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Agency name Board of Dentistry, Department of Health Professions 

Virginia Administrative Code 
(VAC) citation(s)  

18VAC60-21-10 et seq. 

18VAC60-25-10 et seq. 

18VAC60-30-10 et seq. 

Regulation title(s) Regulations Governing the Practice of Dentistry 

Regulations Governing the Practice of Dental Hygiene 

Regulations Governing the Practice of Dental Assistants 

Action title Change in renewal schedule from annual to birth month 

Date this document prepared 4/3/19 

This information is required for executive branch review and the Virginia Registrar of Regulations, pursuant to the 
Virginia Administrative Process Act (APA), Executive Order 14 (as amended, July 16, 2018), the Regulations for 
Filing and Publishing Agency Regulations (1 VAC7-10), and the Virginia Register Form, Style, and Procedure Manual 
for Publication of Virginia Regulations. 
 

 

Brief Summary 
  

 

Please provide a brief summary (preferably no more than 2 or 3 paragraphs) of this regulatory change 
(i.e., new regulation, amendments to an existing regulation, or repeal of an existing regulation). Alert the 
reader to all substantive matters. If applicable, generally describe the existing regulation.   
              

 

Amendments to regulations are necessary to change the renewal schedule from a set date of 
March 31st to renewal in one’s birth month. The change is intended to occur in 2020.  The intent 
is to distribute the workload associated with renewal across a calendar year and to make the 
renewal deadline easier for licensees to remember.  The board will experience a modest 
reduction in revenue for that calendar year, but it had a balance of $4,013,542 on June 30, 2017. 
Because of a substantial reduction in renewal fees for FY18, it ended the fiscal year with a 
balance of $3,509,497. It can easily absorb any reduction resulting from this action. 
 



Town Hall Agency Background Document     Form:  TH-02 
          

 2

 

Acronyms and Definitions  
 

 

Please define all acronyms used in the Agency Background Document. Also, please define any technical 
terms that are used in the document that are not also defined in the “Definition” section of the regulations. 
              

 

N/A 
 

 

Mandate and Impetus 
 

 

Please identify the mandate for this regulatory change, and any other impetus that specifically prompted 
its initiation (e.g., new or modified mandate, petition for rulemaking, periodic review, board decision, etc.). 
For purposes of executive branch review, “mandate” has the same meaning as defined in Executive 
Order 14 (as amended, July 16, 2018), “a directive from the General Assembly, the federal government, 
or a court that requires that a regulation be promulgated, amended, or repealed in whole or part.”  
              
 

The mandate to reduce fees is found in § 54.1-113 of the Code of Virginia; the impetus for 
changing the renewal schedule was an effort to distribute the workload relating to renewals 
throughout the year. 
 

 

Legal Basis 
 

 

Please identify (1) the agency or other promulgating entity, and (2) the state and/or federal legal authority 
for the regulatory change, including the most relevant citations to the Code of Virginia or Acts of 
Assembly chapter number(s), if applicable. Your citation must include a specific provision, if any, 
authorizing the promulgating entity to regulate this specific subject or program, as well as a reference to 
the agency or promulgating entity’s overall regulatory authority.    
              
 

Regulations are promulgated under the general authority of Chapter 24 of Title 54.1 of the Code of 
Virginia. Section 54.1-2400, which provides the Board of Dentistry the authority to levy fees 
sufficient to cover all expenses and to promulgate regulations to administer the regulatory 
system: 

1. To establish the qualifications for registration, certification, licensure, permit, or the issuance 

of a multistate licensure privilege in accordance with the applicable law which are necessary to 

ensure competence and integrity to engage in the regulated professions. 

2. To examine or cause to be examined applicants for certification, licensure, or registration. 

Unless otherwise required by law, examinations shall be administered in writing or shall be a 

demonstration of manual skills. 

3. To register, certify, license, or issue a multistate licensure privilege to qualified applicants as 

practitioners of the particular profession or professions regulated by such board. 

