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 The Department of Planning and Budget (DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this 

proposed regulation in accordance with Section 9-6.14:7.1.G of the Administrative Process Act 

and Executive Order Number 25 (98).  Section 9-6.14:7.1.G requires that such economic impact 

analyses include, but need not be limited to, the projected number of businesses or other entities 

to whom the regulation would apply, the identity of any localities and types of businesses or 

other entities particularly affected, the projected number of persons and employment positions to 

be affected, the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to implement or comply with the 

regulation, and the impact on the use and value of private property.  The analysis presented 

below represents DPB’s best estimate of these economic impacts. 

Summary of the Proposed Regulation 

 This is a proposed revision to the existing regulations governing the licensure of 

opticians.  Section 54.1-201 of the Code of Virginia provides the Board of Opticians with the 

authority to amend these regulations.  Specific fees for this regulatory program are being reduced 

under a separate, exempt regulatory action.  The proposed changes to this regulation include 

instituting more lenient remedies for expired licenses, different timing for the expiration dates of 

licenses, and waiving the minimum age requirement for emancipated individuals. 

Estimated Economic Impact 
 
 Expired License Remedies 

 Currently, if a Virginia optician’s license is expired for more than 12 months, he must 

retake and pass the practical and written examinations required for a Virginia optician’s license.  

The Board of Opticians is proposing to significantly relax this burden.  The proposed amended 
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regulation would allow a licensee to reinstate his license for up to 2 years following expiration of 

his license, by only paying a late fee in addition to the usual license renewal fee.  Under the 

proposed amended regulation, if the license has been expired for more than two years, but the 

optician can show proof of continuous, active, ethical and legal practice outside of Virginia, then 

the license can be reinstated with only payment of a late fee in addition to the renewal fee.  If the 

license has been expired for between two and five years, but the optician cannot show proof of 

continuous, active, ethical and legal practice outside of Virginia, he may still reinstate his license 

by completing a Board approved review course (along with the fees).  Under the proposed 

amended regulation, the optician will be required to retake the practical and written examinations 

only if his license has been expired for more than five years.   

The proposed amended regulation will clearly be less burdensome to opticians with 

expired licensees.  Also, the proposed more lenient treatment of opticians with expired licenses is 

unlikely to put the citizens of Virginia at any additional risk since the proposed amended 

regulation still requires opticians out of practice for more than two years to complete a review 

course.  Thus, this proposed change to the regulation would in net be beneficial for Virginia.     

 Effects of Expiration Date Change 

 Another proposed change for this regulation concerns the timing of the expiration dates 

of the licenses.  Currently, all Virginia optician licenses expire on December 31 of each even 

numbered year.  Since most opticians do not receive their first license at the beginning of 

January of odd numbered years, current first licenses last for less than 24 months.  Under the 

proposed amended regulation, licenses would expire 24 months from the last day of the month in 

which the license was issued.  Thus, under the proposed amended regulation, newly licensed 

opticians would receive more months of license coverage for the same given license fee.  The 

same argument and conclusion are true for opticians who have their expired licenses reinstated. 

In any given two-year period, DPOR would receive less in optician license fees under the 

proposed amended regulation than under the current regulation.  There will likely always be 

some new Virginia opticians that would pay two standard license fees under the current 

regulation who would only pay one standard license fee under the proposed amended regulation.  

In addition, opticians who reinstate their licenses also pay two standard license fees (as well as 
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late fees) in the first 24 months under the current regulation, versus one standard license fee (and 

late fees) in the proposed amended regulation.  Thus, DPOR would also receive fewer license fee 

dollars from opticians with reinstated licenses.   

Since DPOR’s most recent analysis indicated that the cash/revenue balance exceeded 

expenditures by 47.7% for the opticians licensure program, the reduced revenue due to the 

change in expiration dates would not seem to be problematic for the near future.  At the same 

time, the delay in the second payment of license fees will be beneficial for new opticians and 

those reinstating their licenses.   

However, further in the future when the current large cash/revenue surplus may be 

reduced, the smaller revenue collections due to the proposed change in expiration dates may 

cause DPOR to raise fee rates.  Thus, the proposed change in expiration dates would likely cause 

a small transfer in fee costs from newly licensed opticians to experienced opticians renewing 

their licenses.  The actual cost per time licensed (24 months) would be the same for both groups, 

versus the current higher cost per time licensed for new opticians.  Therefore, the proposed 

change in expiration dates would be more equitable than the current method.    

Minimum Age Exception   

The amended regulation also includes a proposed exception to the minimum age required 

for a Virginia optician’s license.  Individuals under the age of 18 who have been legally 

emancipated from their parents or guardians and who otherwise meet the required qualifications, 

would be permitted to obtain an optician’s license.  This change is unlikely to have any impact in 

most years since very few if any individuals under 18 will be able to meet the other requirements 

for optician licensure. 

Businesses and Entities Affected 

All current opticians as well as those individuals considering becoming licensed opticians 

are affected by the proposed amendments to the regulation.  According to DPOR, at the end of 

1999, there were 1,693 licensed opticians in Virginia.   
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Localities Particularly Affected 

The proposed amendments to the regulation will affect opticians and potential opticians 

statewide. 

Projected Impact on Employment 

According to DPOR, the establishment of the review course option for licensees applying 

for reinstatement is anticipated to affect less than five applicants per year.  Thus, it is unlikely 

that any new instructors will need to be hired.   

The proposed change in determining when opticians will need to retake the licensing 

exams will likely produce a small reduction in the demand for the services of private 

examination firms.  However, the reduction in demand is not expected to be significant enough 

to reduce employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property 

This regulation will have negligible effect on the use and value of private property. 

  


