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Project 7946 - Exempt Final 

Board of Psychology 

Licensure of psychological practitioners pursuant to SB403 

18VAC125-20-30. Fees required by the board.  

A. The board has established fees for the following: 

 Applied 
psychologists, 

Clinical 
psychologists, 

School 
psychologists 

School 
psychologists-

limited 
Psychological 
practitioners 

1. Registration of residency (per 
residency request) 

$50 
- - 

- - 

2. Add or change supervisor $25 - - - - 

3. Application processing and 
initial licensure 

$200 
$85 

$200 

4. Annual renewal of active 
license 

$140 
$70 

$140 

5. Annual renewal of inactive 
license 

$70 
$35 

$70 

6. Late renewal $50 $25 $25 

7. Verification of license to 
another jurisdiction 

$25 
$25 

$25 

8. Duplicate license $5 $5 $5 

9. Additional or replacement wall 
certificate 

$15 
$15 

$15 

10. Handling fee for returned 
check or dishonored credit card or 
debit card 

$50 

$50 

$50 

11. Reinstatement of a lapsed 
license 

$270 
$125 

$270 

12. Reinstatement following 
revocation or suspension 

$500 
$500 

$500 
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13. Autonomous practice for 
psychological practitioners 

-- -- $150 

B. Fees shall be made payable to the Treasurer of Virginia and forwarded to the board. All 

fees are nonrefundable. 

C. Between May 1, 2020, and June 30, 2020, the following renewal fees shall be in effect: 

1. For annual renewal of an active license as a clinical, applied, or school psychologist, it 

shall be $100. For an inactive license as a clinical, applied, or school psychologist, it 

shall be $50. 

2. For annual renewal of an active license as a school psychologist-limited, it shall be 

$50. For an inactive license as a school psychologist-limited, it shall be $25. 

D. Between January 1, 2025 and December 31, 2026, the cost for application processing 

and initial licensure of psychological practitioners shall be $100. 

18VAC125-20-41. Requirements for licensure by examination.  

A. Every applicant for licensure by examination shall: 

1. Meet the education requirements prescribed in 18VAC125-20-54, 18VAC125-20-55, 

or 18VAC125-20-56, or 18VAC125-20-57 and the experience requirement prescribed in 

18VAC125-20-65 as applicable for the particular license sought; and 

2. Submit the following: 

a. A completed application on forms provided by the board; 

b. A completed residency agreement or documentation of having fulfilled the 

experience requirements of 18VAC125-20-65, if applicable; 

c. The application processing fee prescribed by the board; 
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d. Official transcripts documenting the graduate work completed and the degree 

awarded; transcripts previously submitted for registration of supervision do not have 

to be resubmitted unless additional coursework was subsequently obtained. 

Applicants who are graduates of institutions that are not regionally accredited shall 

submit documentation from an accrediting agency acceptable to the board that their 

education meets the requirements set forth in 18VAC125-20-54, or 18VAC125-20-

56, or 18VAC125-20-57; 

e. A current report from the National Practitioner Data Bank; and 

f. Verification of any other health or mental health professional license, certificate, or 

registration ever held in Virginia or another jurisdiction. The applicant shall not have 

surrendered a license, certificate, or registration while under investigation and shall 

have no unresolved action against a license, certificate, or registration. 

B. In addition to fulfillment of the education and experience requirements, each applicant for 

licensure by examination as a clinical, school, or applied psychologist must achieve a passing 

score on all parts of the Examination for Professional Practice of Psychology required at the 

time the applicant took the examination. 

C. Every applicant for licensure as a psychological practitioner shall achieve a passing score 

as determined by the board for masters level psychological practice on the academic portion of 

the Examination for Professional Practice of Psychology. Every licensed psychological 

practitioner applying for autonomous practice shall achieve a passing score as determined by 

the board for masters level psychological practice on the clinical portion of the Examination for 

Professional Practice of Psychology. 

C. D. Every applicant shall attest to having read and agreed to comply with the current 

standards of practice and laws governing the practice of psychology in Virginia. 
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18VAC125-20-42. Prerequisites for licensure by endorsement.  

Every applicant for licensure by endorsement for applied psychology, clinical psychology, or 

school psychology shall submit: 

1. A completed application; 

2. The application processing fee prescribed by the board; 

3. An attestation of having read and agreed to comply with the current Standards of 

Practice and laws governing the practice of psychology in Virginia; 

4. Verification of all other health and mental health professional licenses, certificates, or 

registrations ever held in Virginia or any jurisdiction of the United States or Canada. In 

order to qualify for endorsement, the applicant shall not have surrendered a license, 

certificate, or registration while under investigation and shall have no unresolved action 

against a license, certificate, or registration; 

5. A current report from the National Practitioner Data Bank; and 

6. Further documentation of one of the following: 

a. A current credential issued by the National Register of Health Service 

Psychologists; 

b. Current diplomate status in good standing with the American Board of 

Professional Psychology in a category comparable to the one in which licensure is 

sought; 

c. A Certificate of Professional Qualification in Psychology (CPQ) issued by the 

Association of State and Provincial Psychology Boards; 
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d. Five years of active licensure in a category comparable to the one in which 

licensure is sought with at least 24 months of active practice within the last 60 

months immediately preceding licensure application; or 

e. If less than five years of active licensure or less than 24 months of active practice 

within the last 60 months, documentation of current psychologist licensure in good 

standing obtained by standards substantially equivalent to the education, 

experience, and examination requirements set forth in this chapter for the category in 

which licensure is sought as verified by a certified copy of the original application 

submitted directly from the out-of-state licensing agency or a copy of the regulations 

in effect at the time of initial licensure and the following: (1) Verification of a passing 

score on all parts of the Examination for Professional Practice of Psychology that 

were required at the time of original licensure; and (2) Official transcripts 

documenting the graduate work completed and the degree awarded in the category 

in which licensure is sought. 