4. To establish schedules for renewals of registration, certification, licensure, permit, and the 

issuance of a multistate licensure privilege. 
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5. To levy and collect fees for application processing, examination, registration, certification, 

permitting, or licensure or the issuance of a multistate licensure privilege and renewal that are 

sufficient to cover all expenses for the administration and operation of the Department of Health 

Professions, the Board of Health Professions, and the health regulatory boards. 

6. To promulgate regulations in accordance with the Administrative Process Act (§ 9-6.14:1 et 

seq.) which are reasonable and necessary to administer effectively the regulatory system. Such 

regulations shall not conflict with the purposes and intent of this chapter or of Chapter 1 (§ 54.1-

100 et seq.) and Chapter 25 (§ 54.1-2500 et seq.) of this title. … 

 
In addition, the Board is obligated to reduce fees if projections indicate that it is continuing to 
collect fees in excess of expenditures. 
 

§ 54.1-113. Regulatory boards to adjust fees; certain transfer of moneys collected on behalf of 

health regulatory boards prohibited. 
A. Following the close of any biennium, when the account for any regulatory board within the 

Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation or the Department of Health 

Professions maintained under § 54.1-308 or 54.1-2505 shows expenses allocated to it for the 

past biennium to be more than 10 percent greater or less than moneys collected on behalf of the 

board, it shall revise the fees levied by it for certification, licensure, registration, or permit and 

renewal thereof so that the fees are sufficient but not excessive to cover expenses. 

B. Nongeneral funds generated by fees collected on behalf of the health regulatory boards and 

accounted for and deposited into a special fund by the Director of the Department of Health 

Professions shall be held exclusively to cover the expenses of the health regulatory boards, the 

Health Practitioners' Monitoring Program, and the Department and Board of Health 

Professions and shall not be transferred to any agency other than the Department of Health 

Professions, except as provided in §§ 54.1-3011.1 and 54.1-3011.2. 

 
 

Purpose 
 

 

Please explain the need for the regulatory change, including a description of: (1) the rationale or 
justification, (2) the specific reasons the regulatory change is essential to protect the health, safety or 
welfare of citizens, and (3) the goals of the regulatory change and the problems it’s intended to solve. 
              

 

The proposed regulatory action may make it easier for licensees to remember to renew if it 
coincides with their birth month and avoid late fees or practicing without a valid license. The 
birth month renewal schedule has been adopted by Medicine and Nursing for many years.  It 
alleviates the compressed workload associated with renewals and allows staff to be more 
responsive to other concerns.  Renewal of licensure is essential to protect public health and 
safety; as a non-general fund agency, the Board of Dentistry depends on a steady stream of 
revenue to offset expenditures associated with the regulation and discipline of these professions. 
 

 

Substance 
 

 

http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/54.1-308/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/54.1-2505/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/54.1-3011.1/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/54.1-3011.2/
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Please briefly identify and explain the new substantive provisions, the substantive changes to existing 
sections, or both. A more detailed discussion is provided in the “Detail of Changes” section below.   
              
 

Sections in each chapter setting out the renewal of licensure for dentists, dental hygienists, and 
dental assistants II will be amended to become effective in 2020.  The revised renewal schedule 
by birth month would take effect in 2021, so in March of 2020, all persons with active licenses or 
registrations will renew with a proportionally reduced fee depending on their birth month. For 
example, a dentist with a January birth month would renew in March of 2020, and his license 
would expire in January of 2021. Therefore, he would pay a prorated renewal fee for 10 months 
of licensure.  A dentist with a September birth month would pay a prorated renewal fee for 18 
months, etc. etc.  
 

 

Issues 
 

 

Please identify the issues associated with the regulatory change, including: 1) the primary advantages 
and disadvantages to the public, such as individual private citizens or businesses, of implementing the 
new or amended provisions; 2) the primary advantages and disadvantages to the agency or the 
Commonwealth; and 3) other pertinent matters of interest to the regulated community, government 
officials, and the public. If there are no disadvantages to the public or the Commonwealth, include a 
specific statement to that effect.    
              
