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Please refer to the Administrative Process Act (§ 9-6.14:9.1 et seq. of the Code of Virginia), Executive Order Twenty-
Five (98), Executive Order Fifty-Eight (99) , and the Virginia Register Form,Style and Procedure Manual  for more 
information and other materials required to be submitted in the final regulatory action package. 
 

Summary  

Please provide a brief summary of the new regulation, amendments to an existing regulation, or the 
regulation being repealed.  There is no need to state each provision or amendment; instead give a 
summary of the regulatory action.  If applicable, generally describe the existing regulation.  Do not restate 
the regulation or the purpose and intent of the regulation in the summary.  Rather, alert the reader to all 
substantive matters or changes contained in the proposed new regulation, amendments to an existing 
regulation, or the regulation being repealed.  Please briefly and generally summarize any substantive 
changes made since the proposed action was published. 
 
In compliance with a statutory mandate, the Board has adopted continuing education 
requirements for the renewal of social work and clinical social work licensure.  The Board 
has set a requirement of 30 contact hours per biennium, with two-thirds of the hours coming 
from formally organized activities, and the remaining third of the hours coming from 
independent professional activities.  The amendments include a provision for an inactive 
licensure status to accommodate individuals who are not actively practicing social work, 
and who may be unable to meet the continuing education requirements. 
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Changes Made Since the Proposed Stage 
 
Please detail any changes, other than strictly editorial changes, made to the text of the proposed 
regulation since its publication.  Please provide citations of the sections of the proposed regulation that 
have been altered since the proposed stage and a statement of the purpose of each change.  
 
In the adoption of final regulations, the Board amended 18 VAC 140-20-105 B 1 a. to provide 
that a maximum of 15 hours in continuing education credit will be accepted for each academic 
course offered at an accredited college or university.  In the opinion of the Board, no more than 
15 of the 20 hours required for the biennium should be earned by taking a one-semester course.  
The current language would have permitted 15 hours for each semester credit hour, which could 
have resulted in up to 45 hours of CE credit. 
 

Statement of Final Agency Action 

Please provide a statement of the final action taken by the agency: including the date the action was 
taken, the name of the agency taking the action, and the title of the regulation.   

On March 2, 2001, the Board of Social Work adopted final amendments to 18 VAC 140-20-10 et 
seq., Regulations Governing the Practice of Social Work, in order to implement a statutory 
mandate for continuing education. 

 

Basis 

Please identify the state and/or federal source of legal authority to promulgate the regulation.  The 
discussion of this statutory authority should: 1) describe its scope and the extent to which it is mandatory 
or discretionary; and 2) include a brief statement relating the content of the statutory authority to the 
specific regulation.  In addition, where applicable, please describe the extent to which proposed changes 
exceed federal minimum requirements.  Full citations of legal authority and, if available, web site 
addresses for locating the text of the cited authority, shall be provided. If the final text differs from that of 
the proposed, please state that the Office of the Attorney General has certified that the agency has the 
statutory authority to promulgate the final regulation and that it comports with applicable state and/or 
federal law 
 
Chapter 24 establishes the general powers and duties of health regulatory boards including the 
responsibility to promulgate regulations, levy fees, administer a licensure and renewal program, and 
discipline regulated professionals. 
 
 § 54.1-2400. General powers and duties of health regulatory boards.--The general powers and 
duties of health regulatory boards shall be: 
 

1.  To establish the qualifications for registration, certification or licensure in accordance with the 
applicable law which are necessary to ensure competence and integrity to engage in the 
regulated professions.  
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2.  To examine or cause to be examined applicants for certification or licensure.  Unless otherwise 
required by law, examinations shall be administered in writing or shall be a demonstration of 
manual skills. 

 
3.  To register, certify or license qualified applicants as practitioners of the particular profession 

or professions regulated by such board. 
 

