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This information is required pursuant to the Administrative Process Act (§ 9-6.14:9.1 et seq. of the Code of Virginia), 
Executive Order Twenty-Five (98), Executive Order Fifty-Eight (99), and the Virginia Register Form,Style and 
Procedure Manual.  Please refer to these sources for more information and other materials required to be submitted 
in the regulatory review package.   

 

Summary  

Please provide a brief summary of the proposed new regulation, proposed amendments to an existing 
regulation, or the regulation proposed to be repealed.  There is no need to state each provision or 
amendment or restate the purpose and intent of the regulation; instead give a summary of the regulatory 
action and alert the reader  to all substantive matters or changes.  If applicable, generally describe the 
existing regulation.   
 

The Board of Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology proposes amendments to its 
regulations to provide continued competency requirements for renewal of an active license to 
practice.  For each biennial renewal, the licensee shall be required to complete 30 hours of 
continuing learning activities, at least 15 of which must be provided by an accredited sponsor as 
approved by the board through its regulations.  A maximum of 15 hours may be in non-
accredited activities that the learner considers beneficial to his practice.  In addition, amended 
regulations establish an inactive license and set the renewal fee and requirements for reactivation 
of such a license. 
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Basis 
 

Please identify the state and/or federal source of legal authority to promulgate the regulation.  The 
discussion of this statutory authority should: 1) describe its scope and the extent to which it is mandatory 
or discretionary; and 2) include a brief statement relating the content of the statutory authority to the 
specific regulation.  In addition, where applicable, please describe the extent to which proposed changes 
exceed federal minimum requirements.  Full citations of legal authority and, if available, web site 
addresses for locating the text of the cited authority must be provided.  Please state that the Office of the 
Attorney General has certified that the agency has the statutory authority to promulgate the proposed 
regulation and that it comports with applicable state and/or federal law.  
 
18 VAC 30-20-10 et seq.: Regulations Governing the Practice of Audiology and Speech-
Language Pathology was promulgated under the general authority of Title 54.1 of the Code of 
Virginia. 
 
 Chapter 24 establishes the general powers and duties of health regulatory boards including 
the responsibility to establish qualifications for licensure, to set fees and schedules for renewal, to 
establish requirements for an inactive license and to promulgate regulations, in accordance with the 
Administrative Process Act, which are reasonable and necessary to effectively administer the 
regulatory system. 
 
 § 54.1-2400. General powers and duties of health regulatory boards.--The general powers 
and duties of health regulatory boards shall be: 
 

1.  To establish the qualifications for registration, certification or licensure in accordance 
with the applicable law which are necessary to ensure competence and integrity to 
engage in the regulated professions.  

 
2.  To examine or cause to be examined applicants for certification or licensure.  Unless 

otherwise required by law, examinations shall be administered in writing or shall be a 
demonstration of manual skills. 

 
3.  To register, certify or license qualified applicants as practitioners of the particular 

profession or professions regulated by such board. 
 

4.  To establish schedules for renewals of registration, certification and licensure. 
 

5.  To levy and collect fees for application processing, examination, registration, 
certification or licensure and renewal that are sufficient to cover all expenses for the 
administration and operation of the Department of Health Professions, the Board of 
Health Professions and the health regulatory boards. 

 
6.  To promulgate regulations in accordance with the Administrative Process Act (§ 9-

6.14:1 et seq.) which are reasonable and necessary to administer effectively the 
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regulatory system. Such regulations shall not conflict with the purposes and intent of 
this chapter or of Chapter 1 and Chapter 25 of this title. 

 
7.  To revoke, suspend, restrict, or refuse to issue or renew a registration, certificate or 

license which such board has authority to issue for causes enumerated in applicable 
law and regulations. 

 
8.  To appoint designees from their membership or immediate staff to coordinate with the 

Intervention Program Committee and to implement, as is necessary, the provisions of 
Chapter 25.1 (§ 54.1-2515 et seq.) of this title. Each health regulatory board shall 
appoint one such designee.  

 
9.    To take appropriate disciplinary action for violations of applicable law and  

regulations.  
 