 

1) There are no advantages or disadvantages to the public.  
2) There is an advantage to the Board and the Department by spreading the workload associated 
with licensure renewal throughout the year rather than having all renewals on a single date.  
There are no disadvantages to the agency or the Commonwealth. 
3) The Director of the Department of Health Professions has reviewed the proposal and 
performed a competitive impact analysis.  The Board is authorized under § 54.1-2400 “To 

promulgate regulations in accordance with the Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq.) 

which are reasonable and necessary to administer effectively the regulatory system...”  
Therefore, the proposed amendments are a foreseeable result of the statute requiring the Board to 
protect the safety and health of patients in the Commonwealth.  
 

 

Requirements More Restrictive than Federal 
 

 

Please identify and describe any requirement of the regulatory change which is more restrictive than 
applicable federal requirements. Include a specific citation for each applicable federal requirement, and a 
rationale for the need for the more restrictive requirements. If there are no applicable federal 
requirements, or no requirements that exceed applicable federal requirements, include a specific 
statement to that effect. 
              

 

There are no applicable federal requirements. 
 

 

Agencies, Localities, and Other Entities Particularly Affected 
 

 

Please identify any other state agencies, localities, or other entities particularly affected by the regulatory 
change. “Particularly affected” are those that are likely to bear any identified disproportionate material 
impact which would not be experienced by other agencies, localities, or entities. “Locality” can refer to 

http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/2.2-4000/
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either local governments or the locations in the Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the 
regulation or regulatory change are most likely to occur. If no agency, locality, or entity is particularly 
affected, include a specific statement to that effect.  
              

 

Other State Agencies Particularly Affected - None 
 
Localities Particularly Affected - None 
 
Other Entities Particularly Affected - None 
 

 

Economic Impact 
 

 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, please identify all specific economic impacts (costs 
and/or benefits), anticipated to result from the regulatory change. When describing a particular economic 
impact, specify which new requirement or change in requirement creates the anticipated economic 
impact. Please keep in mind that this is change versus the status quo.  
             

 
Impact on State Agencies 
 

For your agency: projected costs, savings, fees or 
revenues resulting from the regulatory change, 
including:  
a) fund source / fund detail;  
b) delineation of one-time versus on-going 
expenditures; and 
c) whether any costs or revenue loss can be 
absorbed within existing resources 

a) As a special fund agency, the Board must 
generate sufficient revenue to cover its 
expenditures from non-general funds, specifically 
the renewal and application fees it charges to 
practitioners for necessary functions of 
regulation; b) The agency will incur no additional 
costs for mailings to the Public Participation 
Guidelines mailing lists, conducting a public 
hearing, and sending notice of final regulations to 
regulated entities.  Since mailings to the PPG list 
are handled electronically, there is very little cost 
involved. Every effort will be made to incorporate 
those into anticipated mailings and Board 
meetings already scheduled. 
There are no on-going costs. 

For other state agencies: projected costs, 
savings, fees or revenues resulting from the 
regulatory change, including a delineation of one-
time versus on-going expenditures. 

No other agencies are affected 

For all agencies: Benefits the regulatory change 
is designed to produce. 

There is a benefit to staff of the Board of 
Dentistry to distribute the workload across the 
calendar year rather than clustered on a single 
date. 

 
Impact on Localities 

 
Projected costs, savings, fees or revenues 
resulting from the regulatory change. 

None 

Benefits the regulatory change is designed to 
produce. 

None 

 
Impact on Other Entities 
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Description of the individuals, businesses, or 
other entities likely to be affected by the 
regulatory change. If no other entities will be 
affected, include a specific statement to that 
effect. 

Licensed dentists, dental hygienists, and 
registered dental assistants II 

Agency’s best estimate of the number of such 
entities that will be affected. Please include an 
estimate of the number of small businesses 
affected. Small business means a business 
entity, including its affiliates, that: 
a) is independently owned and operated and; 
b) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or 
has gross annual sales of less than $6 million.   

There are 7,463 dentists licensed in Virginia. It is 
likely the vast majority are small businesses. 
There are 6,010 dental hygienists and 26 dental 
assistants II who are employees of a dentist or 
health department. 