4.  To establish schedules for renewals of registration, certification and licensure. 
 

5.  To levy and collect fees for application processing, examination, registration, certification or 
licensure and renewal that are sufficient to cover all expenses for the administration and 
operation of the Department of Health Professions, the Board of Health Professions and the 
health regulatory boards. 

 
6.  To promulgate regulations in accordance with the Administrative Process Act (§ 9-6.14:1 et 

seq.) which are reasonable and necessary to administer effectively the regulatory system. Such 
regulations shall not conflict with the purposes and intent of this chapter or of Chapter 1 and 
Chapter 25 of this title. 

 
7.  To revoke, suspend, restrict, or refuse to issue or renew a registration, certificate or license 

which such board has authority to issue for causes enumerated in applicable law and 
regulations. 

 
8.  To appoint designees from their membership or immediate staff to coordinate with the 

Intervention Program Committee and to implement, as is necessary, the provisions of 
Chapter 25.1 (§ 54.1-2515 et seq.) of this title. Each health regulatory board shall appoint 
one such designee.  

 
9.    To take appropriate disciplinary action for violations of applicable law and  

regulations.  
 
10.  To appoint a special conference committee, composed of not less than two members of a 

health regulatory board, to act in accordance with § 9-6.14:11 upon receipt of information 
that a practitioner of the appropriate board may be subject to disciplinary action. The special 
conference committee may (i) exonerate the practitioner; (ii) reinstate the practitioner; (iii) 
place the practitioner on probation with such terms as it may deem appropriate; (iv) 
reprimand the practitioner; (v) modify a previous order; and (vi) impose a monetary penalty 
pursuant to § 54.1-2401. The order of the special conference committee shall become final 
thirty days after service of the order unless a written request to the board for a hearing is 
received within such time. If service of the decision to a party is accomplished by mail, three 
days shall be added to the thirty-day period. Upon receiving a timely written request for a 
hearing, the board or a panel of the board shall then proceed with a hearing as provided in § 
9-6.14:12, and the action of the committee shall be vacated. This subdivision shall not be 
construed to affect the authority or procedures of the Boards of Medicine and Nursing 
pursuant to §§ 54.1-2919 and 54.1-3010.  

 
11.  To convene, at their discretion, a panel consisting of at least five board members or, if a 

quorum of the board is less than five members, consisting of a quorum of the members to 
conduct formal proceedings pursuant to § 9-6.14:12, decide the case, and issue a final 
agency case decision. Any decision rendered by majority vote of such panel shall have the 
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same effect as if made by the full board and shall be subject to court review in accordance 
with the Administrative Process Act. No member who participates in an informal proceeding 
conducted in accordance with § 9-6.14:11 shall serve on a panel conducting formal 
proceedings pursuant to § 9-6.14:12 to consider the same matter.  

 
12.  To issue inactive licenses and certificates and promulgate regulations to carry out such purpose.  

Such regulations shall include, but not be limited to, the qualifications, renewal fees, and 
conditions for reactivation of such licenses or certificates. 

 
The mandate for the Board to establish requirements for continuing education of licensed social 
workers is set forth under § 54.1-3708.  This section authorizes the Board to approve individuals 
or programs that provide continuing education. 
 

§ 54.1-3708.  Continuing education requirements.  The Board shall establish in regulations 
requirements for the continuing education of licensed social workers. 

 
The board may approve persons who provide continuing education or accredit continuing education 
programs in order to accomplish the purposes of this section. 

 
The Assistant Attorney General who provides counsel to the Board of Social Work has provided 
a letter of assurance that the amended regulations are consistent with statutory law. 

 

Purpose  

Please provide a statement explaining the need for the new or amended regulation.  This statement must 
include the rationale or justification of the final regulatory action and detail the specific reasons it is 
essential to protect the health, safety or welfare of citizens.  A statement of a general nature is not 
acceptable, particular rationales must be explicitly discussed.  Please include a discussion of the goals of 
the proposal and the problems the proposal is intended to solve. 
 
