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Requirements Imposed on Certain Healthcare Entities to Report Disciplinary 

Actions Against, Allegations of Misconduct by, and Impairment of Certain 

Health Care Practitioners to the Virginia Department of Health Professions 

or the Office of Licensure and Certification of the Virginia Department of 

Health 
  

I. Requirements of § 54.1-2400.6  
  

  

A. General Requirements. 

 

 Virginia Code § 54.1-2400.6 details reporting requirements which impact certain 

healthcare facilities. For the most recent statutory version, please refer to the Legislative 

Information System at law.lis.virginia.gov or use the hyperlink in the statutory cite above.  

 

B. 2024 Changes in Legislation Limiting Reporting 

 

 Previous statutory language required reporting of any information of which the reporter 

became aware in his official capacity indicating a reasonable belief that a health professional 

needs treatment or was voluntarily admitted as a patient for treatment of substance abuse or a 

psychiatric illness that may render the health professional a danger to himself, the public, or 

patients. 

 

 Changes in the 2024 General Assembly Session removed a portion of the previous 

requirement. Following those changes, reporting is required for “a reasonable belief that such a 

health professional has been involuntarily admitted as a patient . . . for treatment of substance 

abuse or a psychiatric illness.” See Va. Code § 54.1-2400.6(A)(1). 

 

 The current requirement for reporting voluntary admission is found in § 54.1-

2400.6(A)(2) and only applies if the psychiatric illness or substance abuse may continue for 

more than 30 days after admission. Additionally, such a report is required to be made five days 

after the 30-day period concludes and is not required if the physician, physician assistant, or 

nurse practitioner treating the health professional provides written confirmation to the reporting 

entity that the health professional is no longer a danger to himself, the public, or patients.  

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title54.1/chapter24/section54.1-2400.6/
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II. Who may be reported under § 54.1-2400.6 
 

Individuals (i) licensed, certified or registered by a health regulatory board, (ii) applying 

for such licensure, certification or registration, and (iii) holding a multistate license privilege to 

practice nursing are subject to reporting under § 54.1-2400.6 unless an exemption applies (see 

below). The list of practitioners under the jurisdiction of a regulatory board of DHP at the time of 

this revision include: 

 

Board of Audiology/Speech Language Pathology: audiologists; speech-language 

pathologists 

 

Board of Counseling: marriage and family therapists; professional counselors; substance 

abuse treatment practitioners; rehabilitation providers; substance abuse counselors; 

substance abuse counseling assistants; qualified mental health provider; peer 

recovery specialists; residents in counseling, marriage and family therapy or 

substance abuse treatment; art therapists; behavioral health technicians; behavioral 

health technician assistants. 

 

Board of Dentistry: dentists; oral and maxillofacial surgeons; dental hygienists; dental  

 assistants II.  

 

Board of Funeral Directors and Embalmers: funeral service licensees; funeral directors; 

funeral embalmers; funeral trainees. 

 

Board of Medicine: doctors of medicine, including interns and residents; doctors of 

osteopathic medicine; chiropractors; podiatrists; physician assistants; radiologic 

technologists; radiologic technologists, limited; radiologist assistants; respiratory 

therapists; occupational therapists;  occupational therapy assistants; acupuncturists; 

athletic trainers; professional midwives; polysomnographers; behavioral analysts; 

assistant behavioral analysts; genetic counselors; surgical assistants; surgical 

technologists. 

 

Board of Nursing:  registered nurses; practical nurses; advanced practice registered 

nurses, including clinical nurse specialists, nurse practitioners, certified nurse 

midwives, and certified registered nurse anesthetists; massage therapists; certified 

nurse aides; advanced certified nurse aides; medication aides; advanced medication 

aides. 

 

Board of Long-Term Care Administrators: nursing home administrators; assisted living 

facility administrators; administrators-in-training. 

 

Board of Optometry: optometrists. 

 

Board of Pharmacy: pharmacists; pharmacist interns; pharmacy technicians; pharmacy 

technician trainees. 
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Board of Physical Therapy: physical therapists; physical therapist assistants. 

 

Board of Psychology: applied psychologists; clinical psychologists; school psychologists; 

school psychologist-limited; certified sex offender treatment providers; 

psychological practitioners. 

