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FINAL AMENDED REGULATIONS
PART I.

GENERAL PROVISIONS.

18 VAC 90-20-30. Fees.

Fees required in connection with the licensing of applicants by the board are:

1.  Application for licensure by examination..............cccceeeeveeierine s $25-105
2. Application for licensure by endorSement ..........ccceveeeeecieeieie s $56-105
3. Reapplication for licensure by eXamination............cocueieeeiiiiiiiiiscsties i
3.4, Biennid ICENSUIETENBWA ......coveeviiiectiecte ettt et r et s eebeenresree s $406-70
5. LA@reneWal ...ocooeeieiieiiiiie s
4.6. Reinstatement of 13pSE0 lICENSE ....vocuiceieece e $50-120
7.  Reingtatement of suspended or reVOKED lICENSE ........cocvveiieieeiiieiiecie et $160
LR ST B o [Ter= (=] (o= 0 =TSRRI $155
9. Replacement wall CartifiCae. ..ot $15
R ORAVZE (1o (o g Ko ll[Te = o' ST $25
+.11. Transcript of al or part of gpplicant/licenSee records.........oivevveceeceece e $20 25
8.12. RetUrnEd ChECK ChaIGE ..ot $15 25
9.13. Application for CNS FEQISITAION. ........ceeieeieieecie ettt reereene s $50 95
10.14.Biennid renewa of CNSIEgISITAION. ........cceiuiiiicieieieiese et eneas $30 60
11.15.Reinstatement of [apsed CNSIegiSralion ..........ccvceeieeiieiece e $25 105
12.16.Veification of CNS regidration to another juriStiction.............cccoeveereeieceese e $25

17. Late renewWal Of CNS FTEOISITEHION. ..o eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeenneeeeesnnnneeseenneeeesens $20
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PART I11.

LICENSURE AND PRACTICE.

18 VAC 90-20-190. Licensur e by examination.

A. The board shdl authorize the adminigtration of examinations for registered nurse licensure and examinations
for practical nurse licensure.

B. A candidae shdl be digible to take the examination (i) upon receipt by the board of the completed
goplication, fee and an officid transcript from the nursing education program; and (ii) when a determination
has been made that no grounds exist upon which the board may deny licensure pursuant to § 54.1-3007 of
the Code of Virginia

C. Toedadlish digihility for licensure by examination, an gpplicant for the licensaing examination shall:

1. Filethe required application, any necessary documentation and fee no later than 60 days prior to the
first day of the month in which the gpplicant expects to take the examination
2. Arrange for the board to receive an officid transcript from the nursing education program which shows
ether:
a. That the degree or diploma has been awarded, or
b. That dl requirements for avarding the degree or diploma have been met and specifies the date of
conferrd.

3.  FHleanew application and regpplication feeif:
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a. Theexamination is not taken within six months of the date that the Board determines the applicant

to be digible; or
b. Eligibility is not established within six months of the origind filing date.

D. The minimum passing standard on the examination for registered nurse licensure and practical nurse licensure
shall be determined by the board.

E.  Any goplicant suspected of giving or receiving unauthorized assstance during the examination may be noticed
for a hearing pursuant to the provisons of the Adminigirative Process Act (8 9-6.14:1 et seg. of the Code of
Virginia) to determine igibility for licensure or reexamination.

F. The board shdl not release examination results of a candidate to any individua or agency without written
authorization from the applicant or licensee.

G. Practice of nurang pending receipt of examination results.

1. An digble candidate who has filed an application for licensure in Virginia may practice nursing in
Virginiafor a period not to exceed 90 days between completion of the nursing education program and
the receipt of the results of the candidate's firdt licensing examination.

2. Candidates who practice nursang as provided in subdivison 1 of this subsection shdl use the
designation "R.N. Applicant" or "L.P.N. Applicant" when signing officia records.

3. Thededgnations "R.N. Applicant” and "L.P.N. Applicant" shal not be used by applicants who ether
do not take the examination within 90 days following completion of the nursing education program or
who have failed the examination.

