Project 7946 - Exempt Final

Board of Psychology

Licensure of psychological practitioners pursuant to SB403

18VAC125-20-30. Fees required by the board.

A. The board has established fees for the following:

	Applied psychologists, Clinical psychologists, School psychologists	School psychologists- limited	Psychological practitioners
Registration of residency (per residency request)	\$50		<u></u>
Add or change supervisor	\$25		
Application processing and initial licensure	\$200	\$85	<u>\$200</u>
Annual renewal of active license	\$140	\$70	<u>\$140</u>
5. Annual renewal of inactive license	\$70	\$35	<u>\$70</u>
6. Late renewal	\$50	\$25	<u>\$25</u>
7. Verification of license to another jurisdiction	\$25	\$25	<u>\$25</u>
8. Duplicate license	\$5	\$5	<u>\$5</u>
Additional or replacement wall certificate	\$15	\$15	<u>\$15</u>
 Handling fee for returned check or dishonored credit card or debit card 	\$50	\$50	<u>\$50</u>
11. Reinstatement of a lapsed license	\$270	\$125	<u>\$270</u>
12. Reinstatement following revocation or suspension	\$500	\$500	<u>\$500</u>

		,		
13. Autonomous practice for	i	i	i	i i
13. Autoriorilous practice for			□ ¢150	1
psychological practitioners	· <u>=</u>	<u> </u>	₁ <u>φ130</u>	- 1
psychological practitioners	I .			
				!

- B. Fees shall be made payable to the Treasurer of Virginia and forwarded to the board. All fees are nonrefundable.
 - C. Between May 1, 2020, and June 30, 2020, the following renewal fees shall be in effect:
 - 1. For annual renewal of an active license as a clinical, applied, or school psychologist, it shall be \$100. For an inactive license as a clinical, applied, or school psychologist, it shall be \$50.
 - 2. For annual renewal of an active license as a school psychologist-limited, it shall be \$50. For an inactive license as a school psychologist-limited, it shall be \$25.
- D. Between January 1, 2025 and December 31, 2026, the cost for application processing and initial licensure of psychological practitioners shall be \$100.

18VAC125-20-41. Requirements for licensure by examination.

- A. Every applicant for licensure by examination shall:
 - 1. Meet the education requirements prescribed in 18VAC125-20-54, 18VAC125-20-55, er 18VAC125-20-56, or 18VAC125-20-57 and the experience requirement prescribed in 18VAC125-20-65 as applicable for the particular license sought; and
 - 2. Submit the following:
 - a. A completed application on forms provided by the board;
 - b. A completed residency agreement or documentation of having fulfilled the experience requirements of 18VAC125-20-65, if applicable;
 - c. The application processing fee prescribed by the board;

- d. Official transcripts documenting the graduate work completed and the degree awarded; transcripts previously submitted for registration of supervision do not have to be resubmitted unless additional coursework was subsequently obtained. Applicants who are graduates of institutions that are not regionally accredited shall submit documentation from an accrediting agency acceptable to the board that their education meets the requirements set forth in 18VAC125-20-54, or 18VAC125-20-57;
- e. A current report from the National Practitioner Data Bank; and
- f. Verification of any other health or mental health professional license, certificate, or registration ever held in Virginia or another jurisdiction. The applicant shall not have surrendered a license, certificate, or registration while under investigation and shall have no unresolved action against a license, certificate, or registration.
- B. In addition to fulfillment of the education and experience requirements, each applicant for licensure by examination <u>as a clinical, school, or applied psychologist</u> must achieve a passing score on all parts of the Examination for Professional Practice of Psychology required at the time the applicant took the examination.
- C. Every applicant for licensure as a psychological practitioner shall achieve a passing score as determined by the board for masters level psychological practice on the academic portion of the Examination for Professional Practice of Psychology. Every licensed psychological practitioner applying for autonomous practice shall achieve a passing score as determined by the board for masters level psychological practice on the clinical portion of the Examination for Professional Practice of Psychology.
- C. D. Every applicant shall attest to having read and agreed to comply with the current standards of practice and laws governing the practice of psychology in Virginia.

18VAC125-20-42. Prerequisites for licensure by endorsement.

Every applicant for licensure by endorsement <u>for applied psychology</u>, <u>clinical psychology</u>, <u>or school psychology</u> shall submit:

- 1. A completed application;
- 2. The application processing fee prescribed by the board;
- 3. An attestation of having read and agreed to comply with the current Standards of Practice and laws governing the practice of psychology in Virginia;
- 4. Verification of all other health and mental health professional licenses, certificates, or registrations ever held in Virginia or any jurisdiction of the United States or Canada. In order to qualify for endorsement, the applicant shall not have surrendered a license, certificate, or registration while under investigation and shall have no unresolved action against a license, certificate, or registration;
- 5. A current report from the National Practitioner Data Bank; and
- 6. Further documentation of one of the following:
 - a. A current credential issued by the National Register of Health Service Psychologists;
 - b. Current diplomate status in good standing with the American Board of Professional Psychology in a category comparable to the one in which licensure is sought;
 - c. A Certificate of Professional Qualification in Psychology (CPQ) issued by the Association of State and Provincial Psychology Boards;

- d. Five years of active licensure in a category comparable to the one in which licensure is sought with at least 24 months of active practice within the last 60 months immediately preceding licensure application; or
- e. If less than five years of active licensure or less than 24 months of active practice within the last 60 months, documentation of current psychologist licensure in good standing obtained by standards substantially equivalent to the education, experience, and examination requirements set forth in this chapter for the category in which licensure is sought as verified by a certified copy of the original application submitted directly from the out-of-state licensing agency or a copy of the regulations in effect at the time of initial licensure and the following: (1) Verification of a passing score on all parts of the Examination for Professional Practice of Psychology that were required at the time of original licensure; and (2) Official transcripts documenting the graduate work completed and the degree awarded in the category in which licensure is sought.