 

Board of Social Work: clinical social workers; master’s social workers; baccalaureate 

social workers; music therapists. 

 

Board of Veterinary Medicine: veterinarians; veterinary technicians; equine dental 

technicians. 

 

III. Exemption from Reporting 
 

Records or information learned about by the reporting entity or person which are covered 

by federal confidentiality provisions concerning substance abuse treatment are exempt from 

reporting requirements of § 54.1-2400.6. Va. Code § 54.1-2400.6(D). 

 

 

IV. Specific Guidance Concerning Required Reports 
 

A. What is meant by “hospital, other health care institution, or assisted living facility”? 

 

For the purpose of reporting requirements, “hospital, other health care institutions or 

assisted living facilities” includes: 

 

1. General hospitals; 

 

2. Outpatient surgical hospitals; 

 

3. Mental or psychiatric hospitals, including, for the purposes of § 

54.1-2400.6, every facility and training center operated by the 

Virginia Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental 

Services; 

 

4. Hospitals operated by the University of Virginia and Virginia 

Commonwealth University; 

 

5. Hospitals known by varying nomenclature or designation such 

as sanatoriums, sanitariums, acute, rehabilitation, chronic disease, 

short-term, long-term, and inpatient or outpatient maternity 

hospitals;  

 

6. Nursing homes and certified nursing facilities; and 

 

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title54.1/chapter24/section54.1-2400.6/
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7. Assisted living facilities licensed by the Department of Social 

Services. 

 

Physician offices and group medical practices are not included in the terms “hospital and 

other health care institutions.” This list, however, is not exclusive and other entities not included 

may be subject to the reporting requirement contained in § 54.1-2400.6. 

 

B. What constitutes a “home care organization” or “home health organization”? 

 

The definition of “home care organization” provided  in Virginia Code § 32.1-162.7 

represents “home care organizations” and “home health organizations” for the purpose of 

reporting requirements under Virginia Code § 54.1-2400.6. Virginia Code § 32.1-162.7 defines 

“home care organization” as: 

 

any public or private organization, whether operated for profit or 

not for profit, that provides, at the residence of a patient or 

individual in the Commonwealth of Virginia, one or more of the 

following services: 

 

1. Home health services, including services provided by or under 

the direct supervision of any health care professional under a 

medical plan of care in a patient’s residence on a visit or hourly 

basis to patients who have or are at risk of injury, illness, or a 

disabling condition and require short-term or long-term 

interventions; 

 

2. Personal care services, including assistance in personal care to 

include activities of daily living provided in an individual’s 

residence on a visit or hourly basis to individuals who have or are 

at risk of an illness, injury or disabling condition; or 

 

3. Pharmaceutical services, including services provided in a 

patient’s residence, which include the dispensing and 

administration of a drug or drugs, and parenteral nutritional 

support, associated patient instruction, and such other services as 

identified by the Board of Health by regulation. 

 

Va. Code § 32.1-162.7. Quotation of statutory language found above is accurate as of the revised 

date of this Guidance Document. Individuals should refer to § 32.1-162.7 provided by the 

Commonwealth of Virginia on the Legislative Information System for up to date statutory 

language which incorporates changes from legislative sessions. 

 

 

 

 

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title32.1/chapter5/section32.1-162.7/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title32.1/chapter5/section32.1-162.7/
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C. What constitutes a “hospice organization”? 

 

 For the purpose of reporting requirements, “hospice organization” means an 

administrative group, individual or legal entity that has a distinct organizational structure, 

accountable to the governing authority directly or through a chief executive officer, that 

administers a coordinated program of home and inpatient care providing palliative and 

supportive medical and other health services to terminally ill patients and their families.   

 

D. What specific information is required in reports? 

 

Virginia Code § 54.1-2400.6(A) requires reports to be in writing. That provision also lists 

the information required to be contained in the written report as follows:   

 

1. The name, address, and date of birth of the person who is the 

subject of the report; 

 

2. A full description of the circumstances surrounding the facts 

required to be reported; 

 

3. Names and contact information of individuals with knowledge 

about the facts required to be reported; 

 

4. Names and contact information of individuals from whom the 

hospital or health care institution sought information to 

substantiate the facts required to be reported; 

 

5. All relevant medical records if patient care or the health 

professional's health status is at issue; and 

 

6. If relevant, notice to the Board that it has submitted a report to 

the National Practitioner Data Bank under the Health Care Quality 

Improvement Act, 42 U.S.C. § 11101, et seq.  

