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VIRGINIA BOARD OF SOCIAL WORK 
 

DISPOSITION OF DISCIPLINARY CASES INVOLVING PRACTICING WITH AN 

EXPIRED LICENSE 

 

 
The Board of Social Work (“Board”) delegates to the Executive Director for the Board the 
authority to offer a prehearing consent order to resolve disciplinary cases in which a Licensed 
Baccalaureate Social Worker (LBSW), a Licensed Master’s Social Worker (LMSW), or 
Licensed Clinical Social Worker (LCSW) has been found to be practicing with an expired 
license. 
 

Disciplinary Action for Practicing with an Expired License 

The Board adopts the following guidelines for resolution of cases of practicing with an expired 
license: 
 

Cause Possible Action 

First offense; 90 days or less 
Confidential Consent Agreement;  

 

First offense; 91 days to one year 
Consent Order; Reprimand;  

Monetary Penalty of $500 

First offense; more than one year 
Consent Order; Reprimand;  

Monetary Penalty of $1,000 

First offense; more than two years 
Consent Order; Reprimand;  

Monetary Penalty of $1,500 

First offense; more than five years 
Consent Order; Reprimand;  

Monetary Penalty of $2,000 

Second offense 
Consent Order; Reprimand;  

Monetary Penalty of $3,000 

 
In order to engage in the practice of social work, it shall be necessary to hold a license in 
accordance with Code of Virginia § 54.1-3706 unless the practice setting is exempt from the 
requirements for licensure as outlined in Code of Virginia § 54.1-3701. 


