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 The Department of Planning and Budget (DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this 

proposed regulation in accordance with Section 2.2-4007.G of the Administrative Process Act 

and Executive Order Number 21 (02).  Section 2.2-4007.G requires that such economic impact 

analyses include, but need not be limited to, the projected number of businesses or other entities 

to whom the regulation would apply, the identity of any localities and types of businesses or 

other entities particularly affected, the projected number of persons and employment positions to 

be affected, the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to implement or comply with the 

regulation, and the impact on the use and value of private property.  The analysis presented 

below represents DPB’s best estimate of these economic impacts. 

Summary of the Proposed Regulation 

 §18.2-308 of the Code of Virginia requires the Superintendent of State Police to 

promulgate regulations for the implementation of an application process for obtaining a non-

resident concealed handgun permit.  Chapter 900 of the 2004 Acts of Assembly amended the 

Code of Virginia to allow non-residents to apply for and obtain a concealed handgun carry 

permit.  The code amendment also established conditions under which such a permit may be 

issued. 

 The proposed regulation establishes conditions and procedures for the application, 

processing, and issuance of concealed handgun carry permits to non-residents.  Virginia State 

Police (VSP) has been issuing non-resident concealed handgun carry permits since July 1, 2004. 
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Estimated Economic Impact 

Description of Regulation: 

 Starting July 1, 2004, individuals from out of state are allowed to obtain a permit and 

carry a concealed handgun in Virginia.  Prior to this date, only Virginia residents were permitted 

to carry concealed handguns.  Concealed handgun carry permits are issued to residents by courts 

with jurisdiction over the applicant’s area of residence.  Permits to non-residents are issued by 

VSP.   

 In order to apply for a non-resident concealed handgun carry permit, individuals are 

required to submit an application package, including a completed application form, proof of 

identification, proof of competence with a handgun, fingerprints, two photographs, and a $100 

application fee.  Proof of competence with a handgun, fingerprints, and two photographs are 

required by code when applying for a non-resident concealed handgun carry permit.  In addition, 

the code caps the amount of fees that can be charged by VSP for the issuance of the permit at 

$100.  Individuals seeking a non-resident concealed handgun carry permit may request an 

application package from VSP.  The application package includes an application form, 

requirement and qualification information, a fingerprint card, a brochure on Virginia firearms 

safety and laws, a checklist, and a return envelope for the completed application.  As established 

in the Code of Virginia, the permit is to be issued for five years.  Renewal requirements are 

identical to the requirements for initial application.  The Code of Virginia also provides for 

reciprocity with other states that have similar gun laws.   

According to VSP, most of the permit requirements are similar to those required for the 

issuance of a resident concealed handgun carry permit.  A fingerprint check prior to issuing a 

resident permit is conducted based on whether it is required by local ordinance or not.  

According to VSP, courts in 36 jurisdictions currently require fingerprint checks for the issuance 

of a concealed handgun carry permit to residents.  The application fee for a resident permit is 

$50:  the court receives $10 for actually issuing the permit, the police or sheriff’s department 

receive $35 for running a criminal history background check, and the state police receive $5 to 

cover costs associated with receiving and entering data relating to the permit into the Virginia 

Criminal Information Network.  According to VSP, the state police’s share of the fees for 

resident concealed handgun carry permits are not adequate to cover the costs incurred.   
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Estimated Economic Impact: 

 The proposed regulation is likely to impose economic costs and produce economic 

benefits.  Individuals from out of state seeking to carry a concealed handgun in Virginia will now 

be required to obtain a permit.  In order to obtain a permit, individuals will be required to submit 

a $100 application fee.  They will also incur additional costs associated with meeting the other 

application requirements.  The Code of Virginia provides individuals with a number of options 

by which they can demonstrate their competence with a handgun, including completing training 

or safety courses offered by the various agencies and organizations, presenting evidence of 

equivalent experience with a firearm1, and obtaining or having previously held a license to carry 

a firearm in Virginia.  VSP estimates that the safety or training courses demonstrating 

competence with a handgun generally cost $50.  The cost of providing two photographs meeting 

the requirements of the proposed regulation is estimated by VSP to be $9.  Only those 

individuals for whom the costs associated with obtaining the permit are less than or equal to the 

benefits of doing so will choose to apply for the permit.   

 In addition to the cost to applicants, the proposed regulation will also impose costs on 

VSP.  During the first six months that this program has been in effect, it cost the agency $23, 506 

in employee salary costs.  The agency also incurs $1.06 in postage costs in response to requests 

for application packages and $0.35 in postage costs for completed permit applications.  The cost 

of issuing and laminating permit cards is approximately $0.51 per permit.  Finally, VSP incurs 

the costs associated with conducting the fingerprint check:  $37 in Federal Bureau of 

Investigation fingerprint processing costs and $24 in state police fingerprint processing costs.  

During the first six months that this program has been in effect, VSP received 1,415 requests for 

an application package and issued 412 permits.   

 Based on the number of applications and requests for applications received in the first six 

months, it will cost VSP a little over $100,000 on an annual basis to administer the program.2  

                                                 
1 Equivalent experience with a firearm can be demonstrated through participation in organized shooting 
competitions approved by VSP, current military service, or honorable discharge from any branch of the armed 
services.   
2 Extrapolating based on the first six months of data is likely to overestimate the number of requests for application 
packages and the number of permit applications received by VSP on an annual basis.  The most applications are 
likely to be received in the first few months of program operation.  Once the existing pent up demand for non-
resident concealed handgun carry permits is exhausted, requests for application packages and permit applications are 
likely to decline.    
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Application fees are likely to cover only a proportion of this cost.  Extrapolating based on the 

first six months that the program has been in effect, the agency can expect to receive a little over 

$82,000 in fees per year.  Thus, approximately 19% of the cost associated with administering the 

program will be incurred by VSP and, hence, the taxpayers.   

