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PART I. 

GENERAL DEFINITIONS. 

18 VAC 100-20-5.  Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter shall have the following 

meanings, unless the context clearly indicates otherwise: 

“Apprentice” means a person at least 16 years of age who is covered by a written 

agreement with an employer and approved by the Virginia Apprenticeship Council. 

“Board” means the Board for Opticians. 

“Contact lens [ certified endorsed ] optician” means any person not exempted by 

§ 54.1-1701 of the Code of Virginia who is a Virginia licensed optician and who has 

received a contact lens [ certification endorsement ] from the board, who [ prepares, ] 

fits [ or dispenses ] contact lenses on prescription from licensed physicians or licensed 

optometrists for the intended wearers [ ; or refills contact lens prescriptions from a valid 

previously prepared prescription from a licensed physician or licensed optometrist ]. 

“Department” means the Virginia Department of Professional and Occupational 

Regulation. 

“Fit and dispense” means to measure, adapt, fit or adjust eyeglasses, spectacles, 

lenses, or appurtenances to the human face, or to verify the prescription to be correct in 

the prescription eyeglasses or prescription optical devices. 

“Licensed optician” means any person who is the holder of a license issued by the 

Board for Opticians. 
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“Optician” means any person not exempted by § 54.1-1701 of the Code of Virginia 

who prepares or dispenses eyeglasses, spectacles, lenses, or related appurtenances 

for the intended wearers or users on prescriptions from licensed physicians or licensed 

optometrists, or as duplications or reproductions of previously prepared eyeglasses, 

spectacles, lenses, or related appurtenances; or who, in accordance with such 

prescriptions, duplications or reproductions, measures, adapts, fits, and adjusts 

eyeglasses, spectacles, lenses, or appurtenances to the human face. 

“Opticianry” means the personal health service that is concerned with the art and 

science of ophthalmic optics as applied to the compounding, filling and adaptations of 

ophthalmic  prescriptions, products, and accessories. 

PART I II. 

ENTRY REQUIREMENTS. 

18 VAC 100-20-10.  Qualifications of applicant. 

A. Any person desiring to sit for the examination shall submit an application on a form 

provided by the board with the required examination fee of $55. All fees are 

nonrefundable and shall not be prorated. 

B. Each applicant shall provide information on his application establishing that he: 

A. An applicant for [ a ] license shall furnish satisfactory evidence on an application 

provided by the board establishing that: 

1. The applicant is at least 18 years of age unless emancipated under the provisions 

of § 16.1-333 of the Code of Virginia; 
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2. The applicant is a graduate of an accredited high school, or has completed the 

equivalent of grammar school and a four-year high school course, or is a holder of a 

certificate of general educational development; 

3. The applicant is in good standing as a licensed optician in every jurisdiction where 

licensed; 

4. Has not been convicted in any jurisdiction of a misdemeanor involving moral 

turpitude, sexual offense, drug distribution or physical injury, or any felony.  Any plea 

of nolo contendere shall be considered a conviction for the purposes of this 

subdivision.  The record of a conviction authenticated in such form as to be 

admissible in evidence under the laws of the jurisdiction where convicted shall be 

admissible as prima facie evidence of such conviction; and 

[  4.  The applicant has not been convicted in any jurisdiction of a misdemeanor or 

felony involving sexual offense, drug distribution or physical injury, or any felony that 

directly relates to the profession of opticianry.  The board shall have the authority to 

determine, based upon all the information available, including the applicant’s record 

of prior convictions, if the applicant is unfit or unsuited to engage in the profession of 

opticianry.  Any plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a conviction for the 

purposes of this subdivision. The licensee shall provide a certified copy of a final 

order, decree or case decision by a court or regulatory agency with the lawful 

authority to issue such order, decree or case decision, and such copy shall be 

admissible as prima facie evidence of such conviction.  This record shall be 

forwarded by the licensee to the board within 10 days after all appeal rights have 

expired;] 
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[ 5. 4. ] The applicant has successfully completed one of the following education 

requirements: 

a. An approved [ A board-approved ] two-year course in a school of opticianry, 

including the study of topics essential to qualify for practicing as an optician; or 

b. A three-year apprenticeship with a minimum of one school year of related 

instruction or home study while registered in the apprenticeship program in 

accordance with the standards established by the state Department of Labor and 

Industry, Division of Apprenticeship Training and approved by the Board for 

Opticians.; 

[ 5. 6. ] The applicant has disclosed his current mailing address; 

[ 6. 7. ] The nonresident applicant for a license has filed and maintained with the 

department an irrevocable consent for the director of the department to serve as 

service agent for all actions filed in any court in the Commonwealth; and 

[ 7. 8. ] The applicant shall certify, as part of the application, that the applicant has 

read and understands Chapter 17 (§ 54.1-1700 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of 

Virginia and the regulations of the board. 

