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CHAPTER V 
BILLING INSTRUCTIONS 

INTRODUCTION 

The purpose of this chapter is to explain the documentation procedures for billing the 
Virginia Medicaid Program. 
 
Two major areas are covered in this chapter: 
 

• General Information - This section contains information about the timely filing 
of claims, claim inquiries, and supply procedures. 

 
• Billing Procedures - Instructions are provided on the completion of claim 

forms, submitting adjustment requests, and additional payment services. 

ELECTRONIC SUBMISSION OF CLAIMS 

Electronic billing is a fast and effective way to submit Medicaid claims.  Claims will be 
processed faster and more accurately because electronic claims are entered in to the 
claims processing system directly.  Providers may submit claims by direct dial-up at no 
cost per claim, using toll-free telephone lines.   
 
Electronic Data Interchange (EDI) is a fast and effective way to submit Medicaid claims. 
Claims will be processed faster and more accurately because electronic claims are 
entered into the claims processing system directly.  Most personal, mini, or mainframe 
computers can be used for electronic billing. For more information contact our fiscal 
agent, Xerox State Healthcare, LLC: 

 
Phone: (866)-352-0766 
Fax number: (888)-335-8460 
Website: https://www.virginiamedicaid.dmas.virginia.gov or by mail 

 
Xerox State Healthcare, LLC 
EDI Coordinator 
Virginia Medicaid Fiscal Agent 
P.O. Box 26228 
Richmond, Virginia 23260-6228 

  
DIRECT DATA ENTRY (DDE) 
 
As part of the 2011 General Assembly Appropriation Act - 300H which requires that all 
new providers bill claims electronically and receive reimbursement via Electronic Funds 
Transfer (EFT) no later than October 1, 2011 and existing Medicaid providers to transition 
to electronic billing and receive reimbursement via EFT no later than July 1, 2012, DMAS 
has implemented the Direct Data Entry (DDE) system. Providers can submit claims 
quickly and easily via the Direct Data Entry (DDE) system.  DDE will allow providers to 
submit Professional (CMS-1500), Institutional (UB-04) and Medicare Crossover claims 
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directly to DMAS via the Virginia Medicaid Web Portal. Registration thru the Virginia 
Medicaid Web Portal is required to access and use DDE. The DDE User Guide, tutorial 
and FAQs can be accessed from our web portal at:  
www.virginiamedicaid.dmas.virginia.gov. To access the DDE system, select the Provider 
Resources tab and then select Claims Direct Data Entry (DDE).   Providers have the 
ability to create a new initial claim, as well as an adjustment or a void through the DDE 
process. The status of the claim(s) submitted can be checked the next business day if 
claims were submitted by 5pm.  DDE is provided at no cost to the provider. 
 
 
TIMELY FILING 
 
The Medical Assistance Program regulations require the prompt submission of all claims. 
Virginia Medicaid is mandated by federal regulations [42 CFR § 447.45(d)] to require the 
initial submission of all claims (including accident cases) within 12 months from the date 
of service. Providers are encouraged to submit billings within 30 days from the last date 
of service or discharge. Federal financial participation is not available for claims, which 
are not submitted within 12 months from the date of the service. Submission is defined 
as actual, physical receipt by DMAS. In cases where the actual receipt of a claim by 
DMAS is undocumented, it is the provider’s responsibility to confirm actual receipt of a 
claim by DMAS within 12 months from the date of the service reflected on a claim. If billing 
electronically and timely filing must be waived, submit the DMAS-3 form with the 
appropriate attachments. The DMAS-3 form is to be used by electronic billers for 
attachments. (See Exhibits) Medicaid is not authorized to make payment on these late 
claims, except under the following conditions: 
 
Retroactive Eligibility - Medicaid eligibility can begin as early as the first day of the third 
month prior to the month of application for benefits. All eligibility requirements must be 
met within that time period. Unpaid bills for that period can be billed to Medicaid the same 
as for any other service. If the enrollment is not accomplished in a timely way, billing will 
be handled in the same manner as for delayed eligibility. 
 
Delayed Eligibility - Medicaid may make payment for services billed more than 12 
months from the date of service in certain circumstances. Medicaid denials may be 
overturned or other actions may cause eligibility to be established for a prior period. 
Medicaid may make payment for dates of service more than 12 months in the past when 
the claims are for an enrollee whose eligibility has been delayed. It is the provider’s 
obligation to verify the patient’s Medicaid eligibility. Providers who have rendered care for 
a period of delayed eligibility will be notified by a copy of a letter from the local department 
of social services which specifies the delay has occurred, the Medicaid claim number, 
and the time span for which eligibility has been granted. The provider must submit a claim 
on the appropriate Medicaid claim form within 12 months from the date of the notification 
of the delayed eligibility. A copy of the “signed and dated” letter from the local department 
of social services indicating the delayed claim information must be attached to the claim.   
 
Denied claims – Denied claims must be submitted and processed on or before thirteen 
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months from date of the initial denied claim where the initial claim was filed within 
the 12 months limit to be considered for payment by Medicaid.  The procedures for 
resubmission are:  

• Complete invoice as explained in this billing chapter.  
• Attach written documentation to justify/verify the explanation. This documentation 

may be continuous denials by Medicaid or any dated follow-up correspondence 
from Medicaid showing that the provider has actively been submitting or contacting 
Medicaid on getting the claim processed for payment.  Actively pursuing claim 
payment is defined as documentation of contacting DMAS at least every six 
months.  Where the provider has failed to contact DMAS for six months or more, 
DMAS shall consider the resubmission to be untimely and no further action shall 
be taken.   If billing electronically and waiver of timely filing is being requested, 
submit the claim with the appropriate attachments. (The DMAS-3 form is to be 
used by electronic billers for attachments. See exhibits)  

 
Accident Cases - The provider may either bill Medicaid or wait for a settlement from the 
responsible liable third party in accident cases. However, all claims for services in 
accident cases must be billed to Medicaid within 12 months from the date of the service. 
If the provider waits for the settlement before billing Medicaid and the wait extends beyond 
12 months from the date of the service, Medicaid shall make no reimbursement.  
 
Other Primary Insurance - The provider should bill other insurance as primary. However, 
all claims for services must be billed to Medicaid within 12 months from the date of 
the service. If the provider waits for payment before billing Medicaid and the wait extends 
beyond 12 months from the date of the service, Medicaid shall make no 
reimbursements.  If payment is made from the primary insurance carrier after a payment 
from Medicaid has been made, an adjustment or void should be filed at that time. 
 
Other Insurance - The member can keep private health insurance and still be covered 
by Medicaid or FAMIS Plus. The other insurance plan pays first. Having other health 
insurance does not change the co-payment amount that providers can collect from a 
Medicaid member. For members with a Medicare supplemental policy, the policy can be 
suspended with Medicaid coverage for up to 24 months while the member has Medicaid 
without penalty from their insurance company. The members must notify the insurance 
company. The member must notify the insurance company within 90 days of the end of 
Medicaid coverage to reinstate the supplemental insurance. 
 
Submit the claim in the usual manner by mailing the claim to billing address noted 
in this chapter. 

 

BILLING INVOICES 

The requirements for submission of billing information and the use of the appropriate 
billing invoice depend upon the type of service being rendered by the provider and/or the 
billing transaction being completed.  Listed below is the billing invoice to be used for billing 
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vision care services: 
 

 
• Health Insurance Claim Form CMS-1500 (02-12) 

 
 
If submitting on paper, the requirement to submit claims on an original CMS-1500 claim 
form is necessary because the individual signing the form is attesting to the statements 
made on the reverse side of this form; therefore, these statements become part of the 
original billing invoice. 
 
Medicaid reimburses providers for the coinsurance and deductible amounts on Medicare 
claims for Medicaid members who are dually eligible for Medicare and Medicaid. 
However, the amount paid by Medicaid in combination with the Medicare payment will not 
exceed the amount Medicaid would pay for the service if it were billed solely to Medicaid. 
 
 
AUTOMATED CROSSOVER CLAIMS PROCESSING 
 
Most claims for dually eligible members are automatically submitted to DMAS. The 
Medicare claims processors will submit claims based on electronic information exchanges 
between these entities and DMAS. As a result of this automatic process, the claims are 
often referred to as “crossovers” since the claims are automatically crossed over from 
Medicare to Medicaid. 
 
To make it easier to match to providers to their Virginia Medicaid provider record, 
providers are to begin including their Virginia Medicaid ID as a secondary identifier on the 
claims sent to Medicare. When a crossover claim includes a Virginia Medicaid ID, the 
claim will be processed by DMAS using the Virginia Medicaid number rather the Virginia 
Medicare vendor number. This will ensure the appropriate Virginia Medicaid provider is 
reimbursed. 
 
When providers send in the 837 format, they should instruct their processors to include 
the Medicaid provider number and use qualifier “ID” in the appropriate reference (REF) 
segment for provider secondary identification on claims. Providing the Virginia Medicaid 
ID on the original claim to Medicare will reduce the need for submitting follow-up paper 
claims. 
 
DMAS has established a special email address for providers to submit questions and 
issues related to the Virginia Medicare crossover process. Please send any questions or 
problems to the following email address:  Medicare.Crossover@dmas.virginia.gov. 
 
 
REQUESTS FOR BILLING MATERIALS 
Health Insurance Claim Form CMS-1500 (02-12) 
 
The CMS-1500 (02-12) is a universally accepted claim form that is required when billing 
DMAS for covered services. The form is available from form printers and the U.S. 
Government Printing Office. Specific details on purchasing these forms can be obtained 
by writing to the following address: 
 
 U.S. Government Print Office 
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 Superintendent of Documents 
 Washington, DC 20402 
 (202) 512-1800 (Order and Inquiry Desk) 
 
Note: The CMS-1500 (02-12) will not be provided by DMAS. 
 
The request for forms or Billing Supplies must be submitted by: 
 

Mail Your Request To: 
Commonwealth Mailing 
1700 Venable St., 
Richmond, VA 23223 
 

Calling the DMAS order desk at Commonwealth Martin 804-780-0076 or, by faxing the 
DMAS order desk at Commonwealth Martin 804-780-0198 
 
All orders must include the following information: 
 

• Provider Identification Number 

• Company Name and Contact Person 

• Street Mailing Address (No Post Office Numbers are accepted) 

• Telephone Number and Extension of the Contact Person 

• The form number and name of the form 

• The quantity needed for each form 
 
Please DO NOT order excessive quantities. 
 
