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18 VAC 50-22-100.  Fees. 1 

 2 

Each check or money order shall be made payable to the Treasurer of Virginia.  All fees required by the 3 

board are nonrefundable.  In the event that a check, money draft or similar instrument for payment of a 4 

fee required by statute or regulation is not honored by the bank or financial institution named, the 5 

applicant or regulant shall be required to remit fees sufficient to cover the original fee, plus the additional 6 

processing charge specified below: 7 

 8 

Fee Type     When Due    Amount Due 9 

Class C Initial License   with license application   $65$125 10 

Class B Initial License  with license application   $85$150 11 

Class A Initial License  with license application   $100$175  12 

Declaration of Designated Employee with license application   $25$30 13 

Qualified Individual Exam Fee with exam application    $20 14 

Class B Exam Fee   with exam application ($20 per section) $40 15 

Class A Exam Fee   with exam application ($20 per section) $60 16 

Water Well Exam   with exam application    $40 17 

Dishonored Check Fee  with replacement check   $25 18 

 19 

Note:  A $25 Recovery Fund assessment is also required with each initial license application.  If the 20 

applicant does not meet all requirements and does not become licensed, this assessment will be 21 

refunded.  The examination fees approved by the board but administered by another governmental 22 

agency or organization shall be determined by that agency or organization. 23 
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PART III. 1 

RENEWAL. 2 

18 VAC 50-22-140.  Renewal fees. 3 

Each check or money order should be made payable to the Treasurer of Virginia.  All fees required by 4 

the board are nonrefundable. 5 

 6 

In the event that a check, money draft, or similar instrument for payment of a fee required by statute or 7 

regulation is not honored by the bank or financial institution named, the applicant or regulant shall be 8 

required to remit fees sufficient to cover the original fee, plus the additional processing charge specified 9 

below: 10 

 11 

Fee Type    When Due    Amount Due 12 

Class C Renewal   with renewal application  $ 50$100 13 

Class B Renewal   with renewal application  $ 70$135 14 

Class A Renewal   with renewal application  $ 90$150 15 

Dishonored Check Fee  with replacement check  $ 25  16 

 17 

The date on which the renewal fee is received by the Department of Professional and Occupational 18 

Regulation or its agent shall determine whether the licensee is eligible for renewal or must apply for 19 

reinstatement.   20 

 21 

 22 

 23 
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PART IV. 1 

REINSTATEMENT. 2 

18 VAC 50-22-170.  Reinstatement fees. 3 

Each check or money order should be made payable to the Treasurer of Virginia.  All fees required by 4 

the board are nonrefundable.  In the event that a check, money draft, or similar instrument for payment 5 

of a fee required by statute or regulation is not honored by the bank or financial institution named, the 6 

applicant or regulant shall be required to remit fees sufficient to cover the original fee, plus the additional 7 

processing charge specified below:  8 

 9 

Fee type    When Due     Amount Due 10 

Class C Reinstatement   with reinstatement application    $ 140$225* 11 

Class B Reinstatement   with reinstatement application   $170$285* 12 

Class A Reinstatement  with reinstatement application   $190$325* 13 

Dishonored Check Fee  with replacement check   $  25 14 

 15 

* Includes renewal fee listed in 18 VAC 50-22-140. 16 

 17 

The date on which the reinstatement fee is received by the Department of Professional and 18 

Occupational Regulation or its agent shall determine whether the licensee is eligible for reinstatement or 19 

must apply for a new license and meet the entry requirements in place at the time of that application.  In 20 

order to ensure that licensees are qualified to practice as contractors, no reinstatement will be permitted 21 

once six months from the expiration date of the license has passed. 22 

18 VAC 50-22-250.  Fees. 23 
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Each check or money order should be made payable to the Treasurer of Virginia.  All fees required by 1 

the board are nonrefundable.  In the event that a check, money draft, or similar instrument for payment 2 

of a fee required by statue or regulation is not honored by the bank or financial institution named, the 3 

applicant or regulant shall be required to remit fees sufficient to cover the original fee, plus the additional 4 

processing charge specified below: 5 

 6 

Fee Type     When Due    Amount Due 7 

Change of Designated Employee  with change form          $25$30 8 

Change of Qualified Individual  with change form          $25$30 9 

Addition of Classification or Specialty with addition application         $25$30 10 

Dishonored Check Fee   with replacement check        $25 11 

12 
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18 VAC 50-30-90.  Fees for licensure, certification and examination. 1 

