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This transmittal contains updated income limits and deductions used to determine
eligibility and the revised benefit amounts for the Supplemental Nutrition Assistance
Program (SNAP). The transmittal also contains clarifications and revisions of SNAP
Employment and Training (SNAP E&T) and Disaster SNAP (D-SNAP) guidelines. The
transmittal is a revision of the entire manual to change references from Eligibility
Workers (EW) to Benefit Programs Specialist (BPS) to recognize the professional staff
responsible for SNAP activities and to simplify text where possible. Because the entire
manual is being revised, changes are not noted in bold as is traditionally done.

The provisions of this transmittal are effective October 1, 2024, for all SNAP
applications filed or actions taken on cases on or after October 1, 2024, except for the
provision that became effective on July 1, 2024 (i.e. the list of localities that meet the
work requirement exemption).

This transmittal and manual are available on FUSION at
https://fusion.dss.virginia.gov/bp/BP-Home/SNAP/Guidance and at
https://www.dss.virginia.gov/benefit/snap/manual.cqi.

Significant changes to the manual are as follows:

Chapter(s) Changed Significant Changes Reason for Change
Abbreviations/Acronyms
Entire Section Benefit Programs Specialist (BPS) added, Direction of the Division.
Eligibility Worker (EW) removed from the
listing.
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Definitions
Entire Section

Part |
Entire Section

Chapter H

Part I
Entire Section

References to EW were removed and BPS
was added throughout the Part.

The amount to report gambling or lottery
winnings was increased to $4,500. This
reference was added to the disabled person
definition.

References to EW were removed and BPS
was added throughout the Part.

Clarification was added to the disclosure
chapter to identify information that may be
provided to law enforcement officials.

References to EW were removed and BPS
was added throughout the Part.

Chapter G, Appendix IlIThe lottery amount was revised for the

Part 1l

Entire Section

Appendix
Part IV

Entire Section

Chapter C

Part V

Entire Section

categorically eligible households and the
Elderly Simplified Application Project

References to EW were removed and BPS
was added throughout the Part.

The suggested letter to the Social Security

Administration was removed.

References to EW were removed and BPS
was added throughout the Part.

Direction of the Division.

Annual federal update

Direction of the Division.

Recommendation of the
Office of the Virginia
Attorney General

Direction of the Division.

Annual federal update

Direction of the Division.

Clarity of the program.

Direction of the Division.

Clarification added to the mandatory review of Clarity of the program.

cases certified for more than 24 months does
not apply to households certified for ESAP and

the Virginia Combined Application Project
(VaCAP).

References to EW were removed and BPS
was added throughout the Part.

Direction of the Division.



Part VI

Entire Section

Chapters A-B

Part VII

Entire Section

Chapter F

Appendix |

Appendix Il

Part VIII

Entire Section

Chapter B

Part IX

Entire Section

References to EW were removed and BPS Direction of the Division.

was added throughout the Part.

The maximum income amounts were
increased to allow separate household status
for disabled, elderly persons from others in the
household. The minimum amounts for
boarders to pay for lodging increased.

Annual federal update

References to EW were removed and BPS Direction of the Division.

was added throughout the Part.

Statement added to address SNAP eligibility of Provisions of the

citizens of Micronesia, the Marshall Islands, Consolidated

and Palau. Appropriations Act of
2024 (P.L. 118-42)
addressed eligibility of
persons eligible for
certain federal benefits.

The amounts required to earn Social Security Annual federal update
work credits for 2024 were added.

Instructions for pursuing secondary verification The United States

thorough the Systematic Alien Verification for  Citizenship and

Entitlement system were revised. Immigration Services
(USCIS) has revised its
guidelines for submitting
documents to establish
an immigrant’s status.

References to EW were removed and BPS Direction of the Division.

was added throughout the Part.

Clarification was added to address retroactive Clarity of the program.
evaluation of a job quit or voluntary work

reduction without good cause and its impact on

households’ current eligibility.

References to EW were removed and BPS Direction of the Division.

was added throughout the Part.



Chapter A

Chapter D

Part X

Entire Section

Chapter A

Part XI

Entire Section

Chapter A

Chapter F

Part XII

Entire Section

The resource limit for households with at least Annual federal update.
one elderly (age 60 or older) or disabled

member increased from $4,250 to $4,500. The

resource limit for all other households

increased from $2750 to $3,000. The amount

to report the receipt of lottery and gambling

winnings was changed.

The Exempt Resources chapter was revised to The exemption period
delete allowances for Economic Stimulus has expired.
Payments and federal pandemic

unemployment payments.

References to EW were removed and BPS Direction of the Division.

was added throughout.

Standard deduction amounts were changed.  Changes to the shelter
elements reflect annual

The standard utility allowances were reduced updates.

from $414 and $524 to $369 and $467,

respectively. The telephone standard remains

unchanged at $52.

The maximum shelter deduction was changed
from $672 to $712.

The homeless shelter deduction was changed
from $179.66 to $190.30

References to EW were removed and BPS Direction of the Division.

was added throughout.
Gross and net income limits were increased.  Annual updates

The Excluded Income chapter was revised to  The exclusion period has
delete exclusions for Economic Stimulus expired.

Payments and federal pandemic

unemployment payments.

References to EW were removed and BPS Direction of the Division.

was added throughout.



Chapter A

Part XIllII

Entire Section

Part X1V

Entire Section

Chapter A

Part XV

Entire Section

Chapter A

Appendix

Part XVI

Entire Section

Chapter H

Part XVII

Allowable meal costs for daycare providers
were revised. The amounts are $1.66 for
breakfast and $3.15 for lunch/supper. The rate
for snacks is unchanged at $.93.

References to EW were removed and BPS

was added throughout.

References to EW were removed and BPS

was added throughout.

The income limits for reporting changes were
revised. The amount to report the receipt of
lottery and gambling winnings was changed

References to EW were removed and BPS

was added throughout.

The age limit for the work requirement

increased to age 54.

The list of localities exempted from the work
requirement was updated.

References to EW were removed and BPS

was added throughout.

The chapter for replacing benefits for
fraudulent actions was removed from Part XVI

and moved to Part XVIII.

Annual update

Direction of the Division.

Direction of the Division.

Annual updates

Direction of the Division.

The Fiscal Responsibility
Act of 2023

The exempt localities
were announced in a
Broadcast issued June
20, 2024.

Direction of the Division.

Program management
as the improper actions
were not caused by
department error.



Entire Section

Part XVIII

Entire Section

New Chapter
Chapter D

Part XIX

Entire Section

Appendix

Part XX

Entire Section

Chapter K

Chapter L
Part XXI

Entire Section

Chapter C
Part XXIlI

Entire Section

References to EW were removed and BPS Direction of the Division.

was added throughout.

References to EW were removed and BPS Direction of the Division.

was added throughout.

The chapter for replacing benefits for Program management.
fraudulent actions from Part XVI was moved to as the improper actions
this Part as households were to have benefits were not caused by
replaced instead of being restored. department error.

References to EW were removed and BPS Direction of the Division.

was added throughout.

The list of legal assistance offices was
reformatted.

Program management

References to EW were removed and BPS
was added throughout.

Direction of the Division.

Applicants for the disaster program must be ~ Program accuracy
advised that applications will be screened to
prevent duplicate participation.

Income limits and benefit levels for the disaster Annual updates
program were revised.

References to EW were removed and BPS Direction of the Division.

was added throughout.
The minimum benefit amount was revised. Annual update

The benefit levels by household size were
increased.

Annual updates



Part XXIV

Entire Section

Entire Section

Part XXV

Entire Section

Chapter E

Appendix

Part XXVI

Entire Section

References to EW were removed and BPS Direction of the Division.
was added throughout the section.

Forms were revised to: Program management
1) reflect the new address for the Virginia and accuracy
Department of Social Services;

2) change references to BPS;

3) reflect the updated nondiscrimination

statement; and/or

4) reflect the revised income and

lottery/gambling limits for reporting purposes.

References to EW were removed and BPS Direction of the Division.
was added throughout.

The list of allowable supportive services for the The Virginia SNAP E&T
SNAP E&T Program was clarified to include  Plan included expanded
emergency housing needs and internet access services to assist E&T

and computer needs. participants gain job
skills

SNAP E&T Forms were revised to: Program management

1) reflect the new address for the Virginia and accuracy

Department of Social Services;

2) change references to BPS; and/or
3) reflect the updated nondiscrimination
statement.

References to EW were removed and BPS Direction of the Division.
was added throughout.

Direct questions about this transmittal to practice program consultants or Michele
Thomas at michele.thomas@dss.virginia.gov or at (804) 726-7866.

James H. Williams
Commissioner

Attachment
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Unless otherwise defined in specific chapters of this manual, terms defined in this section will
apply whenever the term is used.

Administrative Disqualification Hearing (ADH) - An administrative disqualification hearing is an
impartial review by a hearings officer of a household member's actions to determine if the
member committed an Intentional Program Violation (IPV).

Application - The official request for SNAP benefits. An application may be classified as an
initial or new application, a reapplication, or a recertification. See also entries for the application
classifications.

Disabled Person - The definition of a disabled person that follows must be used for the:
o Determination of group home eligibility;

Allowance of medical expenses;

Allowance of unlimited shelter expenses

Use of net-only income limits in determining income eligibility;

Evaluation of conditionally-eligible immigrants;

Allowance of the $4,500 resource limit;

Allowance of a 24-month certification period; and

Exemption from 6-month interim reporting requirements.

A disabled person is one who:

a. Is certified to receive or is actually receiving Supplemental Security Income (SSI)
benefits or disability or blindness payments under one of the following titles of the Social
Security Act:

1. Title I, Grants to States for Old Age Assistance and Medical Assistance for the Aged;
2. Title ll, Federal Old Age, Survivors, and Disability Insurance Benefits;

3. Title X, Grants to States for Aid to the Blind;

4. Title XIV, Grants to States for Aid to the Permanently and totally Disabled; or,

5. Title XVI, Supplemental Security Income for the Aged, Blind and Disabled.

This includes SSI presumptive disability payments (regular SSI Benefits for a three-
month period paid to persons who will most likely meet SSI disability criteria), and SSI
emergency advance payments (a single $100 SSI payment provided to persons who

appear to meet the SSI eligibility criteria who are considered in need of immediate
assistance).

b. Is certified to receive or receives an Auxiliary Grant.

C. Is certified to receive or receives disability retirement benefits from a governmental
agency because of a disability considered permanent under Section 221 of the Social
Security Act.
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Is certified to receive or receives an annuity payment under Section 2(a)(1)(iv) of the
Railroad Retirement Act of 1974 and is determined to be eligible to receive Medicare by
the Railroad Retirement Board; or Section 2(a)(i)(v) of the Railroad Retirement Act of
1974 and is determined to be disabled based upon the criteria used under Title XVI of
the Social Security Act.

Is a veteran with a service-connected or nonservice-connected disability rated or paid as
total (100%), or is considered in need of regular aid and attendance or permanently
housebound under Title 38 of the U.S. Code.

Is a surviving spouse of a veteran and considered in need of aid and attendance or
permanently housebound or a surviving child of a veteran and considered to be
permanently incapable of self-support under Title 38 of the U. S. Code.

Is a surviving spouse or child of a veteran and entitled to compensation for a service-
connected death or pension benefits for a nonservice-connected death under Title 38 of
the U. S. Code and has a disability considered permanent under the Social Security Act.
For the purpose of this chapter, "entitled" means those veterans' surviving spouses and
children who are receiving the compensation or benefits stated or have been approved
for such payments, but are not receiving them.

For any household member claiming a permanent disability that is questionable, i.e., not
apparent to the EW under this item of the definition of disability, the household shall, at
the local agency's request, provide a statement from a physician or licensed or certified
psychologist to assist the local agency in making a disability determination.

Is a recipient of disability related medical assistance under Title XIX of the Social
Security Act.

Is a recipient of Federal Employee Compensation Act (FECA) payments for permanently
disabled employees who opt for FECA benéefits in lieu of Civil Service Retirement
benefits. Temporary FECA payments to people temporarily injured on the job do not
satisfy the definition of disability.

A less restrictive definition of disability is used for other policies such as the work requirement,
work registration, and student identification and eligibility.

Disqualified Recipient Subsystem (DRS) - A nationwide central database of persons who have

committed Intentional Program Violations (IPV).

Homeless Household - A household that lacks a fixed and regular nighttime residence or a

household whose primary nighttime residence is:

a.

A supervised shelter designed to provide temporary accommodations (such as a welfare
hotel or emergency shelter);

A halfway house or similar institution that provides temporary residence for individuals
who would otherwise be in an institution;
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C. A temporary accommodation in the residence of another. (Temporary is defined here as

having been in the home for not more than 90 days as of the date of application); or

d. A place not designed for, or ordinarily used as a regular sleeping accommodation for human
beings (e.g., as a park, bus station, hallway, lobby or similar places).

Initial or New Application - The first application for SNAP benéefits filed in a locality by a household.
If the household subsequently moves to another locality, the first application taken in the new
locality is also a new application.

Intentional Program Violation (IPV) - An intentional program violation consists of any action by an
individual of having intentionally:

a. Made a false or misleading statement to the local agency, orally or in writing, to obtain
benefits to which the household is not entitled. An IPV may exist for an individual even if the
agency denies the household's application.

b. Concealed information or withheld facts to obtain benefits to which the household is not
entitled; or
C. Committed any act that constitutes a violation of the Food and Nutrition Act, SNAP

regulations, or any State statutes relating to the use, presentation, transfer, acquisition,
receipt, or possession of SNAP access devices.

An IPV is also any action where an individual knowingly, willfully and with deceitful intent:
e uses SNAP benefits to buy nonfood items, such as alcohol or cigarettes;
e uses or possesses improperly obtained access devices;
e trades or sells or attempts to trade or sell access devices; or
e uses benefits to repay food purchased on credit.

Migrant Farm Worker - A farm worker who had to travel for farm work and who was unable to return
to the permanent residence within the same day. See also Seasonal Farm Worker.

PA Case - A public assistance (PA) SNAP case is any case in which all household members
receive or are authorized to receive income from the Temporary Assistance for Needy Families
(TANF), General Relief — Unattached Child (GR) or Supplemental Security Income (SSI) Program.
"Authorized to receive" income includes instances when approved benefits are not accessed, are
suspended or recouped, or are less than the minimum amount for the agency to issue a payment.

A case will be a PA unit as long as each household member derives some income from TANF, GR -
Unattached Child or SSI. A case will also be a PA case as long as the PA income counts toward
SNAP eligibility or benefit amount, such as in the case of the Noncompliance with Another
Programs of Part XII.D. Any case that contains at least one member who does not receive TANF,
GR - Unattached Child or SSl is a non-assistance (NA) SNAP case.

A PA case also includes a case in which any member receives or is authorized to receive services
from a program funded by the TANF block grant. Service programs must derive more than 50
percent of their funding from the TANF block grant or from state funds intended to meet the
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Maintenance of Effort (MOE) for TANF funding. (The VIEW Transitional Payment is state-funded to
meet the MOE obligation.) These programs must be for the purposes of:

a. assisting needy families;
b. promoting job preparation, work and marriage;
C. preventing or reducing out-of-wedlock pregnancies, provided the program imposes a 200

percent of poverty income guideline; or

d. promoting two-parent families, provided the program imposes a 200 percent of poverty
income guideline.

A case that meets the criteria for broad-based categorical eligibility will be considered a
categorically eligible case. The criteria for broad-based categorical eligibility consist of at least one
person receiving or authorized to receive a TANF funded service, which benefits the entire
household. This includes non-cash or in-kind service that is less than 50 percent funded with the
TANF block grant or state funds counted for MOE purposes. The household’s income must be at or
below 200 percent of the federal poverty level and will not be subject to the resource asset test.
With broad-based categorical eligibility, there is no requirement that there be minor children in the
household.

A child removed from the TANF grant because of noncompliance with school attendance
requirements continues to be a PA recipient, for SNAP purposes, as long as the TANF case status
remains active.

Reapplication - Processed as an initial or new application, a reapplication is:

a. An application filed when more than a calendar month has elapsed after the last certification
end date; or
b. An application that is filed after an adverse or negative action. An adverse or negative

action is a denial of an application or termination of an ongoing case.

Recertification - The term recertification may refer to an application or the process of renewing
eligibility and entitlement to benefits. A recertification application is an application filed before the
certification end date or in the calendar month after the certification end date, provided the
application does not follow an action to close the case.

Seasonal Farm Worker - An individual employed by another in agricultural work of a seasonal or
other temporary nature. This includes employment on a farm or ranch performing fieldwork such as
planting, cultivating or harvesting, or employment in related activities such as canning, packing,
seed conditioning or related research, or processing operations.
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Trafficking - Trafficking means:

a. Directly or indirectly buying, selling, stealing, or otherwise obtaining SNAP benefits by an
Electronic Benefits Transfer (EBT) card and Personal Identification Number (PIN) or manual
voucher and signature for cash or consideration other than eligible food;

b. Attempting to buy, sell, steal, or otherwise obtain SNAP benefits by an EBT card and PIN or
manual voucher and signature for cash or consideration other than eligible food directly or
indirectly;

C. The exchange of firearms, ammunition, explosives, or controlled substances for SNAP
benefits; or

d. Purchasing a product with SNAP benefits and intentionally:
. discarding the contents in order to return the container for the return deposit amount;

° reselling the purchased product for cash; or

. exchanging the purchased product for cash or for consideration other than eligible
food.

