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Brief summary  
 
Please provide a brief summary (no more than 2 short paragraphs) of the proposed new regulation, 
proposed amendments to the existing regulation, or the regulation proposed to be repealed.  Alert the 
reader to all substantive matters or changes.  If applicable, generally describe the existing regulation.  
Also, please include a brief description of changes to the regulation from publication of the proposed 
regulation to the final regulation.   

              

 

Regulations governing the practice of social work are amended to:  1) require that the national 

licensing examination be passed within five years prior to application or, if the examination was 

passed before that time period, that the applicant demonstrate evidence of social work practice at 

the appropriate level (social worker or clinical social worker) within an exempt setting prior to 

application; 2) eliminate certain application requirements for licensure by endorsement 

applicants and, at the same time, clarify the meaning of “active practice” to demonstrate 

competency in the field of social work and provide an alternative to the experience requirement; 

and 3) address the issue of reactivation and reinstatement for applicants who have either been not 

practicing social work in recent years or practicing elsewhere in an exempt setting by requiring 

practice under supervision for at least 360 hours in the 12 months preceding licensure in 

Virginia. 
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Statement of final agency action 
 
Please provide a statement of the final action taken by the agency including (1) the date the action was 
taken, (2) the name of the agency or board taking the action, and (3) the title of the regulation. 
                

 

On November 30, 2012, the Board of Social Work amended 18VAC140-20-10 et seq., 

Regulations Governing the Practice of Social Work. 

 

Legal basis 
 
Please identify the state and/or federal legal authority to promulgate this proposed regulation, including 
(1) the most relevant citations to the Code of Virginia or General Assembly chapter number(s), if 
applicable, and (2) promulgating entity, i.e., agency, board, or person.  Your citation should include a 
specific provision authorizing the promulgating entity to regulate this specific subject or program, as well 
as a reference to the agency/board/person’s overall regulatory authority.  

              

 

Regulations are promulgated under the general authority of Chapter 24 of Title 54.1 of the Code of 

Virginia. Section 54.1-2400, which provides the Board of Social Work the authority to determine 

the qualifications for licensure and reinstatement and to promulgate regulations to administer the 

regulatory system: 

 

§ 54.1-2400 -General powers and duties of health regulatory boards  
The general powers and duties of health regulatory boards shall be:  

1. To establish the qualifications for registration, certification, licensure or the issuance of a 

multistate licensure privilege in accordance with the applicable law which are necessary to 

ensure competence and integrity to engage in the regulated professions.  

2. To examine or cause to be examined applicants for certification or licensure. Unless otherwise 

required by law, examinations shall be administered in writing or shall be a demonstration of 

manual skills.  

3. To register, certify, license or issue a multistate licensure privilege to qualified applicants as 

practitioners of the particular profession or professions regulated by such board.  

4. To establish schedules for renewals of registration, certification, licensure, and the issuance 

of a multistate licensure privilege.  

5. To levy and collect fees for application processing, examination, registration, certification or 

licensure or the issuance of a multistate licensure privilege and renewal that are sufficient to 

cover all expenses for the administration and operation of the Department of Health Professions, 

the Board of Health Professions and the health regulatory boards.  
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6. To promulgate regulations in accordance with the Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et 

seq.) which are reasonable and necessary to administer effectively the regulatory system. Such 

regulations shall not conflict with the purposes and intent of this chapter or of Chapter 1 (§ 54.1-

100 et seq.) and Chapter 25 (§ 54.1-2500 et seq.) of this title.  

 

Purpose  
 
Please explain the need for the new or amended regulation.  Describe the rationale or justification of the 
proposed regulatory action.  Detail the specific reasons it is essential to protect the health, safety or 
welfare of citizens.  Discuss the goals of the proposal and the problems the proposal is intended to solve. 

              

 

The board has adopted amendments to make it less burdensome for persons who have been 

actively practicing as social workers or clinical social workers in another state to be licensed in 

Virginia. To do so, regulations need to clarify or define the intent and meaning of “active 

practice” to ensure current competency to practice.  With active practice and no grounds for 

denial of licensure, the applicant could be licensed by credentials and the requirements for 

documentation of education and supervised experience could be eliminated.   

 

Additionally, the board has addressed an issue of competency for applicants who passed the 

national examination some years ago but were never licensed and never practiced social work in 

any jurisdiction.  To do so, a regulation is proposed to specify that the examination must have 

been passed within five years prior to application or the applicant must provide evidence of 

practice in an exempt setting in the category of social work for which he has applied to be 

licensed. 

 

Finally, the board has addressed concerns about persons who are seeking to reinstate or 

reactivate a license that has been lapsed or inactive for four or more years.  If the applicant has 

been practicing in another state during that period, that practice could serve as evidence of 

current competency; but if the applicant has not practiced social work for a number of years, 

there needs to be a period of supervised practice as evidence of competency. 

 

By accepting active, unrestricted practice in other states as evidence of current competency to 

practice, the Board may expand the applicant pool for licensure as clinical social workers to meet 

the growing need for mental health providers while protecting the health, safety and welfare of 

the public such providers serve.  