All projected costs for affected individuals, 
businesses, or other entities resulting from the 
regulatory change. Please be specific and include 
all costs including, but not limited to: 
a) projected reporting, recordkeeping, and other 
administrative costs required for compliance by 
small businesses; 
b) specify any costs related to the development of 
real estate for commercial or residential purposes 
that are a consequence of the regulatory change;  
c) fees;  
d) purchases of equipment or services; and 
e) time required to comply with the requirements. 

There are no costs for compliance with the 
amended regulation. 

Benefits the regulatory change is designed to 
produce. 

All licensed dentists, dental hygienists, and 
dental assistants II will benefit from a reduced 
renewal fee in 2020. 

 
 

Alternatives 
 

 

Please describe any viable alternatives to the regulatory change that were considered, and the rationale 
used by the agency to select the least burdensome or intrusive alternative that meets the essential 
purpose of the regulatory change. Also, include discussion of less intrusive or less costly alternatives for 
small businesses, as defined in § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, of achieving the purpose of the 
regulatory change. 
               

 

There are no alternatives to the proposal; this is the least burdensome alternative that meets the 
essential purpose.  The Board considered a variety of regulatory schemes to accomplish the 
purpose of changing the renewal schedule from March 31st to renewal on one’s birth month. It 
concluded that the most equitable method was a proportional fee applied to every licensee 
depending on the number of months before the next renewal in calendar year 2021 and a 
reduction in the renewal fee.  
 

 

Regulatory Flexibility Analysis 
 

 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1B of the Code of Virginia, please describe the agency’s analysis of alternative 
regulatory methods, consistent with health, safety, environmental, and economic welfare, that will 
accomplish the objectives of applicable law while minimizing the adverse impact on small business.  
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Alternative regulatory methods include, at a minimum: 1) establishing less stringent compliance or 
reporting requirements; 2) establishing less stringent schedules or deadlines for compliance or reporting 
requirements; 3) consolidation or simplification of compliance or reporting requirements; 4) establishing 
performance standards for small businesses to replace design or operational standards required in the 
proposed regulation; and 5) the exemption of small businesses from all or any part of the requirements 
contained in the regulatory change. 
               
 

The Board is authorized to promulgate regulations for establishment of fees and renewal 
schedules. To alter the fee structure and renewal requirements, it must adopt amendments to 
regulation. There are no alternative regulatory methods. 
 

 

Public Comment 
 

 

Please summarize all comments received during the public comment period following the publication of 
the previous stage, and provide the agency response. Ensure to include all comments submitted: 
including those received on Town Hall, in a public hearing, or submitted directly to the agency or board. If 
no comment was received, enter a specific statement to that effect.  
              
 

Commenter  Comment  Agency response 

E. A. Bernhard, 
DMD 

Current fixed date easier to 
remember; not in favor of change 

The Board acknowledges that the change will 
require adjustment but believes birth month 
will be eventually be easier rather than an 
arbitrary date. 

Robert 
Morrison, DMD 

Favors distribution of workload 
even further by biennial renewal 

Except for the largest boards (Nursing and 
Medicine), all DHP boards require annual 
renewal to avoid unfavorable fluctuations in 
cash balances. Additionally, a biennial 
renewal would double the current fee of $285 
and could be a hardship on some licensees. 

Matthew 
Stephens, DDS 

As a member of a group practice, a 
single date is easier for all 
licensees in the practice.  If it goes 
into effect, expressed concern a 
license issued in March might 
expire before the birth month the 
following year. 

Group practices in Medicine have a similar 
situation and are able to pay renewal fees 
throughout the year. 
When a licensee renews in 2020, the 
expiration date on his license will be set at 
his birth month in 2021, so no one will be 
disadvantaged by the change. 

Karen 
Dunegan, DMD 

Prefers the March date because 
she has be December birth month 
and that is a busy time of year. 

The Board acknowledges the concern. 

Bridgett Davis, 
RDH 

March 31 is not hard to remember; 
will be more difficult for offices to 
keep track of who is registered. 

The Board acknowledges that the change will 
require adjustment but believes birth month 
will be easier rather than an arbitrary date. 

