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Section 9-6.14:4.1(C)(5) of the Administrative Process Act allows for the adoption of emergency regulations.  Please 
refer to the APA, Executive Order Twenty-Four (98), and the Virginia Register Form, Style and Procedure Manual for 
more information and other materials required to be submitted in the emergency regulation submission package.  
 

Emergency Preamble 
 
Please provide a statement that the emergency regulation is necessary and provide detail of the nature of 
the emergency.  Section 9-6.14:4.1(C)(5) of the Administrative Process Act states that an “emergency 
situation” means:  (i) a situation involving an imminent threat to public health or safety; or (ii) a situation in 
which Virginia statutory law, the Virginia appropriation act, or federal law requires that a regulation shall 
be effective in 280 days or less from its enactment, or in which federal regulation requires a regulation to 
take effect no later than 280 days from its effective date.  The statement should also identify that the 
regulation is not otherwise exempt under the provisions of § 9-6.14:4.1(C)(4). 

Please include a brief summary of the emergency action.  There is no need to state each provision or 
amendment. 

Emergency regulations are required for compliance with an enactment clause in Chapter 858 of 
the 2001 Acts of the Assembly requiring the Board to promulgate regulations within 280 days of 
enactment to implement provisions of the act requiring the Board of Physical Therapy to 
establish requirements to ensure continuing competency of the practitioners it licenses.   
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Basis  

Please identify the state and/or federal source of legal authority to promulgate the emergency regulation.  
The discussion of this emergency statutory authority should: 1) describe its scope; and 2) include a brief 
statement relating the content of the statutory authority to the specific regulation.  Full citations of legal 
authority and web site addresses, if available for locating the text of the cited authority, should be 
provided.  

Please provide a statement that the Office of the Attorney General has certified that the agency has the 
statutory authority to promulgate the emergency regulation and that it comports with applicable state 
and/or federal law.  
 
The legal authority to promulgate the emergency regulation is in second enactment clause of 
Chapter 858 of the 2001 Acts of the Assembly, which states:  "That the Board of Physical 
Therapy shall promulgate regulations to implement the provisions of § 54.1-3474 relating to 
continuing competency within 280 days of the enactment of this act."  See complete copy of SB 
1367 (Chapter 858) - http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?011+ful+CHAP0858. 
 
The Office of the Attorney General has certified that the “emergency situation” which exists 
is specified in § 9-6.14:4.1 (C)(5)(ii) of the Code of Virginia as one in which the agency is required 
by statutory law to have a regulation in effect within 280 days from the enactment of the law. 
 
 

Substance  

Please detail any changes, other than strictly editorial changes, that would be implemented.  Please 
outline new substantive provisions, all substantive changes to existing sections, or both where 
appropriate.  Please provide a cross-walk which includes citations to the specific sections of an existing 
regulation being amended and explain the consequences of the proposed changes.  The statement 
should set forth the specific reasons the agency has determined that the proposed regulatory action 
would be essential to protect the health, safety or welfare of Virginians.  The statement should also 
delineate any potential issues that may need to be addressed as a permanent final regulation is 
developed.    
 
In promulgating emergency regulations for continued competency of physical therapy licensees, 
the Board considered the mandate of the General Assembly to adopt regulations that would 
address a) the need to promote ethical practice, b) an appropriate standard of care, c) patient 
safety, d) application of new medical technology, e) appropriate communication with patients, 
and f) knowledge of the changing health care system.  The amended sections are as follows: 
 
18 VAC 112-20-10.  Definitions. 
 
New definitions are given to provide clarity for terms used in the continuing competency 
regulations.  Terms defined include:  “contact hour,” “face-to-face,” “type 1,” and “type 2.” 
 
18 VAC 112-20-130.  Biennial renewal of license. 
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Added to the requirement of hours of practice to renew an active license is the requirement to 
comply with continuing competency requirements. 
 
18 VAC 112-20-131.  Continued competency requirements for renewal of an active license. 
 
This new section of regulation sets requirement for renewal at 30 contact hours of continuing 
learning within the two years immediately preceding renewal.  The 30-hour requirement is 
divided between Type 1 hours which must be offered by an accredited sponsor and which must 
be face-to-face or interactive hours and Type 2 hours which may be selected by the practitioner 
as valuable to continued learning in his practice.   
 