 

Substance 
 
Please identify and explain the new substantive provisions, the substantive changes to existing sections, 
or both where appropriate.  A more detailed discussion is required under the “All changes made in this 
regulatory action” section.   

               

 
Enter statement here 
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Issues  

 
Please identify the issues associated with the proposed regulatory action, including:  
1) the primary advantages and disadvantages to the public, such as individual private citizens or 
businesses, of implementing the new or amended provisions;  
2) the primary advantages and disadvantages to the agency or the Commonwealth; and  
3) other pertinent matters of interest to the regulated community, government officials, and the public.   
If there are no disadvantages to the public or the Commonwealth, please indicate.    

              

  

The Board of Social Work reviewed staff concerns regarding application requirements and 

recommended that the board adopt proposed amendments to the following regulatory sections: 

 

• Amend Regulation 18VAC140-20-40 and 18VAC140-20-51 to address the problem of 

applicants who passed the examination a number of years prior to application but were 

never licensed in Virginia or in another jurisdiction.  The amendment would require that 

the national licensing examination be passed within five years prior to application or, if 

the examination was passed before that time period, that the applicant demonstrate 

evidence of social work practice at the appropriate level (social worker or clinical social 

worker) within an exempt setting prior to application. 

 

• Amend Regulation 18VAC140-20-45 to eliminate certain application requirements for 

licensure by endorsement applicants and, at the same time, to clarify the meaning of 

“active practice” to demonstrate competency in the field of social work.  Currently, 

regulations require an applicant for licensure by endorsement to have actively practiced 

for 36 of the past 60 months; amended regulation would provide an alternative of 

supervised experience equivalent to that required for licensure by examination. 

 

• Amend Regulation 18VAC140-20-110 to address the issue of reactivation and 

reinstatement for applicants who have either been not practicing social work in recent 

years or practicing elsewhere in an exempt setting by requiring practice under supervision 

for at least 360 hours in the 12 months preceding licensure in Virginia. 

 

Changes made since the proposed stage 

 
Please describe all changes made to the text of the proposed regulation since the publication of the 
proposed stage. For the Registrar’s office, please put an asterisk next to any substantive changes.   
              

 
Section 
number 

Requirement at  
proposed stage 

What has changed  Rationale for change 

110 
B & C 

Alternative for 
reinstatement or 
reactivation of practice as a 
“resident” under 
supervision in lieu of active 

The term “resident” was changed to 
“supervisee.” 

In response to comment, 
the Board edited the term 
since “resident” is not 
used elsewhere in 
regulation. 
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practice within the past five 
years 

 

Public comment 
 
Please summarize all comments received during the public comment period following the publication of 
the proposed stage, and provide the agency response.  If no comment was received, please so indicate.  

                

 
Commenter  Comment  Agency response 

Lisa Lervolino The regulation for reactivation or 

reinstatement requires 360 hours 

of supervised practice within the 

past 12 months if an applicant 

has not held an active license in 

Virginia for four or more years 

and has not been actively 

practicing in another jurisdiction 

or in an exempt setting.  The 

commenter felt the supervised 

practice requirement was too 

burdensome and should be 

amended to allow re-licensure 

with consultation or supervision 

of practice for the first 3 months 

or 360 hours. 

The Board has no authority to issue a 

conditional license, which is what the 

commenter is requesting.  Once a full and 

unrestricted license is issued, the licensed 

clinical social worker may practice 

independently.  By requiring supervised 

practice prior to issuance of an active 

license, the Board has some assurance that 

the applicant for re-licensure (who has not 

held an active license as a clinical social 

worker for four or more years) has the 

skills and competency to resume practice. 

Joseph Lynch, 

Va. Society for 

Clinical Social 

Work 

In support of the proposed 

regulations, but requested that 

the term “resident” be changed 

because it is not defined or used 

in regulation. 

The Board concurred with the request and 

amended the term in section 110. 

National 

Association of 

Social 

Workers, Va. 

Chapter 

(NASW) 

In support of the proposed 

regulations 

The Board concurred. 

 

In addition to the comment received during the 60-day comment period, the Board considered a 

request from a petition for rulemaking as comment on the proposed regulations. The petitioner 

requested to amend Section 45 of the regulations for licensure by endorsement to allow social 

workers from other jurisdictions to provide "verification of active practice in another jurisdiction 

for 36 out of the past 60 months;" or verification of active practice in another jurisdiction for 36 

months at any time, plus verification that the applicant has completed 30 contact hours of 

continuing education in the 12 months preceding the application for licensure.  The NASW 



Town Hall Agency Background Document     Form: TH-03 
 

 

 6

supported an alternative that would allow licensure with verification of active practice for 36 

months in the past 10 years, plus continuing education.   

A motion was made by one board member to support the change but it was never seconded.  

Board members felt that it was not in the best interest for public safety for an applicant who had 

potentially not practiced for seven or more years to resume independent practice without re-

examination. 

 

 

All changes made in this regulatory action 
 
Please list all changes that are being proposed and the consequences of the proposed changes.  
Describe new provisions and/or all changes to existing sections.     