Direct any requests for information or questions concerning the ordering of forms to the 
address above or call: (804) 780-0076.  

 

REMITTANCE/PAYMENT VOUCHER 

DMAS sends a check and remittance voucher with each weekly payment made by the 
Virginia Medical Assistance Program.  The remittance voucher is a record of approved, 
pended, denied, adjusted, or voided claims and should be kept in a permanent file for five 
(5) years. 
 
The remittance voucher includes an address location, which contains the provider's name 
and current mailing address as shown in the DMAS' provider enrollment file.  In the event 
of a change-of-address, the U.S. Postal Service will not forward Virginia Medicaid 
payment checks and vouchers to another address.  Therefore, it is recommended that 
DMAS' Provider Enrollment and Certification Unit be notified in sufficient time prior to a 
change-of-address in order for the provider files to be updated. 
 
Providers are encouraged to monitor the remittance vouchers for special messages since 
they serve as notifications of matters of concern, interest and information. For example, 
such messages may relate to upcoming changes to Virginia Medicaid policies and 
procedures; may serve as clarification of concerns expressed by the provider community 
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in general; or may alert providers to problems encountered with the automated claims 
processing and payment system. 
 

ANSI X12N 835 HEALTH CARE CLAIM PAYMENT ADVICE 

The Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (HIPAA) requires that Medicaid, 
comply with the electronic data interchange (EDI) standards for health care as established 
by the Secretary of Health and Human Services.  The 835 Claims Payment Advice 
transaction set is used to communicate the results of claim adjudication.  DMAS will make 
a payment with electronic funds transfer (EFT) or check for a claim that has been 
submitted by a provider (typically by using an 837 Health Care Claim Transaction Set).  
The payment detail is electronically posted to the provider's accounts receivable using 
the 835. 
 
In addition to the 835 the provider will receive an unsolicited 277 Claims Status Response 
for the notification of pending claims.  For technical assistance with certification of the 835 
Claim Payment Advice please contact our fiscal agent, Xerox State Healthcare, LLC at 
(866) 352-0766. 
 

CLAIM INQUIRIES AND RECONSIDERATION 

Inquiries concerning covered benefits, specific billing procedures, or questions regarding 
Virginia Medicaid policies and procedures should be directed to: 
  

Customer Services 
Department of Medical Assistance Services 
600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300 
Richmond, VA  23219 
 

A review of additional documentation may sustain the original determination or result in 
an approval or denial. 
 

Telephone Numbers 
 
1-804-786-6273 Richmond Area and out-of-state long distance 
1-800-552-8627 In-state long distance (toll-free) 
 
 

Enrollee verification and claim status may be obtained by telephoning: 
 

1-800- 772-9996 Toll-free throughout the United States 
1-800- 884-9730 Toll-free throughout the United States 
1-804- 965-9732 Richmond and Surrounding Counties 
1-804- 965-9733 Richmond and Surrounding Counties 
 

Enrollee verification and claim status may also be obtained by utilizing the Web-based 
Automated Response System. See Chapter I for more information. 

BILLING PROCEDURES 
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Physicians and other practitioners must use the appropriate claim form or billing invoice 
when billing the Virginia Medicaid Program for covered services provided to eligible 
Medicaid enrollees.  Each enrollee's services must be billed on a separate form. 
 
The provider should carefully read and adhere to the following instructions so that claims 
can be processed efficiently.  Accuracy, completeness, and clarity are important.  Claims 
cannot be processed if applicable information is not supplied or is illegible.  Completed 
claims should be mailed to: 
 

Department of Medical Assistance Services 
Practitioner 
P.O. Box 27444 
Richmond, Virginia 23261-7444 

 
Or  
 

    Department of Medical Assistance Services 
    CMS Crossover 
    P. O. Box 27444 
    Richmond, Virginia 23261-7444 
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ELECTRONIC FILING REQUIREMENTS 
 
DMAS is fully compliant with 5010 transactions and will no longer accept 4010 
transactions after March 30, 2012. 
 
The Virginia MMIS will accommodate the following EDI transactions according to the 
specification published in the Companion Guide version 5010 
 
270/271 Health Insurance Eligibility Request/ Response Verification for Covered Benefits 
(5010) 
276/277 Health Care Claim Inquiry to Request/ Response to Report the Status of a Claim 
(5010) 
277 - Unsolicited Response (5010) 
820 - Premium Payment for Enrolled Health Plan Members (5010) 
834 - Enrollment/ Disenrollment to a Health Plan (5010) 
835 - Health Care Claim Payment/ Remittance (5010) 
837 - Dental Health Care Claim or Encounter (5010) 
837 - Institutional Health Care Claim or Encounter (5010) 
837 - Professional Health Care Claim or Encounter (5010) 
NCPDP - National Council for Prescription Drug Programs Batch (5010) 
NCPDP - National Council for Prescription Drug Programs POS (5010) 
Although not mandated by HIPAA, DMAS has opted to produce an Unsolicited 277 
transaction to report information on pended claims. 
 
All 5010/D.0 Companion Guides are available on the web portal: 
https://www.virginiamedicaid.dmas.virginia.gov/wps/portal/EDICompanionGuides or 
contact EDI Support at 1-866-352-0766  or   Virginia.EDISupport@xerox.com. 
Although not mandated by HIPAA, DMAS has opted to produce an Unsolicited 277 
transaction to report information on pended claims. 
 
For providers that are interested in receiving more information about utilizing any of the 
above electronic transactions, your office or vendor can obtain the necessary information 
at our fiscal agent’s website:  https://www.virginiamedicaid.dmas.virginia.gov. 
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CLAIMCHECK 

 

• Effective June 3, 2013, DMAS implemented the Medicaid National Correct Coding 
Initiative (NCCI) Procedure to Procedure (PTP) and Medically Unlikely Edits (MUE) 
edits.  This implementation was in response to directives in the Affordable Care Act 
of 2010. These new edits will impact all Physicians, Laboratory, Radiology, 
Ambulatory Surgery Centers, and Durable Medical Equipment and Supply 
providers. Effective January 1, 2014, all outpatient hospital claims will be subject 
the NCCI edits thru the EAPG claim processing. Please refer to the Hospital 
Manual, Chapter 5 for details related to EAPG.  The NCCI/ClaimCheck edits are 
part of the daily claims adjudication cycle on a concurrent basis.  The current claim 
will be processed to edit history claims.  Any adjustments or denial of payments 
from the current or history claim(s) will be done during the daily adjudication cycle 
and reported on the providers weekly remittance cycle.  All NCCI/ClaimCheck edits 
are based on the following global claim factors:  same member, same servicing 
provider, same date of service or the date of service is within established pre- or 
post-operative time frame.  All CPT and HCPCS code will be subject to both the 
NCCI and ClaimCheck edits.  Upon review of the denial, the provider can re-submit 
a corrected claim. Any system edits related to timely filing, etc. are still applicable.   

 

• PTP Edits: 
CMS has combined the Medicare Incidental and Mutually Exclusive edits into a new 
PTP category. The PTP edits define pairs of CPT/HCPCS codes that should not be 
reported together. The PTP codes utilize a column one listing of codes to a column 
two listing of codes. In the event a column one code is billed with a column two 
code, the column one code will pay, the column two code will deny. The only 
exception to the PTP is the application of an accepted Medicaid NCCI modifier. 
Note: Prior to this implementation, DMAS modified the CCI Mutually Exclusive edit 
to pay the procedure with the higher billed charge. This is no longer occurring, since 
CMS has indicated that the code in column one is to be paid regardless of charge. 
 

• MUE Edits: 
DMAS implemented the Medicaid NCCI MUE edits. These edits define for each 
CPT/HCPCS code the maximum units of service that a provider would report under 
most circumstances for a single member on a single date of service and by same 
servicing provider. The MUEs apply to the number of units allowed for a specific 
procedure code, per day. If the claim units billed exceed the per day allowed, the 
claim will deny.  With the implementation of the MUE edits, providers must bill any 
bilateral procedure correctly. The claim should be billed with one unit and the 50 
modifier. The use of two units will subject the claim to the MUE, potentially resulting 
in a denial of the claim. Unlike the current ClaimCheck edit which denies the claim 
and creates a claim for one unit, the Medicaid NCCI MUE edit will deny the entire 
claim.  
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• Exempt Provider Types 
DMAS has received approval from CMS to allow the following provider types to be 
exempt from the Medicaid NCCI editing process. These providers are: Community 
Service Boards (CSB), Federal Health Center (FQHC),Rural Health Clinics (RHC), 
Schools and Health Departments.  These are the only providers exempt from the 
NCCI/editing process.  All other providers billing on the CMS 1500 will be subject 
to these edits.   
 

• Service Authorizations: 
DMAS has received approval from CMS to exempt specific CPT/HCPCS codes 
which require a valid service authorization.  These codes are exempt from the MUE 
edits however, they are still subject to the PTP and ClaimCheck edits.    
 

• Modifiers: 
Prior to this implementation, DMAS allowed claim lines with modifiers 24, 25, 57, 
59 to bypass the CCI/ClaimCheck editing process. With this implementation, DMAS 
now only allows the Medicaid NCCI associated modifiers as identified by CMS for 
the Medicaid NCCI. The modifier indicator currently applies to the PTP edits. The 
application of this modifier is determined by the modifier indicator of “1”or “0” in the 
listing of the NCCI PTP column code. If the column one, column two code 
combination has a modifier indicator of “1”, a modifier is allowed and both codes 
will pay. If the modifier indicator is “0”, the modifier is not allowed and the column 
two code will be denied. The MUE edits do not contain a modifier indicator table on 
the edit table. Per CMS, modifiers may only be applied if the clinical circumstances 
justify the use of the modifier. A provider cannot use the modifier just to bypass the 
edit. The recipient’s medical record must contain documentation to support the use 
of the modifier by clearly identifying the significant, identifiable service that allowed 
the use of the modifier. DMAS or its agent will monitor and audit the use of these 
modifiers to assure compliance. These audits may result in recovery of 
overpayment(s) if the medical record does not appropriately demonstrate the use 
of the modifiers. 
 
Modifiers that may be used under appropriate clinical circumstances to bypass an 
NCCI PTP edit include: E1 –E4, FA, F1 – F9, TA T1 – T9, LT, RT, LC, LD, RC, LM, 
RI, 24, 25, 57, 58, 78, 79, 27, 59, 91.  Modifiers 22, 76 and 77 are not Medicaid 
PTP NCCI approved modifiers. If these modifiers are used, they will not bypass the 
Medicaid PTP NCCI edits.  
 