 

Va. Code § 54.1-2400.6(A). 

 

 A report to the National Practitioner Data Bank alone is not sufficient to satisfy the 

requirements of Virginia Code § 54.1-2400.6 and DOES NOT constitute reporting to DHP or 

OLC or constitute “actual notice” of the reporting to DHP or OLC. 

 

E. When must reports be made? 

 

Pursuant to Virginia Code § 54.1-2400.6(A), reports must be made within 5 calendar 

days when any practitioner regulated by any health regulatory board has been involuntarily 

admitted as a patient for the treatment of substance abuse or a psychiatric illness. 
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Reports must be made within 30 days of any of these triggering events: 

 

• The date a CEO, COS, administrator, or director becomes aware that a practitioner 

regulated by any health regulatory board has been voluntarily admitted as a patient for 

treatment of substance abuse or a psychiatric illness if the treatment may continue for 

more than 30 days after admission. Reporting is not required if the treating physician, 

physician assistant, or nurse practitioner confirms in writing that the health professional 

is no longer a danger to themselves, the public, or patients. 

 

• The date a CEO, COS, or administrator, or director determines that there is a reasonable 

probability that a practitioner regulated by any health regulatory board may have engaged 

in unethical, fraudulent or unprofessional conduct, as defined in the relevant licensing 

statutes and regulations.   

 

• The date of written communication to a practitioner notifying him of a disciplinary 

proceeding for reportable conduct. 

 

• The date of written communication to a practitioner notifying him of a disciplinary action 

for reportable conduct.   

 

• The date of a practitioner’s resignation, restriction or expiration of privileges while under 

investigation or subject to disciplinary proceedings for reportable conduct. 

 

F. To whom must reports be made? 

 

Reports by hospital CEOs and COS and ALF administrators should be made to the 

Director of the Virginia Department of Health Professions, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Henrico, Virginia 23233; FAX (804) 527-4434; email: director@dhp.virginia.gov. 

 

Reports by home health and hospice organizations should be made to the Office of 

Licensure and Certification, Virginia Department of Health, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 401, 

Henrico, Virginia 23233; FAX (804) 527-4502; email: OLC-Complaints@vdh.virginia.gov. 

 
G. What information should not or need not be reported or disclosed? 

 

Medical records or information learned or maintained about a practitioner in connection 

with an alcohol or drug prevention function that is conducted, regulated, or directly or indirectly 

assisted by any federal department or agency should not be reported if reporting would violate 42 

U.S.C. § 290dd-2 or related regulations. Va. Code § 54.1-2400.6(D). 

 

Hospitals, other health care institutions and assisted living facilities are not required to 

submit any “proceedings, minutes, records, or reports” that are privileged under Va. Code § 

8.01-581.17. Va. Code § 54.1-2400.6(A)(5). 

 

When a required reporter has actual notice that the report has already been made, another 

such report is not required. Va. Code § 54.1-2400.6(A).   

mailto:director@dhp.virginia.gov
mailto:OLC-Complaints@vdh.virginia.gov
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H. How does the Department of Health Professions investigate complaints of 

noncompliance of § 54.1-2400.6? 

 

1. Personnel and medical records are reviewed from allegedly reportable incident. The 

investigator confirms that the individual was a licensee of the Department at the time of incident 

and that the facility documented that the individual was a health care provider. 

 

2. The non-reporting facility is notified of the complaint, usually via letter sent to the individual 

responsible for reporting per the statute (e.g., CEO, Chief of Staff, Director of Home Health or 

Hospice, etc.). 

 

3. By same letter to the facility/CEO, the facility is asked to respond to the failure to report 

allegation (i.e., rationale for decision not to report, awareness of conduct and related required 

reporting law). The response may be collected via letter, email, phone call or personal visit. 

 

4. The facility is asked if it has an existing reporting policy, and if the policy was in place at the 

time of the event, and to produce the policy (or any reporting policies that were produced 

subsequent to the failure to report). 

 

5. If relevant, witnesses to the failure to report and related circumstances are also interviewed. 
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