Veteran — An individual who served in the United States Armed Forces (such as Army, Marine
Corps, Navy, Air Force, Space Force, Coast Guard, and National Guard), including an individual
who served in a reserve component of the Armed Forces, and who was discharged or released
therefrom, regardless of the conditions of such discharge or release.

Virginia Restaurant Meals Program — Virginia SNAP households that include at least one member
who are 60 or older, permanently disabled or experiencing homelessness would have the ability to
purchase prepared meals using their Electronic Benefits Transfer (EBT) card at approved
restaurants.
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A. PURPOSE OF THE SUPPLEMENTAL NUTRITION ASSISTANCE PROGRAM

A goal of the Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP) is to reduce hunger and increase
food security. The Program permits low-income households to have a more nutritious diet through
normal channels of trade by increasing the food purchasing power for eligible households. The
Program also provides food when there is a disaster.

This manual provides SNAP certification procedures for Virginia. The Virginia Electronic Benefits
Transfer (EBT) Policy and Procedures Guide provides guidance for the issuance of EBT cards to
eligible households.

B. HISTORY OF THE SUPPLEMENTAL NUTRITION ASSISTANCE PROGRAM

The Food Stamp Program started in four Virginia localities (Lee, Wise, Dickenson and the City of
Norton) during the pilot phase of its development before the establishment of the permanent
program on a national basis. Through requests to operate the Program from local governing
bodies, more than 70 localities in Virginia expanded the Program by June 1974. President Nixon
signed the Farm Bill into law in August 1973 that required nationwide implementation of the Food
Stamp Program effective July 1, 1974. Nationwide implementation of the Food Stamp Program
eliminated the Surplus Commodity Program which was an alternate food program available to
localities.

The Food Stamp Act of 1964 authorized the Food Stamp Program on a permanent basis. The
Food Stamp Act of 1977 and subsequent amendments amended the 1964 Act and provide the
basis of the current Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program. Provisions of the Food,
Conservation and Energy Act of 2008 renamed the Food Stamp Act of 1977, as amended, to the
Food and Nutrition Act of 2008 and renamed the Food Stamp Program as the Supplemental
Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP).

The U.S. Department of Agriculture administers SNAP nationally through the Food and Nutrition
Service (FNS). In Virginia, local departments of social services operate the Program at the
county/city level under the supervision of the Virginia Department of Social Services.

C. BENEFIT ISSUANCE AND USE

Eligible households receive SNAP benefits electronically. Households receive a plastic EBT card
with a magnetic stripe and must use a personal identification number (PIN) to access the benefits.

During the certification interview or other agency contact with eligible households, the agency must
advise or discuss with households the following:

° How to access benefits using the EBT card.
. The Primary Card Holder and authorized representative will each receive a card.
. Cardholder should sign the EBT card upon receipt.
Selecting and protecting the PIN and EBT card.

. When benefits will be available after certification and for future months and where to use

the benefits. Use the EBT card at any retail store, approved restaurants, or other food
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vendors authorized by USDA to accept SNAP benefits. Note that authorized retailers and
restaurants participating in Virginia Restaurant Meals Program (VRMP) may display a sign
indicating authorization that reads, "We accept SNAP Benefits" or similar language, or that
displays the QUEST logo. Other authorized facilities include:
° Nonprofit meal delivery services, such as Meals-On-Wheels, or feeding sites for the
elderly;
Authorized drug addiction and alcoholic treatment and rehabilitation centers;
Certain group living arrangements;
Shelters for battered women and children; and
Authorized nonprofit establishments that feed homeless persons and restaurants
authorized to accept SNAP benefits.
e Proper use of the benefits.
o Purchase any food or food product for human consumption; or
o Purchase seeds and plants for use in gardens to produce food for the household's
personal consumption.
e Using benefits when making purchases.
e Separate eligible items from ineligible ones at the checkout counter unless the store
is electronically programmed to identify eligible and ineligible items.
¢ Advise the cashier beforehand of the intent to use SNAP benéefits if electronic
programming is not available to denote SNAP benefits or when the household will
use EBT in conjunction with other payment methods.
e Improper use of benefits. Households may not use SNAP benefits to purchase or pay for

the following:
. Alcoholic beverages or tobacco;
. Hot foods ready for immediate consumption or food to eat on the store’s premises,

excluding meals prepared by approved restaurants participating in VRMP and
consumed by eligible VRMP SNAP participants;
° Pet foods, soap products, paper products, or other non-food items usually available
in a grocery store;
. To pay back grocery bills or tabs for food received on credit;
. Firearms, ammunition, explosives, or controlled substances; or
. Purchasing a product with SNAP benefits and intentionally:
. discarding the contents in order to return the container for the return deposit
amount;
. reselling a purchased product for cash; or
exchanging a purchased product for cash or for consideration other than
eligible food.
e At reapplication or recertification, determine if another EBT card is needed.

The agency must assist households who have difficulty in accessing their SNAP benefits, such as
households comprised of elderly or disabled members, homeless households or those without a
fixed mailing address. For example, the agency might assist an elderly person who is housebound
in finding an authorized representative who might access the household’s benefit account and
shop for groceries on behalf of the household. To ensure timely participation, the agency should
issue a vault card to Address Confidentiality Program participants who elect to use a substitute
mailing address. See Part VII.B.
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Field offices for the USDA are responsible for authorizing retailers to accept SNAP benefits and
are responsible for ensuring compliance of SNAP regulations by retailers. The Richmond Field
Office (637) is responsible for Virginia localities. Contact information is:

Food and Nutrition Service, USDA Telephone:  (804) 287-1710
1606 Santa Rosa Road, Suite 239 Fax: (804) 287-1726
Richmond, Virginia 23229-5014

D. PERSONNEL AND OFFICE OPERATIONS (7 CFR 272.4(a))

The local department must provide qualified employees necessary to take prompt action on all
applications. Local employees who certify households for participation in the Supplemental
Nutrition Assistance Program must meet the same personnel standards as those used by the
local agency for personnel who certify applicants for benefits under the federally aided public
assistance programs. Only qualified local employees or contract staff may conduct the interview
of applicant households required by Part II.D and determine the household's eligibility or
ineligibility and the level of benefits. In addition, only authorized employees or agents of the state
or locality, or a local issuing agency, without the ability to authorize SNAP or D-SNAP benefits,
may issue EBT cards. These individuals will have update capability in the EBT administrative
system. Eligibility staff are restricted to inquiry-only access to the EBT administrative system.

The local department must provide timely, accurate, and fair service to SNAP applicants and
participants. Each local department must establish office procedures and operations that
accommodate the needs of the populations it serves. The local department must not establish
any policies, regulations, or rules that create barriers to accessing SNAP benefits. Populations
with special needs may include households with members who are elderly or those who have
disabilities, homeless households, and households with members who work during normal office
hours. The local department must provide bilingual staff and interpreter services to households
with limited English proficiency.

E. NONDISCRIMINATION

Federal law and the Virginia Human Rights Act, Virginia Code §2.2-2632 et seq., bar
discrimination based on age, race, sex, disability, religious creed, national origin, and political
belief. The following civil rights laws apply for SNAP:

e The Age Discrimination Act of 1975, 42 U.S.C. §6101 et seq.

e Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973, 29 U.S.C. §794

o The Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990, 42 U.S.C. §12101 et seq.

o Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, 42 U.S.C. §2000d et seq.

Virginia has established procedures to ensure fair and equitable treatment of applicants and
recipients of public assistance. The local department of social services must assure that no
person will be subjected to discrimination on the grounds of age, race, color, sex, disability,

religious creed, national origin, or political belief.
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Key Principles

Compliance with these laws assures that equal opportunity exists for persons with disabilities to
benefit from all aspects of public assistance programs, including access to the proper support
services to enable such individuals to work and to keep their families healthy, safe and intact.
“‘Individualized treatment” and “effective and meaningful opportunity” are two key principles that
underlie the bar on discrimination against people with disabilities.

Individualized Treatment

“Individualized treatment” requires that individuals with disabilities be treated on a case-by-case
basis consistent with facts and objective evidence. Individuals with disabilities must not be treated
based on generalizations and stereotypes.

Effective and Meaningful Opportunity

“Effective and meaningful opportunity” means that individuals must be afforded meaningful access
to SNAP so that individuals with disabilities benefit from and have meaningful access to SNAP to
the same extent as individuals who do not have disabilities.

Legal Requirements

To implement these two principles, the following legal requirements must be met:

o Ensure equal access through the provision of appropriate services to people with
disabilities;

¢ Modify policies, practices and procedures to provide such equal access; and
¢ Adopt nondiscriminatory methods of administration in the program.

Applicability to All Staff, Contractors, Vendors at the State and Local Levels

In compliance with the federal laws, Virginia does not discriminate against people with disabilities

in SNAP. This policy applies to all Department of Social Services state and local staff. The policy
also applies to agencies and entities contracted with for services. State and local agencies must

ensure that contractors and vendors do not subject recipients to discrimination.

Definition of a Person with a Disability

Federal law protects individuals with a “disability.” This term means a person who has a physical
or mental impairment that substantially limits one or more of the major life activities of that
individual, a person who has a record of such impairment, or a person who is being regarded as
having such impairment. See Definitions for a detailed definition for SNAP applicability.

1. Discrimination Complaints - People who believe that they were subject to discrimination
may file a complaint by calling (866) 632-9992 (voice). (800) 877-8339 (Federal Relay
Service), or (800) 845-6136 (Spanish), or by writing:
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U.S. Department of Agriculture
Director, Office of Civil Rights
1400 Independence Avenue SW
Washington, D.C. 20250-9410

State and local social services departments must accept all written or verbal
discrimination complaints, log the complaints, and forward them within five business
days to the Department of Agriculture and to the Virginia Department of Social Services.

Civil Rights/EEOQ Director
USDA - Mid-Atlantic Region
300 Corporate Boulevard
Robbinsville, NJ 08691-1598
Telephone — (609) 259-5123

Civil Rights Program Administrator
Virginia Department of Social Services
5600 Cox Road

Glen Allen, VA 23060

If the individual making the complaint does not put the complaint in writing, the person
receiving the complaint must do so. Complaints must be accepted even if the
information specified below is not complete. Advise the complainant of the program’s
restrictions on disclosure of information. A complaint must be filed no later than 180
days from the date of the alleged discrimination. Whenever possible, the complaint
should include the following:

a.

Name, address, and telephone number or other means of contacting the person
alleging discrimination.

The location and name of the organization or office that is accused of
discriminatory practices.

The nature of the incident, action, or the aspect of program administration that
led the person to allege discrimination.

The basis for the alleged discrimination (age, sex, race, religion, color, disability,
national origin, or political belief).

The names, addresses, telephone numbers, and titles of persons who may have
knowledge of the alleged discriminatory acts.

The date or dates on which the alleged discriminatory actions occurred or, if
continuing, the duration of the actions.

Public Notification - Requirements for displaying a nondiscrimination poster are

addressed in Part I.1.
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3. Annual Training — All persons who interact with SNAP applicants and participants and

those who supervise such staff must participate in annual civil rights training. This
training is available online through the VDSS Knowledge Center.

4. Reasonable Accommodations - The BPS must consider whether a person may have a
disability, and how a person’s disability may affect the person’s ability to comply with
rules, fill out forms, attend appointments, etc. Ifitis determined that a person has a
disability that affects the ability to comply with program rules or procedures, the BPS has
the authority to make reasonable modifications to program rules, requirements and
procedures to ensure that the person with a disability receives full and meaningful
access to SNAP benefits.

Evidence of disability of a household member, including any indications that a household
member may have a disability, and all requests for reasonable accommodations must be
documented in the case file.

Examples
Ms. A applies for SNAP. She has a learning disability and is unable to complete
the application. As a reasonable accommodation, staff assists her to complete

the application.

Ms. B is not able to come to the office due to the nature of her disability. Staff
arranges to obtain the information by phone.

Ms. C missed repeated appointments. It is determined that she has a mental
iliness that prevents her from organizing information and keeping track of
appointments. The staff phones her on the morning of an appointment to help her
to remember to keep the appointment.

F. COLLECTION OF RACIAL/ETHNIC GROUP DATA

Local agencies must record the race and ethnicity of each household.

The racial categories are:

White Asian
Black or African American American Indian or Alaskan Native
Native Hawaiian or other Pacific

Islander

The categories for ethnicity are:
Hispanic or Latino | Not Hispanic or Latino

Applications for SNAP benefits ask the applicant to identify the racial and ethnic categories for
each member. The applicant may select more than one category for race. The BPS must
advise the applicant that the information is voluntary, that it will not affect eligibility or benefit
level, and that the reason for the collection of this information is to ensure that there is no
discrimination regarding the receipt of SNAP benefits.
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When the applicant does not voluntarily provide the information, the BPS must code the data
based on observation. If a telephone interview is conducted or the BPS is unable to determine
the racial or ethnic categories, the BPS must leave the field blank. VDSS must report the racial
and ethnic data annually to USDA.

G.  RETENTION OF RECORDS (7 CFR 272.1(f))

SNAP documents must be maintained for a minimum of three years from the month of the last
benefit issuance or benefit determination of ineligibility. Some records require a longer retention
period. The retention period is dependent on the record type and activity related to the record.
Annual systematic purging of material unrelated to legal, fiscal, administrative, or program
administration is recommended.

1. Certification records must be retained for a minimum of three years from the
month of origin of each record. Certification records may include any material
that documents the basis for an allotment, the determination of eligibility, or the
establishment of a claim. Records needed to support claims collection activity or
long-term eligibility determinations or disqualifications must be kept longer than
three years. Certification records may also include the authorization and
issuance of a vault EBT card or authorization for crediting the card replacement
fee back to an EBT account.

a. Records related to claims must be kept for three years after a claim is repaid or is
administratively closed.

b. Records that support investigation of a suspected Intentional Program Violation
must be kept until the case has been resolved if the investigation was initiated
during the normal three-year retention period for certification actions.

C. Records about Intentional Program Violation disqualifications must be kept for
the life of the individual or until FNS notifies through the disqualified recipient
system that the record is no longer needed.

d. Records to document work registration, voluntary quit, or work reduction
violations must be retained for the life of the individual who caused the violation
or until the person reaches age 60, whichever occurs first.

2. Issuance or administrative records must be retained for a three-year period. The three-
year period may be from the month the federal obligation is paid, from the period of final
resolution of the issuance billing process or three years from the creation of the record.
These records include EBT records.

3. Administrative cost records must be maintained for three years from the date the annual
financial status report. These records include fiscal and statistical records, supporting
documents, negotiated contracts and any other document related to administrative
costs. These records must be retained beyond three years if a claim, litigation or audit is
initiated before the end of the three-year period. In these instances, the records must be
retained until the claim, litigation, or audit has been resolved.
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H. DISCLOSURE OF INFORMATION (7 CFR 272.1(c), 272.1(d))

Use or disclosure of information obtained from SNAP applicant households exclusively for the
Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program is restricted to the following:

1. Persons directly connected with the administration or enforcement of the provisions of the
Food and Nutrition Act or regulations, other federal assistance programs, or federally
assisted State programs which provide aid, on a means-tested basis, to low- income
individuals. This includes the Office of the Inspector General (OIG) and the Statewide
Automated Child Welfare Information System (SACWIS).

2. Employees of the Comptroller General's Office of the United States for audit examination
authorized by any other provision of law.

3. Local, state, or federal law enforcement officials upon a written request to investigate an
alleged SNAP violation. The written request must include the identity of the individual
requesting the information and the authority to do so, the violation being investigated,
and the name of the person for whom the information is requested.

4, Law enforcement officials upon notification that an individual is fleeing prosecution or
imprisonment, is in violation of parole or, that an individual has information needed to
investigate a felony or parole violation. The request for information must specify the
name of a SNAP household member. Disclosure is limited to an individual's address,
Social Security number, and photograph, if available, upon a written request. The
agency may not disclose scheduled appointment dates or times, SNAP case
information, or EBT account information. In addition, the agency may not disclose
information about other unspecified household members or other SNAP cases. The
written request must include the identity of the individual requesting the information and
the authority to do so, and the violation being investigated.

5. The parent locator service to assist in the Child Support Enforcement Program under
Title IV-D, upon request; and

6. Persons directly connected with the verification of immigration status of aliens applying
for SNAP benefits through SAVE to the extent the information is necessary to identify
the individual for verification purposes.

If there is a written request by a responsible member of the household, its currently authorized
representative, or a person acting on its behalf, the household representative must be allowed
to review material and information contained in the case file, during normal business hours. The
agency may withhold confidential information, however, such as the names of individuals who
have disclosed information about the household without the household's knowledge, or the
nature or status of pending criminal prosecutions.

All local departments of social services must maintain state regulations and manuals that affect
the public for examination by the public on regular workdays during regular office hours.
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L. PROGRAM INFORMATIONAL ACTIVITIES (7 CFR 272.5)

SNAP information must be available to the applicant and recipient households in English and in the
household’s designated language. Program information includes the rights and responsibilities of
households. This information may be conveyed through publications, telephone hotlines, and face-
to-face contacts.