18 VAC 100-20-20.  Examination schedule. (Repealed.) 

The board shall schedule an examination to be held at least twice each calendar year 

at a time and place to be designated by the board. The examination application and fee 

must be received 60 calendar days prior to the written examination. 
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18 VAC 100-20-30.  Content of optician examination. (Repealed.) 

The optician examination given by the board will include the following topics: 

1. Ophthalmic materials; 

2. Ophthalmic optics and equipment; 

3. Ophthalmic spectacle lens grinding; 

4. Prescription interpretation; 

5. Theory of light; 

6. Finishing, fitting and adjusting of eyeglasses and frames; 

7. Ethics of relationship in respect to patient and physician or optometrist; 

8. Anatomy and physiology; and 

9. Administrative duties. 

18 VAC 100-20-40.  Passing grade and reexamination. (Repealed.) 

The passing grade shall be 70% on the written section and 70% on the practical 

section of the examination. 

1. An applicant who fails any section shall be required to be reexamined on that 

section and shall pay the required reexamination fee of $70. 

2. Any applicant who fails to pass the previously failed section within the next two 

successively scheduled examinations will be required to take and pass the entire 

examination and pay the full initial examination fee. 
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18 VAC 100-20-50.  Licensing of out-of-state Opticians licensed in another state. 

A. An out-of-state licensed optician licensed in another state seeking to be licensed as 

an optician in Virginia shall submit an application on a form provided by the board with 

the required fee [ of $55 ]. All fees are nonrefundable and shall not be prorated. 

B. The board, using the following standards, shall issue a license to any person 

licensed in another state who: 

1. Has met requirements equivalent to those listed in 18 VAC 100-20-10; and 

2. Has passed a substantially equivalent examination. 

18 VAC 100-20-54.  Fees. 

A. The fee for examination or examinations shall consist of the combination of an 

administrative charge of $10 (spectacle), $25 (contact lens), and the appropriate 

contract charges.  Examination service contracts shall be established in compliance 

with the Virginia Public Procurement Act (§ 11-35 et seq. of the Code of  Virginia).  The 

total examination fee shall not exceed a cost of $300 to the applicant. 

B.  All application fees for licenses are nonrefundable and the date of receipt by the 

board or its agent is the date which will be used to determine whether it is on time. 

C.  Application and examination fees must be submitted with the application for 

licensure. 

The following fees shall apply: 
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FEE TYPE AMOU

NT 

DUE 

WHEN DUE 

Application for 

licensure by 

examination or 

out-of-state 

applicants 

$55 With 

application 

Application for 

contact lens 

certification by 

examination or for 

out-of-state 

applicants 

$70 With 

application 

Renewal $60 Up to the 

expiration 

date on the 

license with a 

30-day grace 

period 
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Late renewal (in 

addition to 

renewal fee) 

$25 Up to 12 

months after 

the expiration 

date on the 

license 

Reinstatement $100 After 12 

calendar 

months 

following the 

expiration 

date on the 

license 

Duplicate wall 

certificate 

$25 With written 

request 

18 VAC 100-20-55.  Examinations. 

All examinations required for licensure shall be approved by the board and 

administered by the board, or its agents or employees acting on behalf of the board. 

The board shall schedule an examination to be held at least twice each calendar year 

at a time and place to be designated by the board. 

The applicant shall follow all rules established by the board with regard to conduct at 

an examination.  Such rules shall include any written instructions communicated prior to 

the examination date and any instructions  communicated at the site, either written or 
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oral, on the date of the examination.  Failure to comply with all rules established by the 

board with regard to conduct at an examination shall be grounds for denial of 

application. 

18 VAC 100-20-56.  Content of optician examination and reexamination. 

A. Applicants for licensure shall pass a written examination and a practical 

examination approved by the board. 

