
Adverse impact notification sent to Joint Commission on Administrative Rules, House Committee on 

Appropriations, and Senate Committee on Finance (COV § 2.2-4007.04.C):   Yes ☒  Not Needed  ☐ 

If/when this economic impact analysis (EIA) is published in the Virginia Register of Regulations, 

notification will be sent to each member of the General Assembly (COV § 2.2-4007.04.B). 

 

 Virginia Department of Planning and Budget 

 Economic Impact Analysis 

 

 

18 VAC 115‑‑‑‑30 Regulations Governing the Practice of Professional Counseling 

Department of Health Professions   

Town Hall Action/Stage:  4856 / 8021 

October 26, 2017       
 

 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation 

The Board of Counseling (Board) proposes several amendments concerning the 

certification of substance abuse counselors and substance abuse counseling assistants. The 

proposed changes are about: 1) new continuing education requirements, 2) a time limit to pass 

the certification exam, 3) didactic1 training, 4) supervised experience, 5) attestation of having 

read and understood laws and regulations, 6) fees, 7) reports from the U.S. Department of Health 

and Human Services (USDHHS) National Practitioner Data Bank, and 8) standards of practice, 

9) grounds for discipline, and 10) clarifying amendments. 

Result of Analysis 

The benefits likely exceed the costs for the majority of proposed changes. For other 

proposed amendments it is uncertain. 

Estimated Economic Impact 

Continuing Education 

 Continuing education (CE) is not currently required for certification renewal. The Board 

proposes to require certified substance abuse counselors (CSAC) to have completed a minimum 

                                                           
1 “Didactic” means teaching-learning methods that impart facts and information, usually in the form of one-way 
communication (includes directed readings and lectures). 
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of 10 contact hours of CE in substance abuse and certified substance abuse counseling assistants 

(CSAC-A) to have completed a minimum of 5 contact hours of CE in substance abuse prior to 

renewal each year.  

 The median hourly wage for substance abuse counselors in the Commonwealth is $19.83 

per hour.2 If we assess the value of their time as their median wage, then the time cost for the 

proposed required 10 contact hours of continuing education for CSACs would be about $200 

annually. Data is not available for the median hourly wage for substance abuse counseling 

assistants. Since their wage is presumably lower, the time cost for the proposed required 5 

contact hours of continuing education for CSAC-As would be less than $100 annually. 

 Members of NAADAC,3 the Association for Addiction Professionals (annual 

membership cost of $139 for national and state affiliate in Virginia4) can take all of the required 

CE through webinars at no costs.5 Many employers of CSACs, such as community services 

boards, offer continuing education through in-service programs at no costs.6 Thus for some 

CSACs and CSAC-As CE can be obtained for few if any fees, while others may need to spend 

up to $139 annually.  

  CE can potentially be valuable for maintaining or increasing competency of 

professionals. Individuals who actively seek continuing education on their own are likely to 

benefit in that that will likely be active learners. When there are no examinations or other 

concrete indications of learning taking place, the value of requiring CE for those who would 

otherwise not have participated is uncertain; they may not pay attention and gather or reinforce 

knowledge. Thus we cannot say whether the benefits of the proposed CE requirements exceed 

the costs. 

                                                           
2 Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics May 2016 State Occupational Employment and Wage Estimates: 
https://www.bls.gov/oes/2016/may/oes_va.htm 
 
3 National Association for Alcoholism and Drug Abuse Counselors 
 
4 Source: Department of Health Professions 
 
5 Ibid 
 
6 Ibid 

https://www.bls.gov/oes/2016/may/oes_va.htm
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Certification Exam Time Limit 

 The Board proposes to require that the certification exam be passed within 2 years of 

board approval to sit for the exam for both CSAC and CSAC-A applicants. The applicant can 

take the exam every 90 days within the two-year period or potentially 8 times in 2 years.  If he 

does not pass within the two years, the applicant must reapply in accordance with regulations in 

effect at that time. If the applicant has applied twice and has still not passed, he will not be 

approved to sit for the examination again unless he can provide evidence of extenuating 

circumstances for failure to pass within a four-year period. The Board is concerned about 

applicants who attempt passage multiple times over a period of years.7 If they do finally pass, 

there may be a large gap between their education and supervised experience and exam passage, 

which raises questions about competency to practice. 

Didactic Training 

 Applicants for certification as a substance abuse counselor by examination must, among 

other requirements, have completed didactic training in substance abuse education. The Board 

proposes to increase the required total number of clock hours of substance abuse didactic training 

from 220 to 240. This would not add to the net required time required as the Board is also 

proposing to reduce required supervised experience training by 20 clock hours. Within the 240 

hours, the required topics and number of hours per topic in didactic training are proposed to 

change as well. Further, the Board proposes to add governmental agencies, public school systems 

and licensed health facilities to the list of approved providers of didactic training. This would be 

beneficial for applicants as it provides greater flexibility in obtaining qualified education.  

Supervised Experience 

 Applicants for certification as a substance abuse counselor by examination must also 

obtain supervised experience training to perform specified tasks with substance abuse clients. As 

alluded to above, the Board proposes to reduce the required total number of clock hours from 

180 to 160. Additionally, the Board proposes to require that supervisors have professional 

training in supervision. Training for supervisors is required for other professions under the 

Board. The Board believes it is necessary since it is aware of situations in which the supervisor 

                                                           
7 Source: Department of Health Professions 
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did not understand his role and responsibility and did not appropriately provide training and 

oversight for a supervisee. Clinical supervisors can obtain professional training in supervision 

consisting of three credit hours or four quarter hours in graduate-level coursework in supervision. 