    A.  Each check or money order shall be made payable to the Treasurer of Virginia.  All fees required 2 

by the board are nonrefundable and the date of receipt by the department or its agent is the date that 3 

will be used to determine whether or not it is on time.  Fees remain active for a period of one year from 4 

the date of receipt and all applications must be completed within that time frame. 5 

    B.  In the event that a check, money draft or similar instrument for payment of a fee required by 6 

statute or regulation is not honored by the bank or financial institution named, the applicant or regulant 7 

shall be required to remit fees sufficient to cover the original fee, plus the additional processing charge of 8 

$25. 9 

    C.  Tradesman license - original fee - by examination.  The fee for an initial tradesman license shall be 10 

$40 $75. 11 

    D.  Tradesman license - original fee - without an examination, through successful             12 

completion of an appropriate apprenticeship program offered through the Virginia Voluntary 13 

Apprenticeship Act. The fee for an initial tradesman license shall be $40$75. 14 

   E.  Commencing July 1, 1995, the Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation  15 

will institute a program of issuing tradesmen's cards.  Those tradesmen who hold valid trades-  16 

men cards issued by local governing bodies prior to July 1, 1978, or by the Department of Housing and 17 

Community Development prior to July 1, 1995, must replace the old cards with new cards issued by the 18 

Board for Contractors.  19 

    In order to obtain the tradesman card issued by the Board for Contractors, the individual must use 20 

the current application form provided by the Department of Professional and Occupa-tional Regulation. 21 

 The fee for card exchange application and processing is $10$20.  As a matter of administrative 22 

necessity, the department will assign expiration dates in a manner that will stagger renewals for these 23 
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applicants.  Once the initial period ends, all renewals will be for a period of 24 months. 1 

    F.  Commencing July 1, 1998, the Department of Professional and Occupational Regu-lation will 2 

institute a voluntary program of issuing backflow prevention device worker certifi-cation cards.  Those 3 

individuals who hold valid backflow prevention device worker certifica-tions issued by local governing 4 

bodies or the Virginia Department of Health prior to that date  5 

may replace those cards with new cards issued by the board. 6 

   In order to obtain the backflow prevention device worker certification card issued by the board, the 7 

individual must use the current application form provided by the department.  The fee for the card 8 

exchange application and processing is $10$20.  The term of certification will be for a period of 24 9 

months. 10 

    G.  Backflow prevention device worker certification through the "grandfather" clause of  11 

§ 54.1-1131.B.2. of the Code of Virginia expired on July 1, 1999.  The fee for an initial certification 12 

shall be $40. 13 

    H.  Commencing on the effective date of the Board’s final regulations, the Department of 14 

Professional and Occupational Regulation will add the trades of liquefied petroleum gas fitter and natural 15 

gas fitter provider to the trades regulated by the Board for Contractors. The fee for the initial licensure 16 

shall be $40$75.  17 

18 VAC 50-30-100.  Fees for examinations. 18 

    The examination fee shall consist of the administration expenses of the department resulting from the 19 

board's examination procedures and contract charges.  Exam service contracts shall be established 20 

through competitive negotiation, in compliance with the Virginia Public Procurement Act (§ 11-35 et 21 

seq. of the Code of Virginia).  The current examination shall 22 

not exceed a cost of $100 for the journeyman's exam and $125 for the master's exam for any of the 23 
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trades or $100 for the backflow prevention device worker exam. 1 

18 VAC 50-30-110.  Fees for duplicate cards. 2 

    The fee for a duplicate card shall be as follows: 3 

  First request   $10$30  4 

  Second request  $20$30 5 

  Third request  $40$45 and a report sent to the Enforcement Section. 6 

    Any request for the issuance of such a card must be in writing to the board. 7 

 8 

PART III. 9 

RENEWAL AND REINSTATEMENT. 10 

18 VAC 50-30-120.  Renewal. 11 

    A.  Tradesman licenses or backflow prevention device worker certification cards issued under this 12 

chapter shall expire two years from the last day of the month in which they were issued, as indicated on 13 

the tradesman license or the backflow prevention device worker certification card. 14 

    B.  The fee for renewal of a tradesman license is $25$35.  The fee for renewal of a backflow 15 

prevention device worker certification card is $25$35.  All fees required by the board are non-16 

refundable and shall not be prorated. 17 

    The board will mail a renewal notice to the regulant outlining procedures for renewal.  Failure to 18 

receive this notice, however, shall not relieve the regulant of the obligation to renew.  If the regulant fails 19 

to receive the renewal notice, a photocopy of the tradesman license  20 

or backflow prevention device worker certification card may be submitted with the required  21 

fee as an application for renewal within 30 days of the expiration date. 22 

    The date on which the renewal fee is received by the department or its agent will determine whether 23 
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the regulant is eligible for renewal or required to apply for reinstatement. 1 

