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Issue

In accordance with 18 VAC 48-70-100 of the Common Interest Community
Ombudsman Regulations, the Board may waive or refund the $25 filing fee that
must accompany the Notice of Final Adverse Decision. Such waiver or refund is
permitted if the Board finds that the payment of the filing fee will cause undue
harm or financial hardship. The Request for Waiver of Filing Fee Form currently
requests an explanation as to why paying the filing fee would cause undue
financial hardship.

In order to provide an objective method for determining the
appropriateness of waiving or refunding the filing fee, the Board requested at its
June 27, 2013, Board meeting that staff conduct research and prepare a
recommendation wherein the federal poverty guidelines be used as the basis for
determining financial hardship.

Il. Applicable Regulations and Statutes

18 VAC 48-70-100 of the Common Interest Community Ombudsman
Regulations states:

“In accordance with 8 55-530 F of the Code of Virginia, the board
may, for good cause shown, waive or refund the filing fee upon a
finding that payment of the filing fee will cause undue financial
hardship for the complainant.”

8 55-530.F of the Code of Virginia states:

“A complainant may give notice to the Board of any final adverse
decision in accordance with regulations promulgated by the Board. The
notice shall be filed within 30 days of the final adverse decision, shall
be in writing on forms prescribed by the Board, shall include copies of
all records pertinent to the decision, and shall be accompanied by a
$25 filing fee. The fee shall be collected by the Director and paid
directly into the state treasury and credited to the Common Interest
Community Management Information Fund, 8§ 55-530.1. The Board
may, for good cause shown, waive or refund the filing fee upon a



finding that payment of the filing fee will cause undue financial
hardship for the member. The Director shall provide a copy of the
written notice to the association that made the final adverse decision.”

Policy

The U.S. Department of Health & Human Services (HHS) Poverty
Guidelines will be used by the Board to establish the threshold for
whether a filing fee will be waived or refunded as a result of
financial hardship. The Poverty Guidelines for the most recent or
current, whichever is applicable, calendar year will be used. The
HHS Poverty Guidelines can be found at http://www.aspe.hhs.gov/.

In order to determine whether an individual requesting the waiver or
refund of the filing fee is at or below the HHS Poverty Guidelines,
he shall be required to submit supporting documentation that
provides proof of income. Such documentation may include:

e Recent tax return form

o W-2 form

e Letter from an employer, welfare officer, case worker, or
Social Security Administration office indicating annual
income. Such letter must be on agency/company letterhead
and must include the verifier's signature and contact phone
number for verification purposes.

The Board authorizes staff to approve a waiver or refund of the
filing fee if proof of income submitted is at or below the then-current
HHS Poverty Guidelines. Board staff may request additional
information as needed in order to ensure compliance with this
policy. Should Board staff be unable to satisfactorily affirm that the
proof of income submitted complies with this policy, the request for
waiver or refund will not be approved. The individual requesting a
waiver or refund, or Board staff, may request that the Board
consider the request for waiver or refund in the event that the
supporting documentation is not sufficient or a determination
cannot be reasonably made based on the information submitted.

In accordance with the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (8 2.2-
3700 et seq.), the referenced supporting documentation is exempt
from public disclosure.