B. The optician examination given by the board may include, but is not limited to, the 

following topics: 

1. Ophthalmic materials; 

2. Ophthalmic optics and equipment; 

3. Ophthalmic spectacle lens grinding; 

4. Prescription interpretation; 

5. Theory of light; 

6. Finishing, fitting and adjusting of eyeglasses and frames; 

7. Ethics of relationship in respect to patient and physician or optometrist; 

8. Anatomy and physiology; and 

9. Applicable laws and regulations. 

C. Any applicant who fails the written or practical examination, or both examinations, 

shall be required to be reexamined on the failed examination(s) and shall pay the 

reexamination fee(s). 
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D. An applicant shall pass the written and practical examination within two years of the 

initial test date.  After two years, the applicant shall file a new application and pay the 

required fee. 

18 VAC 100-20-60.  Endorsement to fit contact lenses; examination. 

The board shall administer a contact lens examination to Virginia licensed opticians 

desiring to obtain an endorsement of "Contact Lens Competency" to fit contact lenses.  

The "Contact Lens Competency" endorsement shall be mandatory for licensed opticians 

to fit contact lenses as set out in §§ 54.1-1705 and 54.1-1706 of the Code of Virginia, and 

the contact lens endorsement shall not be issued unless the individual’s license is in good 

standing.  [ A contact lens endorsed optician is any Virginia licensed optician who has 

been endorsed by the board to fit contact lens. ] 

1. The applicant must achieve a passing score of 70% on the contact lens 

examination. 

2. The fee for the contact lens examination or reexamination shall be $70. All fees 

are nonrefundable and shall not be prorated. 

18 VAC 100-20-65.  Content of contact lens endorsement examination and 

reexamination. 

A. The contact lens endorsement examination administered by the board may include, 

but is not limited to, the following topics: 

1. Rigid lens verification; 

2. Lens identification; 
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3. Keratomy; 

4. Slit lamp; 

5. Slides (fitting patterns, edge patterns, quality stains); and 

6. Insertion/removal. 

B. Any applicant who fails the written or practical contact lens examination, or both 

examinations, who desires to retake the examination(s), shall be required to be 

reexamined on the failed examination(s) and shall pay the reexamination fee(s). 

C. An applicant shall pass the written and practical examination within two years of the 

initial test date.  After two years, the applicant shall file a new application and pay the 

required fee. 

PART II III. 

RENEWAL/REINSTATEMENT. 

18 VAC 100-20-70.  License renewal required. 

A. Licenses issued under this chapter shall expire on December 31 of each 

even-numbered year.  The Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation 

shall mail a renewal notice to the licensee outlining the procedures for renewal.  Failure 

to receive this notice shall not relieve the licensee of the obligation to renew. 

B. Each licensee applying for renewal shall return the renewal notice with a fee of $60 

to the Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation no later than 5 p.m. on 

the expiration date shown on the license.  If the licensee fails to receive the renewal 

notice, a copy of the license may be submitted with the required fee. 
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C. Applicants for renewal of a license shall continue to meet the standards for entry 

set forth in subdivisions B 3 and 4 of 18 VAC 100-20-10. 

D. The board may deny renewal of a license for the same reasons as it may refuse 

licensure. 

A. Licenses issued under this chapter shall expire 24 months from the last day of the 

month in which the license was issued. 

B. The board shall mail a renewal application form to the licensee at the last known 

mailing address.  Failure to receive this notice does not relieve the licensee of the 

obligation to renew.  Prior to the expiration date shown on the license, each licensee 

desiring to renew his license must return all of the required forms and the appropriate fee 

to the board as outlined in 18 VAC 100-20-54.  If the licensee fails to receive the renewal 

notice, a copy of the existing license shall be submitted to the board with the required fee. 

C. Licensees shall be required to renew their license by submitting the appropriate fee 

made payable to the Treasurer of Virginia.  Any licensee who fails to renew within 30 days 

after the license expires shall pay a late renewal fee, in addition to the renewal fee, as set 

out in 18 VAC 100-20-54. 

D. The board, in its discretion and for just cause, may deny renewal of a license.  Upon 

such denial, the applicant for renewal may request that a proceeding be held in 

accordance with the provision of the Administrative Process Act (§ 9-6.14:1 et seq. of the 

Code of Virginia). 
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18 VAC 100-20-80.  License reinstatement required. (Repealed.) 

A. If the licensee fails to renew his license within 30 days following the expiration date, 

he must apply for reinstatement of his license on a form provided by the board. 

B. If the renewal application is received by the department more than 30 days after the 

expiration date of the license, a late fee of $25 is required. 

C. Applicants for reinstatement of a license shall continue to meet the standards for 

entry as set forth in subdivisions B 3 and 4 of 18 VAC 100-20-10. 