 
Reconsideration  
 
Providers that disagree with the action taken by a ClaimCheck/NCCI edit may request a 
reconsideration of the process via email (ClaimCheck@dmas.virginia.gov) or by 
submitting a request to the following mailing address: 
 

 
Payment Processing Unit, Claim Check 
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Division of Program Operations 
Department of Medical Assistance Services 
600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300 
Richmond, Virginia 23219 

 
There is a 30-day time limit form the date of the denial letter or the date of the remittance 
advice containing the denial for requesting reconsideration. A review of additional 
documentation may sustain the original determination or result in an approval or denial of 
additional day(s). Requests received without additional documentation or after the 30-day 
limit will not be considered. 
 
 
VACCINE BILLING INFORMATION  
 
Billing Codes for the Administration Fee 
 
Providers must use Medicaid-specific billing codes when billing Medicaid for the 
administration fee for free vaccines under the Vaccines For Children (VFC) program.  
These codes identify the VFC vaccine provided and will assist VDH with its accountability 
plan which the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) requires.  The billing 
codes are provided in the Current Procedural Terminology (CPT-4) books. 
 
 
BILLING INSTRUCTIONS REFERENCE FOR SERVICES REQUIRING SERVICE 
AUTHORIZATION 
 
Please refer to the “Service Authorization” Appendix in the manual. 
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BASIS OF PAYMENT 
 
A request for payment must be made under the Medicaid eligibility number of the person 
receiving the services and whose Medicaid eligibility number appears on the billing 
invoice. 
 
Federal regulation 42 CFR 447.15 requires providers to accept Medicaid payment as 
payment in full for the service rendered.  The provider may not bill DMAS or the member 
for the difference (if any) between the allowed charge and the provider's actual charge. 
 
The provider must bill any other possibly liable third party prior to billing DMAS.  Provider 
must submit bill within 12 months from date of service. DMAS will pay the difference 
between the Program's allowable fee and any payment made by another third party if that 
payment is less than the allowable fee. 
 
Medicaid reimburses providers for the coinsurance and deductible amounts on Medicare 
claims for Medicaid members who are dually eligible for Medicare and Medicaid. 
However, the amount paid by Medicaid in combination with the Medicare payment will not 
exceed the amount Medicaid would pay for the services if it were billed solely to Medicaid.    
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BILLING FOR MEMBERS IN THE CLIENT MEDICAL MANAGEMENT PROGRAM 
TREATED ON REFERRAL FROM THE PRIMARY CARE PHYSICIAN 
 
Annual or routine vision examinations (under age 21) do not require referral from the 
primary care physician. For all non-routine vision care services, the provider who treats a 
member on referral from the primary care provider must place the primary care 
provider number (as indicated on the ID card) in Locator 17a of the claim form.  A copy 
of the Practitioner Referral Form (DMAS-70) must be attached to the invoice. As the billing 
instructions indicate. 
 
In a medical emergency situation, if the practitioner rendering treatment is not the primary 
care physician, he or she must certify that a medical emergency exists for payment to be 
made.  In this case, the provider must mark Locator 24I of the CMS-1500 (12-90) or 
locator 24C of CMS-1500 (08/05) claim form (used to indicate that the situation was an 
emergency, that is, truly life-threatening), enter "ATTACHMENT" in Locator 10d, and 
explain the nature of the circumstances on an attachment to the CMS-1500 claim form. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

INSTRUCTIONS FOR USE OF THE CMS-1500 (02-12), BILLING FORM  
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STARTING 04/01/2014 AND AFTER 
 
 
The Direct Data Entry (DDE) CMS-1500 claim form on the Virginia Medicaid Web Portal 
will be updated to accommodate the changes to locators 21 and 24E on 4/1/2014.  Please 
note that providers are encouraged to use DDE for submission of claims that cannot be 
submitted electronically to DMAS. Registration thru the Virginia Medicaid Web Portal is 
required to access and use DDE. The DDE User Guide, tutorial and FAQ’s can be 
accessed from our web portal at:  www.virginiamedicaid.dmas.virginia.gov. To access the 
DDE system, select the Provider Resources tab and then select Claims Direct Data Entry 
(DDE).   Providers have the ability to create a new initial claim, as well as an adjustment 
or a void through the DDE process. The status of the claim(s) submitted can be checked 
the next business day if claims were submitted by 5pm.  DDE is provided at no cost to 
the provider. Paper claim submissions should only be submitted when requested 
specifically by DMAS. 
 
To bill for services, the Health Insurance Claim Form, CMS-1500 (02-12), invoice form 
must be used for paper claims received on or after April 1, 2014.  The following 
instructions have numbered items corresponding to fields on the CMS-1500 (02-12).  The 
purpose of the CMS-1500 (02-12) is to provide a form for participating providers to request 
reimbursement for covered services rendered to Virginia Medicaid members.   
 
SPECIAL NOTE: The provider number in locator 24J must be the same in locator 33 
unless the Group/Billing Provider relationship has been established and approved by 
DMAS for use.  
 
Locator   Instructions                                   
1 REQUIRED Enter an "X" in the MEDICAID box for the Medicaid 

Program.  Enter an “X” in the OTHER box for 
Temporary Detention Order (TDO) or Emergency 
Detention Order (EDO).  
 

1a REQUIRED Insured's I.D. Number - Enter the 12-digit Virginia 
Medicaid Identification number for the member receiving 
the service. 
 

2 REQUIRED Patient's Name - Enter the name of the member 
receiving the service. 
 

3 NOT REQUIRED Patient's Birth Date 
4 NOT REQUIRED Insured's Name 
5 NOT REQUIRED Patient's Address 
6 NOT REQUIRED Patient Relationship to Insured 
7 NOT REQUIRED Insured's Address 
8 NOT REQUIRED Reserved for NUCC Use 
9 NOT REQUIRED Other Insured's Name 
9a NOT REQUIRED Other Insured's Policy or Group Number 
9b NOT REQUIRED Reserved for NUCC Use 
9c NOT REQUIRED Reserved for NUCC Use 
9d NOT REQUIRED Insurance Plan Name or Program Name 
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Locator   Instructions                                   
10 REQUIRED Is Patient's Condition Related To: - Enter an "X" in the 

appropriate box.   
a. Employment? 
b. Auto accident  
c. Other Accident? (This includes schools, stores, 
assaults, etc.)  NOTE: The state postal code should be 
entered if known.  

 
10d Conditional Claim Codes (Designated by NUCC) 

Enter “ATTACHMENT” if documents are attached to the 
claim form. 

11 NOT REQUIRED Insured's Policy Number or FECA Number 
11a NOT REQUIRED Insured's Date of Birth 
11b NOT REQUIRED Other Claim ID 

 
11c REQUIRED 

If applicable 
 

Insurance Plan or Program Name 
Providers that are billing for non-Medicaid MCO copays 
only- please insert “HMO Copay”.  
 
 

11d REQUIRED  
If applicable 

Is There Another Health Benefit Plan? 
Providers should only check Yes, if there is other third 
party coverage. 
  

12 NOT REQUIRED Patient's or Authorized Person's Signature 
13 NOT REQUIRED Insured's or Authorized Person's Signature 
14 REQUIRED  

If Applicable 
 

Date of Current Illness, Injury, or Pregnancy 
Enter date MM DD YY format 
Enter Qualifier 431 – Onset of Current Symptoms or 
Illness 

15 NOT REQUIRED Other Date 
16 NOT REQUIRED Dates Patient Unable to Work in Current Occupation 

 
17 REQUIRED 

If applicable 
 

Name of Referring Physician or Other Source – 
Enter the name of the referring physician. 

17a 
shade
d red  

REQUIRED 
If applicable 
 

I.D. Number of Referring Physician - The ‘1D’ qualifier 
is required when the Atypical Provider Identifier (API) is 
entered.  The qualifier ‘ZZ’ may be entered if the provider 
taxonomy code is needed to adjudicate the claim. 
Refer to the Medicaid Provider manual for special Billing 
Instructions for specific services. 
 

17b REQUIRED 
If applicable 
 

I.D. Number of Referring Physician - Enter the 
National Provider Identifier of the referring physician.   
 

18 NOT REQUIRED Hospitalization Dates Related to Current Services 
 

19 REQUIRED 
If applicable 
 

Additional Claim Information 
Enter the CLIA #. 



Provider Manual Title: Vision Services                Revision Date: TBD 
Chapter V: Billing Instructions                           Page: 16 
______________________________________________________________________________ 

 

   

Locator   Instructions                                   
20 NOT REQUIRED Outside Lab 

 
21 
A-L 

REQUIRED Diagnosis or Nature of Illness or Injury - Enter the 
appropriate ICD diagnosis code, which describes the 
nature of the illness or injury for which the service was 
rendered in locator 24E.  Note: Line ‘A’ field should be 
the Primary/Admitting diagnosis followed by the next 
highest level of specificity in lines B-L.  
Note:  ICD Ind. OPTIONAL    
9= ICD-9-CM – Dates of service through 09/30/2015 
0=ICD-10-CM – Dates of service 10/01/15 and after  
 

22 REQUIRED 
If applicable 
 

Resubmission Code – Original Reference Number.  
Required for adjustment and void.  See the instructions 
for Adjustment and Void Invoices. 
 

23 REQUIRED 
If applicable 
 

Prior Authorization (PA) Number – Enter the PA 
number for approved services that require a service 
authorization. 
 

 NOTE: The locators 24A thru 24J have been divided into open areas and a 
shaded line area.  The shaded area is ONLY for supplemental 
information.  DMAS has given instructions for the supplemental information 
that is required when needed for DMAS claims processing. ENTER 
REQUIRED INFORMATION ONLY. 
 

