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Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation 

As permitted by Chapter 405 of the 2012 Acts of the Assembly, the Real Estate Appraisal 

Board (Board) proposes to promulgate new regulations for the licensure of real estate appraisal 

management companies.   

Result of Analysis 

There is insufficient information to ascertain whether benefits will outweigh costs for 

these proposed regulations. 

Estimated Economic Impact 

Legislative History: 

In 2010, the United States Congress passed the Dodd-Frank Wall Street Reform and 

Consumer Protection Act (Dodd-Frank). This act, among other things, requires states to register 

appraisal management companies and also requires a group of governmental entities to jointly 

establish minimal requirements that states must apply to such registration.1 Dodd-Frank 

mandates that regulations promulgated by these federal entities: 

1) Require that appraisal management companies register with, and be supervised by, a state 

appraiser certifying and licensing agency in each state in which companies operate, 

2) Verify that only licensed or certified appraisers are used for federally related transactions, 

                                                 
1 The Board of Governors for the Federal Reserve System, the Comptroller of the Currency, representatives of the 
Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation, the National Credit Union Administration Board, representatives of the 
Federal Housing Finance Agency and representatives of the Bureau of Consumer Financial Protection (that was 
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3) Require that appraisals coordinated by an appraisal management company comply with 

the Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice and 

4) Require that appraisals are conducted independently and free from inappropriate 

influence and coercion. 

Dodd-Frank states that no appraisal management company may perform services that are related 

to federal transactions in a state that has not set up a registration program that complies with 

Dodd-Frank 36 months after federal regulations are promulgated and in their final form. Dodd-

Frank also allows a 12 month extension to the 36 month time limit for states that have made 

substantial progress in establishing an appraisal management company registration program. 

Board staff reports that, to their knowledge, the federal entities tasked with promulgation of 

federal regulations have not yet begun to write them. 

In 2012, the Virginia General Assembly passed H210 which amended some rules for 

appraisers and appraisal management companies and added §54.1-2021.1 to the Code of 

Virginia. §54.1-2021.1 states that “(b)eginning July 1, 2014, the Board may issue a license to do 

business as an appraisal management company…” and goes on to list required information for an 

application for licensure and some requirements for bond that are conditioned upon companies 

applying for licensure. Neither Chapter 405 nor any other part of the Code of Virginia requires 

appraisal management companies to be licensed by the Board to do business. Additionally, the 

Code of Virginia does not currently make unlicensed practice for appraisal management 

companies a crime with punishments attached. Given the permissive but not mandatory nature of 

the language that allows licensure, the lack of other licensure requirements in the Code of 

Virginia and the Board’s lack of authority to punish unlicensed individuals or companies, the 

Board sought counsel from the Attorney General’s office which advised that the licensure 

program proposed by the Board in these regulations cannot be enforced against companies that 

decide not to be licensed. This program will be, in effect, voluntary. 

Although Chapter 405 does not create or authorize a mandatory licensure program, other 

parts of the Code do meet three of the four requirements that Dodd-Frank lays out for federal 

regulations. Licensure for real estate appraisers is mandatory and, since 1992, §54.1-2011 has 

                                                                                                                                                             
newly formed by the Dodd-Frank Act) are jointly tasked with establishing minimum registration requirements for 
appraisal management companies. 
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explicitly stated that only licensed appraisers may perform appraisals in connection with a 

federally related transaction (#2 on the list above). §54.1-2022 appears to require that appraisal 

management companies follow the Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice as 

required by #3 on the list. §54.1-2022 also explicitly states that “(n)o employee, director, officer, 

or agent of an appraisal management company shall influence or attempt to influence the 

development, reporting, result or review of a real estate appraisal through coercion, extortion, 

collusion, compensation, inducement, intimidation, bribery or in any other manner…” and goes 

on to list some, but not all, specific acts that are prohibited; this language in Code would seem to 

handily satisfy the requirements in #4 on the list above.  

If three of the four requirements for appraisal management companies that are explicitly 

listed in Dodd-Frank are already in the Code of Virginia, and absent the federal regulating 

agencies adding any other requirements in the yet to be promulgated federal regulations, Virginia 

might only have to require registration of appraisal management companies, similar to what is 

currently required for appraisal companies formed by independent licensed appraisers, in order 

to meet all requirements of Dodd-Frank.  

Proposed Regulatory Requirements:  

 As allowed by Chapter 405 of the 2012 Acts of the Assembly, the Board now proposes to 

promulgate new regulations for licensure of appraisal management companies that operate in 

Virginia. These regulations will: 

1) Define terms that are not already defined in the statute, 

2) Create application procedures to list qualifications for appraisal management company 

licensure including requiring: 

o  A listing of the company’s designated responsible person and controlling person 

information,  

o A $25,000 bond or letter of credit requirements (as required of licensees in §54.1-

2021.1) and  

o Disclosure of any past felony conviction, any misdemeanor convictions in the five 

years immediately prior to application for licensure and any disciplinary action 

information for responsible persons, controlling persons and any individual who 

owns 10% or more of an appraisal management company. 
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3) Establish a licensure fee of $490 plus the National Registry fee of $50 per appraiser 

employed by or contracting with a firm, a renewal fee of $300 plus the National Registry 

fee of $50 per appraiser, and a reinstatement fee of $790 plus the National Registry fee of 

