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Assistant Attorney General

DATE: June 8, 2017

SUBJECT: Periodic Regulation Review - 22 VAC40-690 (Virginia Child Care
Scholarship Program)

I have reviewed the above-referenced regulation, which is undergoing a periodic review,
to determine if the State Board of Social Services (“State Board”) has the statutory authority to
promulgate the specified regulations and whether the specified regulations comport with

applicable state law.

This regulation provides the requirements for the Virginia Child Care Provider
Scholarship Program. The program provides tuition assistance to child care providers who enroll
in courses specializing in child care and development. Such assistance is required under the
federal Child Care and Development Block Grant.

It is my opinion that the State Board of DSS has the authority to promulgate this
regulation, subject to compliance with the provisions of Article 2 of the APA and Executive
Order No. 17 (2014), and has not exceeded that authority.

If you have any questions or need additional information about these regulations, please
contact me at (804) 786-3450.

cc: Kim F. Piner, Esquire
Attachment



Virginia Administrative Code

Title 22. Social Services

Agency 40. Department of Social Services

Chapter 690. Virginia Child Care Provider Scholarship Program

Part 1
General Provisions

22VAC40-690-10. Definitions.

The following words and terms when used in this chapter shall have the following meanings,
unless the context clearly indicates otherwise.

"Applicant” means any individual who is applying for a scholarship for college tuition.

"Child care program” means a regularly operating service arrangement for children where,
during the absence of a parent or guardian, a person or organization has agreed to assume
responsibility for the supervision, protection, and well-being of a child under the age of 13
for less than a 24-hour period. Child care includes care provided in the child's own home as
well as care provided outside of the child's home in settings such as a private home, child care
center, school, camp, recreational facility, or religious organization.

"Child care provider" means a person who is currently employed or plans to work in a child
care program.

"Colleges and universities” means those Virginia based public and private accredited
institutions of higher learning approved by the State Council of Higher Education for
Virginia. This includes all in-state accredited Virginia public colleges, universities, two-year
colleges, and community colleges; and all accredited Virginia private not-for-profit and
private for-profit colleges and universities.

"Course” means any undergraduate class that focuses on preparing students to be child care
providers. The courses shall focus on children between birth and 12 years of age and be in the
subject areas of care or development of children, the administration of child care programs,
or basic language, math, and sciences skills needed to promote growth and development in
children. The courses shall be approved by the department and taught by Virginia's public or
private colleges and universities.

"Department” means the Virginia Department of Social Services.

Statutory Authority
§ 63.2-217 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes
Derived from VR615-32-01:1 § 1.1, eff. July 1, 1992; amended, Virginia Register Volume 17, Issue 18, eff.

September 1, 2001.

22VAC40-690-15. Purpose and intent.

The purpose of the Virginia Child Care Provider Scholarship Program is to provide tuition




assistance to child care providers. The intent of the program is to provide child care providers
with a foundation in child care and child development. The anticipated benefit of an
increased knowledge and skills base for child care providers will be an improved level of care
provided to Virginia's children. This program is subject to the availability of funds.

Statutory Authority
§ 63.2-217 of the Code of Virginia.
Historical Notes

Derived from Virginia Register Volume 17, Issue 1, eff. September 1, 2001; amended, Virginia Register
Volume 30, Issue 6, eff. January 2, 2014.

Part II
Administrative Procedures

22VAC40-690-20. Application process.

A. All persons interested in obtaining a scholarship must submit a scholarship application
form to the Virginia Department of Social Services or its designee as indicated on the
application.

Note: Applications are available through the Virginia Department of Social Services or the
designated third-party administrator.

B. A separate application must be submitted for each semester.

C. Only complete applications, both initial and resubmitted, received by the deadline
indicated on the application shall be considered.

D. Applicants shall verify that the selected courses are being offered by the selected college or
university for the applicable semester prior to applying for scholarships.

E. The selection of courses or colleges and universities may not be changed once the
scholarship has been awarded unless the selected class is full or has been cancelled.

Statutory Authority
§ 63.2-217 of the Code of Virginia.
Historical Notes

Derived from VR615-32-01:1 § 2.1, eff. July 1, 1992; amended, Virginia Register Volume 17, Issue 18, eff.
September 1, 2001; Volume 24, Issue 24, eff. October 1, 2008.