24A 
lines 
1-6  
open 
area 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

REQUIRED Dates of Service - Enter the from and thru dates in a 2-
digit format for the month, day and year (e.g., 01/01/14).  
DATES MUST BE WITHIN THE SAME MONTH  
 
 
 

24A 
lines 
1-6 
red 
shade
d 

REQUIRED 
If applicable 
 

DMAS requires the use of qualifier ‘TPL’.  This 
qualifier is to be used whenever an actual payment is 
made by a third party payer.  The ‘TPL’ qualifier is to be 
followed by the dollar/cents amount of the payment by 
the third party carriers. Example: Payment by other 
carrier is $27.08; red shaded area would be filled as 
TPL27.08.  No spaces between qualifier and dollars.  No 
$ symbol but the decimal between dollars and cents is 
required. 
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Locator   Instructions                                   
DMAS requires the use of the qualifier ‘N4’.  This 
qualifier is to be used for the National Drug Code (NDC) 
whenever a HCPCS drug related code is submitted in 
24D to DMAS.  No spaces between the qualifier and the 
NDC number.   
NOTE: DMAS is requiring the use of the Unit of 
Measurement Qualifiers following the NDC number 
for claims received on and after May 26, 2014.  The 
unit of measurement qualifier code is followed by 
the metric decimal quantity 
Unit of Measurement Qualifier Codes: 
F2 – International Units 
GR – Gram 
ML – Milliliter 
UN – Unit 
Examples of NDC quantities for various dosage 
forms as follows: 
a. Tablets/Capsules – bill per UN 
b. Oral Liquids – bill per ML 
c. Reconstituted (or liquids) injections – bill per ML 
d. Non-reconstituted injections (I.E. vial of Rocephin 
powder) – bill as UN (1 vial = 1 unit) 
e. Creams, ointments, topical powders – bill per GR 
f. Inhalers – bill per GR 
 
BILLING EXAMPLES: 
 
TPL, NDC and UOM submitted: 
 
TPL3.50N412345678901ML1.0 
 
NDC, UOM and TPL submitted: 
 
N412345678901ML1.0TPL3.50 
 
 
 
NDC and UOM submitted only: 
 
N412345678901ML1.0 
 
 
TPL submitted  only: 
 
TPL3.50 
 
Note: Enter only TPL, NDC and UOM information in 
the supplemental shaded area. (see billing 
examples) 
All supplemental information is to be left justified. 
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Locator   Instructions                                   
  

SPECIAL NOTE: DMAS will set the coordination of benefit code based on 
information supplied as followed:   

• If there is nothing indicated or ‘NO’ is checked in locator 11d, DMAS 
will set that the patient had no other third party carrier.   This relates 
to the old coordination of benefit code 2. 

• If locator 11d is checked ‘YES’ and there is nothing in the locator 24a 
red shaded line; DMAS will set that the third party carrier was billed 
and made no payment.  This relates to the old coordination of benefit 
code 5. An EOB/documentation must be attached to the claim to 
verify non payment. 

• If locator 11d is checked ‘YES’ and there is the qualifier ‘TPL’ with 
payment amount (TPL15.50), DMAS will set that the third party 
carrier was billed and payment made of $15.50.  This relates to the 
old coordination of benefit code 3. 

 
24B 
open 
area 

REQUIRED Place of Service - Enter the 2-digit CMS code, which 
describes where the services were rendered.   
 
 

24C 
open 
area 

REQUIRED 
If applicable 

Emergency Indicator - Enter either ‘Y’ for YES or leave 
blank.  DMAS will not accept any other indicators for 
this locator.  
 

24D 
open  
area 

REQUIRED Procedures, Services or Supplies – CPT/HCPCS –  
ter HCPCS Code, which des Enter the CPT/HCPCS code that describes the 

procedure rendered or the service provided. 
                                                  Modifier - Enter the appropriate CPT/HCPCS 

modifiers if applicable.   
 
 

24E 
open 
area 

REQUIRED Diagnosis Code - Enter the diagnosis code reference 
letter A-L (pointer) as shown in Locator 21 to relate the 
date of service and the procedure performed to the 
primary diagnosis.  The primary diagnosis code 
reference letter for each service should be listed first.  
NOTE:  A maximum of 4 diagnosis code reference 
letter pointers should be entered.  Claims with values 
other than A-L in Locator 24-E or blank may be denied.   
 

24F 
open 
area 

REQUIRED Charges - Enter your total usual and customary charges 
for the procedure/services.  
  
 

24G 
open 
area 

REQUIRED Days or Unit - Enter the number of times the procedure, 
service, or item was provided during the service period.  
 

24H 
open 
area 

REQUIRED 
If applicable 

EPSDT or Family Planning - Enter the appropriate 
indicator.  Required only for EPSDT or family planning 
services. 
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Locator   Instructions                                   
  1 - Early and Periodic, Screening, Diagnosis and 

Treatment Program Services 
2 - Family Planning Service 
 
 

24I 
open 

REQUIRED 
If applicable 

NPI – This is to identify that it is a NPI that is in locator 
24J  
 
 

24 I  
red-
shade
d 

REQUIRED 
If applicable 

ID QUALIFIER –The qualifier ‘ZZ’ can be entered to 
identify the provider taxonomy code if the NPI is entered 
in locator 24J open line.  The qualifier ‘1D’ is required for 
the API entered in locator 24J red shaded line. 
 

24J 
open 

REQUIRED 
If applicable 

Rendering provider ID# - Enter the 10 digit NPI number 
for the provider that performed/rendered the care. 
 

24J 
red-
shade
d 

REQUIRED 
If applicable 

Rendering provider ID# - The qualifier ‘1D’ is required 
for the API entered in this locator. The qualifier ‘ZZ’ can 
be entered to identify the provider taxonomy code if the 
NPI is entered in locator 24J open line. 
 

25 NOT REQUIRED Federal Tax I.D. Number 
 

26 REQUIRED Patient's Account Number – Up to FOURTEEN alpha-
numeric characters are acceptable. 
 

27 NOT REQUIRED Accept Assignment 
 

28 REQUIRED Total Charge - Enter the total charges for the services 
in 24F lines 1-6 
 

29 REQUIRED 
If applicable 

Amount Paid – For personal care and waiver 
services only – enter the patient pay amount that is due 
from the patient.  NOTE: The patient pay amount is 
taken from services billed on 24A - line 1.  If multiple 
services are provided on same date of service, then 
another form must be completed since only one line can 
be submitted if patient pay is to be considered in the 
processing of this service.  
 

30 NOT REQUIRED Rsvd for NUCC Use 
 

31 REQUIRED Signature of Physician or Supplier Including 
Degrees or Credentials - The provider or agent must 
sign and date the invoice in this block. 
 

32 REQUIRED  
If applicable 

Service Facility Location Information – Enter the 
name as first line, address as second line, city, state 
and 9 digit zip code as third line for the location where 
the services were rendered.  NOTE: For physician with 
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Locator   Instructions                                   
multiple office locations, the specific Zip code must 
reflect the office location where services given.  Do 
NOT use commas, periods or other punctuations in the 
address.  Enter space between city and state.  Include 
the hyphen for the 9 digit zip code. 
 

32a 
open 

REQUIRED  
If applicable 
 

NPI # - Enter the 10 digit NPI number of the service 
location.  
 

32b 
red 
shade
d 

REQUIRED  
If applicable 

Other ID#: - The qualifier ‘1D’ is required for the API 
entered in this locator. The qualifier of ‘ZZ’ can be 
entered to identify the provider taxonomy code if the NPI 
is entered in locator 32a open line. 
 

33 REQUIRED Billing Provider Info and PH # - Enter the billing name 
as first line, address as second line, city, state and 9-
digit zip code as third line.  This locator is to identify the 
provider that is requesting to be paid.  
NOTE: Do NOT use commas, periods or other 
punctuations in the address.  Enter space between city 
and state.  Include the hyphen for the 9 digit zip code.  
The phone number is to be entered in the area to the 
right of the field title. Do not use hyphen or space as 
separator within the telephone number.  
 

33a 
open 

REQUIRED NPI – Enter the 10 digit NPI number of the billing 
provider. 
 

 
33b 
red 
shade
d 

REQUIRED  
If applicable 

Other Billing ID - The qualifier ‘1D’ is required for the 
API entered in this locator. The qualifier ‘ZZ’ can be 
entered to identify the provider taxonomy code if the NPI 
is entered in locator 33a open line. 
NOTE: DO NOT use commas, periods, space, hyphens 
or other punctuations between the qualifier and the 
number. 
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Instructions for the Completion of the Health Insurance Claim Form, 
CMS-1500 (02-12), as an Adjustment Invoice 

The Adjustment Invoice is used to change information on an approved claim.  
Follow the instructions for the completion of the Health Insurance Claim 
Form, CMS-1500 (02-12), except for the locator indicated below. 
 
Locator 
22 

Medicaid Resubmission 

Code - Enter the 4-digit code identifying the reason for the submission 
of the adjustment invoice. 

1023 Primary Carrier has made additional payment 
1024 Primary Carrier has denied payment 
1025 Accommodation charge correction 
1026 Patient payment amount changed 
1027 Correcting service periods 
1028 Correcting procedure/service code 
1029 Correcting diagnosis code 
1030 Correcting charges 
1031 Correcting units/visits/studies/procedures 
1032 IC reconsideration of allowance, documented 
1033 Correcting admitting, referring, prescribing, provider 

identification number 
1053 Adjustment reason is in the Misc. Category 
  
Original Reference Number/ICN - Enter the claim reference 
number/ICN of the paid claim.  This number may be obtained from 
the remittance voucher and is required to identify the claim to be 
adjusted.  Only one claim can be adjusted on each CMS-1500 (08-
05) submitted as an Adjustment Invoice.  (Each line under Locator 24 
is one claim) 

 
NOTE:  ICNs can only be adjusted through the Virginia MMIS up to three years from the 

date the claim was paid.  After three years, ICNs are purged from the Virginia MMIS 

and can no longer be adjusted through the Virginia MMIS.  If an ICN is purged from the 

Virginia MMIS, the provider must send a refund check made payable to DMAS and 

include the following information:  

• A cover letter on the provider’s letterhead which includes the current 

address, contact name and phone number. 

• An explanation about the refund. 

• A copy of the remittance page(s) as it relates to the refund check amount. 

 

Mail all information to:  

       Department of Medical Assistance Services 

      Attn:  Fiscal & Procurement Division, Cashier 



Provider Manual Title: Vision Services                Revision Date: TBD 
Chapter V: Billing Instructions                           Page: 22 
______________________________________________________________________________ 

 

   

                                          600 East Broad St. Suite 1300 

                                          Richmond, VA 23219  

 
 
 

Instructions for the Completion of the Health Insurance Claim Form 
CMS-1500 (02-12), as a Void Invoice 

The Void Invoice is used to void a paid claim.  Follow the instructions for the 
completion of the Health Insurance Claim Form, CMS-1500 (02-12), except for 
the locator indicated below. 
 
