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TO: MARGARET SCHULTZE, Commissioner
Virginia Department of Social Services

FROM:  ERICJ.REYNOLDS /Z%-
Assistant Attorney General

DATE: December 15, 2014
SUBJECT: New Regulation Section - 22 VAC40-661 (Child Care Subsidy Program)

I am in receipt of the attached regulations regarding the state Child Care Subsidy
Program. You have asked the Office of the Attorney General to review and determine if the State
Board of the Virginia Department of Social Services has the statutory authority to promul gate the
proposed regulation and if the proposed regulation comports with applicable state and federal
law.

This regulation is adding language and modifying some of the existing language to this
Section - 22 VAC 40-661 - to include procedures related to the newly established statewide
automation system for tracking child care attendance and payment to providers; new
requirements for providers; limitations on fees and rates; requirement for recipients to cooperate
with the Division of Child Support Enforcement; time limitation for receipt of Child Care
assistance for Fee Child Care services; change in calculating a family's co-payment rate;

It is my opinion that the State Board of DSS has the authority to promulgate this
regulation, subject to compliance with the provisions of Article 2 of the Administrative Process
Act (“APA”) and has not exceeded that authority.

It is my view that this regulation is not exempt from but is subject to the procedures of
Article 2 of the APA pursuant to Virginia Code § 2.2-4006(A)(4)(a). If you have any questions
or need additional information about these regulations, please contact me at 786-3450.

cc: Kim F. Piner, Esquire
Attachment




Project 2776 - Final
DEPARTMENT OF SOCIAL SERVICES

Revise regulation for programmatic changes and implementation of statewide

automation

22VAC40-661-10. Definitions.

+Hhe-fellowing-words—and [terms Terms ] when used in this chapter shall have the following

meanings unless the context indicates otherwise:

"ADH" means an administrative disqualification hearing, an impartial review by a state

hearing officer of [ an-individual's a recipient’s ] actions_involving an alleged intentional program

violation for the purpose of determining if the individual did or did not commit an intentional

program violation.

"Applicant” means a person who has applied for child care services and the disposition of

the application has not yet been determined.

"Background checks” means a sworn statement or affirmation as may be required by the
Code of Virginia, the Criminal History Record Check, the Sex Offender and Crimes Against

Minors Registry Check, and the Central Registry Child Protective Services check.

"Child care services" means those activities that assist eligible families in the arrangement
for or purchase of child care for children for care that is less than a 24-hour day. It also means
activities that promote parental choice, consumer education to help parents make informed
choices about child care, activities to enhance health and safety standards established by the
state, and activities that increase and enhance child care and early childhood development

resources in the community.




"Child protective services" means the identification, receipt and immediate response to
complaints and reports of alleged child abuse or neglect for children under 18 years of age. It
also includes assessment, and arranging for and providing necessary protective and
rehabilitative services for a child and his family when the child has been found to have been

abused or neglected or is at risk of being abused or neglected.

"Child support services" means any civil, criminal or administrative action taken by the
Division of Child Support Enforcement to locate parents, establish paternity, and establish,

modify, enforce, er collect, and disburse child support, or child and spousal support.

“Children with special needs" means children with documented developmental disabilities,
mental retardation, emotional disturbance, sensory or motor impairment, or significant chronic
ilness who require special health surveillance or specialized programs, interventions,

technologies, or facilities.

"Cooperate with the Division of Child Support Enforcement” means that an applicant or

recipient of child care subsidy services must provide the information required by the Division of

Child Support Enforcement to locate an absent parent, establish paternity, or establish a

support order, unless a basis for good cause for noncooperation is determined by the program.

"Copayment” means a specific fee that is a portion of a household's income that is

contributed toward the cost of child care.

"DCSE" means the Division of Child Support Enforcement, the division of the Department of

Social Services responsible for locating absent parents; establishing paternity; and establishing,

modifying, enforcing, collecting, and disbursing child support, or child and spousal support.

"Department” means the State Department of Social Services.

"Family" means any individual, adult, or adults and/or children related by blood, marriage,

adoption, or an expression of kinship who function as a family unit.




