; 

7. Methods of instruction (including theory and practical instruction*); 

8. Learning styles; 

9. Learning disabilities; 

10. Teaching aids; 

11. Developing, administering and grading examinations; 

12. School administration; 

13. Recordkeeping; 

14. Laws and regulations; 

15. Supervision of clinic floor; and 

16. Practicum teaching. 

18VAC41-70-200. Practical performance requirementsPerformance Requirements.  

A. The curriculum for estheticians shall include the following minimum practical performances: 

Consultations, cleansings and analysis of face and body 35

Manual facials and treatments 65

Machine or electrical facials and treatments 50
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Body treatments and back treatments 20

Makeup 25

Hair Removal 25

TOTAL 220

B. The curriculum for master estheticians shall include the following minimum performances: 

Advanced treatments 40

Microdermabrasion 50

Chemical exfoliation 75

Lymphatic drainage treatments 50

TOTAL 215

18VAC41-70-210. School equipmentEquipment.  

A. For an esthetics course, an esthetics school must have at least one treatment table, one 
magnifier lamp, one steamer, one adjustable stool, and one table for instruments and products 
for each two students enrolled in the class. 

B. For each procedure taught in the esthetics curriculum, the esthetics school must have at 
least one set of the applicable equipment for each three students enrolled in the class. 

C. For a master esthetics course, an esthetics school must have at least one treatment table, 
one woods lamp, one adjustable stool, and one table for instruments and products for each two 
students enrolled in the class. 

D. For each procedure taught in the master esthetics curriculum, the esthetics school must 
have at least one set of the applicable equipment for each six students enrolled in the class. 

18VAC41-70-230. Records.  

A. Schools shall maintain on the premises of each school and available for inspection by the 
board or any of its agents the following records for the period of a student's enrollment through 
five years after the student's completion of the curriculum, termination, or withdrawal: 

1. Enrollment application containing the student's signature and a two-inch by two-inch 
color head and shoulders photograph of the student, 

2. Daily record of attendance containing the student's signature, 

3. Student clock hours containing the student's signature and method of calculation, 

4. Practical performance completion sheets containing the student's signature, 

5. Final transcript, 

6. Competency examinations used to award credit, 

7. 6.Course descriptions, and 

8.8. All other relevant documents that account for a student's accrued clock hours and 
practical applications. 

B. Schools shall produce to the board or any of its agents, within 10 days of the request, any 
document, book, or record concerning any student, or for which the licensee is required to 
maintain records, for inspection and copying by the board or its agents. The board may extend 
such timeframe upon a showing of extenuating circumstances prohibiting delivery within such 10-
day period. 
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C. Schools shall, within 21 days upon receipt of a written request from a student, provide 
documentation of hours and performances completed by the student as required to be maintained 
by subsection A of this section. 

D. Prior to a school changing ownership or a school closing, the school is required to provide 
to current students documentation of hours and performances completed. 

E. For a period of one year after a school changes ownership, the school shall provide, within 
21 days upon receipt of a written request from a student, documentation of hours and 
performances completed by a current student. 

18VAC41-70-240. Reporting.  

A. Schools shall provide, in a manner, format, and frequency prescribed by the board, a roster 
of all current students and a roster of students who attended in the preceding six months prior to 
the reporting deadline. 

B. Within 30 days of ceasing to operate, whether through dissolution or alteration of the 
business entity, the school shall provide a written report to the board on performances and hours 
of each of its students who has not completed the program. 

A. Each school must provide student rosters to the board no later than January 15, April 15, 
July 15, and October 15 of every year; 

1. A roster of all enrolled students and a roster of students who attended in the preceding six 
months prior to the reporting deadline. 

2. Students who are enrolled but have not begun classes must be included in the report. 

3. Rosters will be provided on a Board supplied spreadsheet, which will include the students 
full name, date of birth, program type, date enrolled, the total number of hours to-date, and the 
date completed, terminated, or withdrawn. 

4. Schools with no students enrolled, but the intention of operating, must submit a report to 
that effect. Schools with no students enrolled that no longer wish to operate should terminate their 
license in accordance with Board regulations. 

5. Rosters must be submitted via a secure link provided by the Board. 

B. Within 30 days of ceasing to operate, whether through dissolution or alteration of the 
business entity, the school shall provide a written report to the board on performances and hours 
of each of its students who have not completed the program. 

Part VI 

Standards of Practice 

18VAC41-70-250. Scope of practicePractice.  

A. The responsible management for Each each licensed spa or school shall ensure that no 
licensee or student performs any service beyond the scope of practice for the esthetician or 
master esthetician license. 

B. For chemical exfoliation of the epidermis by a licensed master esthetician, the standards 
for use of an exfoliator or concentration of acids shall be: 

1. Jessner and Modified Jessner solution; 

2. Trichloracetic acid less than 20%; 

3. Nonprescriptive alpha hydroxyl acids; 

4. Nonprescriptive beta hydroxyl acids; 

5. Nonprescriptive, commercially available products used in accordance with 
manufacturer's written instructions; 
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6. Vitamin-based acids; 

7. Enzymes; or 

8. Herbal exfoliators. 

18VAC41-70-260. Display of licenseLicense.  

A. Each The responsible management for licensed spa or school shall ensure that all current 
licenses, certificates, and temporary licenses permits issued by the board shall be displayed in 
plain view of the public either in the reception area or at individual work stations of the spa or 
school. Duplicate licenses, certificates, or temporary licenses permit shall be posted in a like 
manner in every spa or school location where the licensee, certificate holder, or temporary license 
permit holder provides services. 

B. All licensees, certificates, and temporary license permit holders shall operate under the 
name in which the license, certificates, or temporary license permit is issued. 

C. All apprenticeship cards issued by the Department of Labor and Industry (DOLI) shall be 
displayed in plain view of the public either in the reception area or at individual work stations of 
the shop or salon. The apprentice sponsor shall require each apprentice to wear a badge clearly 
indicating his status as a DOLI registered apprentice. 

C. Proof of apprenticeship registration issued by the Virginia Department of Workforce 
Development and Advancement (DWDA) shall be displayed in plain view of the public either in 
the reception area or at individual work stations of the shop or salon. The apprentice sponsor 
shall require each apprentice to wear a badge clearly indicating his status as a DWDA registered 
apprentice. 

18VAC41-70-270. Sanitation and safety standards for spas and schoolsSafety Standards 
for Spas and Schools.  

A. Sanitation and safety standards. 

1. Any spa or school where esthetics services are delivered to the public must be clean 
and sanitary at all times. 

2. Compliance with these rules does not confer compliance with other requirements set 
forth by federal, state, and local laws, codes, ordinances, and regulations as they apply to 
business operation, physical construction and maintenance, safety, and public health. 

3. Licensees shall take sufficient measures to prevent the transmission of communicable 
and infectious diseases and comply with the sanitation standards identified in this section 
and shall ensure that all employees likewise comply. 

B. Disinfection and storage of implements. 

1. A wet disinfection unit is a container large enough to hold a disinfectant solution in which 
the objects to be disinfected are completely immersed. A wet disinfection unit must have 
a cover to prevent contamination of the solution. The solution must be a U.S. 
Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) registered disinfectant that is bactericidal, 
virucidal, and fungicidal. Disinfectant solutions shall be used according to manufacturer's 
directions. Each esthetician and master esthetician must have a wet disinfection unit at 
his station and must meet the standards in the definition of wet disinfection requirements. 

2. Disinfection of multiuse items implements constructed of hard, nonporous materials 
such as metal, glass, or plastic, that the manufacturer designed for use on more than one 
client, is to be carried out in the following manner prior to servicing a client: 

a. Remove all foreign matter from the object, utilizing a brush if needed.; Drill bits are 
to be soaked in acetone and scrubbed with a wire brush to remove all foreign matter; 

b. Wash thoroughly with hot water and soap; 
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c. Rinse thoroughly with clean water and dry thoroughly with a clean paper towel; 

d. Fully immerse implements into wet disinfectant solution for a minimum of 10 
minutes; and 

e. After immersion, rinse articles, dry thoroughly with a clean paper towel, and store in 
a clean, predisinfected, and dry cabinet, drawer, or nonairtight sealed covered 
container, or leave instruments in an EPA-registered wet disinfection unit storage 
solution used according to manufacturer's directions. 

3. Single-use items designed by the manufacturer for use on no more than one client 
should be discarded immediately after use on each individual client, including but not 
limited to powder puffs, lip color, cheek color, sponges, styptic pencils, wood implements, 
chamois, or nail skin care implements or disposable razors. The disinfection and reuse of 
these items is not permitted and the use of single-use items on more than one client is 
prohibited. 

4. For the purpose of recharging, rechargeable tools or implements may be stored in an 
area other than in a closed cabinet or container. This area shall be clean. 

5. All materials including cosmetic and nail brushes, sponges, chamois, spatulas, and 
galvanic electrodes must be cleaned with warm water and soap or detergent to remove 
all foreign matter. Implements should then be rinsed, thoroughly dried with a clean paper 
towel, and completely immersed in an EPA-registered disinfectant that is bactericidal, 
virucidal, and fungicidal. Such implements shall be soaked for 10 minutes or more, 
removed, rinsed, dried thoroughly, and stored in a predisinfected and dry drawer, cabinet, 
or nonairtight covered container, or left in an EPA-registered disinfection storage solution 
used according to manufacturer's directions. 

6.5. All wax pots shall be cleaned and disinfected with an EPA-registered disinfectant that 
is bactericidal, virucidal, and fungicidal with no sticks left standing in the wax at any time. 
The area immediately surrounding the wax pot shall be clean and free of clutter, waste 
materials, spills, and any other items that may pose a hazard. 

7. Each esthetician must have a wet disinfection unit at his station. 

8. Nail brushes; nippers; finger bowls; disinfectable or washable buffers; disinfectable or 
washable files, which must also be scrubbed with a brush to remove all foreign matter; 
and other instruments must be washed in soap and water, rinsed, dried thoroughly with a 
clean paper towel, and then completely immersed in an EPA-registered disinfectant that 
is bactericidal, virucidal, and fungicidal for 10 minutes after each use. After disinfection 
they must be rinsed, dried thoroughly with a clean paper towel, and placed in a dry, 
predisinfected, nonairtight covered receptacle, cabinet, or drawer, or left in an EPA-
registered disinfectant storage system used according to manufacturer's directions. 

9.6. Sinks, bowls, tubs, whirlpool units, air-jetted basins, pipe-less units, and non-whirlpool 
basins used in the performance of skin nail care shall be maintained in accordance with 
manufacturer's recommendations. They shall be cleaned and disinfected immediately 
after each client in the following manner: 

a. Drain all water and remove all debris; 

b. Clean the surfaces and walls with soap or detergent to remove all visible debris, 
oils, and product residues and then rinse with water; 

c. Disinfect by spraying or wiping the surface with an EPA-registered disinfectant that 
is bactericidal, virucidal, and fungicidal; and in accordance with manufacturer 
directions; 

d. Wipe dry with a clean towel. 
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C. General sanitation and safety requirements. 

1. Service chairs, workstations and workstands, and back bars shall be clean; 

2. The floor surface in all work areas must be of a washable surface other than carpet. 
The floor must be kept clean and free of debris, nail clippings, dropped articles, spills, 
clutter, trash, electrical cords, other waste materials, and other items that may pose a 
hazard; 

3. All furniture, fixtures, walls, floors, windows, and ceilings shall be in good repair and 
free of water seepage and dirt. All mats shall be secured or shall lie flat; 

4. A fully functional bathroom with a working toilet and sink must be available for clients. 
There must be hot and cold running water. Fixtures must be in good condition. The 
bathroom must be lighted and sufficiently ventilated. There must be soap and clean single-
use towels or hand air-drying device for the client's use. For facilities newly occupied after 
January 1, 2017, the bathroom shall be maintained exclusively for client use or shared 
with other businesses in the same building. If the bathroom is shared, the bathroom shall 
be available for client use and within 200 feet of the entrance and must adhere to all 
sanitation requirements of this chapter; 

5. General areas for client use must be neat and clean with a waste receptacle for common 
trash; 

6. Electrical cords shall be placed to prevent entanglement by the client or licensee and 
electrical outlets shall be covered by plates; 

7. All sharp tools, implements, and heat-producing appliances shall be in safe working 
order at all times, safely stored, and placed so as to prevent any accidental injury to the 
client or licensee; 

8. The spa area shall be sufficiently ventilated to exhaust hazardous or objectionable 
airborne chemicals and to allow the free flow of air; and 

9. Adequate lighting shall be provided. 

D. Articles, tools, and products. 

1. Any multiuse article, tool, or product that cannot be cleansed or disinfected is prohibited 
from use; 

2. Soiled implements must be removed from the tops of work stations immediately after 
use; 

3. Clean spatulas, other clean tools, or clean disposable gloves shall be used to remove 
bulk substances from containers; 

4. Any multiuse article, tool, or product that cannot be disinfected by full immersion as 
specified in 18VAC41-70-270.B.2 or cleaned according to manufactor’s recommendation, 
including but not limited to natural hair brushes or neck dusters, is prohibited from use.  

4.5. Lotions, ointments, creams, and powders shall be accurately labeled and kept in 
closed containers. A clean spatula shall be used to remove creams or other products from 
jars. Sterile cotton or sponges shall be used to apply creams, lotions, and powders. 
Cosmetic containers shall be covered after each use; 

5.6. All appliances shall be safely stored; 

6.7. Presanitized tools and implements, linens, and equipment shall be stored for use in a 
sanitary enclosed cabinet or covered receptacle; 

7.8. Clean towels, robes, or other linens shall be used for each patron. Clean towels, 
robes, or other linens shall be stored in a clean predisinfected and dry cabinet, drawer, or 
nonairtight covered container. Soiled towels, robes, or other linens shall be stored in a 
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container enclosed on all sides including the top, except if stored in a separate laundry 
room; 

8.9. No substance other than a sterile styptic powder or sterile liquid astringent approved 
for homeostasis and applied with a sterile single-use applicator shall be used to check 
bleeding; and 

9. Any disposable material making contact with blood or other body fluid shall be disposed 
of in a sealed plastic bag and removed from the spa or school in accordance with the 
guidelines of the Virginia Department of Health and OSHA (Occupational Safety and 
Health Administration). 

10. Any disposable material making contact with blood or other body fluid shall be double 
bagged, label as a biohazard, and disposed of in a closed receptacle. 

E. Chemical storage and emergency information. 

1. Spas and schools shall have in the immediate working area a binder with all Safety 
Data Sheets (SDS) provided by manufacturers for any chemical products used; 

2. Spas and schools shall have a blood spill clean-up kit in the work area that contains at 
a minimum latex gloves, two 12-inch by 12-inch towels, one disposable trash bag, bleach, 
one empty spray bottle, and one mask with face shield or any Occupational Safety and 
Heath Administration (OSHA)-approved blood spill clean-up kit; 

3. Flammable chemicals shall be labeled and stored in a nonflammable storage cabinet 
or a properly ventilated room; and 

4. Chemicals that could interact in a hazardous manner (e.g., oxidizers, catalysts, and 
solvents) shall be labeled and separated in storage. 

F. Client health guidelines. 

1. All employees providing client services shall cleanse their hands with a soap product 
prior to providing services to each client; 

2. All employees providing client services shall wear gloves while providing services when 
exposure to bloodborne pathogens is possible; 

3. No spa or school providing esthetics services shall have on the premises esthetics 
products containing hazardous substances that have been banned by the U.S. Food and 
Drug Administration (FDA) for use in esthetics products; 

4. No product shall be used in a manner that is disapproved by the FDA; and 

5. Esthetics spas must be in compliance with current building and zoning codes. 

G. In addition to the requirements set forth in this section, all licensees and temporary license 
permit holders shall adhere to regulations and guidelines established by the Virginia Department 
of Health and the Occupational and Safety Division of the Virginia Department of Labor and 
Industry. 

H. All spas and schools shall immediately report the results of any inspection of the spa or 
school by the Virginia Department of Health as required by § 54.1-705 of the Code of Virginia. 

I. All spas and schools shall conduct a self-inspection on an annual basis and maintain a self-
inspection form on file for five years so that it may be requested and reviewed by the board at its 
discretion. 

18VAC41-70-280. Grounds for license revocation, probation, or suspension; denial of 
application, renewal or reinstatement; or imposition of a monetary penaltyGrounds for 
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License Revocation, Suspension, or Probation; Denial of Application, Renewal or 
Reinstatement; or Imposition of a Monetary Penalty.  

The board may, in considering the totality of the circumstances, fine any licensee, certificate 
holder, or temporary license holder; suspend, place on probation, revoke, or refuse to issue, 
renew or reinstate any license,; impose a monetary penalty, place a license on probation with 
such terms and conditions and for such time as it may designate, suspend a license for a stated 
period of time; or revoke, a license certificate or permit issued certificate, or temporary license; or 
deny any application issued under the provisions of Chapter 7 (§ 54.1-700 et seq.) of Title 54.1 
of the Code of Virginia and this chapter if the board finds that the licensee, certificate holder, 
permit holder, or applicant: 

1. Is incompetent, negligent, or incapable mentally or physically, as those terms are 
generally understood in the profession, to practice as an esthetician; Is incompetent, 
negligent in practice, unable to practice with skill or safety as a result of any mental or 
physical condition, as those terms are generally understood in the profession, (i)to practice 
as an esthetician or master esthetician, or (ii) operate a spa or school;  

2. Is convicted of fraud or deceit in the practice or teaching of esthetics or master esthetics, 
fails to teach in accordance with the board-approved curriculum, or fails to comply with 
18VAC41-70-190 D when making an assessment of credit hours awarded; 

3. Attempts to obtain, obtained, renewed, or reinstated a license, certificate, or temporary 
license permit by false or fraudulent representation; 

4. Violates, induces others to violate, or cooperates with others in violating any of the 
provisions of this chapter or Chapter 7 (§ 54.1-700 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of 
Virginia or any local ordinance or regulation governing standards of health and sanitation 
of the establishment in which any esthetician may practice or offer to practice; 

5. Offers, gives, or promises anything of value or benefit to any federal, state, or local 
employee for the purpose of influencing that employee to circumvent, in the performance 
of his duties, any federal, state, or local law, regulation, or ordinance governing esthetics 
or master esthetics; 

6. Fails to respond to the board or any of its agents or provides false, misleading, or 
incomplete information to an inquiry by the board or any of its agents; 

7. Fails or refuses to allow the board or any of its agents to inspect during reasonable 
hours any licensed spa or school for compliance with provisions of Chapter 7 (§ 54.1-700 
et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia or this chapter; 

8. Fails to produce, upon request or demand of the board or any of its agents, any 
document, book, record, or copy thereof in a licensee's, certificate holder's, temporary 
license holder's, applicant's, or owner's possession or maintained in accordance with this 
chapter; 

9. Fails to notify the board of a change of name or address in writing within 30 days of the 
change for each and every license, certificate, or temporary license; 

10. Makes any misrepresentation or publishes or causes to be published any 
advertisement that is false, deceptive, or misleading; 

11. Fails to notify the board in writing within 30 days of the suspension, revocation, or 
surrender of a license or temporary license in connection with a disciplinary action in any 
jurisdiction or of any license or temporary license that has been the subject of disciplinary 
action in any jurisdiction; of final action, of any disciplinary action taken against a license, 
registration, certificate or permit in any jurisdiction by a local, state or national regulatory 
body; 
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12. Has been convicted or found guilty, regardless of the manner of adjudication, in 
Virginia or any other jurisdiction of the United States of a misdemeanor involving moral 
turpitude, sexual offense, non-marijuana drug distribution, or physical injury or any felony, 
there being no appeal pending therefrom or the time for appeal having elapsed. Review 
of convictions shall be subject to the requirements of § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia. 
Any plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a conviction for purposes of this 
subdivision. The record of a conviction certified or authenticated in such form as to be 
admissible in evidence under the laws of the jurisdiction where convicted shall be 
admissible as prima facie evidence of such conviction or guilt; 

13. Fails to inform the board in writing within 30 days of pleading guilty or nolo contendere 
or being convicted or found guilty regardless of adjudication of convictions as stated in 
subdivision 12 of this section; 

14. Allows, as responsible management of a spa or school, a person who has not obtained 
a license or a temporary permit to practice unless the person is duly enrolled as a 
registered apprentice; 

15. Allows, as responsible management of a school, a person who has not obtained an 
instructor certificate to practice as an esthetics or a master esthetics instructor; 

16. Fails to take sufficient measures to prevent transmission of communicable or infectious 
diseases or fails to comply with sanitary requirements provided for in this chapter or any 
local, state, or federal law or regulation governing the standards of health and sanitation 
for the practices of esthetics or master esthetics or the operation of esthetics spas; or 

17. Fails to comply with all procedures established by the board and the testing service 
with regard to conduct at any board examination. 