Non-residents seeking to carry concealed handguns have the potential to create a serious 

public safety hazard.  The aim of the concealed handgun carry permit program is to enforce 

certain compulsory minimum standards of training and to ensure that individuals permitted to 

carry a concealed handgun do not have a criminal history background that would disqualify them 

from obtaining a permit.  This, in turn, is intended to reduce the risk to public safety from such 

individuals.  The cost of obtaining a permit can be viewed as part of the compliance cost incurred 

by an individual to ensure that they do not jeopardize public safety.  Program revenues in the 

first six months of operation fell short non-residents seeking a concealed handgun carry permit 

are not paying the actual compliance cost associated with ensuring that they operate in a manner 

that is protective of public safety.   

 Transferring the entire cost of compliance to applicants seeking the permit will result in 

the more efficient use of resources.  With some of the cost being subsidized by VSP (and hence 

the taxpayers), non-residents seeking to carry a concealed handgun are not paying costs 

commensurate with the risk they pose to public safety.  This, in turn, could potentially result in 

more unsuitable and unqualified individuals applying for and obtaining permits than if fees 

reflected actual costs.  For example, lower compliance costs may result in a larger number of 

unqualified individuals applying for a permits than if permit costs were higher and reflected the 

actual cost to VSP in ensuring that some of the risk to public safety from these individuals is 

mitigated.  Increasing fees such that they better reflect costs will increase economic efficiency 

and result in a more efficient use of resources.   

Apart from the cost to applicants and VSP, the proposed regulation is also likely to have 

implications for public safety.  By allowing non-residents to apply for and obtain a permit to 

carry a concealed handgun, the proposed regulation could result in increased risk to public health 

and safety.  For example, an individual carrying a concealed handgun has the potential to cause 

injuries or fatalities, whether by accident or by design, through discharge of the weapon.  The 

cost in terms of public safety has to be weighed against the benefits of allowing individuals that 
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meet certain standards the opportunity to carry concealed handguns in a manner that is protective 

of public safety.  According to VSP, applicants for non-resident concealed handgun carry 

permits include individuals such as truck drivers whose profession requires them to travel across 

state lines, individuals transporting guns for recreational purposes such as to participate in gun 

shows, and gun fanciers and collectors.3  Such individuals were not allowed to carry concealed 

handguns in Virginia prior to July 1, 2004.  Allowing them to carry concealed handguns is likely 

to produce benefits for these individuals and related businesses in Virginia.     

The net economic impact of the proposed regulation will depend on the relative 

magnitude of the costs and benefits to the public from allowing non-residents to carry concealed 

handguns.  It is not possible at this time to precisely estimate the increase in risk to the public.  

However, based on the number of non-resident permits likely to be issued in any given year, the 

increase in risk is not likely to be very large.  According to VSP, an average of approximately 

30,000 resident concealed handgun carry permits were issued in each of the last three years.  

Even if we were to extrapolate based on the first six months of data and assume that VSP were to 

issue over 800 non-resident permits a year (a likely overestimate), it would still only account for 

a small proportion of concealed handgun carry permits issued by the state.  Given that the 

requirements for issuance of a resident and a non-resident permit are similar, the increase in risk 

to the public from issuing 2-3% additional permits to non-residents is not likely to be very large.  

In addition, VSP believes that many of the individuals regulated under this regulation would 

probably carry concealed handguns with or without this regulation.  By establishing training and 

other standards for individuals carrying concealed handguns, the proposed regulation could even 

produce some benefits for public safety.  An estimate of the benefits of allowing non-residents to 

carry concealed handguns in Virginia is also not possible at this time.  Such an estimate would 

require knowing the number of individuals and businesses likely to benefit from the proposed 

regulation and the magnitude of the benefit to them.  Thus, while it is not possible to determine 

the net economic impact of the proposed change, it is possible to state that the downside risk (in 

terms of the increased risk to the public) associated with the proposed regulation is not likely to 

be very large.   

                                                 
3 Federal law allows law enforcement officers to carry concealed handguns across state lines without having to 
obtain a non-resident concealed handgun carry permit.   
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Businesses and Entities Affected 

 The proposed regulation will affect all non-residents of Virginia seeking to carry a 

concealed handgun in the state.  They will now be required to meet training and other standards 

established in the Code of Virginia and the proposed regulation prior to being permitted to carry 

a concealed handgun. 

 In the first six months of operation of the non-resident concealed handgun carry permit 

program, VSP has issued 412 permits.  However, the number of applications and permits issued 

is not likely to continue at the same pace.  As pent up demand for non-resident concealed 

handgun carry permits is exhausted, the number of permit applications is likely to fall. 

Localities Particularly Affected 

 The proposed regulation applies to all localities in the Commonwealth.   

Projected Impact on Employment 

 The proposed regulation is not likely to have a significant impact on employment in 

Virginia.   

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property 

 By allowing non-residents to carry concealed handguns, the proposed regulation could 

increase the risk to public safety.  This, in turn, will have a negative effect on the use and value 

of private property.  On the other hand, the proposed regulation could have a positive effect on 

Virginia businesses (such as gun shows) that require or would benefit from allowing non-

residents to carry concealed handguns.   