10.  To appoint a special conference committee, composed of not less than two members 

of a health regulatory board, to act in accordance with § 9-6.14:11 upon receipt of 
information that a practitioner of the appropriate board may be subject to 
disciplinary action. The special conference committee may (i) exonerate the 
practitioner; (ii) reinstate the practitioner; (iii) place the practitioner on probation 
with such terms as it may deem appropriate; (iv) reprimand the practitioner; (v) 
modify a previous order; and (vi) impose a monetary penalty pursuant to § 54.1-
2401. The order of the special conference committee shall become final thirty days 
after service of the order unless a written request to the board for a hearing is 
received within such time. If service of the decision to a party is accomplished by 
mail, three days shall be added to the thirty-day period. Upon receiving a timely 
written request for a hearing, the board or a panel of the board shall then proceed 
with a hearing as provided in § 9-6.14:12, and the action of the committee shall be 
vacated. This subdivision shall not be construed to affect the authority or procedures 
of the Boards of Medicine and Nursing pursuant to §§ 54.1-2919 and 54.1-3010.  

 
11.  To convene, at their discretion, a panel consisting of at least five board members or, 

if a quorum of the board is less than five members, consisting of a quorum of the 
members to conduct formal proceedings pursuant to § 9-6.14:12, decide the case, and 
issue a final agency case decision. Any decision rendered by majority vote of such 
panel shall have the same effect as if made by the full board and shall be subject to 
court review in accordance with the Administrative Process Act. No member who 
participates in an informal proceeding conducted in accordance with § 9-6.14:11 
shall serve on a panel conducting formal proceedings pursuant to § 9-6.14:12 to 
consider the same matter.  

 
12.  To issue inactive licenses and certificates and promulgate regulations to carry out such 

purpose.  Such regulations shall include, but not be limited to, the qualifications, 
renewal fees, and conditions for reactivation of such licenses or certificates. 
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In addition to § 54.1-2400 (cited above), the Board is also authorized by § 54.1-103 to specify 
additional training or conditions for practitioners seeking renewal of licenses. 
  
§ 54.1-103. Additional training of regulated persons; reciprocity; endorsement. 
 
A.  The regulatory boards within the Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation and 
the Department of Health Professions may promulgate regulations specifying additional training 
or conditions for individuals seeking certification or licensure, or for the renewal of certificates or 
licenses.  
 

Purpose  

Please provide a statement explaining the need for the new or amended regulation.  This statement must 
include the rationale or justification of the proposed regulatory action and detail the specific reasons it is 
essential to protect the health, safety or welfare of citizens.  A statement of a general nature is not 
acceptable, particular rationales must be explicitly discussed.  Please include a discussion of the goals of 
the proposal and the problems the proposal is intended to solve. 
 
At a strategic planning retreat in 1998, the Board adopted a Mission Statement which says: “The 
Mission of the Board of Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology is to protect the health, safety 
and welfare of the consumer by licensing qualified individuals and by working to assure the quality 
of care, enforce compliance with regulations and statutes governing the practice, and promote the 
integrity of the professions.”  Among the obstacles to its achieving its mission, the Board identified:  
no standard for continuing competency of practitioners; changing technology and the need for the 
Board to be able to respond; the demand for a reduced level of care to the lowest common 
denominator; and a trend toward multi-skilling.  
 
The Code of Virginia specifically authorizes the Board to establish requirements for relicensure 
which will assure the continuing competency of the practitioners it licenses.  As the practices of 
audiology and speech-language pathology have evolved and changed, the minimal competencies 
that were evidenced by completion of requirements for initial licensure may no longer be adequate.   
 
In the professions of audiology and speech-language pathology, the knowledge base has continued 
to grow, but the growth in utilization of technology has been even more dramatic.  Educational 
programs have been modified to accommodate changes in practice and to incorporate newer 
technology, but some who currently hold licensure are not be keeping up with those changes and 
may not be offering the consumers of the Commonwealth the most competent and safest care.   
While no definitive numbers are available, it is estimated by members of the Board that only about 
half of its licensees regularly obtain hours of continuing education .  That estimate was borne out by 
a 1997 survey of licensees in which approximately half of the respondents indicated that some 
continuing education requirement for licensure would have a financial impact.  While only 607 
licensees out of approximately 2068 responded, that is statistically a good sampling of the 
population. 
 
In addition, the economic demands of third-party payers have led to an increased use of assistive 
personnel in the practices of audiology and speech-language pathology.  With such usage, there are 
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new demands on the licensed professionals to make evaluative judgements on which tests and 
procedures can be safely delegated to these unlicensed, unregulated persons.  There is a need for 
continuing education in the delegation of tasks to such persons who are treating consumers with 
disabilities who are being rehabilitated from disease or injury.   
 
