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 VBOA Policy #4 

TITLE: Continuing Professional Education Guidelines for CPAs 

EFFECTIVE DATE: September 30, 2019 

AUTHORITY: Code of Virginia §§ 54.1-4409.2 and 54.1-4413.2 and VBOA regulations 18VAC5-22-90 

and 18VAC5-22-140 

POLICY STATEMENT: Specific CPE requirements of the Virginia Board of Accountancy (VBOA) are listed in the 

authority sections named above. This policy details the CPE guidelines approved by the 

VBOA. 

 General guidelines 

 Persons who hold a Virginia license must obtain 120 hours of CPE during a rolling three-

calendar-year reporting period. For each calendar year within the reporting period, the 

person must obtain a minimum of 20 hours of CPE that must include the two-hour 

Virginia-Specific Ethics Course. If the person releases or authorizes the release of reports 

on attest services, compilation services, or financial statement preparation services 

during the calendar year, the person must obtain a minimum of eight hours of CPE related 

to those services in that same calendar year, which are included as part of the annual 

minimum and reporting period minimum.  

 CPE requirements for persons who have been newly issued a Virginia license can be found 

in VBOA regulation 18VAC5-22-90(B). CPE requirements for a person wishing to reinstate 

a Virginia license or wishing to transition the status of their Virginia license from Inactive 

back to Active can be found in VBOA regulation 18VAC5-22-90(C). 

 The VBOA recognizes that 50 minutes of CPE participation equals one hour of CPE.  

Conversion of semester hours or quarter hours from an accredited college or university 

into hours of CPE can be found in VBOA regulation 18VAC5-22-90(F)(3).CPE requirements 

may be adjusted depending upon when a person who holds a Virginia license begins or 

ceases to provide services to the public or to or on behalf of an employer in accordance 

with VBOA regulation 18VAC5-22-90. Specific questions may be addressed by contacting 

the VBOA. All persons who hold a Virginia license have until January 31 to complete the 

previous calendar year’s CPE requirements. 

 Virginia-Specific Ethics Course 

 The VBOA requires that all people who hold a Virginia license complete on an annual basis 

a Virginia-Specific Ethics Course that complies with VBOA regulation 18VAC5-22-90, 

unless the person has been granted the Inactive status for their Virginia license or the 

VBOA has granted a waiver of this requirement. The two-hour Virginia-Specific Ethics 

Course is a separate and distinct annual requirement from the one-time American 

Institute of Certified Public Accountants ethics course needed for initial licensure. 
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 People who hold a Virginia license must complete this course no later than January 31 of 

each year to meet the previous calendar-year requirement. No sponsor may provide 

the annual ethics course later than January 31 for the previous calendar year. 

 The VBOA may contract with one or more vendors to provide the content/material for 

the Virginia-Specific Ethics Course, under the provisions of the Virginia Public 

Procurement Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-4300 et seq.). The ethics course content/material 

must follow an annual outline approved by the VBOA. The VBOA will post on its website 

the selected provider(s) of the content/material for the Virginia-Specific Ethics Course. 

 The course must be instructor-led but may be presented in a variety of different formats 

including, but not limited to, live seminars, conference sessions, online self-study 

presented by an instructor, live webcast and webcast replays, on-demand webcast and 

in-house training. 

 It is the responsibility of a person who holds a Virginia license to ensure that sponsors 

providing the Virginia-Specific Ethics Course are listed on the VBOA’s website as an 

approved sponsor of this course. 

 People who hold a Virginia license must also ensure that sponsors provide a certificate of 

completion or some other form of documentation that includes the sponsor’s name, 

participant’s name, course/content name, date taken and hours of CPE earned. 

 If a person who holds a Virginia license is not satisfied with the content of the course or 

the instructor, the person is encouraged to contact the VBOA. A person who holds a 

Virginia license will not be deemed to have met the annual ethics requirement if they 

complete a Virginia-Specific Ethics Course from a non-approved sponsor. 

 Qualifying CPE other than the Virginia-Specific Ethics Course 

 It is the intent of the VBOA that all CPE (1) meet the requirements of VBOA regulations 

18VAC5-22-90 and 18VAC5-22-140; (2) provide course content pertinent to the 

profession; and (3) assist the person who holds a Virginia license in becoming a better 

accounting professional. The VBOA accepts CPE obtained through a variety of forums, 

providing that the person who holds a Virginia license is able to demonstrate that learning 

objectives were met. 

A variety of continuing professional education is acceptable, as specified in VBOA 

regulation 18VAC5-22-90(E).  