D. The board may deny reinstatement of a license for the same reasons as it may 

refuse initial licensure. 

E. When an individual fails to renew his license after a period of one year after the 

expiration date, he must apply as follows: 

1. Submit an application on a form provided by the board establishing that he has 

met all of the requirements of 18 VAC 100-20-10 B 5 a or b and a fee of $100; 

2. Take and receive a passing score of 70% on the practical examination and 70% 

on the written examination on his first attempt; and 

3. Meet the requirements of 18 VAC 100-20-10 B 5 a or b before sitting for the 

written examination and the practical examination again if the applicant fails to pass 

both the written and the practical examination on his first attempt. 
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PART IV. 

REINSTATEMENT. 

18 VAC 100-20-81.  Reinstatement required. 

A. If a licensee fails to renew his license within 12 months after the expiration date on 

the license, the licensee must apply for reinstatement on a form provided by the board. 

1. Individuals for reinstatement shall continue to meet the standards of entry as set 

out in subdivisions [ 3 1 ] through [ 7 8 ] of [ 18 VAC 100-20-20 18 VAC 100-20-10 ] . 

2. Individuals for reinstatement shall submit the required fee as set out in 18 VAC 

100-20-54. 

B. Twenty-four months after expiration of the license, the individual may be reinstated 

if he can show proof of continuous, active, ethical and legal practice outside of Virginia.  

If not, the individual must show proof of completion of a board-approved review course 

which measures current competence.  Credit will not be allowed for any review course 

which has not been approved by the board prior to administration of the course. 

C. Sixty months after expiration of the license, the individual, who cannot show proof 

of continuous, active, ethical and legal practice outside of Virginia, shall be required to 

apply as a new applicant for licensure.  He shall be required to meet all current 

education requirements and retake the board’s written and practical examination. 

D. The board, in its discretion and for just cause, may deny reinstatement of a license.  

Upon such denial, the applicant for reinstatement may request that a proceeding be 

held in accordance with the provisions of the Administrative Process Act (§ 9-6.14:1 et 

seq. of the Code of Virginia). 
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E. A licensee who reinstates his license shall be regarded as having been continually 

licensed without interruption.  Therefore, the licensee shall remain under the disciplinary 

authority of the board during the entire period and may be held accountable for his 

activities during this period.  Nothing in these regulations shall divest the board of its 

authority to discipline a licensee for a violation of the law or regulations during the 

period of licensure as set out in this provision. 

PART III V. 

STANDARDS OF PRACTICE AND CONDUCT. 

18 VAC 100-20-85.  Lenses and frames standards are as follows: 

A.  Power Tolerance (diopters). 

Sphere:  Plano to ± 6.50 ± .13 diopter 

Above ± 6.50 ±  2% 

Cylinder:  Plano - 2.00 ± .13 diopter 

-2.12 to -4.50 ± .15 diopter 

above -4.50 ±  4% 

B.  Cylinder Axis. 

Cyl. Power Diopters Degrees ± 

0.12 - 0.37 7° 

0.50 - 0.75 5° 

0.87 - 1.50 3° 

1.62 and above 2° 
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C. Distance [ P. D. Optical Center. ]  Contribution to net horizontal prism from 

processing should not exceed 2/3 prism diopter.  A maximum of  ± 2.5mm variation from 

the specified distance [ PD optical center ] is permissible in higher power lens 

combinations. 

D.  Prism Tolerances (Vertical).  Contribution to imbalance from processing should not 

exceed 1/3 prism diopters.  A maximum of 1.0mm difference in vertical level is 

permissible in higher power lens combinations. 

E.  Segment Location. 

Vertical ± 1.0 mm 

Horizontal ± 2.5 mm 

Tilt or twist in the case of a flat-top segment, the tilt of its horizontal axis should be 

less than 1/2 mm in differential elevation between the segment edges. 

F.  Multifocal Additions. 

Plano + 8.00 ± .13 diopter 

Above + 8.00 ± .18 diopter 

[ G. Thickness.  Standard dress thickness for minus power lenses should be 2.0 mm 

at optical center.  Plus power lenses should have an edge thickness of 1.5 mm - 2.00 

mm or 2.4 mm for Nylor type frames.  When specified thickness is prescribed, the 

tolerance should be ± 0.3 mm.  Lenses to be used for occupational or safety purposes 

must be 3.00 mm at its thinnest point. 
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H. G. ] Base Curve.  When specified, the base curve should be supplied within ± 0.75 

diopter. 