Eileen Tarulis, 
RDH 

Opposes The Board acknowledges the opposition. 

Christine 
Rodgers, RDH 

Questions about proration of the 
fee. Likes biennial renewal 
concept. 

The Board has adopted a proration that will 
be equitable for all licensees and registrants. 

Mariana Bruce, 
RDH 

Prefers March 31; been done this 
way for a long time. 

The Board acknowledges that the change will 
require adjustment but believes birth month 
will be easier rather than an arbitrary date. 

H. Cheginia, 
DDS 

Consider biennial renewal Same response as Dr. Morrison above 
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April Snyder Supports birth month biennial 
renewal 

Same response as above. 

Debra Dycus Opposes The Board acknowledges the opposition. 
Noreen 
Leyden, RDH 

Birth month renewal puts CE 
completion into busy part of year 
for her; opposes 

The Board acknowledges the concern. 

Becky C. Opposes; some offices take CE 
courses together  

CE courses will be counted for the renewal 
year for each licensee. If a person has 
renewed in April and takes a course in June, 
it would count for the following renewal. 

Dr. Z Licensed in a few states; renewing 
by birth month more confusing for 
CE courses 

The Board acknowledges the concern. 

Arlene G., USN Concern about scheduling of CE 
courses 

The Board anticipates that licensees will find 
it easier to complete CE courses throughout 
the year rather than concentrating hours right 
before a single deadline date. 

Dr. T Birth months not in sync with CE or 
other states 

The Board acknowledges the concern. 

Kim Mulvey Opposes The Board acknowledges the opposition 
Jernice Giles, 
DDS 

Opposes; managing staff with 
different renewal dates challenging. 

Same response as Dr. Stephens above 

M Nazareth Supports; concerns about 
inequities in time periods between 
renewal. 

The Board has adopted a renewal schedule 
for 2020 that prorates fees and is equitable 
for all 

Richard 
Roadcap, DDS 

Against; should operate on a 
calendar year with renewal on Jan. 
1. 

The Board acknowledges the concern; 
renewal by Jan. 1 would present a significant 
problem for board and agency staff. 

Ursula 
Klostermyer 

Supports a biennial renewal Same response as Dr. Morrison above 

Walter Saxon, 
Jr. 

Against change; a single renewal 
date is easier for an office and for 
entities that check on currency of a 
license 

Same response as Dr. Stephens above 

Carmen Cote, 
DDS 

Against; supports a biennial 
renewal 

Same response as Dr. Morrison above 

 
 

Public Participation 
 

 

Please include a statement that in addition to any other comments on the regulatory change, the agency 
is seeking comments on the costs and benefits of the regulatory change and the impacts of the regulated 
community. Also, indicate whether a public hearing will be held to receive comments.    
                         

 

In addition to any other comments, the Board of Dentistry is seeking comments on the costs and 
benefits of the proposal and the potential impacts of this regulatory proposal. Also, the 
agency/board is seeking information on impacts on small businesses as defined in § 2.2-4007.1 
of the Code of Virginia. Information may include: 1) projected reporting, recordkeeping and 
other administrative costs; 2) probable effect of the regulation on affected small businesses; and 
3) description of less intrusive or costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of the 
regulation. 
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Anyone wishing to submit comments may do so via the Regulatory Town Hall website 
(http://www.townhall.virginia.gov), or by mail, email, or fax to Elaine Yeatts at Department of 

Health Professions, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA  23233 or 

elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov or by fax to (804) 527-4434. Written comments must include the 
name and address of the commenter.  In order to be considered, comments must be received by 
midnight on the last day of the public comment period. 
 
A public hearing will be held following the publication of the proposed stage of this regulatory 
action and notice of the hearing will be posted on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall website 
(http://www.townhall.virginia.gov) and on the Commonwealth Calendar website 
(https://www.virginia.gov/connect/commonwealth-calendar).  Both oral and written comments 
may be submitted at that time. 
 