"Federal poverty guidelines” means the income levels by family size, determined by the
federal Department of Health and Human Services, used as guidelines in determining at what

level families in the country are living in poverty.

"Fee" means a charge for a service and may include, but is not limited to, copayments,
charges above the maximum reimbursable rate, or charges for registration, activities or

transportation.

"Fee program” means a category in the child care subsidy program that assists low income,

non-TANF families with child care services.

"Fraud" means the knowing employment of deception or suppression of truth in order to

receive [ benefits or ] services one is not entitled to receive.

er cannot provide the needed
child care; or a valid reason why a parent will not be required to register with the Division of

Child Support Enforcement.

"Head Start" means the comprehensive federal child development programs that serve
children from birth through age five, pregnant women, and their families (as established by the

Head Start Act (42 USC § 9840)).
"Income eligible” means that eligibility for subsidy is based on income and family size.

"In-home" means child care provided in the home of the child and parent when all the

children in care reside in the home and the provider does not live in the home.




"In _loco parentis" means an adult with whom the child is living who has assumed

responsibility for the day-to-day care and supervision of the child.

"Intentional program violation" means fraudulent action by a [ elient—recipient] for the

purpose of establishing or maintaining the family's eligibility for child care subsidy, increasing or

preventing a reduction in the amount of the subsidy, or causing an improper payment to be

made by intentionally giving false or misleading information.

[ “Level one provider” means a child care provider that is unlicensed or unregulated. ]

"Level two provider" means a child care provider who is licensed by the Department of

Social Services, [approved by the Department of Education, ] approved by a licensed family

day system, approved under local ordinance according to § 15.2-914 of the Code of Virginia, or

federally approved.

"Local department” means the local department of social services of any county or city in

this Commonwealth.

"Maximum reimbursable rate” means the maximum rate paid for child care services through
the subsidy program that is established by the department and set out in the state Child Care
and Development Fund plan filed with the United-States U.S. Department of Health and Human

Services.

"Noncooperation with DCSE" means failure of an applicant or recipient to provide the local

department or the Division of Child Support Enforcement with information required to establish

paternity or an order for child support, without good cause.

"Nonfraud overpayment” means an overpayment that was caused by the local department,

or by an inadvertent household or provider error.

"Parent” means the [ primary ] adult [ or emancipated minor (as defined in § 16.1-334 of the

Code of Virginia who acts as the primary ] caretaker or guardian of a child.




"Provider" means a person, entity, or organization providing child care services.

"Resource and referral” means services that provide information to parents to assist them in
choosing child care, and may include assessment of the family's child care needs, collection
and maintenance of information about child care needs in the community, and efforts to improve

the quality and increase the supply of child care.

"Service plan" means the written, mutually agreed upon activities and responsibilities

between the local department and the parent in the provision of child care services.

"SNAP" means the Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program, a program administered by

the United States Department of Agriculture to reduce hunger and increase food security.

"SNAPET" means Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program Employment and Training,

which provides job search, job search training, education, training, and work experience to

nonpublic assistance SNAP recipients.

"Subsidy pregrams- program” means the department pregrams program that assist assists
low income eligible families with the cost of child care-ineluding-the-TANF-child-care-program
Lihe | laible_child .

"TANF assistance unit" means a household composed of an individual or individuals who

meet all categorical requirements and conditions of eligibility for TANF.

"TANF capped child" means a child who the TANF worker has determined ineligible for
inclusion in the TANF assistance unit because the child was born more than 10 full months after

the mother's initial TANF payment was issued.

"Temporary assistance for needy families” or "TANF" means the program administered by
the department through which a relative can receive monthly cash assistance for the support of

his eligible children.




"Transitional child care" means the program that provides child care subsidy to eligible

former TANF recipients after the TANF case closes.
22VAC40-661-30. Child care programs.

Child care subsidy, to the extent of available funding, is provided through the following

programs:

1. TANF Child Care Program. Child care subsidy and services are made available to
recipients of TANF. TANF child care includes needed care for the TANF capped child.