1. Booklets/Pamphlets

a.

Virginia Social Services — Benefit Programs information pamphlet - Applicants may
receive this pamphlet at the time of each new application. The BPS may provide the
pamphlet the pamphlet at each reapplication or recertification if the household no
longer has a copy of the pamphlet

Appeals and Fair Hearings pamphlet — Local departments may provide this pamphlet
with adverse action notices to reduce or terminate benefits or when applications are
denied.

Virginia EBT Questions and Answers pamphlet and the EBT wallet card — The local
department or the EBT vendor must provide EBT materials to EBT card recipients
upon the initial or replacement issuance of the EBT card. The local department must
provide these EBT materials upon request after the issuance of the EBT card.

2. Posters

These posters must be prominently displayed where SNAP applications are taken:

a. "And Justice for All"
b. "Your SNAP Rights"
3. Other Required Activities

a. Provide an explanation of household rights when applicants request information
about the Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program. Provide a verbal explanation,
or it may provide the Know Your Rights When Applying for SNAP Benefits flyer if the
applicant is able to read and comprehend the form in English or other available
languages.

b. Complete the SNAP - Hotline Information form and provide it to each applicant on
the day the applicant files a new application, a reapplication, or a late recertification
application.

C. Try to answer general or specific questions related to the Supplemental Nutrition

Assistance Program from persons expressing an interest in applying for program
benefits. The department may refer callers to appropriate personnel, and if those
persons are not available, the department must arrange to return the call. If it is not
possible to return the call, advise the caller to return the call at a prearranged time
when the appropriate personnel will be available to answer the questions.
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J. CERTIFICATION MATERIALS (7 CFR 272.4)

SNAP information must be available to the applicant and recipient households in English and the
household’s designated language. Certification materials include the SNAP application or renewal
forms, change report form and notices.

K. FAMILY ASSESSMENT

Benefit programs are designed to provide income support benefits to assist families who are unable
to provide the necessities of life and maintain minimum standards of health and well-being through
their own efforts. Gathering relevant information about a family's situation and assessing that
information against the eligibility for benefit programs are the basis for making the eligibility
determinations. This process also includes an assessment of need for service programs and other
resources to assist the family, which includes following the Practice Model contained in Appendix |l
of Part |. If other needs exist, the eligibility BPS must refer the family for appropriate services or
resources within the agency or community.

L. PRUDENT PERSON CONCEPT

This manual provides guidelines for the Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program. Material

presented here is often broad to allow certification staff sufficient flexibility to make reasonable
judgements in evaluating individual household circumstances to determine SNAP eligibility and
benefit level.

It is not possible to have every potential situation observed in managing a caseload addressed in
this manual so, the eligibility BPS must determine what is reasonable, i.e., the prudent person
concept. The eligibility BPS must exercise reasonable judgement based on experience, knowledge
of the program and logic. The prudent person concept does not eliminate or replace eligibility
requirements or actions. The BPS must sufficiently document the case file to allow supervisory
staff, appeals officers, reviewers, and colleagues to be able to understand case actions as well as
to permit self-review.

M. PRE-APPLICATION ELIGIBILITY DETERIMINATION/DISCUSSION PROHIBITED

SNARP eligibility guidance must be applied to the facts of a specific application submitted by a
household; the interview with the household based on the submitted application; and any additional
information supplied by an applying household. Prior to receipt of an application, local department
of social services employees must not provide advice or answers to hypothetical situations from
applicants, potential applicants, or, those acting on behalf of others. Until a complete application is
received by the local department of social services, an interview is conducted, and verifications are
received, the local department of social services cannot be sure it has all the relevant facts. Itis
appropriate, however, to explain program eligibility criteria.
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FIPS CODE DIRECTORY

Code Locality Code Locality Code Locality
001 Accomack 083 Halifax 171 Shenandoah
003 Albemarle 085 Hanover Shenandoah Valley
005/  Alleghany 087 Henrico 015 Augusta
560 Clifton Forge 089/ Henry 790 Staunton
580 Covington 690 Martinsville 820 Waynesboro
007 Amelia 091 Highland 173 Smyth
009 Ambherst 093 Isle of Wight 175 Southampton
011 Appomattox 095 James City 177 Spotsylvania
013 Arlington 097 King and Queen 179 Stafford
017 Bath 099 King George 181 Surry
019 Bedford 101 King William 183 Sussex
021 Bland 103 Lancaster 185 Tazewell
023 Botetourt 105 Lee 187 Warren
025 Brunswick 107 Loudoun 191 Washington
027 Buchanan 109 Louisa 193 Westmoreland
029 Buckingham 111 Lunenburg 195 Wise
031 Campbell 113 Madison 197 Wythe
033 Caroline 115 Mathews 199/  York
035 Carroll 117 Mecklenburg 735 Poquoson
036 Charles City 119 Middlesex 510 Alexandria
037 Charlotte 121 Montgomery 520 Bristol
041/  Chesterfield 125 Nelson 540 Charlottesville
570 Colonial Heights 127 New Kent 550 Chesapeake
043 Clarke 131 Northampton 590 Danville
045 Craig 133 Northumberland 620 Franklin City
047 Culpeper 135 Nottoway 630 Fredericksburg
049 Cumberland 137 Orange 640 Galax
051 Dickenson 139 Page 650 Hampton
053 Dinwiddie 141 Patrick 670 Hopewell
057 Essex 143 Pittsylvania 680 Lynchburg
059/  Fairfax County 145 Powhatan 683 Manassas
600 Fairfax 147 Prince Edward 685 Manassas Park
610 Falls Church 149 Prince George 700 Newport News
061 Fauquier 153 Prince William 710 Norfolk
063 Floyd 155 Pulaski 720 Norton
065 Fluvanna 157 Rappahannock 730 Petersburg
067 Franklin County 159 Richmond County 740 Portsmouth
069 Frederick 161 Roanoke County 750 Radford
071 Giles 163/ Rockbridge 760 Richmond City
073 Gloucester 530 Buena Vista 770 Roanoke City
075 Goochland 678 Lexington 800 Suffolk
o077 Grayson 165/ Rockingham 810 Virginia Beach
079 Greene 660 Harrisonburg 830 Williamsburg
081/  Greensville 167 Russell 840 Winchester
595 Emporia 169 Scott
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Virginia Department of Social Services Practice Model

The Virginia Department of Social Services Practice Model sets forth our standards of professional
practice and serves as a values framework that defines relationships, guides thinking and decision-
making, and structures our beliefs about individuals, families, and communities. We approach our
work every day based on various personal and professional experiences. While our experiences
impact the choices we make, our Practice Model suggests a desired approach to working with
others and provides a clear model of practice, inclusive of all agency programs and services, that
outlines how our system successfully practices. Central to our practice is the family. Guided by
this model, we strive to continuously improve the ways in which we deliver programs and services
to Virginia’s citizens.

1. All children, adults and communities deserve to be safe and stable.

e Every child has the right to live in a safe home, attend a safe school and live in a safe
community. Ensuring safety requires a collaborative effort among family, agency staff, and
community partners and across all programs and services.

e Every adult has the right to live and work in a safe environment. We value all programs
that address domestic and family violence and the abuse, neglect, and exploitation of older
or incapacitated adults.

o We value individual and family strengths, perspectives, goals, and plans as central to
creating and maintaining a safe environment. The meaningful engagement and
participation of children, adults, extended family, and community stakeholders is a
necessary component of assuring safety.

e When legal action is necessary to ensure the safety of a child and/or an adult, we use our
authority with respect and sensitivity.

¢ Individuals are best served when services are person-centered, family-focused and
community-based and aim to preserve the family unit and prevent family disruption.

2. Allindividuals deserve a safe, stable and healthy family that supports them through their
lifespan.

o We believe mothers, fathers, and children thrive in safe, stable, healthy families. We value
family structures that support the best interests of children; however, we believe that
children do best when raised in intact, two-parent families.

e Both parents should be actively involved in the lives of their children, even if they are not
the primary caregiver.

¢ Healthy, lifelong family connections are crucial to the development of children, the stability
of the family and the support of infirm, dependent or aging adults. Through the services we
provide, we seek out, promote, and preserve these healthy ties to family members and to
others in the community to whom the family is connected or who may provide support.
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3. Self-sufficiency and personal accountability are essential for individual and family well-being.

o Family members support each other in ways the social services system cannot. We value
the intra-family resources and supports that are available within the context of any family as
a pathway to self-sufficiency and personal accountability.

We believe employment, training, and education are keys to self-sufficiency. We believe in
employment and training programs that remove barriers and create opportunities for
individuals and families.

Individuals and families face unique challenges that impact their ability to maintain self-
sufficiency. We value all programs and services that assist individuals and families to
regain and maintain self-sufficiency and achieve personal accountability.

Both custodial and noncustodial parents should provide necessary financial resources to
support their children.

We believe that parents and caregivers serve as role models in teaching the importance of
self-sufficiency and personal accountability.

We support asset development strategies to help individuals and families weather short-
term emergencies and improve long-term stability.

4. All individuals know themselves best and should be treated with dignity and respect.

All programs and services should be culturally and linguistically sensitive to all individuals.
Individuals and families are empowered when they have access to information and
resources.

We support programs for vulnerable populations including children, the elderly, and
individuals with disabilities.

The measure of success differs with every individual. We strive to understand children,
adults, and families within the context of their own values, traditions, history, and culture.
The voices of children, individuals, and families are heard, valued, and included in decision-
making processes related to programs and services.

5. When partnering with others to support individual and family success, we use an integrated
service approach.

e Cooperation, coordination and collaboration within and outside of the social services
system are essential to providing the most comprehensive services to families. We are
committed to working across programs, divisions, agencies, stakeholder groups, and
communities to improve outcomes for the children, individuals, families, and communities
we serve.

e Through the development of policies, procedures, standards, and agreements across
systems, we will share information, solve problems, and overcome barriers.

o We value prevention networks that link effective public and private programs and
community-based organizations that identify individuals and families before they need
services.
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o We believe in partnering across programs and systems in order to provide a full array of
services along the continuum of care. We are committed to working within and outside of
the social services system to identify and address service gaps.

6. How we do our work has a direct impact on the well-being of the individuals, families, and
communities we serve.

¢ Children, individuals and families deserve trained, skillful professionals to engage and
assist them. We hire, develop and maintain a workforce that aligns with our practice
model.

o Clear expectations, effective supervision, leadership and proper resource supports are
critical for the workforce to do their job effectively.

o We believe in creating and maintaining a supportive working and learning environment
with accountability at all levels.

o We value the provision of high-quality, timely, efficient, and effective services. We
believe relationships and communication should be conducted with honesty,
transparency, integrity, empathy, and respect within and outside of our social services
system.

e The collection and sharing of accurate, outcome-driven data and evidence-based
information is a critical part of how we continually learn and improve. We use data to
inform, manage, improve practice, measure effectiveness and guide decisions.

e Continuous quality improvement is fundamental to our work.
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A. APPLICATION PROCESSING

Application processing includes filing and completing an application, interviewing, and verifying
certain information. The local department of social services must act promptly on all applications
and provide SNAP benefits retroactive to the month of application to households that complete the
application process and are eligible. An application may be an initial application, a reapplication, or
a recertification.

This chapter contains the responsibilities of households and local departments in the application
process. Expedited service is available to households in immediate need. See PartV for
instructions regarding expedited service processing.

B.  FILING AN APPLICATION (7 CFR 273.2(c)(1))

Households must file an application for SNAP benefits with the local department of social services
in the locality where the household resides. Households may file applications in person, by mail, by
fax, by telephone to the Enterprise Customer Service Center (initial application and reapplication
only), or online. Households may also file the application through an authorized representative.
The application and instructions are contained in Part XXIV.

Each household has the right to file an application for SNAP benefits on the same day it contacts
the local department during normal business hours. The local department must document the
application filing date by recording the date on which the local department received the application.
The date of application will be the date the local department received the application during the
normal business hours. The next business day will be the application date for any application
received outside normal business hours.

Households must normally apply for SNAP benefits for all persons who reside together and who
purchase and prepare food together. In some instances, households may choose to exclude
certain persons from the application process to avoid providing identifying information about these
individuals. Such an instance might include a household with certain immigrant members who want
to avoid the receipt of benefits in connection with their immigration status. Another example would
be sponsored immigrants who elect not to give information about their sponsors as required in Part
XII.C. Households may classify certain members as "nonapplicants" and omit providing Social
Security numbers, immigration status and immigration control numbers. If an applicant classifies a
mandatory household member as a nonapplicant, as per Part VI.A.2 (spouse, parent, child), the
worker must determine the eligibility of the remaining household members using the income and
resources of the nonapplicant in the same manner as disqualified members (Part XII.E.2.b). If the
nonapplicant is not a mandatory household member, the worker must not count any of the income
or resources of the excluded person.

For a resident of a public institution who jointly applies for SSI and SNAP benefits before the
release from the institution, the SNAP application filing date will be the date of the applicant's
release from the institution.

1. Agency Action for the Initial Contact

When a household contacts the local department and expresses an interest in obtaining
TRANSMITTAL #35



VIRGINIA DEPARTMENT
OF SOCIAL SERVICES APPLICATION PROCESSING

10/24 VOLUME V, PART II, PAGE 2

SNAP benefits, at a minimum, the agency must:

a. Provide an application upon request or, if contacted by telephone or through other
means, advise the household that it may obtain the form in the office or that it is
available by mail or online. The local department must mail the application the same
day it receives a request.

b. Encourage households to file applications on the same day they contact the agency
or when households indicate food insecurity. Advise that completed applications
should be submitted as soon as possible. Advise that applications may be submitted
by mail, in person, by fax, online, or by telephone

C. Explain that only SNAP rules are used to determine eligibility so that households
should apply for SNAP benefits even if they may not be eligible for other programs.

The local department may get information from potential applicants that indicates probable
ineligibility. The local department must not deny persons who contact the department before
they file an application nor discourage households from filing applications for SNAP benefits.
Persons who express an interest in SNAP benefits must have an opportunity to apply and, if
determined ineligible, receive a written denial notice.

2. Agency Actions for the Application Filing Date

Applicants may file an application that contains minimal information to protect the application
filing date. Minimal information needed for a valid application is the applicant's name,
address, and signature of a responsible household member or authorized representative.
(See Part I1.D for a discussion of responsible household members.) Depending on the type
of application, signature may be written or unwritten. Unwritten signatures may include
electronic signature, recorded telephonic signature, or recorded gestured signatures.

Upon receipt of a valid application, the local department must:
. Determine the household's entitlement to expedited service processing.

Local department staff should screen for expedited entitlement while applicants are
present in the office when possible. If the applicant is not present in the office, local
department staff must review the application on the day of receipt to determine the
entitlement to expedited service processing.

If the applicant did not sufficiently complete the application to allow the expedited
screening, the local department must attempt to contact the household by telephone
if the application contains a number. If contact with the household to obtain the
necessary information is not possible within the seven days, the worker must
process the application under normal processing policies until further contact with the
household allows a delayed screening for expedited processing to take place.

. Complete the SNAP - Hotline Information form and provide it to any household that
files a new application, a reapplication, or a late recertification application.
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C.

Subsequent Actions Required After An Application Is Filed

Once the local department receives an application that contains at least the applicant's
name, address and signature, advise the applicant that an interview must be conducted
before certification. Advise the household that the interview may be conducted in the office
or by telephone. Provide the interview scheduling hours for the agency.

Withdrawing An Application

The household may voluntarily withdraw its application at any time before the certification
interview. The local department must document the case file as to the reason for
withdrawal, if the household provides a reason, and that the local department made contact
with the household to confirm the withdrawal. If the household makes the withdrawal
request in person or submits a written note from a responsible household member, no
further confirmation is needed. The local department must advise the household of its right
to reapply at any time after the withdrawal. The BPS must send the Notice of Action to deny
the application.

Contacting The Wrong Locality

Note: The case transfer procedures of Part XIV.A.8 do not apply to this section.

If a household contacts the wrong locality, the local department must give the household the
address and telephone number of the appropriate office. The local department must also
offer to forward the household's application by mail or courier to the appropriate office that
same day if the household completed enough information on the application to file. The
local department must offer to forward the application, by fax or other means, the next day
as long as the application gets to the receiving agency the same day. The local department
must inform the household that the filing date and the processing standards will not begin
until the appropriate office receives the application.

If the household mails its application to the wrong office, the local department must mail the
application to the appropriate office on the same day. The local department may forward
the application the next day by fax or any other means as long as the application gets to the
receiving agency the same day. The normal processing time standards described in Part
II.F do not begin until the correct office receives the application, except when the Social
Security Administration forwards the application and the household meets the expedited
processing entitlement, as noted in Part Il.H.2.b.

HOUSEHOLD COOPERATION (7 CFR 273.2(d))

If the household refuses to cooperate with the local department in completing the application
process, the BPS must deny the application at the time of refusal. For the BPS to determine that
the household refused to cooperate, the household must be able to cooperate but clearly
demonstrate that it will not take required actions that it can take to complete the application
process.
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Example

An applicant files an application. The BPS notifies the applicant of the interview
requirement and schedules an interview. The applicant must refuse the
interview, not merely fail to appear for the interview in order for the BPS to deny
the application for refusal to cooperate.