FORMS (18VAC41-70) 

Esthetician – Esthetics Instructor Examination & License Application, A450-1261_62EXLIC-
v17 (eff. 5/2022) 

Master Esthetician – Master Esthetics Instructor Examination & License Application, A450-
1264_65EXLIC-v18 (eff. 5/2022) 

Temporary Permit Application, A450-1213TEMP-v3 (eff. 12/2021) 

License by Endorsement Application, A450-1213END-v18 (eff. /2022) 

Training Verification Form, A450-1213TR-vs1 (eff. 5/2022) 

Individual - Reinstatement Application, A450-1213REI-v13 (eff. 9/2022) 

Salon, Shop, Spa & Parlor License/Reinstatement Application A450-1213BUS-v16 (eff. 
9/2022) 

Salon, Shop & Spa Self Inspection Form, A450-1213_SSS_INSP-vs2 (eff. 5/2016) 

Instructor Certification Application, A450-1213INST-v17 (eff. 10/2022) 

School License Application, A450-1213SCHL-v18 (eff. 5/2023) 

School Reinstatement Application, A450-1213SCHL_REI-v9 (eff. 9/2022) 

School Self Inspection Form, A450-1213SCH_INSP-vs5 (eff. 1/2022) 

Licensure Fee Notice, A450-1213FEE-v11 (rev. 2022) 

Change of Responsible Management, A450-1213CRM-v6 (eff. 12/2021) 

Experience Verification Form A450-1261_64EXP-v2 (eff. 2/2023) 

Esthetics-Master Esthetics Universal License App A450-1261-65ULR-v1 (eff. 7/2023) 
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Project 7712 - NOIRA 

Board For Barbers And Cosmetology 

General Review of Tattooing Regulations 

Chapter 50 

Tattooing Regulations 

Part I 

General 

18VAC41-50-10. Definitions.  

The following words and terms when used in this chapter shall have the following meanings 
unless the context clearly indicates otherwise. All terms defined in ascribed to them in Chapter 7 
(§ 54.1-700 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia are incorporated in this chapter.: 

"Apprenticeship program" means an approved tattooing training program conducted by an 
approved apprenticeship sponsor. 

"Apprenticeship sponsor" means an individual approved to conduct tattooing apprenticeship 
training who meets the qualifications in 18VAC41-50-70. 

"Aseptic technique" means a hygienic practice that prevents and hinders the direct transfer of 
microorganisms, regardless of pathogenicity, from one person or place to another person or 
place. 

"Business entity" means a sole proprietorship, partnership, corporation, limited liability 
company, limited liability partnership, or any other form of organization permitted by law. 

"Clock Hours" - means a minimum of 50 minutes of supervised or directed instruction and 
appropriate breaks. 

"Credit hour" means a combination of the number of hours in class each week and the number 
of hours per week in a laboratory by which a school may measure its course work. One unit of 
credit equals one hour of classroom study, two hours of laboratory experience or three hours of 
internship or practicum or a combination of the three times the number of weeks in the term. 
Emerging delivery methodologies may necessitate a unit of undergraduate credit to be measured 
in nontime base methods. These courses shall use the demonstration of competency, proficiency, 
or fulfillment of learning outcomes to ensure these courses are equivalent to traditionally delivered 
courses. 

"Direct supervision" means (i) that a Virginia licensed tattooer shall be present in the tattoo 
parlor at all times when services are being performed by an apprentice; (ii) that a Virginia licensed 
and certified tattooing instructor or a tattoo student instructor temporary permit holder shall be 
present in the tattooing school at all times when services are being performed by a student; (iii) 
that a Virginia licensed and certified permanent cosmetic tattooing instructor or a permanent 
cosmetic tattooing student instructor temporary permit holder shall be present in the permanent 
cosmetic tattooing school at all times when services are being performed by a student; (iv) that a 
Virginia licensed and certified master permanent cosmetic tattooer instructor or a master 
permanent cosmetic tattooing student instructor temporary permit holder shall be present in the 
permanent cosmetic tattooing school at all times when master permanent cosmetic tattooer 
services are being performed by a student; or (v) that a Virginia licensed tattooer shall be present 
in the tattoo parlor at all times when services are being performed by a guest tattooer. 
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"Each and every location" means, for the purposes of schools with multiple suites or 
classrooms, a single location is one that is enclosed under one roof and all classrooms or suites 
are within 500 feet of the main office. Any suites or classrooms that are located in a different 
building or are further than 500 feet from the main office are considered a separate location, and 
require the school hold an additional license. 

"Endorsement" means a method of obtaining a license by a person who is currently licensed 
in another state or jurisdiction of the United States. 

"Event tattoo parlor" means a tattoo parlor temporary location licensed to operate for a 
maximum of five consecutive days. 

"Firm" means any business entity recognized under the laws of the Commonwealth of Virginia. 

"Gratuitous services" as used in § 54.1-701.5 of the Code Virginia means providing tattooing 
services without receiving compensation or reward, or obligation. Gratuitous services do not 
include services provided at no charge when goods are purchased. 

"Guest tattooer" means a tattooer, permanent cosmetic tattooer, or master permanent 
cosmetic tattooer residing outside of Virginia who is licensed only to work for a two-week period 
at a specified tattoo parlor or permanent cosmetic tattoo salon. 

"Guest tattooer sponsor" means a licensed tattoo parlor or permanent cosmetic tattooing 
salon that is sponsoring and providing direct supervision of a guest tattooer. 

"Licensee" means any person, sole proprietorship, partnership, corporation, limited liability 
company, limited liability partnership, or any other form of organization permitted by law individual 
or firm holding a license issued by the Board for Barbers and Cosmetology, as defined in § 54.1-
700 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Master permanent cosmetic tattooer" means any person who for compensation practices 
permanent cosmetic tattooing known in the industry as advanced permanent cosmetic tattooing, 
including scalp micropigmentation, eye shadow, and breast and scar repigmentation or 
camouflage. 

"Permanent cosmetic tattoo salon" means any place in which permanent cosmetic tattooing 
is offered or practiced for compensation. 

"Permanent cosmetic tattooer" means any person who for compensation practices permanent 
cosmetic tattooing known in the industry as basic permanent cosmetic tattooing, including 
eyebrows, microblading, scalp micropigmentation, eyeliners, lip coloring, lip liners, or full lips. 

"Permanent cosmetic tattooing" means placing marks upon or under the skin of any person 
with ink or any other substance, resulting in the permanent coloration of the skin on the face, 
including eyebrows, eyeliners, lip coloring, lip liners, full lips, cheek blush, eye shadow, forehead 
and scalp micropigmentation, and on the body for breast and scar repigmentation or camouflage, 
also known as permanent makeup or micropigmentation. 

"Permanent cosmetic tattooing instructor" means a person who has been certified by the 
board who meets the competency standards of the board as an instructor of permanent cosmetic 
tattooing. 

"Permanent cosmetic tattooing school" means a place or establishment licensed by the board 
to accept and train students and offers a permanent cosmetic tattooing, and/or a master 
permanent cosmetic tattooing curriculum approved by the board. 

"Pigments" means tattooing ink designed for use on human skin. 

"Post-secondary educational level" means an accredited college or university that is approved 
or accredited by an accrediting agency recognized by the U.S. Department of Education. 
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"Reasonable hours" means the hours between 9 a.m. and 5 p.m.; however, if the licensee 
generally is not open to the public substantially during the same hours, "reasonable hours" shall 
mean the business hours when the licensee is open to the public. 

"Reinstatement" means having a license restored to effectiveness after the expiration date 
has passed. 

"Renewal" means continuing the effectiveness of a license for another period of time. 

"Responsible management" means the following individuals: 

1. The sole proprietor of a sole proprietorship; 

2. The partners of a general partnership; 

3. The managing partners of a limited partnership; 

4. The officers of a corporation; 

5. The managers of a limited liability company; 

6. The officers or directors of an association or both; and 

7. Individuals in other business entities recognized under the laws of the Commonwealth 
as having a fiduciary responsibility to the firm. 

"Sole proprietor" means any individual, not a corporation, who is trading under that individual's 
own name or under an assumed or fictitious name pursuant to the provisions of §§ 59.1-69 
through 59.1-76 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Sterilization area" means a separate room or area separate from workstations with restricted 
client access in which tattooing instruments are cleaned, disinfected, and sterilized. 

"Substantially equivalent exam" means an examination administered by the licensing entity 
which covers Virginia's scope of practice for that profession. 

"Substantially equivalent training" means at least 80% of the required hours in Virginia and 
curriculum content covering Virginia's scope of practice for that profession. 

"Tattoo convention" means an event where Virginia and out-of-state tattooers gather for no 
more than five consecutive days to offer tattooing services to the public. 

"Tattooing instructor" means a person who has been certified by the board who meets the 
competency standards of the board as an instructor of tattooing. 

"Temporary location" means a fixed location at which tattooing is performed for a specified 
length of time of not more than five days in conjunction with a single event or convention. 

Part II 

Entry 

18VAC41-50-20. General requirements for tattooer,  guest tattooer, permanent cosmetic 
tattooer, or master permanent cosmetic tattooer Gratuitous Services.  

A. Any individual wishing to engage in tattooing, guest tattooing, permanent cosmetic 
tattooing, or master permanent cosmetic tattooing shall obtain a license in compliance with § 54.1-
703 of the Code of Virginia and meet the following qualifications: 

1. The applicant must be in good standing as a tattooer, guest tattooer, permanent 
cosmetic tattooer, or master permanent cosmetic tattooer in every jurisdiction where 
licensed, certified, or registered. The applicant shall disclose to the board at the time of 
application for licensure any disciplinary action taken in Virginia or any other jurisdiction in 
connection with the applicant's practice as a tattooer, guest tattooer, permanent cosmetic 
tattooer, or master permanent cosmetic tattooer. This disclosure includes monetary 
penalties, fines, suspensions, revocations, surrender of a license in connection with a 
disciplinary action, or voluntary termination of a license. The applicant shall disclose to the 
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board at the time of application for licensure if the applicant has been previously licensed 
in Virginia as a tattooer, guest tattooer, permanent cosmetic tattooer, or master permanent 
cosmetic tattooer. 

Upon review of the applicant's prior disciplinary action, the board, in its discretion, may 
deny licensure to any applicant wherein the board deems the applicant is unfit or unsuited 
to engage in tattooing, guest tattooing, permanent cosmetic tattooing, or master 
permanent cosmetic tattooing. The board will decide each case by taking into account the 
totality of the circumstances. Any plea of nolo contendere or comparable plea shall be 
considered a disciplinary action for the purposes of this subdivision. The applicant shall 
provide a certified copy of a final order, decree, or case decision by a court, regulatory 
agency, or board with the lawful authority to issue such order, decree, or case decision, 
and such copy shall be admissible as prima facie evidence of such disciplinary action. 

2. The applicant shall disclose the applicant's physical address. A post office box is not 
acceptable. 

3. The applicant shall sign, as part of the application, a statement certifying that the 
applicant has read and understands the Virginia tattooing license laws and this chapter. 

4. In accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia, each applicant shall disclose the 
following information regarding criminal convictions in Virginia and all other jurisdictions: 

a. All misdemeanor convictions involving moral turpitude, sexual offense, non-
marijuana drug distribution, or physical injury within two years of the date of the 
application; and 

b. All felony convictions within 20 years of the date of application. 

Any plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a conviction for purposes of this 
subdivision. The record of a conviction received from a court shall be accepted as prima 
facie evidence of a conviction or finding of guilt. The board, in its discretion, may deny 
licensure to any applicant in accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia. 

5. The applicant shall provide evidence satisfactory to the board that the applicant has 
passed the board approved examination, administered either by the board or by a 
designated testing service. 

B. Eligibility to sit for board-approved examination. 

1. Training in the Commonwealth of Virginia. Any person completing an approved tattooing 
apprenticeship program in a Virginia licensed tattoo parlor or completing an approved 
tattooing training program in a Virginia licensed tattoo school or completing a permanent 
cosmetic tattooing or master permanent cosmetic tattooing training program in a Virginia 
licensed permanent cosmetic tattooing school shall be eligible to sit for the applicable 
examination. 

2. Training outside of the Commonwealth of Virginia but within the United States or 
jurisdiction of the United States. Any person completing a tattooing, permanent cosmetic 
tattooing, master permanent cosmetic tattooing training program, or tattooing 
apprenticeship that is substantially equivalent to the Virginia program but is outside of the 
Commonwealth of Virginia must submit to the board documentation of the successful 
completion of training or apprenticeship to be eligible for examination. If less than the 
required hours were completed, an applicant must submit (i) documentation acceptable to 
the board verifying the completion of a substantially equivalent tattooing training, tattooing 
apprenticeship, permanent cosmetic tattooing training, or master permanent cosmetic 
tattooing or documentation of three years of work experience within the preceding five 
years as a tattooer and (ii) documentation of completion of a minimum of five hours of 
health education to include (a) bloodborne pathogens, sterilization, and aseptic 
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techniques related to tattooing; (b) first aid; and (c) CPR that is acceptable to the board in 
order to be eligible for examination. 

Any individual who engages in tattooing, guest tattooing, permanent cosmetic tattooing or 
master permanent cosmetic tattooing without receiving compensation, reward or 
obligation is considered to be performing gratuitous services and is exempt from the 
provisions of this chapter. Gratuitous services do not include services provided at no 
charge when goods are purchased. 

18VAC41-50-25. General Requirements for Tattooer, Guest Tattooer, Permanent Cosmetic 
Tattooer, or Master Permanent Cosmetic Tattooer.  

A. Any individual wishing to engage in tattooing, guest tattooing, permanent cosmetic tattooing, 
or master permanent cosmetic tattooing shall obtain a license in compliance with § 54.1-703 of 
the Code of Virginia and meet the following qualifications: 

1. The applicant must be in good standing as a tattooer, guest tattooer, permanent cosmetic 
tattooer, or master permanent cosmetic tattooer in Virginia and in all other jurisdictions where 
licensed, certified, or registered. The applicant shall disclose to the board at the time of 
application for licensure any disciplinary action taken in Virginia or all other jurisdictions in 
connection with the applicant's practice as a tattooer, guest tattooer, permanent cosmetic 
tattooer, or master permanent cosmetic tattooer. This includes monetary penalties, fines, 
probation, suspensions, revocations, surrender of a license in connection with a disciplinary 
action pertaining to services within the respective scope of practice, or voluntary termination of a 
license. 

Upon review of the applicant's prior disciplinary action, the board, in its discretion, may deny 
licensure to any applicant wherein it deems the applicant is unfit or unsuited to engage in 
tattooing, guest tattooing, permanent cosmetic tattooing, or master permanent cosmetic 
tattooing. The applicant shall provide a certified copy of a final order, decree, or case decision 
by a court, regulatory agency, or board with the lawful authority to issue such order, decree, or 
case decision, and such copy shall be admissible as prima facie evidence of such disciplinary 
action. 

2. The applicant shall disclose the applicant's physical address. A post office box may be 
provided as a secondary address. 

3. The applicant shall sign, as part of the application, a statement certifying that the applicant 
has read and understands the Virginia tattooing license laws and this chapter. 

4. In accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia, each applicant shall disclose the 
following information regarding criminal convictions in Virginia and all other jurisdictions: 

a. All misdemeanor convictions within two years of the date of application involving moral 
turpitude, sexual offense, non-marijuana drug distribution, or physical injury; and 

b. All felony convictions within 10 years of the date of application. 

Any plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a conviction for purposes of this subdivision. 
The record of a conviction received from a court shall be accepted as prima facie evidence of a 
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conviction or finding of guilt. The board, in its discretion, may deny licensure to any applicant in 
accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia. 

5. The applicant shall provide evidence satisfactory to the board that the applicant has passed 
the board approved examination, administered either by the board or independent examiners. 

6. Any changes in the name or address of the licensee shall be reported to the board in writing 
within 30 days of such changes. 

B. Eligibility to sit for board-approved examination. 

1. Training in the Commonwealth of Virginia. Any person completing one of the following 
programs can be approved for the examination: 

a. An approved tattooing apprenticeship program in a Virginia licensed tattoo parlor; 

b. An approved tattooing training program in a Virginia licensed tattoo school; or 

c. A permanent cosmetic tattooing or master permanent cosmetic tattooing training program, in 
a Virginia licensed permanent cosmetic tattooing or tattooing school shall be eligible to sit for 
the applicable examination.  

2. Training outside of the Commonwealth of Virginia. 

a. Any person completing a tattooing, permanent cosmetic tattooing, master permanent 
cosmetic tattooing training program, or tattooing apprenticeship that is substantially equivalent 
to the Virginia program but is outside of the Commonwealth of Virginia must submit to the board 
documentation of the successful completion of training or apprenticeship to be eligible for 
examination. Applicants who have earned a degree from an institution outside the United States 
must have their degree translated, authenticated and evaluated by an education evaluation 
service if credit is sought for the education. The board in its discretion may decline to accept any 
an evaluation submitted by an applicant. 

b. Applicants who completed a training program that is not substantially equivalent to Virginia’s 
training, including out of country training, must submit (i) documentation acceptable to the board 
verifying three years of work experience within the preceding five years as a tattooer and (ii) 
documentation of completion of a minimum of five hours of health education to include (a) 
bloodborne pathogens, sterilization, and aseptic techniques related to tattooing; and (b) first aid 
that is acceptable to the board in order to be eligible for examination.  

18VAC41-50-30. License by endorsement Endorsement.  

Upon proper application to the board, any person currently licensed to practice as a tattooer, 
permanent cosmetic tattooer, or master permanent cosmetic tattooer, or who is a licensed 
instructor in the respective profession in any other state or jurisdiction of the United States and 
who has completed a training or apprenticeship program and an examination that is substantially 
equivalent to that required by this chapter may be issued a tattooer license, permanent cosmetic 
tattooer license, or master permanent cosmetic tattooer license, or the respective instructor 
certificate, respectively, without an examination. The applicant must also meet the requirements 
set forth in 18VAC41-50-20 A 1 through A 4. 
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18VAC41-50-40. Examination requirements and fees Requirements and Fees.  

A. Applicants for initial licensure shall pass an examination approved by the board. The 
examinations may be administered by the board or by a designated testing service. 

B. Any candidate failing to appear as scheduled for examination shall forfeit the examination 
fee. 

CB. The applicant shall follow all procedures established by the board with regard to conduct 
at the examination. Such procedures shall include any written instructions communicated prior to 
the examination date and any instructions communicated at the site, either written or oral, on the 
date of the examination. Failure to comply with all procedures established by the board and the 
testing service with regard to conduct at the examination may be grounds for denial of application. 

DC. Any applicant who does not pass a reexamination within one year of the initial 
examination date shall be required to submit a new application. 

ED. The fee for examination or reexamination is subject to contracted charges to the board 
by an outside vendor. These contracts are competitively negotiated and bargained for in 
compliance with the Virginia Public Procurement Act (§ 2.2-4300 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). 
Fees may be adjusted and charged to the candidate in accordance with these contracts. The fee 
shall not exceed $225 per candidate. 

FE. Any candidate failing to apply for initial licensure within five years of passing the written 
examination shall be required to retake the examination. Records of examinations shall be 
maintained for a maximum of five years. 

18VAC41-50-45. Tattoo, Permanent Cosmetic Tattoo, and Master Permanent Cosmetic 
Tattoo Temporary Permits.  

A. A temporary permit to work under the direct supervision of a currently licensed tattooer, 
permanent cosmetic tattooer, or master permanent cosmetic tattooer may be issued only to 
applicants for initial licensure who the board finds eligible for examination. There shall be no fee 
for a temporary permit. 

B. The temporary permit shall remain in force for 90 days and no subsequent temporary permit 
shall be issued. 

C. Any person continuing to practice tattooing, permanent cosmetic tattooing, or master 
permanent cosmetic tattooing after a temporary permit has expired may be prosecuted and fined 
by the Commonwealth under §§ 54.1-111 A 1 and 54.1-202 of the Code of Virginia. 

