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This information is required for executive branch review and the Virginia Registrar of Regulations, pursuant to the 
Virginia Administrative Process Act (APA), Executive Orders 14 (2010) and 58 (1999), and the Virginia Register 
Form, Style, and Procedure Manual. 
 

Brief summary  
 
Please provide a brief summary (no more than 2 short paragraphs) of the proposed new regulation, 
proposed amendments to the existing regulation, or the regulation proposed to be repealed.  Alert the 
reader to all substantive matters or changes.  If applicable, generally describe the existing regulation.  
Also, please include a brief description of changes to the regulation from publication of the proposed 
regulation to the final regulation.   

              
 
Almost all fees charged to applicants, registrants and licensees will be increased as a result of 
this regulatory action.  Renewal fees for funeral service licensee will increase from $175 to $225 
and for funeral establishment licensees from $300 to $400.  Application fees, reinstatement fees, 
late fees will increase accordingly.  The fee for initial registration of a funeral service internship 
will increase from $100 to $150, and the renewal fee will increase from $100 to $125.   
 
In the adoption of final regulations, the Board added a shortfall reduction assessment to the 
renewal fees due in 2015 and 2016.  For funeral service providers, funeral directors, embalmers, 
and crematories, the assessment will be $40; for funeral establishments and continuing education 



Town Hall Agency Background Document     Form: TH-03 
 

 

 2

providers, the assessment will be $75; for surface transportation and removal services and 
courtesy card holders, the assessment will be $60. 
 

Statement of final agency action 
 
Please provide a statement of the final action taken by the agency including (1) the date the action was 
taken, (2) the name of the agency or board taking the action, and (3) the title of the regulation. 
                

 
On August 20, 2014, the Board of Funeral Directors and Embalmers amended 18VAC65-20-10 
et seq., Regulations of the Board of Funeral Directors and Embalmers and 18VAC65-40-10 et 
seq., Regulations Governing the Resident Trainee Program. 
 

Legal basis 
 
Please identify the state and/or federal legal authority to promulgate this proposed regulation, including 
(1) the most relevant citations to the Code of Virginia or General Assembly chapter number(s), if 
applicable, and (2) promulgating entity, i.e., agency, board, or person.  Your citation should include a 
specific provision authorizing the promulgating entity to regulate this specific subject or program, as well 
as a reference to the agency/board/person’s overall regulatory authority.  

              
 
18VAC65-20-10 et seq., Regulations of the Board of Funeral Directors and Embalmers and 
18VAC65-40-10 et seq., Regulations Governing the Resident Trainee Program are promulgated 
under the general authority of Title 54.1, Chapter 24 of the Code of Virginia. 
 
Chapter 24 establishes the general powers and duties of health regulatory boards including the 
responsibility to promulgate regulations in accordance with the Administrative Process Act which 
are reasonable and necessary and the authority to levy and collect fees that are sufficient to cover 

all expenses for the administration of a regulatory program. 
 
 § 54.1-2400. General powers and duties of health regulatory boards.--The general powers and 
duties of health regulatory boards shall be: 

 
5. To levy and collect fees for application processing, examination, registration, certification or licensure 
and renewal that are sufficient to cover all expenses for the administration and operation of the 

Department of Health Professions, the Board of Health Professions and the health regulatory boards.  
6. To promulgate regulations in accordance with the Administrative Process Act (§ 9-6.14:1 et seq.) 

which are reasonable and necessary to administer effectively the regulatory system. Such regulations 
shall not conflict with the purposes and intent of this chapter or of Chapter 1 (§ 54.1-100 et seq.) and 

Chapter 25 (§ 54.1-2500 et seq.) of this title.  

 
The amended regulation is mandated by § 54.1-113. 
 
