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Regulations for Filing and Publishing Agency Regulations (1 VAC7-10), and the Virginia Register Form, Style, and Procedure 
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Brief Summary 
  

 

Please provide a brief summary (preferably no more than 2 or 3 paragraphs) of this regulatory change (i.e., new 
regulation, amendments to an existing regulation, or repeal of an existing regulation). Alert the reader to all 
substantive matters. If applicable, generally describe the existing regulation.   
              

 

This action is necessary to correct a technical error and is therefore exempt from the 

requirements of the Administrative Process Act (APA) under §2.2-4006.A.3. 

 

The purpose of amending the Administrative Regulation is to update regulatory language to reflect 

a legislative change that took effect on July 1, 2016.   

 

Action by the General Assembly during the 2016 Session amended §40.1-51.1.D of the Code of 

Virginia, to match the federal OSHA regulatory changes to 29CFR1904.39(a)(2) which required 

employers: 
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“Within twenty-four (24) hours after the in-patient hospitalization of one or more employees 

or an employee's amputation or an employee's loss of an eye, as a result of a work-related 

incident, you must report the in-patient hospitalization, amputation, or loss of an eye to 

OSHA.” 

  

Governor McAuliffe signed the legislation with an effective date of July 1, 2016.  The legislation 

mirrors the language contained in 29CFR1904.39: 

 

“§ 40.1-51.1. Duties of employers. 

…. 

D. Every employer shall report to the Virginia Department of Labor and Industry within eight 

hours any work-related incident resulting in a fatality or within 24 hours any work-related 

incident resulting in (i) the inpatient hospitalization of one or more persons, (ii) an 

amputation, or (iii) the loss of an eye, as prescribed in the rules and regulations of the Safety 

and Health Codes Board.” 

 

VOSH’s Administrative Regulation contained one reference to §40.1-51.1.D which has never been 

updated to reflect the 2016 legislative change: 

 

 “16VAC25-60-260. Issuance of citation and proposed penalty. 

 …. 

 A. 

 ….   

3. Notwithstanding subdivision 1 of this subsection, if an employer fails to notify the 

commissioner of any work-related incident resulting in a fatality or in the in-patient 

hospitalization of three or more persons within eight hours of such occurrence as required 

by § 40.1-51.1 D of the Code of Virginia, the six-month timeframe shall not be deemed to 

commence until the commissioner receives actual notice of the incident.” (Emphasis added). 

 
 

The final regulation, 16VAC25-60-260.A.3, is amended to reflect the 2016 legislative change to 

§40.1-51.1.D as follows: 

 

3. Notwithstanding subdivision 1 of this subsection, if an employer fails to notify the 

commissioner within eight hours of any work-related incident resulting in a fatality or within 

24 hours of any work-related incident resulting in (i) the in-patient hospitalization of three 

one or more persons, (ii) an amputation, or (iii) the loss of any eye, within eight hours of such 

occurrence as required by § 40.1-51.1 D of the Code of Virginia, the six-month timeframe 

shall not be deemed to commence until the commissioner receives actual notice of the 

incident. 

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/40.1-51.1/
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Mandate and Impetus 
 

 

Please identify the mandate for this regulatory change, and any other impetus that specifically prompted its initiation 
(e.g., new or modified mandate, internal staff review, petition for rulemaking, periodic review, board decision, etc.). 
“Mandate” is defined as “a directive from the General Assembly, the federal government, or a court that requires that 
a regulation be promulgated, amended, or repealed in whole or part.”  
              

Under 29 CFR 1953.5(a), where a Federal program change is a new permanent standard, or a more 

stringent amendment to an existing permanent standard, the State shall promulgate a State standard 

adopting such new Federal standard, or more stringent amendment to an existing Federal standard, or an 

at least as effective equivalent thereof, within six months of the date of promulgation of the new Federal 

standard or more stringent amendment. 

 

 
 

 

Statement of Final Agency Action 
 

 

Please provide a statement of the final action taken by the agency including: 1) the date the action was taken; 2) the 
name of the agency taking the action; and 3) the title of the regulation. 
              

 

On March 5, 2020 the Safety and Health Codes Board adopted, as a final regulation of the Board, the 

attached final amendments to 16VAC25-60-260.A.3, Administrative Regulation for the Virginia 

Occupational Safety and Health (VOSH) Program, Duties of employers, in accordance with the authority of 

the Board under §40.1-22(5) and the requirements of the Administrative Process Act §2.2-4000, et seq. 
 

 



 

 

 

16VAC25-60-260, Administrative Regulation for the  

Virginia Occupational Safety and Health (VOSH) Program, Miscellaneous Changes 
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Part VI 

Citation and Penalty 

 

16VAC25-60-260. Issuance of citation and proposed penalty.  

A. Each citation shall be in writing and describe with particularity the nature of the violation or 

violations, including a reference to the appropriate safety or health provision of Title 40.1 of the 

Code of Virginia or the appropriate rule, regulation, or standard. In addition, the citation must fix 

a reasonable time for abatement of the violation. The commissioner shall have authority to 

propose penalties for cited violations in accordance with § 40.1-49.4 of the Code of Virginia and 

this chapter. The citation will contain substantially the following: "NOTICE: This citation will 

become a final order of the commissioner unless contested within fifteen working days from the 

date of receipt by the employer." The citation may be delivered to the employer or his agent by 

the commissioner or may be sent by certified mail or by personal service to an officer or agent of 

the employer or to the registered agent if the employer is a corporation. 