22VAC40-690-30. Selection and eligibility.

A. Priority will be given to applicants currently employed in the field of child care. If funds
remain available, the applications will be processed and scholarships awarded in order of date
received.

B. In order for an applicant to be eligible for a scholarship, he must meet all of the following



criteria. The applicant must:
1. Be one of the following:
a. An employee of a child care program located in Virginia; or

b. Domiciled in Virginia as defined in § 23-7.4 of the Code of Virginia and (i) employed
in a child care program outside of Virginia or (ii) have declared an intent to become
employed in child care.

2. Select a department-approved course for which he has not previously received
scholarship funds; and

3. Have no more than one occurrence of the following for courses for which the applicant
received a Virginia Child Care Provider Scholarship:

a. Did not register for the course after receiving an award;
b. Did not complete the course and received a grade of "W" for withdrawal; or

c. Did not receive a passing grade.

In the event of such an occurrence, the department will not award future scholarships to an
individual until the applicant reimburses the state for the course(s) tuition and fees that
were paid to the college or university on behalf of the applicant.

C. An applicant does not have to be enrolled in or have already taken a course in early
childhood education or a related major to be eligible for a scholarship.

D. Scholarships will only be awarded if the department has adequate information to process
scholarship requests. The department must have received final course grades and payment
information on courses that have been previously approved for scholarships. In addition,
scholarships will be awarded on a conditional basis for those persons who are in jeopardy of
becoming ineligible to receive a scholarship as specified in subdivision B 3 of this section. In
these instances, the department will review enrollment and grade information when provided
by the institution for the current enrollment period and if the applicant is in compliance with
subdivision B 3 of this section, the scholarship will be fully awarded.

E. The scholarship will only pay tuition and the technology fee for each course.
F. Applicants shall not receive scholarships for more than two courses per semester.
G. Scholarships shall not be transferred between semesters or individuals.

H. Scholarships are awarded only for courses approved by the department. The department
will determine whether a course meets the definition of a "course” as defined in 22VAC40-

690-10.

L. Recipients may receive a total lifetime award of no more than the average tuition for eight
community college courses or their monetary equivalent.

J. A recipient may use scholarship funds to attend any combination of Virginia public or



private accredited two-year or four-year institutions over a period of time.

K. All applicants will be notified in writing regarding the acceptance or denial of their
application.

Statutory Authority
§ 63.2-217 of the Code of Virginia.
Historical Notes

Derived from VR615-32-01:1 § 2.2, eff. July 1, 1992; amended, Virginia Register Volume 17, Issue 18, eff.
September 1, 2001; Volume 24, Issue 24, eff. October 1, 2008.

22VAC40-690-35. Appeal process.

A. Any person denied a scholarship who believes the denial was contrary to law or regulations
may appeal the denial pursuant to the Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the
Code of Virginia). Section 2.2-4019 of the Code of Virginia provides the aggrieved party the
right to request an informal conference. This request shall be made within 15 days of the date
of denial. The informal conference is a fact-finding process and gives the aggrieved party an
opportunity to present information that the denial decision was based on factual error or
misinterpretation of facts. The aggrieved party may be required to provide verification of
facts. The department then has 90 days from the date of the informal conference to issue its
official decision in writing, including information concerning the aggrieved party's right to
continue the appeal process pursuant to the Administrative Process Act. The informal
conference may be conducted by telephone if both parties consent.

B. No person shall have a right to appeal any denial due to lack of scholarship funds, untimely
application, or incomplete application.

Statutory Authority
§ 63.2-217 of the Code of Virginia.
Historical Notes

Derived from Virginia Register Volume 17, Issue 18, eff. September 1, 2001; amended, Virginia Register
Volume 30, Issue 6, eff. January 2, 2014.

22VAC40-690-40. College and university agreements.

A. Colleges and universities will be notified in writing when scholarships are awarded to
applicants planning to attend their institutions.

B. The department shall provide written procedures to all colleges and universities that have
any student using scholarship funds regarding the operation of the scholarship program. The
procedures shall address the areas of, but not be limited to, verification of Virginia residency,
billing procedures, and provision of final course grades. Specifically, these institutions shall:

1. Determine whether applicants that are not employed in child care programs located in
Virginia are domiciled in Virginia as defined in § 23-7.4 of the Code of Virginia and provide



the department with verification of such;

2. Provide the department each semester, but no later than at the time of billing, with the
tuition rate category of each person for which the institution plans to bill or is billing the
scholarship program.

