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VIRGINIA BOARD OF PSYCHOLOGY 

 
Impact of Criminal Convictions, Impairment, and Past History on Licensure, Certification 

or Registration by the Virginia Board of Psychology 

 

INTRODUCTION 

 

This document provides information for persons interested in becoming a clinical psychologist, 

school psychologist, applied psychologist, school psychologist-limited, or certified sex offender 

treatment provider or applying for registration as a resident. It clarifies how convictions, 

impairment, and other past history may affect the application process and subsequent licensure, 

certification, or registration by the Board of Psychology.   

 

 

Until an individual applies for licensure, certification or registration, the Board of Psychology is 

unable to review, or consider for approval, an individual with a criminal conviction, history of 

action taken in another jurisdiction, or history of possible impairment. The Board has no 

jurisdiction until an application has been filed. 

 

GUIDELINES FOR PROCESSING APPLICATIONS FOR LICENSURE, 

CERTIFICATION OR REGISTRATION: EXAMINATION, ENDORSEMENT, AND 

REINSTATEMENT 
 

Applicants for licensure or certification by examination, endorsement and reinstatement or for 

registration as a resident who meet the qualifications as set forth in the law and regulations may 

be issued a license or certificate or may be registered pursuant to authority delegated to the 

Executive Director of the Board in accordance with the Board of Psychology Regulations. 

An applicant whose license has been revoked or suspended in another jurisdiction is not eligible 

for licensure or certification in Virginia unless the credential has been reinstated by the jurisdiction 

which revoked or suspended it.  

Affirmative responses to any questions on applications related to grounds for the Board to refuse 

to admit a candidate to an examination, refuse to issue a license or certificate or impose sanction 

shall be referred to the Executive Director to determine how to proceed. The Executive Director, 

or designee, may approve the application without referral to a board member or a special 

conference committee in the following cases: 

1. The applicant presents a history of chemical dependence with evidence of continued 

abstinence and recovery. The Executive Director cannot approve applicants for 

reinstatement if the license or certificate was revoked or suspended by the Board or if it 

lapsed while an investigation was pending. 

2. The applicant has a history of criminal conviction(s) which does not constitute grounds for 

denial or Board action or the applicant's criminal conviction history meets the following 

criteria: 
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• The applicant's conviction history consists solely of misdemeanor convictions that are 

greater than 10 years old.  

• The applicant's conviction history consists of one misdemeanor conviction greater than 

5 years old and all court requirements have been met. 

• The applicant's conviction history consists of one misdemeanor conviction less than 5 

years old, the applicant is in full compliance or has met all court requirements, and the 

applicant has accepted a pre-hearing consent order to approve the application with a 

reprimand. 

• The applicant's conviction history consists of one non-violent felony conviction greater 

than 10 years old and all court/probationary/parole requirements have been met. 

 3. The applicant's conviction history consists of offenses committed as a juvenile and the applicant 

has no record of convictions as an adult. 

 

BASIS FOR DENIAL OF LICENSURE OR CERTIFICATION  

 

The Board of Psychology may refuse to admit a candidate to any examination or refuse to issue a 

license or certificate to any applicant with a conviction of a felony or a misdemeanor involving 

moral turpitude.  The Board may also refuse licensure to an applicant for misuse of drugs or alcohol 

to the extent that it interferes with professional functioning, or mental, emotional, or physical 

incompetence to practice the profession.  Similarly, the Board may refuse certification or 

registration as a resident to an applicant for misuse of drugs or alcohol which interferes with 

professional functioning, or mental or physical illness which interferes with professional 

functioning.   

 

Misdemeanor convictions involving moral turpitude mean convictions related to lying, cheating 

or stealing.   Examples include, but are not limited to:  reporting false information to the police, 

shoplifting or concealment of merchandise, petit larceny, fraud, embezzlement, and writing 

worthless checks.  While information must be gathered regarding all convictions, misdemeanor 

convictions other than those involving moral turpitude will not prevent an applicant from 

becoming licensed or certified. However, if the misdemeanor conviction information also suggests 

a possible impairment issue, such as DUI and illegal drug possession convictions, then there still 

may be a basis for denial during the application process.       

 

Criminal convictions for ANY felony may cause an applicant to be denied licensure or 

certification.  Each applicant is considered on an individual basis. There are NO criminal 

convictions or impairments that are an absolute bar to licensure or certification by the Board of 

Psychology.   

 

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION NEEDED REGARDING CRIMINAL CONVICTIONS, 

PAST ACTIONS, OR POSSIBLE IMPAIRMENTS 

  

Applications for licensure, certification or registration include questions about the applicant’s 

history, specifically:  
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1. Any and all criminal convictions ever received; 

2. Any past action taken against the applicant in another state or jurisdiction, including denial 

of licensure or certification in another state or jurisdiction; and 

3. Any mental or physical illness, or chemical dependency condition that could interfere with 

the applicant’s ability to practice. 