No citation may be issued after the expiration of six months following the occurrence of any 

alleged violation. The six-month timeframe is deemed to be tolled on the date the citation is 

issued by the commissioner, without regard for when the citation is received by the employer. 

For purposes of calculating the six-month timeframe for citation issuance, the following 

requirements shall apply: 

1. The six-month timeframe begins to run on the day after the incident or event occurred or 

notice was received by the commissioner (as specified in subdivisions 1 through 5 of this 

subsection), in accordance with § 1-210 A of the Code of Virginia. The word "month" shall be 

construed to mean one calendar month in accordance with § 1-223 of the Code of Virginia. 

2. An alleged violation is deemed to have "occurred" on the day it was initially created by 

commission or omission on the part of the creating employer, and every day thereafter that it 

remains in existence uncorrected. 

3. Notwithstanding subdivision 1 of this subsection, if an employer fails to notify the 

commissioner within eight  hours of any work-related incident resulting in a fatality or within 

24 hours of any work-related incident resulting in (i) the in-patient hospitalization of three one 

or more persons, (ii) an amputation, or (iii) the loss of any eye, within eight hours of such 

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/40.1-49.4/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/1-210/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/1-223/
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occurrence as required by § 40.1-51.1 D of the Code of Virginia, the six-month timeframe shall 

not be deemed to commence until the commissioner receives actual notice of the incident. 

4. Notwithstanding subdivision 1 of this subsection, if the commissioner is first notified of a 

work-related incident resulting in an injury or illness to an employee or employees through 

receipt of an Employer's Accident Report (EAR) form from the Virginia Workers' Compensation 

Commission as provided in § 65.2-900 of the Code of Virginia, the six-month timeframe shall 

not be deemed to commence until the commissioner actually receives the EAR form. 

5. Notwithstanding subdivision 1 of this subsection, if the commissioner is first notified of a 

work-related hazard, or incident resulting in an injury or illness to an employee or employees, 

through receipt of a complaint in accordance with 16VAC25-60-100 or referral, the six-month 

timeframe shall not be deemed to commence until the commissioner actually receives the 

complaint or referral. 

B. A citation issued under subsection A of this section to an employer who violates any VOSH law, 

standard, rule or regulation shall be vacated if such employer demonstrates that: 

1. Employees of such employer have been provided with the proper training and equipment 

to prevent such a violation; 

2. Work rules designed to prevent such a violation have been established and adequately 

communicated to employees by such employer and have been effectively enforced when such 

a violation has been discovered; 

3. The failure of employees to observe work rules led to the violation; and 

4. Reasonable steps have been taken by such employer to discover any such violation. 

C. For the purposes of subsection B of this section only, the term "employee" shall not include 

any officer, management official or supervisor having direction, management control or custody 

of any place of employment which was the subject of the violative condition cited. 

D. The penalties as set forth in § 40.1-49.4 of the Code of Virginia shall also apply to violations 

relating to the requirements for recordkeeping, reports or other documents filed or required to 

be maintained and to posting requirements. 

E. In determining the amount of the proposed penalty for a violation the commissioner will 

ordinarily be guided by the system of penalty adjustment set forth in the VOSH Field Operations 

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/40.1-51.1/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/65.2-900/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title16/agency25/chapter60/section100/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/40.1-49.4/
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Manual. In any event the commissioner shall consider the gravity of the violation, the size of the 

business, the good faith of the employer, and the employer's history of previous violations. 

The commissioner shall have authority to propose civil penalties to public employers for willful, 

repeat, and failure-to-abate violations in accordance with subsections I and J of § 40.1-49.4, and 

for serious violations that cause death to an employee or are classified as high gravity in 

accordance with subsection H of § 40.1-49.4. 

F. On multi-employer worksites for all covered industries, citations shall normally be issued to an 

employer whose employee is exposed to an occupational hazard (the exposing employer). 

Additionally, the following employers shall normally be cited, whether or not their own 

employees are exposed: 

1. The employer who actually creates the hazard (the creating employer); 

2. The employer who is either: 

a. Responsible, by contract or through actual practice, for safety and health conditions on 

the entire worksite, and has the authority for ensuring that the hazardous condition is 

corrected (the controlling employer); or 

b. Responsible, by contract or through actual practice, for safety and health conditions for 

a specific area of the worksite, or specific work practice, or specific phase of a construction 

project, and has the authority for ensuring that the hazardous condition is corrected (the 

controlling employer); or 

3. The employer who has the responsibility for actually correcting the hazard (the correcting 

employer). 

G. A citation issued under subsection F of this section to an exposing employer who violates any 

VOSH law, standard, rule or regulation shall be vacated if such employer demonstrates that: 

1. The employer did not create the hazard; 

2. The employer did not have the responsibility or the authority to have the hazard corrected; 

3. The employer did not have the ability to correct or remove the hazard; 

4. The employer can demonstrate that the creating, the controlling or the correcting 

employers, as appropriate, have been specifically notified of the hazards to which his 

employees were exposed; 

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/40.1-49.4/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/40.1-49.4/
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5. The employer has instructed his employees to recognize the hazard and, where necessary, 

informed them how to avoid the dangers associated with it; 

6. Where feasible, an exposing employer must have taken appropriate alternative means of 

protecting employees from the hazard; and 

7. When extreme circumstances justify it, the exposing employer shall have removed his 

employees from the job. 

H. The commissioner's burden of proving the basis for a VOSH citation, penalty, or order of 

abatement is by a preponderance of the evidence. 

I. The burden of proof in establishing an affirmative defense to a VOSH citation resides with the 

employer. 

 


