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The Department of Planning and Budget (DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this 

proposed regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia (Code) and 

Executive Order 19. The analysis presented below represents DPB’s best estimate of the 

potential economic impacts as of the date of this analysis.1 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation 

The Board of Nursing (Board) is proposing to amend six regulations to increase fees for 

its licensed professions in order to comply with Virginia Code § 54.1-113 B (the Callahan Act).2  

Background 

The Callahan Act requires the Department of Health Professions (DHP) and its boards to 

revise fees in situations in which “expenses allocated to [the board] for the past biennium…[are] 

 
1 Code § 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses determine the public benefits and costs of the 

proposed amendments. Further the analysis should include but not be limited to: (1) the projected number of 

businesses or other entities to whom the proposed regulatory action would apply, (2) the identity of any localities 

and types of businesses or other entities particularly affected, (3) the projected number of persons and employment 

positions to be affected, (4) the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to implement or comply with the 

regulation, and (5) the impact on the use and value of private property. 
2 See https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title54.1/chapter1/section54.1-113/. 
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more than ten percent greater or less than moneys collected on behalf of the board.”3 DHP 

reports that over the 2022-2024 biennium, the Board’s total expenditures were $35,973,319 and 

total revenues were $29,625,358. Since the expenses exceed the revenues by 21 percent, these 

numbers would appear to satisfy the requirements of the Callahan Act, suggesting that a fee 

increase is necessary. DHP also reports that that the Board is not currently in a deficit, with a 

cash balance of $2,480,785 at the end of FY 2024. However, the Board is projected to have a 

deficit of roughly $2.5 million by the end of the current fiscal year and a deficit of roughly $8 

million by the close of FY 2026.4  

DHP reports that the fees for this Board were last increased in 20115 and that there was 

also a one-time reduction in renewal fees in 2017.6 DHP reports that since the last fee increase, 

the Board has experienced an increase in salaries (enacted by the General Assembly) as well as 

increases in infrastructure costs such as those attributed to technology and real estate. In addition, 

DHP reports that the number of licensees under this Board has increased by 44 percent over the 

last 20 years; as a result, the number of disciplinary cases and investigations, and the allocated 

costs from enforcement and administrative proceedings have also increased. Lastly, the federal 

government requires the Board to maintain the Certified Nurse Aide (CNA) registry but limits 

the fees that can be charged to CNAs.7 DHP reports that the expenditures for the registry were 

over $3 million in FY 2024.  

 To prevent the anticipated deficit, the Board proposes to increase fees for most categories 

of practitioners and programs by 65-70 percent. Incidental fees, such as those for late renewal or 

reinstatement, would be increased by a greater percentage than fees that are required for all 

licensees. Further, some licensees, such as Advanced Practice Registered Nurses (APRNs) would 

face a higher percentage fee increase to reflect their higher earning potential, whereas Licensed 

Massage Therapists (LMTs) would face a higher percentage fee increase because the profession 

generates a higher number of more complex disciplinary cases that take up more Board member 

 
3 It should be noted that the Callahan Act does not specify whether “moneys collected on behalf of the board” refers 

only to the revenues in the immediately preceding biennium or if it also includes the cash balance from the biennium 

prior to that.  
4 See page 3 of the Agency Background Document (ABD) 

https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=27\6414\10416\AgencyStatement_DHP_10416_v1.pdf.  
5 See https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewAction.cfm?actionid=3110. 
6 See https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewAction.cfm?actionid=4772. 
7 See https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-42/chapter-IV/subchapter-G/part-483/subpart-D/section-483.156. 

https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=27/6414/10416/AgencyStatement_DHP_10416_v1.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewAction.cfm?actionid=3110
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewAction.cfm?actionid=4772
https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-42/chapter-IV/subchapter-G/part-483/subpart-D/section-483.156
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and staff time.8 The Board does not propose to increase fees for Licensed Certified Midwives as 

they are a newly added license category and there are only six licensees as of June 2024. The 

proposed fee increases, which are listed in the following table, are expected to generate 

approximately $10 million in additional revenue per year.  

Lastly, the Board proposes to (i) add a new criminal background check administrative fee 

of $25 in the nursing regulation (Chapter 19) and massage therapists regulation (Chapter 50), (ii) 

repeal a $35 verification of license fee for nurses (Chapter 19) since licenses can now be verified 

online at no cost, and (iii) repeal a $35 fee for a transcript of all or part of applicant/licensee 

records in the massage therapists regulation (chapter 50).  

 

FEE TYPE CURRENT 

FEE 

PROPOSED 

FEE 

DOLLAR 

CHANGE 

PERCENTAGE 

CHANGE 

Nursing, 18 VAC 90-19 

Registered Nurse (RN) licensure 

by exam 

$190  $315  $125 65.79 % 

RN licensure by endorsement $190  $315 $125 65.79 % 

Licensed Practical Nurse (LPN) 

licensure by exam 

$170  $280 $11 64.71 % 

LPN licensure by endorsement $170  $280 $110 64.71 % 

Reapply for licensure by exam $50  $85 $35 70.00 % 

RN biennial renewal $140  $230 $90 64.29 % 

RN biennial inactive renewal $70  $115 $45 64.29 % 

LPN biennial renewal $120  $200 $80 66.67 % 

LPN biennial inactive renewal $60  $100 $40 66.67 % 

RN late renewal $50  $115 $65 130.00 % 

RN late inactive renewal $25  $60 $35 140.00 % 

LPN late renewal $40  $90 $50 125.00 % 

LPN late inactive renewal $20  $45 $25 125.00 % 

RN reinstate lapsed license $225  $450 $225 100.00 % 

LPN reinstate lapsed license $200  $400 $200 100.00 % 

Reinstate suspended/revoked  $300  $600 $300 100.00 % 

Duplicate license $15  $30 $15 100.00 % 

Replacement wall certificate $25  $50 $25 100.00 % 

Educational transcript $35  $70 $35 100.00 % 

Certified Nurse Aides, 18 VAC 90-16 

 
8 See pages 8-14 of the ABD for details regarding the rationale for fee increases for each chapter. 
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Annual renewal $30  $35 $5 16.67 % 

Advanced CNA certification $25  $30 $5 20.00 % 

Advanced CNA renewal $20  $25 $5 25.00 % 

Reinstatement of Advanced CNA 

certification 

$30  $35 $5 16.67 % 

Nursing Education Programs, 18 VAC 90-27 

Program approval $1,650  $2,475 $825 50.00 % 

Survey visit $2,200  $3,300 $1,100 50.00 % 

Site visit $1,500  $2,250 $750 50.00 % 

Advanced Practice Registered Nurses, 18 VAC 90-30 

Application fee $125  $250 $125 100.00 % 

Biennial renewal $80  $130 $50 62.50 % 

Late renewal $25  $100 $75 300.00 % 

Reinstatement $150  $300 $150 100.00 % 

Duplicate license $15  $30 $15 100.00 % 

Duplicate wall certificate $25  $50 $25 100.00 % 

Reinstate suspended/revoked $200  $400 $200 100.00 % 

Autonomous practice attestation $100  $200 $100 100.00 % 

Massage therapists, 18 VAC 90-50 

Application/initial licensure $140  $280 $140 100.00 % 

Biennial renewal $95  $190 $95 100.00 % 

Late renewal $30  $70 $40 133.33 % 

Reinstatement $150  $300 $150 100.00 % 

Reinstate suspended/revoked $200  $400 $200 100.00 % 

Duplicate license $15  $30 $15 100.00 % 

Replacement wall certificate $25  $50 $25 100.00 % 

Medication Aides, 18 VAC 90-60 

Program approval application $500  $875 $375 75.00 % 

Registration application $50  $80 $30 60.00 % 

Annual renewal $30  $50 $20 66.67 % 

Late renewal $15  $35 $20 133.33 % 

Reinstatement $90  $180 $90 100.00 % 

Duplicate registration $15  $30 $15 100.00 % 

Reinstate suspended/revoked $120  $240 $120 100.00 % 

 

Estimated Benefits and Costs 

The proposed fee increases would increase costs for current and prospective nurses (RNs 

and LPNs), CNAs, APRNs, LMTs, medication aides, as well as nursing education programs and 

medication aide training programs. The increased fees would allow the Board to remain 

financially solvent and continue to provide oversight for these professions, including issuing 
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licenses, conducting inspections, investigating complaints, and implementing any disciplinary 

actions. This in turn would maintain public confidence in these professionals and protect public 

safety from unscrupulous actors. 

Businesses and Other Entities Affected  

 As mentioned previously, the proposed fee increases would increase costs for current and 

prospective nurses (RNs and LPNs), CNAs, APRNs, LMTs, medication aides, as well as nursing 

education programs and medication aide training programs. At the close of FY 2024, the Board 

reported having 27,063 LPNs and 122,291 RNs; 51,552 CNAs and 50 Advanced CNAs; 20,988 

APRNs; 8,263 LMTs; 7,377 medication aides; 40 practical schools of nursing and 67 

professional schools of nursing, and 215 medication aide training programs.9 

The Code of Virginia requires DPB to assess whether an adverse impact may result from 

the proposed regulation.10 An adverse impact is indicated if there is any increase in net cost or 

reduction in net benefit for any entity, even if the benefits exceed the costs for all entities 

combined.11 Since the proposed amendments would increase costs, an adverse impact is 

indicated for the various nursing professionals and the training programs that would face higher 

fees.  

Small Businesses12 Affected:13  

  Types and Estimated Number of Small Businesses Affected 

 Since the Board licenses individuals and not firms, no data on the number of 

affected small firms are available. Small businesses that employ RNs, LPNs, CNAs, 

 
9 Source: DHP. See https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/about/stats/2024Q4/04CurrentLicenseCountQ4FY2024.pdf.  
10 Pursuant to Code § 2.2-4007.04(D): In the event this economic impact analysis reveals that the proposed 

regulation would have an adverse economic impact on businesses or would impose a significant adverse economic 

impact on a locality, business, or entity particularly affected, the Department of Planning and Budget shall advise 

the Joint Commission on Administrative Rules, the House Committee on Appropriations, and the Senate Committee 

on Finance. 
11 Statute does not define “adverse impact,” state whether only Virginia entities should be considered, nor indicate 

whether an adverse impact results from regulatory requirements mandated by legislation. As a result, DPB has 

adopted a definition of adverse impact that assesses changes in net costs and benefits for each affected Virginia 

entity that directly results from discretionary changes to the regulation. 
12 Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, small business is defined as “a business entity, including its 

affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and (ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has 

gross annual sales of less than $6 million.” 
13 If the proposed regulatory action may have an adverse effect on small businesses, Code § 2.2-4007.04 requires 

that such economic impact analyses include: (1) an identification and estimate of the number of small businesses 

subject to the proposed regulation, (2) the projected reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 

required for small businesses to comply with the proposed regulation, including the type of professional skills 

https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/about/stats/2024Q4/04CurrentLicenseCountQ4FY2024.pdf
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APRNs, or medication aides may be indirectly affected if they pay for their employees’ 

license renewal fees. However, many of the LMTs may be self-employed/sole proprietors 

or employed by small businesses such as spas. Some nursing education and medication 

aide training programs may meet the definition of small businesses. 

  Costs and Other Effects 

 To the extent that small businesses pay for the practitioners’ licensure fees, their 

costs would increase commensurately with the proposed increases. Small businesses that 

operate training programs would face higher costs due to the increase in training program 

fees. 

  Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact 

 There are no clear alternative methods that both reduce adverse impact and meet 

the intended policy goals.    

Localities14 Affected15 

The proposed amendments do not appear to disproportionally affect any locality in 

particular or affect costs for local governments. 

Projected Impact on Employment 

 The proposed amendments would not be expected to affect employment prospects or 

entry into the profession for RNs, LPNs, CNAs, APRNs, LMTs, or medication aides.  

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property 

 The proposed fee increases would increase costs for private nursing education programs 

and medication aide training programs. Potentially, this may result in a modest decrease in their 

value. 

 The proposed amendments do not affect real estate development costs.  

 

 

 
necessary for preparing required reports and other documents, (3) a statement of the probable effect of the proposed 

regulation on affected small businesses, and  (4) a description of any less intrusive or less costly alternative methods 

of achieving the purpose of the proposed regulation.  Additionally, pursuant to Code § 2.2-4007.1, if there is a 

finding that a proposed regulation may have an adverse impact on small business, the Joint Commission on 

Administrative Rules shall be notified. 
14 “Locality” can refer to either local governments or the locations in the Commonwealth where the activities 

relevant to the regulatory change are most likely to occur. 
15   § 2.2-4007.04 defines “particularly affected" as bearing disproportionate material impact. 
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