Alternatively, the supervisor could satisfy this requirement with at least two hours of CE in 

supervision offered by a board-approved provider. 

Understanding Laws and Regulations 

 The current regulation requires that applicants for certification by endorsement submit an 

affidavit of having read and understood the regulations and laws governing the practice of 

substance abuse counseling in Virginia. An affidavit requires a notary public signature. Under 

the proposed regulation the applicant only must attest to having read and understood the 

regulations and laws governing the practice of substance abuse counseling in Virginia. This 

change would be beneficial in that it would save time for the applicant without introducing any 

risk to the public. The Board also proposes to require that applicants for certification by 

examination attest to having read and understood the regulations and laws governing the practice 

of substance abuse counseling in Virginia. 

Fees 

 The Board proposes to introduce a $25 for verification of an individual’s certification to 

another state or entity. Such verification can be obtained at no cost online through License 

Lookup at the Department of Health Professions’ (DHP) website. Some states will not accept an 

online verification from DHP’s website and require an official paper verification of 

licensure/certification form completed by the Board. That requires staff time to complete the 

form and costs for mailing. These costs are currently paid for through other fees not directly 

linked to this service. Charging this proposed fee directly linked to the service provided is 

beneficial. 

National Practitioner Data Bank 

 The current regulation requires that applicants for certification as a substance abuse 

counselor by examination and applicants for certification as a substance abuse counselor by 

endorsement submit a current report from the USDHHS National Practitioner Data Bank. The 

Board proposes to also require that applicants for certification by examination for substance 



Econ impact of 18 VAC 115-30  5 

 

abuse counseling assistant applicants for reinstatement submit the report. The report costs only 

$4 and provides information that may indicate that some applicants have acted previously acted 

in a manner that are grounds for denial of certification. Given the low cost and potential to 

prevent unsafe future situations, these proposed amendments likely produce a net benefit. 

Businesses and Entities Affected 

  The proposed amendments affect the 1,784 certified substance abuse counselors and 218 

certified substance abuse counseling assistants in the Commonwealth, as well as potential 

applicants.  

Localities Particularly Affected 

The proposed amendments do not disproportionately affect particular localities.  

Projected Impact on Employment 

 The proposed amendments are unlikely to significantly affect total employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property 

 The proposed amendment do not significantly affect the use and value of private 

property. 

Real Estate Development Costs 

 The proposed amendments do not affect real estate development costs. 

Small Businesses:  

  Definition 

 Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, small business is defined as “a 

business entity, including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 

(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross annual sales of less than $6 

million.” 

  Costs and Other Effects 

 The proposed CE requirements require CSACs and CSAC-As to spend time and 

perhaps fees on completing the requirement. This may produce a small cost for small 

businesses that employ them in terms of time away from work and potentially in some 

cases reimbursed fees. 
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  Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact 

 Encouraging but not requiring CE would potentially reduce the small potential 

adverse impact for small businesses. 

Adverse Impacts:   

  Businesses:   

The proposed CE requirements require CSACs and CSAC-As to spend time and 

perhaps fees on completing the requirement. This may produce a small cost for 

businesses that employ them in terms of time away from work and potentially in some 

cases reimbursed fees. 

  Localities: 

  The proposed amendments do not adversely affect localities. 

  Other Entities: 

 The proposed CE requirements increase costs for CSACs and CSAC-As who 

otherwise would not have taken the required hours of CE. 

Legal Mandates 

 
General:  The Department of Planning and Budget has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed regulation in 

accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia (Code) and Executive Order Number 17 (2014). Code § 2.2-
4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses determine the public benefits and costs of the proposed 
amendments.  Further the report should include but not be limited to:  (1) the projected number of businesses or 
other entities to whom the proposed regulatory action would apply, (2) the identity of any localities and types of 
businesses or other entities particularly affected, (3) the projected number of persons and employment positions to 
be affected, (4) the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to implement or comply with the regulation, and 
(5)the impact on the use and value of private property.  
 

Adverse impacts:   Pursuant to Code § 2.2-4007.04(C):  In the event this economic impact analysis reveals that 
the proposed regulation would have an adverse economic impact on businesses or would impose a significant 
adverse economic impact on a locality, business, or entity particularly affected, the Department of Planning and 
Budget shall advise the Joint Commission on Administrative Rules, the House Committee on Appropriations, and 
the Senate Committee on Finance within the 45-day period. 
 

If the proposed regulatory action may have an adverse effect on small businesses, Code § 2.2-4007.04 requires that 
such economic impact analyses include: (1) an identification and estimate of the number of small businesses subject 
to the proposed regulation, (2) the projected reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs required for 
small businesses to comply with the proposed regulation, including the type of professional skills necessary for 
preparing required reports and other documents, (3) a statement of the probable effect of the proposed regulation on 
affected small businesses, and  (4) a description of any less intrusive or less costly alternative methods of achieving 
the purpose of the proposed regulation.  Additionally, pursuant to Code § 2.2-4007.1, if there is a finding that a 
proposed regulation may have an adverse impact on small business, the Joint Commission on Administrative Rules 
shall be notified. 

 


