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Virginia Board of Nursing 
 

Noncompliance with Board Orders by Individual Licensees 
 

The Board of Nursing may order licensees under terms of continued practice that may include 

probation with terms, paying a monetary penalty, completing courses, submitting to an 

evaluation (mental health, substance misuse, neurological, and/or physical) and/or entering into 

and complying with the Health Practitioner’s Monitoring Program (“HPMP”).  

  

When such licensees do not comply with the terms stated in said Order, they are deemed 

“noncompliant” and may be scheduled for an administrative proceeding to consider further 

disciplinary action up to and including suspension or revocation of a license.   

 

 Alternatively, the Board authorizes professional discipline staff to offer a prehearing consent 

order for certain types of noncompliance in lieu of conducting an administrative proceeding. 

Guidance regarding typical Board action(s) for the types of non-compliance are as follows: 

 

Type(s) of Non-Compliance Typical Board Action(s) 

1. Failure to pay monetary penalty within specified 

time in Order (or granted extension) 

Reprimand and indefinite suspension  

2. Failure to submit verification of completing 

course(s), watching video, or other remedial 

term(s) within specified time in Order (or granted 

extension) 

Reprimand and indefinite suspension  

3. Failure to obtain and submit evidence of an 

evaluation (mental health, substance misuse, 

neurological, and/or physical) within time 

specified in Order (or granted extension) 

Reprimand and indefinite suspension  

4. Failure to comply with treatment 

recommendations within 60 days following an 

evaluation (mental health, substance misuse, 

neurological, and/or physical) 

Reprimand and indefinite suspension  

5. Failure to enter the Virginia HPMP within time 

specified in Order (or granted extension) 

Reprimand and indefinite suspension, 

which may be stayed upon HPMP entry.   

Note: The Board may also consider 

other justifiable facts for an alternative 

action (i.e., Reprimand and place on 

probation with similar monitoring 

terms) 

6. Noncompliance constituting dismissal from 

HPMP when a Board order required entry into 

and remaining in compliance with HPMP 

Reprimand and indefinite suspension 
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7. Noncompliant, but evidence shows licensee is 

back in compliance with terms of Order by the 

time of the proceeding 

Reprimand and extend length of 

monitoring equivalent to the period the 

licensee was noncompliant.   

Second instance results in indefinite 

suspension. 

8. Noncompliant on probation with late reports on 

more than three (3) occasions 

Reprimand and extend length of 

monitoring for 6 months.  

Second instance results in indefinite 

suspension. 

 

9. One positive urine drug screen test, without 

appropriate prescription documentation 

Reprimand and extend length of 

monitoring for 6 months and increase 

frequency of urine drug screening.  

Second instance results in indefinite 

suspension. 

10. Two or more positive urine drug screen tests, 

without appropriate prescription documentation 

Reprimand and indefinite suspension 

11. Failure to contact Compliance staff within 60 

days of entry of the Order and no evidence of 

compliance with any term of the Order 

 

Reprimand and indefinite suspension 

12. No evidence of compliance with any term of the 

Order for any six-month period of monitoring 

(any two quarters of reports). 

 

Reprimand and indefinite suspension 

13. Failure to comply within five (5) years with all 

terms of a probation Order (This does not apply to 

HPMP orders.) 

Reprimand and indefinite suspension 
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