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Agency name Board of Medicine, Department of Health Professions 

Virginia Administrative Code 
(VAC) citation  

18VAC85-20, 18VAC85-40, 18VAC85-50, 18VAC85-80, 18VAC85-
101, 18VAC85-110 

Regulation title Regulations Governing the: 

Practice of Medicine, Osteopathic Medicine, Podiatry and Chiropractic 

Practice of Respiratory Care Practitioners 

Practice of Physician Assistants 

Licensure of Occupational Therapists 

Licensure of Radiologic Technologists and Radiologic Technologists-
Limited 

Licensed Acupuncturists 

Action title Restricted volunteer license 

Document preparation date 6/22/06 
 
This form is used when an agency wishes to promulgate an emergency regulation (to be effective for up to one year), 
as well as publish a Notice of Intended Regulatory Action (NOIRA) to begin the process of promulgating a permanent 
replacement regulation.   
 
This information is required for executive branch review and the Virginia Registrar of Regulations, pursuant to the 
Virginia Administrative Process Act (APA), Executive Orders 21 (2002) and 58 (1999), and the Virginia Register 
Form, Style, and Procedure Manual. 

 

���
� ����

 
The APA (Code of Virginia § 2.2-4011) states that an “emergency situation” is:  (i) a situation involving an 
imminent threat to public health or safety; or (ii) a situation in which Virginia statutory law, the Virginia 
appropriation act, or federal law requires that a regulation shall be effective in 280 days or less from its 
enactment, or in which federal regulation requires a regulation to take effect no later than 280 days from 
its effective date. 
 
1) Please explain why this is an “emergency situation” as described above.  
2) Summarize the key provisions of the new regulation or substantive changes to an existing regulation.   
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The adoption of an “emergency”  regulation by the Board of Medicine is required to comply with 
amendments to Chapter 29 of Title 54.1, mandating the promulgation of regulations for issuance 
of restricted volunteer licenses as prescribed in the second third enactment clause of Chapter 881 
of the 2006 Acts of the Assembly, which states:  “That the Board of Medicine shall promulgate 
regulations to implement the provisions of this act to be effective within 280 days of its 
enactment.”  

The key provisions of the amended regulations include the fee for a restricted volunteer license 
and the continuing education required to renew such a license after the first biennial renewal. 

���
���
�����
 
Other than the emergency authority described above, please identify the state and/or federal legal 
authority to promulgate this proposed regulation, including: 1) the most relevant law and/or regulation, 
including Code of Virginia citation and General Assembly chapter number(s), if applicable, and 2) 
promulgating entity, i.e., agency, board, or person.  Describe the legal authority and the extent to which 
the authority is mandatory or discretionary.   
              
 
Regulations are promulgated under the general authority of Chapter 24 of Title 54.1 of the Code of 
Virginia. Section 54.1-2400, which provides the Board of Medicine the authority to promulgate 
regulations to administer the regulatory system: 
 
§ 54.1-2400 -General powers and duties of health regulatory boards  
The general powers and duties of health regulatory boards shall be:  
 … 
6. To promulgate regulations in accordance with the Administrative Process Act (§ 9-6.14:1 et 
seq.) which are reasonable and necessary to administer effectively the regulatory system. Such 
regulations shall not conflict with the purposes and intent of this chapter or of Chapter 1 (§ 54.1-
100 et seq.) and Chapter 25 (§ 54.1-2500 et seq.) of this title. … 
 
The Board is mandated to promulgate regulations for restricted volunteer licenses by Chapter 
881 of the 2006 Acts of the Assembly: 
 

§ 54.1-2928.1.  Restricted volunteer license.  

A. The Board may issue a restricted volunteer license to a practitioner of the healing arts who:  

1. Held an unrestricted license issued by the Virginia Board of Medicine or by a board in 
another state as a licensee in good standing at the time the license expired or became inactive;  

2. Is practicing within the limits of his license in accordance with provisions of § 54.1-106; and 

3. Attests to knowledge of the laws and regulations governing his branch of the healing arts in 
Virginia. 



Town Hall Agency Background Document     Form: TH- 05 
 

 3

B. A person holding a restricted volunteer license under this section shall not be required to 
complete continuing education for the first renewal of such a license.  Subsequent renewals will 
require continuing education as specified by Board regulation.  

C. If a practitioner with a restricted volunteer license issued under this section has not held an 
active, unrestricted license and been engaged in active practice within the past four years, he 
shall only practice his profession if a doctor of medicine or osteopathic medicine with an active, 
unrestricted Virginia license reviews the quality of care rendered by the practitioner with the 
restricted volunteer license at least every 90 days.  

