



Committee contact address: cybercommittee@vita.virginia.gov

Call to Order:

A meeting of the Virginia Cybersecurity Planning Committee was called to order at 10:03 am. Mr. Watson welcomed the new member: Uma Marques, who is replacing Benjamin Shumaker in the seat for local government. Mr. Watson also mentioned that Adrian Compton has resigned from his seat as tribal representative.

Presiding:

Michael Watson, Committee Chair, Chief Information Security Officer, Virginia IT Agency

Members Present In-Person:

Diane Carnohan, Chief Information Security Officer, Virginia Department of Education

Robbie Coates, Director, Grant Management and Recovery, VDEM

Charles DeKeyser, Major, Virginia Army National Guard.

Charles Huntley, Director of Technology, County of Essex

Derek M. Kestner, Information Security Officer, Supreme Court of Virginia

Uma Marques, Information Technology Director, Roanoke County Government

Ken Pfeil, Chief Data Officer, Commonwealth of Virginia

Brandon Smith, Chief Information Officer, Department of Elections

Glendon Schmitz, Chief Information Security Officer, Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental Services

Members Participating Remotely:

Michael Dent, Chief Information Security Officer, Fairfax County Department of Information Technology

Wesley Williams, Executive Director of Technology, Roanoke City Public Schools

Mr. Dent and Mr. Willams participated remotely because her principal residence is more than 60 miles from the meeting location.

Members Not Present:

Brenna R. Doherty, Chief Information Security Officer, Department of Legislative Automated Systems

Lisa Walbert, Deputy Secretary of Public Safety and Homeland Security

Beth Burgin Waller, Chair, Cybersecurity and Data Privacy Practice, Woods Rogers Vandeventer Black.

Staff Present:

Erica Bland, Manager, IT Security Governance and Compliance, Virginia IT Agency

Joshua Heslinga, Director of Legal & Legislative Services, Virginia IT Agency

Patrick Disney, Coordinator Legal & Legislative Services, Virginia IT Agency

Sam Taylor, PR & Marketing Specialist, Virginia IT Agency

Amy Judd, Records Management and Compliance Specialist, Virginia IT Agency

Amma Abbey, Legal Compliance & Policy Specialist, Virginia IT Agency

Atrayo Harper, Graphic Design Specialist, Virginia IT Agency

Review of Agenda:

Mr. Disney provided an overview of the agenda and corresponding items in the digital meeting packets.

Approval of Minutes:

The May 15th meeting minutes were displayed. Upon a motion by Mr. Smith and duly seconded by Mr. Pfeil, the committee unanimously voted to adopt the May 15th meeting minutes.

Approval of Electronic Participation Policy:

The policy was displayed on the screen and summarized by Mr. Heslinga. Upon a motion by Mr. Kestner seconded by Ms. Carnohan, the Council unanimously voted to adopt the updated electronic participation policy.

Financial Update and Update on Assessments Projects

Ms. Fain gave an update on finances. Out of year 1 funds, there is currently \$2.1M unallocated so far. \$66k on management and administration has been fully allocated. \$550k has been allocated for the locality SOC RFP (which is proceeding but early in the RFP process) and programmatic expenses and working with public colleges and universities also fall in this bucket of funding.

Ms. Fain also gave an update on the assessments project. Its status is currently green, but sign off from some localities is taking longer than expected. Actual assessments are on schedule, as are acceptance reviews by VITA security staff – 54 assessments have been completed since Aug. 16, and 32 have been reviewed by our staff.

Preparing for Project Submissions

Mr. Watson proposed an open question to the committee to inform how funds should be identified for each objective or priority in the available funding years. The committee discussed assessment data needed to make decisions on future findings; the conversation will continue in the September meeting.

Public Comment Period:

There were no public commenters.

Other Business:

Mr. Watson opened the floor for other business. Mr. Disney reminded members to complete their travel forms and that the next meeting is scheduled for September 18th at 10am.

Adjourn

Upon a motion by Mr. Kestner and seconded by Mr. Smith, the meeting was adjourned at 11:32 am.