Organizations approved by the Board as accredited sponsors or providers for Type 1 courses are 
listed in subsection B and include physical therapy associations, governmental agencies, 
accredited colleges and universities, accredited health care entities, the American Medical 
Association and the national athletic trainers’ association.  Specialty certification or re-
certification may suffice as evidence of continued competency for the renewal period in which 
that occurs. 
 
Regulations further provide for an exemption from continued competency requirements in the 
first renewal cycle following initial licensure, waiver of requirements for certain conditions, or 
an extension of time for good cause shown and upon request from the licensee.  There are 
requirements for a random audit of licensees and for the retention of documentation for a period 
of at least four years. 
 
18 VAC 112-20-135.  Inactive license. 
 
An amendment is adopted to add a requirement for evidence of completion of the number of 
continued competency hours that would have been required for the period the license was 
inactive, not to exceed four years. 
 
18 VAC 112-20-136.  Reinstatement requirements. 
 
The reinstatement requirement for practice in another jurisdiction or completion of an inactive 
practice traineeship has been found in subsection A of 18 VAC 112-20-140.  The amended 
regulations place that requirement in section 136 and add the requirement for completion of 
continued competency hours similar to that required for reactivation of an inactive license. 
 
18 VAC 112-20-140.   Traineeship required. 
 
The subsection related to reinstatement of a lapsed license has been deleted in this section and 
included in new section 136. 
 
The Continued Competency Activity and Assessment Form provided instructions to the 
licensees for compliance with regulations and completion of the form on which hours are 
documented. 
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To develop the emergency regulations, an ad hoc committee comprised of board members, 
representatives of VPTA, and licensees from various types of practices was appointed.  Since the 
committee represented a good cross-section of licensees who consulted with other physical 
therapists and physical therapist assistants on the content of the regulations, the issues related to 
requirements were addressed.  Therefore, it is not anticipated that the permanent regulations will 
differ substantially from the emergency regulations. 
 

Alternatives 

Please describe the specific alternatives that were considered and the rationale used by the agency to 
select the least burdensome or intrusive method to meet the essential purpose of the action.  

To select the least burdensome method for ensuring continued competency of its licensees as 
mandated by legislative action of the 2001 General Assembly, the Board reviewed laws that 
were passed, the regulations adopted by other boards within the Department of Health 
Professions, and physical therapy regulations of other states.  The requirements that were 
adopted are consistent with those in other states and other professions and in most cases less 
stringent. 

Twenty-six other states have continuing education requirements for physical therapy; the average 
number of hours required is 36.4.  Examples of requirements for other professions licensed by 
the Department include:  60 hours per biennium for physicians, chiropractors & podiatrists, 40 
hours per biennium for nurse practitioners, 30 hours per biennium for pharmacists, veterinarians, 
audiologists and speech-language pathologists, 24 hours per biennium for radiologic 
technologists, and 20 hours per biennium for occupational therapists. 

Issues that were addressed in the development of these regulations and the alternatives selected 
were: 

1) Hour requirement for physical therapist and physical therapist assistant. 

The ad hoc committee and the Board considered the question of whether the physical therapist 
assistant (PTA) should have the same hour requirement as a physical therapist (PT).  In 
reviewing requirements from others states, it was noted that approximately half of the states 
require an equal number of hours for both professions.  Comments from assistants during the 
development of regulations indicated general support for an equal requirement as a way of 
indicating their professionalism and commitment to continued learning.  Comments from PT’s 
noted that assistants are increasingly being given a high level of individual responsibility for 
patient care. Therefore, both groups agreed that an equal number of continuing competency 
hours was appropriate and necessary. 

In recognition of the differential in income between the two groups, the Board determined that 
the overall hours should be the same, but that the PTA’s should not be required to have as many 
Type 1 hours offered by an accredited sponsor.  Acquiring Type 1 hours will generally entail 
some cost to the licensee, whereas Type 2 hours may be gained through consultation, self-study 
or other means that may involve no cost to the licensee.  Therefore, a physical therapist will have 
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to have a total of 30 hours each biennium with a minimum of 15 hours in Type 1, and the 
physical therapist assistant will be required to have 30 hours with a minimum of 10 hours in 
Type 1.   