 

Indicating “yes” to any questions about convictions, past actions, or possible impairment does not 

mean the application will be denied.  It means more information must be gathered and considered 

before a decision can be made, which delays the usual application and testing process.  Sometimes 

an administrative proceeding is required before a decision regarding the application can be made. 

The Board of Psychology has the ultimate authority to approve an applicant for testing and 

subsequent licensure or certification, or to deny approval. 

 

The following information will be requested from an applicant with a criminal conviction:   

• A certified copy of all conviction orders (obtained from the courthouse of record);  

• Evidence that all court ordered requirements were met (i.e., letter from the probation officer 

if on supervised probation, paid fines and restitution, etc.);  

• A letter from the applicant explaining the factual circumstances leading to the criminal 

offense(s); and 

• Letters from employers concerning work performance (specifically from psychology-

related employers, if possible). 

 

The following information will be requested from the applicant with past disciplinary action 

or licensure/certification denial in another state: 

• A certified copy of the Order for disciplinary action or denial from the other state licensing 

entity; and certified copy of any subsequent actions (i.e. reinstatement), if applicable; 

• A letter from the applicant explaining the factual circumstances leading to the action or 

denial; and 

•  Letters from employers concerning work performance (psychology-related preferred) 

since action.  

 

The following information may be requested from applicants with a possible impairment:  

• Evidence of any past treatment (i.e., discharge summary from outpatient treatment and 

inpatient hospitalizations);  

• A letter from the applicant’s current treating healthcare provider(s) indicating diagnosis, 

treatment regimen, compliance with treatment, and ability to practice safely;  

• A letter from the applicant explaining the factual circumstances of condition or impairment 

and addressing ongoing efforts to function safely (including efforts to remain compliant 

with treatment, maintain sobriety, attendance at AA/NA meetings, etc.); and  

• Letters from employers concerning work performance (specifically from psychology-

related employers, if possible). 

 

NOTE: Some applicants may be eligible for the Health Practitioner’s Monitoring Program 

(HPMP), which is a monitoring program for persons with impairments due to chemical 

dependency, mental illness, or physical disabilities.  Willingness to participate in the HPMP is 

information the Board of Psychology will consider during the review process for applicants with 
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a history of impairment or a criminal conviction history related to impairment. Information about 

the Virginia HPMP may be obtained directly from the DHP homepage at www.dhp.virginia.gov. 

 

Once the Board of Psychology has received the necessary and relevant additional information, the 

application will be considered.   Some applicants may be approved based on review of the 

documentation provided.  Other applicants may be required to meet with Board of Psychology 

members for an informal fact finding conference to consider the application.   After the informal 

fact-finding conference, the application may be: i) approved, ii) approved with conditions or terms, 

or iii) denied.   

 

NOTE:  Failure to reveal criminal convictions, past disciplinary actions, and/or possible 

impairment issues on any application for licensure or certification is grounds for disciplinary action 

by the Board of Psychology, even after the license, certification or registration has been issued.  It 

is considered to be “procurement of license by fraud or misrepresentation,” and a basis for disciplinary 

action that is separate from the underlying conviction, past action, or impairment issue once 

discovered.  Possible disciplinary actions that may be taken range from reprimand to revocation 

of a license or certificate.  

 

 

FOLLOWING LICENSURE OR CERTIFICATION  

 

Criminal convictions and other actions can also affect an individual already licensed or certified 

by the Board of Psychology.  Any felony conviction, court adjudication of incompetence, or 

suspension or revocation of a license or certificate held in another state will result in a “mandatory 

suspension” of the individual’s license or certificate to practice in Virginia.   This is a 

nondiscretionary action taken by the Director of DHP, rather than the Board of Psychology, 

according to § 54.1-2409 of the Code of Virginia.  The mandatory suspension remains in effect 

until the individual applies for reinstatement and appears at a formal hearing before the Board of 

Psychology and demonstrates sufficient evidence that he or she is safe and competent to return to 

practice. At the formal hearing, three fourths of the Board members present must agree to reinstate 

the individual's license or certificate to practice in order for it to be restored.    

 

 

GETTING A CRIMINAL RECORD EXPUNGED 

 

Having been granted a pardon, clemency, or having civil rights restored following a felony 

conviction does not change the fact that a person has a criminal conviction.  That conviction 

remains on the individual’s licensure or certification record. Therefore, any criminal conviction 

must be revealed on any application for licensure or certification, unless it has been expunged. 

 

Chapter 23.1 of Title 19.2 of the Code of Virginia describes the process for expunging criminal 

records.  If a person wants a conviction to be removed from their record, the individual must seek 

expungment pursuant to §19.2-392.2 of the Code of Virginia. Individuals should seek legal counsel 

to pursue this course, which involves specific petitions to the court, State Police procedures, and 

hearings in court.  

 

http://www.dhp.virginia.gov/
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