    The board may deny renewal of a tradesman license or of a backflow prevention device worker 2 

certification card for the same reasons as it may refuse initial issuance or to discipline a regulant.  The 3 

regulant has a right to appeal any such action by the board under the Virginia Administrative Process 4 

Act (§ 9-6.14:4.1 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). 5 

    Failure to timely pay any monetary penalty, reimbursement of cost, or other fee assessed by consent 6 

order or final order shall result in delaying or withholding services provided by the department, such as, 7 

but not limited to, renewal, reinstatement, processing of a new applica- 8 

tion, or exam administration. 9 

18 VAC 50-30-130.  Reinstatement. 10 

    A.  Should the Department of Professional & Occupational Regulation fail to receive the  renewal 11 

application or fees within 30 days of the expiration date, the regulant will be required to reinstate the 12 

tradesman license or backflow prevention device worker certification card. 13 

    B.  The fee for reinstatement of a tradesman license (all designations) is $50$75 (this is in addition to 14 

the $25$35 renewal fee, which makes the total fee for reinstatement $75$110).  The reinstatement fee 15 

for a backflow prevention device worker certification card is $50$75 (this is in addition to the $25$35 16 

renewal fee, which makes the total reinstatement fee $75$110).  All fees required by the board are non-17 

refundable and shall not be prorated. 18 

    Applicants for reinstatement shall meet the requirements of 18 VAC 50-30-30. 19 

    The date on which the reinstatement fee is received by the department or its agent will determine 20 

whether the license or certification card is reinstated or a new application is required. 21 

    In order to ensure that license or certification card holders are qualified to practice as  22 

tradesmen or backflow prevention device workers, no reinstatement will be permitted once one year 23 
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from the expiration date has passed.  After that date the applicant must apply for a new tradesman 1 

license or backflow prevention device worker certification card and meet the then current entry 2 

requirements. 3 

    Any tradesman activity conducted subsequent to the expiration of the license may constitute 4 

unlicensed activity and may be subject to prosecution under § 54.1 of the Code of Virginia. 5 

Further, any person who holds himself out as a certified backflow prevention device worker, as defined 6 

in § 54.1-1128 of the Code of Virginia, without the appropriate certification, may be subject to 7 

prosecution under Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia. 8 

    C.  The board may deny reinstatement of a tradesman license or a backflow prevention device 9 

worker certification card for the same reasons as it may refuse initial issuance or to  10 

discipline a regulant.  The regulant has a right to appeal any such action by the board under the Virginia 11 

Administrative Process Act (§ 9-6.14:1 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). 12 

    Failure to timely pay any monetary penalty, reimbursement of cost, or other fee assessed by consent 13 

order or final order shall result in delaying or withholding services provided by the department, such as, 14 

but not limited to, renewal, reinstatement, processing of a new appli-cation, or exam administration. 15 

18 VAC 50-30-140.  Status of regulant during the period prior to reinstatement. 16 

    A.  When a regulant is reinstated, the individual shall continue to have the same number and shall be 17 

assigned an expiration date two years from the previous expiration date. 18 

    B.  A regulant who reinstates his tradesman license or backflow prevention device worker   19 

certification card shall be regarded as having been continuously licensed or certified without    20 

interruption.  Therefore, the regulant shall remain under the disciplinary authority of the board during this 21 

entire period and may be held accountable for his activities during this period.  Nothing in this chapter 22 

shall divest the board of its authority to discipline a regulant for a violation of the law or regulations 23 
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during the period of licensure or certification. 1 

 2 

PART IV. 3 

STANDARDS OF PRACTICE. 4 

18 VAC 50-30-150.  Changes, additions, or deletions to trade designations. 5 

    A regulant may change a designation or obtain additional designations by demonstrating, on a form 6 

provided by the board, acceptable evidence of experience, and examination if appro-priate, in the 7 

designation sought.  The experience, and successful completion of examinations, must be demonstrated 8 

by meeting the requirements found in Part II (18 VAC 50-30-20 et seq.) of this chapter. 9 

    The fee for each change or addition is $25$30.  All fees required by the board are non-refundable. 10 

    While a regulant may have multiple trade designations on his license, the renewal date will be based 11 

upon the date the card was originally issued to the individual by the board, not the  12 

date of the most recent trade designation addition. 13 

    If a regulant is seeking to delete a designation, then the individual must provide a signed statement 14 

listing the designation to be deleted.  There is no fee for the deletion of a designa-tion.  If the regulant 15 

only has one trade or level designation, the deletion of that designation will 16 