§ 54.1-113. Regulatory boards to adjust fees.--Following the close of any biennium, when the account for 
any regulatory board within the Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation or the Department 

of Health Professions maintained under § 54.1-308 or § 54.1-2505 shows expenses allocated to it for the past 
biennium to be more than ten percent greater or less than moneys collected on behalf of the board, it shall 
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revise the fees levied by it for certification or licensure and renewal thereof so that the fees are sufficient but 
not excessive to cover expenses. 

 

Purpose  
 
Please explain the need for the new or amended regulation.  Describe the rationale or justification of the 
proposed regulatory action.  Detail the specific reasons it is essential to protect the health, safety or 
welfare of citizens.  Discuss the goals of the proposal and the problems the proposal is intended to solve. 

              
 
The issue to be addressed is the need of the Board of Funeral Directors and Embalmers to 
increase their fees to cover expenses for essential functions of licensing, investigation of 
complaints against licensees and facilities, adjudication of disciplinary cases, and the inspections 
required for public safety and security in the Commonwealth.  
 
§ 54.1-113 of the Code of Virginia requires that at the end of each biennium, an analysis of revenues 
and expenditures of each regulatory board shall be performed.  It is necessary that each board have 
sufficient revenue to cover its expenditures.  By the close of the FY09 fiscal year, the Board of 
Funeral Directors and Embalmers had a surplus of $19,797 and was projected to have a deficit of 
($84) by the end of FY10.  Because the Board underspent its budget, it ended FY10 with a surplus 
of $40,298. 
 
However, because of extraordinary increases in information technology services, increases in health 
care costs, building lease payments, anticipated cost-of-living increases, and other expenditures, 
current revenue is projected to be insufficient for expenditures.  With the current fee structure, the 
Board has increased its shortfall each year and will have deficits through the fiscal years going 
forward.  The cash balance as of June 30, 2013 was ($172,121), and the balance as of June 30, 2014 
was ($242,833). Since the fees from licensees will no longer generate sufficient funds to pay 
operating expenses for the Board, adoption of a fee increase is essential.  In order to avoid spiraling 
shortfalls and have sufficient funding for the operation of the Board, it is necessary to promulgate 
amendments to regulations at the earliest possible date.     
 

Substance 
 
Please identify and explain the new substantive provisions, the substantive changes to existing sections, 
or both where appropriate.  A more detailed discussion is required under the “All changes made in this 
regulatory action” section.   

               
 
Almost all fees charged to applicants, registrants and licensees will be increased as a result of 
this regulatory action.  Renewal fees for funeral service licensee will increase from $175 to $225 
and for funeral establishment licensees from $300 to $400.  Application fees, reinstatement fees, 
late fees will increase accordingly.  The fee for initial registration of a funeral service internship 
will increase from $100 to $150, and the renewal fee will increase from $100 to $125. 
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In the adoption of final regulations, the Board added a shortfall reduction assessment to the 
renewal fees due in 2015 and 2016.  For funeral service providers, funeral directors, embalmers, 
and crematories, the assessment will be $40; for funeral establishments and continuing education 
providers, the assessment will be $75; for surface transportation and removal services and 
courtesy card holders, the assessment will be $60. 
 

Issues  

 
Please identify the issues associated with the proposed regulatory action, including:  
1) the primary advantages and disadvantages to the public, such as individual private citizens or 
businesses, of implementing the new or amended provisions;  
2) the primary advantages and disadvantages to the agency or the Commonwealth; and  
3) other pertinent matters of interest to the regulated community, government officials, and the public.   
If there are no disadvantages to the public or the Commonwealth, please indicate.    

              
  
1) The primary advantage to the public would be that increased fees will produce adequate 

revenue to fund the licensing and disciplinary activities of the board.  With the shortfall 
already at ($242,833) in FY14 and climbing, there could be significant delays in licensing, in 
inspections and in the investigation and adjudication of complaints against licensees.   There 
are no disadvantages; increases in renewal fees of approximately $50 for a funeral service 
licensee and $100 for an establishment should not significantly impact the cost of funeral 
services for Virginians.  If two establishments have fewer than 85 funeral calls per year, the 
Code allows them to share a manager who is a funeral service licensee, so the increase in fees 
would result in a very minimum increase in the cost per funeral call. 