H. Applicants who fall the examination.

1.  An goplicant who fails the licenang examination shdl not be licensed or be authorized to practice

nursng in Virginia
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2. An gpplicant for licensure by reexamination shdl file the required application and regpplication fee no

later than 60 days prior to the first day of the month in which the gpplicant expects to teke the
examination in order to establish digihility.

3. Applicants who have faled the examination for licensure in another U.S. jurisdiction but satisfy the
qudifications for licensure in this jurisdiction may goply for licensure by examination in Virginia. Such
gpplicants shal submit the required gpplication and fee. Such gpplicants shal not, however, be

permitted to practice nuraing in Virginiauntil the requisite license has been issued.

18 VAC 90-20-230. Reinstatement of lapsed licenses.

A. A nurse whose license has lapsed may be reingated within one renewa period by payment of the current

renewa fee and the late renewal fee

A.B. A nurse whose license has lapsed for more than one renewal period shdl file areinstatement gpplication and

pay the eurrentrenend-fee-and-the reingatement fee.

C. A nurse whose license has been suspended or revoked by the board may apply for reingatement by filing a

reinstatement application and paying the fee for renstatement after suspension or revocation.

B.D. The board may request evidence that the nurse is prepared to resume practice in a competent manner.

PART VI.

CERTIFIED NURSE AIDES.

18 VAC 90-20-350. Nurse aideregistry.
A. Initid cetification by examination.

1. Tobeplaced on the registry and certified, the nurse aide must:
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2.

3.

a. Satisfactorily complete a nurse aide education program approved by the board; or

b. Be enrolled in a nursng education program preparing for registered nurse or practica nurse
licensure, have completed a least one nursing course which includes clinica experience involving
client care; or

c. Have completed a nursing education program preparing for registered nurse licensure or practica
nurse licensure; and

d. Passthe competency evauation required by the board; and

e. Submit the required gpplication and fee to the board.

Initid certification by endorsement.

a. A graduate of a state approved nurse aide education program who has satisfactorily completed a
competency evauation program and is currently regisered in another state may apply for
catification in Virginia by endorsement.

b. An applicant for certification by endorsement shal submit the required application and fee and
submit the required verification form to the credentiding agency in the date where registered,
certified or licensed within the last two years.

Initid certification shdl be for two years.

B. Renewd of catification.

1.

No less than 30 days prior to the expiration date of the current certification, an application for renewal
shdl bemailed by the board to the last known address of each currently registered certified nurse aide.
The certified nurse aide shdl return the complete gpplication with the required fee of $0 45 and
veification of peformance of nurang-related activities for compensation within the preceding two

years. The board shall aso charge afee of $15 25 for areturned check.
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3. Falureto receive the gpplication for renewd shal not relieve the certificate holder of the responghility

for renewing the certification by the expiration date.

4. A cetified nurse aide who has not performed nursing-related activities for compensation during the two
years preceding the expiration date of the certification shall repesat and pass the nurse aide competency
evauation prior to goplying for recertification.

C. Rengaement of lgpsed cetification. An individud whose certification has lgpsed shdl file the required
gpplication and renewa fee and:

1. Vaeification of performance of nurang-related activities for compensation prior to the expiration date of
the certificate and within the preceding two years, or

2. When nursing activities have not been performed during the preceding two years, evidence of having
repeated and passed the nurse aide competency evaluation.

D. Evidence of change of name. A certificate holder who has changed his name shdl submit aslega proof to the
board a copy of the marriage certificate or court order authorizing the change. A duplicate certificate shal be
issued by the board upon receipt of such evidence and the required fee.

E.  Requirementsfor current mailing address.

1. All notices required by law and by this chapter to be mailed by the board to any certificate holder shall
be vaidly given when mailed to the latest address on file with the board.

2.  Each cetificate holder shdl maintain arecord of his current mailing address with the board.

3.  Any change of address by a certificate holder shal be submitted in writing to the board within 30 days

of such change.

CERTIFICATION

| certify that thisregulation isfull, true, and correctly dated.
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Nancy K. Durrett
Executive Director
VirginiaBoard of Nursng

Date:




