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DMV 226 (4/9/2024) 

VIRGINIA RIDER TRAINING PROGRAM 

POLICY AND PROCEDURES 

 

 

Overview 
 

The Department of Motor Vehicles’ Virginia Rider Training Program was established in 1984. In 

2004, the Virginia General Assembly passed a law mandating that all motorcycle rider safety 

training sites be licensed by DMV. 

 

Mission 
 

To operate a Motorcycle Safety Program that administers the laws set forth in the Virginia 

Code providing superior training, supporting secure licensing, and saving lives by reducing 

motorcycle crashes, injuries, and fatalities in the Commonwealth. 

 

Curriculum 
 

1. The current DMV‐approved curriculum for basic rider training is the Motorcycle Safety 

Foundation (MSF) Basic RiderCourse (BRC) and Basic RiderCourse 3‐Wheel (3WBRC). Each 

participant enrolled in a BRC must receive no less than the minimum number of hours of 

classroom and on‐cycle instruction as specified in the current approved curriculum. Basic rider 

training will include a module on the effects of alcohol and other drugs on motorcycle 

operations and a thorough review of Virginia laws and rules of the road applicable to 

motorcycles. All basic rider course participants will be given the opportunity to download a 

copy of the Motorcycle Safety Foundation Basic RiderCourse Rider Handbook and a copy of the 

Virginia Motorcycle Operator Manual, available at DMV Customer Service Centers. During on‐ 

cycle instruction, the student ratio will follow the guidance of the approved Motorcycle Safety 

Foundation curriculum, unless otherwise provided by the Department of Motor Vehicles. 

Training sites must operate in accordance with the approved MSF ranges and comply with all 

guidelines provided in the MSF range approval letter. 

https://msf-usa.org/documents/library/basic-ridercourse-handbook/
https://ps1.dmv.virginia.gov/intranet/forms/pdf/dmv2.pdf


2  

2. The current DMV‐approved curriculum for experienced rider training is the Motorcycle Safety 

Foundation’s Basic RiderCourse 2 or the Basic RiderCourse 2u.  BRC2 LW (License Waiver) Each 

participant enrolled in a BRC2/BRC2u  BRC2 LW training class must receive no less than the 

minimum number of hours of classroom and on‐cycle instruction as specified in the current 

curriculum. All BRC2/BRC2u BRC2 LW classes will include a module on the effects of alcohol 

and other drugs on motorcycle operations and a review of Virginia laws and rules of the road 

applicable to motorcycles. During on‐cycle instruction, training sites must operate on 

approved MSF ranges and comply with any restrictions defined in the MSF Rider Education 

Recognition Program (RERP) for instructor‐ student ratio, and limits on the number of 

motorcycles allowed to operate on the range. 

 

3. When a student has successfully completed the BRC, BRC2 LW, or the 3WBRC, the site will 

issue a Safety Course Completion Certificate, TSS 97. This form exempts the student from 

completing both the motorcycle knowledge exam and the road skills exam. 

a. If the student is 19 or older, the course completion certificate will act as a 

temporary "M2" or "M3" classification when carried with their driver's license, 

which will allow the student to operate the appropriate motorcycle for 30 days from 

the course completion date. After the initial 30 days, the student will not be 

authorized to operate a motorcycle until the motorcycle designation is added to 

their license. Certificates are valid for a period of one year from the date of course 

completion. 

b. If the student is under 18, and possesses their completed TSS 97 form, they must do 

the following to add a Class "M", "M2", or "M3" designation to their current driver's 

license: 

1. Pass the required vision screening. 

2. Obtain and hold a motorcycle learner's permit for 9 months. 

3. Present their Safety Course Completion Certificate, DMV Form TSS 97, within one 

year of completion of the course. 

 
4. The current DMV‐approved curriculum for basic three‐wheeled motorcycle training is the MSF 

Basic RiderCourse – 3 Wheel (3WBRC). Each participant enrolled in a 3WBRC motorcycle 

training class must receive no less than the minimum number of hours of classroom and on‐ 

cycle instruction as specified in the current curriculum. All 3WBRC’s will include a module on 

the effects of alcohol and other drugs on three‐wheel motorcycle operation, and a thorough 

review of Virginia laws and rules of the road applicable to three‐ wheel motorcycles. During on‐ 

cycle instruction, training sites must operate in accordance with the approved MSF Rider 

Education Recognition Program (RERP) for 



3  

instructor‐student ratio and limits on the number of motorcycles allowed to operate on the 

range. 

5. All course participants must wear the following protective gear during on‐cycle instruction: 

 

a. A lawful motorcycle helmet. 

b. Eye protection. 

c. A pair of boots or shoes that cover and protect the ankles and feet. 

d. A long‐sleeved jacket or long‐sleeved shirt and long pants of denim or other material of 

equivalent durability. 

e. A pair of full‐fingered gloves of leather or other material with resistance to abrasion. 

 

 

 Virginia Rider Training Program License Application Process  

 

No person or entity may operate a motorcycle training site in Virginia without obtaining a 

license from DMV. Applicants for a Virginia Rider Training Program license may apply for either 

a reimbursed license or non‐reimbursed license. Commonwealth of Virginia state or local 

government education agencies are eligible to apply for reimbursed licensure. Private 

individuals, entities, or companies are eligible to apply for non‐reimbursed licensure. DMV 

determines the number of reimbursed licenses issued and or renewed based on the training site 

meeting the requirements established by DMV, regional demand for basic rider training, and 

availability of funding. Those licenses issued or renewed for providers of training courses that do 

not require reimbursement are awarded based on the training site’s ability to operate a training 

site to meet the requirements established by DMV. 

 

Any applicant denied a license will, upon his or her written request made within 30 days of the 

Commissioner’s action, be given a hearing at a time and place determined by the Commissioner 

or his or her designee. All hearings under this section are public and will be held as soon as 

practicable but in no case later than 30 days from receipt of the hearing request. The applicant 

may be represented by counsel. Any applicant denied a license may not apply again for the same 

type of license for 180 calendar business days from the date of denial of the application. 

 

Reimbursed Training Site 
 

All invoices must be emailed to; accountspayable@dmv.virginia.gov. and to the DMV Motorcycle 

Safety Training Site Coordinator. Reimbursed sites may apply for direct deposit through the 

following website: https://www/doa.virginia.gov/forms.shtml#edi 

mailto:accountspayable@dmv.virginia.gov
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Non‐Reimbursed Training Sites 
 

Applicants must complete application form TSS 96 (link to tss96) and submit all necessary 

documentation requested to, The Department of Motor Vehicles, Motorcycle Safety 

Training Site Coordinator, Office 405, 2300 W Broad Street, Richmond VA 23269, 

or email documentation to the Motorcycle Safety Training Site Coordinator. 

 

 

 
Other Training Site Obligations 

 

1. Each training site must operate within the approved MSF Rider Education Recognition 

Program (RERP) guidelines and must possess and or have access to, classroom, range, storage 

facilities, and equipment. A training site’s facilities and equipment must be approved by 

DMV and include the following: 

a. A classroom for the presentation of the off‐cycle instructional portion of the 

novice, experienced, and three‐wheeled motorcycle rider courses. 

b. A paved range area for the on‐cycle portion of the novice, experienced and three‐ 

wheeled motorcycle courses consistent with the minimum range requirements 

established by the DMV‐approved curriculum used in the course. 

c. For those agencies, organizations, businesses, and individuals that apply to receive 

reimbursement, the facilities must have adequate storage to protect motorcycles 

and equipment from vandalism, theft, and environmental damage. 

d. Audio‐Visual equipment. 

e. Fire extinguisher and first‐aid kit. 

 

 

2. Training sites will contact the DMV Motorcycle Safety Training Site Coordinator to 

provide them with the Virginia Motorcycle Safety Course Completion Certificates 

(TSS 97) based on actual and projected enrollments, and other DMV Forms. The TSS 97 

form is considered controlled, and all training sites will provide the following: 

 

a. Adequate records to show card count from site received to student issuance. 

b. Reporting to TREDS within the required time 

c. Immediate reporting of lost or stolen cards to the DMV Motorcycle Safety 

Training Site Coordinator. 

 

3. Training sites are responsible for verifying that all participants are eligible for enrollment in a 

course based on the following: 

a. Persons enrolling in a Basic RiderCourse must (i) possess a valid learner’s permit 

and or a valid driver’s license; (ii) have written parental or guardian permission if 

under the age of 18 years of age; (iii) be physically able to balance and operate a 

motorcycle; and (iv) sign an appropriate waiver/liability form prior to the start of 

the course. 
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b. Persons enrolling in an experienced rider course BRC2 LW must (i) possess a 

valid driver’s license endorsed for motorcycle operation; (ii) have written 

parental or guardian permission if under the age of 18; (iii) use a motorcycle 

that may lawfully be operated on the highways of the Commonwealth during 

course training; (iv) have a valid proof of ownership of such motorcycle, or 

have its owner’s written permission to use it and valid proof of insurance, and 

(v) sign an appropriate waiver/liability form prior to the start of the course. 

c. Persons enrolling in a 3WBRC class must: 

(i) possess a valid learner’s permit or a valid driver’s license; (ii) have written parental 

or guardian permission if under the age of 18; (iii) use a sidecar rig or three‐wheeled 

motorcycle that may lawfully be operated on the highways of the Commonwealth 

during course training (iv) if providing their own sidecar rig or three‐wheeled 

motorcycle, have a valid proof of ownership of such sidecar rig or three‐wheeled 

motorcycle, or have its owner’s written permission to use it and valid proof of 

insurance.; and (v) sign an appropriate waiver/liability form prior to the start of the 

course. 

 

4. The training site must issue a completed DMV‐approved certificate of completion to each 

participant who successfully completes course in the program. 

 

5. Approved training sites must provide the following information to DMV for each course 

within 20 business days of course completion through the online Traffic Records 

Electronic Data System (TREDS), the following. 

a. Type of course and date of completion. 

b. Name and MSF RiderCoach certification number of each instructor 

(RiderCoach). 

c. Name, address, driver’s license number, and date of birth of all participants 

enrolled in the course. 

d. Course completion status of each participant. 

e. Notify DMV Motorcycle Safety Program when a RiderCoach begins training with 

the site. The following Information must be provided: The name, address, 

driver’s license number, and certification number of each instructor. 

 

6. Training sites must retain a copy of each participant’s waiver form and original course 

evaluation form. Along with establishing and maintaining records of course administration, to 

include the information outlined in sub‐section 5 of this section, for a five‐year period 

following the course completion (MSF RERP Agreement is five years). DMV may audit course 

records or monitor and evaluate all aspects of a training site’s operation. 

 
 

7. The location of training sites must be in accordance with DMV’s administrative districts and no 

training site may change its geographical location without written DMV approval. 

 

8. No license may be transferred or assigned as a result of any change in (i) the individual who is 

authorized to obligate the training site, (ii) ownership, or (iii) officers in a corporation or other 



6  

business entity without the written approval of DMV. Such approval is based on the licensing 

requirements established by DMV. 
 

9. Training sites must ensure that RiderCoaches maintain the minimum qualifications and 

meet any other requirements established in Virginia Code or otherwise established by 

DMV. The DMV may terminate a training course if it finds a RiderCoach in violation of any 

provision of Va. Code § 46.2‐1188 et seq. 

 

 

License Renewal 
 

All applicants for renewed licenses must complete the application form TSS 96 at least 30 days 

prior to the license expiration date. DMV will review and respond to such applications within 30 

days unless additional information is requested by DMV. Any applicant denied a license will, 

upon his or her written request made within 30 days of the Commissioner’s action, be given a 

hearing at a time and place determined by the Commissioner or his or her designee. All hearings 

under this section will be public and will be held as soon as practicable but in no case later than 

30 days from receipt of the hearing request. The applicant may be represented by counsel. Any 

applicant denied a license may not apply again for the same type of license for 180 calendar 

days from the date of denial of the application. 

 

In addition to the TSS 96 form and the required documentation, license renewal applications 

must include the following: 

1. Overall program budget. (Only required for reimbursed sites) 

2. Total cost of training to the student. 

3. Amount of funds requested from the DMV Motorcycle Safety Program. (Only 

required for reimbursed sites) 

4. Number of students expected to be trained for each year of license. 

5. Use of approved curricula and course books. 

6. Condition and safety of required equipment, and facilities, including classroom, storage 

areas, and range. 

7. Condition of motorcycles and helmets. 

8. Statutorily required insurance (P&P pg. 4 subsection K). 

9. Statement as to the ability and willingness of the applicant to meet all requirements set 

forth in the license application. 

 

 

RiderCoaches 
 

Training sites may only employ MSF Certified RiderCoaches that have completed the appropriate 

applications and meet the following minimum qualifications: 

 
1. Have a current, valid driver’s license, endorsed for motorcycle operation, that is neither 

suspended, revoked, cancelled, nor under probation, with less than six demerit points in a 

12‐month period and no conviction for any of the offenses enumerated in subsection E of Va. 
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Code § 18.2‐270; 

2. Be a valid training course instructor, as approved by the DMV Motorcycle Safety Program, 

which includes: 

a. Attending all required program clinics offered by the DMV Motorcycle Safety 

Program that provides continuously updated course and motorcycle safety 

education. 

b. Conducting themselves in a professional manner, including, but not limited to, 

using appropriate language, and having interactions with participants and others 

involved in the course that are free from threat and intimidation. 

c. Avoid putting course participants or others associated with course instruction in 

physical danger during periods of instruction using appropriate instructional 

techniques and methods. 

d. Complying with other requirements specified in Virginia law, the 

Motorcycle Safety Foundation, or otherwise established by DMV. 

 

3. Within every two‐year recertification cycle: complete 4 Basic RiderCourses (BRC, eP1x11, 

or 3WBRC) and attend two different DMV Motorcycle Safety Program 

approved Professional Development Workshops (PDW) each calendar year. Log 

onto the MSF’s Rider Education and Training System On‐Line Resource Guide 

(RETSORG) to maintain your MSF Certified credentials. 

 

4. Notify MSF and DMV of any change in RiderCoach status and/or contact information at 

www.msf‐usa.org and e‐mail the following address: MCSafety@dmv.virginia.gov. 
 

These requirements do not apply to those RiderCoaches who were active and in good standing 

prior to being stationed outside the United States, during the period of such person’s service in 

the armed services of the United States, and 60 days thereafter. However, temporary 

exemptions may not exceed five years. Any person who receives a temporary exemption must 

provide documentation or other proof that they are entitled to the exemption, 

Course Aide 
 

A range aide can be used to assist with non‐instructional support, performing such tasks as 

operating classroom equipment, setting cones for range exercises, maintaining motorcycles, etc. 

Course aides may not evaluate or coach participants. Once approved by the site manager, the 

course aide may conduct riding and simulated practice demonstrations under the direct 

supervision of a RiderCoach. 
 

Ranges 
 

Approved training sites must have access to a paved range area for the on‐cycle portion of the 

novice, experienced, and three‐wheeled motorcycle courses that are consistent with the 

minimum range requirements established by DMV‐approved curriculum. The training site must 

have a current Rider Education Recognition Program (RERP) number for the training range from 

the Motorcycle Safety Foundation (MSF). For more information on how to obtain a RERP, please 

refer to www.msf‐usa.org. 

https://msf-usa.org/
mailto:MCSafety@dmv.virginia.gov
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Motorcycles 
 

In compliance with the code of Virginia 46.2‐1190.2.B, the training site shall be responsible 

for procuring and providing a minimum of one motorcycle per student. Each motorcycle shall 

be of a type that may lawfully be operated on the highways of the Commonwealth and, 

subject to the provisions set by the DMV‐approved curriculum. Each participant in the 

BRC2/BRC2u BRC2 LW shall provide a motorcycle for use in the course. One three‐ wheeled 

motorcycle, provided by the training site, shall be required for use by every two students in the 

course. A participant may use their own three‐wheel motorcycle. 

 

All motorcycles used in course instruction must display a current Virginia State Police‐Virginia 

State Inspection decal. 

 

 

Completion Certificates & Rider Alert Cards 
 

Copies of those completion certificates must be kept on location at the training site. When a 

TSS97 form is issued to a student, the site will retain a record of issuance and record the 

certificate number both in TREDS and site records. The certificates must include the students’ 

names (last, first, middle initial, birth date), the type of endorsement checked (M2 or M3), site 

name, school code, course completion date, and be signed by the RiderCoach. Sites should 

request an adequate supply of Rider Alert Cards from the Richmond Ambulance Authority and 

provide said cards to each student in the course. General information about Rider Alert cards 

can be found on their website. Ordering of Rider Alert cards 

Retesting of Skill and Knowledge Evaluations 

 

DMV provides a 30‐day provisional motorcycle license, once a student is issued a Virginia 

Motorcycle Safety Course Completion Certificate (TSS 97), there will be no retesting of the skill or 

knowledge test. The student is required to attend another course. 

Prior to a student being issued a TSS 97: A licensed training site may offer retesting within the 

following guidelines: 

• It is the discretion of the school to determine if retesting is appropriate for the 

skill or knowledge test. 

https://raaems.org/motorcycle-safety-program/
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• The appropriate test may be retaken in its entirety one additional time within a 

20‐ day period. 
 

Rider Coach Preparation Course 
 

All RiderCoach Preparation (RCP) courses will be approved through the DMV Motorcycle 

Safety Program. All course documentation will include each student an Instructor/Rider Coach 

Application (TSS 98), and a current 5‐year driving record. The RiderCoach Trainer must submit 

a report of students who have successfully completed the course of instruction. This 

documentation will be sent to the DMV Motorcycle Safety Education Coordinator Program 

Manager 10 business days prior to the commencement of training. The RiderCoach Trainer 

must submit a report of students who have successfully completed the course of instruction. 