2)  Selection of approved providers or sponsors of continuing education. 

Section D of § 54.1-3474 provides that the Board may approve persons who provide or accredit 
programs to ensure continuing competency.  Rather than grant approval on a case-by-case basis, 
the Board followed the example of other boards with the Department by setting out in regulation 
the organizations that were considered “approved” providers or sponsors of continuing 
education.  By establishing a broad range of approved providers, the Board has simplified 
compliance for its licensees who do not have to wait for a CE sponsor to apply and receive 
approval for its offerings.  Licensees will know in advance that courses offered by one of the 
entities listed in subsection B of 18 VAC 112-20-131 will be acceptable for Type 1 or Type 2 
credit.   

Chapter 315 of the 2001 Acts of the Assembly provided that the Board “may approve” 
alternative courses upon timely application of any licensee.  While regulations do not preclude 
such approval, they did not establish a process for such applications.  It has been the experience 
of other boards that individual application from licensees for CE approval is both costly and 
time-consuming for all parties.  The Board does not have the manpower or the resources to 
review and verify the validity of CE courses offered anywhere in the United States.  Therefore, it 
is not its intention to begin the process of allowing individual applications for approval. 
 
3) Content of continued competency requirement 
 
When the Board of Physical Therapy was considering continued competency requirements for its 
licensees, it concluded that the value of continuing education lies in those courses and activities 
which are practice-specific or clinically based and which address the specific needs of the learner-
practitioner.  The goal of the ad hoc committee’s work and the intent of the Board was to develop 
requirements that would: 1) encourage learner-directed continuing education through which the 
practitioner can identify a practice question or problem, seek the learning activity which provides 
needed information or teaches a new skill, and thereby, enhance his expertise or ability to practice; 
2) offer a choice of content and form that is flexible enough to meet the needs of the PT’s and 
PTA’s in any type of practice in any location in Virginia; and 3) assure the public that they are 
maintaining their skills and competencies.   
 
The 30 required hours are divided into two types: (1) In Type 1 continuing learning activities, the 
hours required biennially must be offered by an accredited sponsor or organization which is 
sanctioned by the profession and which provides documentation of hours to the practitioner; and 
(2) In Type 2 continuing learning activities, the hours required biennially may or may not be 
approved by an accredited sponsor or organization but shall be activities considered by the 
learner to be beneficial to practice or to continuing learning; PT’s and PTA’s document their 
own participation on the attached form. 

 
In its consideration of these requirements, the Board modeled the format and content for 
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continuing education after that which has been recently adopted for other health care 
practitioners - specifically physicians, chiropractors, podiatrists, audiologists, occupational 
therapists and others. From the experience of many boards with disciplinary cases, it has been 
observed that practitioners who engage in substandard care or have other disciplinary problems 
are often not associated with other practitioners or involved in any professional group.  
Therefore, the Board is requiring that the Type 1 hours be earned in face-to-face settings or 
interactive opportunities. 
 
4)  Requirements for reactivation of an inactive or lapsed license. 
 
Along with requirements for continuing competency for renewal of licenses, the Board is 
proposing new requirements for reactivation of an inactive license or reinstatement of a lapsed 
license as necessary to ensure that practitioners are competent to resume practice.  The Board 
determined that it was necessary for a practitioner whose license has been inactive or lapsed for 
at least two years to provide evidence of continuing competency hours equal to the amount of 
time the license has not been active, not to exceed four years.  This requirement is also consistent 
with other health care practitioners who are required to demonstrate continued competency. 
 

Family Impact Statement 
 
Please provide a preliminary analysis of the potential impact of the emergency action on the 
institution of the family and family stability including to what extent the action will: 1) strengthen 
or erode the authority and rights of parents in the education, nurturing, and supervision of their 
children; 2) encourage or discourage economic self-sufficiency, self-pride, and the assumption of 
responsibility for oneself, one’s spouse, and one’s children and/or elderly parents; 3) strengthen 
or erode the marital commitment; and 4) increase or decrease disposable family income. 
 

The Board has determined that there is no impact on the family or family stability as a result of 
these regulations.  There may be a very modest decrease in disposable family income depending 
on the cost of continuing education that the licensee chooses to fulfill the regulatory requirement.  
 