D. Temporary permits shall not be issued where grounds may exist to deny a license pursuant 
to § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia or 18VAC41-50-20. 

18VAC41-50-70. General requirements for a tattooing apprenticeship 
sponsor Requirements for a Tattooing Apprenticeship Sponsor.  

A. Upon filing an application with the Board for Barbers and Cosmetology, any person meeting 
the qualifications set forth in this section may be eligible to sponsor a tattooing apprentice if the 
person:Any individual wishing to sponsor a body-piercing apprentice must meet the following 
qualifications: 

1. Holds The applicant must hold a current Virginia tattooer license; 

2. Provides The applicant must provide documentation of legally practicing tattooing for at 
least five years; and 

3. Provides The applicant must provide documentation indicating that he is in good 
standing in all jurisdictions where the practice of tattooing is regulated. 

B. Apprenticeship sponsors shall be required to maintain a tattooer license. 
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C. Apprenticeship sponsors shall ensure compliance with the 1500 hour tattooing 
apprenticeship program and tattooing apprenticeship standards. 

18VAC41-50-80. General Requirements for a Tattoo parlor, event tattoo parlor, or 
permanent cosmetic tattoo salon license Parlor, Event Tattoo Parlor, or Permanent 
Cosmetic Tattoo Salon License.  

A. Any firm wishing to operate a tattoo parlor, event tattoo parlor, or permanent cosmetic tattoo 
salon shall obtain a tattoo parlor license, event tattoo parlor license, or permanent cosmetic tattoo 
salon license in compliance with § 54.1-704.1 of the Code of Virginia and shall meet the following 
qualifications in order to receive a license: 

1. The applicant and all members of the responsible management shall be in good 
standing as a licensed parlor or salon in Virginia and all other jurisdictions where 
licensed.certified or registered. The applicant and all members of the responsible 
management shall disclose to the board at the time of application for licensure any 
disciplinary action taken in Virginia and all other jurisdictions in connection with the 
applicant's operation of any tattoo parlor, event tattoo parlor, or permanent cosmetic tattoo 
salon or practice of the profession. This disclosure includes monetary penalties, fines, 
probation, suspensions, revocations, surrender of a license in connection with a 
disciplinary action, pertaining to services within the respective scope of practice, or 
voluntary termination of a license. The applicant shall disclose to the board at the time of 
application for licensure if the applicant or any member of the responsible management 
has been previously licensed in Virginia as a tattoo parlor, event tattoo parlor, or 
permanent cosmetic tattoo salon. 

Upon review of the applicant's and all members of the responsible management's prior 
disciplinary action, the board, in its discretion, may deny licensure to any applicant wherein 
it deems the applicant is unfit or unsuited to engage in the operation of a tattoo parlor, 
event tattoo parlor, or permanent cosmetic tattoo salon. The board will decide each case 
by taking into account the totality of the circumstances. Any plea of nolo contendere or 
comparable plea shall be considered a disciplinary action for the purposes of this 
subdivision. The applicant shall provide a certified copy of a final order, decree, or case 
decision by a court, regulatory agency, or board with the lawful authority to issue such 
order, decree, or case decision, and such copy shall be admissible as prima facie evidence 
of such disciplinary action. 

2. The applicant shall disclose the applicant's physical address. A post office box is not 
acceptable.may be provided as a secondary address. 

3. The applicant shall sign, as part of the application, a statement certifying that the 
applicant has read and understands the Virginia tattooing license laws and this chapter. 

4. In accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia, each applicant shall disclose the 
following information about the firm and all members of the responsible management 
regarding criminal convictions in Virginia and all other jurisdictions: 

a. All misdemeanor convictions within two years of the date of application involving 
moral turpitude, sexual offense, non-marijuana drug distribution, or physical injury 
within two years of the date of the application; and 

b. All felony convictions within 2010 years of the date of application. 

Any plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a conviction for purposes of this 
subdivision. The record of a conviction received from a court shall be accepted as prima 
facie evidence of a conviction or finding of guilt. The board, in its discretion, may deny 
licensure to any applicant in accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia. 

5. The applicant shall disclose the firm's responsible management. 
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B. A tattoo parlor license, event tattoo parlor license, or permanent cosmetic tattoo salon 
license are issued to firms as defined in this chapter and shall not be transferable. and shall bear 
the same name and address of the business. Any changes in the name or address of the parlor 
or salon shall be reported to the board in writing within 30 days of such changes. The board shall 
not be responsible for the licensee’s, failure to receive notices, communications, and 
correspondence caused by the licensee’s, failure to promptly notify the board in writing of any 
change of name or address or for any other reason beyond the control of the board. The new 
responsible management shall be is responsible for applying for a new license within 30 days of 
the changes. 

C. Whenever the legal business entity holding the license is dissolved or altered to form a new 
business entity, the original license becomes void. and shall be returned to the board within 30 
days of the change. The firm must notify the board within 30 days of the change and destroy the 
license. Additionally, the firm shall apply for a new license within 30 days of the change in the 
business entity. Such changes include: 

1. Death of a sole proprietor; 

2. Death or withdrawal of a general partner in a general partnership or the managing 
partner in a limited partnership; and 

3. Conversion, formation, or dissolution of a corporation, a limited liability company, an 
association, or any other business entity recognized under the laws of the Commonwealth 
of Virginia. 

D. Any change in the officers of a corporation, managers of a limited liability company, or 
officers or directors of an association shall be reported to the board in writing within 30 days of 
the change. 

E. Any tattoo parlor or permanent cosmetic tattoo salon wishing to host a guest tattooer must 
identify itself as the guest tattooer sponsor and must provide direct supervision of any tattooing 
by the guest tattooer. 

F. Any firm wishing to operate a tattoo parlor in a temporary location must have a tattoo parlor 
license or event tattoo parlor license issued by the board. 

G. An event tattoo parlor license is effective for five consecutive days.prior to the expiration 
date.  

H. A firm may obtain a maximum of five event tattoo parlor licenses within a calendar year. 

I. The board or any of its agents shall be allowed to inspect during reasonable hours any 
licensed salon for compliance with provisions of Chapter 7 (§ 54.1-700 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the 
Code of Virginia or this chapter. 

18VAC41-50-91.   Guest tattooer license Tattooer License.  

A. A guest tattooer license is effective for 14 days prior to the expiration date. 

B. An out-of-state resident may obtain up to five guest tattooer licenses per calendar year. 

C. A guest tattooer applicant must meet the following qualifications: 

1. Requirements set forth in 18VAC41-50-20 A 1 through A 4. 

2. Present documentation showing out-of-state residency. 

3. Documentation of health education knowledge to include (i) bloodborne disease, 
sterilization, and aseptic techniques related to tattooing; (ii) first aid; and (iii) CPR that is 
acceptable to the board. 

4. Documentation showing guest tattooer sponsor, including signature of sponsor parlor's 
responsible management. 
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D. A guest tattooer must provide the name and license number of the guest tattooer's sponsor 
and the duration of the guest tattooer's tattooing for all guest tattooer locations. 

E. A guest tattooer applicant is not required to complete 18VAC41-50-20 A 5. 

18VAC41-50-92. Guest tattooer sponsor Tattooer Sponsor.  

A. The licensed tattoo parlor sponsoring a guest tattooer shall ensure that the guest tattooer: 

1. Has a valid, current guest tattooer license for the entire duration of the guest tattooer 
tattooing at the parlor. 

2. Is directly supervised by a licensed tattooer. 

3. Complies with all Virginia regulations relating to health, sanitation, client qualifications, 
and standards of practice. 

B. The licensed permanent cosmetic tattoo salon sponsoring a guest tattooer shall ensure 
that the guest tattooer: 

1. Has a valid, current guest tattooer licensed for the entire duration of the guest tattooer's 
tattooing at the salon. 

2. Is directly supervised by a licensed tattooer or permanent cosmetic tattooer. 

3. Complies with all Virginia regulations relating to health, sanitation, client qualifications, 
and standards of practice. 

C. With the exception of tattoo conventions, a member of the guest tattooer sponsor's 
responsible management must sign the guest tattooer application certifying the sponsor will 
ensure the requirements of subsections A and B of this section. 

D. The guest tattooer sponsor shall be responsible for the acts or omissions of the guest 
tattooer in the performance of tattooing or permanent cosmetic tattooing. 

18VAC41-50-100. General Requirements for a School license.  

A. Any firm wishing to operate a tattooing school or permanent cosmetic tattooing school shall 
obtain a school license in compliance with § 54.1-704.2 of the Code of Virginia and shall meet the 
following qualifications in order to receive a license: 

1. The applicant and all members of the responsible management shall be in good 
standing as a licensed parlor or salonschool in Virginia and in all other jurisdictions where 
licensed. The applicant and all members of the responsible management shall disclose to 
the board at the time of application for licensure any disciplinary action taken in Virginia 
and in all other jurisdictions in connection with the applicant's operation of any tattoo 
parlor, event tattoo parlor, school, or permanent cosmetic tattoo salonschool or practice 
of the profession. This disclosure includes monetary penalties, fines, probation, 
suspensions, revocations, surrender of a license in connection with a disciplinary action, 
pertaining to services in the respective scope of practice, or voluntary termination of a 
license. The applicant shall disclose to the board at the time of application for licensure if 
the applicant or any member of the responsible management has been previously licensed 
in Virginia as a tattoo parlor, event tattoo parlor, or permanent cosmetic tattoo salon. 

Upon review of the applicant's and all members of the responsible management's prior 
disciplinary action, the board, in its discretion, may deny licensure to any applicant wherein 
it deems the applicant is unfit or unsuited to engage in the operation of a tattoo parlor, 
event tattoo parlor,school, or permanent cosmetic tattoo salon.school. The board will 
decide each case by taking into account the totality of the circumstances. Any plea of nolo 
contendere or comparable plea shall be considered a disciplinary action for the purposes 
of this subdivision. The applicant shall provide a certified copy of a final order, decree, or 
case decision by a court, regulatory agency, or board with the lawful authority to issue 
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such order, decree, or case decision, and such copy shall be admissible as prima facie 
evidence of such disciplinary action. 

2. The applicant shall disclose the applicant's physical address. A post office box is not 
acceptable.may be provided as a secondary address. 

3. The applicant shall sign, as part of the application, a statement certifying that the 
applicant has read and understands the Virginia tattooing license laws and this chapter. 

4. In accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia, each applicant shall disclose the 
following information about the firm and all members of the responsible management 
regarding criminal convictions in Virginia and all other jurisdictions: 

a. All misdemeanor convictions within two years of the date of the application involving 
moral turpitude, sexual offense, non-marijuana drug distribution, or physical injury 
within two years of the date of the application; and 

b. All felony convictions within 2010 years of the date of application. 

Any plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a conviction for purposes of this 
subdivision. The record of a conviction received from a court shall be accepted as prima 
facie evidence of a conviction or finding of guilt. The board, in its discretion, may deny 
licensure to any applicant in accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia. 

5. The applicant shall disclose the firm's responsible management. 

B. A tattooing school license or permanent cosmetic tattooing school licenses are issued to 
firms as defined in this chapter and shall not be transferable. and shall bear the same name and 
address as the school. Any changes in the name or and address of the school shall be reported 
to the board in writing within 30 days of such change. The board shall not be responsible for the 
licensee’s, failure to receive notices, communications, and correspondence caused by the 
licensee’s, failure to promptly notify the board in writing of any change of name or address or for 
any other reason beyond the control of the board. The name of the school must indicate that it is 
an educational institution. All signs or other advertisements must reflect the name as indicated on 
the license issued by the board and contain language indicating it is an educational institution. 

C. Whenever the legal business entity holding the license is dissolved or altered to form a new 
business entity, the original license becomes void. and shall be returned to the board within 30 
days of the change. The firm must notify the board within 30 days of the change and destroy the 
license. Additionally, the firm shall apply for a new license within 30 days of the change in the 
business entity. Such changes include: 

1. Death of a sole proprietor; 

2. Death or withdrawal of a general partner in a general partnership or the managing 
partner in a limited partnership; and 

3. Conversion, formation, or dissolution of a corporation, a limited liability company, an 
association, or any other business entity recognized under the laws of the Commonwealth 
of Virginia. 

D. Within 30 days of the closing, ceasing to operate, whether through dissolution or alteration 
of the business entity, the school shall return the license to the board must notify the Board within 
30 days of the change and destroy the license, and provide a written report to the board on 
performances and hours of each student who has not completed the program. 

E. Any change in the officers of a corporation, managers of a limited liability company, or 
officers or directors of an association shall be reported to the board in writing within 30 days of 
the change. 
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F. The board or any of its agents shall be allowed to inspect during reasonable hours, any 
licensed school for compliance with provisions of Chapter 7 (§54.1-700 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of 
the Code of Virginia or this chapter. 

18VAC41-50-110. Tattooing instructor certificate General Requirements for a 
Tattoo Instructor Certificate.  

A. Upon filing an application with the Board for Barbers and Cosmetology, any person meeting 
the qualifications set forth in this section shall be eligible for a tattooing instructor certificate if the 
person: 

1. Holds a current Virginia tattooer license; 

2. Provides documentation of legally tattooing for at least five years; and 

3. Passes a course on teaching techniques in a post-secondary education level. 

B. Tattooing instructors shall be required to maintain a tattooer license. 

A. Any individual wishing to engage in tattoo instruction must meet the following qualifications: 

1. The applicant shall be in good standing as a tattooer instructor, in every jurisdiction where 
licensed, certified, or registered. The applicant shall disclose to the board at the time of application 
for licensure any disciplinary action taken in Virginia and all other jurisdictions in connection with 
the applicant's practice of teaching. This includes monetary penalties, fines, probation, 
suspensions, revocations, surrender of a license in connection with a disciplinary action, or 
voluntary termination of a license. 

Upon review of the applicant's prior disciplinary action, the board, in its discretion, may deny 
licensure to any applicant wherein the board deems the applicant is unfit or unsuited to engage 
in the instruction of tattooing. The applicant shall provide a certified copy of a final order, decree, 
or case decision by a court, regulatory agency, or board with the lawful authority to issue such 
order, decree, or case decision, and such copy shall be admissible as prima facie evidence of 
such disciplinary action; 

2. In accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia, each applicant shall disclose the 
following information regarding criminal convictions in Virginia and all other jurisdictions: 

a. All misdemeanor convictions within two years of the date of application involving 
moral turpitude, sexual offense, non-marijuana drug distribution, or physical injury; and 

b. All felony convictions within 10 years of the date of application. 

Any plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a conviction for purposes of this 
subsection. The record of a conviction received from a court shall be accepted as prima 
facie evidence of a conviction or finding of guilt. The board, in its discretion, may deny 
licensure to any applicant in accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia. 

3. The applicant must hold a current Virginia tattooer license; 

4. The applicant must provide documentation of legally tattooing for at least three years; and 

5. The applicant must pass a course on teaching techniques in a post-secondary education 
level or train under a tattoo instructor for 12 months. 

6. Any changes in the name or address of the licensee shall be reported to the board in writing 
within 30 days of such changes. 

B. Tattooing instructors shall be required to maintain a tattooer license. 

18VAC41-50-120. Permanent cosmetic tattooing instructor certificate General Requirement 
for a Permanent or Master Permanent Cosmetic Tattooing Instructor Certificate.  

A. Upon filing an application with the Board for Barbers and Cosmetology, any person meeting 
the qualifications set forth in this section shall be eligible for a permanent cosmetic tattooing 
instructor certificate if the person: 
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1. Holds a current Virginia permanent cosmetic tattooer license or master permanent 
cosmetic tattooer license; 

2. Provides documentation of legally tattooing for at least five years; and 

3. Passes a course on teaching techniques at the post-secondary education level. 

B. Permanent cosmetic tattooing instructors shall be required to maintain a permanent 
cosmetic tattooer license or master permanent cosmetic tattooer license. 

A. Any individual wishing to engage in permanent cosmetic tattoo instruction or master 
permanent cosmetic tattoo instruction must meet the following qualifications: 

1. The applicant shall be in good standing as a permanent cosmetic tattooer instructor or 
licensed master permanent cosmetic tattooer instructor, in every jurisdictions where licensed, 
certified, or registered. The applicant shall disclose to the board at the time of application for 
licensure any disciplinary action taken in Virginia and all other jurisdictions in connection with the 
applicant's practice of teaching. This includes monetary penalties, fines, probation, suspensions, 
revocations, surrender of a license in connection with a disciplinary action, or voluntary 
termination of a license. 

Upon review of the applicant's prior disciplinary action, the board, in its discretion, may deny 
licensure to any applicant wherein the board deems the applicant is unfit or unsuited to engage 
in the instruction of permanent cosmetic tattooing or master permanent cosmetic tattooing. The 
applicant shall provide a certified copy of a final order, decree, or case decision by a court, 
regulatory agency, or board with the lawful authority to issue such order, decree, or case decision, 
and such copy shall be admissible as prima facie evidence of such disciplinary action; 

2. In accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia, each applicant shall disclose the 
following information regarding criminal convictions in Virginia and all other jurisdictions: 

a. All misdemeanor convictions within two years of the date of application involving 
moral turpitude, sexual offense, non-marijuana drug distribution, or physical injury; and 

b. All felony convictions within 10 years of the date of application. 

Any plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a conviction for purposes of this 
subsection. The record of a conviction received from a court shall be accepted as prima 
facie evidence of a conviction or finding of guilt. The board, in its discretion, may deny 
licensure to any applicant in accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia. 

3. The applicant must hold a current Virginia permanent cosmetic tattooer license or master 
permanent cosmetic tattooer license; 

4. The applicant must provide documentation of legally tattooing for at least three years; and 

5. The applicant must pass a course on teaching techniques in a post-secondary education 
level or train under a permanent cosmetic tattoo instructor or master permanent cosmetic tattoo 
instructor for 12 months. 

6. Any changes in the name or address of the licensee shall be reported to the board in writing 
within 30 days of such changes. 

B. Permanent cosmetic tattooing and master permanent cosmetic tattooing instructors shall 
be required to maintain a permanent cosmetic tattooer license or master permanent cosmetic 
tattooer license in the respective profession. 

18VAC41-50-125. Student Instructor Temporary Permit.  

A. A licensed tattooer, permanent cosmetic tattooer, and master permanent cosmetic tattooer 
may be granted a twelve (12) month student instructor temporary permit to function under the 
direct supervision a certified instructor in a licensed school. No subsequent student instructor 
temporary permit shall be issued. 
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B. Student instructors may teach in any profession in which they hold the underlying license. 
Failure to maintain a tattooer, permanent cosmetic tattooer, or master permanent cosmetic 
tattooer license shall disqualify an individual from holding a student instructor temporary permit. 

C. Temporary permits shall not be issued where grounds may exist to deny a license pursuant 
to § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia or 18 VAC 41-50-110 and 18 VAC 41-50-120. 

Part III 

Fees 

18VAC41-50-130. Fees.  

The following fees apply:are nonrefundable and shall not be prorated: 

FEE TYPE 
AMOUNT DUE 

September 1, 2022, through August 31, 2024 
AMOUNT DUE

September 1, 2024, and after

Individuals: 

Application $90 $105 

License by 
Endorsement 

$90 $105 

Renewal $90 $105 

Reinstatement 
$180* 

*includes $90 renewal fee and $90 reinstatement 
fee 

$210* 
*includes $105 renewal fee and $105 

reinstatement fee

Instructors: 

Application $110 $125 

   

Renewal $110 $150 

Reinstatement 
$220* 

*includes $110 renewal fee and $110 
reinstatement fee 

$300* 
*includes $150 renewal fee and $150 

reinstatement fee

Parlors or salons: 

Application $165 $190 

Renewal $165 $190 
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Reinstatement 
$330* 

*includes $165 renewal fee and $165 
reinstatement fee 

$380* 
*includes $190 renewal fee and $190 

reinstatement fee

Schools: 

Application $185 $220 

Renewal $185 $220 

Reinstatement 
$370* 

*includes $185 renewal fee and $185 
reinstatement fee 

$440* 
*includes $220 renewal fee and 

reinstatement fee

18VAC41-50-140. Refunds. (Repealed.) 

All fees are nonrefundable and shall not be prorated.  