Locator 22 Medicaid Resubmission 

Code - Enter the 4-digit code identifying the reason for the submission 
of the void invoice. 

1042 Original claim has multiple incorrect items 
1044 Wrong provider identification number 
1045 Wrong enrollee eligibility number 
1046 Primary carrier has paid DMAS maximum allowance 
1047 Duplicate payment was made 
1048 Primary carrier has paid full charge 
1051 Enrollee not my patient 
1052 Miscellaneous 
1060 Other insurance is available 

 
Original Reference Number/ICN - Enter the claim reference 
number/ICN of the paid claim.  This number may be obtained from 
the remittance voucher and is required to identify the claim to be 
voided.  Only one claim can be voided on each CMS-1500 (08-05) 
submitted as a Void Invoice.  (Each line under Locator 24 is one 
claim). 

 
 
NOTE:  ICNs can only be voided through the Virginia MMIS up to three years from the 

date the claim was paid.  After three years, ICNs are purged from the Virginia MMIS 

and can no longer be voided through the Virginia MMIS.  If an ICN is purged from the 

Virginia MMIS, the provider must send a refund check made payable to DMAS and 

include the following information:  

• A cover letter on the provider’s letterhead which includes the current 

address, contact name and phone number. 

• An explanation about the refund. 

• A copy of the remittance page(s) as it relates to the refund check amount. 

 

Mail all information to:  
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      Department of Medical Assistance Services 

      Attn:  Fiscal & Procurement Division, Cashier 

                                          600 East Broad St. Suite 1300 

                                          Richmond, VA 23219  
 
 
 
Negative Balance Information 
 
Negative balances occur when one or more of the following situations have occurred: 
 

• Provider submitted adjustment/void request 
• DMAS completed adjustment/void 
• Audits 
• Cost settlements 
• Repayment of advance payments made to the provider by DMAS 

 
In the remittance process the amount of the negative balance may be either off set by the 
total of the approved claims for payment leaving a reduced payment amount or may result 
in a negative balance to be carried forward. The remittance will show the amount as, “less 
the negative balance” and it may also show “the negative balance to be carried forward”. 
 
The negative balance will appear on subsequent remittances until it is satisfied. An 
example is if the claims processed during the week resulted in approved allowances of 
$1000.00 and the provider has a negative balance of $2000.00 a check will not be issued, 
and the remaining $1000.00 outstanding to DMAS will carry forward to the next 
remittance. 
 
Telemedicine Billing Information 

The following DMAS covered Current Procedural Terminology (CPT) codes are 
recognized by DMAS for telemedicine. The services are rendered by providers at the 
“hub” site to the Medicaid member located at the distant or “spoke” site: 

• CPT 99241-99255, consultations; 

• CPT 99201-99215, office visits; 

• CPT 90804-90809, individual psychotherapy; 

• CPT 90801, psychiatric diagnostic interview examination 

• CPT 90862, pharmacologic management; 

• CPT 57452, 57454, 57460, colostomy; 

• CPT 76805, 76810, obstetric ultrasound; 

• CPT 76825, echocardiography, fetal: 

• CPT 93010, cardiography interpretation and report only; and 

• CPT 93307, 93308, 93320, 93321, 93325, echocardiography. 
 
The CMS 1500 is to be used to bill for covered telemedicine services, with the appropriate 
billing code entered in block 24D and “GT” entered as the modifier. The distant or “spoke” 
site provider is where the DMAS member is located for the telemedicine encounter. The 
member must be present for the encounter as well as the provider.  HCPCS code Q3014 
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is to be billed for the spoke site service unless the hub provider determines a higher-level 
service must be documented in the member’s medical record. Again, “GT” is to be entered 
as the modifier when billing. For DMAS covered physician services, a Registered Nurse 
under the supervision of a physician may attend the telemedicine encounter and assist 
the member. This service is billed using code Q3014. After reviewing the documentation 
for the encounter, the physician must sign and date the documentation and billing. 

SPECIAL BILLING INSTRUCTIONS CLIENT MEDICAL MANAGEMENT PROGRAM 
 
The primary care provider (PCP) and any other provider who is part of the PCP’S CMM 
Affiliation Group bills for services in the usual manner, but other physicians must follow 
special billing instructions to receive payment.  (Affiliation Groups are explained in 
Chapter 1 under CMM.)  Other physicians must indicate a PCP referral or an emergency 
unless the service is excluded from the requirement for a referral.  Excluded services are 
listed in Chapter I. 
 
All services should be coordinated with the primary health care provider whose name is 
provided at the time of verification of eligibility.  The CMM PCP referral does not override 
Medicaid service limitations.  All DMAS requirements for reimbursement, such as pre-
authorization, still apply as indicated in each provider manual. 
 
When treating a restricted enrollee, a physician covering for the primary care provider or 
on referral from the primary care provider must place the primary care provider’s NPI in 
locator 17b or the API in Locator 17a with the qualifier ‘1D’and attach a copy of the 
Practitioner Referral Form (DMAS-70) to the invoice. The name of the referring PCP must 
be entered in locator 17. 
 
In a medical emergency situation, if the practitioner rendering treatment is not the primary 
care physician, he or she must certify that a medical emergency exists for payment to be 
made.  The provider must enter a “Y” in Locator 24C and attach an explanation of the 
nature of the emergency. 
 

LOCATOR SPECIAL INSTRUCTIONS 
10d Write “ATTACHMENT” for the Practitioner Referral Form, DMAS-70. 

 
17 Enter the name of the referring primary care provider. 

 
17a 
red 
shaded 

When a restricted enrollee is treated on referral from the primary 
physician, enter the qualifier ‘1D’ and the appropriate provider 
number (current Medicaid or an API) (as indicated on the DMAS-70 
referral form) and attach a copy of the Practitioner Referral Form to 
the invoice.  Write “ATTACHMENT” in Locator 10d. 
Note:  Please refer to the time line for the appropriate provider 
number as indicated in main instruction above. 
 

17b 
open 

When a restricted enrollee is treated on referral from the primary 
physician, enter the NPI number (as indicated on the DMAS-70 
referral form) and attach a copy of the Practitioner Referral Form to 
the invoice.  Write “ATTACHMENT” in Locator 10d. 
Note:  This locator can only be used for claims received on or after 
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Late- February 2007. 
 

24C When a restricted enrollee is treated in an emergency situation by a 
provider other than the primary physician, the non-designated 
physician enters a “Y” in this Locator and explains the nature of the 
emergency in an attachment.  Write “ATTACHMENT” in Locator 10d. 

 
 
EDI BILLING (ELECTRONIC CLAIMS) 
 
Please refer to X-12 Standard Transactions & our Companion Guides that are listed in 
the chapter. 
 
 
SPECIAL BILLING INSTRUCTIONS – HEALTH DEPARTMENTS (DRUGS, FAMILY 
PLANNING AND NUTRITIONAL SUPPLEMENTS) 

Tuberculosis Oral Drugs 

Health Department clinics should bill for all drugs using the unlisted HCPCS code J8499.  
Modifier U2 must be used in Block 24-D of the CMS-1500 (08-05) claim form.  Clinics bill 
Medicaid with their actual cost for the drugs.  If no modifier is billed, the claim may be 
denied. The qualifier ‘N4’ should be in locator 24 red shaded line followed by the NDC of 
the J code listed in 24D. 

Family Planning Drugs and Devices 

Birth control pills must be billed using code J8499 along with modifiers FP and U2 in Block 
24-D of the CMS-1500 (08-05) claim form.  The qualifier ‘N4’ should be in locator 24 red 
shaded line followed by the NDC of the J code listed in 24D.  
 
Family planning supplies (such as condoms, Intrauterine Devices, etc) should be billed 
using unlisted supply code 99070 with the FP and U2 modifiers.  Actual costs for the 
drugs and supplies should be reflected in the charges.  Claims submitted without the 
modifiers may be denied.  

Nutritional Supplements 

Nutritional Supplements should be billed using the national HCPCS codes for Enteral and 
Parenteral Therapy (B4000-B9999) with the U2 modifier in Block 24-D of the CMS-1500 
(08-05) claim form.  Actual cost for the supplements should be billed.  If no modifier is 
billed, the claim may be denied.  
 
 
 

PLACE OF SERVICE CODES 
CMS - 1500 CODE 

00-10 Unassigned 
11 Office location 
12  Patient's home 
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13-20 Unassigned 
21 Inpatient hospital 
22 Outpatient hospital 
23 Emergency room 
24 Ambulatory surgical center 
25 Birthing center 
26 Military treatment center 
27-30 Unassigned 
31 Skilled nursing facility 
32 Nursing facility 
33 Custodial care facility 
34 Hospice 
35-40 Unassigned 
41 Ambulance - land 
42 Ambulance - air or water 
43-50 Unassigned 
51 Inpatient psychiatric facility 
52 Psychiatric facility - partial hospitalization 
53 Community mental health center 
54 Intermediate care facility/mentally retarded 
55 Residential substance abuse treatment facility 
56 Psychiatric residential treatment center 
57-60 Unassigned 
61 Comprehensive inpatient rehabilitation facility 
62 Comprehensive outpatient rehabilitation facility 
63-64 Unassigned 
65 End stage renal disease treatment facility 
66-70 Unassigned 
71 State or local public health clinic 
72 Rural health clinic 
73-80 Unassigned 
81 Independent laboratory 
82-98 Unassigned 
99 Other unlisted facility 
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PROCEDURE MODIFIERS 

HCPCS/CPT  

TC Technical Component 

22 Unusual services 

26 Professional component 

50 Bilateral procedure 

51 Multiple procedures 

52 Reduced services 

75 Concurrent care 

80 Assistant surgeon 

81 Minimum assistant surgeon 

82 Assistant surgeon 
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SPECIAL BILLING INSTRUCTIONS 
 

VISION MANUAL 
 

 
 
Locator 21 Diagnosis or Nature of Illness or Injury - Enter the diagnosis code  

Z01.00, Z01.01for routine eye exams and for eyeglasses; 
otherwise, enter the appropriate ICD-CM diagnostic code. 

  
Locator 24D Procedures, Services, or Supplies - Enter the applicable code.  

See Appendix B for the codes for routine eye exams and for 
eyeglasses; otherwise, use the appropriate HCPCS code. 

  
Locator 24G Days or Units - For eyeglasses, one lens is considered one unit; 

two lenses, two units.  Eyeglass frames are considered one unit. 
 