18VAC125-20-57. Education requirements for psychological practitioners.

Every applicant for licensure as a psychological practitioner shall provide evidence of receipt of a master's degree in clinical or school psychology from a program accredited by the American Psychological Association, from a program equivalent to those accredited by the American Psychological Association as determined by the board, or from a program accredited by another national accrediting body approved by the board.

18VAC125-20-58. Supervision and autonomous practice of psychological practitioners.

A. Unless an autonomous practice designation has been granted by the board, every psychological practitioner shall practice under the supervision of a clinical psychologist with at least two years of clinical experience post-licensure as a doctoral level clinical psychologist. No

psychological practitioner shall hold himself out as able to practice autonomously unless an autonomous practice designation has been granted by the board.

- B. Unless an autonomous practice designation has been granted by the board, every psychological practitioner shall communicate to patients and the public in writing that the psychological practitioner cannot practice autonomously and provide the name and contact information of the supervising clinical psychologist.
- C. A psychological practitioner with a current, unrestricted license may qualify for an autonomous designation upon:
 - 1. Successful completion of the clinical portion of the Examination for Professional

 Practice of Psychology; and
 - 2. Completion of one year of full-time, post-licensure practice under the supervision of a clinical psychologist. One year of full-time, post-licensure practice, for purposes of this section, is at least 2,000 hours. Such hours must be completed within three years immediately preceding application to the board for autonomous practice authorization.
 - D. Qualification for authorization for autonomous practice shall be determined upon:
 - 1. Submission of a fee as specified in 18VAC125-20-30;
 - 2. Evidence of a passing score for masters level psychological practice on the clinical portion of the Examination for Professional Practice of Psychology; and
 - 3. Evidence of one year of full-time, post-licensure supervised practice. The evidence of supervised practice shall consist of an attestation which meets the following criteria:
 - a. The attestation shall be signed by the licensed clinical psychologist that served as a supervisor for the required supervised practice in subsection A;

- b. The attestation shall specify that the psychological practitioner is competent to practice in all areas of practiced contained on a form provided by the board; and
- c. The attestation shall state that, in the opinion of the licensed clinical psychologist, the psychological practitioner demonstrates sufficient competency to practice autonomy.

18VAC125-20-59. Supervisors of psychological practitioners.

A. Supervisors shall be licensed as a clinical psychologist in the jurisdiction in which practice by the psychological practitioner occurs.

- B. Supervision of post-licensure practice by a clinical psychologist shall include:
 - 1. The periodic review of patient charts or electronic patient records by the supervising clinical psychologist;
 - 2. Appropriate and regular input by the clinical psychologist on cases, patient emergencies, and referrals;
 - 3. Appropriate professional development; and
 - 4. Management of areas of deficiency if needed or indicated during supervision.
- C. The supervisor shall be responsible for ensuring that the psychological practitioner only practices within the scope of his education and training.
- D. Prior to practice, a psychological practitioner that has not received an autonomous practice designation must enter into a supervisory agreement with a qualified supervisor.
- E. Both the psychological practitioner and the supervisor shall maintain a copy of all supervisory agreements for 3 years from the date that supervision ends.

18VAC125-20-80. General examination requirements.

A. A candidate shall achieve a passing score on the final <u>required</u> step <u>for licensure type</u> <u>applied for</u> of the national examination within two years immediately preceding licensure. A candidate may request an extension of the two-year limitation for extenuating circumstances. If the candidate has not taken the examination by the end of the two-year period, the applicant shall reapply according to the requirements of the regulations in effect at that time.

B. A candidate for autonomous practice as a licensed psychological practitioner shall achieve a passing score on the clinical portion of the national examination within two years immediately preceding the application for autonomous practice. A candidate may request an extension of the two-year limitation for extenuating circumstances.

B. C. The board shall establish passing scores on all steps of the examination.

18VAC125-20-120. Annual renewal of licensure.

Every license issued by the board shall expire each year on June 30.

- 1. Every licensee who intends to continue to practice shall, on or before the expiration date of the license, submit to the board a license renewal form supplied by the board and the renewal fee prescribed in 18VAC125-20-30.
- 2. Licensees who wish to maintain an active license shall pay the appropriate fee and verify on the renewal form compliance with the continuing education requirements prescribed in 18VAC125-20-121. First-time licensees by examination are not required to verify continuing education on the first renewal date following initial licensure.
- 3. A licensee who wishes to place his license in inactive status may do so upon payment of the fee prescribed in 18VAC125-20-30. A person with an inactive license is not authorized to practice; no person shall practice psychology in Virginia without a current

active license. An inactive licensee may activate a license by fulfilling the reactivation requirements set forth in 18VAC125-20-130.

- 4. Failure of a licensee to receive a renewal notice and application forms from the board shall not excuse the licensee from the renewal requirement.
- 5. A licensed psychological practitioner actively practicing without a designation for autonomous practice shall attest that the licensee is actively supervised.

