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Agency name | State Water Control Board

Virginia Administrative Code | 9VAC25-610 [Primary]
(VAC) citation(s)

9VAC25-20 [Secondary]

Regulation title(s) | Groundwater Withdrawal Regulations [Primary]

Fees for Permits and Certificates [Secondary]

Action title | Final Exempt Action: Amendment to change groundwater withdrawal
permit term and permit fee in response to Chapter 424 of the 2018
Acts of Assembly

Final agency action date | September 20, 2018

Date this document | May 3, 2018
prepared

When a regulatory action is exempt from executive branch review pursuant to § 2.2-4002 or § 2.2-4006 of the Virginia
Administrative Process Act (APA) or an agency’s basic statute, the agency is not required, however, is encouraged to
provide information to the public on the Regulatory Town Hall using this form. Note: While posting this form on the
Town Hall is optional, the agency must comply with requirements of the Virginia Register Act, Executive Orders 17
(2014) and 58 (1999), and the Virginia Register Form, Style, and Procedure Manual.

Brief summary

Please provide a brief summary of the proposed new regulation, proposed amendments to the existing
regulation, or the regulation proposed to be repealed. Alert the reader to all substantive matters or
changes. If applicable, generally describe the existing regulation.

This amendment changes the groundwater withdrawal permit term from a maximum of 10 years to a
maximum of 15 years. This amendment also changes the permit application fees for groundwater
withdrawal permits. Groundwater withdrawal permit application fees will remain $6,000 through
December 31, 2018. Groundwater withdrawal permit application fees will increase to $9,000 effective
January 1, 2019. These changes are being made in response to Chapter 424 of the 2018 Acts of
Assembly.
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Statement of final agency action

Please provide a statement of the final action taken by the agency including: 1) the date the action was
taken; 2) the name of the agency taking the action; and 3) the title of the regulation.

The State Water Control Board approved this amendment to Groundwater Withdrawal Regulations
(9VAC25-610) and Fees for Permits and Certificates (9VAC25-20), Final Exempt Action: Amendment to
change groundwater withdrawal permit term and permit fee in response to Chapter 424 of the 2018 Acts
of Assembly on September 20, 2018, as a final regulation and affirmed that the Board will receive,
consider and respond to requests by any interested person at any time with respect to reconsideration or
revision.

Family impact

Please assess the impact of this regulatory action on the institution of the family and family stability
including to what extent the regulatory action will: 1) strengthen or erode the authority and rights of
parents in the education, nurturing, and supervision of their children; 2) encourage or discourage
economic self-sufficiency, self-pride, and the assumption of responsibility for oneself, one’s spouse, and
one’s children and/or elderly parents; 3) strengthen or erode the marital commitment; and 4) increase or
decrease disposable family income.

It is not anticipated that this regulation will have a direct impact on families.

All changes made in this regulatory action

Please detail all changes that are being proposed and the consequences of the proposed changes.
Detail new provisions and/or all changes to existing sections.

9VAC25-20
Current Proposed Current requirement Proposed change and rationale
section | new section
number number, if
applicable
110 E. Permit application fee for The permit application fee for a
groundwater withdrawal groundwater withdrawal permit is $6,000
permit is $6,000. through 12/31/2018 and the permit
application fee for a groundwater
withdrawal permit will be increased to
$9,000 on 1/1/2019. These changes are
being made in response to Chapter 424 of
the 2018 Acts of Assembly.
9VAC25-610
Current Proposed Current requirement Proposed change and rationale
section | new section
number
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number, if
applicable
106 D Permit term for Permit term for groundwater withdrawal
14 groundwater withdrawal permit revised to a maximum of 15 years in
permit is maximum of 10 response to Chapter 424 of the 2018 Acts
years. of Assembly.
140 A Permit term for Permit term for groundwater withdrawal
10 groundwater withdrawal permit revised to a maximum of 15 years in
permit is maximum of 10 response to Chapter 424 of the 2018 Acts
years. of Assembly.

Regulatory flexibility analysis

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1B of the Code of Virginia, please describe the agency’s analysis of alternative
regulatory methods, consistent with health, safety, environmental, and economic welfare, that will
accomplish the objectives of applicable law while minimizing the adverse impact on small business.
Alternative regulatory methods include, at a minimum: 1) the establishment of less stringent compliance
or reporting requirements; 2) the establishment of less stringent schedules or deadlines for compliance or
reporting requirements; 3) the consolidation or simplification of compliance or reporting requirements; 4)
the establishment of performance standards for small businesses to replace design or operational
standards required in the proposed regulation; and 5) the exemption of small businesses from all or any
part of the requirements contained in the proposed regulation.

This amendment changes the length of the permit term and the fee associated with groundwater
withdrawal permits. There are no compliance or reporting requirements or performance standards
associated with the changes being made to the regulation by this amendment. This amendment is being
made in response to Chapter 424 of the 2018 Acts of Assembly. Small businesses will not be negatively
impacted by the lengthening of the permit term or the changes to the permit fee. Permit terms are being
lengthened to a maximum of 15 years and the permit fees are being increased in proportion to the
lengthened permit term as described in §§ 62.1-44.15:6 and 62.1-266 of the Code of Virginia.