[ I. H. ] Warpage.  The cylindrical surface power induced in the base curve of a lens 

should not exceed 1 diopter.  This recommendation need not apply within 6mm of the 

mounting eyewire. 

[ J. I. ] Localized errors (aberration).  Areas outside a 20mm radius from the specified 

major reference point or optical center need not be tested for aberration.  Progressive 

lenses are exempt from this requirement. 

18 VAC 100-20-87.  Contact lens standards are as follows: 

To fit contact lenses, the following shall be done: 

1. The prescription (RX) must show evidence that contact lenses may be worn by 

the patient before the prescription can be filled by the licensed optician.  Verbal 

approval from the optometrist or ophthalmologist or its agents or employees is 

acceptable.  The licensed optician must make a notation in the patient’s record of 

the name of the authorizing optometrist or ophthalmologist and the date of the 

authorization. 

2. The optician must use all the following to fit contact lenses: 

a. Slit Lamp; 

b. Keratometer; and 

c. Standardized Snellen type acuity chart. 
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18 VAC 100-20-90.  Display of license. 

Every person to whom a current license has been granted under these regulations this 

chapter shall visibly display it in public view his unaltered license in a conspicuous place 

in plain view of the public in the principal office in which [ they work he works ].  A 

duplicate license which has been notarized shall be posted in any branch offices. 

18 VAC 100-20-100.  Notification of change of address or name. 

A licensee shall notify the board in writing no later than 60 days after the occurrence 

of a change of address or name. 

Notice in writing shall be given to the board in the event of any change of name or 

address.  Such notice shall be mailed to the board within 30 days of the change of 

name or address.  The board shall not be responsible for the licensee's failure to 

receive notices, communications and correspondence caused by the licensee's failure 

to promptly notify the board in writing of any change of name or address. 

18 VAC 100-20-110.  Discipline Grounds for disciplinary action. 

A. The board may is empowered to revoke, suspend, or refuse to [ grant or ] renew a 

license and may is empowered to impose a fine up to $1,000 the statutory limit, as 

authorized under § 54.1-202 of the Code of Virginia, per offense violation on a licensee 

for any of the following reasons: 

1. Using alcohol or nonprescribed controlled substances as defined in Chapter 34 

(§ 54.1-3400 et seq.) of Title 54.1 54.1-3401 of the Code of Virginia or alcohol at the 

work place during working hours; 
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2. Displaying professional incompetence or negligence, including but not limited to 

failure to comply with this part in the performance of opticianry; 

3. Fraudulently certifying that an applicant possesses Presenting false or fraudulent 

information on an application certifying possession of the qualifications required 

under 18 VAC 100-20-10; 

4. Violating or inducing others to violate any provisions of Chapters 1, 2, 3 or 17 of 

Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia, or of any other statute applicable to the practice of 

the profession herein regulated, or of any provisions of these regulations this 

chapter; 

5. Publishing or causing to be published any advertisement related to opticianry that 

is false, deceptive, or misleading; 

6. Having been convicted in any jurisdiction of a misdemeanor [ or felony involving ] 

moral turpitude, [ sexual offense, drug distribution or physical injury, ] or of any 

felony that directly relates to the profession of opticianry.  The board shall have the 

authority to determine, based upon all the information available, including the 

applicant's record of prior convictions, if the applicant is unfit or unsuited to engage 

in the profession of opticianry.  Any plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a 

conviction for the purposes of this section.  The record of a conviction authenticated 

in such form as to be admissible in evidence under the laws of the jurisdiction where 

the conviction occurred shall be forwarded to the board within 10 days of entry and 

shall be admissible as prima facie evidence of such conviction; or The licensee shall 

provide a certified copy of a final order, decree or case decision by a court or 

regulatory agency with the lawful authority to issue such order, decree or case 
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decision, and such copy shall be admissible as prima facie evidence of such 

conviction.  This record shall be forwarded by the licensee to the board within 10 

days after all appeal rights have expired; 

7. Having been disciplined by another jurisdiction in the practice of opticianry. 

Documentary evidence of such discipline shall be submitted by the licensee to the 

board within 10 days of entry. after all appeal rights have expired; or 

8. Allowing any person to engage in the practice of opticianry, except an optician 

apprentice or student enrolled in a course in a school of opticianry under the direct 

supervision of a licensed optician. 