If there is any question as to whether the household failed to cooperate or refused to cooperate, the
BPS must not deny the household for refusal to cooperate and the BPS must assist the household,
as appropriate.

The household will also be ineligible if it refuses to cooperate in any subsequent review of its
eligibility, including reviews generated by reported changes and at recertification. Once denied or
terminated for refusal to cooperate, the household may reapply but will not be eligible until its
members cooperate with the local department. In addition, the household will be ineligible if the
members refuse to cooperate for a subsequent review of its eligibility as part of a quality control
review. If the BPS closes a household's case for refusal to cooperate with a quality control review,
the household will not be eligible again until it cooperates with the quality control reviewer if the
household reapplies before the end of the quality control reporting year (generally January 21),
regardless of the original sample month.

The household will not be ineligible when a person outside the household fails to cooperate with a
request for verification. The agency may not consider disqualified or ineligible people excluded
from the Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program as nonhousehold members. See Part VI.C.

D.  INTERVIEWS (7 CFR 273.2(e)(1) and (3))

All applicant households, including those submitting applications by mail, fax, telephone, or
electronically, must have an interview with a qualified BPS before initial certification, certification
based on a reapplication, or for recertification. The individual interviewed may be the head of
household, spouse, any responsible member of the household, or an authorized representative.
For the purposes of this manual, when adults and children reside together, a responsible household
member means a household member 18 years of age or older who has sufficient knowledge of the
household's circumstances to provide any necessary information. The applicant may bring anyone
to the interview as desired.

The certification interview may occur by telephone or may occur in the local department or other
mutually acceptable site if the household requests a face-to-face interview or if the worker
determines a face-to-face interview is warranted for the household. (The agency does not need to
document the reason a telephone interview was conducted or why an in-office interview was held.)
The interview may take place in the applicant’'s home provided the BPS arranges for the visit in
advance as per Part III.A.3.

The interviewer must not simply review the information that appears on the application, but must

explore and resolve with the household unclear and incomplete information. At the same time, the
BPS must make the applicant feel at ease. The interview must include:
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1. An explanation of basic program procedures, including the local agency's responsibilities

and application processing time frames. Include an explanation of the issuance process
and use of SNAP benefits, as outlined in Part I.C.

2. An explanation of the options available to the household and the advantages and
disadvantages of each choice. Include an explanation that the utility standard, homeless
shelter standard and medical standard deductions will be used, if appropriate, unless the
household opts to use actual amounts. If actual amounts are used, discuss the choice to
have expenses averaged or counted only in the month billed.

3. A verbal and written explanation of the household's rights and responsibilities. Include an
explanation of the consequences if these responsibilities are not met. Include an
explanation of the consequences of voluntarily quitting employment.

4. An explanation that the agency may receive information through the Income and Eligibility
Verification System (IEVS) or that the agency will access other computer systems. The
agency will use and verify the information. Information that the agency receives may affect
the household's eligibility and benefit level.

5. A discussion of appropriate collection actions for households that owe outstanding
payments on claims.

In all instances, the agency must respect the household's right to privacy; the BPS must conduct
the interview as a confidential discussion of household circumstances. The scope of the interview
may not extend beyond the examination of household circumstances that directly relate to the
determination of household eligibility.

If an BPS does not conduct the interview on the day the applicant files an application, the agency
must schedule an interview. For applications and reapplications, the local agency must schedule
interviews as promptly as possible to ensure eligible households receive an opportunity to
participate within seven days, if expedited, or within 30 days after the household files an application.
The agency should schedule the interview no later than 20 days after the application filing date for
households that are not entitled to expedited processing. The BPS must allow households a
minimum of 10 days to provide information after the interview is scheduled.

If the household does not respond to the scheduled telephone interview or fails to appear for the
scheduled office interview, the local agency must send the household the Missed Interview Notice.
The notice advises the household to reschedule the interview and that the agency will deny the
application if the household does not reschedule the interview. The agency needs to send the
notice after the first missed interview appointment only.

The agency must deny the application on the 30th day after the application filing date if the
household does not request another interview. If the household requests a second interview during
the initial 30-day period, the agency must not deny the application. If the household is eligible for
benefits, the agency must issue prorated benefits from the application date.

The agency must not deny the application on the 30" day if the agency has not scheduled the
interview before the 30" day. In addition, the agency must not deny the application on the 30t day
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if the agency has not allowed the household a minimum of 10 days after the interview to supply
verification or needed information to process the application.

For agencies with walk-in systems for interviewing, the agency must assign a specific period for
the applicant to appear for the interview if the applicant elects not to complete the interview on the
day of the contact. The agency must schedule an interview even if the agency otherwise advises
of the full range of interview hours available. As indicated above, the BPS must send the Missed
Interview Notice if the interview does not occur when scheduled. The agency must deny the
application on the 30th day after the application filing date if the applicant misses the interview
and does not reschedule the interview. See Part IV.C.3 for interview time frames for the
recertification process.

The agency may request a certified household appear for an in-office interview during the
certification period in order to clarify the household's circumstances. The agency may not require
an interview however. See Part XIV.A.2 for a discussion of the agency's required actions on
changes.

E.  NORMAL PROCESSING STANDARD (7 CFR 273.2(g)(1); 274.1)

The filing date of an application is the day the appropriate SNAP office receives an application.
The minimal information an application needs is the applicant's name, address, and a signature
by either a responsible member of the household or the authorized representative of the
household. The local agency must provide eligible households that complete the initial application
process an opportunity to participate, as soon as possible, but not later than 30 calendar days
following the application filing date.

The 30-day processing standard does not apply for residents of public institutions who apply
jointly for SSI and SNAP benefits before their release from the institution. For these applicants,
the agency must provide an opportunity to participate as soon as possible, but not later than 30
calendar days from the applicant’s release from the institution.

The processing standards for households entitled to expedited service are in Part V. The
processing standards for the recertification process are in Part IV.C.

The agency may not impose application procedures or processing standards of other programs
on SNAP applicants.

1. Opportunity to Participate (7 CFR 273.2(g))
A household must receive the EBT card, the agency must authorize benefits and the
vendor must post authorized benefits to the account in order for the household to have an
opportunity to participate timely.

Example

A household files an application on July 15. If the household is eligible, the agency
must give the household an opportunity to participate by August 14. If August 14
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falls on a Sunday, the EW must process the case by Friday, August 5 so that the
household may receive the EBT card by mail by Saturday, August 13 or authorize
the issuance of a vault card that the Primary Cardholder or authorized
representative could pick up before August 14. Additionally, the SNAP benefits
must be posted to the EBT account.

Denying the Application (7 CFR 273.2(g)(3))

The agency must send a Notice of Action to deny an application if households are
ineligible for benefits. The agency must send the denial notice as soon as possible, but
not later than 30 days following the application date. Part XXIV contains a copy of the
Notice of Action and instructions.

Processing Cases with Prior Participation in another Locality

When a household indicates on the application or during the interview that it had been
certified in another locality or State, for either the month of application or the prior month,
the BPS must establish the household's current status with the prior agency. The BPS
must establish and document the effective date of case closure with the prior agency.

The new locality may not issue duplicate benefits for any months covered by the
application if the agency can establish that the household or any of its members are still
active in the prior locality.

Note: Nutrition Assistance Program (NAP) benefits received from Puerto Rico are not

SNAP benefits. There is no duplicate benefit if a household applies for SNAP benefits in
the same month. There is no need to determine if the NAP case is closed.

Contacts with Other States

For applications filed by persons who claim they have received SNAP benefits in another
state, the agency must confirm that the individual is no longer receiving benefits in that
state. If the agency is not able to verify this by the end of the processing period and all
other eligibility factors have been met, the agency must approve the application. The
agency must continue to seek verification from the other state to minimize the
overpayment period in case the individual continued to receive benefits in that state
however. If there is no response from the other state, the agency must contact the
regional consultant who will ensure the information is forwarded to FNS to follow up with
the other state.

If duplicate participation occurs, the Virginia agency must file a claim for any benefits the
household received while it also received benefits from the other state. The claim will be
household-caused if the household failed to report its connection to another state and the
receipt of benefits from the other state. An agency-caused claim will exist if the agency
failed to verify termination of benefits from another state.

For household members who are subject to the Work Requirement, the agency must also
address participation in another state towards the number of countable months if there is
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an indication from the application or interview that the member may have received SNAP
benefits during the current 36-month period.

F. DELAYS IN PROCESSING

If the local agency does not determine a household's eligibility and provide an opportunity to
participate within 30 days following the date the application was filed, the local agency must take
the following action:

1. Determining Cause (7 CFR 273.2(h)(1))
The local agency must determine who caused the delay using the following criteria:

a. A delay must be considered the fault of the household if the household failed to
complete the application process even though the local agency took all required
action to assist the household. The local agency is required to take the following
actions before a delay can be considered the fault of the household:

1) For households that failed to complete the application, the local agency
must have offered, or attempted to offer, assistance in its completion.

2) If one or more members of the household failed to register for work, as
required in Part VIII.A, the local agency must have informed the household
of the need to register and given the household at least 10 days from the
date of notification to register these members.

3) In cases where verification is incomplete, the local agency must have
provided the household with a statement of required verification and
offered to assist the household in obtaining required verification and
allowed the household sufficient time to provide the missing verification.
Sufficient time will be at least 10 days from the date of the local agency's
initial request for the verification that was missing.

4) For households that failed to appear for an interview, the local agency
must have scheduled an interview within 30 days following the date the
household filed the application. If the household failed to appear for the
interview, and the household does not request that the agency reschedule
another interview until after the 20th day but before the 30th day following
the application filing date, the household must appear for the interview,
bring verification and register members for work by the 30th day;
otherwise, the delay will be the fault of the household. If the agency must
allow the household additional time to provide information or verification,
the delay will be the fault of the household. If the household failed to
appear for the interview and requests another interview to occur after the
30th day following the date of application, the delay will be the fault of the
household. If the household missed the scheduled interview and misses
the one it requested, the household must request another interview and
any delay will be the fault of the household.
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b. Delays that are the fault of the local agency include, but are not limited to, those

cases where the local agency failed to take the actions described in items 1-4 above.

C. In some situations, a case file is complete except for a household member's failure to
comply with an eligibility requirement that results in disqualification for
noncompliance (e.g. failure to register for work). In such situations the BPS must:

1) Ensure that the household had at least 10 days to comply. If the household
did not have that timeframe, consider the delay agency-caused and hold the
application in pending status for an additional 30 days.

2) If an individual must be disqualified, instead of the entire household, process
the case for the remaining household members. Consider the disqualification
imposed with the effective date of the initial allotment. If the entire household
must be disqualified (e.g., the head of the household failed to register for
work, or the household simply has one member), extend the pending status
of the case an additional 30 days, as client delay.

2. Delays Caused By The Household (7 CFR 273.2(h)(2))

If by the 30th day the local agency cannot take any further action on the application because
of the household’s delay, the household will lose its entitlement to benefits for the month of
application. In addition to the loss of benefits for the month of application, the agency must
prorate benefits from the date the household completes its final task for processing the
application. The local agency, however, must give the household an additional 30 days to
take any required action.

The local agency must send the household the Notice of Action to extend the pending status
of the application. The agency must send the pending notice on the 30™" day following the
application filing date, unless the 30" day is a weekend or holiday. The notice must advise
the household of the outstanding actions the household must take to complete the
processing of the application. The agency does not need to take any further action,
including sending an additional notice, after the agency sends the notice if the household
fails to take the required action within 60 days following the application filing date.

The local agency may include in the notice a request that the household must report all
changes in circumstances since it filed its application.

If the household was at fault for the delay in the first 30-day period, but the agency finds the
household eligible during the second 30-day period, the local agency must provide benefits
from the day the household completes the final required action or provides the last
verification. The household is not entitled to benefits for the month of application when the
delay was the fault of the household. Once the household furnishes the information
necessary to determine its eligibility, it is the agency's obligation to process the case during
the second 30-day period.
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3. Delays Caused by the Local Agency (7 CFR 273.2(h)(3))

Whenever a delay in the initial 30-day period is the fault of the local agency, the local
agency must take immediate corrective action. The local agency may not deny the
application if it caused the delay, but must notify the household that the agency is still
holding the application. The BPS must send the Notice of Action to notify the household of
the extended pending status of the application on the 30t day following the application filing
date, unless the 30" day is a weekend or holiday. The Notice of Action must also notify the
household of any action it must take to complete the application process.

If the agency finds the household eligible during the second 30-day period, the agency must
provide the household benefits retroactive to the month of application. If, however, the
household is ineligible, the local agency must deny the application. Once the household
furnishes the information necessary to determine its eligibility, it is the agency's obligation to
process the case during the second 30-day period.

4. Delays Beyond 60 Days (7 CFR 273.2(h)(4))

If the local agency is at fault for not completing the application process by the end of the
second 30-day period, and the case file is otherwise complete, the local agency must
continue to process the application. If the household is eligible and the local agency was at
fault for the delay in the initial 30 days, the household must receive benefits retroactive to
the month of application. If, however, the initial delay was the household's fault, the
household will receive benefits retroactive only to the day the household completes the final
action needed to process the application.

If the local agency was at fault for not completing the application process by the end of the
second 30-day period, but the case file is not complete enough for the BPS to determine
eligibility the local agency must deny the case and notify the household to file a new
application. The agency must also advise the household of its possible entitlement to
benefits lost as a result of the agency-caused delays.

If the household provides the necessary information and the agency determines the
household eligible for the previous 60-day period, the household must receive benefits
retroactive to the month of application if the local agency was at fault for the delay in the
initial 30 days. If, however, the initial delay was the household's fault, the household will
receive benefits retroactive only to the day the household completes the final action needed
to process the application.

If the household is at fault for not completing the application process by the end of the
second 30-day period, the local agency must deny the application. The agency must advise
the household to file a new application if it wishes to participate. If the household was at
fault the first 30 days also, the household would have been sent the Notice of Action to
extend the pending status of the application. The local agency does not need to take any
further action at the end of the second 30 days it the initial delay is the fault of the
household. If the local agency was at fault the first 30 days, the agency must send the
Notice of Action to deny the application. The household is not entitled to any lost benefits,
even if the delay in the initial 30 days was the fault of the local agency.
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G.

Reinstatements

The agency must return applications denied incorrectly because of agency error to
pending status if the action date is within 60 days from the date of application. After the
60th day, the application must remain denied. The agency must encourage the household
to file a new application and determine entitlement to lost benefits, if appropriate. In
determining whether to reinstate the pending status within the first 60 days, the agency
should consider the nature of the error and the amount of time that has passed which
might affect the reliability of the information provided.

Ongoing cases incorrectly closed due to agency error may be reinstated to the certification
period at the time of the closure only if the case was correct as of the effective date of the
closure. The agency may reinstate the case either before the effective date of the closure
or in the month following the closure.

Whenever the agency needs to reinstate an application or ongoing case, agency records

must reflect this change. Reinstating cases, as described in this chapter, is only
appropriate when an agency error caused the erroneous denial or termination.

JOINT PROCESSING AND CATEGORICAL ELIGIBILITY OF PA CASES

This chapter contains requirements for joint processing that apply to SNAP applicants who are
also applying for Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF), General Relief — Unattached
Child (GR), or Supplemental Security Income (SSI). This chapter also contains procedures for
categorical eligibility for SNAP benefits for these public assistance (PA) households. See the PA
Case definition in Definitions for program descriptions needed to qualify as a public assistance
program.

1.

Applications for TANF or GR and SNAP Benefits (7 CFR 273.2(j))

The local agency should encourage households in which all members are applying for
TANF or GR — Unattached Child to apply for SNAP benefits at the same time. The agency
must regard all applications for TANF and GR — Unattached Child, except those on which
the household indicates that it does not want SNAP benefits, as applications for SNAP
benefits. If the household's intention to apply for SNAP benefits is unclear, the local
agency must determine at the interview or through other contact with the household if the
household wants the application processed for SNAP purposes. The BPS must base
SNAP eligibility and benefit levels solely on SNAP eligibility criteria and certify the
household according to the notice, procedural and timeliness requirements of this manual.

The local agency must not discourage households from applying for SNAP benefits even
when there might be encouragement or inducements to avoid dependence on other public
assistance programs or benefits.

The local agency must conduct a single interview at initial application for both the public
assistance programs and SNAP purposes. The agency must not have different BPS
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interview households entitled to joint processing or otherwise subject them to two
interviews to obtain the benefits of both programs. Following the single interview,
separate workers may process the applications for public assistance and SNAP benefits to
determine eligibility and benefit levels. Note however, the SNAP out-of-office interview
overrides the requirement for a single interview when a household wants to have a
telephone interview for SNAP, in accordance with Part 11.D, but a face-to-face interview is
needed for the PA eligibility determination.