Part IV 

Renewal and Reinstatement 

18VAC41-50-150. License renewal required Renewal Required.  

A. Tattooer licenses, tattoo parlor licenses, tattooing instructors certificates, tattooing schools 
licenses, permanent cosmetic tattooer licenses, master permanent cosmetic tattooer licenses, 
permanent cosmetic tattoo salon licenses, permanent cosmetic tattooing instructor certificate, 
master permanent cosmetic tattooing instructor certificates, and permanent cosmetic tattooing 
schools licenses shall expire two years from the last day of the month in which they were issued. 

B. Guest tattooer licenses will expire 14 days after the effective date of the license and may 
not be renewed. 

18VAC41-50-160. Continuing education requirement Education Requirement.  

All licensed tattooers, permanent cosmetic tattooers, and master permanent cosmetic 
tattooers shall be required to satisfactorily complete health education to include (i) bloodborne 
disease, sterilization, and aseptic techniques related to tattooing; and (ii) first aid; and (iii) CPR 
during their licensed term. Documentation of training completion shall be provided at the time of 
renewal along with the required fee. 

18VAC41-50-170. Notice of renewal Renewal.  

The Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation will mail a renewal notice to the 
licensee or certificate holder outlining the procedures for renewal. Failure to receive this notice, 
however, shall not relieve the licensee or certificate holder of the obligation to renew. If the 
licensee or certificate holder fails to receive the renewal notice, a copy of the old license may be 
submitted as evidence of intent to renew, along with the required fee. 

18VAC41-50-180. Failure to renew Renew.  

A. When a licensed or certified individual or business entity fails to renew its license within 30 
days following the expiration date of the license, the licensee or certificate holder shall meet the 
renewal requirements as prescribed in 18VAC41-50-170 and apply for reinstatement of the 
license by submitting to the Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation a 
reinstatement application along with the required renewal and reinstatement fees. 
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B. When a licensed or certified individual or business entity fails to renew its license within 
two years following the expiration date, reinstatement is no longer possible. To resume practice: 

1. The former licensee shall apply for licensure or certification as a new applicant, shall 
meet all current application entry requirements, for each respective license or certificate, 
shall pass the board's current examination, and shall receive a new license or certification. 

2. An individual initially granted licensure under an examination exemption, known as 
grandfathering, pursuant to 18VAC41-50-20 A 6, shall submit a new application showing 
the individual met the requirements of the applicable examination waiver provision, 
demonstrate five years of licensed experience, and previously licensed in Virginia for a 
minimum of three (3) years shall submit a new application and pass the required 
examination. 

C. The application for reinstatement for a school license shall provide (i) the reasons for failing 
to renew prior to the expiration date, and (ii) a notarized statement that all students currently 
enrolled or seeking to enroll at the school have been notified in writing that the school's license 
has expired. All of these materials shall be called the application package. Reinstatement will be 
considered by the board if the school consents to and satisfactorily passes an inspection of the 
school and if the school's records are maintained in accordance with 18VAC41-50-250 and 
18VAC41-50-330. Pursuant to 18VAC41-50-100, 18VAC41-50-230, and 18VAC41-50-310 upon 
receipt of the reinstatement fee, application package, and inspection results, the board may 
reinstate the school's license or require requalification or both. If the reinstatement application 
package and reinstatement fee are not received by the board within six months following the 
expiration date of the school's license, the board will notify the testing service that prospective 
graduates of the unlicensed school are not acceptable candidates for the examination. Such 
notification will be sent to the school and must be displayed in a conspicuous manner by the 
school in an area that is accessible to the public. No student shall be disqualified from taking the 
examination because the school was not licensed for a portion of the time the student attended if 
the school license is reinstated by the board. 

D. The date a renewal fee is received by the Department of Professional and Occupational 
Regulation, or its agent, will be used to determine whether the requirement for reinstatement of a 
license is applicable and an additional fee is required. 

E. When a license or certificate is reinstated, the licensee shall have the same license number 
and shall be assigned an expiration date two years from the date of the last day of the month of 
reinstatement. 

F. A licensee or certificate holder that reinstates its license or certificate shall be regarded as 
having been continuously licensed without interruption. Therefore, a licensee or certificate holder 
shall be subject to the authority of the board for activities performed prior to reinstatement. 

G. A licensee or certificate holder that fails to reinstate its license or certificate shall be 
regarded as unlicensed from the expiration date of the license forward. Nothing in this chapter 
shall divest the board of its authority to discipline a licensee or certificate holder for a violation of 
the law or regulations during the period of time for which the individual was licensed. 

Part V 

Apprenticeship Programs 

18VAC41-50-190. General requirements Requirements.  

A. Any person desiring to enroll in the tattooing apprenticeship program shall be required to 
provide documentation of satisfactory completion of a minimum of five hours of health education 
to include but not limited to bloodborne disease, sterilization, and aseptic techniques related to 
tattooing, and first aid and CPR. 
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B. Any tattooer desiring approval to perform the duties of an apprenticeship sponsor and offer 
the board's tattooing apprenticeship program shall meet the requirements of 18VAC41-50-70. 

C. All apprenticeship training shall be conducted in a tattoo parlor that has met the 
requirements of 18VAC41-50-80. 

18VAC41-50-200. Apprenticeship curriculum requirements Curriculum Requirements.  

Apprenticeship curriculum requirements are as follows: 

1. Microbiology. 

a. Microorganisms, viruses, bacteria, fungi; 

b. Transmission cycle of infectious diseases; and 

c. Characteristics of antimicrobial agents. 

2. Immunization. 

a. Types of immunizations; 

b. Hepatitis A—G transmission and immunization; 

c. HIV/AIDS; 

d. Tetanus, streptococcal, zoonotic, tuberculosis, pneumococcal, and influenza; 

e. Measles, mumps, and rubella; 

f. Vaccines and immunization; and 

g. General preventative measures to be taken to protect the tattooer and client. 

3. Sanitation and disinfection. 

a. Definition of terms. 

(1) Sterilization; 

(2) Disinfection and disinfectant; 

(3) Sterilizer or sterilant; 

(4) Antiseptic; 

(5) Germicide; 

(6) Decontamination; and 

(7) Sanitation. 

b. The use of steam sterilization equipment and techniques; 

c. The use of chemical agents, antiseptics, disinfectants, and fumigants; 

d. The use of sanitation equipment; 

e. Preservice sanitation procedure; and 

f. Post-service sanitation procedure. 

4. Safety. 

a. Proper needle handling and disposal; 

b. How to avoid overexposure to chemicals; 

c. The use of Material Safety Data Sheets; 

d. Blood spill procedures; 

e. Equipment and instrument storage; and 

f. First aid and CPR. 

5. Bloodborne pathogen standards. 

a. OSHA and CDC bloodborne pathogen standards; 
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b. Control plan for bloodborne pathogens; 

c. Exposure control plan for tattooers; 

d. Overview of compliance requirements; and 

e. Disorders and when not to service a client. 

6. Professional standards. 

a. History of tattooing; 

b. Ethics; 

c. Recordkeeping: 

(1) Client health history; 

(2) Consent forms; and 

(3) HIPAA (Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act of 1996 Privacy Rule) 
Standards. 

d. Preparing station, making appointments, parlor ethics: 

(1) Maintaining professional appearance, notifying clients of schedule changes; and 

(2) Promoting services of the parlor and establishing clientele. 

e. Parlor management: 

(1) Licensing requirements; and 

(2) Taxes. 

f. Supplies: 

(1) Usages; 

(2) Ordering; and 

(3) Storage. 

7. Tattooing. 

a. Client consultation; 

b. Client health form; 

c. Client disclosure form; 

d. Client preparation; 

e. Sanitation and safety precautions; 

f. Implement selection and use; 

g. Proper use of equipment; and 

h. Material selection and use; 

i. Needles; 

j. Ink; 

k. Machine: 

(1) Construction; 

(2) Adjustment; and 

(3) Power supply; 

l. Art, drawing; and 

m. Portfolio. 

8. Anatomy: 

a. Understanding of skin; and 
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b. Parts and functions of skin. 

9. Virginia tattooing laws and regulations. 

18VAC41-50-210. Hours of instruction and performances Instruction and Performances.  

A. Curriculum requirements specified in 18VAC41-50-200 shall be taught over a minimum of 
1500 hours as follows: 

1. 350 hours shall be devoted to theory pertaining to subdivisions 1, 2, 4, 5, 6, 8, and 9 of 
18VAC41-50-200; 

2. 150 hours shall be devoted to theory pertaining to subdivision 3 of 18VAC41-50-200; 
and 

3. The remaining 1000 hours shall be devoted to practical training to include 
apprenticeship curriculum requirements and a minimum of 100 performances pertaining 
to subdivision 7 of 18VAC41-50-200. 

B. An approved tattooing apprenticeship program may conduct an assessment of an 
apprentice's competence in the theory and practical requirements for tattooing and, based on the 
assessment, give a maximum of 700 hours of credit toward the requirements in subdivisions A 1 
and A 3 of this section. No credit shall be allowed for the 150 hours required in subdivision A 2 of 
this section. 

Part VI 

Tattooing Schools 

18VAC41-50-220. Applicants for tattooing school license Tattooing School License.  

Any person or entity desiring to operate a tattooing school shall submit an application to the 
board at least 60 days prior to the date for which approval is sought. 

18VAC41-50-230. General requirements Requirements.  

A tattooing school shall: 

1. Hold a tattooing school license for each and every location. 

2. Hold a tattoo parlor license. 

3. Employ a staff of licensed and certified tattooing instructors. Any change in instructors 
must be reported to the board within 30 days. 

4. Develop individuals for entry-level competency in tattooing. 

5. Submit its curricula for board approval. All changes to curricula must be resubmitted 
and approved by the board. 

6. Inform the public that all services are performed by students if the tattooing school 
receives compensation for services provided in its clinic by posting a notice in the 
reception area of the shop or salon in plain view of the public. 

7. Conduct classroom instruction in an area separate from the area where practical 
instruction is conducted and services are provided. 

8. Conduct all instruction and training of students under the direct supervision of a licensed 
and certified tattooing instructor. 

18VAC41-50-250. Records.  

A. Schools are required to keep upon graduation, termination, or withdrawal, written records 
of hours and performances showing what instruction a student has received for a period of five 
years after the student terminates or completes the curriculum of the school. These records shall 
be available for inspection by the Department of Professional and Occupation Regulation. All 
records must be kept on the premises of each school. 
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B. For a period of five years after a student completes the curriculum, terminates, or withdraws 
from the school, schools are required to provide documentation of hours and performances 
completed by a student upon receipt of a written request from the student. 

C. Schools shall within 21 days upon receipt of a written request from a student provide 
documentation of hours and performances completed by the student as required to be maintained 
by subsection A of this section. 

D. Prior to a school changing ownership or a school closing, the schools are required to 
provide to current students documentation of hours and performances completed. 

E. For a period of one year after a school changes ownership, schools are required to provide 
documentation of hours and performances completed by a current student upon receipt of a 
written request from the student. 

18VAC41-50-255. Reporting.  

A. Each school must provide student rosters to the board no later than January 15, April 15, 
July 15, and October 15 of every year; 

1. A roster of all enrolled students and a roster of students who attended in the preceding six 
months prior to the reporting deadline. 

2. Students who are enrolled but have not begun classes must be included in the report. 

3. Rosters will be provided on a Board supplied spreadsheet, which will include the students 
full name, date of birth, program type, date enrolled, the total number of hours to-date, and the 
date completed, terminated, or withdrawn.  

4. Schools with no students enrolled, but the intention of operating, must submit a report to 
that effect. Schools with no students enrolled that no longer wish to operate should terminate their 
license in accordance with Board regulations. 

5. Rosters must be submitted via a secure link provided by the Board. 

B. Within 30 days of ceasing to operate, whether through dissolution or alteration of the 
business entity, the school shall provide a written report to the board on performances and hours 
of each of its students who have not completed the program.  

18VAC41-50-280. Tattooing school curriculum requirements School Curriculum 
Requirements.  

A. Any person desiring to enroll in the tattooing school shall be required to provide 
documentation of satisfactory completion of a minimum of five hours of health education to include 
(i) bloodborne disease, sterilization, and aseptic techniques related to tattooing; and (ii) first aid; 
and (iii) CPR. 

B. Tattooing school curriculum requirements are as follows: Each tattoo school shall submit 
with its application a curriculum including a course syllabus, a detailed course content outline, a 
sample of five lesson plans, a sample of evaluation methods to be used, days and hours of 
instruction, program length, and a breakdown of hours and performances for all courses to be 
taught that will lead to licensure. The outline for tattooing shall include the following:  

1. Microbiology. - minimum of 100 hours instruction. 

a. Microorganisms, viruses, bacteria, fungus; 

b. Transmission cycle of infectious diseases; and 

c. Characteristics of antimicrobial agents. 

2. Immunization. - minimum of 50 hours instruction. 

a. Types of immunizations; 

b. Hepatitis A through G transmission and immunization; 

c. HIV/AIDS; 
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d. Tetanus, streptococcal, zoonotic, tuberculosis, pneumococcal, and influenza; 

e. Measles, mumps, and rubella; 

f. Vaccines and immunization; and 

g. General preventative measures to be taken to protect the tattooer and client. 

3. Sanitation and disinfection. - minimum of 100 hours instruction. 

a. Definition of terms: 

(1) Sterilization; 

(2) Disinfection and disinfectant; 

(3) Sterilizer or sterilant; 

(4) Antiseptic; 

(5) Germicide; 

(6) Decontamination; and 

(7) Sanitation. 

b. The use of steam sterilization equipment and techniques; 

c. The use of chemical agents, antiseptics, disinfectants, and fumigants; 

d. The use of sanitation equipment; 

e. Preservice sanitation procedure; and 

f. Postservice sanitation procedure. 

4. Safety. - minimum of 50 hours instruction. 

a. Proper needle handling and disposal; 

b. How to avoid overexposure to chemicals; 

c. The use of Material Safety Data Sheets; 

d. Blood spill procedures; 

e. Equipment and instrument storage; and 

f. First aid and CPR. 

5. Bloodborne pathogen standards. - minimum of 50 hours instruction. 

a. OSHA and CDC bloodborne pathogen standards; 

b. Control plan for bloodborne pathogens; 

c. Exposure control plan for tattooers; 

d. Overview of compliance requirements; and 

e. Disorders and when not to service a client. 

6. Professional standards. - minimum of 30 hours instruction. 

a. History of tattooing; 

b. Ethics; 

c. Recordkeeping: 

(1) Client health history; 

(2) Consent forms; and 

(3) HIPAA (Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act of 1996 Privacy Rule) 
Standards; 

d. Preparing station, making appointments, parlor ethics: 

(1) Maintaining professional appearance, notifying clients of schedule changes; and 
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(2) Promoting services of the parlor and establishing clientele; 

e. Parlor management. 

(1) Licensing requirements; and 

(2) Taxes; and 

f. Supplies. 

(1) Usages; 

(2) Ordering; and 

(3) Storage. 

7. Tattooing. - minimum of 500 hours instruction. 

a. Client consultation; 

b. Client health form; 

c. Client disclosure form; 

d. Client preparation; 

e. Sanitation and safety precautions; 

f. Implement selection and use; 

g. Proper use of equipment; 

h. Material selection and use; 

i. Needles: 

(1) Groupings; 

(2) Properties; and 

(3) Making; 

j. Ink; 

k. Machine: 

(1) Construction; 

(2) Adjustment; and 

(3) Power supply; 

l. Art, drawing; and 

m. Portfolio. 

8. Anatomy. - minimum of 60 hours instruction. 

a. Understanding of skin; and 

b. Parts and functions of skin. 

9. Virginia tattooing laws and regulations. - minimum of 10 hours instruction. 

C. A licensed tattoo school may conduct an assessment of a student's competence in the 
respective profession and, based on the assessment, give credit toward the hours requirements 
specified in this section and 18VAC41-50-290. 

The school shall may make the assessment based on a review of the student's transcript, 
documentation of hours and performances provided to the student by the school, and the 
successful completion of a board-approved competency examination administered by the school. 
The school may also request a copy of a catalog or bulletin giving the full course description when 
making the evaluation. The number of credit hours awarded shall not exceed the actual hours of 
instruction verified on the transcript or the number of hours specified in the board-approved 
curriculum for a specific topic. Credit may only be given for in-person training. 
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18VAC41-50-290. Hours of instruction and performances Instruction and Performances.  

A. Curriculum requirements specified in 18VAC41-50-280 shall be taught over a minimum of 
1,000 hours as follows: 

1. 350 hours shall be devoted to theory pertaining to 18VAC41-50-280 B 1, 2, 4, 5, 6, 8, 
and 9; 

2. 150 hours shall be devoted to theory pertaining to 18VAC41-50-280 B 3; and 

3. The remaining 500 hours shall be devoted to practical training to include tattooing 
curriculum requirements and a minimum of 100 performances pertaining to 18VAC41-50-
280 B 7. 

B. An approved tattooing school may conduct an assessment of a student's competence in 
the theory and practical requirements for tattooing and, based on the assessment, give a 
maximum of 700 hours of credit toward the requirements in subdivisions A 1 and A 3 of this 
section. No credit shall be allowed for the 150 hours required in subdivision A 2 of this section. 

C. Individuals enrolled in a program prior to July 1, 2022, may complete the program at the 
hours in effect at the time they enrolled. 

Part VII 

Permanent Cosmetic Tattooing Schools 

18VAC41-50-300. Applicants for permanent cosmetic tattooing school license.  

Any person or entity desiring to operate a permanent cosmetic tattooing school shall submit 
an application to the board at least 60 days prior to the date for which approval is sought.  

18VAC41-50-300. Applicants for permanent cosmetic tattooing school license Permanent 
Cosmetic Tattooing School License.  

Any person or entity desiring to operate a permanent cosmetic tattooing school shall submit 
an application to the board at least 60 days prior to the date for which approval is sought. 

18VAC41-50-310. General requirements Requirements.  

A permanent cosmetic tattooing school shall: 

1. Hold a permanent cosmetic tattooing school license for each and every location. 

2. Hold a permanent cosmetic tattoo salon license if the school receives compensation for 
services provided in the area where practical instruction is conducted and services are 
provided. 

3. Employ a staff of licensed and certified permanent cosmetic tattooing instructors or 
licensed and certified master permanent cosmetic tattooing instructors. Any change in 
instructors must be reported to the board within 30 days. 

4. Develop individuals for entry-level competency in permanent cosmetic tattooing or 
master permanent cosmetic tattooing. 

5. Submit its curricula for board approval. All changes to curricula must be resubmitted 
and approved by the board. 

6. Inform the public that all services are performed by students if the permanent cosmetic 
tattooing school receives compensation for services provided in its clinic by posting a 
notice in the reception area of the shop or salon in plain view of the public. 

7. Conduct classroom instruction in an area separate from the area where practical 
instruction is conducted and services are provided. 

8. Conduct all instruction and training of permanent cosmetic tattooers under the direct 
supervision of a licensed and certified permanent cosmetic tattooing instructor or a 
licensed and certified master permanent cosmetic tattooing instructor. 
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9. Conduct all instruction and training of master permanent cosmetic tattooers under the 
direct supervision of a licensed and certified master permanent cosmetic tattooing 
instructor. 

18VAC41-50-330. Records.  

A. Schools are required to keep upon graduation, termination or withdrawal, written records 
of hours and performances showing what instruction a student has received for a period of five 
years after the student terminates or completes the curriculum of the school. These records shall 
be available for inspection by the department. All records must be kept on the premises of each 
school. 

B. For a period of five years after a student completes the curriculum, terminates or withdraws 
from the school, schools are required to provide documentation of hours and performances 
completed by a student upon receipt of a written request from the student. 

C. Prior to a school changing ownership or a school closing, schools are required to provide 
to current students documentation of hours and performances completed. 

D. For a period of one year after a school changes ownership, schools are required to provide 
documentation of hours and performances completed by a current student upon receipt of a 
written request from the student. 

18VAC41-50-335. Reporting.  

A. Each school must provide student rosters to the board no later than January 15, April 15, 
July 15, and October 15 of every year; 

1. A roster of all enrolled students and a roster of students who attended in the preceding six 
months prior to the reporting deadline. 

2. Students who are enrolled but have not begun classes must be included in the report. 

3. Rosters will be provided on a Board supplied spreadsheet, which will include the students 
full name, date of birth, program type, date enrolled, the total number of hours to-date, and the 
date completed, terminated, or withdrawn.  