These services are also provided to:

a. A child who receives Supplemental Security Income (SSI), if the parent is on the
TANF grant and if the child would have been in the TANF assistance unit were it not

for the receipt of SSI, or

b. Children who are not in the TANF assistance unit but who are financially

dependent upon the parent who is in the TANF assistance unit.
2. Income eligible child care programs.

a. Transitional child care. Child care subsidy and services are made available to
eligible children of former TANF recipients to support parental employment if the

TANF case is closed, and they are found income eligible.

b. Head Start child care. Head Start child care subsidy and services are made
available to eligible Head Start enrolled children. The program is for extended day
and extended year child care beyond times covered by federally funded Head Start

core hours.

c. Fee child care. Fee child care subsidy and services are made available to children

in eligible low income families who are not receiving TANF, not in the Head Start




Program, and who meet the eligibility criteria for child care, to the extent ef-available

funding is available.

3. Food-Stamp SNAP child care. Child care subsidy and services are made available to
children of parents in Virginia's FSET SNAPET program to allow participation in an

approved activity.
22VAC40-661-40. State income eligible scale and copayments.

A. State income eligible scale. The department establishes the scale for determining
financial eligibility for the income eligible child care programs. Income eligibility is determined by
measuring the family's income and size against the percentage of the federal poverty guidelines

for their locality [ not to exceed 85% of the state median income (effective 8/15/2014)]. Income

to be counted in determining income eligibility includes all earned and unearned income

received by the family except certain disregarded income: Supplemental-Security-lrcome;TANE

for-child-care [ Supplemental Security Income; TANF benefits, including TANF match payments:

Transitional payments of $50.00 per month to former VIEW participants; Diversionary

Assistance payments; general relief; SNAP benefits; value of USDA donated food: benefits

received under Title VII, Nutrition Program for the Elderly, of the Older Americans Act of 1965:

value of supplemental food assistance under the Child Nutrition Act of 1996 and lunches

provided under National School Lunch Act; child support paid to another household: earnings of

a child under the age of 18 vears; garnished wages: earned income tax credit; lump sum child

support payments; scholarships, loans, or grants for education except any portion specified for

child care; Basic Allowance for Housing for military personnel living on base; Clothing

Maintenance Allowance for military personnel; payment to AmeriCorps volunteers: tax refunds:




lump sum insurance payments; monetary qifts for one time occasions or normal annual

occasions; payments made by non-financially responsible third parties for household

obligations, unless payment is made in lieu of wages; loans or money borrowed: money

received from sale of property, earnings less than $25.00 a month; capital gains: withdrawals of

bank deposits; Gl Bill benefits; reimbursement, such as for mileage; foreign government

restitution payments to Holocaust survivors; payments from the Agent Orange Settlement Fund

or any other fund established for settlement of Agent Orange product liability litigation: and

monetary benefits provided to the children of Vietham Veterans as described in 38 USC 1823

B. Copayments. Copayments are established by the department. All families receiving child

care subsidy have a copayment responsibility ef-10%-of-their-ceuntable-monthly-income-or-the

[ ranging from 5.0% to 10% of the

family’s income, taking family size and income into account, (effective 8/15/2014)] except that

families whose gross monthly income is at or below the federal poverty guidelines who are
recipients of TANF, participants in the ESET SNAPET program, or families in the Head Start

program will have no copayment. [ The family’s copayment will be calculated using the following

chart: (effective 8/15/2014)

Monthly Income Levels by Percent of Poverty and Household Size
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'Income level not to exceed 85% of state median income or 250% of poverty.

Note: Virginia state median income posted in the Federal Register, Vol. 78, No. 94,
Wednesday, May 15, 2013, pages 28597-28599.

Note: FY 2014 Poverty Guidelines - Federal Register, Vol. 78, No. 16, Thursday,
January 24, 2013, pages 5182-5183. For a household greater than 8, add $4.020 for
each additional person. ]

22VAC40-661-57. Provider requirements.