The BPS must follow the verification procedures described in Part I11.A for eligibility factors
that are needed to determine the household's SNAP eligibility. For eligibility factors
needed to determine both PA and SNAP eligibility, the BPS must use the PA verification
rules. The local agency may not delay processing the SNAP application if, at the end of
seven days or 30 days following the application date, as appropriate, the agency has
sufficient verification to meet SNAP requirements but does not have sufficient verification
to meet the PA verification rules.

Because of differences between PA and SNAP application processing procedures and
timeliness standards, the BPS may need to determine the SNAP eligibility before
determining the household's eligibility for PA payments. The BPS may not delay acting on
the SNAP application simply because the PA application is pending. The BPS may not
deny the SNAP application because of the pending PA application if the household is
otherwise eligible for SNAP benefits.

Inclusion of the initial PA payment in the SNAP benefit calculation depends on whether the
BPS knows the date of receipt and amount of the PA payment when the SNAP application
is approved. If the BPS can anticipate the amount and the date of receipt of the PA
payment, the worker may include the income in computing the allotment for the month(s)
the worker anticipates the payment.

The BPS must not count as income any portion of initial PA payments that cover previous
months. While the retroactive payment does not count as income, the money must count
as a resource.

If the BPS factors in the PA payment in the SNAP benefit calculation at the time of initial
certification, the Notice of Action must reflect the varying allotments. When the EW cannot
anticipate the PA payment at the time of initial certification, the BPS should note on the
Notice of Action that the benefits may be reduced or terminated without another notice
once the PA payment is included in the SNAP determination. If the notice did not inform
the household of the potential impact, the agency must provide an advance notice if the
SNAP benefit is reduced or terminated as a result of the counting the PA payment.

If the BPS denies the PA application, the household does not need to file a new SNAP
application. The BPS must determine or continue the SNAP eligibility based on the
original applications filed jointly for PA and SNAP purposes. The BPS must use any other
documented information obtained after the application if it is relevant to SNAP eligibility or
level of benefits.
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If the BPS approves the TANF application after the SNAP certification period begins, the
BPS may lengthen the SNAP certification period to coincide with the scheduled TANF
case review. See Part IV.D.2. for a discussion about lengthening the certification period
and the limitations on this process.

2. Application for SSI and SNAP benefits

Households that consist solely of SSI applicants or recipients may apply for SNAP
benefits at the Social Security Administration (SSA) Office. SSA personnel will accept
SNAP applications at each SSA office. Households must report that there is no SNAP
application pending and that they are not current SNAP participants, unless the
application is for recertification.

The SSA office and the local social services agency must take the following actions:

a. Whenever a member of a household consisting only of SSI applicants or
recipients transacts business at an SSA office, the SSA office must inform the
household of its right to apply for SNAP benefits at the SSA office without going to
the local social services office. SSI applicants and recipients may apply at the
local social services office if they choose to do so.

SSA staff must complete joint SSI and SNAP applications for residents of public
institutions applying for benefits before their release from the institution. In such
cases, the date of the SNAP application will be the date of release from the
institution. If SSA or the household does not notify the local agency of the
applicant's release date, the agency must restore benefits to the applicant back to
the date of release.

b. Within one working day after receipt of a signed application, the SSA office must
complete and forward the SNAP application to the local agency along with a
transmittal form. The local agency must make an eligibility determination and
provide an opportunity to participate within thirty days following the date the SSA
office received the signed application. If the household is entitled to expedited
service however, the processing time standards will begin on the date the correct
local agency receives the application.

C. The local agency may not subject the household to an additional interview. In
addition, the local agency may not contact the household in order to obtain
additional information unless:

1) the application is improperly completed;
2) mandatory verification is missing;
3) information received is questionable as determined by the local agency; or,
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4) it is necessary to discuss options available to the household, e.g., the use

of the utility standard or actual bills, the choice to have expenses averaged
or counted only in the month billed.

Even when the agency needs additional information, the agency may not require
the applicant to appear at the local agency to finalize the eligibility determination
for the application taken at the SSA office.

d. The SSA office must refer persons who are not entitled to joint processing to the
local social services agency.

e. The SSA office must prescreen all applications for entitlement to expedited
services on the day the SSA office receives the application. SSA must mark
"expedited processing" on the first page of all applications that appear to be
entitled to such processing. The SSA office must inform households that appear
to meet the expedited service criteria that the household may receive the benefits
sooner if the household applies directly with the local social service agency. The
household may take the application from SSA directly to the local social service
agency.

The local agency must prescreen all applications received from the SSA office for
entitlement to expedited service on the day the correct agency receives the
application. The local agency must certify all SSI households entitled to expedited
services in accordance with Part V except that the expedited service processing
time standard will begin on the date the correct agency receives the application.

f. The local agency must ensure that households whose SNAP applications are
forwarded by the SSA office are not already participating in the program in any
Virginia locality.

g. If the SSA office takes the SSI application or re-determination by telephone from a
member of a pure SSI household, SSA must also complete the SNAP application
during the telephone interview. In these cases, the SNAP application must be
mailed to the applicant for signature. The household may return the application to
the SSA office or to the local agency. If the SSA office receives the application,
SSA will forward the application to the social services agency. The local agency
may not require the household be interviewed again and the agency may not
contact the household in order to obtain additional information except for those
reasons indicated in item c. above.

h. SSA must send information to SSI recipients being re-determined for SSI by mail
to inform them of the right to file a SNAP application at the SSA office (if they are
members of a pure SSI household) or at their local social service agency. SSA
must also notify SSI recipients of their right to an out-of-office SNAP interview
performed by the local agency if the household is unable to appoint an authorized
representative.
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If the SSA office sends the application to the wrong agency, the local agency must
forward the application to the correct agency within one working day. The incorrect
mailing will not affect processing time standards except as indicated in ltem b
above, when the household is entitled to expedited processing.

Recertification - Any household that may apply at the SSA for initial certification has
the right to recertify at the SSA office also, regardless of whether the application for
initial certification was taken at the SSA office. SSA will interview the applicant,
obtain any readily available verification, complete a transmittal form, and send this
material to the local agency.

In order to be eligible for uninterrupted benefits, however, applicants must file the
recertification application at the SSA office on or before the date on the Notice of
Expiration.

The local agency may not re-verify information obtained and documented by SSA unless
the information is questionable or insufficient.

3. Categorical Eligibility for PA Households (7 CFR 273.2 (j)(2))

a.

Any household in which all members receive or are authorized to receive a cash
payment from the TANF, GR — Unattached Child, or SSI Program is eligible for
SNAP benefits regarding income and resources. Any household in which at least
one person receives or is authorized to receive services funded through the TANF
block grant also will be categorically eligible regarding income and resources.

To confer with broad-based categorical eligibility, all households with income below
200 percent of the federal poverty limit and receive or is authorized to receive a
non-cash or in-kind TANF funded service will be considered categorically eligible.
See the “PA Case” in the Definitions section. Eligibility for SNAP benefits does not
apply if the entire household:

e s residing in an institution;
e s disqualified for any reason from receiving SNAP benefits; or
o fails to meet nonfinancial criteria, as addressed in Part VII.

Residents of public institutions who jointly apply for SSI and SNAP benefits before
release from the institution will not be categorically eligible when SSA determines
potential SSI eligibility before the release. These individuals will be categorically
eligible when SSA makes a final SSI determination and the individual leaves the
institution.

Eligibility and SNAP benefits determinations will be based on information provided
by households. Categorically eligible households are subject to the same
verification requirements as other households. However, categorically eligible
households meet the following eligibility factors without additional verification:
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o Resource limits, except note that categorically eligible households that
receive lottery or gambling winnings of $4,500 or more are ineligible for
benefits as allowed in Part XII.E.3;

e Gross and net income limits (200 percent gross income limit is applicable for
broad-based categorical eligible households);

e Social Security number information;

e Sponsored alien information, provided information exists in the PA case; or

o Residency.

Exception: Social Security number information, sponsored alien information, and
residency verification is required for broad-based categorical eligible households.

If any of the following factors are questionable, the BPS must verify that the
household that is categorically eligible:

¢ Contains only members that are TANF, GR — Unattached Child, or SSI
recipients or that at least one member receives a TANF-funded service;

o Meets the household definition in Part VI.A;

¢ Includes all persons who purchase and prepare food together in one SNAP
household, regardless of whether or not they are separate units for the
public assistance program purposes; and,

¢ Includes no persons as provided in Part 11.G.3.b below.

For purposes of determining categorical eligibility, any household in the TANF
program that is suspended for TANF or that is entitled to zero benefits under the
TANF program will be a TANF household.

Categorical eligibility will continue at recertification even if a TANF review is not
completed.

b. Households in which all members receive TANF, SSI, or GR — Unattached Child
income or at least one member receives a TANF-funded service will not be
categorically eligible if:

1. Any member who would normally participate with the household has been
disqualified for an intentional program violation;

2. The head of household failed to comply with work registration or
employment and training requirements;

3. The head of the household voluntarily quits or reduces work without good
cause (Part VIII.B); or

4. Any member of the household is ineligible if:

i. Any member is fleeing prosecution or imprisonment or is violating
probation or parole terms (Part VI.C.2.e); or
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ii. There is a conviction for and sentencing noncompliance for murder
or sexual assault crimes (Part VI.C.2.9).

The agency must handle these households using all normal SNAP rules and
procedures.

C. A disqualified or ineligible person who resides with the household and who would
normally be included with the household for SNAP participation will not cause the
remainder of the household to lose categorical eligibility, except as noted in
subsection b above. The remainder of the household must meet the definition in
Part I1.G.3.a regarding the receipt of income or benefits. The remaining household
is eligible if the disqualified or ineligible person is excluded because the person is:

1. an ineligible alien (Part VII.F.);
2. an ineligible student (Part VIL.E.);
3. a resident of a nonexempt institution (Part VII.C.);

4, disqualified for failure to apply for a Social Security Number (Part VII.G);

5. ineligible because of failure to comply with a work registration or
employment and training requirement by a person other than the head (Part
VIIl); or

6. ineligible because of the work requirement (Part XV).

For purposes of work registration, the agency must apply the exemptions in Part
VIII.A.1 to individuals in categorically eligible households. Individuals who are not
exempt from work registration are subject to requirements in Part VIIL.A.

4, Application Processing for PA Cases

Once the TANF, GR — Unattached Child, or SSI application is approved, the household is

categorically eligible, if conditions of Part 11.G.3 are met. If the household’s income is at or
below the 200% allowable gross income limit, the household meets the income criteria for
broad-based categorical eligibility and the application is processed.

In order to determine if a household will be eligible due to its status as a PA household, the
local agency may delay the SNAP eligibility determination within the normal timeliness
standards of Part Il.LE. The processing delay may occur as long as the household is not
entitled to expedited service processing and it appears to be categorically eligible but it
might otherwise be denied due to factors which will not be relevant once the PA application
is approved.

The agency must ensure that the denied application of a potentially categorically eligible
household is easily retrievable. The Notice of Action to deny the SNAP application must
inform the household to notify the SNAP worker if its PA benefits are approved.
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The local agency must reevaluate any denied application, filed jointly, or pending
simultaneously for SNAP and PA benefits, whenever the household requests it or the
agency becomes aware of the household's approval for PA benefits. The local agency
may not require the client to come to the office for another interview but, must use any
available information to update the application that was denied. The local agency may
contact the household by mail or telephone to determine any changes in circumstances.

If the applicant amends the application, the household must initial and date any changes,
and re-date and re-sign the application.

Except for residents of public institutions who apply jointly for SSI and SNAP benefits
before to their release from the institution, any categorically eligible household determined
eligible for TANF, SSI or GR — Unattached Child benefits within the 30-day SNAP
processing time must receive benefits back to the date of the SNAP application. The
agency may not provide SNAP benefits for a month a household is ineligible for PA
benefits unless the household is eligible for SNAP benefits as a NA case.

Households that become categorically eligible after the SNAP application is denied or
during the extended pending period are eligible for SNAP benefits retroactive to the PA
benefit effective date or the SNAP application date, whichever is later. Residents of public
institutions who apply jointly for SSI and SNAP benefits before their release from the
institution are eligible for benefits from the date of their release from the institution.

Examples

a. A household files a joint application for TANF and SNAP benefits on 11/15.
The household has bank accounts with balances that total $4200. Because
of the difference between the TANF and SNAP Programs in the evaluation
of resources, the household would be ineligible for SNAP benefits as a NA
household but, categorically eligible if TANF was approved.

1) Suppose TANF eligibility is determined on 12/4, with the first money
payment issued for December.

Because the household was determined eligible for TANF within the
30-day SNAP application processing timeframe and was not
determined ineligible for TANF for November, the household is
considered categorically eligible back to 11/15, the date of the
SNAP application.

2) Suppose as of 12/15, a determination on the TANF application has
not been made because of exceptions to the 30-day TANF
processing period. The agency may deny the SNAP application on
the 30th day, keeping it easily retrievable, or issue a Notice of
Action to extend the pending for an additional 30 days while
awaiting a decision on TANF eligibility.
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A client applies for SSI on November 10. He does not want to apply for
SNAP benefits at that time. On December 3 he changes his mind and
files a SNAP application. He would be ineligible for SNAP benefits
according to NA standards.

1)

Suppose SSI determines the household eligible for a money
payment on December 30.

Because the household was determined eligible for SSI within the
30-day SNAP application processing time frame, the household is
categorically eligible back to December 3, the date of the SNAP
application.

Suppose as of January 2, the SSI determination is pending. The
agency chooses to deny the SNAP application on the 30th day.

On February 9, the household informs the agency that SSA
approved SSI benefits retroactive to November. The agency
reinstates the original SNAP application and provides SNAP
benefits back to December 3. That date is the later of the SSI
effective date or the SNAP application date.

Categorical Eligibility and Benefit Level

Once the worker determines a household’s entitlement to SNAP benefits, the benefit
level must be determined. Other eligibility factors described in this manual apply to
categorically eligible households in determining the benefit amount. The agency must
prorate benefits for the initial month based on the application date. The following
additional criteria apply:

a.

One- and two-person categorically eligible households are entitled to at least
$23, regardless of net SNAP income, except when benefits for the initial month
prorate to less than $10. There will be no issuance in this instance.

Categorically eligible households of four or more members will receive benefits if
its net income entitles them to a benefit of $1.00 or more on the appropriate
allotment table, even if its net SNAP income is above the maximum for the
household size.

The agency must deny or terminate any categorically eligible household entitled
to zero SNAP benefits. The notice must explain that the household will not
receive benefits because the benefit amount is $0 (zero).
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H. AUTHORIZED REPRESENTATIVES (7 CFR 273.2(n))

The head of the household, spouse or any other responsible member of the household may
designate an authorized representative to act on behalf of the household in applying for SNAP
benefits or in using SNAP benefits. In the event that the only adult living with a household is
classified as a nonhousehold member (as defined in Part VI.C.), that individual may be the
authorized representative for the minor household members. If households designate employers,
growers, crew chiefs, etc. as authorized representatives for farm workers or when any single
authorized representative has access to a large number of EBT cards, the worker should exercise
caution to assure that the household freely requested the help of the authorized representative;
the authorized representative is accurately stating the household's situation; and the authorized
representative is properly using the SNAP benefits.

1. Making Application

When the head of the household or the spouse cannot file an application, another
household member may apply or the household may designate an adult nonhousehold
member as the authorized representative for that purpose. The head of the household or
the spouse should prepare or review the application whenever possible, even though
another household member or the authorized representative will actually be interviewed.
Agency staff must inform the household that the household will be liable for any
overissuance that results from erroneous information given by the authorized
representative, except as specified in Part II.H.5 regarding participation by residents of
drug addict/alcoholic treatment and rehabilitation centers.

Households may designate adults who are nonhousehold members as authorized
representatives for certification purposes only under the following conditions:

a. The head of the household, spouse, or another responsible member of the
household may designate the authorized representative in writing; and,

b. The authorized representative is an adult who is sufficiently aware of relevant
household circumstances.

The worker may determine, on a case-by-case basis, the frequency with which the agency
requests the written designation at a subsequent recertification. The worker may request
the household’s written designation at the recertification application as often as necessary.

Upon written authorization by the household, the representative must receive copies of all
correspondence sent to the household itself. This will include all notices, e.g. Notice of
Action, Notice of Expiration, etc. The agency must send the notices to the representative
as long as the representative named on the authorization remains the household's
authorized representative unless the written authorization specifies an ending date.
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2. Using SNAP Benefits

The authorized representative may use SNAP benefits to purchase food for the
household's consumption. The household will give its implied consent to the
representative for access to the EBT account as long as the household does not
withdraw access to the account by the representative, either by naming another
representative or by canceling the representative’s access.

3. Restrictions on Appointment

Certain individuals may not serve, as an authorized representative for a household unless
the agency determines there is no one else to assist the household in this capacity.
Restrictions apply to the designation of the following individuals as authorized

representatives:

a. Local agency employees;

b. Retailers authorized to accept SNAP benefits;

C. Individuals disqualified for an intentional program violation;

d. Homeless meal providers, for homeless recipients.

e. Previously named representatives who knowingly provided false information about

a household’s circumstances or improperly used the household’s SNAP benefits.

Local agency employees who certify households or who update the EBT administrative
terminal or retailers who accept SNAP benefits may not act in any capacity as an
authorized representative without a determination by the local agency director that no one
else is available to serve. The agency must file the specific written approval of the local
agency director in the case file.