Therefore, the Board now finds that it is essential to establish some evidence of continuing 
education as a condition for renewal of licensure in order to assure the public of the continuing 
competency and safety of its practitioners. 
 
For some practitioners who are now retired or are practicing out of state but who wish to retain their 
Virginia license, the necessity of acquiring continuing education would result in an unnecessary 
burden and expense.  The Department sought legislation, which was included in the Governor’s 
legislative package for the 1998 General Assembly, to authorize the establishment of an inactive 
license.  Therefore, the Board is authorized to develop and propose regulations for inactive licensure 
to include a fee for such a license and any remedial education or professional activity it deems 
necessary to assure that the practitioner is prepared to return to active practice with minimal safety 
and skill. 
 
In the development of amendments to these regulations, the Board has used the "Principles for Fee 
Development" adopted by the Department in 1999 to be applied across all professions and all 
boards.  In doing so, it became necessary to lower several of the miscellaneous fees charged for a 
specific purpose - specifically the fees providing a duplicate wall certificate or license and for 
reinstatement of an expired license.   
 

Substance 
 

Please identify and explain the new substantive provisions, the substantive changes to existing sections, 
or both where appropriate.  Please note that a more detailed discussion is required under the statement 
providing detail of the regulatory action’s changes.  

Amendments to regulations have been proposed to establish a requirement for 30 hours per 
biennium in activities or educational courses as an indication of continuing competency.  
Regulations state that a minimum of 15 hours must be Type 1, or activities offered by an 
accredited sponsor as approved by board regulation; no more than 15 of the hours may be Type 2 
activities which may or may not be offered by accredited sponsor but are considered by the 
practitioner to be valuable to his clinical practice.   

Since there are many areas of practice for audiology and speech-language pathology in which 
there are overlapping modalities or conditions, the Board has provided a 45-hour continuing 
competency requirement for persons who are dually licensed in both fields.  Knowledge gained 
in one is likely to be beneficial to practice in another.  Examples of overlapping subject matter 
include:  central auditory processing, otitis media (ear infections) which may affect speech, 
psychoacoustics, aphasis, an impairment of the ability to use or comprehend words, usually 
acquired as a result of a stroke or other brain injury, and treatment of children with hearing loss 
that typically results in the need for speech therapy.   
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Amendments will also stipulate provisions for record-keeping, a random audit of licensees for 
compliance, an exemption for the first renewal cycle following initial licensure, and conditions 
for waivers or exemptions.  Amendments to regulations will also establish an inactive license, a 
fee for renewal of such a license, and conditions for reinstatement of an inactive or lapsed license 
to include some indication of continued competency to practice.  

 

Issues 
 
Please provide a statement identifying the issues associated with the proposed regulatory action.  The 
term “issues” means: 1) the primary advantages and disadvantages to the public, such as individual 
private citizens or businesses, of implementing the new or amended provisions; 2) the primary 
advantages and disadvantages to the agency or the Commonwealth; and 3) other pertinent matters of 
interest to the regulated community, government officials, and the public.  If there are no disadvantages to 
the public or the Commonwealth, please include a sentence to that effect. 

Issues which were addressed by the ad hoc advisory committee, the Regulatory/Legislative 
Committee and the Board include the following: 
 
1) Type and amount of continuing competency requirements 
 
 In order to include varying perspectives on practice in the development of regulations, the 
Board appointed a Task Force on Continuing Competency Requirements with representation from 
public and private practice settings.  Included in the task force to advise the Board were: the 
President of Speech-Language and Hearing Association of Virginia (SHAV), representatives from 
the Veteran's Administration, a large academic institution, Central Virginia Training Center, a large 
hospital system, the home health care industry, a local school system, and several audiologists and 
speech-language pathologists in private practice.  Members of the Board representing both 
professions also served on the Task Force and on the Legislative/Regulatory Committee that 
developed proposed regulations for the Board's consideration.  The two citizen members of the 
Board were significantly involved in the development of regulations; one is responsible for 
continuing education for a large medical center in the state and was able to provide helpful 
expertise. 
 
