The Potomac Aquifer Recharge Oversight Committee 11:00 A.M. – Thursday, August 29, 2024 In-person at the 3rd Floor Conference Room, DEQ Offices 1111 East Main Street, Richmond, VA 23219 And Electronic on Zoom (see link below) AGENDA

- 11:00 Welcome Introductions Whitney Katchmark, HRPDC
- 11:05 Approval of minutes from May 14, 2024
- 11:10 HRPDC concept for expanded water level monitoring to assess James River SWIFT impacts, Ms. Whitney Katchmark, HRPDC
- 11:30 VADEQ plan for groundwater studies, Dr. Scott Morris or Mr. Weedon Cloe, VADEQ

Working Lunch

- 12:00 PARML Strategic Plan implementation & summary of recent PARML activities, Dr. Gary Schafran & Dr. Mark Widdowson, PARML
- 12:30 National Water Research Institute (NWRI) Review Panel update & PARML review scope discussion <u>Proposed review questions for consideration and discussion</u>:
 - In consideration of the legislative mandate, to what degree has PARML fulfilled its duties and responsibilities?
 - What resources are needed for PARML to address current and near-term expectations? What additional personnel, infrastructure, and funding are recommended for PARML?
 - What actions are recommended for PAROC to improve the utilization of PARML to fulfill PAROC's duties and responsibilities as defined in the legislation?
- 1:00 Panel review process Q&A with NWRI
- 1:20 Public comment

A request to make public comments in person or via Zoom during the meeting must be submitted to Whitney Katchmark by email to wkatchmark@hrpdcva.gov or by phone to 757.420.8300 and must be received by 10:00 AM, Thursday, August 29, 2024.

- 1:25 Roundtable discussion, PAROC member's comments & proposed location for the December 19 meeting on the Peninsula
- 1:30 Adjournment

Join Zoom Meeting

 $\frac{https://us06web.zoom.us/j/8098701143pwd=KS23oafcOuLbjMyqAssOWyExRFoGFD.1\&omn=86127938558$

Meeting ID: 809 870 1143

Passcode: 022024

One tap mobile

• +13052241968,,8098701143#,,,,*022024# US

• +13092053325,,8098701143#,,,,*022024# US

Dial by your location:

• +1 301 715 8592 US (Washington DC)

• Find your local number: https://us06web.zoom.us/u/kFf2thSAN

Committee Members:

Mike Rolband, Director of Virginia DEQ

Dr. Karen Shelton, Virginia State Health Commissioner

Dr. William Mann, Governor Appointee

Doug Powell, Governor Appointee

Whitney Katchmark, HRPDC

Stanley Grant, Director, Occoquan Watershed Monitoring Laboratory

Mark Widdowson, Co-Director, Potomac Aquifer Recharge Monitoring Lab

Gary Schafran, Co-Director, Potomac Aquifer Recharge Monitoring Lab

Non-Voting Members:

Mark R Bennett, Center Director, Virginia and West Virginia Water Science Center Leslie Gillespie-Marthaler, Ph.D. US EPA Region 3 Deputy Director for the Water Division