 

Detail of Changes 
 

 
 

 

Current 
section 
number 

Current requirement Proposed change, intent, rationale, and likely impact of 
proposed requirements 

Chapter 
21, 
Section 
40 

Sets out required fees for 
dentists 

Subsection H is amended to eliminate the fee reduction 

language applicable to renewal in 2018 and insert the 

proportional fees for renewal of an active license in 2020. 

The current renewal fee for an active dental license is $285 

payable by March 31st each year, which equals $23.75 for 12 

months of licensure. The proposed fee would be $15 per 

month for renewal by birth month for payment in March of 

2020. For example, in 2020 a dentist with a January birth 

date would pay $15 X 10 months of licensure or $150; a 

dentist with a December birth date would pay $15 X 21 

months for 21 months of licensure or $315. In 2021, the 

renewal fee would revert to the current amount of $285 

payable in one’s birth month. When a licensee renews in 

2020, the expiration date on his license will be set at his birth 

month in 2021. 

Chapter 
21, 
Section  
240 

Sets out the requirements for 
license renewal or 
reinstatement 

Subsection B is amended to specify that the renewal of 

licenses and permits currently renewed on or before March 

31 would be renewed in one’s birth month beginning in 

2021.  

The intent is to distribute the work load for board and 

department staff throughout the year rather than focused in 

a single month. Renewal by birth month has been the 

requirement for all licensees of the Boards of Medicine and 

Nursing and has worked well for staff and regulants.  

Chapter 
25, 
Section 
30 

Sets out required fees for 
dental hygienists 

Subsection G is amended to eliminate the fee reduction 

language applicable to renewal in 2018 and insert the 

proportional fees for renewal of an active license in 2021. 

http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/
mailto:elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/
https://www.virginia.gov/connect/commonwealth-calendar
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The current renewal fee for an active dental hygienist license 

is $75 payable by March 31st each year, which equals $6.25 

for 12 months of licensure. The proposed fee would be $4 

per month for renewal by birth month for March of 2020. 

For example, a dental hygienist with a January birth date 

would pay $4 X 10 months for 10 months of licensure or $40; 

a dental hygienist with a December birth date would pay $4 

X 21 months for 21 months of licensure or $84. In 2021, the 

renewal fee would revert to the current amount of $75 

payable in one’s birth month. When a licensee renews in 

2020, the expiration date on his license will be set at his birth 

month in 2021. 

Chapter 
25, 
Section  
180 

Sets out the requirements for 
license renewal or 
reinstatement for dental 
hygienists 

Subsection A is amended to specify that the renewal of 

licenses currently renewed on or before March 31 would be 

renewed in one’s birth month beginning in 2021.  

The intent is to distribute the work load for board and 

department staff throughout the year rather than focused in 

a single month. Renewal by birth month has been the 

requirement for all licensees of the Boards of Medicine and 

Nursing and has worked well for staff and regulants.  

Chapter 
30, 
Section 
30 

Sets out required fees for 
dental assistants II 

Subsection G is amended to eliminate the fee reduction 

language applicable to renewal in 2018 and insert the 

proportional fees for renewal of an active license in March 

2020. 

The current renewal fee for an active dental assistant II 

registration is $50 payable by March 31st each year, which 

equals $4.16 for 12 months of registration. The proposed fee 

would be $3 per month for renewal by birth month for 

March of 2020. For example, in 2020 a dental assistant II 

with a January birth date would pay $3 X 10 months for 10 

months of registration or $30; a dental assistants II with a 

December birth date would pay $3 X 21 months for 21 

months of registration or $63. After 2020, the renewal fee 

would revert to the current amount of $50 payable in one’s 

birth month. When a registrant renews in 2020, the 

expiration date on his registration will be set at his birth 

month in 2021. 

Chapter 
30, 
Section  
150 

Sets out the requirements for 
registration renewal or 
reinstatement for dental 
assistants II 

Subsection A is amended to specify that the renewal of 

registration currently renewed on or before March 31 would 

be renewed in one’s birth month beginning in 2021.  

The intent is to distribute the work load for board and 

department staff throughout the year rather than focused in 

a single month. Renewal by birth month has been the 

requirement for all licensees of the Boards of Medicine and 

Nursing and has worked well for staff and regulants.  

 

 
 