 The goal of their work and the intent of the Board was to develop requirements that would: 
1) encourage learner-directed continuing education through which the practitioner can identify a 
question or problem, seek the learning activity which provides needed information or teaches a new 
skill, and thereby, enhance his expertise or ability to practice; 2) offer a choice of content and form 
that is flexible enough to meet the needs of the learner in any type of practice in any location in 
Virginia; and 3) assure the public that practitioners providing audiology or speech-language 
treatment are maintaining their skills and competencies.   
 
 As a result of its work over a period of several months, the Task Force and the 
Legislative/Regulatory Committee recommended and the Board adopted a requirement which is 
aimed at involving the audiologist or speech-language pathologist as a continuing learner who is 
consistently assessing the questions and problems encountered in his practice and then making a 
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determination about the knowledge and skills needed to address those issues.  In making the 
assessment, the practitioner is asked to consider issues of ethics, standards of care, patient safety, 
new technology, communication with patients, the changing health care system, and other topics 
influencing practice. 
 

The 30 required hours are divided into two types: (1) In Type 1 continuing learning 
activities, the 15 hours required biennially must be offered by an accredited sponsor or 
organization which is sanctioned by the profession and which provides documentation of hours 
to the practitioner; and (2) In Type 2 continuing learning activities, a maximum of 15 hours 
earned biennially may or may not be approved by an accredited sponsor or organization but shall 
be activities considered by the learner to be beneficial to practice or to continuing learning; 
licensees document their own participation on the form provided by the Board. 

 
In its adoption of these regulations, the Board considered continuing education 

requirements for the two professions in other states, requirements of other boards within the 
Department of Health Professions, and the availability and cost of compliance.  Of the 39 states 
that currently have a continuing education requirement, 20 require a minimum of ten hours in 
one year or 20 hours in two years. The average number among all states is 11.5 hours of 
continuing education per year with a range of 10 hours every two years in West Virginia to 50 
hours every two years in Maine.  Maine and Montana are the only states that list a division 
between approved and unapproved hours, similar to the proposal in Virginia.  In both states, 25 
hours must be gained in sponsored activities every two years, compared with the 15 hours 
proposed in Virginia. 

 
The Board (following the recommendation of the Task Force) elected to model its 

regulations after those adopted by the Board of Medicine, in which half of the hours are 
"unaccredited", learner-directed and documented.  Therefore, of the 30 hours required for 
biennial renewal, only 15 hours would have to be obtained from and documented by an 
accredited sponsor.  The Board determined that was a minimal amount.  In addition, a wide 
range of accredited sponsors for continuing education were approved through the proposed 
regulation, so compliance should not be a burden for any licensee regardless of the practice 
setting or area of the Commonwealth in which he/she works.   
 
2)  Requirements for reactivation of an inactive or lapsed license. 
 
 Along with requirements for continuing competency for renewal of licenses, the Board is 
proposing an inactive license for those practitioners who are now retired or out-of-state and have no 
intention of engaging in active practice in the Commonwealth.  In doing so, requirements for 
reactivation of such a license are necessary to ensure that practitioners are competent to resume 
practice.  The Board determined that it was necessary for a practitioner whose license has been 
inactive or lapsed for two or more years to provide evidence of continuing competency hours equal 
to the amount of time the license has not been active, not to exceed four years.  The Board also 
reserves the right to deny reactivation if an inactive licensee has violated provisions of 
unprofessional conduct. 
     
Advantages to the licensees: 
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 The proposed continuing competency requirements are intended to provide some assurance 
to the public that licensees of the Board are maintaining current knowledge and skills, while 
providing the maximum amount of flexibility and availability to licensees. Board members 
concluded that approximately half of the practitioners already engage in enough learning activities 
to meet the requirements and should only have to maintain documentation of those activities and 
hours. Fifteen of the 30 hours may be earned by the practitioner on his own time and schedule and 
may be hours that are useful to the learner but not accredited or documented by an organization. 
Fifteen of the hours must involve the practitioner in some course or activity which is offered by an 
approved sponsor that does provide documentation of completion.  The resources for earning the 
hours and engaging in the required learning are numerous and readily available in all parts of 
Virginia.  
 
 Disadvantages to the licensees: 
 
 For those practitioners who do not currently engage in any continuing learning in their 
profession, these requirements will represent an additional burden.  While opportunities for 
obtaining continued competencies exist that are without cost, there may be some additional expense 
associated with renewal of licensure.  However, it was determined by enactment of the statute and 
by the Board’s concurrence that those practitioners and their patients would greatly benefit from 
continuing learning requirements, and that the public is better protected if there is some assurance of 
that effort. 
 
