Agencies | Governor
Virginia Regulatory Town Hall
Agency
Virginia Department of Health
Board
State Board of Health
chapter
Regulations for the Licensure of Nursing Facilities [12 VAC 5 ‑ 371]
This action is exempt from the executive branch review process.
Action:
Amend Regulations to Conform to Requirements of HB343 of 2016
 
General Information
Action Summary House Bill 343 enacted by the 2016 General Assembly amends § 32.1-127 of the Code of Virginia to require the Board of Health to include in its regulations a provision requiring nursing homes to provide a full refund of any unexpended patient funds on deposit with the facility following the discharge or death of a patient within 30 days of a written request for such funds by the discharged patient or the person administering the patient’s estate in accordance with the Virginia Small Estate Act. The amendment changes the timeframe from 60 days to 30 days and a reference to the Virginia Small Estate Act is added. In addition, the amendment excludes entrance-related fees paid to a continuing care provider from this requirement. The Virginia Department of Health is utilizing this exempt action to amend the Regulations for the Licensure of Nursing Facilities (12VAC5-371 et. seq.) to reflect this new requirement.
Chapters Affected Only affects this chapter.
Exempt from APA Yes, this action is exempt from the Administrative Process Act. The normal executive branch review process is not required.
Exempt Citation: Section 2.2-4006A4a of the Code of Virginia
RIS Project Yes  [005383]
 
Stages
Stages associated with this regulatory action.
Stage ID Stage Type Status
8172 Final Submitted to the Registrar and awaiting publication (1/22/2018).
 
Contact Information
Name / Title: Domica Winstead  / Policy Analyst
Address: Virginia Department of Health
9960 Mayland Drive, Ste. 401
Richmond, VA 23233
Email Address: domica.winstead@vdh.virginia.gov
Phone: (804)367-2157    FAX: (804)527-4502    TDD: ()-