Individuals who are disqualified for an intentional program violation may not act as
authorized representatives during the disqualification period unless the disqualified
individual is the only adult member of a household able to act on its behalf. The local
agency must determine that no one else is available to serve. The local agency must
determine separately whether the household needs such an individual to apply on behalf
of the household, to obtain benefits, and to use the benefits for food for the household.

Example

A household has found an authorized representative to obtain its
benefits each month but it has not been able to find anyone to
purchase food regularly with the benefits. If the local agency is also
unable to find anyone to purchase the food, the disqualified member
may do so.

Homeless meal providers may not act as authorized representatives for homeless SNAP
households.
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4. Documentation and Control

The local agency must ensure that the household properly designate authorized
representatives. The household’s case file must contain the name of the authorized
representative. A household may have any number of authorized representatives to
apply on its behalf but may have only one representative to receive its benefits through
EBT.

If households designate employers, such or those that employ migrant or seasonal farm
workers, as authorized representatives or that a single authorized representative has
access to a large number of benefit access devices or coupons, the local agency must
exercise caution to assure that:

a. The household has freely requested the assistance of the authorized
representative;

b. The household's circumstances are correctly represented; and

C. The authorized representative is properly using the household’s benefits.

The local agency may disqualify an authorized representative from serving as a
representative for SNAP purposes for up to one year. In order for the agency to
disqualify a representative, the agency must have evidence that an authorized
representative misrepresented a household's circumstances, knowingly provided false
information pertaining to the household, or improperly used SNAP benefits. The local
agency must send a letter to the affected household and the authorized representative
thirty days before the disqualification date.

. This letter must include at a minimum:

° The proposed action;

. The reason for the proposed action;

° The household's right to request a fair hearing (Note: The authorized
representative being disqualified may not request a hearing. Only the household
may do so.);

o The telephone of the office; and,

° If possible, the name of the person to contact for additional information.

The provision to disqualify an authorized representative is not applicable in the case of
drug and alcoholic treatment centers and group homes that act as the authorized
representative for their residents.
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5. Drug Addict/Alcoholic Treatment Centers (7 CFR 273.2(n)); 7 CFR 273.11)(e))

Narcotic drug addicts or alcoholics who regularly participate in a drug or alcoholic treatment
program on a resident basis may elect to participate in the Supplemental Nutrition
Assistance Program. The treatment center must be a private, nonprofit organization or
institution or a publicly operated community mental health center, under Section 300x-21
et. seq. of U.S. Code Title 42 (formerly Part B of Title XIX of the Public Health Service Act).
See Part VII.C.2.

Residents must apply and be certified through the use of an authorized representative who
must be an employee of and designated by the treatment center. The resident household,
however, should assist in completing the application and should sign the application along
with the authorized representative, prior to certification, if possible.

The treatment center representative will receive an EBT card on the household’s behalf.
The center must spend the SNAP benefits for food prepared by and/or served to the
addict/alcoholic. The household may not directly access the SNAP benefits in the EBT
account while residing in the treatment center. See Part VI.E for additional information
about residential treatment centers.

6. Group Living Arrangements
Residents of public or private nonprofit settings for blind or disabled individuals may elect to
participate in the Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program. An appropriate agency of
the state or locality must certify group living arrangements using regulations based on
under Section 1616(e) of the Social Security Act.

Residents of group living arrangements may apply and be certified three ways:

a. through the use of an authorized representative employed and designated by the
facility;

b. through the use of an authorized representative selected by the resident; or

C. on their own behalf.

If residents want to apply for themselves, the facility must determine if they are physically
and mentally capable of managing their affairs.

In a single facility, there may be a combination of application methods used. For example,
the facility may have some residents using authorized representatives and some applying
on their own behalf.

The local agency must determine the eligibility of residents of group living arrangements
who apply through the use of the facility's authorized representative as one-person
households. Household composition provisions of Part VI.A will determine household size
if residents apply on their own behalf. See Part VI.E for additional information about group
living arrangements.
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CERTIFICATION NOTICES (7 CFR 273.10(g))

Initial and Reapplication

The local agency must provide applicants with a Notice of Action after the BPS makes
an eligibility determination on each application but, no later than 30 days after the date of
the initial application or reapplication. The Notice of Action will inform an applicant
household that its application has been approved, denied, or is to be held pending. The
BPS may not dispose of applications for failure to complete the interview earlier than the
30t day following the filing date. If the 30" day falls on a weekend or holiday, the worker
must send the denial notice no earlier than the first business day after the 30" day.

Recertification

The local agency must provide households that have filed an application by the 15th of
the last month of their certification period with a Notice of Action by the end of the
current certification period. The local agency must provide households with a Notice of
Expiration to initiate the recertification process. The local agency must provide
households that have received a Notice of Expiration at the time of certification and have
applied within the prescribed time frames, with a Notice of Action not later than 30 days
after the date of the household's initial opportunity to obtain its last allotment. Part IV.C
describes the recertification procedures.

See Part XXIV for a sample of forms and instructions.
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The National Voter Registration Act of 1993 (NVRA) requires local social services agencies
offer each applicant for TANF, SNAP benefits, and Medicaid an opportunity to apply to register
to vote at initial application and at each review of eligibility. Voter registration application
services must also be provided any time a change of address is reported to the local agency in
person. Local agency staff must provide the same degree of assistance in completing voter
registration applications as is done in completing applications for assistance.

A. Prohibitions

Local social services agencies and agency staff are prohibited from making any statements or
taking any action that:

1. seeks to influence customers' political preferences;

2. displays any political preference or party affiliation;

3. discourages individuals from applying to register to vote; or

4. leads individuals to believe that a decision to register or not to register has any impact

on their eligibility for assistance or the benefit level that they are entitled to receive.

B. Voter Regqistration Services

Each local social services agency, including satellite offices, must provide the following
services:

1. distribute voter registration application forms for completion by customers at the agency
or to be taken for registration by mail;

2. assist customers in completing the voter registration application form unless such
assistance is refused;

3. ensure that spaces of the voter registration application are completed, including
identifying the locality name on the reverse side of the form;

4. complete the agency certification form;

5. make brochures about amendments to the Virginia constitution available for distribution;
and

6. accept voter registration application forms for transmittal to the local general registrar.
a. Each completed registration application must be submitted to the local registrar

every Friday or on the last working day before Friday if Friday is a holiday.
Envelopes with completed registration forms must be marked with an "A" in the
upper left corner and the number of registration forms in the envelope.
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b. Registration applications that are mailed to customers or that were obtained from

the local agency must be forwarded to the registrar if the completed forms are
returned to the agency.

C. The voter registration application may be mailed to the State Board of Elections
by customers at the expense of the customer.

Voter registration application services are not required to be offered when an individual
indicates that he/she is currently registered to vote in the locality and there is a completed
agency certification form in the customer's case record indicating the same, and the customer
has not moved from the address maintained when the registration occurred.

C. Certification

Each customer must be provided the "Certification of Virginia Voter Registration Agency
Certification" form at each application or review.

1. Customers who refuse to check the appropriate box on the certification form or refuse to
sign the form will be considered to have declined the opportunity to register to vote.

2. The BPS must sign and date each certification form and complete the appropriate box.

3. Certification forms must be retained in the agency case record in accordance with
records retention guidelines.

4. The bottom of the certification form must be completed when registration applications

are mailed with applications for assistance and when an authorized representative files
the application on behalf of the household.

D. Individuals Required to be Offered Registration Services

Voter registration services must be offered to an individual who is:

1. A member of the TANF or medical assistance unit or SNAP household;
2. 18 years of age or who will be 18 by the time of the next general election; and
3. Present in the office at the time of the interview or when a change of address is reported.

(Note that a registration application must be sent upon request for mail-in purposes for
address changes that are not reported in person.)

Individuals accompanying the customer to the local agency who is not a member of the
assistance unit or household, including payees and authorized representatives, will not be
offered voter registration services by the local agency. A registration application must be
provided to the person upon request for mail-in purposes. When an authorized representative is
applying on behalf of another, the local agency must offer a mail-in application and the bottom
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of the certification form is to be completed accordingly.
The voter registration application must be mailed to an applicant with the application for

assistance if a subsequent face-to-face interview will not be required. When an in-office interview
is held, voter registration services must be provided at the time of the interview.
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VIRGINIA COMBINED APPLICATION PROJECT

The Virginia Combined Application Project (VaCAP) is a partnership between the Virginia
Department of Social Services (VDSS), the Social Security Administration (SSA), and the Food
and Nutrition Service (FNS) of the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA). This
demonstration project streamlines the application process for the Supplemental Nutrition
Assistance Program (SNAP) for elderly Supplemental Security Income (SSI) recipients and
increases their SNAP participation. It does not replace all SNAP eligibility criteria but streamlines
certain criteria as defined in this appendix.

Eligible VaCAP participants are identified through a cross match of the State Data Exchange
(SDX) and the current SNAP caseload. SDX information is also used by VDSS to update
eligibility for SSI recipients monthly after approval for VaCAP. Applications and recertification
applications are mailed monthly.

VDSS notifies applicants that they have the option to apply for and participate in the regular,
ongoing SNAP, and have the case managed through the local department of social services
(LDSS) according to standard policies and procedures.

VaCAP Eligible Household:

To be eligible for VaCAP, an individual must be identified through the SDX as one who:
¢ Receives SSI;

Lives in Virginia;

Is 65 years of age or older;

Has any Marital Status other than “Married”;

Is not institutionalized;

Meets Federal Living Arrangement A (FLA="A"); and

Has no earned income.

In addition, the individual:
e |s not currently receiving SNAP; and
e Purchases and prepares food separately.

VaCAP Application Procedures:

VDSS will mail a simplified application to SSI recipients who meet the eligibility criteria and who
are not currently participating in SNAP. Applicants must sign and return the application to the
LDSS in the city or county of residence. If the applicant does not return the application within 30
days, a second application is mailed. If the second application is not returned, an application will
be mailed at 12- month intervals until a total of five applications are mailed. Individuals may apply
for VaCAP if it is determined they meet the VaCAP criteria but, did not receive a computer
generated application because they had already received five applications, or an application had
been mailed less than 12 months ago, or because they were participating in regular SNAP.
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Upon receipt of the VaCAP application, the LDSS must screen the application to ensure:
e application is signed;
¢ the applicant is not already participating in SNAP (eligibility system inquiry); and
o the applicant is not disqualified from participating in SNAP (eDRS inquiry).

VaCAP applications are not screened for expedited processing nor screened for death and
incarceration. Death and incarceration are routinely reported in the SDX data.

If shelter expenses are not marked on the application, the LDSS must process the application
using the lower shelter expense.

VaCAP participants may request that their VaCAP case be closed in order to apply for regular
SNAP benefits. Participants receiving regular SNAP benefits may request that their case be
changed to VaCAP if it is determined they meet all of the VaCAP criteria except for not currently
receiving SNAP.

VaCAP Interview Procedures:

Unless the applicant requests help with the application, there is no certification interview.

VaCAP Verification:

The SDX provides verification of eligibility factors so no further verification is needed. The
applicant’s declaration of shelter costs is used.

VaCAP Allotment:

The applicant’s declaration of monthly shelter expenses will be used to determine the SNAP
benefit amount.

e High benefit - $157 - shelter expenses total $500 or more

e Low benefit - $87 - shelter expenses total $499 or less

Eligibility begins the first day of the month an application is received. There is no proration of
benefits based on the application date.

VaCAP Certification:

The certification period for cases will be 36 months.

VaCAP Change Reporting:

Households are not required to report changes. Updates through the SDX satisfy SNAP reporting

requirements. If a VaCAP participant reports a change that impacts the household’s eligibility for
VaCAP or benefit amount, the LDSS must act on the change.
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The LDSS worker must also evaluate continued VaCAP eligibility when an alert is received for the
following changes reported by the SDX monthly updates:

e the participant moves to another Virginia address;

e achange in the mailing address of an Authorized Representative; and

e achange in the name of an Authorized Representative/payee.

Certain SDX monthly case updates will result in the automatic closure of the VaCAP case. Cases
are closed if the SDX reports:
o the participant no longer receives SSI;
the death of the participant;
the participant is living in an institution;
the participant is married;
a change in the Federal Living Arrangement ;
the participant has earned income; or
the participant moved out of state

VaCAP Recertification:

VDSS will generate and mail a combined expiration notice and an application to recertify for
VaCAP. VDSS will mail the recertification application to participants in the month before the
certification period expires. Participants must complete the application and return it to the local
department of social services for processing. Continued eligibility for VaCAP is determined using
the same criteria established for the initial application for VaCAP.

There is no interview or additional verifications required.

Eligibility to Opt-Out of VaCAP

A VaCAP participant who wants to opt out of the project must request the case be closed. If the
participant subsequently applies for regular SNAP and is found eligible, the participant will not
receive a supplement for any month for which VaCAP benefits were received.

FAIR HEARINGS

Fair hearing requests for VaCAP cases are treated the same as all other requests.

QUALITY CONTROL (QC) REVIEWS

VaCAP cases are part of the QC sample for review and are considered in the completion rate.

These cases are included in the State’s payment error rate calculation. Quality Control identifies
VaCAP cases in a state option field for evaluation purposes.
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Elderly Simplified Application Project

This appendix describes the provisions of the Elderly Simplified Application Project (ESAP).
ESAP seeks to increase SNAP participation among elderly households by streamlining some of
the processes.

ESAP is a demonstration project with the Food and Nutrition Service that permits ESAP to
operate by waiving some federal regulations. While similar to the Virginia Combined Application
Project (VaCAP) by avoiding some elements, ESAP does not provide set benefits amounts or
require an interface with data matches to generate applications.

Unless specifically addressed in this appendix, all other SNAP provisions addressed in this
manual will apply to ESAP households.

Eligible Households

ESAP applies to any household in which:
o All eligible household members are 60 years of age or older; and
e There is no earned income.

Application Procedures

Households may apply for ESAP using a simplified Virginia ESAP application or any Virginia
SNAP application, including online.

Upon receipt of SNAP or ESAP applications, local departments must evaluate applications for
ESAP eligibility. Households may opt out of having their cases converted to ESAP.

Local departments must screen ESAP applications for expedited processing.

Verification Requirements

To the extent possible, local departments must use available computer-matching systems to verify
information to determine eligibility and benefit amounts for ESAP households. When possible,
local departments must use computer-matching systems to verify:

- Gross nonexempt income - Residency

- ldentity - Immigration status

- Social Security numbers - Death match

- Prisoner match - Legally obligated child support payments

Households must verify the elements above if the information is unclear or questionable. While
Part Ill.F routinely requires secondary verification for some computer-matching systems,
secondary verification will not routinely be required for ESAP households unless the information is
qguestionable. Follow up with the household is required however.

Households must claim medical expenses that total a minimum of $35 per month to qualify for the
medical standard deduction. Households will need to verify the $35 threshold only if the
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information is questionable. Local departments must use the medical standard deduction for all
ESAP households unless a household verifies medical expenses that exceed the medical
standard.

Households must claim shelter expenses. Households will need to verify information only if the
information is questionable. If households claim heating or cooling expenses, local departments
may apply the utility standard.

Local departments must use the following systems to verify information:

» State Verification & Exchange System (SVES) — to verify income issued through the Social
Security Administration (SSA), verify work quarters for immigration, establish prisoner
status, confirm Social Security Number (SSN), and verify Medicare premiums.

» Systematic Alien Verification for Entitlements Program (SAVE) — to confirm the
immigration status. Households must claim to have an eligible immigration status on the
application.

» Automated Program to Enforce Child Support (APECS) — to verify legally obligated child
support payments made to establish an income exclusion.

+ Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) — to access driver’s license information to establish
identity or residency.

« State Online Query — Internet (SOLQ-I) — to verify income issued through the SSA and
confirm the SSN.

* Virginia Department of Corrections (DOC) — to check persons held in custody of DOC the
previous month.

» Systems Partnering in a Demographic Repository (SPIDeR) — SPIDeR allows workers to
collapse system requests for an individual or all household members into a single action.

Local departments must inquire the following systems at application and recertification:
» Virginia Lottery — (https://www.valottery.com/winnersnews/latestwinners) - an inquiry of
winnings of $5,000 or more.
» Electronic Disqualification Recipient System (eDRS) — an inquiry of disqualified recipients
for an intentional program violation

Interview Requirements

Local departments must conduct an interview for an initial ESAP application or a reapplication.

Certification Period

The certification period for ESAP cases will be 36 months.

Reporting Requirements

ESAP households must report the following changes during the certification period:

. Changes to household composition;
. If a household member receives earned income during the certification period; and
. Lottery and gambling winnings of $4,500 or more.
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During the initial certification interview, local departments must inform participants of the reporting
requirements. Local departments must provide a Change Report to ESAP households when
applications are approved and when households report changes.

Local departments must act on changes reported by ESAP households during the certification
period, regardless of whether households are required to report the changes. Each household
must receive a Notice of Action to reflect the impact of changes reported.

ESAP households are exempt from the interim report process.