4. Schools with no students enrolled, but the intention of operating, must submit a report to 
that effect. Schools with no students enrolled that no longer wish to operate should terminate their 
license in accordance with Board regulations. 

5. Rosters must be submitted via a secure link provided by the Board. 

B. Within 30 days of ceasing to operate, whether through dissolution or alteration of the 
business entity, the school shall provide a written report to the board on performances and hours 
of each of its students who have not completed the program. 

18VAC41-50-360. Permanent cosmetic tattooing school curriculum requirements Cosmetic 
Tattooing School Curriculum Requirements.  

A. Any person desiring to enroll in the permanent cosmetic tattooing school shall be required 
to provide documentation of satisfactory completion of health education on bloodborne disease. 
Any person desiring to enroll in the permanent cosmetic tattooing and master permanent cosmetic 
tattooing school shall be required to provide documentation of satisfactory completion of a 
minimum of five hours of health education to include (i) bloodborne disease, sterilization, and 
aseptic techniques related to tattooing; and (ii) first aid; 

B. Permanent cosmetic tattooing school curriculum requirements are as follows: Each 
permanent cosmetic tattoo and master permanent cosmetic tattoo school shall submit with its 
application a curriculum including a course syllabus, a detailed course content outline, a sample 
of five lesson plans, a sample of evaluation methods to be used, days and hours of instruction, 
program length, and a breakdown of hours and performances for all courses to be taught that will 
lead to licensure. The outline for tattooing shall include the following: 
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1. Virginia tattooing laws and regulations. - minimum of 5 hours of instruction. 

2. Machines and devices. - minimum of 15 hours of instruction. 

a. Coil machine; 

b. Hand device; and 

c. Others devices. 

3. Needles. and cartridges - minimum of 10 hours of instruction. 

a. Types; 

b. Uses; and 

c. Application. 

4. Anatomy. - minimum of 10 hours of instruction. 

a. Layers of skin; 

b. Parts and functions of skin; and 

c. Diseases. 

5. Color theory. - minimum of 5 hours of instruction. 

a. Skin and pigment color; and 

b. Handling and storage of pigments. 

6. Transmission cycle of infectious diseases. - minimum of 5 hours of instruction. 

7. Immunization. - minimum of 5 hours of instruction. 

a. Types of immunizations; and 

b. General preventative measures to be taken to protect the tattooer and client. 

8. Sanitation and disinfection. - minimum of 15 hours of instruction. 

a. Definition of terms: 

(1) Sterilization; 

(2) Disinfection and disinfectant; 

(3) Sterilizer or sterilant; 

(4) Antiseptic; 

(5) Germicide; 

(6) Decontamination; and 

(7) Sanitation; 

b. The use of steam sterilization equipment and techniques; 

c. The use of chemical agents, antiseptics, and disinfectants; 

d. The use of sanitation equipment; 

e. Preservice sanitation procedure; and 

f. Postservice sanitation procedure. 

9. Safety. - minimum of 5 hours of instruction. 

a. Proper needle handling and disposal; 

b. Blood spill procedures; 

c. Equipment and instrument storage; and 

d. First aid. 

10. Bloodborne pathogen standards. - minimum of 5 hours of instruction. 

a. OSHA and CDC bloodborne pathogen standards; 
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b. Overview of compliance requirements; and 

c. Disorders and when not to service a client. 

11. Anesthetics. - minimum of 10 hours of instruction. 

a. Use; 

b. Types; 

c. Application; and 

d. Removal. 

12. Equipment. - minimum of 5 hours of instruction. 

a. Gloves; 

b. Masks; 

c. Apron; 

d. Chair; 

e. Lighting; and 

f. Work table. 

13. Professional standards. - minimum of 5 hours of instruction. 

a. History of permanent cosmetic tattooing; 

b. Ethics; 

c. Recordkeeping: 

(1) Client health history; and 

(2) Consent forms; 

d. Preparing station, making appointments, salon ethics: 

(1) Maintaining professional appearance, notifying clients of schedule changes; and 

(2) Promoting services of the salon and establishing clientele; and 

e. Salon management: 

(1) Licensing requirements; and 

(2) Taxes. 

14. Permanent cosmetic tattooing. - minimum of 100 hours of instruction. 

a. Client consultation; 

b. Client health form; 

c. Client disclosure form; 

d. Client preparation; 

e. Drawing and mapping; 

f. Sanitation and safety precautions; 

g. Implement selection and use; 

h. Proper use of equipment; 

i. Material selection and use; 

j. Eyebrows; 

k. Microblading; 

l. Eyeliner; 

m. Lip coloring; 

n. Lip liners; and 
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o. Scalp micropigmentation. 

C. Master permanent cosmetic tattooing program curriculum requirements are as follows: 

1. Virginia tattooing laws and regulations. - minimum of 5 hours of instruction. 

2. Machines and devices: - minimum of 5 hours of instruction. 

a. Coil machine; 

b. Hand device; and 

c. Others devices. 

3. Needles: and cartridges - minimum of 5 hours of instruction. 

a. Types; 

b. Uses; and 

c. Application. 

4. Advanced practical clinical anatomy: - minimum of 10 hours of instruction. 

a. Eyelid anatomy; 

b. Lip anatomy; and 

c. Breast anatomy. 

5. Advanced color theory. - minimum of 10 hours of instruction. 

6. Organic and inorganic pigment. - minimum of 5 hours of instruction. 

7. Understanding the surgical process: - minimum of 5 hours of instruction. 

a. The latissimus dorsi flap procedure; 

b. Abdominoplasty and breast reconstruction; 

c. Other reconstruction procedures: 

(1) Deep inferior epigastric artery (perforator (DIEP) flap; and 

(2) Superior gluteal artery (perforator (DIEP) flap; 

d. Flap size versus areola size; and 

e. Implant reconstruction: 

(1) Tissue expansion; 

(2) Placing the implant; 

(3) Implant versus flap reconstruction; 

(4) Saline versus silicone; 

(5) Radiation therapy; and 

(6) Lymphedema. 

8. Client consultation. - minimum of 10 hours of instruction. 

9. Breast areolar pigmentation: - minimum of 10 hours of instruction. 

a. Chart notes; 

b. Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (HIPAA); 

c. Room setup; 

d. Anesthetic for breast procedures; 

e. Color selection; 

f. Needle selection; 

g. Design and placement; 

(1) Position of the areola/nipple complex; 
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(2) The Penn Triangle; 

(3) Diameter of the areola; and 

(4) Nipple reconstruction; 

h. Creating three-dimensional nipple/areola; 

(1) Understanding and creating a reflection of light; and 

(2) The value of color; 

i. Covering scar tissue and periareolar scar blending; 

j. Aftercare; 

(1) Tegaderm aftercare instructions; and 

(2) Follow up; and 

k. Precautions and contraindications. 

10. Skin cancer: - minimum of 5 hours of instruction. 

a. Basal cell carcinomas; 

b. Squamous cell carcinomas; and 

c. Melanoma. 

11. The art of camouflage: - minimum of 10 hours of instruction. 

a. Client/patient selection and handling; 

b. Contraindications and when not to perform services; 

c. Skin tones; 

d. Color selection and skin tone matching; 

e. Scars; 

f. Burn scar; and 

g. Common needle configurations used for camouflage. 

12. Side effects. - minimum of 5 hours of instruction. 

13. Insurance. - minimum of 5 hours of instruction. 

14. Master permanent cosmetic tattooing procedures: - minimum of 110 hours of 
instruction. 

a. Lip; 

b. Areola; 

c. Blush; 

d. Camouflage; and 

e. Eyeshadow. 

D. A licensed school with an approved permanent cosmetic tattooing or master permanent 
cosmetic tattooing program may conduct an assessment of a student's competence in the 
respective profession and, based on the assessment, give credit toward the hours requirements 
specified in the respective subsection of this section and 18VAC41-50-370. 

The school shall may make the assessment based on a review of the student's transcript, 
documentation of hours and performances provided to the student by the school, and the 
successful completion of a board-approved competency examination administered by the school. 
The school may also request a copy of a catalog or bulletin giving the full course description when 
making the evaluation. The number of credit hours awarded shall not exceed the actual hours of 
instruction verified on the transcript or diploma or the number of hours specified in the board-
approved curriculum for a specific topic. Credit may only be given for in-person training. 
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18VAC41-50-370. Hours of instruction and performances Instruction and Performances.  

A. Curriculum and performance requirements specified in 18VAC41-50-360 and this section 
shall be taught over a minimum of 200 clock hours for permanent cosmetic tattooing program and 
200 clock hours for a master permanent cosmetic tattooing program. 

B. A minimum of 50 60 performances shall be completed as part of the permanent cosmetic 
tattooing instruction, including: two eyebrow, two microblading procedures, two lip liners, one lip 
color, and one full lips. 

Eyebrow 10 performances 

Microblading 10 performances 

Lip Liner 5 performances 

Lip Color 5 performances 

Eyeliner 10 performances 

Scalp micropigmentation 20 performances 

C. A minimum of 60 55 performances shall be completed as part of the master permanent 
cosmetic tattooing instruction, including: 

Lip (cleft lip repigmentation) 10 5 performances 

Areola 10 performances 

Blush application 10 performances 

Camouflage 10 performances 

Scar repigmentation 10 performances 

Eyeshadow 10 performances 

D. Completion of performances are determined as follows: 

1. Two complete eyebrows constitutes one performance; 

2. Two complete eye liners constitutes one performance; and 

3. One complete lip liner (bottom or top lip separately) constitutes one performance.;  

4. One complete lip color (bottom or top lip separately) constitutes one performance; and 

5. Two complete eyeshadows constitute one performance. 

E. Individuals enrolled in a program prior to July 1, 2022, may complete the program at the 
hours in effect at the time they enrolled. 
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Part VIII 

Standards of Practice 

18VAC41-50-380. Display of licenseLicense.  

A. The responsible management for each tattoo parlor or permanent cosmetic tattoo salon 
shall ensure that all current licenses issued by the board shall be displayed at the licensee's 
station or in plain view of the public. Duplicate licenses shall be posted in a like manner in every 
parlor or salon or location where the licensee provides services. 

B. The responsible management for each tattoo parlor owner or permanent cosmetic tattoo 
salon shall ensure that no licensee, apprentice, or student performs any service beyond the scope 
of practice for the applicable license. 

C. The responsible management for each tattoo parlor or permanent cosmetic tattoo salon 
shall offer to licensees the full series of Hepatitis B vaccine. 

D. The responsible management for each tattoo parlor or permanent cosmetic tattoo salon 
shall maintain a record for each licensee of one of the following: 

1. Proof of completion of the full series of Hepatitis B vaccine; 

2. Proof of immunity by blood titer; or 

3. Written declaration of refusal of the responsible management's offer of a full series of 
Hepatitis B vaccine. 

E. All licensees shall operate under the name in which the license is issued. 

18VAC41-50-390. Physical facilitiesFacilities.  

A. A parlor or salon must be in a permanent building or portion of a building, which must be in 
a location permissible under local zoning codes, if any. If applicable, the parlor or salon shall be 
separated from any living quarters by complete floor to ceiling partitioning and shall contain no 
access to living quarters. 

B. The parlor, salon, or temporary location shall be maintained in a clean and orderly manner. 
Mobile shops and salons must have a shop or salon license, comply with all requirements found 
in sections 18 VAC 41-50-260 and 18 VAC 41-50-270 and provide a physical address. 

C. All facilities shall have a blood spill clean-up kit in the work area. Any parlor, salon, or 
temporary location where services are delivered to the public shall be maintained in a clean and 
orderly manner.  

D. Work surfaces shall be cleaned with a U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) 
registered, hospital grade disinfectant. Surfaces that come in contact with blood or other body 
fluids shall be immediately disinfected with an EPA registered germicide solution. Appropriate 
personal protective equipment shall be worn during cleaning and disinfecting procedures. All 
facilities must have a blood spill clean-up kit in the work area that contains at minimum latex 
gloves, two 12-inch by 12-inch towels, one disposable trash bag, bleach, one empty spray bottle, 
and one mask with face shield or any Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) 
approved blood spill clean-up kit. 

E. Work surfaces shall be cleaned with a U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) 
registered, hospital grade disinfectant. Surfaces that come in contact with blood or other body 
fluids shall be immediately disinfected with an EPA registered germicide solution. Appropriate 
personal protective equipment shall be worn during cleaning and disinfecting procedures. 

E.F. Cabinets for the storage of instruments, pigments, single-use articles, stencils and other 
utensils shall be provided for each operator and shall be maintained in a sanitary manner. 

F.G. Bulk single-use articles shall be commercially packaged and handled in such a way as 
to protect them from contamination. 
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G.H. All materials applied to the human skin shall be from single-use articles or transferred 
from bulk containers to single-use containers and shall be disposed of after each use. 

H.I. The walls, ceilings, and floors shall be kept in good repair. The tattooing area shall be 
constructed of smooth, hard surfaces that are nonporous, free of open holes or cracks, light 
colored, and easily cleaned. New parlors shall not include any dark-colored surfaces in the 
tattooing area. Existing parlors or salons with dark-colored surfaces in the tattooing area shall 
replace the dark-colored surfaces with light-colored surfaces whenever the facilities are 
extensively remodeled or upon relocation of the business. 

I.J. Parlors, salons, or temporary locations shall have adequate lighting of at least 50-foot 
candles of illumination in the tattooing and sterilization areas. 

J.K. Adequate mechanical ventilation shall be provided in the parlor. 

K.L. Each parlor, salon, or temporary location shall be equipped with hand-cleaning facilities 
for its personnel with unobstructed access to the tattooing area such that the tattooer can return 
to the area without having to touch anything with the tattooer's hands. Hand-cleaning facilities 
shall be equipped either with hot and cold or tempered running water under pressure and liquid 
germicidal soap or with a sanitizing solution to clean hands. Hand-cleaning facilities shall be 
equipped with single-use towels or mechanical hand drying devices and a covered refuse 
container. Such facilities shall be kept clean and in good repair. All facilities must have running 
water and soap accessible for cleaning of hands contaminated by body fluids. 

L.M. Animals are not permitted in the parlor, salon, or temporary location except for guide or 
service animals accompanying persons with disabilities, or nonmammalian animals in enclosed 
glass containers such as fish aquariums, which shall be outside of the tattooing or sterilization 
areas. No animals are allowed in the tattooing or sterilization areas. 

M.N. Use of tobacco products and consumption of alcoholic beverages shall be prohibited in 
the tattooing or sterilization areas. 

N.O. No food or drink will be stored or consumed in the tattooing or sterilization areas except 
for client's use in order to sustain optimal physical condition; such food and drink must be 
individually packaged. 

O.P. If tattooing is performed where cosmetology services are provided, it shall be performed 
in an area that is separate and enclosed. 

P.Q. All steam sterilizers shall be biological spore tested at least monthly. 

Q.R. Biological spore tests shall be verified through an independent laboratory. 

R.S. Biological spore test records shall be retained for a period of three years and made 
available upon request. 

S.T. Steam sterilizers shall be used only for instruments used by the parlor's employees. 

18VAC41-50-400. Tattooer or permanent cosmetic tattooer or master permanent cosmetic 
tattooer responsibilitiesPermanent Cosmetic Tattooer or Master Permanent Cosmetic 
Tattooer Responsibilities.  

A. All tattooers shall provide to the responsible management with one of the following: 

1. Proof of completion of the full series of Hepatitis B vaccine; 

2. Proof of immunity by blood titer; or 

3. Written declaration of refusal of the responsible management's offer of a full series of 
Hepatitis B vaccine. 

B. All tattooers shall wear clean outer garments, maintain a high degree of personal 
cleanliness, and conform to hygienic practices while on duty. 
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C. All tattooers shall clean their hands thoroughly using hot or tempered water with a liquid 
germicidal soap or use sanitizing solution to clean hands before and after tattooing and as 
necessary to remove contaminants. 

D. All tattooers must wear single-use examination gloves while assembling tattooing 
instruments and while tattooing. 

E. Each time there is an interruption in the service, the gloves become torn or perforated, or 
whenever the ability of the gloves to function as a barrier is compromised: 

1. Gloves shall be removed and disposed of; and 

2. Hands shall be cleaned and a fresh pair of gloves used. 

F. Tattooers shall use standard precautions while tattooing. A tattooer diagnosed with a 
communicable disease shall provide to the Department of Professional and Occupation 
Regulation a written statement from a health care practitioner that the tattooer's condition no 
longer poses a threat to public health. 

G. Tattooers with draining lesions on their hands or face will not be permitted to work until 
cleared by a health care professional. 

H. The area of the client's skin to be tattooed shall be cleaned with an approved germicidal 
soap according to label directions. 

I. Tattooing pigments shall be placed in a single-use disposable container for each client. 
Following the procedure, the unused contents and container will be properly disposed of. 

J. If shaving is required, razors shall be single-use. After use, razors shall be recapped and 
properly disposed of. 

K. Each tattooer performing any tattooing procedures in the parlor or salon shall have the 
education, training, and experience, or any combination thereof to practice aseptic technique and 
prevent the transmission of bloodborne pathogens. All procedures shall be performed using 
aseptic technique. 

L. Multiuse instruments, equipment, furniture, and surfaces that may be contaminated during 
the tattooing process should be covered or wrapped in a nonporous disposable barrier. This 
barrier should be removed and disposed of after each service. 

M. After the disposable barrier is removed, covered items should be wiped down with a U.S. 
Environmental Protection Agency registered disinfectant that is bactericidal, virucidal, and 
fungicidal. 

N. A set of individual, sterilized needles shall be used for each client. Single-use disposable 
instruments shall be disposed of in a puncture resistant container. 

O. Used, nondisposable instruments, such as stainless steel tubes, tips, and grips, shall be 
kept in a separate, puncture resistant container until brush scrubbed in hot water soap and then 
sterilized by autoclaving. Contaminated instruments shall be handled with disposable gloves. 

P. Used nondisposable instruments that are ultrasonically cleaned shall be rinsed under 
running hot water prior to being placed in the used instrument container; 

Q. Used nondisposable instruments that are not ultrasonically cleaned prior to being placed 
in the used instrument container shall be kept in a germicidal or soap solution until brush scrubbed 
in hot water and soap and sterilized by autoclaving. 

R. The ultrasonic unit shall be sanitized daily with a germicidal solution. 

S. Nondisposable instruments shall be sterilized and shall be handled and stored in a manner 
to prevent contamination. Instruments to be sterilized shall be sealed in bags made specifically 
for the purpose of autoclave sterilization and shall include the date of sterilization. If 
nontransparent bags are utilized, the bag shall also list the contents. 
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T. Autoclave sterilization bags with a color code indicator that changes color upon proper 
sterilization shall be utilized during the autoclave sterilization process. 

U. Nondisposable instruments shall be placed in the autoclave in a manner to allow live steam 
to circulate around them. 

V. A Sealed, puncture proof dirty tube receptacle with cool, liquid sterilant should be 
maintained in the biohazard or cleanup room. 

W. Sharps containers should be located within reach of the tattooing area. 

X. Contaminated disposable and single-use items shall be disposed of in accordance with 
federal and state regulations regarding disposal of biological hazardous materials. 

Y. The manufacturer's written instructions of the autoclave shall be followed. 

18VAC41-50-410. Client qualifications, disclosures, and recordsQualifications, 
Disclosures, and Records.  

A. Except as permitted in § 18.2-371.3 of the Code of Virginia, a client must be a minimum of 
18 years of age and shall present at the time of the tattooing or permanent cosmetic tattooing a 
valid, government issued, positive identification card including a driver's license, passport, or 
military identification. The identification must contain a photograph of the individual and a printed 
date of birth. 

B. The tattooer, permanent cosmetic tattooer, or master permanent cosmetic tattooer shall 
verify and document in the permanent client record the client's age, date of birth, and the type of 
identification provided. 

C. No person may be tattooed or permanent cosmetic tattooed who appears to be under the 
influence of alcohol or drugs. 

D. Tattooing or permanent cosmetic tattooing shall not be performed on any skin surface that 
manifests any evidence of unhealthy conditions, such as rashes, boils, infections, abrasions, or 
on any asymmetrical, irregular, blurred, or multicolored mole. 