18VAC125-20-57. Education requirements for psychological practitioners.  

Every applicant for licensure as a psychological practitioner shall provide evidence of receipt 

of a master's degree in clinical or school psychology from a program accredited by the American 

Psychological Association, from a program equivalent to those accredited by the American 

Psychological Association as determined by the board, or from a program accredited by another 

national accrediting body approved by the board. 

18VAC125-20-58. Supervision and autonomous practice of psychological practitioners.  

A. Unless an autonomous practice designation has been granted by the board, every 

psychological practitioner shall practice under the supervision of a clinical psychologist with at 

least two years of clinical experience post-licensure as a doctoral level clinical psychologist. No 
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psychological practitioner shall hold himself out as able to practice autonomously unless an 

autonomous practice designation has been granted by the board. 

B. Unless an autonomous practice designation has been granted by the board, every 

psychological practitioner shall communicate to patients and the public in writing that the 

psychological practitioner cannot practice autonomously and provide the name and contact 

information of the supervising clinical psychologist. 

C. A psychological practitioner with a current, unrestricted license may qualify for an 

autonomous designation upon: 

1. Successful completion of the clinical portion of the Examination for Professional 

Practice of Psychology; and 

2. Completion of one year of full-time, post-licensure practice under the supervision of a 

clinical psychologist. One year of full-time, post-licensure practice, for purposes of this 

section, is at least 2,000 hours. Such hours must be completed within three years 

immediately preceding application to the board for autonomous practice authorization. 

D. Qualification for authorization for autonomous practice shall be determined upon: 

1. Submission of a fee as specified in 18VAC125-20-30; 

2. Evidence of a passing score for masters level psychological practice on the clinical 

portion of the Examination for Professional Practice of Psychology; and 

3. Evidence of one year of full-time, post-licensure supervised practice. The evidence of 

supervised practice shall consist of an attestation which meets the following criteria: 

a. The attestation shall be signed by the licensed clinical psychologist that served as 

a supervisor for the required supervised practice in subsection A; 
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b. The attestation shall specify that the psychological practitioner is competent to 

practice in all areas of practiced contained on a form provided by the board; and  

c. The attestation shall state that, in the opinion of the licensed clinical psychologist, 

the psychological practitioner demonstrates sufficient competency to practice 

autonomy. 

18VAC125-20-59. Supervisors of psychological practitioners.  

A. Supervisors shall be licensed as a clinical psychologist in the jurisdiction in which practice 

by the psychological practitioner occurs. 

B. Supervision of post-licensure practice by a clinical psychologist shall include: 

1. The periodic review of patient charts or electronic patient records by the supervising 

clinical psychologist; 

2. Appropriate and regular input by the clinical psychologist on cases, patient 

emergencies, and referrals; 

3. Appropriate professional development; and 

4. Management of areas of deficiency if needed or indicated during supervision. 

C. The supervisor shall be responsible for ensuring that the psychological practitioner only 

practices within the scope of his education and training. 

D. Prior to practice, a psychological practitioner that has not received an autonomous 

practice designation must enter into a supervisory agreement with a qualified supervisor. 

E. Both the psychological practitioner and the supervisor shall maintain a copy of all 

supervisory agreements for 3 years from the date that supervision ends. 
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18VAC125-20-80. General examination requirements.  

A. A candidate shall achieve a passing score on the final required step for licensure type 

applied for of the national examination within two years immediately preceding licensure. A 

candidate may request an extension of the two-year limitation for extenuating circumstances. If 

the candidate has not taken the examination by the end of the two-year period, the applicant 

shall reapply according to the requirements of the regulations in effect at that time. 

B. A candidate for autonomous practice as a licensed psychological practitioner shall 

achieve a passing score on the clinical portion of the national examination within two years 

immediately preceding the application for autonomous practice. A candidate may request an 

extension of the two-year limitation for extenuating circumstances. 

B. C. The board shall establish passing scores on all steps of the examination. 

18VAC125-20-120. Annual renewal of licensure.  

Every license issued by the board shall expire each year on June 30. 

1. Every licensee who intends to continue to practice shall, on or before the expiration 

date of the license, submit to the board a license renewal form supplied by the board 

and the renewal fee prescribed in 18VAC125-20-30. 

2. Licensees who wish to maintain an active license shall pay the appropriate fee and 

verify on the renewal form compliance with the continuing education requirements 

prescribed in 18VAC125-20-121. First-time licensees by examination are not required to 

verify continuing education on the first renewal date following initial licensure. 

3. A licensee who wishes to place his license in inactive status may do so upon payment 

of the fee prescribed in 18VAC125-20-30. A person with an inactive license is not 

authorized to practice; no person shall practice psychology in Virginia without a current 
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active license. An inactive licensee may activate a license by fulfilling the reactivation 

requirements set forth in 18VAC125-20-130. 

4. Failure of a licensee to receive a renewal notice and application forms from the board 

shall not excuse the licensee from the renewal requirement. 

5. A licensed psychological practitioner actively practicing without a designation for 

autonomous practice shall attest that the licensee is actively supervised. 