Advantages or disadvantages to the public: 

 There are definite advantages of the proposed amended regulations to the public, which will 
have greater assurance that the licensees of the Board are engaged in activities to maintain and 
improve their knowledge and skills in providing care to their patients. 

  

Fiscal Impact 

Please identify the anticipated fiscal impacts and at a minimum include: (a) the projected cost to the state 
to implement and enforce the proposed regulation, including (i) fund source / fund detail, (ii) budget 
activity with a cross-reference to program and subprogram, and (iii) a delineation of one-time versus on-
going expenditures; (b) the projected cost of the regulation on localities; (c) a description of the 
individuals, businesses or other entities that are likely to be affected by the regulation; (d) the agency’s 
best estimate of the number of such entities that will be affected; and e) the projected cost of the 
regulation for affected individuals, businesses, or other entities. 
 
a)  Cost to the agency for implementation and enforcement of proposed regulation: 

 (i)  Fund source:  As a special fund agency, the Board of Audiology and Speech-
Language Pathology must generate sufficient revenue to cover its expenditures from non-general 
funds, specifically the fees it charges to applicants licensees.  
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 (ii)  Budget activity by program or subprogram:  There is no change required in the 
budget of the Commonwealth as a result of this program. 

 (iii)  One-time versus ongoing expenditures:  

One-time expenditures: 

The Board will incur approximately $2,000 in cost for printing and mailing final amended 
regulations to licensees and other interested parties.  There will be no additional cost for 
conducting a public hearing, which will be held in conjunction with a scheduled committee or 
board meeting.   

Ongoing expenditures: 

  Impact on Board revenue:  
 
For those practitioners who are now retired or who are living out-of-state, there may be a 
percentage who will choose to take the inactive status and avoid the renewal requirements for 
continuing learning.  Since the board has no information on practice activity, it is not known how 
many licensees would do so.  To get some estimate of the percentage of active and inactive 
physicians, the Board has looked at figures from other boards with continuing education. For the 
purpose of this analysis, it is assumed that no more than 5% to 10% of licensees will become 
inactive at a loss of revenue of  $3,636 to $7,272 for the biennium (5% to 10% of 2424 licensees 
x $30 per biennium). The renewal fee for an inactive license ($30) is one-half that of an active 
license ($60).  However, if the Board adopts continued competency requirements for renewal 
without the option of an inactive licensure status, there may be some licensees who live out-of-
state or who are retired who would elect to drop the Virginia license altogether. (There are 85 
audiologists and 392 speech-language pathologists who list an out-of-state address; we have no 
information on the number of licensees who are retired.) 
 
In addition, there is a proposed reduction in several miscellaneous fees including the 
reinstatement or late fee (reduced from $50 to $20), the fee for a duplicate wall certificate 
(reduced from $50 to $15), and the fee for a duplicate license (reduced from $10 to $5).  The  
 
 Impact on Board expenditures: 
 
It would be expected that there will be additional costs to the Board for compliance enforcement.  
The Board will conduct a 1 to 2% audit of its licensees at the conclusion of each biennium.  Each 
practitioner selected for the audit will be required to submit the required documentation of 
continuing learning activities.  There will be some staff time involved in review of the 
documentation and in communicating with licensee about their deficiencies.  No additional 
personnel will be required to accomplish this activity. 
 
It is also expected that a small percentage of licensees selected for audit will result in a disciplinary 
case being opened.  From the experience of boards within the agency that currently have continuing 
competency requirements for renewal, the majority of those cases (estimated to be 20-30 per 
biennium) will probably be settled with a pre-hearing consent order.   In those cases, the only costs 
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would be for charges back to the Board from the Administrative Proceedings Division (APD) of the 
Department.  Costs for cases that do result in an informal conference committee proceeding 
(estimated to be 5 to 10 per biennium) would include travel expenses and per diem for board 
members as well as costs for the services of APD.  Informal conference committees typically hear 
several cases in a day, so the costs per case for board member and APD time would be minimized.   
 