D. Such license may be renewed every two years in accordance with regulations promulgated by 
the Board.  

E. A practitioner holding a restricted volunteer license issued pursuant to this section is subject 
to the provisions of this chapter, the regulations promulgated under this chapter, and the 
disciplinary regulations which apply to all such practitioners in Virginia. 

F. The application fee and the biennial renewal fee for restricted volunteer license under this 
section shall be no more than one-half the renewal fee for an inactive license in the same branch 
of the healing arts.  

2.  That the Board of Medicine shall promulgate regulations to implement the provisions of 
this act to be effective within 280 days of its enactment.  

 

��� ����

 
Please describe the subject matter and intent of the planned regulatory action.  Also include a brief 
explanation of the need for and the goals of the new or amended regulation. 
              
 
The purpose of the action is compliance with a statutory mandate for the promulgation of 
regulations to establish a restricted volunteer license under the Board of Medicine for persons to 
practice without compensation in free clinics.  Regulations set out the requirements for applying 
for such a license, the fees for application and renewal and the hours of continuing education 
necessary for the second renewal.  The goal of the regulation was to establish minimal fees and 
continuing education requirements to facilitate and encourage practitioners who are retired or 
taking a break from active practice to obtain such a license and volunteer their services in a free 
clinic.  At the same time, there was concern that practitioners maintain current knowledge and 
technique as necessary to serve patients in free clinics with the same degree of professionalism 
and skill as could be expected in other health care settings. 
 

! ����
�����

 
Please detail any changes that are proposed.  Please outline new substantive provisions, all substantive 
changes to existing sections, or both where appropriate.  Set forth the specific reasons why the regulation 
is essential to protect the health, safety, or welfare of Virginians.  Delineate any potential issues that may 
need to be addressed as a permanent final regulation is developed.    
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Chapter  20 – Regulations Governing the Practice of Medicine, Osteopathic Medicine, 
Podiatry and Chiropractic 

Current 
section 
number 

Proposed 
new section 

number 

Current 
requirement 

Proposed change and rationale 

22 n/a Sets fees for 
applicants and 
licensees 

Establishes the fee for an initial application or biennial 
renewal at one-half the amount of an inactive fee as 
specified by subsection F of § 54.1-2928.1. A fee for a late 
renewal is set at 1/3 of the renewal fee. 
The fees for a restricted volunteer license are consistent 
with the statute and with the Fee Principles for all 
professions regulated by the Department of Health 
Professions. 

n/a 226 n/a Sets the requirements for application and issuance of a 
restricted volunteer license consistent with requirements set 
out in § 54.1-2928.1 by Chapter 881 of the 2006 Acts of the 
Assembly.  Establishes the continuing education 
requirement for a biennial renewal after the first renewal 
cycle to be ½ the hours required for full licensure for a total 
of 30 hours, at least 15 of which must be Type 1 activities 
or courses offered by an accredited organization and no 
more than 15 hours of Type 2 hours that may be selected by 
the licensee.   

Subsection B of § 54.1-2928.1 provides that a person can 
renew a restricted volunteer license once without meeting 
continuing education requirements.  The Board is required 
to specify the CE requirement for any subsequent renewal 
and determined that half the number of hours for full 
licensure was reasonable.  While the licensee is not being 
compensated for his voluntary practice, he is continuing to 
engage in his profession in treating patients so continuing 
education is important in assuring continuing competency. 

 
Chapter  40 – Regulations Governing the Practice of Respiratory Care Practitioners 
 

Current 
section 
number 

Proposed 
new section 

number 

Current 
requirement 

Proposed change and rationale 

35 n/a Sets fees for 
applicants and 
licensees 

Establishes the fee for an initial application or biennial 
renewal at one-half the amount of an inactive fee as 
specified by subsection F of § 54.1-2928.1. A fee for a late 
renewal is set at 1/3 of the renewal fee. 
The fees for a restricted volunteer license are consistent 
with the statute and with the Fee Principles for all 
professions regulated by the Department of Health 
Professions. 

n/a 67 n/a Sets the requirements for application and issuance of a 
restricted volunteer license consistent with requirements set 
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out in § 54.1-2928.1 by Chapter 881 of the 2006 Acts of the 
Assembly.  Establishes the continuing education 
requirement for a biennial renewal after the first renewal 
cycle to be ½ the hours required for full licensure for a total 
of 10 hours of continuing education as approved and 
documented by a sponsor recognized by the American 
Association for Respiratory Care (AARC) or in courses 
directly related to the practice of respiratory care as 
approved by the American Medical Association for 
Category 1 CME credit within the last biennium. 