B.  A finding of improper or dishonest conduct in the practice of the profession by a 

court of competent jurisdiction shall be cause for disciplinary action. 

18 VAC 100-20-120.  Accountability of licensee. 

A licensee shall be responsible for his acts or omissions and for the acts of his agents 

or employees or his staff in the performance of opticianry services. 

18 VAC 100-20-130.  Approval of review courses. 

A. Review courses set out in this chapter shall be approved by the board, except 

those provided by institutions, schools and universities approved by the State Council of 

Higher Education for Virginia, for which continuing education units are awarded.  

Training courses requiring board approval shall be approved by the board prior to 

commencing in accordance with subsection B of this section. 

B. Training activities for which experience credit may be granted must be conducted in 

general conformance with the International Association for Continuing Education and 
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Training's "Criteria and Guidelines for Quality Continuing Education and Training 

Programs:  the CEU and Other Measurement Units," 1998.  The board reserves the 

right to waive any of the requirements of the association’s guidelines on a case-by-case 

basis.  Only classroom, laboratory and field trip contact time will be used to compute 

training credits.  No credit will be given for breaks, meals, or receptions. 

1. Organization.  The board will only approve training offered by a sponsor who is an 

identifiable organization with a mission statement outlining its functions, structure, 

process and philosophy, and that has a staff of one or more persons wi th the 

authority to administer training. 

2. Training records.  The board will only approve training offered by a sponsor who 

maintains training records for all participants for a minimum of five years, and who 

has a written policy on retention and release of training records. 

3. Instructors.  The board will only approve training conducted by personnel who 

have demonstrated competence in the subject being taught, an understanding of the 

learning objective, a knowledge of the learning process to be used, and a proven 

ability to communicate. 

4. Objectives.  The board will only approve courses that have a series of stated 

objectives that are consistent with the job requirements of an optician.  The training 

content must be consistent with those objectives. 

5. Course completion requirements.  For successful completion of a training 

program, participants must attend 90% or more of the class contact time and must 
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demonstrate their learning through written examinations, completion of a project, 

self-assessment, oral examination, or other assessment technique. 

C. The board shall consider the following information, to be submitted by the 

instructor, institution, school or university on forms provided by the board, at least 45 

days prior to the scheduled training activity: 

1. Course information. 

a. Course title, 

b. Planned audience, 

c. Name of sponsor, 

d. Name, address, phone number of contact person, 

e. Schedule presentation dates, 

f. Detailed course schedule, hour-by-hour, 

g. List of planned breaks, 

h. Scheduled presentation location(s), and 

i. Relevancy of course to opticianry licensing. 

2. Instructor qualifications. 

a. Name of instructor, 

b. Title of instructor, and 

c. Summary of qualifications to teach this course. 

3. Training materials. 
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a. Course objectives -  A listing of the course objectives stated in terms of the 

skills, knowledge, or attitude the participant will be able to demonstrate as a result 

of the training, 

b. Course outline -  A detailed outline showing the planned activities that will occur 

during the training program, including major topics, planned presentation 

sequence, laboratory and field activities, audio-visual presentations, and other 

major activities, 

c. Course reference materials -  A list of the name, publisher and publication date 

for commercially available publications; for reference materials developed by the 

course sponsor or available exclusively through the course, a copy of the 

reference materials, 

d. Audio-visual support materials -  A listing of any commercially available audio-

visual support material that will be used in the program; a brief description of any 

sponsor or instructor generated audio-visual material that will be used, and 

e. Handouts -  Identification of all commercially available handout material that will 

be used; copies of all other planned handouts. 

4. Determination of successful completion.  A description of the means that will be 

used to determine the successful completion of the training program by individual 

attendees, such as examinations, projects, personal evaluations by the instructor, or 

other recognized evaluation techniques. 

C. Recurring training programs.  If there are plans to present the same course of 

instruction routinely at multiple locations with only minor modifications and changes, the 
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board may approve the overall program rather than individual presentations if so 

requested by the sponsor. 

1. The board shall consider all of the information listed above except those items 

related to specific offerings of the course. 

2. Board approval may be granted for a specific period of time or for an indefinite 

period. 

3. Board approval will apply only to those specific offerings certified by the 

sponsoring organization as having been conducted by instructors meeting the 

established criteria and in accordance with the board-approved courses, outlines 

and objectives. 

4. To maintain approval of the program, changes made to the program since initial 

approval must be submitted to the board for review and approval.  Changes must be 

approved by the board prior to any training subsequent to the changes. 

 