Cost estimates for disciplinary cases related to the failure to comply with continuing competency 
regulations range from $100 to cases resulting in pre-hearing consent orders to $500 per case for 
those that result in an informal conference committee.  Total costs for enforcement of continued 
competency requirements could range from $2,000 to $8,000 per biennium.  All expenses relating 
to enforcement of these regulations can be absorbed in the existing budget of the Board. 

b.  Projected cost on localities: 

 There are no projected costs to localities.  Although speech-language pathologists who 
work in the public schools are not required to hold a license from this board, many do. Local 
school boards already require in-service training for their licensees, so those speech-language 
pathologists have the opportunity to acquire continuing education through the public schools. 

c.  Description of entities that are likely to be affected by regulation: 

 Persons who hold a license to practice audiology and/or speech-language pathology and 
who wish to renew their license will be affected by these regulation beginning in 2002. 

d.  Number of persons affected: 

Audiologists    385 
Speech-Language Pathologists 2039 

e.  Projected costs to the affected entities: 

The cost for compliance will vary greatly depending on the practitioner and the type of 
continuing learning activities chosen.  At a conference sponsored by the Speech and Hearing 
Association of Virginia (SHAV), a licensee could obtain 15 hours of approved credit at a cost of 
$95.  That would satisfy the Board's requirement for Type 1 hours for a biennium; Type 2 hours 
can be obtained from reading, consulting on a case, etc. at no cost to the licensee. SHAV also has 
regional workshops across the state, at which a licensee can obtain 6 hours of CE at a cost of $25 
to $40. If a licensee is unable to attend a SHAV conference, there are a variety of other sources 
for continuing education. 

The American Speech and Hearing Association (ASHA) offers courses and videotapes via the 
Internet at a cost ranging from $58 for members to $66 for non-members for 2 hours.  ASHA 
also has an affiliation with 36 profession-related groups or organizations through which 
continuing education could be approved.  Professional journals, such as the Journal of the 
American Academy of Audiology, the American Journal of Speech-Language Pathology, the 
Journal of Speech, Language and Hearing Research and others include articles which could be 
read for continuing competency hours. 
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Courses are also available without any charge through hospitals or other health care organization, 
which provides continuing education for persons on staff.  Persons practicing in a public school 
or governmental agency have in-service training available which will satisfy their continued 
competency requirements.  It is estimated that approximately half of the practitioners already 
obtain sufficient hours and will incur no additional costs.   

The 15 hours of Type 2 continuing learning is self-directed and self-recorded; it does not require 
accreditation or sponsorship.  It may be obtained by reading scholarly journals, working on 
professional committees related to practice issues, observing another practitioner do a procedure, 
and a variety of other methods – all of which can be accomplished at no costs to the practitioner. 
 
There would also be some very minimal costs involved with maintaining records.  With the 
promulgation of these regulations, the Board will send each licensee the required form for 
assessment of practice needs and planning the activities to meet those needs.  The form will also 
be available on the Board’s website and may by downloaded into a file on the individual’s 
personal computer.  The licensee will have to maintain that form and the documentation of 
continuing learning activities for a period of four years.  Total costs for compliance with 
continued competency requirements could range from zero for licensees who have in-service 
courses and programs available through their employer to $200 to licensees who will obtain 
continuing education hours through the state or national associations. 

 

Detail of Changes 

Please detail any changes, other than strictly editorial changes, that are being proposed.  Please detail 
new substantive provisions, all substantive changes to existing sections, or both where appropriate.  This 
statement should provide a section-by-section description - or cross-walk - of changes implemented by 
the proposed regulatory action.  Where applicable, include citations to the specific sections of an existing 
regulation being amended and explain the consequences of the proposed changes.   

The following amendments are proposed for 18 VAC 30-20-10 et seq.: 

18 VAC 30-20-10.  Definitions. 

Definitions are added for Type 1 and Type 2 to provide guidance for continuing competency 
requirements established in 18 VAC 30-20-300. 

18 VAC 30-20-80.  Fees.   

A new fee is established for biennial renewal of an inactive license; it is set at $30 which is half 
the cost of renewal of an active license.  Several miscellaneous fees are reduced for consistency 
with other boards within the Department; those fees include the reinstatement or late fee ($50 to 
$20), the fee for a duplicate wall certificate ($50 to $15) and the fee for a duplicate license ($10 
to $5). 

