Agencies | Governor
Virginia Regulatory Town Hall

Proposed Text

highlight

Action:
Amendment to Nutrient Management - Expansion of Eligibility ...
Stage: Fast-Track
 
4VAC50-85-40 Eligibility requirements

A. Certification may be obtained by satisfying all of the following requirements for certification:

1. Satisfactorily completing and submitting to the department an application in the form required by the department, including a statement of any felony convictions. Such application shall be submitted to the department at least 30 days before the approved examination date set by the department. The application shall request information relating to the person's education, work experience, knowledge of nutrient management, and willingness to abide by the requirements of these regulations;

2. Supplying proof of meeting one of the following:

a. A copy of a college transcript indicating completion of a four-year college degree with a major in an agriculturally related area with coursework in the area of nutrient management such as soils, soil fertility, and plant science, and one year of practical experience related to nutrient management planning or implementation of nutrient management concepts and principles acceptable to the department, or

b. A copy of a college transcript indicating completion of a two-year college degree with a major in an agriculturally related area with coursework in the area of nutrient management such as soils, soil fertility, and plant science, and one and one-half years of practical experience related to nutrient management planning or implementation of nutrient management concepts and principles acceptable to the department, or

bc. A combination of education to include nutrient management related educational courses or training and a minimum of three years of practical experience related to nutrient management planning or implementation of nutrient management concepts and principles acceptable to the department;

3. Obtaining a passing score on each of the parts of the nutrient management certification examination administered by the department; and

4. Submitting a $100 certification fee by check or money order to the department.

B. Certificates shall be valid for two years and will expire on the last day of the expiration month. Certified nutrient management planners or applicants shall notify the department of any change in mailing address within 30 days of such change in address.

C. Individuals certified as nutrient management consultants by the State of Maryland or certified as nutrient management specialists by the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania will be eligible for certification in Virginia by complying with all requirements of these regulations except for subdivision A 2 of this section. These individuals may also substitute, for the requirements in 4VAC50-85-60 C, the attainment of a passing score on a Virginia specific examination component which shall include at a minimum the elements listed in 4VAC50-85-60 C 9 and C 10. The department, upon review, may accept or approve nutrient management certification programs of other states as satisfying partial requirements for certification.