E. Before receiving a tattoo or permanent cosmetic tattoo, each client and client's parent or 
guardian, if applicable, shall be informed verbally and in writing, using the client disclosure form 
prescribed by the board, about the possible risk and dangers associated with the application of 
each tattoo. Signatures of both the client and/or client’s parent or guardian; and the tattooer shall 
be required on the client disclosure form to acknowledge receipt of both the verbal and written 
disclosures. 

F. The tattoo parlor or temporary location or permanent cosmetic tattoo salon shall maintain 
proper records for each client. The information shall be permanently recorded and made available 
for examination by the Department of Professional and Occupation Regulation or authorized 
agent. Records shall be maintained at the tattoo parlor or permanent cosmetic tattoo salon for at 
least two years following the date of the last entry. The temporary location client records shall be 
maintained by the license holder. The permanent records shall include the following: 

1. The name, address, and telephone number of the client; and/or client’s parent or 
guardian;  

2. The date tattooing or permanent cosmetic tattooing was performed; 

3. The client's age, date of birth, and a copy of the positive identification provided to the 
tattooer, permanent cosmetic tattooer, or master permanent cosmetic tattooer; 

4. The specific color or colors of the tattoo or permanent cosmetic tattoo and, when 
available, the manufacturer's catalogue or identification number of each color used; 

5. The location on the body where the tattooing or permanent cosmetic tattooing was 
performed; 
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6. The name of the tattooer, permanent cosmetic tattooer, or master permanent cosmetic 
tattooer; 

7. A statement that the client and/or client’s parent or guardian has received a copy of 
applicable written care instructions, and that the client has read and understands the 
instructions; and 

8. The signature of the client and if applicable parent or guardian. 

18VAC41-50-420. Grounds for license or certificate revocation, suspension or probation; 
denial of application,  renewal, or reinstatement; or imposition of a monetary 
penaltyGrounds for License Revocation, Suspension or Probation; Denial of 
application,  Renewal, or Reinstatement; or Imposition of a Monetary Penalty.  

The board may, in considering the totality of the circumstances, fine any licensee or certificate 
holder and suspend, place on probation, or revoke or refuse to renew or reinstate any license or 
certificate, or deny any application issued under the provisions of Chapter 7 (§ 54.1-700 et seq.) 
of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia and this chapter if it finds that the licensee, certificate holder, 
or applicant: 

The board may, in considering the totality of the circumstances, refuse to issue, renew or 
reinstate a license; impose a monetary penalty, place a license on probation with such terms and 
conditions and for such time as it may designate, suspend a license for a stated period of time; 
or revoke, a license issued or certificate under the provisions of Chapter 7 (§ 54.1-700 et seq.) of 
Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia and this chapter if it finds that the licensee, certificate holder, or 
applicant: 

1. Is incompetent, or negligent in the practice of tattooing, or incapable mentally or 
physically, unable to practice with skill or safety as a result of any mental or physical 
condition, as those terms are generally understood in the profession, to (i) practice as a 
tattooer, tattooer apprentice, permanent cosmetic tattooer, or master permanent cosmetic 
tattooer or (ii) operate a parlor, permanent cosmetic tattooing salon, or school; 

2. Is convicted of fraud or deceit in the practice or instruction of tattooing or fails to teach 
the curriculum as provided for in this chapter; 

3. Obtained, attempted to obtain, renewed, or reinstated a license by false or fraudulent 
representation;Obtains, attempts to obtain, renews or reinstates a license or certificate by 
false or fraudulent representation; 

4. Violates or induces others to violate, or cooperates with others in violating, any of the 
provisions of this chapter or Chapter 7 (§ 54.1-700 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of 
Virginia or any local ordinance or regulation governing standards of health and sanitation 
of the establishment in which tattooers may practice or offer to practice; 

5. Offers, gives, or promises anything of value or benefit to any federal, state, or local 
employee for the purpose of influencing that employee to circumvent, in the performance 
of that employee's duties, any federal, state, or local law, regulation, or ordinance 
governing tattooing as defined in § 54.1-700 of the Code of Virginia; 

6. Fails to respond to the board or any of its agents or provides false, misleading, or 
incomplete information to an inquiry by the board or any of its agents; 

7. Fails or refuses to allow the board or any of its agents to inspect during reasonable 
hours any licensed parlor, salon, or school for compliance with provisions of Chapter 7 (§ 
54.1-700 et seq.) or this chapter; 

8. Fails to produce, upon request or demand of the board or any of its agents, any 
document, book, record, or copy thereof in a licensee's or responsible management's 
possession or maintained in accordance with this chapter; 
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9. Fails to notify the board of a change of name or address in writing within 30 days of the 
change for each and every license or certificate; 

10. Makes any misrepresentation or publishes or causes to be published any 
advertisement that is false, deceptive, or misleading; 

11. Fails to notify the board in writing within 30 days of the suspension, revocation, or 
surrender of a license or certificate in connection with a disciplinary action in any other 
jurisdiction or of any license or certificate that has been the subject of disciplinary action 
in any other jurisdiction;Fails to notify the board in writing within 30 days of final action, of 
any disciplinary action taken against a license, registration, certificate or permit in any 
jurisdiction by a local, state or national regulatory body;  

12. Has been convicted or found guilty, regardless of the manner of adjudication in Virginia 
or any other jurisdiction of the United States, of a misdemeanor involving moral turpitude, 
sexual offense, non-marijuana drug distribution, or physical injury or any felony, there 
being no appeal pending therefrom or the time for appeal having elapsed. Review of 
convictions shall be subject to the requirements of § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia. Any 
plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a conviction for purposes of this subdivision. 
The record of a conviction certified or authenticated in such form as to be admissible in 
evidence under the laws of the jurisdiction where convicted shall be admissible as prima 
facie evidence of such conviction or guilt; 

13. Fails to inform the board in writing within 30 days of pleading guilty or nolo contendere 
or being convicted or found guilty regardless of adjudication of any convictions as stated 
in subdivision 12 of this section; 

14. Allows, as responsible management of a parlor, salon, or school, a person who has 
not obtained a license or guest tattooer license to practice as a tattooer, permanent 
cosmetic tattooer , or master permanent cosmetic tattooer, unless the person is duly 
enrolled as an apprentice; 

15. Allows, as responsible management of a school, a person who has not obtained an 
instructor certificate to practice as a tattooing or permanent cosmetic tattooing instructor; 

16. Fails to take sufficient measures to prevent transmission of communicable or infectious 
diseases or fails to comply with sanitary requirements provided for in this chapter or any 
local, state, or federal law or regulation governing the standards of health and sanitation 
for the practice of tattooing, or the operation of tattoo parlors or permanent cosmetic 
tattooing salons; or 

17. Fails to comply with all procedures established by the board and the testing service 
with regard to conduct at any board examination. 

FORMS (18VAC41-50) 

Tattooer Examination & License Application, A450-1231EXLIC-v17 (rev. 9/2023) 

Training Verification Form, A450-1213TR-vs1 (eff. 5/2022) 

Tattooing Apprenticeship Sponsor Application, A450-12TATSPON-v6 (rev. 9/2023) 

Tattooer Apprenticeship Certification Application, A450-TAT_SOA-v3 (rev. 3/2015) 

Tattoo Apprenticeship Completion Form, A450-12TAC-v8 (rev. 1/2020) 

Tattoo Client Disclosure Form, A450-12TDIS-v3 (rev. 1/2020) 

Limited Term Tattooer License Application, A450-1233LIC-v12 (rev. 9/2022) 

Limited Term Tattoo Parlor License Application, A450-1235LIC-v9 (rev. 9/2022) 
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Permanent Cosmetic Tattooer Examination & License Application, A450-1236EXLIC-v16 
(rev. 9/2023) 

Master Permanent Cosmetic Tattooer Examination & License Application, A450-1237EXLIC-
v14 (rev. 9/2023) 

License by Endorsement Application, A450-1213END-v18 (rev. 9/2022) 

Body Piercing, Tattoo, Perm Cos Tattoo Experience Verification Form, A450-
12BPTATT_EXP-v2 (rev. 7/2022) 

Salon, Shop, Spa & Parlor License-Reinstatement Application A450-1213BUS-v17 (rev. 9-
2023)  

Licensure Fee Notice, A450-1213FEE-v11 (rev. 9/2022) 

Instructor Certification Application, A450-1213INST-vs18 (rev. 9/2023) 

Individuals - Reinstatement Application, A450-1213REI-v13 (rev. 9/2022) 

School License Application, A450-1213SCHL-v19 (rev. 9/2023) 

School Reinstatement Application, A450-1213SCHL-REIN-v9 (rev. 9/2022) 

Tattoo-Body Piercing Universal App A450-1231-41ULR-v1 (eff. 7/2023) 
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Project 7714 - NOIRA 

Board For Barbers And Cosmetology 

General Review of Body-Piercing Regulations 

Chapter 60 

Body-Piercing Regulations 

Part I 

General 

18VAC41-60-10. Definitions.  

The following words and terms when used in this chapter shall have the following meanings 
unless the context clearly indicates otherwise. All terms defined in Chapter 7 (§ 54.1-700 et seq.) 
of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia are incorporated in this chapter.ascribed to them in Chapter 
7(§ 54.1-700 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia: 

"Board" 

“Body-Piercer” 

“Body-Piercing” 

“Body-Piercing salon” 

“Body-Piercing school”  

"Apprenticeship program" means an approved body-piercing training program conducted by 
an approved apprenticeship sponsor. 

"Apprenticeship sponsor" means an individual approved to conduct body-piercing 
apprenticeship training who meets the qualifications in 18VAC41-60-70. 

"Aseptic technique" means a hygienic practice that prevents and hinders the direct transfer of 
microorganisms, regardless of pathogenicity, from one person or place to another person or 
place. 

"Body piercer ear only" means any person who uses only a mechanized, presterilized ear-
piercing system that penetrates the outer perimeter or lobe of the ear or both for compensation. 

"Body piercing ear only" means the use of a mechanized, presterilized ear-piercing system 
that penetrates the outer perimeter or lobe of the ear or both. 

"Body-piercing ear only salon" means any place in which a fee is charged for the act of using 
a mechanized, presterilized ear-piercing system that penetrates the outer perimeter or lobe of the 
ear or both. 

"Business entity" means a sole proprietorship, partnership, corporation, limited liability 
company, limited liability partnership, or any other form of organization permitted by law. 

"Endorsement" means a method of obtaining a license by a person who is currently licensed 
in another state or jurisdiction of the United States. 

"Firm" means any business entity recognized under the laws of the Commonwealth of Virginia. 

"Gratuitous services" as used in § 54.1-701.5 of the Code Virginia means providing body-
piercing services without receiving compensation or reward, or obligation. Gratuitous services do 
not include services provided at no charge when goods are purchased. 
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"Licensee" means any person, partnership, corporation, limited liability company, sole 
proprietorship, limited liability partnership, or any other form of organization permitted by law 
holding a license issued by the Board for Barbers and Cosmetology as defined in § 54.1-700 of 
the Code of Virginia.any individual or firm holding a license issued by the Board for Barbers and 
Cosmetology. 

"Reasonable hours" means the hours between 9 a.m. and 5 p.m.; however, if the licensee 
generally is not open to the public substantially during the same hours, "reasonable hours" shall 
mean the business hours when the licensee is open to the public. 

"Reinstatement" means having a license restored to effectiveness after the expiration date 
has passed. 

"Renewal" means continuing the effectiveness of a license for another period of time. 

"Responsible management" means the following individuals: 

1. The sole proprietor of a sole proprietorship; 

2. The partners of a general partnership; 

3. The managing partners of a limited partnership; 

4. The officers of a corporation; 

5. The managers of a limited liability company; 

6. The officers or directors of an association or both; and 

7. Individuals in other business entities recognized under the laws of the Commonwealth 
as having a fiduciary responsibility to the firm. 

"Sole proprietor" means any individual, not a corporation, who is trading under that individual's 
own name or under an assumed or fictitious name pursuant to the provisions of §§ 59.1-69 
through 59.1-76 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Sterilization area" means a separate room or area separate from workstations with restricted 
client access in which body-piercing instruments are cleaned, disinfected, and sterilized. 

"Substantially equivalent exam" means an examination administered by the licensing entity 
which covers Virginia's scope of practice for that profession. 

"Substantially equivalent training" means at least 80% of the required hours in Virginia and 
curriculum content covering Virginia's scope of practice for that profession. 

"Temporary location" means a fixed location at which body piercing is performed for a 
specified length of time of not more than seven days in conjunction with a single event or 
convention. 

Part II 

Entry 

18VAC41-60-20. General requirementsGratuitous Services.  

A. Any individual wishing to engage in body piercing shall obtain a license in compliance with 
§ 54.1-703 of the Code of Virginia and meet the following qualifications: 

1. The applicant shall be in good standing as a body piercer in every jurisdiction where 
licensed, certified, or registered. The applicant shall disclose to the board at the time of 
application for licensure any disciplinary action taken in Virginia or any other jurisdiction in 
connection with the applicant's practice as a body piercer. This disclosure includes 
monetary penalties, fines, suspensions, revocations, surrender of a license in connection 
with a disciplinary action, or voluntary termination of a license. The applicant shall disclose 
to the board at the time of application for licensure if the applicant has been previously 
licensed in Virginia as a body piercer. 
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Upon review of the applicant's prior disciplinary action, the board, in its discretion, may 
deny licensure to any applicant wherein the board deems the applicant is unfit or unsuited 
to engage in body piercing and body piercing ear only. The board will decide each case 
by taking into account the totality of the circumstances. Any plea of nolo contendere or 
comparable plea shall be considered a disciplinary action for the purposes of this 
subdivision. The applicant shall provide a certified copy of a final order, decree, or case 
decision by a court, regulatory agency, or board with the lawful authority to issue such 
order, decree, or case decision, and such copy shall be admissible as prima facie evidence 
of such disciplinary action. 

2. The applicant shall disclose the applicant's physical address. A post office box is not 
acceptable. 

3. The applicant shall sign, as part of the application, a statement certifying that the 
applicant has read and understands the Virginia body-piercing license laws and this 
chapter. 

4. In accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia, each applicant shall disclose the 
following information regarding criminal convictions in Virginia and all other jurisdictions: 

a. All misdemeanor convictions involving moral turpitude, sexual offense, non-
marijuana drug distribution, or physical injury within two years of the date of the 
application; and 

b. All felony convictions within 20 years of the date of application. 

Any plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a conviction for purposes of this 
subdivision. The record of a conviction received from a court shall be accepted as prima 
facie evidence of a conviction or finding of guilt. The board, in its discretion, may deny 
licensure to any applicant in accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia. 

5. The applicant shall provide evidence satisfactory to the board that the applicant has 
passed the board-approved examination, administered either by the board or by a 
designated testing service. 

B. Eligibility to sit for board-approved body-piercer examination. 

1. Training in the Commonwealth of Virginia. Any person completing an approved body-
piercing apprenticeship program in a Virginia licensed body-piercing salon shall be eligible 
to sit for the examination. 

2. Training outside of the Commonwealth of Virginia, but within the United States or 
jurisdiction of the United States. Any person completing a body-piercing training or 
apprenticeship program that is substantially equivalent to the Virginia program but is 
outside of the Commonwealth of Virginia must submit to the board documentation of the 
successful completion of training or apprenticeship to be eligible for examination. If less 
than required hours of body-piercing training or body-piercing apprenticeship was 
completed, an applicant must submit (i) documentation acceptable to the board verifying 
the completion of a substantially equivalent body-piercing training or body-piercing 
apprenticeship or documentation of three years of work experience within the preceding 
five years as a body piercer and (ii) documentation of completion of a minimum of five 
hours of health education to include (a) bloodborne disease, sterilization, and aseptic 
techniques related to body piercing; (b) first aid; and (c) CPR that is acceptable to the 
board in order to be eligible for examination. 

C. In order to receive a license as a body piercer ear only, an applicant must meet the following 
qualifications: 

1. The applicant shall have completed a minimum of three hours of health education to 
include bloodborne disease and first aid that is acceptable to the board and provide 

DRAFT



verification of training on a mechanized, presterilized ear-piercing system that penetrates 
the outer perimeter or lobe of the ear or both and aftercare of piercing. 

2. The applicant shall be in good standing in every jurisdiction where licensed, certified, 
or registered. The applicant shall disclose to the board at the time of application for 
licensure any disciplinary action taken in another jurisdiction in connection with the 
applicant's licensed, certified, or registered practice. The applicant shall disclose to the 
board at the time of application for licensure whether he has been previously licensed in 
Virginia in any profession regulated by the board. 

3. The applicant shall disclose the applicant's physical address. A post office box is not 
acceptable. 

4. The applicant shall sign, as part of the application, a statement certifying that the 
applicant has read and understands the Virginia body-piercing license laws and the 
board's body-piercing regulations. 

5. In accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia, each applicant shall disclose the 
following information regarding criminal convictions in Virginia and all other jurisdictions: 

a. All misdemeanor convictions involving moral turpitude, sexual offense, non-
marijuana drug distribution, or physical injury within two years of the date of the 
application; and 

b. All felony convictions within 20 years of the date of application. 

Any plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a conviction for purposes of this 
subdivision. The record of a conviction received from a court shall be accepted as prima 
facie evidence of a conviction or finding of guilt. The board, in its discretion, may deny 
licensure to any applicant in accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia. 

Any individual who engages in body-piercing or body-piercing ear only without receiving 
compensation, reward or obligation is considered to be performing gratuitous services and 
is exempt from the provisions of this chapter. Gratuitous services do not include services 
provided at no charge when goods are purchased. 

18VAC41-60-25. General Requirements for Body Piercer or Body Piercer Ear Only License.  

A. Any individual wishing to engage in body piercing shall obtain a license in compliance with 
§ 54.1-703 of the Code of Virginia and meet the following qualifications: 

1. The applicant shall be in good standing as a body piercer in all jurisdictions where 
licensed, certified, or registered. The applicant shall disclose to the board at the time of 
application for licensure any disciplinary action taken in Virginia or any other jurisdiction in 
connection with the applicant's practice as a body piercer. This includes monetary 
penalties, fines, probation, suspensions, revocations, surrender of a license in connection 
with a disciplinary action pertaining to services within the respective scope of practice, or 
voluntary termination of a license.  

Upon review of the applicant's prior disciplinary action, the board, in its discretion, may 
deny licensure to any applicant wherein it deems the applicant is unfit or unsuited to 
engage in body piercing. The applicant shall provide a certified copy of a final order, 
decree, or case decision by a court, regulatory agency, or board with the lawful authority 
to issue such order, decree, or case decision, and such copy shall be admissible as prima 
facie evidence of such disciplinary action. 

2. The applicant shall disclose the applicant's physical address. A post office box may be 
provided as a secondary address. 
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3. The applicant shall sign, as part of the application, a statement certifying that the 
applicant has read and understands the Virginia body-piercing license laws and this 
chapter. 

4. In accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia, each applicant shall disclose the 
following information regarding criminal convictions in Virginia and all other jurisdictions: 

a. All misdemeanor convictions within two years of the date of application involving 
moral turpitude, sexual offense, non-marijuana drug distribution, or physical injury; and 

b. All felony convictions within 10 years of the date of application. 

Any plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a conviction for purposes of this 
subdivision. The record of a conviction received from a court shall be accepted as prima 
facie evidence of a conviction or finding of guilt. The board, in its discretion, may deny 
licensure to any applicant in accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia. 

5. The applicant shall provide evidence satisfactory to the board that the applicant has 
passed the board-approved examination, administered either by the board or by 
independent examiners. 

6. Any changes in the name or address of the licensee shall be reported to the board in 
writing within 30 days of such changes. 

B. Eligibility to sit for board-approved examination. 

1. Training in the Commonwealth of Virginia. Any person completing an approved body-
piercing apprenticeship program in a Virginia licensed body-piercing salon shall be eligible 
to sit for the examination. 

2. Training outside of the Commonwealth of Virginia.  

a. Any person completing a body-piercing training or apprenticeship program that is 
substantially equivalent to the Virginia program but is outside of the Commonwealth of 
Virginia must submit to the board documentation of the successful completion of training 
or apprenticeship to be eligible for examination. Applicants who have earned a degree 
from an institution outside the United States must have their degree translated, 
authenticated and evaluated by an education evaluation service if credit is sought for the 
education. The board in its discretion may decline to accept any an evaluation submitted 
by an applicant. 

b. Applicants who completed a training program that is not substantially equivalent to 
Virginia’s training, including out of country training, must submit (i) documentation 
acceptable to the board verifying three years of work experience within the preceding five 
years as a tattooer and (ii) documentation of completion of a minimum of five hours of 
health education to include (a) bloodborne pathogens, sterilization, and aseptic 
techniques related to tattooing; and (b) first aid that is acceptable to the board in order to 
be eligible for examination. 