The VBOA will determine on a case-by-case basis the acceptability of other forums for CPE 

not otherwise specified in regulation. Restrictions on specific forums for CPE are found in 

VBOA regulation 18VAC5-22-90(F). Acceptance of hours of CPE is at the discretion of the 

VBOA. 
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The VBOA has also approved that Continuing Education (CE), Continuing Education Units 

(CEU), Continuing Legal Education (CLE), Continuing Medical Education (CME), and 

Quality Assurance Service (QAS) are acceptable as hours of CPE. 

 

With the exception of the Virginia-Specific Ethics Course, the VBOA does not currently 

require people who hold a Virginia license to obtain CPE from specific or approved 

sponsors. 

 CPE reporting period 

The VBOA uses a rolling three calendar-year period to determine CPE compliance. This 

period includes the three calendar-years prior to the current calendar-year. For example, 

if asked by the VBOA to produce evidence of CPE compliance, submit such evidence for 

the three calendar-years prior to the current calendar-year. 

 CPE compliance reviews 

 On a monthly basis, the VBOA randomly selects people who hold a Virginia license for CPE 

compliance. The VBOA will notify licensees selected for a CPE compliance review. If 

selected, a person will be required to submit acceptable CPE documentation to verify 

compliance through a means determined by the VBOA. As a function of this CPE review 

process, a person may be required to provide additional documentation as requested by 

the VBOA to support compliance. 

In addition to the random selection process, people who hold a Virginia license will also 

be selected for a CPE compliance review as a component of any open investigation or 

enforcement case or in situations where the VBOA believes that a CPE compliance review 

is warranted. 

People who hold a Virginia license should not submit CPE documentation during the 

annual renewal process unless specifically requested by the VBOA. 

 CPE documentation requirements 

 Required documentation can generally be satisfied by providing: 

• Certificates of completion or some other form of documentation from the CPE 

sponsor(s) including the sponsor(s)’ name, participant’s name, course/content name, 

date taken and hours of CPE earned. 

• Official transcript of the college or university for earning course credit at an 

accredited college or university. 

• Syllabus/agenda and signed statement indicating the length of the presentation when 

making a presentation. 

• Copy of published article, book or written material (or proof of publication) when 

producing written material relevant to CPAs who provide services to the public or to 

or on behalf of an employer. 
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 The VBOA has restrictions on the types of documentation it regards as acceptable. The 

VBOA will not accept receipts, registration confirmations, canceled checks, outlines, 

PowerPoint presentations or sign-in sheets, etc., as valid CPE documentation. 

Retention requirements for CPE documentation 

People who hold a Virginia license must retain CPE documentation for the four calendar-

years preceding the current calendar-year. 

 CPE violations 

As the result of a CPE compliance review, the VBOA may find that a person who holds a 

Virginia license has violated the CPE requirements during the reporting period. In such 

cases, enforcement action may be taken and the person will generally be offered a 

consent order and be subject to disciplinary action. 

A person who holds a Virginia license may also determine on their own, outside of a CPE 

compliance review, that they are deficient in CPE for a specific reporting period. The 

person should notify the VBOA immediately when it is determined that a CPE deficiency 

has occurred. 

In accordance with VBOA regulation 18VAC5-22-90(G), depending on the facts and 

circumstances, the VBOA may waive all or part of the CPE requirement for one or more 

calendar-years or grant additional time for complying with the CPE requirement, provided 

that the waiver or deferral is in the public interest. However, requests for a waiver or a 

deferral must generally be received in advance of the deadline for CPE completion. It is 

the policy of the VBOA that such waivers or deferrals generally be considered only in 

situations resulting from extreme medical hardship or active military deployment. 

Requests for a waiver or deferral made under this section will be considered on a case- 

by-case basis. Such approvals are rare. 

APPROVAL AND REVIEW: This VBOA policy was reviewed on September 30, 2019. 

SUPPRESSION: This VBOA policy replaces Board Policy #4 that was approved on December 4, 2018. 

VBOA CHAIR AT 

LAST REVIEW: D. Brian Carson, CPA, CGMA, Chair 

VBOA MEMBERS AT 

LAST REVIEW: Laurie A. Warwick, CPA, Vice Chair 

 Matthew P. Bosher 

 W. Barclay Bradshaw, CPA 

 William R. Brown, CPA 

 Nadia A. Rogers, CPA 

 Stephanie S. Saunders, CPA 

  

EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR: Nancy J. Glynn, CPA 