              
 

Current 
section 
number 

Current requirement Proposed change, rationale, and consequences 

10 Sets out definitions for words 

and terms used in regulation. 

Adds a definition for “active practice” to clarify the 

Board’s minimal interpretation as applied in requirements 

for licensure or re-licensure. 

The definition of active practice is  minimal -  360 hours 

in a 12-month period is approximately 9 weeks or full-

time or 18 weeks or more of part-time work.    

40 Establishes requirements for 

licensure by examination for 

a clinical social worker 

Specifies that an applicant for licensure by examination 

shall provide evidence of passage of the examination 

prescribed in section 70. Further requires that if the 

examination was not passed within five years preceding 

application for licensure, the applicant may qualify by 

documentation of providing clinical social work services 

in an exempt setting for at least 360 hours per year for two 

of the past five years. 

The Board has recently received a few applications from 

persons who passed the licensure examination many years 

ago but never practiced clinical social work.  They are 

now seeking a clinical license, which will authorize them 

to provide independent clinical services – the provision of 

which can have serious consequences to the mental health 

and well-being of a client.  Without a time limitation of the 

validity of the examination, the Board is unable to deny 

licensure, even though there is no evidence of current 

competency in knowledge or skills. 

The Board has provided an exception to the five-year rule 

on passage of the examination, if an applicant can show 

that he/she has been providing clinical services in an 

exempt setting in which a license was not required.  The 

minimal practice requirement would be at least 360 hours 

per year for two of the past five years, which is consistent 
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with the definition of “active practice,” except the 

definition specifies “post-licensure” practice and persons 

seeking licensure by examination would not have “post-

licensure” practice. 

45 Establishes the requirements 

for licensure by endorsement 

Subdivision 2 is amended to change the requirement for 

documentation of social work licensure in good standing 

obtained by standards substantially equivalent to those 

required for original licensure by examination in Virginia 

to accept licensure by standards required for licensure in 

another jurisdiction.  

The changes to licensure by endorsement are all intended 

to remove barriers to qualified persons seeking licensure 

in Virginia.  If a person has been licensed in another state 

and has actively practiced with safety and skill in that 

state, documentation of particular coursework and hours 

of supervised experience that may have been obtained 

many years ago is not necessary as evidence of 

competency.   

The Board has clarified that the licensure in the other 

jurisdiction shall be of a comparable type as the licensure 

which the applicant is seeking in Virginia. 

It is necessary to so specify to ensure that a person who 

does not have a clinical license in another state does not 

qualify for licensure as a clinical social worker by 

endorsement into Virginia. 

Subdivision 3 is amended to clarify that passing score 

required for the national exam is at the level for which the 

applicant is seeking licensure in Virginia.  

Again, the Board is seeking to ensure that someone 

seeking a clinical license is qualified by passage of the 

clinical examination. 

Subdivision 4 is deleted to eliminate the requirement for 

an official transcript or transcripts in the school's original 

sealed envelope.  

Elimination of the transcript requirement will alleviate a 

problem for some applicants who have difficulty obtaining 

a transcript from a program that may no longer exist.  

Verification from the other state that the applicant met all 

educational requirements at the time of initial licensure 

will suffice. 

Subdivision 5 (new #4) will offer an alternative to the 

current requirement for verification of active practice in 

another jurisdiction for 36 out of the past 60 months and 

allow evidence of supervised experience requirements 

substantially equivalent to those outlined in 18VAC140-

20-50 and 18VAC140-20-60.  

 

51  Establishes requirements for 

licensure by examination for 

licensed social workers 

Adds a requirement that an applicant for licensure by 

examination shall provide evidence of passage of the 

examination prescribed in 18VAC140-20-70.  If the 
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examination was not passed within five years preceding 

application for licensure, the applicant may qualify by 

documentation of providing social work services in an 

exempt setting for at least 360 hours per year for two of 

the past five years. 

See explanation for changes in section 40 above.  For the 

social worker license, it is not necessary for the 

examination and practice to be clinical in nature since an 

LSW does not provide clinical services or practice 

independently. 

 

110 Establishes the requirements 

for reinstatement or 

reactivation of a license 

Subsections B and C are amended to specify the additional 

evidence necessary to ensure that an applicant for 

reinstatement or reactivation has minimal competency to 

practice.  Such evidence may include documentation of: 

1. Active practice in another U. S. jurisdiction for at least 

three of the past five years immediately preceding 

application; or 

2. Active practice in an exempt setting for at least three of 

the past five years immediately preceding application; or 

3. Practice as a supervisee under supervision for at least 

360 hours in the 12 months immediately preceding 

licensure. 

 

If an applicant has not actively practiced in another 

jurisdiction, either with a license or in an exempt setting 

for three of the past five years, his/her option would be to 

practice under supervision as a supervisee for at least 360 

hours preceding licensure.  The Board believes that a 

social work or clinical social worker who has not held a 

Virginia license for four or more years and who wants to 

resume practice should have some recent experience or 

should practice for a period of time under supervision to 

ensure current knowledge and skills. 
 

 