18 VAC 30-20-160.  Reinstatement of lapsed license. 
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In addition to the current requirement for payment of fees, amendments will require 
documentation of continuing competency hours in order to reinstate a lapsed license.  If the 
license has been lapsed for two years or less, the applicant is required to complete the prescribed 
hours for the period in which the license was lapsed.  If the license is lapsed for more than two 
years, the applicant must meet the requirements for licensure and complete the required hours for 
the lapsed period, not to exceed four years.  In addition, the applicant will be required to provide 
evidence that no disciplinary action has been taken or is pending in any other jurisdiction in 
which he holds a license. 

18 VAC 30-20-300.  Continued competency requirements for renewal of an active license. 

New regulations provide that a licensee must complete 30 hours of continued competency 
activities or course for each biennial renewal; at least 15 hours must be in Type 1 programs or 
courses offered by a sponsor or organization approved by board regulation, that includes state, 
national and international professional associations, accredited colleges and universities, and 
local, state and federal agencies.  No more than 15 hours may be in Type 2 activities which may 
or may not be accredited, may be chosen by the licensee, and must be related to the licensed 
profession.  Licensees in audiology and speech-language pathology must acquire a total of 45 
hours with 30 of those in Type 1 activities or course and a minimum of 15 in each profession.  
The Board has also provided an exemption for licensees on their first renewal, for random audits 
to determine compliance, and a record-keeping requirement of four years following renewal.  
The Board may grant an extension or an exemption for hours of continuing competency for good 
cause shown in accordance with regulations.  

18 VAC 30-20-310.  Inactive license. 

New regulations establish an inactive license which does not entitle the holder to practice his 
profession in Virginia, but also does not require completion of continued competency hours. 

18 VAC 30-20-320.  Reinstatement of an inactive license. 

New regulations establish the criteria for reinstatement of an inactive license to include payment 
of the difference between the current inactive and active fee and completion of continued 
competency hours for the period of time in which the license has been inactive, not to exceed 
four years.  The Board reserves the right to deny reactivation of a license if it is determined that 
the applicant has violated provisions of law or regulation.  
 

Alternatives 

Please describe the specific alternatives to the proposal considered and the rationale used by the agency 
to select the least burdensome or intrusive alternative that meets the essential purpose of the action.   

In the development of regulations, the Board sought to include the different viewpoints and  
varying perspectives on practice.  The Board appointed a Task Force on Continuing Competency 
Requirements with representation from public and private practice settings.  Included in the task 
force to advise the Board were: the President of Speech-Language and Hearing Association of 
Virginia (SHAV), representatives from the Veteran's Administration, a large academic 
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institution, Central Virginia Training Center, a large hospital system, the home health care 
industry, a local school system, and several audiologists and speech-language pathologists in 
private practice.  Members of the Board representing both professions also served on the Task 
Force and on the Legislative/Regulatory Committee that developed proposed regulations for the 
Board's consideration.  The two citizen members of the Board were significantly involved in the 
development of regulations; one is responsible for continuing education for a large medical 
center in the state and was able to provide helpful expertise. 
 
 The goal of their work and the intent of the Board was to develop requirements that would: 
1) encourage learner-directed continuing education through which the practitioner can identify a 
question or problem, seek the learning activity which provides needed information or teaches a new 
skill, and thereby, enhance his expertise or ability to practice; 2) offer a choice of content and form 
that is flexible enough to meet the needs of the learner in any type of practice in any location in 
Virginia; and 3) assure the public that practitioners providing audiology or speech-language 
treatment are maintaining their skills and competencies.   
 
 As a result of its work over a period of several months, the Task Force and the 
Legislative/Regulatory Committee recommended and the Board adopted a requirement which is 
aimed at involving the audiologist or speech-language pathologist as a continuing learner who is 
consistently assessing the questions and problems encountered in his practice and then making a 
determination about the knowledge and skills needed to address those issues.  In making the 
assessment, the practitioner is asked to consider issues of ethics, standards of care, patient safety, 
new technology, communication with patients, the changing health care system, and other topics 
influencing practice. 
 