Chapter 575 of the 1999 Acts of the Assembly provides a specific mandate in § 54.1-3708 for the 
board to develop continuing education requirements for licensure renewal.  In compliance with 
this mandate, the Board adopted a regulation setting forth an hour requirement, approved 
categories of activities, approved providers and instructions for documentation of compliance.  
The Board has included a provision for an inactive licensure status to allow practitioners who are 
not actively practicing social work in Virginia to defer the continuing education requirement 
until they reactivate the license. 
 
In developing the requirements, the board contemplated the financial and time burdens the 
requirements might have on licensees, and at the same time strove to develop a meaningful standard 
that would ensure continued competency to protect the public health, safety and welfare. For 
alternatives, the Board considered the continuing education requirements of 41 other state social 
work boards, and the requirements of other boards in the Department of Health Professions.  The 
Board also considered public comment regarding the content of the training.  The Board considered 
a range of hours from 20 to 40 per biennium, and selected 30 hours as a reasonable number of hours 
compared with the requirements in other states.   
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The Board also considered the alternatives of formal training versus self-directed or independent 
study.  The Board determined that a combination of the two would provide the most flexible 
alternative, while ensuring the quality of the bulk of the training.  Amended regulations will allow 
two-thirds of the hours to come from formal didactic training in behavioral health topics offered or 
approved by recognized institutions and organizations.  One organization that was recommended in 
public comment on the NOIRA, the International Association of Continuing Education and 
Training, was not included in the proposal, because the programs it approves are not specific to 
behavioral health.   
 
For the remaining one-third of the hours, the Board developed a list of individual activities which 
could be counted for a limited number of hours toward the requirement.  The first alternative the 
Board considered was to accept two hours for each activity.  This alternative was rejected because 
some social workers are not involved in academic or professional association activities and would 
not be able to obtain the required ten hours.  For this reason, the Board elected to accept up to five 
hours for staff meetings and independent study.  The Board also opted to raise the hours accepted 
for publications of books and articles and preparation of courses and workshops above two hours 
due to the extensive amount of work involved in these activities.  The Board considered accepting 
hours for subsequent preparation of a course or workshop due to the work involved in updating 
materials, but elected not to do this, since some individuals might not do additional work to present 
a course multiple times. 
 
Amendments will provide requirements for licensees in social work to obtain hours of continuing 
education in order to renew an active license, reinstate a lapsed license, or reactivate an inactive 
license. Courses and activities must relate to the behavioral health of the public and must include 
at least two hours on laws and standards of practice or ethical issues related to the practice of 
social work.  Such requirements are intended to protect the health, welfare and safety of the 
public by providing opportunity for licensees to receive exposure to current information on 
practice and ethical issues in the treatment of patients. 
 

Substance 

Please identify and explain the new substantive provisions, the substantive changes to existing sections, 
or both where appropriate.  Please note that a more detailed discussion is required under the statement 
of the regulatory action’s detail.  

 
The Board has adopted new sections outlining continuing education requirements and 
instructions for documentation of those requirements.  The Board also adopted amendments to 
existing sections covering licensure renewal and late renewal to provide for inactive licensure 
status and to instruct licensees on compliance with continuing education in the event of late 
renewal or reinstatement.  
 
 

Issues  
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Please provide a statement identifying the issues associated with the final regulatory action.  The term 
“issues” means: 1) the advantages and disadvantages to the public of implementing the new provisions; 
2) the advantages and disadvantages to the agency or the Commonwealth; and 3) other pertinent matters 
of interest to the regulated community, government officials, and the public.  If there are no disadvantages 
to the public or the Commonwealth, please include a sentence to that effect. 
  
At the Board’s initial meeting to begin developing the proposed regulation, public comment raised 
concerns about possible restrictions on course topics, learning methods, and continuing education 
providers.  Concerns were also raised about the cost to the licensees to meet the requirement, and 
the cost to the Board administer the programs and to monitor compliance.  Other issues the Board 
addressed included availability of training in remote areas of the state and developing a requirement 
that would be appropriate to both levels of licensure it regulates. 
 