If less than required hours of body-piercing training or body-piercing apprenticeship was 
completed, an applicant must submit (i) documentation acceptable to the board verifying 
the completion of a substantially equivalent body-piercing training or body-piercing 
apprenticeship or documentation of three years of work experience within the preceding 
five years as a body piercer and (ii) documentation of completion of a minimum of five 
hours of health education to include (a) bloodborne disease, sterilization, and aseptic 
techniques related to body piercing; (b) first aid; and (c) CPR that is acceptable to the 
board in order to be eligible for examination. 

C. Any individual wishing to engage in body-piercing ear only shall obtain a license in 
compliance with § 54.1-703 of the Code of Virginia and meet the following qualifications: 
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1. The applicant shall be in good standing in Virginia and in all other jurisdictions where 
licensed, certified, or registered. The applicant shall disclose to the board at the time of 
application for licensure any disciplinary action taken in Virginia and all other jurisdictions 
in connection with the applicant's practice as a body piercer. This includes monetary 
penalties, fines, probation, suspensions, revocations, surrender of a license in connection 
with a disciplinary action pertaining to services within the respective scope of practice, or 
voluntary termination of a license. 

Upon review of the applicant's prior disciplinary action, the board, in its discretion, may 
deny licensure to any applicant wherein it deems the applicant is unfit or unsuited to 
engage in body piercing. The applicant shall provide a certified copy of a final order, 
decree, or case decision by a court, regulatory agency, or board with the lawful authority 
to issue such order, decree, or case decision, and such copy shall be admissible as prima 
facie evidence of such disciplinary action 

2. The applicant shall disclose the applicant's physical address. A post office box may be 
provided as a secondary address. 

3. The applicant shall sign, as part of the application, a statement certifying that the 
applicant has read and understands the Virginia tattooing license laws and this chapter. 

4. In accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia, each applicant shall disclose the 
following information regarding criminal convictions in Virginia and all other jurisdictions: 

a. All misdemeanor convictions within two years of the date of application involving moral 
turpitude, sexual offense, non-marijuana drug distribution, or physical injury; and 

b. All felony convictions within 10 years of the date of application. 

Any plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a conviction for purposes of this 
subdivision. The record of a conviction received from a court shall be accepted as prima 
facie evidence of a conviction or finding of guilt. The board, in its discretion, may deny 
licensure to any applicant in accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia. 

5. The applicant shall have completed a minimum of three hours of health education to 
include bloodborne disease and first aid that is acceptable to the board and provide 
verification of training on a mechanized, presterilized ear-piercing system that penetrates 
the outer perimeter or lobe of the ear or both and aftercare of piercing. 

18VAC41-60-30. License by endorsement Endorsement.  

Upon proper application to the board, any person currently licensed to practice as a body 
piercer in any other state or jurisdiction of the United States and who has completed a training or 
apprenticeship program and an examination that is substantially equivalent to that required by 
this chapter may be issued a body piercer license without an examination. The applicant must 
also meet the requirements set forth in 18VAC41-60-20 A 1 through A 4. 

18VAC41-60-40. Examination requirements and fees Requirements and Fees.  

A. Applicants for initial licensure shall pass an examination approved by the board. The 
examinations may be administered by the board or by a designated testing service. 

B. Any candidate failing to appear as scheduled for examination shall forfeit the examination 
fee. 

CB. The applicant shall follow all procedures established by the board with regard to conduct 
at the examination. Such procedures shall include any written instructions communicated prior to 
the examination date and any instructions communicated at the site, either written or oral, on the 
date of the examination. Failure to comply with all procedures established by the board and the 
testing service with regard to conduct at the examination may be grounds for denial of application. 
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DC. Any applicant who does not pass a reexamination within one year of the initial 
examination date shall be required to submit a new application. 

ED. The fee for examination or reexamination is subject to contracted charges to the board 
by an outside vendor. These contracts are competitively negotiated and bargained for in 
compliance with the Virginia Public Procurement Act (§ 2.2-4300 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). 
Fees may be adjusted and charged to the candidate in accordance with these contracts. The fee 
shall not exceed $225 per candidate. 

FE. Any candidate failing to apply for initial licensure within five years of passing the written 
examination shall be required to retake the examination. Records of examinations shall be 
maintained for a maximum of five years. 

18VAC41-60-70. General requirements for a body-piercing apprenticeship 
sponsorRequirements for a Body-Piercing Apprenticeship Sponsor.  

A. Upon filing an application with the Board for Barbers and Cosmetology, any person meeting 
the qualifications set forth in this section may be eligible to sponsor a body-piercing apprentice if 
the person: Any individual wishing to sponsor a body-piercing apprentice must meet the following 
qualifications: 

1. Holds The applicant must hold a current Virginia body-piercing license; 

2. Provides The applicant must provide documentation of legally practicing body piercing 
for at least five years; and 

3. Provides The applicant must provide documentation indicating that he is in good 
standing in all jurisdictions where the practice of body piercing is regulated. 

B. Apprenticeship sponsors shall be required to maintain a body-piercer license. 

C. Apprenticeship sponsors shall ensure compliance with the 1500-hour Body-Piercing 
Apprenticeship Program and Body-Piercing Apprenticeship Standards. 

18VAC41-60-80. Salon licenseGeneral requirements for a Salon License.  

A. Any firm wishing to operate a body-piercing salon or body-piercing ear only salon shall 
obtain a salon license in compliance with § 54.1-704.1 of the Code of Virginia and shall meet the 
following qualifications in order to receive a license: 

1. The applicant and all members of the responsible management shall be in good 
standing as a licensed salon in Virginia and all other jurisdictions where licensed., certified 
or registered. The applicant and all members of the responsible management shall 
disclose to the board at the time of application for licensure any disciplinary action taken 
in Virginia and all other jurisdictions in connection with the applicant's operation of any 
body-piercing salon or body-piercing ear only salon or practice of the profession. This 
disclosure includes monetary penalties, fines, probation, suspensions, revocations, 
surrender of a license in connection with a disciplinary action, pertaining to services within 
the scope of practice, or voluntary termination of a license. The applicant shall disclose to 
the board at the time of application for licensure if the applicant or any member of the 
responsible management has been previously licensed in Virginia as a body-piercing 
salon or body-piercing ear only salon. 

Upon review of the applicant's and all members of the responsible management's prior 
disciplinary action, the board, in its discretion, may deny licensure to any applicant wherein 
it deems the applicant is unfit or unsuited to engage in the operation of a body-piercing 
salon or body-piercing ear only salon. The board will decide each case by taking into 
account the totality of the circumstances. Any plea of nolo contendere or comparable plea 
shall be considered a disciplinary action for the purposes of this subdivision. The applicant 
shall provide a certified copy of a final order, decree, or case decision by a court, regulatory 
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agency, or board with the lawful authority to issue such order, decree, or case decision, 
and such copy shall be admissible as prima facie evidence of such disciplinary action. 

2. The applicant shall disclose his the applicant's physical address. A post office box is 
not acceptable.may be provided as a secondary address. 

3. The applicant shall sign, as part of the application, a statement certifying that the 
applicant has read and understands the Virginia body-piercing license laws and this 
chapter. 

4. In accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia, each applicant shall disclose the 
following information about the firm and all members of the responsible management 
regarding criminal convictions in Virginia and all other jurisdictions: 

a. All misdemeanor convictions within two years of the date of application involving 
moral turpitude, sexual offense, non-marijuana drug distribution, or physical injury 
within two years of the date of the application; and 

b. All felony convictions within 2010 years of the date of application. 

Any plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a conviction for purposes of this 
subsection. The record of a conviction received from a court shall be accepted as prima 
facie evidence of a conviction or finding of guilt. The board, in its discretion, may deny 
licensure to any applicant in accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia. 

5. The applicant shall disclose the firm's responsible management. 

B. A body-piercing Body-piercing salon licenses or body-piercing ear only salon licenses are 
issued to firms as defined in this chapter and shall not be transferable. and shall bear the same 
name and address of the business entity. Any changes in the name or address of the salon shall 
be reported to the board in writing within 30 days of such changes. The board shall not be 
responsible for the licensee’s, failure to receive notices, communications, and correspondence 
caused by the licensee’s, failure to promptly notify the board in writing of any change of name or 
address or for any other reason beyond the control of the board. New responsible management 
shall beis responsible for applying for a new license within 30 days of the changes. 

C. Whenever the legal business entity holding the license is dissolved or altered to form a new 
business entity, the original license becomes void. and shall be returned to the board within 30 
days of the change. The firm must notify the board within 30 days of the change and destroy the 
license. Additionally, the firm shall apply for a new license within 30 days of the change in the 
business entity. Such changes include: 

1. Death of a sole proprietor; 

2. Death or withdrawal of a general partner in a general partnership or the managing 
partner in a limited partnership; and 

3. Conversion, formation, or dissolution of a corporation, a limited liability company, an 
association, or any other business entity recognized under the laws of the Commonwealth 
of Virginia. 

D. Any change in the officers of a corporation, managers of a limited liability company, or 
officers or directors of an association shall be reported to the board in writing within 30 days of 
the change. 

E. Any firm wishing to operate a body-piercing salon in a temporary location must have a 
body-piercing salon license issued by the board. 

F. The board or any of its agents shall be allowed to inspect during reasonable hours any 
licensed salon for compliance with provisions of Chapter 7 (§ 54.1-700 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the 
Code of Virginia or this chapter. 
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Part III 

Fees 

18VAC41-60-90. Fees.  

The following fees apply:are nonrefundable and shall not be prorated: 

FEE TYPE 
AMOUNT DUE 

September 1, 2022, through August 31, 2024 
AMOUNT DUE 

September 1, 2024, and after

Individuals:  

 Application $90 $105 

 License by 
Endorsement 

$90 $105 

 Renewal: $90 $105 

 Reinstatement 
$180* 

*includes $90 renewal fee and $90 
reinstatement fee 

$210* 
*includes $105 renewal fee and $105 

reinstatement fee 

Salons:   

 Application $165 $190 

 Renewal $165 $190 

 Reinstatement 
$330* 

*includes $165 renewal fee and $165 
reinstatement fee 

$380* 
*includes $190 renewal fee and $190 

reinstatement fee 

18VAC41-60-100. Refunds. (Repealed.) 

All fees are nonrefundable and shall not be prorated.  

Part IV 

Renewal and Reinstatement 

18VAC41-60-110. License renewal requiredRenewal Required.  

All body piercer, body piercer ear only, body-piercing salon, and body-piercing ear only salon 
licenses shall expire two years from the last day of the month in which they were issued. 

18VAC41-60-120. Continuing education requirementEducation Requiremet.  

All licensed body piercers shall be required to satisfactorily complete a minimum of five hours 
of health education to include (i) bloodborne disease, sterilization, and aseptic techniques related 
to body piercing; and (ii) first aid; and (iii) CPR during their licensed term. All licensed body 
piercers ear only shall be required to satisfactorily complete a minimum of three hours of health 
education to include bloodborne disease and first aid during their licensed term. Documentation 
of training completion shall be provided at the time of renewal along with the required fee. 

18VAC41-60-130. Notice of renewalRenewal.  

The Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation will mail a renewal notice to the 
licensee outlining the procedures for renewal. Failure to receive this notice, however, shall not 
relieve the licensee of the obligation to renew. If the licensee fails to receive the renewal notice, 
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a copy of the old license may be submitted as evidence of intent to renew, along with the required 
fee. 

18VAC41-60-140. Failure to renewRenew.  

A. When an individual or business entity fails to renew its license within 30 days following its 
expiration date, the licensee shall meet the renewal requirements prescribed in 18VAC41-60-120 
and 18VAC41-60-130 and apply for reinstatement of the license by submitting to the Department 
of Professional and Occupational Regulation a reinstatement application along with the required 
renewal and reinstatement fees. 

B. When an a licensed individual or business entity fails to renew its license within two years 
following the expiration date, reinstatement is no longer possible. To resume practice: 

1. The former licensee shall apply for licensure as a new applicant, shall meet all current 
application entry requirements, shall pass the board's current examination if applicable, 
and shall receive a new license. 

2. An individual initially granted licensure under an examination exemption, known as 
grandfathering, pursuant to 18VAC41-60-20 A 6 shall submit a new application showing 
the individual met the requirements of the applicable examination waiver provision, 
demonstrate five years of licensed experience, previously licensed in Virginia for a 
minimum of three (3), shall submit a new application, and pass the required examination. 

C. The date a renewal fee is received by the Department of Professional and Occupational 
Regulation, or its agent, will be used to determine whether the requirement for reinstatement of a 
license is applicable and an additional fee is required. 

D. When a license is reinstated, the licensee shall have the same license number and shall 
be assigned an expiration date two years from the date of the last day of the month of 
reinstatement. 

E. A licensee that reinstates its license shall be regarded as having been continuously 
licensed without interruption. Therefore, a licensee shall be subject to the authority of the board 
for activities performed prior to reinstatement. 

F. A licensee that fails to reinstate its license shall be regarded as unlicensed from the 
expiration date of the license forward. Nothing in this chapter shall divest the board of its authority 
to discipline a licensee for a violation of the law or regulations during the period of time for which 
the individual was licensed. 

Part V 

Body-Piercing Apprenticeship Programs 

18VAC41-60-150. Applicants for board approvalBoard Approval.  

A. Any person desiring to enroll in the body-piercing apprenticeship program shall be required 
to provide documentation of satisfactory completion of a minimum of five hours of health 
education to include but not limited to blood borne disease, sterilization, and aseptic techniques 
related to body piercing, and first aid and CPR. 

B. Any body piercer desiring approval to perform the duties of an apprenticeship sponsor and 
offer the board's body-piercing apprenticeship program shall meet the requirements in 18VAC41-
60-70. 

C. All apprenticeship training shall be conducted in a body-piercing salon that has met the 
requirements of 18VAC41-60-80. 

18VAC41-60-160. Body-piercing apprenticeship curriculum requirementsApprenticeship 
Curriculum Requirements..  

Body-piercing apprenticeship curriculum requirements are set out in this section: 
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1. Microbiology: 

a. Microorganisms, viruses, bacteria, fungi; 

b. Transmission cycle of infectious diseases; and 

c. Characteristics of antimicrobial agents. 

2. Immunization; 

a. Types of immunizations; 

b. Hepatitis A—G transmission and immunization; 

c. HIV/AIDS; 

d. Tetanus, streptococcal, zoonotic, tuberculosis, pneumococcal, and influenza; 

e. Measles, mumps, and rubella; 

f. Vaccines and immunization; and 

g. General preventative measures to be taken to protect the body piercer and client. 

3. Sanitation and disinfection: 

a. Definition of terms: 

(1) Sterilization; 

(2) Disinfection and disinfectant; 

(3) Sterilizer or sterilant; 

(4) Antiseptic; 

(5) Germicide; 

(6) Decontamination; and 

(7) Sanitation; 

b. The use of steam sterilization equipment and techniques; 

c. The use of chemical agents, antiseptics, disinfectants, and fumigants; 

d. The use of sanitation equipment; 

e. Pre-service sanitation procedure; and 

f. Post-service sanitation procedure. 

4. Safety: 

a. Proper needle handling and disposal; 

b. How to avoid overexposure to chemicals; 

c. The use of Material Safety Data Sheets; 

d. Blood spill procedures; 

e. Equipment and instrument storage; and 

f. First aid and CPR. 

5. Blood borne pathogen standards: 

a. OSHA and CDC blood borne pathogen standards; 

b. Control Plan for blood borne pathogens; 

c. Exposure Control Plan for Body Piercers; 

d. Overview of compliance requirements; and 

e. Disorders and when not to service a client. 

6. Professional standards: 

a. History of body piercing; 
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b. Ethics; 

c. Recordkeeping: 

(1) Client health history; 

(2) Consent forms; and 

(3) HIPAA Standards (Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act of 1996 
Privacy Rule); 

d. Preparing station, making appointments, salon ethics: 

(1) Maintaining professional appearance, notifying clients of schedule changes; and 

(2) Promoting services of the salon and establishing clientele; 

e. Salon management: 

(1) Licensing requirements; and 

(2) Taxes; and 

f. Supplies: 

(1) Usages; 

(2) Ordering; and 

(3) Storage. 

7. Body piercing: 

a. Client consultation; 

b. Client health information; 

c. Client disclosure form; 

d. Client preparation; 

e. Sanitation and safety precautions; 

f. Implement selection and use; 

g. Proper use of equipment; 

h. Material selection and use; 

i. Grade of jewelry; and 

j. Metals to use. 

8. Body-piercing procedures: 

a. Ear lobe; 

b. Helix—ear; 

c. Concha—ear; 

d. Tragus—ear; 

e. Tongue; 

f. Navel; 

g. Eyebrow; 

h. Lip; 

i. Septum; 

j. Nostril; 

k. Male nipple; 

l. Female nipple; 

m. Monroe (face cheek); 
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n. Prince Albert (male genitalia); 

o. Frenum (male genitalia); 

p. Clitorial hoods (female genitalia); and 

q. Labias (female genitalia). 

9. Virginia body-piercing laws and regulations. 

18VAC41-60-170. Body-piercing hours of instruction and performancesBody-Piercing 
Apprenticeship Hours of Instruction and Performances.  

A. Curriculum requirements specified in 18VAC41-60-160 shall be taught over a minimum of 
1,500 hours as follows: 

1. 350 hours shall be devoted to theory pertaining to subdivisions 1, 2, 4, 5, and 6 of 
18VAC41-60-160; 

2. 150 hours shall be devoted to theory pertaining to subdivision 3 of 18VAC41-60-160; 
and 

3. The remaining 1,000 hours shall be devoted to practical training and the following 
performances pertaining to subdivision 7 of 18VAC41-60-160: 

 
Body-Piercing Performances 

 

  
ear lobe minimum of 5   
helix - ear minimum of 5 

  
concha - ear minimum of 5 

  
tragus - ear minimum of 5 

  
tongue minimum of 5 

  
navel minimum of 5 

  
eyebrow minimum of 5 

  
lip minimum of 5 

  
septum minimum of 5 

  
nostril minimum of 5 

  
additional piercings of choice minimum of 50 

 
Total 100 

B. An approved body-piercing apprenticeship program may conduct an assessment of an 
apprentice's competence in the theory and practical requirements for body piercing and, based 
on the assessment, give a maximum of 500 hours of credit towards the requirements in 
subdivisions A 1 and A 3 of this section. No credit shall be allowed for the 150 hours required in 
subdivision A 2 of this section. 

Part VI 

Standards of Practice 

18VAC41-60-180. Display of licenseLicense.  

A. Each body-piercing salon owner or body-piercing ear only salon owner shall ensure that all 
current licenses issued by the board shall be displayed in the reception area of the salon in plain 
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view of the public. Duplicate licenses shall be posted in a like manner in every salon location 
where the licensee provides services. 

B. Each body-piercing salon or body-piercing ear only salon owner shall ensure that no 
licensee performs any service beyond the scope of practice for the applicable license. 

C. Each body-piercing salon or body-piercing ear only salon owner shall offer to licensees the 
full series of Hepatitis B vaccine. 

D. Each body-piercing salon or body-piercing ear only salon owner shall maintain a record for 
each licensee of: 

1. Proof of completion of the full series of Hepatitis B vaccine; 

2. Proof of immunity by blood titer; or 

3. Written declaration of refusal of the owner's offer of a full series of Hepatitis B vaccine. 

E. All licensees shall operate under the name in which the license is issued. 

18VAC41-60-190. Physical facilitiesFacilities.  

A. A body-piercing salon or body-piercing ear only salon must be in a permanent building, 
which must be in a location permissible under local zoning codes, if any. If applicable, the body-
piercing salon or body-piercing ear only salon shall be separated from any living quarters by 
complete floor to ceiling partitioning and shall contain no access to living quarters. 

B. The body-piercing salon, body-piercing ear only salon, or temporary location shall be 
maintained in a clean and orderly manner. 