In its adoption of these regulations, the Board considered continuing education 
requirements for the two professions in other states, requirements of other boards within the 
Department of Health Professions, and the availability and cost of compliance.  Of the 39 states 
that currently have a continuing education requirement, 20 require a minimum of ten hours in 
one year or 20 hours in two years. The Board (following the recommendation of the Task Force) 
elected to model its regulations after those adopted by the Board of Medicine, which has recently 
adopted a requirement for 60 hours per biennium with a minimum of 30 in Type 1 and no more 
than 30 in Type 2 hours which are "unaccredited", learner-directed and documented.  The Board 
of Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology proposes to only require a total of 30 hours for 
biennial renewal, 15 hours of which would have to be obtained from and documented by an 
accredited sponsor.  The Board determined that was a minimal amount.  In addition, a wide 
range of accredited sponsors for continuing education were approved through the proposed 
regulation, so compliance should not be a burden for any licensee regardless of the practice 
setting or area of the Commonwealth in which he/she works.   
 
 Along with requirements for continuing competency for renewal of licenses, the Board is 
proposing an inactive license for those practitioners who are now retired or out-of-state and have no 
intention of engaging in active practice in the Commonwealth.  In doing so, requirements for 
reactivation of such a license are necessary to ensure that practitioners are competent to resume 
practice.  The Board determined that it was necessary for a practitioner whose license has been 
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inactive or lapsed for two or more years to provide evidence of continuing competency hours equal 
to the amount of time the license has not been active, not to exceed four years.  The Board also 
reserves the right to deny reactivation if an inactive licensee has violated provisions of 
unprofessional conduct. 
     

Public Comment 

Please summarize all public comment received during the NOIRA comment period and provide the 
agency response.   

The Notice of Intended Regulatory Action was sent to those persons on the board's public 
participation mailing list and published in the Register of Regulations on August 16, 1999 with a 
request for comments to be received by the Board by September 15, 1999.  During that period, 
the Board received no comment on its intent to develop continuing competency regulations.  
Since the state association and others representing a wide range of practice settings were 
included in a Task Force to advise the Board on appropriate requirements, interested parties had 
the opportunity to voice their opinions during the course of those meetings. 

 

Clarity of the Regulation 
 
Please provide a statement indicating that the agency, through examination of the regulation and relevant 
public comments, has determined that the regulation is clearly written and easily understandable by the 
individuals and entities affected. 
 

Prior to that adoption of proposed amendments, the Task Force on Continued Competency, the 
Legislative/Regulatory Committee, and the Board met in open meetings to review the current 
regulations in light of a need to ensure continuing competency for practitioners.  The clarity and 
reasonableness of the language that was adopted had the approval of the Assistant Attorney 
General who worked with the Board in drafting regulatory language, the members of the Task 
Force who represent various types and settings, and the two citizens members of the Board. 
 
 

Periodic Review 

Please supply a schedule setting forth when the agency will initiate a review and re-evaluation to 
determine if the regulation should be continued, amended, or terminated.  The specific and measurable 
regulatory goals should be outlined with this schedule.  The review shall take place no later than three 
years after the proposed regulation is expected to be effective. 

Public Participation Guidelines of the Board of Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology (18 
VAC 30-10-10 et seq.) require a thorough review of regulations each biennium. Therefore, the 
board is scheduled to begin an overall review of its regulations on June 1, 2000. The Regulation 
Committee of the Board will review this set of regulations and any comment from the public and 
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will recommend retention of current regulations or submission of a pre-NOIRA to begin the 
process of amending regulations to the full board for consideration. 

Finally, the Board receives public comment at each of its meetings and will consider any request 
for amendments.  Petitions for rule-making also receive a response from the Board during the 
mandatory 180 days in accordance with its Public Participation Guidelines.        
 

Family Impact Statement 
 
Please provide an analysis of the proposed regulatory action that assesses the potential impact on the 
institution of the family and family stability including the extent to which the regulatory action will: 1) 
strengthen or erode the authority and rights of parents in the education, nurturing, and supervision of their 
children; 2) encourage or discourage economic self-sufficiency, self-pride, and the assumption of 
responsibility for oneself, one’s spouse, and one’s children and/or elderly parents; 3) strengthen or erode 
the marital commitment; and 4) increase or decrease disposable family income. 

The agency has reviewed the proposed regulation in relation to its impact on the institution of the 
family and family stability.  There would be no effect of the proposal on the authority and rights 
of parents, economic self-sufficiency or the martial commitment.  While the proposed regulation 
will require licensees to obtain hours of continued learning in methodology or newer technology, 
it is likely that such requirements would have only minimal effect on disposable family income.      
 


