FINAL APPROVED

ADVISORY BOARD ON RADIOLOGICAL TECHNOLOGY Minutes September 21, 2022

The Advisory Board on Radiological Technology met on Wednesday, September 21, 2022, at 1:00 p.m. at the Department of Health Professions, Perimeter Center, 9960 Mayland Drive, Richmond, Virginia.

MEMBERS PRESENT: Joyce O. Hawkins, RT - Chair

Rebecca Keith, RT, - Vice-Chair

Uma Prasad, MD

MEMBERS ABSENT: David Roberts, RT

STAFF PRESENT: William L. Harp, MD - Executive Director

Michael Sobowale, LLM - Deputy Director for Licensure Colanthia Opher - Deputy Director for Administration

Erin Barrett, JD - DHP Senior Policy Analyst Beulah Baptist Archer - Licensing Specialist

GUESTS PRESENT: None

CALL TO ORDER

Joyce Hawkins called the meeting to order at 1:02 p.m.

EMERGENCY EGRESS PROCEDURES

Dr. Harp announced the emergency egress instructions.

ROLL CALL

Beulah Archer called the roll. A quorum was declared.

APPROVAL OF MINUTES

Dr. Prasad moved to adopt the minutes of the May 25, 2022 meeting. Rebecca Keith seconded the motion. The motion passed.

ADOPTION OF AGENDA

Rebecca Keith moved to adopt the agenda. Dr. Prasad seconded the motion and passed unanimously.

PUBLIC COMMENT ON AGENDA ITEMS

None

New Business

1. Periodic Review of Regulations Governing the Practice of Radiologic Technologists

Erin Barrett discussed the mandatory four-year review of Chapter 18VAC 85-101 to determine whether this regulation should be repealed, amended or retained in its current form, without impacting public safety. The review of the regulations will be guided by the principles in Executive Order 14 as amended July 16, 2018. There were six public comments received during the public comment period all in favor of retaining the Chapter as written.

Erin Barrett presented her recommendations to amend or delete current provisions in 18VAC85-101-20, 18VAC85-101-145 (4), 18VAC85-101-162, and 18VAC85-101-163 (D). Some of these provisions are in the law, therefore it is unnecessary to repeat them in regulation

Rebecca Keith moved that the Advisory Board make a recommendation to the full Board to retain and amend Chapter 101 with the changes discussed. Dr. Prasad seconded. The motion passed.

2. Review of Bylaws for Advisory Board

Erin Barrett presented the uniform Bylaws for all Advisory Boards that the full Board approved at its June meeting. Since the Bylaws are slated to become effective on September 29, 2022, this was for information only.

3. Discuss Onset of Educational Practices to Fill Gaps in Available Radiologic Technologists

Joyce Hawkins expressed concern about limited-radiologic technology programs that may be started in hospitals to help with the short staffing or rad techs. She noted that radiologic technologists in hospitals do not have to be licensed, and according to the regulations, cannot teach limited programs without a license.

Dr. Harp suggested that a reminder be placed in Board Briefs regarding limited radiologic technology licensees practicing only in the authorized anatomical scope of practice printed on their licenses.

4. Approval of 2023 Calendar

Rebecca Keith moved to adopt the 2023 meeting calendar. Dr. Prasad seconded. The motion passed.

5. Election of Officers

By acclamation, members approved the current officers to continue to serve: Joyce Hawkins as Chair and Uma Prasad as Vice-Chair.

ANNOUNCEMENTS

Licensing Statistics

Beulah Baptist Archer provided the license count for radiological technology as follows:

Limited Radiologic Technologist	Virginia	Current Active	483
	Virginia	Current Inactive	19
	Out of State	Current Active	23
	Out of State	Current Inactive	1
Total			526
Radiologic Technologist	Virginia	Current Active	3,559
	Virginia	Current Inactive	28
	Out of State	Current Active	1192
	Out of State	Current Inactive	15
Total			4,794
Radiologist Assistant	Virginia	Current Active	12
	Out of State	Current Active	4
Total			16

Next Scheduled Meeting

The next scheduled meeting is February 8, 2023 at 1:00 p.m.

ADJOURNMENT

With no other business to conduct, the meeting adjourned at 1:48 pm.

William L. Harp, MD, Executive Director