C. A body-piercing salon, body-piercing ear only salon, or temporary location shall have a 
blood spill clean-up kit in the work area. that contains at a minimum latex gloves, two 12-inch by 
12-inch towels, one disposable trash bag, bleach, one empty spray bottle, and one mask with 
face shield or any Occupational Safety and Heath Administration (OSHA)-approved blood spill 
clean-up kit. 

D. Work surfaces in a body-piercing salon, body-piercing ear only salon, or temporary location 
shall be cleaned with a U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) registered, hospital grade 
disinfectant. Surfaces that come in contact with blood or other body fluids shall be immediately 
disinfected with an EPA-registered germicide solution. Appropriate personal protective equipment 
shall be worn during cleaning and disinfecting procedures. 

E. In a body-piercing salon, body-piercing ear only salon, or temporary location, cabinets or 
containers for the storage of instruments, single-use articles, and other utensils shall be provided 
for each operator and shall be maintained in a sanitary manner. 

F. In a body-piercing salon, body-piercing ear only salon, or temporary location, bulk single-
use articles shall be commercially packaged and handled in such a way as to protect the articles 
from contamination. 

G. In a body-piercing salon, body-piercing ear only salon, or temporary location, all materials 
applied to the human skin shall be from single-use articles or transferred from bulk containers to 
single use containers and shall be disposed of after each use. 

H. In a body-piercing salon or body-piercing ear only salon, the walls, ceilings, and floors shall 
be kept in good repair. The body-piercing area shall be constructed of smooth, hard, surfaces that 
are nonporous, free of open holes or cracks, light colored, and easily cleaned. New physical 
facilities shall not include any dark-colored surfaces in the body-piercing area. Existing physical 
facilities with dark-colored surfaces in the body-piercing area shall replace the dark-colored 
surfaces with light-colored surfaces whenever the facilities are extensively remodeled or upon 
relocation of the business entity. 
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I. A body-piercing salon, body-piercing ear only salon, or temporary location shall have 
adequate lighting of at least 50 foot-candles of illumination in the body-piercing and sterilization 
areas. 

J. In a body-piercing salon, body-piercing ear only salon, or temporary location, adequate 
mechanical ventilation shall be provided. 

K. A body-piercing salon, body-piercing ear only salon, or temporary location shall be 
equipped with hand-cleaning facilities for its personnel with unobstructed access to the body-
piercing area or body-piercing ear only area such that the body piercer or body piercer ear only 
can return to the area without having to touch anything with his hands. Hand-cleaning facilities 
shall be equipped either with hot and cold or tempered running water under pressure and liquid 
germicidal soap or with a sanitizing solution to clean hands. Hand-cleaning facilities shall be 
equipped with single-use towels or mechanical hand drying devices and a covered refuse 
container. Such facilities shall be kept clean and in good repair. All facilities must have running 
water and soap accessible for cleaning of hands contaminated by body fluids. 

L. Animals are not permitted in the body-piercing salon, body-piercing ear only salon, or 
temporary location except for guide or service animals accompanying persons with disabilities or 
nonmammalian animals in enclosed glass containers such as fish aquariums, which shall be 
outside of the body-piercing area or sterilization area. No animals are allowed in the body-piercing 
area, body-piercing ear only area, or sterilization area. 

M. In a body-piercing salon, body-piercing ear only salon, or temporary location, the use of 
tobacco products and consumption of alcoholic beverages shall be prohibited in the body-piercing 
area, body-piercing ear only area, or sterilization area. 

N. In a body-piercing salon, body-piercing ear only salon, or temporary location, no food or 
drink will be stored or consumed in the body-piercing area, body-piercing ear only area, or 
sterilization area. 

O. In a body-piercing salon, body-piercing ear only salon, or temporary location, if body-
piercing or body-piercing ear only is performed where cosmetology services are provided, it shall 
be performed in an area that is separate and enclosed. 

P. All steam sterilizers shall be biological spore tested at least monthly. 

Q. Biological spore tests shall be verified through an independent laboratory. 

R. Biological spore test records shall be retained for a period of three years and made 
available upon request. 

S. Steam sterilizers shall be used only for instruments used by the salon's employees. 

18VAC41-60-200. Body piercer and body piercer ear only responsibilitiesBody Piercer Ear 
Only Responsibilities.  

A. All body piercers and body piercers ear only shall provide to the responsible management 
one of the following: 

1. Proof of completion of the full series of Hepatitis B vaccine; 

2. Proof of immunity by blood titer; or 

3. Written declaration of refusal of the responsible management's offer of a full series of 
Hepatitis B vaccine. 

B. All body piercers and body piercers ear only shall wear clean outer garments, maintain a 
high degree of personal cleanliness, and conform to hygienic practices while on duty. 

C. All body piercers and body piercers ear only shall clean their hands thoroughly using hot 
or tempered water with a liquid germicidal soap or use sanitizing solution to clean hands before 
and after body piercing and as necessary to remove contaminants. 
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D. All body piercers and body piercers ear only must wear single-use examination gloves 
while assembling instruments and another pair of single-use examination gloves while providing 
piercing services. 

E. Each time there is an interruption in the service, each time the gloves become torn or 
perforated or become contaminated, or whenever the ability of the gloves to function as a barrier 
is compromised: 

1. Gloves shall be removed and disposed of; and 

2. Hands shall be cleaned and a fresh pair of gloves used. 

F. Body piercers and body piercers ear only shall use standard precautions while providing 
piercing services. A body piercer or body piercer ear only diagnosed with a communicable 
disease, shall provide to the Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation a written 
statement from a health care practitioner that the body piercer's condition no longer poses a threat 
to public health. 

G. Body piercers and body piercers ear only with draining lesions on their hands or face will 
not be permitted to work until cleared by a health care professional. 

H. The area of the client's skin to be pierced shall be cleaned with an approved germicidal 
soap or antiseptic product according to label directions. 

I.H. The external skin of the All client areas to be pierced shall be cleaned with an approved 
germicidal soap or antiseptic product according to the label directions. In the case of oral 
piercings, the operator shall provide the individual with antiseptic mouthwash in a single-use cup 
and shall ensure that the individual utilizes the mouthwash provided. In the case of a lip, labret, 
or cheek piercing, procedures described in this subsection for both skin and oral piercings shall 
be followed. 

J.I. If shaving is required, razors shall be single-use and disposed of in a puncture-resistant 
container. 

K.J. Each body piercer or body piercer ear only performing any piercing procedures in the 
salon shall have the education, training and experience, or any combination thereof, to practice 
aseptic technique and prevent the transmission of bloodborne pathogens. All procedures shall be 
performed using aseptic technique. 

L.K. An individual, single-use, pre-sterilized piercing needle shall be used for each client. 
Single-use disposable instruments shall be disposed of in a puncture-resistant container. 

M.L. Used, nondisposable instruments shall be kept in a separate, puncture-resistant 
container until brush scrubbed in hot water soap and then sterilized by autoclaving. Contaminated 
instruments shall be handled with disposable gloves. 

N.M. Used nondisposable instruments that are ultrasonically cleaned shall be rinsed under 
running hot water prior to being placed in the used instrument container. 

O.N. Used nondisposable instruments that are not ultrasonically cleaned prior to being placed 
in the used instrument container shall be kept in a germicidal or soap solution until brush scrubbed 
in hot water and soap and sterilized by autoclaving. 

P.O. The ultrasonic unit shall be sanitized daily with a germicidal solution. 

Q.P. Nondisposable instruments shall be sterilized and shall be handled and stored in a 
manner to prevent contamination. Instruments to be sterilized shall be sealed in bags made 
specifically for the purpose of autoclave sterilization and shall include the date of sterilization. If 
nontransparent bags are utilized, the bag shall also list the contents. 

R.Q. Autoclave sterilization bags with a color code indicator that changes color upon proper 
sterilization shall be utilized during the autoclave sterilization process. 

DRAFT



S.R. Nondisposable instruments shall be placed in the autoclave in a manner to allow live 
steam to circulate around them. 

T.S. Contaminated disposable and single-use items shall be disposed of in accordance with 
federal and state regulations regarding disposal of biological hazardous materials. 

U.T. The manufacturer's written instruction of the autoclave shall be followed. 

18VAC41-60-210. Body-piercing client qualifications, disclosures, and recordsClient 
Qualifications, Disclosures, and Records.  

A. Except as permitted in § 18.2-371.3 of the Code of Virginia, a client must be a minimum of 
18 years of age and shall present at the time of the body piercing a valid, government-issued, 
positive identification card including, but not limited to, a driver's license, passport, or military 
identification. The identification must contain a photograph of the individual and a printed date of 
birth. 

B. The body piercer shall verify and document in the permanent client record the client's age, 
date of birth, and the type of identification provided. 

C. No person may be body pierced who appears to be under the influence of alcohol or drugs. 

D. Body piercing shall not be performed on any skin surface that manifests any evidence of 
unhealthy conditions such as rashes, boils, infections, or abrasions. 

E. Before receiving a body piercing, each client and client's parent or guardian, if applicable, 
shall be informed verbally and in writing, using the client disclosure form prescribed by the board, 
about the possible risk and dangers associated with the application of each body piercing. 
Signatures of the client, the client's parent or guardian, if applicable, and the body piercer shall 
be required on the client disclosure form to acknowledge receipt of both the verbal and written 
disclosures. Each client and client's parent or guardian, if applicable, shall be informed verbally 
and in writing of aftercare for each piercing. 

F. The body-piercing salon or temporary location shall maintain proper records for each client. 
The information shall be permanently recorded and made available for examination by the 
department or authorized agent. Records shall be maintained at the body-piercing salon for at 
least two years following the date of the last entry. The temporary location client records shall be 
maintained by the license holder. The permanent records shall include the following: 

1. The name, address, and telephone number of the client; 

2. The date body piercing was performed; 

3. The client's age, date of birth, and a copy of the positive identification provided to the 
body piercer; 

4. The specific type of jewelry used for the piercing and, when available, the 
manufacturer's catalogue or identification number for the type of jewelry used; 

5. The location on the body where the body piercing was performed; 

6. The name of the body piercer; 

7. A statement that the client has received a copy of applicable written care instructions 
and that the client has read and understands the instructions; and 

8. The signature of the client and, if applicable, parent or guardian. 

18VAC41-60-220. Grounds for license revocation or suspension or probation; denial of 
application, renewal, or reinstatement; or imposition of a monetary penalty License 
Revocation ,Suspension, or Probation; Denial of Application, Renewal or Reinstatement; 
or Imposition of a Monetary Penalty.  

The board may, in considering the totality of the circumstances, fine any licensee and 
suspend, place on probation, or revoke or refuse to renew or reinstate any license, or deny any 
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application issued under the provisions of Chapter 7 (§ 54.1-700 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code 
of Virginia and this chapter if the board finds that the licensee or applicant: 

The board may, in considering the totality of the circumstances, refuse to issue, renew or 
reinstate a license; impose a monetary penalty; place a license on probation with such terms and 
conditions and for such time as it may designate; suspend a license for a stated period of time; 
or revoke, a license issued under the provisions of Chapter 7 (§ 54.1-700 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of 
the Code of Virginia and this chapter if the board finds that the licensee or applicant:  

1. Is incompetent or negligent in practice, or incapable mentally or physically, unable to 
practice with skill or safety as a result of any mental or physical condition, as those terms 
are generally understood in the profession, to (i) practice as a body piercer or body piercer 
ear only, or (ii) operate a body piercing salon; 

2. Is convicted of fraud or deceit in the practice body piercing or body piercing ear only; 

3. Attempted to obtain, obtained, renewed, or reinstated a license by false or fraudulent 
representation; Attempts to obtain, obtains, renews, or reinstates a license by false or 
fraudulent representation; 

4. Violates or induces others to violate, or cooperates with others in violating, any of the 
provisions of this chapter or Chapter 7 (§ 54.1-700 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of 
Virginia or any local ordinance or regulation governing standards of health and sanitation 
of the establishment in which body piercers or body piercers ear only may practice or offer 
to practice; 

5. Offers, gives, or promises anything of value or benefit to any federal, state, or local 
employee for the purpose of influencing that employee to circumvent in the performance 
of the employee's duties any federal, state, or local law, regulation, or ordinance governing 
body piercing as defined in § 54.1-700 of the Code of Virginia; 

6. Fails to respond to the board or any of its agents or provides false, misleading, or 
incomplete information to an inquiry by the board or any of its agents; 

7. Fails or refuses to allow the board or any of its agents to inspect during reasonable 
hours any licensed salon for compliance with provisions of Chapter 7 (§ 54.1-700 et seq.) 
or this chapter; 

8. Fails to produce, upon request or demand of the board or any of its agents, any 
document, book, record, or copy thereof in a licensee's or responsible management 
possession or maintained in accordance with this chapter; 

9. Fails to notify the board of a change of name or address in writing within 30 days of the 
change for each and every license; 

10. Makes any misrepresentation or publishes or causes to be published any 
advertisement that is false, deceptive, or misleading; 

11. Fails to notify the board in writing within 30 days of the suspension, revocation, or 
surrender of a license, certificate, or permit in connection with a disciplinary action in any 
other jurisdiction or of any license, certificate, or permit which has been the subject of 
disciplinary action in any other jurisdiction;Fails to notify the board in writing within 30 days 
of final action, of any disciplinary action taken against a license, registration, certificate or 
permit in any jurisdiction by a local, state or national regulatory body; 

12. Has been convicted or found guilty, regardless of the manner of adjudication in Virginia 
or any other jurisdiction of the United States, of a misdemeanor involving moral turpitude, 
sexual offense, non-marijuana drug distribution, or physical injury or any felony, there 
being no appeal pending therefrom or the time for appeal having elapsed. Review of 
convictions shall be subject to the requirements of § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia. Any 
plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a conviction for purposes of this subdivision. 
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The record of a conviction certified or authenticated in such form as to be admissible in 
evidence under the laws of the jurisdiction where convicted shall be admissible as prima 
facie evidence of such conviction or guilt; 

13. Fails to inform the board in writing within 30 days of pleading guilty or nolo contendere 
or being convicted or found guilty regardless of adjudication of any convictions as stated 
in subdivision 12 of this section; 

14. Allows, as responsible management of a salon, a person who has not obtained a 
license to practice as a body piercer or body piercer ear only unless the person is duly 
enrolled as an apprentice; 

15. Fails to take sufficient measures to prevent transmission of communicable or infectious 
diseases or fails to comply with sanitary requirements provided for in this chapter or any 
local, state, or federal law or regulation governing the standards of health and sanitation 
for the practice of body piercing, or the operation of body-piercing salon or body-piercing 
ear only salon; or 

16. Fails to comply with all procedures established by the board and the testing service 
with regard to conduct at any board examination. 

FORMS (18VAC41-60) 

Body Piercer Examination & License Application, A450-1241EXLIC-v16 (rev. 9/2023) 

Body-Piercing Apprenticeship Sponsor Application, A450-12BPSPON-v6 (rev. 9/2023) 

Body-Piercing Apprentice Certification Application, A450-BP_SOA-v3 (rev. 3/2015) 

Body-Piercing Apprenticeship Completion Form, A450-12BPAC-v8 (rev. 1/2020) 

Body-Piercing Client Disclosure Form, A450-12BPDIS-v2 (rev. 4/2013) 

Body Piercer Ear Only License Application, A450-1245LIC-v10 (rev. 9/2023) 

License by Endorsement Application, A450-1213END-v18 (rev. 9/2022) 

Body Piercing, Tattoo, Perm Cos Tattoo Experience Verification Form, A450-
12BPTATT_EXP-v2 (rev. 7/2022) 

Salon, Shop, Spa & Parlor License-Reinstatement Application A450-1213BUS-v17 (rev. 9-
2023) 

Licensure Fee Notice, A450-1213FEE-v11 (rev. 9/2022) 

Individuals - Reinstatement Application, A450-1213REI-v13 (rev. 9/2022) 

Tattoo-Body Piercing Universal App A450-1231-41ULR-v1 (rev. 7/2023) 
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22. WORK PROCESSES 
 

COSMETOLOGY REGISTERED APPRENTICESHIP PROGRAM REGISTRATION MATERIALS 
 

 
A. Haircutting and grooming ......................................................................................... 1,150 hours 
 
1. Shampooing, rinsing, and scalp treatments for all hair types, including textured hair: 

a. Client consultation and analysis; and 
b. Procedures, manipulations, and treatments. 

 
2. Hair styling for all hair types, including textured hair: 
  a. Fingerwaving, molding, and pin curling;  

b. Roller curling, combing, and brushing; and  
  c. Heat curling, waving, and pressing. 
 
3. Hair cutting for all hair types, including textured hair: 

a. Fundamentals, materials, and equipment; and  
b. Procedures. 

 
4. Wigs, hair pieces, and related theory: 

a. Types; and  
b. Procedures. 

 
5. Straight razor use and shaving 
  
6. Manicuring and pedicuring: 

a. Nail theory, nail structure, and composition;  
b. Nail procedures, including manicuring, pedicuring, and nail extensions; and  
c. Electric filing. 

 
7. Skin care: 

a. Client skin analysis and consultation;  
b. Effleurage and related movements and manipulations of the face and body;  
c. Cleansings procedures; 
d. Masks; 
e. Extraction techniques;  
f. Machines, equipment, and electricity;  
g. Manual facials and treatments;  
h. Machine, electrical facials, and treatments; and 
i. General procedures and safety measures. 

 
8. Makeup: 

a. Setup, supplies, and implements;  
b. Color theory;  
c. Consultation;  
d. General and special occasion application;  
e. Camouflage;  
f. Application of false lashes and lash extensions;  
g. Lash and tinting;  
h. Lash perming;  
i. Lightning of the hair on the body except scalp; and  
j. General procedures and safety measures. 
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9. Body and other treatments: 
a. Body treatments;  
b. Aromatherapy; and  
c. General procedures and safety measures.  

 
10. Hair removal: 

a. Client consultation and analysis;  
b. Waxing;  
c. Mechanical hair removal;  
d. Tweezing and threading; and  
e. Chemical hair removal. 

 
B. Orientation and business topics ..............................................................................  90 hours 
 
1. Orientation: 

a. School policies; 
b. Management; 
c. Sales, inventory, and retailing; 
d. Taxes and payroll; 
e. Insurance; 
f. Client records and confidentiality; and 
g. Professional ethics and practices. 

 
C. Chemical relaxers, perms, coloring, and bleaching .............................................. 550 hours 
 
1. Permanent waving and chemical relaxing for all hair types, including textured hair: 

a. Chemistry;  
b. Supplies and equipment; and  
c. Procedures and practical application. 

 
2. Hair coloring and bleaching for all hair types, including textured hair: 

a. Basic color theory;  
b. Supplies and equipment; and  
c. Procedures and practical application. 

 
D. Sciences, laws, and regulations .............................................................................. 210 hours 
 
1. General sciences: 

a. Principles and practices of infection control;  
b. Safety Data Sheet(SDS);and  
c. Chemical usage and safety. 

 
2. Applied sciences: 

a. Anatomy, physiology, and histology. 
 
3. Laws and regulations 
 
TOTAL ............................................................................................................................... 2000 hours 
 
 
 
Safety is the first priority in all apprenticeship programs and, as the sponsors’ primary 
responsibility, must be taught and practiced continuously in all on-the-job processes. 
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COSMETOLOGY REGISTERED APPRENTICESHIP PERFORMANCE COMPLETION 
REQUIREMENTS 

 
 

Performances       Number Required 
 

A. Shampooing, rinsing, and scalp treatments,  
for all hair types, including textured hair 20 

 
B. Hair styling, for all hair types, including  
textured hair 60 

 
C. Hair cutting, for all hair types, including  
textured hair 60 

 
D. Permanent waving-chemical relaxing,  
for all hair types, including textured hair 60 

 
E. Hair coloring and bleaching, for all hair  
types, including textured hair 50 

 
F. Wigs, hair pieces, and related theory          5 

 
G. Straight razor shaving on face and neck  12 30 

 
H. Manicuring and pedicuring  15 procedures 

 
I. Individual sculptured nails and nail tips  30 

 
J. Body and other treatments 5 

 
K.   Makeup  20 
 
L. Skin care 15 

 
M. Hair removal 15 

 
 

TOTAL 385 367 
 
 
 
The required number of performance completions must be accomplished during the term of the 
apprenticeship, which shall not exceed twelve (12) eighteen (18) months in duration. 
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