$50 per appraiser, 

4) Describe requirements for biennial renewal and reinstatement, including qualifications, 

procedures and fees, status of license during the time prior to reinstatement, and board 

discretion to deny renewal or reinstatement, 

5) List grounds for disciplinary action, license maintenance requirements, and prohibited 

acts, 

6) Specify that a change of business entity requires a new license and that licenses may not 

be transferred from one entity to another, 

7) Clarify that licensees are required to notify the board of certain adverse actions, like 

criminal convictions or regulatory disciplinary actions, taken against any individual who 

is required to report such adverse actions on an application for licensure and 

8) Mandate that licensees respond to the board’s requests for information and provide 

records within certain timeframes. 

All proposed regulatory requirements will only apply to licensees. As noted above, licensure 

under these proposed regulations will, in effect, be voluntary absent some changes to the Code of 

Virginia. Absent those changes, appraisal management companies will likely not have an 

incentive to become licensed until at least 36 months after federal regulations are promulgated 

when they would lose the right to perform services related to federal transactions if they are not 

registered with the state. 

 Individuals who choose to be licensed under these proposed regulations will incur time 

and possibly copying costs on account of having to compile and send information required as a 

part of the initial and renewal application processes. Companies who choose to be licensed will 

incur costs for the $25,000 bond or letter of credit that legislation requires they carry as security 

against claims due to poor service or non-payment of monies owed for contracted appraisal 

services. Companies will also incur costs for licensure fees listed above plus payment of a 

National Registry fee for each appraiser that works for or with them. Board staff reports that the 

Board does not have information about how many appraisers, on average, work for any particular 

appraisal management company but that they would estimate that 90% of appraisers work in 
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some capacity for such companies. Information available on the Department of Professional and 

Occupational Regulation’s (DPOR) website indicates that there are approximately 3,390 real 

estate appraisers that hold a current active license from the Board; 90% of this would be 

approximately 3,055. This number multiplied by $50 (or $152,730) will approximate the total 

biennial costs for fees paid to the National Registry if all 150 appraisal management companies 

in the Commonwealth chose to be licensed (approximately $1,018 per firm). These costs would 

need to be weighed against any benefit that accrues to the public if appraisal management firms 

act in a more ethical, less profligate manner on account of licensure. 

Businesses and Entities Affected 

Board staff reports that there are approximately 150 appraisal management companies in 

the Commonwealth, all of which would qualify as small businesses. Any of these companies that 

choose to be licensed will be affected by these proposed regulations. 

Localities Particularly Affected 

No locality will be particularly affected by this proposed regulatory action. 

Projected Impact on Employment 

Right now, firms are unlikely to choose licensure unless the benefits of being licensed 

outweigh its costs. Accordingly, these proposed regulations are unlikely to have an adverse 

impact on employment. In the future, if licensure is required by the state or when Dodd-Frank 

bans firms from performing services relating to federal transactions if they are not registered 

with the state, the costs of licensure may cause appraisal management companies to hire or 

contract with fewer appraisers. At that time, appraisal management firms that are only 

marginally attached to the market place may choose to stop working in appraisal management 

altogether.  

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property 

As a voluntary program, these proposed regulations are unlikely to affect the use or value 

of private property in the Commonwealth. If licensure becomes required or when Dodd-Frank 

bans firms from performing services relating to federal transactions if they are not registered 

with the state, the costs of licensure may have a negative effect on the value of private firms.   
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Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects 

Currently, small businesses that choose to be licensed under these proposed regulations 

will incur costs for licensure fees, National Registry fees and for gathering and transmitting 

information required for licensure applications. These businesses will also incur costs associated 

with getting and keeping the $25,000 bond or letter of credit required by §54.1-2021.1.  

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact 

Since it appears that most of the requirements for appraisal management companies in 

Dodd-Frank are already met by language in the Code of Virginia, the Board or the General 

Assembly may wish to consider only requiring registration with the Board rather than moving 

toward requiring licensure of all companies if such a registration program would be less costly 

for regulated entities.  

Real Estate Development Costs 

At this time, this regulatory action will likely have no effect on real estate development 

costs in the Commonwealth. 

Legal Mandate 

The Department of Planning and Budget (DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this 

proposed regulation in accordance with Section 2.2-4007.04 of the Administrative Process Act 

and Executive Order Number 14 (10).  Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 

analyses include, but need not be limited to, a determination of the public benefit, the projected 

number of businesses or other entities to whom the regulation would apply, the identity of any 

localities and types of businesses or other entities particularly affected, the projected number of 

persons and employment positions to be affected, the projected costs to affected businesses or 

entities to implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact on the use and value of 

private property.  Further, if the proposed regulation has an adverse effect on small businesses, 

Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses include (i) an identification and 

estimate of the number of small businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected reporting, 

recordkeeping, and other administrative costs required for small businesses to comply with the 

regulation, including the type of professional skills necessary for preparing required reports and 

other documents; (iii) a statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected small 
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businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive or less costly alternative methods of 

achieving the purpose of the regulation.  The analysis presented above represents DPB’s best 

estimate of these economic impacts. 
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