2) There are no disadvantages to the agency; the advantage would be that fees would be 
sufficient to cover expenditures, especially significant increases in IT services, which is a 
requirement of the Code of Virginia. 

3) There are no additional issues. 
 

Changes made since the proposed stage 

 
Please describe all changes made to the text of the proposed regulation since the publication of the 
proposed stage. For the Registrar’s office, please put an asterisk next to any substantive changes.   
              
 

Section 
number 

Requirement at  
proposed stage 

What has changed  Rationale for change 

70 
 

Sets out fees for 
applicants and 
licensees 

Addition of a two-time shortfall 
reduction assessment to be paid 
with the two renewals after the 
effective date of regulations 
(projected to be 2015). For funeral 
service providers, funeral directors, 
embalmers, and crematories, the 
assessment will be $40; for funeral 
establishments and continuing 

The proposed fee increase 
will produce sufficient 
revenue to cover 
expenditures of the Board 
in the next two biennia, 
but will not eliminate the 
shortfall that has 
accumulated over the past 
several biennia.  
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education providers, the assessment 
will be $75; for surface 
transportation and removal services 
and courtesy card holders, the 
assessment will be $60. 
 

Therefore, a two-time 
assessment is adopted to 
reduce the deficit so the 
proposed fees will be 
sufficient for future 
budgets of the Board. 

 

Public comment 
 
Please summarize all comments received during the public comment period following the publication of 
the proposed stage, and provide the agency response.  If no comment was received, please so indicate.  

                
 
The proposed regulation was published on June 2, 2014 with comment until August 1, 2014.  A 
public hearing was conducted on June 17, 2914 with no public in attendance.  There have been 

no public comments during the comment period. 
 

All changes made in this regulatory action 
 
Please list all changes that are being proposed and the consequences of the proposed changes.  
Describe new provisions and/or all changes to existing sections.     

              
 

Current 
section 
number 

Current 
requirement 

Proposed change, rationale, and consequences 

70 Sets out fees 
charged to 
applicants and 
licensees 

Subsection A sets out fees for initial licensure or registration:  

  1. License to practice funeral service or as a funeral 
director or an embalmer 

$275 325 

  2. Funeral service establishment license $500 600 

  3. Surface transportation and removal service 
registration 

$300 325 

  4. Courtesy card $275 325 

  5. Crematory $200 250 

  6. Waiver of full-time manager requirement $150 

Subsection B sets out fees for renewal of licensure or registration:  

  1. License to practice funeral service or as a funeral 
director or an embalmer 

$175 225 

  2. Funeral service establishment license $300 400 

  3. Surface transportation and removal service 
registration 

$250 300 

  4. Courtesy card $275 300 

  5. Crematory $150 200 

  6.Waiver of full-time manager requirement $100 
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The Board considered two options for a fee increase.  Option I would 

adopt the proposed increase for renewal in 2012, which would result in 
sufficient revenue to FY15, but expenditures in 2015 would exceed 
revenue.  That would necessitate initiation of another regulatory action 

to increase fees again by 2014 to avoid accumulation of a deficit.  By 
adopting a two-step fee increase, the Board had planned to have 

sufficient revenue through 2016.  Since the 2014 increase has been 
eliminated, the fees are not likely to be sufficient to avoid another 
regulatory action. 

Subsection C sets fees for late renewal of licensure or registration up to one 
year following expiration:  

  1. License to practice funeral service or as a funeral 
director or an embalmer 

$60 75 

  2. Funeral service establishment license $100 135 

  3.Surface transportation and removal service 
registration 

$85 100 

  4.Courtesy card $90 100 

  5. Crematory $50 75 

  6. Waiver of full-time manager requirement $35 

Based on the Fee Principles established by the Department, fees for 
late renewal are approximately 1/3 the renewal fee and may be paid 

through one renewal cycle.  After one renewal cycle, a person with a 
lapsed license must reinstate to an active license.   