A. Providers who participate in the subsidy program must be at least 18 years of age, obtain
background checks as required by the regulations for their type of child care, and participate in
annual training. Providers and other individuals required to have background checks according

to §63.2-1725 of the Code of Virginia who are not otherwise governed by another state

10




regulation requiring background checks shall obtain background checks as defined in this

regulation.

B. Background checks for regulated child care providers and local department approved
child care providers remain valid according to the provisions of the regulations for their type of
child care. Background checks for employees of certified preschools or nursery schools and
unregulated family day home providers that participate in the child care subsidy program will
remain valid for three years as long as the provider provides continuous services under the child
care subsidy program. For any other individual who is required to have background checks
according to § 63.2-1725 of the Code of Virginia, the background checks will remain valid for
three years as long as the individual maintains continuous employment, residence or volunteer

status with that provider.

C. Training requirements will consist of current certification in first aid and cardiopulmonary
resuscitation (CPR) as appropriate for the age for the children in care, the cost of which will be

borne by the provider. Four hours of skills training will also be required annually. Skills training is
available through the department at for a cest-ef-less-than-$20-per-participant nominal fee.

D. All providers who participate in the subsidy program must sign a department-approved

agreement that will be based on the level of regulation of the provider. The provider's signature

confirms his agreement to comply with the terms of the agreement, including payment

processes, absences, and attendance tracking.

E. All providers who participate in the subsidy program must have a working telephone at

each site at which child care is provided, as required by the department-approved agreement.

[F. Disputes between the provider and VDSS regarding the payment for services rendered,

including decisions made pursuant to the department-approved agreement, or the finding of

fraud committed by the provider, may be appealed by the provider pursuant to the Virginia

11




Administrative Process Act (Va. Code § 2.2-4000 et seq.). This shall be the sole remedy for

such disputes.]

22VAC40-661-60. Determining payment amount.
A. Maximum reimbursable rates.

1. The department will establish maximum reimbursable rates for child care subsidies for

all localities in the state by type of care.

2. For children with special needs, payment over the maximum reimbursable rate is
allowed when this is appropriate as determined by the local department. The maximum

reimbursable rate for children with special needs may not exceed twice the reimbursable

rate for care of children who do not have special needs.

3. Providers will be paid for the amount of care approved up to the maximum

reimbursable rate of the jurisdiction in which the provider is located. Lecal-departments

must The department will pay the rates and fees providers charge the general public, up

to the maximum reimbursable rate.—er—a—negotiated—rate—thatis—tower. [ Level two

providers_will be paid a higher maximum reimbursable rate established by the

department. ]

4. For out-of-state providers, the local-department maximum reimbursable rate of the

locality in which the local department is located is used.

5. Parents who choose to place a child in a facility with a rate above the maximum
reimbursable rate are responsible for payment of any additional amount, unless the local

department elects to pay the additional amount out of local funds.

12




B. In-home care. For in-home child care, payment must be at least minimum wage, but not

more than the maximum reimbursable rate for the number of children in care.

C. Registration fee. A single annual registration fee, if charged, will be paid to_level two

providers [ only ] . The registration fee may not exceed $100. Transportation fees are paid only

when the transportation services are provided by the provider. The total cost of care, excluding

the single annual registration fee,

must not exceed the maximum reimbursable rate and must be identified as one child care cost.

[D. Up to ten holidays identified in subsection 7.6 of the department-approved provider

agreement will be paid to level two providers. Level one certified pre-schools, religious exempt,

and voluntary registered providers may be paid for holidays, according to provisions in the

department-approved vendor agreement. All other level one providers will not receive payment

for holidays unless services are provided on that day. ]

22VAC40-661-70. Case management.

A. Application and assessment. Parents who are not receiving TANF and who are at least

18 years of age and who wish to request child care services are required to sign an application

and cooperate with an assessment by the local department. Consumer education, including the
selection and monitoring of child care, must be provided to parents to assist them in gaining

needed information about child care services and availability of providers. As a condition of

eligibility, all applicants and recipients must cooperate with the Division of Child Support

Enforcement unless the subsidy program determines that good cause exists for their failure to

do so.