Subsection B of § 54.1-2928.1 provides that a person can 
renew a restricted volunteer license once without meeting 
continuing education requirements.  The Board is required 
to specify the CE requirement for any subsequent renewal 
and determined that half the number of hours for renewal 
of a full license was reasonable.  While the licensee is not 
being compensated for his voluntary practice, he is 
continuing to engage in his profession in treating patients 
so continuing education is important in assuring continuing 
competency. 

 
Chapter  50 – Regulations Governing the Practice of Physician Assistants 

Current 
section 
number 

Proposed 
new section 

number 

Current 
requirement 

Proposed change and rationale 

35 n/a Sets fees for 
applicants and 
licensees 

Establishes the fee for an initial application or biennial 
renewal at one-half the amount of an inactive fee as 
specified by subsection F of § 54.1-2928.1. A fee for a late 
renewal is set at 1/3 of the renewal fee. 
The fees for a restricted volunteer license are consistent 
with the statute and with the Fee Principles for all 
professions regulated by the Department of Health 
Professions. 

n/a 61 n/a Sets the requirements for application and issuance of a 
restricted volunteer license consistent with requirements set 
out in § 54.1-2928.1 by Chapter 881 of the 2006 Acts of the 
Assembly.  Establishes the continuing education 
requirement for a biennial renewal after the first renewal 
cycle to be ½ the hours required for full licensure for a total 
of 50 hours of continuing education during the biennial 
renewal period with at least 25 hours in Type 1 and no 
more than 25 hours in Type 2 as acceptable to the National 
Commission on Certification of Physician Assistants 
(NCCPA). 

Subsection B of § 54.1-2928.1 provides that a person can 
renew a restricted volunteer license once without meeting 
continuing education requirements.  The Board is required 
to specify the CE requirement for any subsequent renewal 
and determined that half the number of hours for renewal 
of full licensure was reasonable. Renewal as a physician 
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assistant requires evidence of current certification by the 
National Commission on Certification of Physician 
Assistants, which requires a total of 100 hours every two 
years. While the licensee is not being compensated for his 
voluntary practice, he is continuing to engage in his 
profession in treating patients so continuing education is 
important in assuring continuing competency. 

 
Chapter  80 – Regulations Governing the Practice of Occupational Therapists 

Current 
section 
number 

Proposed 
new section 

number 

Current 
requirement 

Proposed change and rationale 

26 n/a Sets fees for 
applicants and 
licensees 

Establishes the fee for an initial application or biennial 
renewal at one-half the amount of an inactive fee as 
specified by subsection F of § 54.1-2928.1. A fee for a late 
renewal is set at 1/3 of the renewal fee. 
The fees for a restricted volunteer license are consistent 
with the statute and with the Fee Principles for all 
professions regulated by the Department of Health 
Professions. 

n/a 73 n/a Sets the requirements for application and issuance of a 
restricted volunteer license consistent with requirements set 
out in § 54.1-2928.1 by Chapter 881 of the 2006 Acts of the 
Assembly.  Establishes the continuing education 
requirement for a biennial renewal after the first renewal 
cycle to be ½ the hours required for full licensure for a total 
of 10 hours of continuing education during the biennial 
renewal period with at least five hours of Type 1 and no 
more than five hours of Type 2.   

Subsection B of § 54.1-2928.1 provides that a person can 
renew a restricted volunteer license once without meeting 
continuing education requirements.  The Board is required 
to specify the CE requirement for any subsequent renewal 
and determined that half the number of hours for full 
licensure was reasonable. While the licensee is not being 
compensated for his voluntary practice, he is continuing to 
engage in his profession in treating patients so continuing 
education is important in assuring continuing competency. 