D. The following fees shall apply for reinstatement of licensure or 
registration:  

  1. License to practice funeral service or as a funeral 
director or an embalmer 

$275 400 

  2. Establishment license $500 635 

  3. Surface transportation and removal service 
registration 

$350 425 

  4. Courtesy card $275 425 

  5. Crematory $225 275 

  6. Reinstatement following suspension $500 1,000 

  7. Reinstatement following revocation $1,000 
2,000 

A reinstatement requires submission of a new application and review 
of information on competency or on a current inspection.  It is typically 
constructed by adding the application fee to the late fee. 

Subsection E sets out miscellaneous fees charged for administrative functions.  

  1. Change of manager or establishment name $75 100 

  2. Verification of license or registration to another 
state 

$50  

  3. Duplicate license, registration, or courtesy card $15 25 
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  4. Duplicate wall certificates $60 

  5. Change of ownership $100 

  6. Nonroutine reinspection (i.e., structural change to 
preparation room, change of location or ownership) 

$300 400 

Subsection F sets fees for approval of continuing education providers.  

  1. Application or renewal for continuing education 
provider 

$300 400 

  2. Late renewal of continuing education provider 
approval 

$100 

  3. Review of additional courses not included on 
initial or renewal application 

$300 

   
 

154 Provides the 
requirements and 
fees for inactive 
licenses 

Subsection A is amended to increase the renewal fee for an inactive license 
from $90 to $115. The fee for late renewal up to one year following expiration 
of an inactive license would be $40.  

According to fee principles, an active license is typically ½ the cost of 
an active license. 

Regulations for Resident Trainee Program – 18VAC65-40 

40 Sets fees for 
registration 

Subsection A is amended to establish the following fees for registration:  

  1. Funeral service intern registration, reinstatement 
or renewal 

$100150 

  2. Funeral service intern renewal $125 

  2.3. Late fee for renewal up to one year after 
expiration 

$3545 

  3.4. Duplicate copy of intern registration $25 

  4.5. Returned check $35 

  5.6. Registration of supervisor $2535 

  6.7. Change of supervisor $2535 

  7.8. Reinstatement fee $170195 

Currently, the fee for initial registration is the same as the renewal fee 
without any amount allocated for the review of an application, checking 

on the licensure of the supervisor, etc.  In the proposed fees, there is a 
$25 difference to account for costs of application processing.  Other 

fees are increased or remain the same for consistency with other 
administrative fees charged by the Board. 

 

Change made since publication of proposed regulation: 

 
The change to proposed regulation is the addition of a two-time shortfall reduction assessment to 
be paid with the two renewals after the effective date of regulations (projected to be 2015). For 
funeral service providers, funeral directors, embalmers, and crematories, the assessment will be 
$40; for funeral establishments and continuing education providers, the assessment will be $75; 
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for surface transportation and removal services and courtesy card holders, the assessment will be 
$60. 
 
The proposed fee increase will produce sufficient revenue to cover expenditures of the Board in 

the next two biennia, but will not eliminate the shortfall that has accumulated over the past 

several biennia.  With the proposed regulations in effect by 2015, the projected shortfall would 

still be in excess of ($190,000) by FY18.  Therefore, additional revenue is required to meet the 

statutory obligation of the Board to have revenue sufficient to cover expenditures.  The Board 

has adopted a two-time assessment to reduce the deficit so the proposed fees will then be 

sufficient for future budgets of the Board. Since current licensees have had the “benefit” of less 

than adequate fees over the past years, it is logical to assess those persons for the shortfall as 

opposed to an additional increase that would produce more revenue than needed to cover 

current expenditures in the near future. 