3. Submit one bill to the department per institution per semester after the college's or
university’s published add/drop period has occurred. Colleges and universities shall submit
a request for payment prior to the end of the semester for which the scholarship was
awarded. Such request must be in a department-approved format; and

4. Provide the department with final course grades for classes paid for by the scholarship
program within one month following the end of each semester.

C. All other eligible Virginia public and private colleges and universities may follow the
procedures as outlined in subsection B of this section or place the responsibility on the
student to seek reimbursement from the department.

Statutory Authority
§ 63.2-217 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from VR615-32-01:1 § 2.3, eff. July 1, 1992; amended, Virginia Register Volume 17, Issue 18
September I, 2001; Volume 24, Issue 24, eff. October 1, 2008.

22VAC40-690-50. [Repealed]
Historical Notes

Derived from VR615-32-01:1 § 2.4, eff. July 1, 1992.; repealed, Virginia Register Volume 17, Issue 18, eff.
September 1, 2001.

22VAC40-690-55. Disbursement of funds.

For those institutions participating in the tuition reimbursement process, funds will be
disbursed to the colleges and universities upon receipt of an invoice in accordance with the
Commonwealth Accounting Policies and Procedures. In the event that a college or university
does not choose to participate in the tuition reimbursement process, the funds will be
disbursed to the recipient upon proof of tuition payment and course enrollment through the
end of the college's or university's published add/drop period.

Statutory Authority
§ 63.2-217 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from Virginia Register Volume 17, Issue 18, eff. September 1, 2001; Errata, 17:21 VA.R. 3124 July 2,
2001; amended, Virginia Register Volume 24, Issue 24, eff. October 1, 2008.

22VAC40-690-60. Gathering and maintaining information.




A. The department will maintain identifying, employment, and educational information on
all applicants for a minimum of five years. This information will be obtained from the
applications and subsequent information submitted by the colleges or universities or
recipients as requested.

B. Additional information may be requested of any applicant receiving a scholarship as the
department deems necessary to carry out its accountability functions.

Statutory Authority
§ 63.2-217 of the Code of Virginia.
Historical Notes

Derived from VR615-32-01:1 § 2.5, eff. July 1, 1992; amended, Virginia Register Volume 17, Issue 13, eff.
September 1, 2001.

22VAC40-690-65. Recipient responsibilities.

A. A recipient must submit final course grades for classes paid by the Virginia Child Care
Provider Scholarship Program to the department within one month of completion of the
course unless the college or university does so.

Note: All colleges and universities are requested to provide final course grades to the
department for the classes paid by the scholarship program as outlined in 22VAC40-690-40 B
4. Grades will be used to determine eligibility as outlined in 22VAC40-690-30 B 3.

B. By accepting the award, the recipient agrees to participate in any surveys conducted by the
department regarding the scholarship program and comply with any requests for additional
information as stated in 22VAC40-690-60.

C. The recipient is responsible for all expenses related to taking the courses with the
exception of the amount of the award, which only pays for tuition and the technology fee.
The total lifetime award will pay the tuition and technology fee for a maximum of eight
courses at the community colleges at the in-state tuition rate or the dollar equivalent of the
total lifetime award, whichever comes first. Recipients shall be required to pay any additional
tuition and technology fees that exceed the total lifetime award. Additional expenses for all
recipients include, but are not limited to, other college or university fees, books,
transportation, and child care.

Statutory Authority
§ 63.2-217 of the Code of Virginia.
Historical Notes

Derived from Virginia Register Volume 17, Issue 18, eff. September 1, 2001; amended, Virginia Register
Volume 24, Issue 24, eff. October 1, 2008.

22VAC40-690-70. [Repealed]

Historical Notes



Derived from VR615-32-01:1 § 2.6, eff. July 1, 1992.; repealed, Virginia Register Volume 17, Issue 18, eff.
September 1, 2001.

Forms (22VAC40-690)

Virginia Child Care Provider Scholarship Program Application, Form #032-05-0032-06-eng

(eff. 10/12)