When a Medicare vision care provider bills Medicare for a medical procedure and an eye 
refraction is part of the service, the refraction is not covered by Medicare.  Medicare 
denies it as a non-covered service.  To bill Medicaid for the refraction, use CPT procedure 
code 92015 (determination of refractive state) on the CMS-1500 form.   
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INSTRUCTIONS FOR BILLING MEDICARE CROSSOVER PART B SERVICES 
 
The Virginia Medical Assistance Program implemented the consolidation process 
for Virginia Medicare crossover process, referred to as the Coordination of Benefits 
Agreement (COBA) in January 23, 2006.  This process resulted in the transferring 
the claims crossover functions from individual Medicare contractors to one national 
claims crossover contractor.  
 
The COBA process is only using the 837 electronic claims format.    Refer to the 
applicable 837 Implementation Guide and the Virginia Medicaid 837 Companion 
Guide 
(https://www.virginiamedicaid.dmas.virginia.gov/wps/portal/EDICompanionGuides) 
for more information. 
 
Beginning March 1, 2006, Virginia Medicaid began accepting secondary claims to 
Medicaid when Medicare is primary from providers and not just thru the COBA 
process.  If you receive notification that your Medicare claims did not cross to Virginia 
Medicaid or the crossover claim has not shown on your Medicaid remittance advice 
after 30 days, you should submit your claim directly to Medicaid.  These claims can 
be resubmitted directly to DMAS either electronically, via Direct Data Entry or by 
using the CMS 1500 (02-12) paper claim form. Refer to the applicable 837 
Implementation Guide and the Virginia Medicaid 837 Companion Guide 
(https://www.virginiamedicaid.dmas.virginia.gov/wps/portal/EDICompanionGuides) 
for more information. 
 
An electronic claim can be sent to Virginia Medicaid if you need to resubmit a 
crossover claim that originally denied, such as for other coverage, or if you need to 
adjust or void a paid crossover claim, such as to include patient liability. 
 
NOTE:  Medicaid eligibility is reaffirmed each month for most members.  Therefore, 
bills must be for services provided during each calendar month, e.g., 01/01/06 – 
01/31/06. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETING THE PAPER CMS-1500 (02-12) FORM 
 FOR MEDICARE AND MEDICARE ADVANTAGE PLAN  

DEDUCTIBLE, COINSURANCE AND COPAY PAYMENTS FOR  
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PROFESSIONAL SERVICES (Effective 11/2/2014) 
 

 

The Direct Data Entry (DDE) Crossover Part B claim form is on the Virginia Medicaid 
Webportal.  Please note that providers are encouraged to use DDE for submission 
of claims that cannot be submitted electronically to DMAS. Registration thru the 
Virginia Medicaid Web Portal is required to access and use DDE. The DDE User 
Guide, tutorial and FAQ’s can be accessed from our web portal at: 
www.virginiamedicaid.dmas.virginia.gov. To access the DDE system, select the 
Provider Resources tab and then select Claims Direct Data Entry (DDE).  Providers 
have the ability to create a new initial claim, as well as an adjustment or a void 
through the DDE process. The status of the claim(s) submitted can be checked the 
next business day if claims were submitted by 5pm.  DDE is provided at no cost to 
the provider.  Paper claim submissions should only be submitted when requested 
specifically by DMAS. 
 

 

Purpose: A method of billing Medicare’s deductible, coinsurance and copay for 
professional services received by a Medicaid member in the Virginia 
Medicaid program on the CMS 1500 (02-12) paper claim form.  The 
CMS-1500 (02-12) claim form must be used to bill for services 
received by a Medicaid member in the Virginia Medicaid program.  
The following instructions have numbered items corresponding to 
fields on the CMS-1500 (02-12) 

 

NOTE: Note changes in locator 11c and 24A lines 1-6 red shaded area.  
These changes are specific to Medicare Part B billing only.  

 
Locator   Instructions                                   
1 REQUIRED Enter an "X" in the MEDICAID box for the Medicaid 

Program.  Enter an “X” in the OTHER box for 
Temporary Detention Order (TDO) or Emergency 
Custody Order (ECO).  
 

1a REQUIRED Insured's I.D. Number - Enter the 12-digit Virginia 
Medicaid Identification number for the member receiving 
the service. 
 

2 REQUIRED Patient's Name - Enter the name of the member 
receiving the service. 
 

3 NOT REQUIRED Patient's Birth Date 
4 NOT REQUIRED Insured's Name 
5 NOT REQUIRED Patient's Address 
6 NOT REQUIRED Patient Relationship to Insured 
7 NOT REQUIRED Insured's Address 
8 NOT REQUIRED Reserved for NUCC Use 
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Locator   Instructions                                   
9 NOT REQUIRED Other Insured's Name 
9a NOT REQUIRED Other Insured's Policy or Group Number 
9b NOT REQUIRED Reserved for NUCC Use 
9c NOT REQUIRED Reserved for NUCC Use 
9d NOT REQUIRED Insurance Plan Name or Program Name 

 
10 REQUIRED Is Patient's Condition Related To: - Enter an "X" in the 

appropriate box.   
a. Employment? 
b. Auto accident  
c. Other Accident? (This includes schools, stores, 
assaults, etc.)  NOTE: The state should be entered if 
known.  

 
10d Conditional Claim Codes (Designated by NUCC) 

Enter “ATTACHMENT” if documents are attached to the 
claim form. Medicare/Medicare Advantage Plan EOB 
should be attached. 

11 NOT REQUIRED Insured's Policy Number or FECA Number 
11a NOT REQUIRED Insured's Date of Birth 
11b NOT REQUIRED Other Claim ID 

 
11c REQUIRED 

 
Insurance Plan or Program Name 
Enter the word ‘CROSSOVER’ 
IMPORTANT:  DO NOT enter ‘HMO COPAY’ when 
billing for Medicare/Medicare Advantage Plan copays! 
Only enter the word ‘CROSSOVER’  
 
 

11d REQUIRED  
If applicable 

Is There Another Health Benefit Plan? 
If Medicare/Medicare Advantage Plan and Medicaid 
only, check “NO”. Only check “Yes”, if there is additional 
insurance coverage other than Medicare/Medicare 
Advantage Plan and Medicaid. 

 
12 NOT REQUIRED Patient's or Authorized Person's Signature 
13 NOT REQUIRED Insured's or Authorized Person's Signature 
14 NOT REQUIRED  

 
Date of Current Illness, Injury, or Pregnancy 
Enter date MM DD YY format 
Enter Qualifier 431 – Onset of Current Symptoms or 
Illness 

15 NOT REQUIRED Other Date 
16 NOT REQUIRED Dates Patient Unable to Work in Current Occupation 
17 NOT REQUIRED 

 
Name of Referring Physician or Other Source – Enter 
the name of the referring physician. 

17a 
shade
d red  

NOT REQUIRED 
 

I.D. Number of Referring Physician - The ‘1D’ qualifier is 
required when the Atypical Provider Identifier (API) is 
entered.  The qualifier ‘ZZ’ may be entered if the provider 
taxonomy code is needed to adjudicate the claim. 
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Locator   Instructions                                   
Refer to the Medicaid Provider manual for special Billing 
Instructions for specific services. 

17b NOT REQUIRED 
 

I.D. Number of Referring Physician - Enter the National 
Provider Identifier of the referring physician.   

18 NOT REQUIRED Hospitalization Dates Related to Current Services 
19 NOT REQUIRED 

 
Additional Claim Information 
Enter the CLIA #. 

20 NOT REQUIRED Outside Lab? 
 

21 
A-L 

REQUIRED Diagnosis or Nature of Illness or Injury - Enter the 
appropriate ICD diagnosis code, which describes the 
nature of the illness or injury for which the service was 
rendered in locator 24E.  Note: Line ‘A’ field should be 
the Primary/Admitting diagnosis followed by the next 
highest level of specificity in lines B-L.  
Note:  ICD Ind. OPTIONAL 
9= ICD-9-CM – Dates of service through 9/30/15 
  0=ICD-10-CM – Dates of service 10//1/15 and after 
 
 

22 REQUIRED 
If applicable 
 

Resubmission Code – Original Reference Number.  
Required for adjustment or void.   
Enter one of the following resubmission codes for an 
adjustment:  
 
1023     Primary Carrier has made additional payment 
1024     Primary Carrier has denied payment 
1026     Patient payment amount changed 
1027     Correcting service periods 
1028     Correcting procedure/service code 
1029     Correcting diagnosis code 
1030     Correcting charges 
1031     Correcting units/visits/studies/procedures 
1032     IC reconsideration of allowance, documented 
1033  Correcting admitting, referring, prescribing 
provider identification number 
1053     Adjustment reason is in the miscellaneous 
category 
 
Enter one of the following resubmission codes for a 
void:  
 
1042     Original claim has multiple incorrect items 
1044     Wrong provider identification number 
1045     Wrong member eligibility number 
1046   Primary carrier has paid DMAS’ maximum 
allowance 
1047     Duplicate payment was made 
1048     Primary carrier has paid full charge 
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Locator   Instructions                                   
1051     Member is not my patient 
1052     Void reason is in the miscellaneous category  
1060     Other insurance is available 
 
Original Reference Number - Enter the claim 
reference number/ICN of the Virginia Medicaid paid 
claim. This number may be obtained from the 
remittance voucher and is required to identify the 
claim to be adjusted or voided. Only one paid claim 
can be adjusted or voided on each CMS-1500 (02-12) 
claim form. (Each line under Locator 24 is one 
claim). 
 
 
NOTE:  ICNs can only be adjusted or voided through 

the Virginia MMIS up to three years from the date the 

claim was paid.  After three years, ICNs are purged 

from the Virginia MMIS and can no longer be adjusted 

or voided through the Virginia MMIS.  If an ICN is 

purged from the Virginia MMIS, the provider must send 

a refund check made payable to DMAS and include the 

following information:  

• A cover letter on the provider’s letterhead 

which includes the current address, 

contact name and phone number. 

• An explanation about the refund. 

• A copy of the remittance page(s) as it 

relates to the refund check amount. 

• Mail all information to:  

Department of Medical Assistance Services 

       Attn:  Fiscal & Procurement 

       Division, Cashier 

                                          600 East Broad St. Suite 

1300 

                                          Richmond, VA 23219  

 
23 REQUIRED 

If applicable 
 
 

Prior Authorization (PA) Number – Enter the PA 
number for approved services that require a service 
authorization. 
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Locator   Instructions                                   
 NOTE: The locators 24A thru 24J have been divided into open and shaded 

line areas.  The shaded area is ONLY for supplemental information.  
DMAS has given instructions for the supplemental information that is 
required when needed for DMAS claims processing. ENTER REQUIRED 
INFORMATION ONLY. 
 