 

Penalties and Remedies for Violations of License Requirements 
 

 

1. DMV will impose the following penalties on any training site for violations of the 

requirements established by DMV: 

a. Limit the type of instruction provided by the training site. 

b. Suspend or revoke the license of the training site. 

c. Impose a civil penalty. 

d. Impose any combination of the penalties set forth in this subsection. 

 

2. When violations occur that are not found by DMV to pose a threat to the health, safety or 

welfare of the public or the course participants, instructors, or others associated with the 

course, DMV will (i) notify the training site of the violations that have occurred, (ii) direct 

corrective action to be completed by the training site within 30 calendar days, and (iii) require a 

formal written response documenting that corrections have been made as directed. Such 

violations are typically associated with, but not limited to, training site administration and 

operations. If corrections are not completed as directed, DMV will notify the training site and 

may impose any or all sanctions set forth in subsection 1 of this section. Such penalties will 

continue until all required corrections are made and DMV receives formal documentation 

confirming compliance. 

 

3. DMV will suspend the license of any training site that receives three or more notices under 

subsection 2 within any 12‐month period. Such suspensions will be for an initial 90‐day 

period and will continue until all required corrections are made and DMV receives formal 

documentation confirming compliance. 

 

4. When violations occur that are found by DMV to pose a threat to the health, safety, or 

welfare of the public or the course participants, instructors, or others associated with the 

course, DMV will (i) notify the training site of the violations that have occurred and 

immediately limit all types of instruction provided by the training site, (ii) direct corrective 

action to be completed by the training site within 30 calendar days of receipt of notice of such 

https://ps1.dmv.virginia.gov/intranet/forms/pdf/tss98.pdf
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violations and (iii) will require a formal written response documenting that corrections have 

been made as directed. If corrections are not completed as directed, DMV will suspend the 

license of the training site and impose a civil penalty. The period of such license suspension 

will continue until all required corrections are made and DMV receives formal documentation 

confirming compliance. If the required corrections are not made within 30 calendar days of 

the suspension, DMV will revoke the license. 

 

5. Once a training site license is revoked, DMV will not renew or reissue the license until (i) it 

receives formal documentation confirming compliance with the required corrective actions, 

and (ii) the training site applies for renewal or re‐issuance. Such training sites are not eligible 

to apply for a license again until 180 calendar days after DMV receives formal documentation 

confirming compliance with the required corrective actions. 

 

6. Notice of an order suspending or revoking a license, imposing a limitation on training site 

operations, or imposing a civil penalty, and advising the licensee of the opportunity for a 

hearing as a result of such order, will be in writing and mailed to the licensee by registered 

mail to the training site address as shown on the most recent licensee’s application for 

license and will be considered served when mailed. Upon receipt of a request for a hearing 

appealing the order, the licensee will have the opportunity for a hearing as soon as 

practicable, but in no case later than 30 days from receipt of the hearing request. The order 

will remain in effect pending the outcome of the hearing. 

 

 

License Denial, Suspension, and Revocation 
 

A training site’s license may be denied, suspended, or revoked based on any one or more of the 

following grounds, where applicable: 

 

1. Material misstatement or omission in the application for a license. 

 

2. Failure to comply after receipt of a written notice from DMV or any willful failure to comply 

with a lawful order, any provision of this article, or any term, condition, or restriction of a 

license. 

 

3. Failure to comply with zoning or other land use regulations, ordinances, or statutes. 

 

4. Use of deceptive business acts or practices. 

 

5. Knowingly advertising by any means any assertion, representation, or statement of fact that is 

untrue, misleading, or deceptive relating to the conduct of the business for which a license is held 

or sought. 

 

6. Having been found, through a judicial or administrative hearing, to have committed fraudulent 

or deceptive acts in connection with the training site for which a license is held or sought, or 

any consumer‐related fraud. 
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7. Having been convicted of any criminal act involving the training site for which a license is 

held or sought. 

 

8. Improper assignment, lending, or otherwise allowing the improper use of a license. 

 

9. Any corporate officer, owner, administrator, and any individual authorized to obligate the 

training site having been convicted of a felony. 

 

10. Any corporate officer, owner, administrator, and any individual authorized to obligate the 

training site having been convicted of any misdemeanor involving lying, cheating, stealing, or 

moral turpitude. 

 

11. Failure to furnish DMV information, documentation, or records required or requested 

pursuant to this article. 
 

12. Knowingly and willfully filing any false report, account, record, or memorandum. 

 

13. Willfully altering or changing the appearance or wording of a training site license or a course 

completion certificate. 

 

14. Failure to provide services in accordance with the terms, limitations, conditions, or 

requirements of the license; or 

 

15. Failure to comply with other state and federal requirements relating to training site 

operations. 
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