13




B. Service planning. Child care workers must complete a written service plan for each child
care case. The service plan outlines the mutually agreed upon activities and responsibilities

between the local department and the parent in the provision of child care services.

C. Due process. Applicants and recipients will be afforded due process through timely
written notices of any action deciding or affecting his eligibility for services or copayment
amount. Such written notice shall include the reason for the action and the notice of appeal
rights and procedures, including the right to a fair hearing if the applicant or recipient is
aggrieved by the local department's action or failure to act on an application. If a [ client

recipient ] requests_an appeal within 10 days of the effective date of the notice of action, child

care services will continue until a decision is rendered by a hearing officer. If the decision of the

local department is upheld by the hearing officer, the [ glient recipient] must repay the amount

of services paid during the appeal process.

D. Reassessment. Local departments will make regular contacts with a member of the case
household or the provider. The purpose of these contacts is to evaluate whether the child care

services authorized are meeting the needs of the child and the parent.
E. Beginning date of service payment.

1. The beginning date of service payment is the date the signed application is received

in the local department if the family is determined eligible within 45 30 days.

2. If the determination is made more than 45 30 days after the signed application is
received, services may begin only on the date eligibility is actually determined, except in

the case of administrative delay.

3. Administrative delay is when either the parent or provider does not provide needed
information for eligibility purposes to the local department within the 45 30 days due to

circumstances beyond their control.

14




4. Payment cannot be made to licensed providers prior to the effective dates of their

initial licenses.
F. Parental responsibilities.

1. Parents must be informed of their responsibility to report changes that could affect
their eligibility. These changes must be reported to the local department within 10
calendar days. Parents must be informed that failure to report required changes may

result in case closure, repayment of child care costs, or prosecution for fraud.

2. Parents must be informed of their responsibility to pay all fees owed. Parental failure

to pay fees may result in case closure.

G. Termination. Local department termination of child care services must be planned jointly
with the parent and provider. Adequate documentation supporting the reasons for termination

must be filed in the case record. Eligibility in the fee program is limited to a total of 72 months

per family. Receipt of assistance in any other cateqory does not count toward the 72-month

limitation.

H. Waiting list. When sufficient funds are not available [ in—thefee—program] , local

departments of social services must screen applicants for potential eligibility and place them on

the department's waiting list if the family chooses.

22VACA40-661-80. Fraud.
A. Fraud.

1. When it is suspected that there has been a deliberate misrepresentation of facts in

order to receive [ benefits, services or payments services |, the local department must

determine whether or not fraud was committed. There must be clear and convincing
evidence that demonstrates that the household or provider committed or intended to

commit fraud. Suspected instances of child care fraud shall be referred to the fraud staff

15




for investigation. If there is clear and convincing evidence that fraud has occurred [ with

either the provider or the household ] , the case will be referred to the attorney for the

Commonwealth to determine if the case will be prosecuted. If the [ household’s ] case

does not meet the criteria for prosecution as established by the attorney for the

Commonwealth, the case will be referred for an administrative disqualification hearing.

2. Disqualification.

a. Parents will be disqualified from participating in the child care subsidy program for

three months upon the first finding of child care fraud or an intentional program

violation, 12 months upon the second finding, and permanently upon the third

finding.

b. Providers will be permanently disqualified from participating in the child care

subsidy program upon the first finding of child care fraud.

B. Repayment. In addition to any criminal punishment, anyone who causes the local

department to make an improper vender provider payment by withholding required information

or by providing false information will be required to repay the amount of the improper payment.

22VACA40-661-100. Administration.

A. Nonfraud overpayment. In cases of nonfraud overpayment, neither the parent nor

provider will be disqualified from participating in the subsidy program as long as a repayment

16




schedule is entered into with the local department and payments are made according to that

schedule.

B. [ Leocal-departmenterror. Overpayments. lf an-overpayment-was made-as-aresult of an

refunded to the department by the locality.]

FORMS (22VAC40-661)

60 Month Lifetime Limit] undated
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