Advantages to the licensees: 
 
Because the Board is frequently contacted by individuals and organizations who wish to provide 
continuing education programs, it is likely that the requirement will result in the development of 
more training opportunities for social workers.  The training will benefit licensees by keeping them 
abreast of changes in their profession, and reinforcing ethical issues which are frequently the basis 
for disciplinary actions for clinical social workers, which make up the large majority of licensees. 
 
Disadvantages to the licensees: 
 
Although many licensees will be able to count hours for activities they would be involved in 
regardless of the requirement, additional time and effort will be required to obtain all of the required 
hours.  Likewise, although some of the activities can be accomplished as part of the job without 
additional charge, most of the activities under Category I will involve some expense which will be 
borne by licensees unless an employer is to cover the cost.  The cost will range from $10 to $20 per 
contact hour, but could be more costly if travel and hotel expenses are incurred.  This is more likely 
to affect individuals in remote areas of the state.  The cost to the Board to monitor compliance with 
the requirement will be borne by licensees in their renewal fees.  Additionally, licensees who do not 
comply with the requirement will be subject to disciplinary action by the Board. 
  
Advantages to the public: 
 
The public will have the advantage of knowing that the practitioners they are receiving services 
from are staying abreast of advances in the profession.  Reinforcement of training in professional 
ethics may result in less exploitation of clients.  Some individuals and organizations will benefit 
financially by becoming providers of continuing education programs. 
 
Disadvantages to the public: 
 
Employers may incur additional costs if they pay for the licensing expenses of their staff. 
 
Advantages or disadvantages to government agencies: 
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Government agencies that employ social workers may incur additional costs if they elect to hire 
private individuals to present workshops or seminars to their staff.  The Board will incur 
additional costs to monitor compliance of licensees, and to hold additional disciplinary hearings 
for individuals who do not comply with the requirement.  
 
 

Public Comment 

Please summarize all public comment received during the public comment period and provide the agency 
response.  If no public comment was received, please include a statement indicating that fact.   
 
Proposed regulations were published in the Virginia Register of Regulations on November 6, 2000.  
Public comment was requested for a 60-day period ending January 5, 2001.  The only comment 
received was from the Virginia Chapter of the National Association of Social Workers as follows:   
 

• Supports continuing education as a self-directed process of professional development but 
has concerns that public school systems, licensed health facilities and licensed hospitals 
will be allowed to offer courses or programs for continuing education.  These 
organizations are not social work experts, and their programs are not accredited by 
national and state professional social work organizations. 

 
Board response:   Board needs to be as inclusive as possible to provide adequate  
access to continuing education units. 

 
• Raises a question about the interpretation of a “public school system” and the inclusion of 

the Child Welfare League among the accrediting bodies. 
 

Board response: A Public School System is any school operated by governmental  
entity. The inclusion of the Child Welfare League is appropriate as representing a broader  
range of continuing education options. 

 
• Questions the inclusion of the Association of Black Social Workers and the National 

Federation of Societies for Clinical Social Work, rather than other “sub-associations” that 
are not included, such as the Nephrology Social Work Association.   

 
Board response: The inclusion of the other social work groups to offer continuing 
education may also be acceptable. 

 
• Asks for a distinction between contact hours and CEU’s and clarification about distance 

learning with no face-to-face contact with an instructor. 
 

Board response: The Virginia Board of Social Work Regulations only refers to 
contact hours and do not refer to continuing education units. 

 
• Asks whether a Peace Corps assignment would be acceptable as a cause for an extension.  
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Board response:  Requests for extensions of time to complete CE requirements will be 
decided on a case-by-case basis depending on the circumstances and availability of 
courses. 