Recertification/Renewal

The Virginia Case Management System (VaCMS) will generate and mail a combined expiration
notice and recertification application to ESAP households in the month before the certification
period expires. Participants must complete the application and return it to the local department for
processing. Except as noted below, continued ESAP eligibility will be determined using criteria
outlined for the initial application for ESAP.

At recertification, the certification interview will not routinely be required. Local departments must
conduct an interview at recertification in the following instances:

. If the ESAP household requests an interview;
. Prior to closing or denying an ESAP recertification; or
. If household circumstances have changed or are questionable.

At recertification, local departments must inquire the data matches, noted in the verification
section above, to re-verify income and changes in residency. Households must re-verify medical
expenses if they exceed the medical standard deduction. Households that have the medical
standard deduction applied will not need to re-verify medical expenses over the $35 threshold
unless the expenses are questionable.

Local departments must not deny an ESAP recertification application without first attempting to
schedule a recertification interview.

Conversion from/to ESAP

When changes occur during the certification period that cause households to become ineligible for
ESAP, local departments must not simply close the case. Workers must determine if households
remain eligible for regular SNAP benefits. If cases remain eligible for SNAP benefits, workers
must:

. Remove the ESAP Indicator in VaCMS.

. Notify the household of the change and the revised Change Reporting requirements.

The certification period will remain as previously established for ESAP eligibility. Households will
be subject to the interim report process at the 12" or 24t month interval, as appropriate.

The processes noted here are appropriate if there is sufficient information known about the
reported changes. If information is incomplete or unclear, procedures outlined in Part XIV.A.3.d.

will apply.
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During a SNAP recertification of a SNAP household that is eligible for ESAP or former ESAP
households that became ineligible for ESAP, local departments must add these households to
ESAP and inform the households of their new status, reporting requirements, and responsibilities.
Conversion of these SNAP households must occur unless households opt to remain in SNAP or if
there are immediate changes expected that would cause ESAP ineligibility.

Quality Control (QC) Reviews

ESAP cases are subject to QC review to determine if the eligibility determination and benefit level
are correct. Active and negative samples must include ESAP cases and include the cases in the
state’s error rate calculations.

. The reviewer must first determine that the household meets the criteria to
participate in ESAP as outlined in this appendix.
. If a household is incorrectly participating as ESAP, the reviewer must:

. Review the case against SNAP standards as established in the Food and
Nutrition Act and regulations, FNS-approved non-ESAP waivers, or State
options.

. If a household is correctly participating as ESAP, the reviewer must:
. Review the case against the provisions this appendix IlI.
. To determine if a household is or is not correctly participating as ESAP under the rules of
the project, the reviewer must:
. Apply standard verification standards and procedures of all relevant circumstances
for the period of time under review as specified in the federal QC Review
Handbook
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The National Voter Registration Act of 1993 (NVRA) requires local social services agencies
offer each applicant for TANF, SNAP benefits, and Medicaid an opportunity to apply to register
to vote at initial application and at each review of eligibility. Voter registration application
services must also be provided any time a change of address is reported to the local agency in
person. Local agency staff must provide the same degree of assistance in completing voter
registration applications as is done in completing applications for assistance.

A. Prohibitions

Local social services agencies and agency staff are prohibited from making any statements or
taking any action that:

1. seeks to influence customers' political preferences;

2. displays any political preference or party affiliation;

3. discourages individuals from applying to register to vote; or

4. leads individuals to believe that a decision to register or not to register has any impact

on their eligibility for assistance or the benefit level that they are entitled to receive.

B. Voter Regqistration Services

Each local social services agency, including satellite offices, must provide the following
services:

1. distribute voter registration application forms for completion by customers at the agency
or to be taken for registration by mail;

2. assist customers in completing the voter registration application form unless such
assistance is refused;

3. ensure that spaces of the voter registration application are completed, including
identifying the locality name on the reverse side of the form;

4. complete the agency certification form;

5. make brochures about amendments to the Virginia constitution available for distribution;
and

6. accept voter registration application forms for transmittal to the local general registrar.
a. Each completed registration application must be submitted to the local registrar

every Friday or on the last working day before Friday if Friday is a holiday.
Envelopes with completed registration forms must be marked with an "A" in the
upper left corner and the number of registration forms in the envelope.
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b. Registration applications that are mailed to customers or that were obtained from

the local agency must be forwarded to the registrar if the completed forms are
returned to the agency.

C. The voter registration application may be mailed to the State Board of Elections
by customers at the expense of the customer.

Voter registration application services are not required to be offered when an individual
indicates that he/she is currently registered to vote in the locality and there is a completed
agency certification form in the customer's case record indicating the same, and the customer
has not moved from the address maintained when the registration occurred.

C. Certification

Each customer must be provided the "Certification of Virginia Voter Registration Agency
Certification" form at each application or review.

1. Customers who refuse to check the appropriate box on the certification form or refuse to
sign the form will be considered to have declined the opportunity to register to vote.

2. The worker must sign and date each certification form and complete the appropriate box.

3. Certification forms must be retained in the agency case record in accordance with
records retention guidelines.

4. The bottom of the certification form must be completed when registration applications

are mailed with applications for assistance and when an authorized representative files
the application on behalf of the household.

D. Individuals Required to be Offered Registration Services

Voter registration services must be offered to an individual who is:

1. A member of the TANF or medical assistance unit or SNAP household;
2. 18 years of age or who will be 18 by the time of the next general election; and
3. Present in the office at the time of the interview or when a change of address is reported.

(Note that a registration application must be sent upon request for mail-in purposes for
address changes that are not reported in person.)

Individuals accompanying the customer to the local agency who is not a member of the
assistance unit or household, including payees and authorized representatives, will not be
offered voter registration services by the local agency. A registration application must be
provided to the person upon request for mail-in purposes. When an authorized representative is
applying on behalf of another, the local agency must offer a mail-in application and the bottom
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of the certification form is to be completed accordingly.
The voter registration application must be mailed to an applicant with the application for

assistance if a subsequent face-to-face interview will not be required. When an in-office
interview is held, voter registration services must be provided at the time of the interview.
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THE VIRGINIA COMBINED APPLICATION PROJECT

The Virginia Combined Application Project (VaCAP) is a partnership between the Virginia
Department of Social Services (VDSS), the Social Security Administration (SSA), and the Food
and Nutrition Service (FNS) of the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA). This
demonstration project streamlines the application process for the Supplemental Nutrition
Assistance Program (SNAP) for elderly Supplemental Security Income (SSI) recipients and
increases their SNAP participation. It does not replace all SNAP eligibility criteria but streamlines
certain criteria as defined in this appendix.

Eligible VaCAP participants are identified through a cross match of the State Data Exchange
(SDX) and the current SNAP caseload. SDX information is also used by VDSS to update
eligibility for SSI recipients monthly after approval for VaCAP. Applications and recertification
applications are mailed monthly.

VDSS notifies applicants that they have the option to apply for and participate in the regular,
ongoing SNAP, and have the case managed through the local department of social services
(LDSS) according to standard policies and procedures.

VaCAP Eligible Household:

To be eligible for VaCAP, an individual must be identified through the SDX as one who:
¢ Receives SSI;

Lives in Virginia;

Is 65 years of age or older;

Has any Marital Status other than “Married”;

Is not institutionalized;

Meets Federal Living Arrangement A (FLA="A"); and

Has no earned income.

In addition, the individual:
e |s not currently receiving SNAP; and
e Purchases and prepares food separately.

VaCAP Application Procedures:

VDSS will mail a simplified application to SSI recipients who meet the eligibility criteria and who
are not currently participating in SNAP. Applicants must sign and return the application to the
LDSS in the city or county of residence. If the applicant does not return the application within 30
days, a second application is mailed. If the second application is not returned, an application will
be mailed at 12- month intervals until a total of five applications are mailed. Individuals may apply
for VaCAP if it is determined they meet the VaCAP criteria but, did not receive a computer
generated application because they had already received five applications, or an application had
been mailed less than 12 months ago, or because they were participating in regular SNAP.
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Upon receipt of the VaCAP application, the LDSS must screen the application to ensure:
e application is signed;
¢ the applicant is not already participating in SNAP (eligibility system inquiry); and
o the applicant is not disqualified from participating in SNAP (eDRS inquiry).

VaCAP applications are not screened for expedited processing nor screened for death and
incarceration. Death and incarceration are routinely reported in the SDX data.

If shelter expenses are not marked on the application, the LDSS must process the application
using the lower shelter expense.

VaCAP participants may request that their VaCAP case be closed in order to apply for regular
SNAP benefits. Participants receiving regular SNAP benefits may request that their case be
changed to VaCAP if it is determined they meet all of the VaCAP criteria except for not currently
receiving SNAP.

VaCAP Interview Procedures:

Unless the applicant requests help with the application, there is no certification interview.

VaCAP Verification:

The SDX provides verification of eligibility factors so no further verification is needed. The
applicant’s declaration of shelter costs is used.

VaCAP Allotment:

The applicant’s declaration of monthly shelter expenses will be used to determine the SNAP
benefit amount.

e High benefit - $157 - shelter expenses total $500 or more

e Low benefit - $87 - shelter expenses total $499 or less

Eligibility begins the first day of the month an application is received. There is no proration of
benefits based on the application date.

VaCAP Certification:

The certification period for cases will be 36 months.

VaCAP Change Reporting:

Households are not required to report changes. Updates through the SDX satisfy SNAP reporting

requirements. If a VaCAP participant reports a change that impacts the household’s eligibility for
VaCAP or benefit amount, the LDSS must act on the change.
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The LDSS worker must also evaluate continued VaCAP eligibility when an alert is received for the
following changes reported by the SDX monthly updates:

e the participant moves to another Virginia address;

e achange in the mailing address of an Authorized Representative; and

e achange in the name of an Authorized Representative/payee.

Certain SDX monthly case updates will result in the automatic closure of the VaCAP case. Cases
are closed if the SDX reports:
o the participant no longer receives SSI;
the death of the participant;
the participant is living in an institution;
the participant is married;
a change in the Federal Living Arrangement ;
the participant has earned income; or
the participant moved out of state

VaCAP Recertification:

VDSS will generate and mail a combined expiration notice and an application to recertify for
VaCAP. VDSS will mail the recertification application to participants in the month before the
certification period expires. Participants must complete the application and return it to the local
department of social services for processing. Continued eligibility for VaCAP is determined using
the same criteria established for the initial application for VaCAP.

There is no interview or additional verifications required.

Eligibility to Opt-Out of VaCAP

A VaCAP participant who wants to opt out of the project must request the case be closed. If the
participant subsequently applies for regular SNAP and is found eligible, the participant will not
receive a supplement for any month for which VaCAP benefits were received.

FAIR HEARINGS

Fair hearing requests for VaCAP cases are treated the same as all other requests.

QUALITY CONTROL (QC) REVIEWS

VaCAP cases are part of the QC sample for review and are considered in the completion rate.

These cases are included in the State’s payment error rate calculation. Quality Control identifies
VaCAP cases in a state option field for evaluation purposes.
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Elderly Simplified Application Project

This appendix describes the provisions of the Elderly Simplified Application Project (ESAP).
ESAP seeks to increase SNAP participation among elderly households by streamlining some of
the processes.

ESAP is a demonstration project with the Food and Nutrition Service that permits ESAP to
operate by waiving some federal regulations. While similar to the Virginia Combined Application
Project (VaCAP) by avoiding some elements, ESAP does not provide set benefits amounts or
require an interface with data matches to generate applications.

Unless specifically addressed in this appendix, all other SNAP provisions addressed in this
manual will apply to ESAP households.

Eligible Households

ESAP applies to any household in which:
. All eligible household members are 60 years of age or older; and
. There is no earned income.

Application Procedures

Households may apply for ESAP using a simplified Virginia ESAP application or any Virginia
SNAP application, including online.

Upon receipt of SNAP or ESAP applications, local departments must evaluate applications for
ESAP eligibility. Households may opt out of having their cases converted to ESAP.

Local departments must screen ESAP applications for expedited processing.

Verification Requirements

To the extent possible, local departments must use available computer-matching systems to verify
information to determine eligibility and benefit amounts for ESAP households. When possible, the
BPS must use computer-matching systems to verify:

- Gross nonexempt income - Residency

- ldentity - Non-citizen status

- Social Security numbers - Death match

- Prisoner match - Legally obligated child support payments

Households must verify the elements above if the information is unclear or questionable. While
Part Ill.F routinely requires secondary verification for some computer-matching systems,
secondary verification will not routinely be required for ESAP households unless the information is
qguestionable. Follow up with the household is required however.

Households must claim medical expenses that total a minimum of $35 per month to qualify for the
medical standard deduction. Households will need to verify the $35 threshold only if the
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information is questionable. The BPS must use the medical standard deduction for all ESAP
households unless a household verifies medical expenses that exceed the medical standard.

Households must claim shelter expenses. Households will need to verify information only if the
information is questionable. If households claim heating or cooling expenses, the BPS may apply
the utility standard.

The BPS must use the following systems to verify information:

. State Verification & Exchange System (SVES) — to verify income issued through the Social
Security Administration (SSA), verify work quarters for immigration, establish prisoner
status, confirm Social Security Number (SSN), and verify Medicare premiums.

. Systematic Alien Verification for Entitlements Program (SAVE) — to confirm the immigration
status. Households must claim to have an eligible immigration status on the application.

. Automated Program to Enforce Child Support (APECS) — to verify legally obligated child
support payments made to establish an income exclusion.

. Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) — to access driver’s license information to establish identity
or residency.

. State Online Query — Internet (SOLQ-I) — to verify income issued through the SSA and
confirm the SSN.

. Virginia Department of Corrections (DOC) — to check persons held in custody of DOC the
previous month.

. Systems Partnering in a Demographic Repository (SPIDeR) — SPIDeR allows workers to

collapse system requests for an individual or all household members into a single action.

The BPS must inquire the following systems at application and recertification:

. Virginia Lottery — (https://www.valottery.com/winnersnews/latestwinners) - an inquiry of
winnings of $5,000 or more.
. Electronic Disqualification Recipient System (eDRS) — an inquiry of disqualified recipients for

an intentional program violation

Interview Requirements

The BPS must conduct an interview for an initial ESAP application or a reapplication.

Certification Period

The certification period for ESAP cases will be 36 months.

Reporting Requirements

ESAP households must report the following changes during the certification period:

. Changes to household composition;
. If a household member receives earned income during the certification period; and
. Lottery and gambling winnings of $4,500 or more.

During the initial certification interview, local departments must inform participants of the reporting
requirements. Local departments must provide a Change Report to ESAP households when
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applications are approved and when households report changes.

The BPS must act on changes reported by ESAP households during the certification period,
regardless of whether households are required to report the changes. Each household must
receive a Notice of Action to reflect the impact of changes reported.

ESAP households are exempt from the interim report process.

Recertification/Renewal

The Virginia Case Management System (VaCMS) will generate and mail a combined expiration
notice and recertification application to ESAP households in the month before the certification
period expires. Participants must complete the application and return it to the local department for
processing. Except as noted below, continued ESAP eligibility will be determined using criteria
outline for the initial application for ESAP.

At recertification, the certification interview will not routinely be required. Local departments must
conduct an interview at recertification in the following instances:

. If the ESAP household requests an interview;
. Prior to closing or denying an ESAP recertification; or
. If household circumstances have changed or are questionable.

At recertification, the BPS must inquire the data matches, noted in the verification section above, to
re-verify income and changes in residency. Households must re-verify medical expenses if they
exceed the medical standard deduction. Households that have the medical standard deduction
applied will not need to re-verify medical expenses over the $35 threshold unless the expenses are
questionable.

The BPS must not deny an ESAP recertification application without first attempting to schedule a
recertification interview.

Conversion from/to ESAP

When changes occur during the certification period that cause households to become ineligible for
ESAP, the BPS must not simply close the case. The BPS must determine if households remain
eligible for regular SNAP benefits. If cases remain eligible for SNAP benefits, the BPS must:

. Remove the ESAP Indicator in VaCMS.

. Notify the household of the change and the revised Change Reporting requirements.

The certification period will remain as previously established for ESAP eligibility. Households will
be subject to the interim report process at the 12" or 24" month interval, as appropriate.

The processes noted here are appropriate if there is sufficient information known about the reported
changes. If information is incomplete or unclear, procedures outlined in Part XIV.A.3.d. will apply.
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During a SNAP recertification of a SNAP household that is eligible for ESAP or former ESAP
households that became ineligible for ESAP, the BPS must add these households to ESAP and
inform the households of their new status, reporting requirements, and responsibilities. Conversion
of these SNAP households must occur unless households opt to remain in SNAP or if there are
immediate changes expected that would cause ESAP ineligibility.

Quality Control (QC) Reviews

ESAP cases are subject to QC review to determine if the eligibility determination and benefit level
are correct. Active and negative samples must include ESAP cases and include the cases in the
state’s error rate calculations.