24A 
lines 
1-6  
open 
area 
 

REQUIRED Dates of Service - Enter the from and thru dates in a 2-
digit format for the month, day and year (e.g., 01 01 14).   
 
 

24A-H 
lines 
1-6 
red 
shade
d  

REQUIRED 
If applicable 
 

NEW INFORMATION!  DMAS is requiring the use of 
the following qualifiers in the red shaded for Part B 
billing: 
A1 =    Deductible  (Example: A120.00) = $20.00 ded   
A2 =   Coinsurance (Example: A240.00) = $40.00 
coins 
A7=    Copay (Example: A735.00) = $35.00 copay 
AB=   Allowed by Medicare/Medicare Advantage 
Plan (Example AB145.10) = $145.10 Allowed Amount    
MA= Amount Paid by Medicare/Medicare Advantage   
Plan  (Example MA27.08) see details below 
CM= Other insurance payment (not 
Medicare/Medicare Advantage Plan) if applicable 
(Example CM27.08) see details below 
N4 =   National Drug Code (NDC)+Unit of 
Measurement  
 
‘MA’:  This qualifier is to be used to show 
Medicare/Medicare Advantage Plan’s payment.  The 
‘MA’ qualifier is to be followed by the dollar/cents amount 
of the payment by Medicare/Medicare Advantage Plan 
Example: 
 Payment by Medicare/Medicare Advantage Plan is 
$27.08; enter MA27.08 in the red shaded area 
 
‘CM’:  This qualifier is to be used to show the amount 
paid by the insurance carrier other than 
Medicare/Medicare Advantage plan.  The ‘CM’ 
qualifier is to be followed by the dollar/cents amount of 
the payment by the other insurance. 
Example: 
 Payment by the other insurance plan is $27.08; enter 
CM27.08 in the red shaded area 
 
NOTE: No spaces are allowed between the qualifier and 
dollars.  No $ symbol is allowed. The decimal between 
dollars and cents is required. 
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Locator   Instructions                                   
 
DMAS is requiring the use of the qualifier ‘N4’.  This 
qualifier is to be used for the National Drug Code (NDC) 
whenever a drug related HCPCS code is submitted in 
24D to DMAS.  The Unit of Measurement Qualifiers must 
follow the NDC number.  The unit of measurement 
qualifier code is followed by the metric decimal quantity 
or unit. Do not enter a space between the unit of 
measurement qualifier and NDC.  
Example: N400026064871UN1.0  
Any spaces unused for the quantity should be left 
blank. 
Unit of Measurement Qualifier Codes: 
F2 – International Units 
GR – Gram 
ML – Milliliter 
UN – Unit 
 
 
Examples of NDC quantities for various dosage 
forms as follows: 
a. Tablets/Capsules – bill per UN 
b. Oral Liquids – bill per ML 
c. Reconstituted (or liquids) injections – bill per ML 
d. Non-reconstituted injections (I.E. vial of Rocephin 
powder) – bill as UN (1 vial = 1 unit) 
e. Creams, ointments, topical powders – bill per GR 
f. Inhalers – bill per GR 
 
Note: All supplemental information entered in 
locator 24A thru 24H is to be left justified. 
 
 
Examples: 

1. Deductible is $10.00, Medicare/Medicare 
Advantage Plan Allowed Amt is $20.00, 
Medicare/Medicare Advantage Plan Paid Amt 
is $16.00, Coinsurance is $4.00.  

• Enter:A110.00 AB20.00 MA16.00 A24.00 
 

2. Copay is $35.00, Medicare/Medicare 
Advantage Plan Paid Amt is $0.00 
Medicare/Medicare Advantage Plan Allowed 
Amt is $100.00 

• Enter: A735.00 MA0.00 AB100.00 
 

3. Medicare/Medicare Advantage Plan Paid Amt 
is $10.00, Other Insurance payment is $10.00, 
Medicare/Medicare Advantage Plan Allowed 
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Locator   Instructions                                   
Amt is $10.00, Coinsurance is $5.00, NDC is 
12345678911, Unit of measure is 2 grams 

• Enter: 
MA10.00 CM10.00 AB10.00 A25.00 
N412345678911GR2 
 
**Allow a space in between each qualifier set** 
 

  
24B 
open 
area 

REQUIRED Place of Service - Enter the 2-digit CMS code, which 
describes where the services were rendered.   
 
 

24C 
open 
area 

REQUIRED 
If applicable 

Emergency Indicator - Enter either ‘Y’ for YES or leave 
blank.  DMAS will not accept any other indicators for 
this locator.  
 

24D 
open  
area 
 
 

REQUIRED Procedures, Services or Supplies – CPT/HCPCS –  
ter HCPCS Code, which des Enter the CPT/HCPCS code that describes the 

procedure rendered or the service provided. 
                                                  Modifier - Enter the appropriate CPT/HCPCS 

modifiers if applicable.   
 
 
 
24E 
open 
area 

REQUIRED Diagnosis Code - Enter the diagnosis code reference 
letter A-L (pointer) as shown in Locator 21 to relate the 
date of service and the procedure performed to the 
primary diagnosis.  The primary diagnosis code 
reference letter for each service should be listed first.  
NOTE:  A maximum of 4 diagnosis code reference 
letter pointers should be entered.  Claims with values 
other than A-L in Locator 24-E or blank will be denied.   
 

24F 
open 
area 

REQUIRED Charges - Enter the Medicare/Medicare Advantage Plan 
billed amount for the procedure/services. NOTE: Enter 
the Medicare/Medicare Advantage Plan Copay 
amount as the charged amount when billing for the 
Medicare/Medicare Advantage Plan Copay ONLY. 
. 
  
 

24G 
open 
area 

REQUIRED Days or Unit - Enter the number of times the procedure, 
service, or item was provided during the service period.  
 

24H 
open 
area 

REQUIRED 
If applicable 

EPSDT or Family Planning - Enter the appropriate 
indicator.  Required only for EPSDT or family planning 
services. 
1 - Early and Periodic, Screening, Diagnosis and   
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Locator   Instructions                                   
Treatment Program Services 

2 - Family Planning Service 
 
 

24I 
open 

REQUIRED 
If applicable 

NPI – This is to identify that it is a NPI that is in locator 
24J  
 
 

24 I  
red-
shade
d 

REQUIRED 
If applicable 

ID QUALIFIER –The qualifier ‘ZZ’ can be entered to 
identify the provider taxonomy code if the NPI is entered 
in locator 24J open line.  The qualifier ‘1D’ is required for 
the API entered in locator 24J red shaded line. 
 

24J 
open 

REQUIRED 
If applicable 

Rendering provider ID# - Enter the 10 digit NPI number 
for the provider that performed/rendered the care. 
 

24J 
red-
shade
d 

REQUIRED 
If applicable 

Rendering provider ID# - If the qualifier ‘1D’ is entered 
in 24I shaded area enter the API in this locator. If the 
qualifier ‘ZZ’ was entered in 24I shaded area enter the 
provider taxonomy code if the NPI is entered in locator 
24J open line. 
 

25 NOT REQUIRED Federal Tax I.D. Number 
 

26 REQUIRED Patient's Account Number – Up to FOURTEEN alpha-
numeric characters are acceptable. 
 

27 NOT REQUIRED Accept Assignment 
 

28 REQUIRED Total Charge - Enter the total charges for the services 
in 24F lines 1-6   
 
 

29 REQUIRED 
If applicable 

Amount Paid – For personal care and waiver 
services only – enter the patient pay amount that is due 
from the patient.  NOTE: The patient pay amount is 
taken from services billed on 24A - line 1.  If multiple 
services are provided on same date of service, then 
another form must be completed since only one line can 
be submitted if patient pay is to be considered in the 
processing of this service.  
 

30 NOT REQUIRED Rsvd for NUCC Use 
 

31 REQUIRED Signature of Physician or Supplier Including 
Degrees or Credentials - The provider or agent must 
sign and date the invoice in this block. 
 

32 REQUIRED  Service Facility Location Information – Enter the 
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If applicable name as first line, address as second line, city, state 

and 9 digit zip code as third line for the location where 
the services were rendered.  NOTE: For physician with 
multiple office locations, the specific Zip code must 
reflect the office location where services given.  Do 
NOT use commas, periods or other punctuations in the 
address.  Enter space between city and state.  Include 
the hyphen for the 9 digit zip code. 
 

32a 
open 

REQUIRED  
If applicable 
 

NPI # - Enter the 10 digit NPI number of the service 
location.  
 

32b 
red 
shade
d 

REQUIRED  
If applicable 

Other ID#: - The qualifier ‘1D’ is required with the API 
entered in this locator. The qualifier of ‘ZZ’ is required 
with the provider taxonomy code if the NPI is entered in 
locator 32a open line. 
 

33 REQUIRED Billing Provider Info and PH # - Enter the billing name 
as first line, address as second line, city, state and 9-
digit zip code as third line.  This locator is to identify the 
provider that is requesting to be paid.  
NOTE: Do NOT use commas, periods or other 
punctuations in the address.  Enter space between city 
and state.  Include the hyphen for the 9 digit zip code.  
The phone number is to be entered in the area to the 
right of the field title. Do not use hyphen or space as 
separator within the telephone number.  
 

33a 
open 

REQUIRED NPI – Enter the 10 digit NPI number of the billing 
provider. 
 

 
33b 
red 
shade
d 

REQUIRED  
If applicable 

Other Billing ID - The qualifier ‘1D’ is required with the 
API entered in this locator. The qualifier ‘ZZ’ is required 
with the provider taxonomy code if the NPI is entered in 
locator 33a open line. 
NOTE: DO NOT use commas, periods, space, hyphens 
or other punctuations between the qualifier and the 
number. 

 
The information may be typed (recommend font Sans Serif 12) or legibly 
handwritten.  Retain a copy for the office files. 
Mail the completed claims to: 

Department of Medical Assistance Services 
CMS Crossover 
P. O. Box 27444 
Richmond, Virginia 23261-7444 
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INVOICE PROCESSING 

The Medicaid invoice processing system utilizes a sophisticated electronic system 
to process Medicaid claims. Once a claim has been received, microfilmed, assigned 
a cross-reference number (e.g. 123-45678-9) and entered into the system, it is 
placed in one of the following categories as indicated on your remittance voucher. 
 