 
A Public Hearing before the Board of Social Work was held on December 15, 2000 at which the 
Virginia Chapter of the National Association of Social Workers, represented by Debra Riggs, 
presented comments.  In addition to an oral presentation of the written comments summarized 
above, the following comments were made: 
 

• Expresses concern that credit would be given for formal staffing under Category 2 
without specifying that it must be specific to social work issues. 

 
Board response: This is to provide more flexibility to licensee to obtain applicable 
training thorough behavioral health programs. 

 
• Expresses concern that the Category 2 continuing education does not have to be approved 

by an accrediting body. 
 

Board response: Category 2 is intended for personal self-development related to 
specific practice needs. 

 

Detail of Changes 

Please detail any changes, other than strictly editorial changes, that are being proposed.  Please detail 
new substantive provisions, all substantive changes to existing sections, or both where appropriate.  This 
statement should provide a section-by-section description - or crosswalk - of changes implemented by the 
proposed regulatory action.  Include citations to the specific sections of an existing regulation being 
amended and explain the consequences of the changes. 
 
Substance of Regulations: 
 
18 VAC 140-20-100.  Biennial renewal of licensure. 
 
• The Board has amended this section by adding an inactive licensure status which would provide 

an exemption to the continuing education requirement for individuals who for reasons such as 
illness, family leave or relocation to another state or country are not actively practicing social 
work in Virginia.  A title change to this section is also adopted. 

 
18 VAC 140-20-105.  Continued competency requirements for renewal of an active license. 
 
• This new section outlines the types of activities the Board will accept toward meeting the 

continued competency requirement.  The Board has adopted a total of 30 contact hours of 
continuing education per biennium, of which a minimum of two hours must relate to 
professional ethics.  The final regulation provides for exemption or extension of the requirement 
for special circumstances. 
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• The amended regulations states that two-thirds of the contact hours come from formally 
organized activities such as university coursework or programs offered by public institutions, 
social work organizations, or individuals approved by those organizations. 

 
• For the remaining third of the contact hours, the Board established a variety of individual 

professional activities which may include publication of a book or article, preparation of a 
course, seminar, workshop or program, supervision of graduate field instruction, professional 
board or association activities, attendance at formal staffings or independent study.  

 
18 VAC 140-20-106.  Documenting compliance with continuing education requirements. 
 
This new section outlines the type of documentation that the Board will accept when monitoring 
compliance of licensees, and sets forth a maintenance requirement for that documentation.  
 
18 VAC 140-20-110.  Renewal of expired license. 
 
The Board adopted amendments to this section to establish a requirement for documentation of 
continued competency hours for individuals who are reinstating either a lapsed or inactive license.  
A title change is also proposed for this section. 
 
18 VAC 140-20-160.  Grounds for disciplinary action or denial of issuance of a license.   
 
The current regulation lists continuing education activities that the Board would consider only in the 
event that a practitioner’s competency is in question.  The Board has rescinded this list since it is 
redundant with 18 VAC 140-20-105 and has added that failure to comply with the continued 
competency requirements may be as a basis for disciplinary action. 
 
 

Family Impact Statement 
 
Please provide an analysis of the regulatory action that assesses the impact on the institution of the 
family and family stability including the extent to which the regulatory action will: 1) strengthen or erode 
the authority and rights of parents in the education, nurturing, and supervision of their children; 2) 
encourage or discourage economic self-sufficiency, self-pride, and the assumption of responsibility for 
oneself, one’s spouse, and one’s children and/or elderly parents; 3) strengthen or erode the marital 
commitment; and 4) increase or decrease disposable family income. 
 
The amendments will have no impact on the authority and rights of parents in the education, 
nurturing or supervision of their children.  They may encourage self-pride for licensees who 
obtain additional training which they may not have otherwise pursued.  The amendments may 
enhance the marital commitment for clients who may benefit from a practitioner who has chosen 
training in marriage and family therapy.  Disposable income of practitioners who are required to 
obtain the training will decrease depending on the type of training selected.  Hopefully, the 
additional training can lead to career advancement for many practitioners. 
 
 