 
Chapter  101 – Regulations Governing the L icensure of Radiologic Technologists and 
Radiologic Technologists-L imited 

Current 
section 
number 

Proposed 
new section 

number 

Current 
requirement 

Proposed change and rationale 

25 n/a Sets fees for 
applicants and 
licensees 

Establishes the fee for an initial application or biennial 
renewal at one-half the amount of an inactive fee as 
specified by subsection F of § 54.1-2928.1. A fee for a late 
renewal is set at 1/3 of the renewal fee. 
The fees for a restricted volunteer license are consistent 
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with the statute and with the Fee Principles for all 
professions regulated by the Department of Health 
Professions. 

n/a 153 n/a Sets the requirements for application and issuance of a 
restricted volunteer license consistent with requirements set 
out in § 54.1-2928.1 by Chapter 881 of the 2006 Acts of the 
Assembly.  Establishes the continuing education 
requirement for a biennial renewal after the first renewal 
cycle to be ½ the hours required for full licensure for a total 
of 12 hours of Category A continuing education as 
acceptable to and documented by the ARRT within the last 
biennium for radiologic technologists. A radiologic 
technologist-limited must attest to having completed 6 
hours of Category A continuing education within the last 
biennium that corresponds to the anatomical areas in which 
the limited licensee practices. Hours must be acceptable to 
and documented by the American Registry of Radiologic 
Technologists (ARRT) or by any other entity approved by 
the board for limited licensees whose scope of practice is 
podiatry or bone densitometry. 

Subsection B of § 54.1-2928.1 provides that a person can 
renew a restricted volunteer license once without meeting 
continuing education requirements.  The Board is required 
to specify the CE requirement for any subsequent renewal 
and determined that half the number of hours for full 
licensure was reasonable. While the licensee is not being 
compensated for his voluntary practice, he is continuing to 
engage in his profession in treating patients so continuing 
education is important in assuring continuing competency. 

 
Chapter  110 – Regulations Governing the Practice of L icensed Acupunctur ists 

Current 
section 
number 

Proposed 
new section 

number 

Current 
requirement 

Proposed change and rationale 

35 n/a Sets fees for 
applicants and 
licensees 

Establishes the fee for an initial application or biennial 
renewal at one-half the amount of an inactive fee as 
specified by subsection F of § 54.1-2928.1. A fee for a late 
renewal is set at 1/3 of the renewal fee. 
The fees for a restricted volunteer license are consistent 
with the statute and with the Fee Principles for all 
professions regulated by the Department of Health 
Professions. 

n/a 161 n/a Sets the requirements for application and issuance of a 
restricted volunteer license consistent with requirements set 
out in § 54.1-2928.1 by Chapter 881 of the 2006 Acts of the 
Assembly.  Establishes the continuing education 
requirement for a biennial renewal after the first renewal 
cycle to be ½ the hours required for full licensure for a total 
of 20 hours of continuing education acceptable to the  
National Certification Commission for Acupuncture and 
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Oriental Medicine (NCCAOM), obtained within the last 
biennium.   

Subsection B of § 54.1-2928.1 provides that a person can 
renew a restricted volunteer license once without meeting 
continuing education requirements.  The Board is required 
to specify the CE requirement for any subsequent renewal 
and determined that half the number of hours for full 
licensure was reasonable.  Renewal as a licensed 
acupuncturist requires evidence of current certification by 
the National Certification Commission for Acupuncture 
and Oriental Medicine (NCCAOM), which requires a total 
of 40 hours every two years. While the licensee is not being 
compensated for his voluntary practice, he is continuing to 
engage in his profession in treating patients so continuing 
education is important in assuring continuing competency. 

 

� �����
��"���
 
Please describe all viable alternatives to the proposed regulatory action that have been or will be 
considered to meet the essential purpose of the action.   
              
 
There were no viable options to the adoption of regulations; it was mandated by legislation 
(HB1487) passed by the 2006 General Assembly.  Qualifications for a restricted volunteer 
license and for practice with such a license were all specified in § 54.1-2928.1 of the Code of 
Virginia. 
 
The Board had some discretion in setting fees for holding such a license, but the fee was limited 
by the Code to no more than ½ of the fee for an inactive license.  The Board was also required to 
establish the requirement for continuing education for a practitioner who wishes to continue 
renewing a restricted volunteer license after one renewal cycle.  While patients are being treated 
at free clinics and there is no compensation allowed for the licensee, the Board determined that 
some evidence of continuing competency was essential and adopted a requirement equal to half 
the hours of continuing education for full licensure.  There was some concern that half the hours 
may not be adequate, but a practitioner who has not engaged in active practice for four or more 
years must have the quality of his care reviewed by a doctor with an active license at least every 
90 days.  With such oversight in place, the reduced hours of continuing education was deemed 
reasonable.   
 

#
� ��	���  
���
 
Please assess the impact of the emergency regulatory action on the institution of the family and family 
stability. 
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Since there are families that receive medical care through the free clinics in Virginia, the 
availability of restricted volunteer licenses may encourage some practitioners to volunteer their 
service thus increasing the supply of qualified medical personnel in those facilities. 


