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Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation 

 The Board or Hearing Aid Specialists and Opticians (Board) proposes to amend its 

Hearing Aid Specialists Regulations to: 1) make them conform to definitions and other language 

in the Code of Virginia, 2) add several frequencies to the standard air conduction test standard 

frequencies, 3) clarify that temporary permit holders are subject to Board discipline,  4) 

consolidate the initial licensure and licensure by reciprocity fees and 5) remove the examination 

fee (and other language pertaining to that fee) from the schedule of fees and insert language that 

allows the examination fee to be set outside the regulation by agreement between the Department 

of Professional and Occupational Regulation (DPOR) and the exam vendor so long as the vendor 

is chosen through rules set in the Virginia Public Procurement Act. 

Result of Analysis 

Benefits will likely outweigh costs for several of these regulatory changes. For at least 

one regulatory change, costs will likely outweigh benefits.  

Estimated Economic Impact 

Currently, this regulation contains definitions and other language that differs from the 

language contained in controlling legislation. The Board now proposes to amend the definitions 

for “licensee” and “hearing aid specialist” as well as add language requiring the disclosure of 

non-refundable fees (which may not be a percentage of the purchase price of a hearing aid) so 

that regulatory language conforms to relevant language in the Code of Virginia (COV). Since the 

language in the COV is already legally controlling, no entity is likely to incur costs on account of 
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these changes. To the extent that conforming regulatory language to the COV will eliminate the 

chance of confusion, interested parties will benefit from the added clarity these changes bring. 

Currently, this regulation specifies that licensees and temporary permit holders must 

conduct air conduction tests at standard frequencies of 500, 1,000, 2,000 and 4,000 Hertz. Board 

staff reports that technology has improved for hearing tests and so the Board now proposes to 

add 6,000 and 8,000 Hertz to the list of required standard frequencies. Board staff also reports 

that this change reflects an already established and universally used standard in the hearing aid 

industry so they do not expect any affected entity to have to buy any new equipment or incur any 

additional costs on account of this change. 

Current regulatory language does not allow the Board to discipline temporary permit 

holders for wrongdoing but would instead require the Board to wait until permit holders got their 

licenses in order to discipline them. The Board now proposes to add temporary permit holders to 

the list of entities who are subject to Board discipline. This change will likely benefit the public 

as it will better protect them from temporary permit holders who are providing poor or fraudulent 

services or who have committed a crime that would preclude them from being licensed in the 

Commonwealth.  

Currently, this regulation has a separate fee that individuals seeking licensure by 

reciprocity must pay. This fee is $140 and includes the cost of taking the licensure examination 

($110). The Board proposes to eliminate the separate fee for licensure by reciprocity and require 

all applicants for initial licensure to pay the same fee. The fee for initial licensure is currently set 

at $30 and does not include the examination fee. Although on its face, this change is cost neutral 

for affected entities, the Board is seeking to increase the initial licensure fee to $85 in a separate 

action (http://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewStage.cfm?stageid=7104). The two actions analyzed 

together indicate that individuals seeking licensure by reciprocity will likely have to pay more 

than the currently do to become licensed. Assuming the higher initial licensure fee is 

promulgated, individuals seeking licensure by reciprocity will pay higher fees in all instances 

where the examination fee is greater than $55. Analysis of fee increases for this Board can be 

found at the link provided above. 

The Board also proposes to eliminate the explicit examination and re-examination fees 

from this regulation and instead set these fees administratively based on the cost of private 

http://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewStage.cfm?stageid=7104
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examination services contracted under the rules of the Virginia Public Procurement Act. This 

change would give the Board greater flexibility to set and change fees without having to go 

through the regulatory process but the general public and licensees would be adversely impacted 

in that their ability to receive notice of fee increases (and their ability to make public comment to 

try to affect Board decisions) will be greatly reduced or even eliminated. This change will 

increase uncertainty for these groups and will also likely lead to higher costs for licensees which 

may then be passed on to members of the public who use hearing aid services.  

Businesses and Entities Affected 

This proposed regulation will affect all current and future hearing aid specialist licensees. 

Board staff reports that there are currently 668 hearing aid specialists who are licensed in the 

Commonwealth. 

Localities Particularly Affected 

No localities will likely be disproportionately affected by this proposed regulatory 

change. 

Projected Impact on Employment 

Likely increased licensure fees will likely lead to at least a marginal decrease in the 

number of individuals who are employed as hearing aid specialists. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property 

To the extent that professional licenses are private property of value to licensees, 

increasing the cost of licenses will commensurately decrease their value. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects 

To the extent that increasing licensure fees leads to a decrease in the number of 

individuals licensed as hearing aid specialists, the cost of hiring the services of the remaining, 

smaller pool of licensees may marginally increase for the small businesses that hire them. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact 

The Board could likely mitigate adverse impacts for licensees and the public by leaving 

fees structured as they currently are. 
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Real Estate Development Costs 

This regulatory action will likely have no effect on real estate development costs in the 

Commonwealth. 

Legal Mandate 

 
General:  The Department of Planning and Budget (DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of 
this proposed regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia and Executive 
Order Number 17 (2014). Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses 
determine the public benefits and costs of the proposed amendments.  Further the report should 
include but not be limited to: 
 

• the projected number of businesses or other entities to whom the proposed regulation 
would apply, 

• the identity of any localities and types of businesses or other entities particularly affected, 

• the projected number of persons and employment positions to be affected,  

• the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to implement or comply with the 
regulation, and  

• the impact on the use and value of private property.  
 
Small Businesses:  If the proposed regulation will have an adverse effect on small 
businesses, § 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses include: 
 

• an identification and estimate of the number of small businesses subject to the proposed 
regulation, 

• the projected reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs required for small 
businesses to comply with the proposed regulation, including the type of professional 
skills necessary for preparing required reports and other documents, 

• a statement of the probable effect of the proposed regulation on affected small businesses, 
and  

• a description of any less intrusive or less costly alternative methods of achieving the 
purpose of the proposed regulation.  
 

Additionally, pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1, if there is a finding that a proposed regulation may have 
an adverse impact on small business, the Joint Commission on Administrative Rules (JCAR) is 
notified at the time the proposed regulation is submitted to the Virginia Register of Regulations 

for publication.  This analysis shall represent DPB’s best estimate for the purposes of public 
review and comment on the proposed regulation.   
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