• Approval -  Payment is approved. 
 

• Pend -  For manual review & adjudication (The provider must not 
resubmit.) 

 
• Denied -  Payment cannot be approved for the reason stated on 

the remittance voucher. 
 

• No Response - If one of the above responses has not been received 
within 30 days, the provider should assume non-delivery and rebill using 
a new invoice form. The provider's failure to follow up on these situations 
does not warrant individual or additional consideration for late billing.   

 
 
 
USE OF RUBBER STAMPS FOR PHYSICIAN DOCUMENTATION 

A required physician signature for Medicaid purposes may include signatures, 
written initials, computer entry, or rubber stamp initialed by the physician.  However, 
these methods do not preclude other requirements that are not for Medicaid 
purposes.  For more complete information, see the Physician Manual. 
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EXHIBITS 

EXHIBITS TABLE OF CONTENTS 

 
Health Insurance Claim Form CMS-1500 (02-12) 1 
 
Request for Billing Supplies DMAS 160 2 
 
Request for Forms/Brochures DMAS 161 3 
 
 
 
Note: Do Not make copies of claim form from the exhibits to submit.



 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 



 
DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE SERVICES 

REQUEST FOR BILLING SUPPLIES 

Name ________________________________ Date ___________________________________ 

Provider Number _______________________ Contact Person ___________________________ 

Telephone # (_______) ____________________ 

Area Code 

Check as appropriate: 

______ Please forward preprinted invoices as indicated below. 

______ Please forward invoices suitable for computer use as indicated below. 

______ Other (See order below.) 

Quantity Dental Quantity Pharmacy 
______ DMAS-701 Invoice ______ DMAS-173 Drug Claim Ledger 

______ DMAS-702 Invoice Adjustment ______ DMAS-228 Drug Claim Adjustment 

______ DMAS-704 Preauthorization Request ______ DMAS-664 Envelope 

______ DMAS-703 Envelope 

Home Health Agency Practitioner 

______ DMAS-662 Envelope ______ DMAS-663 Envelope 

Hospital Title XVIII NOT PREPRINTED 

______ DMAS-660 Envelope ______ DMAS-30 (Medicare) Deductible 

and Coinsurance Invoice 

SLH ______ DMAS-31 Invoice Adjustment 

______ SLH-24 Mailing Envelope 

Personal Care NOT PREPRINTED Transportation NOT PREPRINTED 

______ DMAS-89 Personal Care Recipient 

Admissions Envelope 

______ DMAS-7 Invoice 

______ DMAS-93 Invoice ______ DMAS-8 Invoice Adjustment 

______ DMAS-94 Invoice Adjustment ______ DMAS-9 Verification Form 

______ DMAS-659 Envelope 

Please return this form to: DMAS Order Desk 

Commonwealth/Martin 

1700 Venable St., 

Richmond, VA 23223 

DMAS-160 R 3/2000 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 



 
Department of Medical Assistance Services Request for Forms/Brochures 
Name _____________________________________ Date ______________________ Telephone # (___)____-______ 
Provider Number _______________________________ Contact Person ____________________________________________ 

Quantity Form Number Form Name 

_______ DMAS-5 About Your Medicaid Appeal 

_______ DMAS-6B Answers to Your Questions About the Virginia HIV Premium Assistance Prog. 

_______ DMAS-16 Maternity Risk Screen 

_______ DMAS-17 Infant Risk Screen 

_______ DMAS-20 Consent Form for Release of Information 

_______ DMAS-50 Maternal Care Coordinator Record (25/pad) 

_______ DMAS-51 Infant Care Coordinator Record (25/pad) 

_______ DMAS-52 Care Coordination Service Plan (25/pad) 

_______ DMAS-53 Pregnancy Outcome Report (25/pad) 

_______ DMAS-54 Infant Outcome Report (25/pad) 

_______ DMAS-55 Care Coordination Letter of Agreement (25/pad) 

_______ DMAS-70 Practitioner Referral Form 

_______ DMAS-77 ICF/MR Utilization Review Assessment 

_______ DMAS-77A Programs/Objective Continuation Sheet 

_______ DMAS-80 Patient Intensity Rating System review (50/pad) 

_______ DMAS-80A Personal Care Utilization Review 

_______ DMAS-90 Personal Care Aide Record (25/pad) 

_______ DMAS-95 UAI Assessment Process 

_______ DMAS-95A UAI Assessment Process (part A only) 

_______ DMAS-95B UAI Assessment Process (part B only) 

_______ DMAS-95MI/MR Supplemental Assessment Process Form, Page 1 

_______ DMAS-95MI/MR Supplemental Assessment Process Form, Page 2 

_______ DMAS-96 Nursing Home Pre-Admission Screening Plan 

_______ DMAS-97 Plan of Care for Personal Care Services (25/pad) 

_______ DMAS-97A Provider Agency Plan of Care (25/pad) 

_______ DMAS-97B Consumer-Directed Plan of Care 

_______ DMAS-99 Community-Based Care Recipient Assessment Report (25/pad) 

_______ DMAS-99B Consumer-Directed Assessment Report 

_______ DMAS-100 Request for Supervision in Personal Plan of Care (25/pad) 

_______ DMAS-101 MH/MR Service Needs Summary (25/pad) 

_______ DMAS-102 DMAS Private Duty Nursing Plan of Care 

_______ DMAS-103 Monthly Nursing Status Report 

_______ DMAS-113A Medicaid HIV Services Pre-Screening Assessment 

_______ DMAS-113B Medicaid HIV Waiver Services Prescreening Plan of Care 

_______ DMAS-114 AIDS Waiver Authorization Form 

_______ DMAS-115 Nutritional Information Form 

_______ DMAS-119 Social History Form 

_______ DMAS-121 Certificate of Patient Status (50/pad) 

_______ DMAS-121-A Certificate of Patient Rehabilitative Services (50/pad) 

_______ DMAS-122 Patient Information R 12/98 (50/pad) 

_______ DMAS-125 Rehabilitation Treatment Authorization (25/pad) 

_______ DMAS-175 Pharmacist Intervention Report (25/pad) 

_______ DMAS-177 Patient Counseling Log (25/pad) 

_______ DMAS-201 Notification of Medicaid Transportation Denial 

_______ DMAS-212 Title XIX Enrollment (50/pad) 

_______ DMAS-213 Newborn Eligibility Report 

_______ DMAS-216 DMAS-89 

_______ DMAS-300 Respite Care Needs Assessment and Plan of Care 

_______ DMAS-301 Adult Day Health Interdisciplinary Plan of Care 

_______ DMAS-302 Adult Day Health Care Daily Log 
Please return this form to: DMAS Order Desk, Commonwealth/Martin, 1700 Venable St., Richmond, VA 23223 

DMAS 161 R 4/13/2000 



 
PAGE 1 OF 2 

 
Department of Medical Assistance Services Request for Forms/Brochures 
Name _____________________________________ Date ______________________ Telephone # (___)____-_______ 

Provider Number __________________________________ Contact Person __________________________________________ 

Quantity Form Number Form Name 

______ DMAS-351 Pre-Authorization Request (50/pad) 

______ DMAS-352 Certification of Medical Necessity 

______ DMAS-353 EPSDT Medical History Form 

______ DMAS-353A EPSDT Screening Documentation Form 

______ DMAS-354 IV Therapy Implementation Form 

______ DMAS-412 Medicaid Request for Psych. Extension Treatment (25/pad) 

______ DMAS-420 Request for Hospice Benefits 

______ DMAS-420A Request For Hospice Benefits(Continued) 

______ DMAS-421 Hospice Benefits Revocation/Change Statement 

______ DMAS-500 HIPP Application 

______ DMAS-501 HIPP Medical History Questionnaire 

______ DMAS-502 HIPP Employer Verification 

______ DMAS-503 HIPP Policy Holder Information 

______ DMAS-750 Fraud Claim Request 

______ DMAS-751 Notice of Recipient Fraud/Non-Fraud Overissuance 

______ DMAS-1000 Third Party Liability Information Report 

______ DMAS-3004 Sterilization Consent Form 

______ DMAS-3005 Acknowledgement of Receipt of Hysterectomy Information 

______ DMAS-3006 Abortion Certification R 3/99 

______ DMAS-4000 Prosthetic Device Preauthorization Form 

______ DMAS-4001 Physician Certification of Need 

Quantity Form Number Brochure Name 

______ SLH-1 Hospital Brochure 

______ DMAS-1 EPSDT Pamphlet 

______ DMAS-2 Virginia Medicaid Handbook 

______ DMAS-14E MEDALLION Brochure (English) 

______ DMAS-14S MEDALLION Brochure (Spanish) 

______ DMAS-60 BabyCare (English) 

______ DMAS-61 BabyCare (Spanish) 

______ DMAS-62 BabyCare (Vietnamese) 

______ DMAS-63 BabyCare (Laotian) 

______ DMAS-64 BabyCare (Cambodian) 

______ DMAS-67 Planning Ahead: A Guide for Virginians with Disabilities 

______ DMAS-250 Intro/State-Funded Long-Term Care System 

______ DMAS-251 Adult Care Residences 

______ DMAS-252 AIDS Waiver Services 

______ DMAS-253 Consumer-Directed Personal Attendant Services 

______ DMAS-254 Elderly and Disabled Waiver 

______ DMAS-255 Mental Retardation Waiver 

______ DMAS-256 Nursing Facility Services 

______ DMAS-257 Program of All-Inclusive Care for Elderly (PACE) 

______ DMAS-258 Technology Assisted Waiver 

______ DMAS 350 Virginia Children’s Medical Insurance Plan (CMSIP Handbook) 

Quantity Envelope No. Envelope Name 

______ DMAS-660 Hospital Inpatient/Outpatient 

______ DMAS-663 CMS-1500 Mailing 

______ DMAS-89 Personal Care Recipient Admissions 

______ SLH-24 SLH Mailing 

Quantity MISCELLANEOUS NAME 

______ 3 A Coloring Book for MEDALLION Super Stars 

______ 10 I was a Good Patient Today 

______ 11 My MEDALLION Doctor is My Friend 

12 I’m A MEDALLION Super Star 

______ 13 My MEDALLION Doctor Said I Did Great 
Please return this form to: DMAS Order Desk, Commonwealth/ Martin, 1700 Venable St., Richmond, VA 23223 

PAGE 2 OF 2 