. The reviewer must first determine that the household meets the criteria to participate in
ESAP as outlined in this appendix.
. If a household is incorrectly participating as ESAP, the reviewer must:
. Review the case against SNAP standards as established in the Food and
Nutrition Act and regulations, FNS-approved non-ESAP waivers, or State
options.
. If a household is correctly participating as ESAP, the reviewer must:
. Review the case against the provisions this appendix IlI.
. To determine if a household is or is not correctly participating as ESAP under the rules of
the project, the reviewer must:
. Apply standard verification standards and procedures of all relevant circumstances

for the period of time under review as specified in the federal QC Review Handbook
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A. CERTIFICATION PERIODS (7 CFR 273.10(f))

The local department must assign a certification period once the BPS determines that a household
is eligible to participate in the Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program. A certification period is
the period of time within which a household is eligible to receive benefits. Certification periods vary
depending on the circumstances of the individual household. No household may have a
certification period of more than twelve (12) months, except for households comprised of elderly or
disabled members, as discussed in Section 2, below, and participants in the Combined Application
or the Elderly Simplified Application projects, as described in Appendix Il or Appendix Il of Part II.

1. Assigning A Certification Period

All certification periods are based on calendar months. At initial application and
reapplication, the first month in the certification period is normally the month of application.
At recertification, the first month in the certification period is the month following the last
month in the previous certification period. The beginning date of the certification period will
generally be the filing date of the application for initial applications, reapplications, and
recertification applications filed after the previous certification period expired.

The BPS does not need to assign the same certification period at each new eligibility cycle.
Rather, the BPS must assign a period for each household based on individual
circumstances and household characteristics at the time of consideration.

Eligibility for benefits will cease at the end of each certification period. Participation may not
continue beyond the end of the certification period without a new determination of eligibility.
The household must receive written notification that the benefit period is ending. The
agency may use the Notice of Expiration or the Notice of Action and Expiration for this
purpose, depending on the length of the certification period and the timing of the application
approval. Time frames for providing the Notice of Expiration for the end of the certification
period are described in Part IV.C.

2. Maximum Certification Periods

The maximum amount of time a household may have as a certification period is dependent
on a household’s circumstances as listed below. The BPS should assign a shorter period
than listed if a household’s circumstances do not warrant the maximum period. The BPS
must consider anticipated changes or other factors that may affect eligibility when setting the
certification period. The minimum certification period for all households is one month.

The month when a household receives a partial month’s allotment or receives no allotment
because of proration will count toward the allowable maximum period.

Period Household Characteristics

36 months * Households in which all members are participants in VaCAP or ESAP, as
allowed in Appendix Il or Appendix Il of Part Il. These households are not
subject to the Interim Report process.
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24 months

6 months

6 months

up to 6 months

5 months

12 months

When households become ineligible for ESAP, but they remain eligible for
SNAP, the remaining months of the 36-month certification period will remain
in effect. These households are subject to the Interim Report process.

Households in which all members are 60 years of age or older or all members
are disabled, as outlined in Definitions, may have a certification period up to
24 months if there is no earned income in the household. These households
must file an Interim Report of their circumstances by the 12t month to receive
benefits for the final 12 months of the certification period. See Part IV.C.8
and Part XIV.B.

Households in which all members are 60 years of age or older or all members
are disabled, as outlined in Definitions, may have a certification period up to 6
months if there is no earned income in the household in order to ensure these
households will not receive an Interim Report.

Households in which any member is eligible for time-limited benefits through
the work requirement may receive benefits for no more than six months.
Benefits for the certification period will be allowed as follows: one month of
prorated benefits, if appropriate, up to three countable months of time-limited
benefits (Y1 or Y2), and a varying number of Special Exemption benefit
months (E9). See Part XV for determining eligibility for the work requirement.

Households with unstable circumstances may have a certification period of
up to six months depending on individual household circumstances. This
may include households with members who are homeless or who are
migrant/seasonal farm workers, as defined in Definitions.

Households that receive Transitional Benefits for former TANF recipients may
receive frozen benefits for five months. Note that ongoing households must
have their certification periods lengthened or shortened to the five-month
limit. See Parts XII.H and IV.D.3 for a discussion of Transitional Benefits.

All other households not addressed above may have a certification period of
12 months and must file an Interim Report of their circumstances by the sixth
month. See Part XIV.B.

B. NOTICE OF ELIGIBILITY, DENIAL OR PENDING STATUS (7 CFR 273.10(g)(1))

Each household must receive a written decision about its application at initial application,
reapplication and recertification. Depending on household preference, notices may be delivered
through the mail or electronically. The BPS may:

1. find the household eligible for benefits and approve the application;

2. find household ineligible and deny the application; or
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3. be unable to determine the household’s eligibility, within the required timeframe,

and leave the application remains pending.

The BPS must provide a Notice of Action to inform the household of the disposition of its
application. The BPS may use the Notice of Action and Expiration to inform the household of
the approval of the application in the last month of certification.

C. RECERTIFICATION

Each household may apply for recertification before the expiration of the certification period in
which it is currently participating.

The BPS must base eligibility for recertification on circumstances anticipated for the month
following the expiration of the current certification period. The same anticipated circumstances
must be the basis for the level of benefits for the recertification period.

The BPS must complete the application process if the household meets all the requirements
and finishes the necessary processing steps in a timely manner, as defined in this chapter, and
approve or deny timely applications for recertification prior to the end of the household's current
certification period. The BPS must provide eligible households an opportunity to participate by
the first of the month following the end of its current certification period.

A household may not receive benefits beyond the end of its certification period unless the
household recertifies or unless the agency opts to extend the certification period to match a
TANF or Medicaid review period. See Part IV.D for information and limitations on lengthening
certification periods.

The joint processing requirements of Part I1.G.1 apply to recertification applications. Expedited
service processing provisions of Part V apply to recertification applications filed during the
month after the previous certification period ends.

The remainder of this chapter describes the processing requirements for recertification
applications and the timeframes for each.

1. Notice of Expiration (7 CFR 273.14(b))

The local agency must advise the household that the certification period is about to
expire and that a new application is necessary to establish further entittement. The
agency must send the Notice of Expiration form to notify households of the end of the
certification period. See Part XXIV for the form and instructions.

Except as noted below, households must receive the Notice of Expiration no later than
the last day of the next to the last month of the current certification period, but no earlier
than the first day of the next to the last month of the current certification period. When
the agency mails the Notice of Expiration, allow two days for delivery in addition to the
postmark date. Regardless of when the agency assigns the interview date, the
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recertification application will be timely if the household files the application by the 15th
calendar day of the last month of certification.

TANF or GR households whose applications are jointly processed for SNAP and TANF
or GR benefits, in accordance with Part 11.G.1, need not receive a Notice of Expiration if
they have already filed an application for the PA re-determination and recertification for
SNAP benefits by the time the Notice of Expiration would have to be provided.

If the BPS approves an application in the last month of the certification period, the BPS
must give (or mail, if the applicant is not present) the Notice of Expiration to the
household at the time of certification. These instances include households that the BPS
certified only for the month of application and households that the BPS assigned a two-
month certification period only for including benefits retroactive to the month of
application. The household has 15 calendar days from the date of the notice to file a
timely application for recertification. The BPS may use the Notice of Action and
Expiration in place of the Notice of Expiration and the Notice of Action for these
households.

2. Timely Application for Recertification (7 CFR 273.14(c))

Timely applications for recertification are:

a. Households certified in the last month of the certification period, have 15
calendar days from the issuance of the Notice of Expiration to file a timely
application for recertification. This section applies to households the BPS
certifies for the month of application only or for a two-month certification period to
include benefits retroactive to the month of application.

Example

Date Application Filed: July 20

Date Certified and benefits issued and available: August 12

Certification Period: July 20 to August 31

Date Notice of Expiration must be mailed: August 12

Date Application must be filed for the household to be assured of
uninterrupted benefits: August 29 (August 12 plus 15 days plus 2 days for
mailing)

b. Applications filed by households that submitted completed applications by the
15th day of the last month of the current certification period are timely
applications for recertification.

Any household that does not file its application timely for recertification will lose its right
to uninterrupted benefits. The BPS must approve or deny the application by the 30th
day after the filing date if the household has had at least 10 days to provide all needed
verifications. If the 30t day falls during the weekend or on a holiday, the BPS must take
the action on the first business day after the 30" day.
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NOTE: For households entitled to file applications for recertification at the SSA office under the
provisions of Part 11.G.2, the application filing date will be the date the SSA receives the signed
application.

3.

Recertification Interviews (7 CFR 273.14(b)(3))

A household that receives a Notice of Expiration must participate in an interview
scheduled by the local agency for a date that is on or after a timely application date, to
retain its right to uninterrupted benefits. The interview the agency schedules may be
face-to-face, by telephone, or by a prearranged home visit.

The agency must schedule interviews for timely filed recertification applications to allow

households sufficient time (at least 10 days) to provide necessary verifications to protect
the household’s right to uninterrupted benefits. However, an interview is still timely if the
agency conducts it by the last date the household can provide necessary verifications to
receive uninterrupted benefits.

The local agency may schedule an interview for a date before the last month of the
certification period. The agency may not deny the household, however, if the household
has not yet filed an application. The BPS may not deny the household if the household
fails to appear for the interview or is not available for a telephone interview scheduled
before the last month of the certification period.

If the agency does not provide an interview date with the Notice of Expiration, or by
some other means before the household files its recertification application, the agency
must schedule an interview when the household files an application. If the household
misses this scheduled interview, the agency must mail the Missed Interview Notice form
to indicate that the household missed the interview. If the household does not
reschedule the interview, the agency must deny the application at the end of the
processing period.

If the agency schedules an interview on the Notice of Expiration, or by some other
means, prior to receiving a timely application, the agency must take no other action if the
household misses that interview. If the household files a timely application, the agency
must schedule another interview and give uninterrupted benefits if the household
provides all necessary verifications before the certification period expires.

If the household files its application for recertification in a timely manner, but due to its
fault, is not interviewed in a timely manner, then the household will lose its right to
uninterrupted benefits. The BPS must act on the application by the 30th day from the
day the application was filed if the household has had at least 10 days to provide needed
verifications. If the 30" day falls during the weekend or on a holiday, the agency must
take the action on the first business day after the 30" day.

For households that file untimely recertification applications, the agency must schedule

interviews to allow households sufficient time (at least 10 days) to provide necessary
verifications by the 30-day processing standard.
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4, Time Frames for Providing Verification at Recertification (7 CFR 273.14(b)(4))

For a timely recertification application, the household must provide verifications within 10
calendar days of the agency’s request or by the last day of the certification period,
whichever is later. If the household does not provide verification timely, the household
will lose its right to uninterrupted benéefits.

The BPS must approve or deny the application by the 30th day after the filing date
provided the household has had at least 10 days to provide the verification requested. If
the 30™ day falls during the weekend or on a holiday, the BPS must take the action on
the first business day after the 30" day.

5. Agency Action on Timely Applications for Recertification (7 CFR 273.14(d))

If a household filed a timely application for recertification, as allowed by Part IV.C.2, had
an interview, as allowed by Part IV.C.3, and provided requested verifications within the
timeframes given in Part IV.C.4, the BPS must provide uninterrupted benefits to the
household.

The time standards for providing uninterrupted benefits are as follows:

a. A household certified in the last month of its certification period must get a notice
of its eligibility or ineligibility, and be provided an opportunity to participate, no
later than 30 calendar days after the date the household had an opportunity to
obtain its last SNAP benefit.

b. Any other household must have the Notice of Action to approve or deny the case
mailed by the last day of the current certification period. An eligible household
must have an opportunity to participate by the first day of the first month of the
new certification period.

The agency must provide an opportunity to participate within five working days after a

household supplies any missing verification if the agency is unable to process a timely
filed application by the normal processing period because of the 10-day time frame for
providing verification. The agency may not prorate benefits if the household provides

requested information within the 10-day period.

If the BPS is unable to process a timely application in enough time to give uninterrupted
benefits, the BPS must give the household an opportunity to participate the next working
day after determining the household eligible. The household must receive a full month’s
allotment for the first month of the new certification period.

6. Household Failure to Act (7CFR 273.14(e))

A household that submits a timely application for recertification and meets all other
required processing steps must have the right to receive uninterrupted benefits, as
defined in Part IV.C.5. A household that fails to participate in an interview (Part IV.C.3).,
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or to submit any required verifications (Part IV.C.4), will lose its right to uninterrupted
benefits, if the failures occur after the deadline for filing a timely application (Part IV.C.2).

a.

Failure to File a Timely Application

A household that fails to file a timely application for recertification but files an
application during the last month of certification, must have an opportunity to
participate within 30 calendar days after the application filing date, if eligible. The
BPS must determine a household's eligibility and allow at least 10 days for the
household to provide needed verification.

The BPS must assess a household's entitlement to expedited service processing
whenever a household files an application for recertification during the month
after the certification period expires. If the household is eligible for benefits, the
BPS must provide an opportunity to participate within seven calendar days of the
application filing date. If the household is not entitled to expedited processing,
the BPS must determine eligibility and provide benefits within 30 calendar days.

Failure to Participate in an Interview

A household that submits a timely recertification application but who is not
interviewed timely has no entitlement to uninterrupted benefits. The BPS must,
at a minimum, provide an eligible household with an opportunity to participate
within 30 calendar days after the application filing date. The BPS must send the
Missed Interview Notice if the household misses the scheduled interview.

Example

A household files a timely recertification application on January 14.
The household misses its scheduled interview set for the 141" so the
BPS sends the Missed Interview Notice. The household
reschedules and participates in an interview on February 2. The
BPS must act on the application by February 13, if the household
has had at least 10 days to provide necessary verifications.

Failure to Provide Verification

If a household submits a timely recertification application but submits required
verifications untimely, the agency must provide an opportunity to participate by
the 30th day after the application filing date. Untimely means that the household
did not provide the information within 10 days of the request date or by the last
day of the certification period, whichever is later.

Example

A household files a timely application for recertification on the 12th of the
month and attends its interview the same day. The household provides
all needed verifications by the 25th. The agency must provide
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uninterrupted benefits to the household since the household met all the
timeliness standards.

If the household does not provide needed verification until the second of
the following month, the agency must act by the 12th of the following
month (30 days after the application filing date).

7. Early Filing of Recertifications

If a household files an application for recertification more than two calendar months
before the end of the current certification period, the BPS must deny the application as a
duplicate application on file. If the household files the application so that the 30th day
following the filing is before the end of the current certification period, the BPS must
extend the processing time for the case from 30 days to the end of the current
certification period.

8. Mandatory Review of Eligibility for 24-Month Certification Periods

Except for households certified for the VaCAP and ESAP components, the BPS must
review eligibility for households certified up to 24 months during the certification period.
The review must take place anytime a case has a certification period that is over 12
months. The BPS must conduct a review of the household’s eligibility during the
eleventh month of certification.

The Virginia Department of Social Services will send households an Interim Report form
to complete the review. The BPS must note the frequency for sending the Interim
Report to initiate the review process.

The BPS must assess the returned Interim Report form for completeness and use the
information submitted on the report to determine the household’s continued eligibility. If
the household fails to submit a completed Interim Report or fails to submit required
verification or information, the household’s case will automatically close at the end of the
13™ month of the certification period unless the BPS takes action to close the case
earlier based on the information presented on the Interim Report. See Part XIV.C for a
discussion of the Interim Report process.

D. CHANGING THE LENGTH OF THE CERTIFICATION PERIOD

1. Shortening Certification Periods

Once the BPS determines that a household is eligible for benefits, the BPS must
establish the number of months the household may receive benefits before the
household must file another application and have the eligibility process begin again. A
certification period may range from one month to 24 months in length, except for
households certified for the VaCAP and ESAP components. Once the BPS establishes
the certification period, the BPS may not shorten the period to initiate the recertification
process. The BPS may shorten the certification period only for households due
Transitional Benefits.
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If the BPS determines that the household is not eligible for benefits because of changed
circumstances, the BPS must send an adverse action notice (Notice of Action or
Advance Notice of Proposed Action) to close the case. If the BPS is unable to
determine the household's eligibility because of suspected changes in the household's
circumstances, the BPS must send the household the Request for Contact form to
request information from the household. The household will have ten days to respond to
requests for contact and submission of information.

The BPS must send an adverse action notice to terminate benefits if the household does
not respond timely or completely to the Request for Contact form. If the household
responds timely and completely and the response causes the household to be eligible
for a lesser SNAP benefit amount, the BPS must send an adverse action notice to
reduce the benefits. See Part XIV.A for other information on handling changes.

2. Lengthening Certification Periods

At its option, the BPS may lengthen a household's certification period to align the SNAP
certification period with the review period established for the Medicaid or TANF
Programs. The original period and the extended period together may not exceed the 24-
or 12-month limits as addressed in Part IV.A.2. The BPS must send the household a
Notice of Action to advise of the revised certification period.

3. Adjusting Certification Periods for Transitional Benefits

In most instances, when a household’s TANF grant terminates, the BPS must switch the
household’s SNAP eligibility to the Transitional Benefits component. A household may
receive Transitional Benefits for a maximum of five months. The BPS must shorten the
certification period so that the original certification period will expire at the end of five
months if more than five months remain in the original period at the time of the
conversion. If there are fewer than five months left in the original certification period at
the time of the conversion to Transitional Benefits, the BPS must lengthen the
certification period to allow for a five-month period. The BPS must use the Notice of
Action to notify the household of the reassigned certification period and the amount of
the benefits at the time of the conversion to Transitional Benefits. See Part XII.H.
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A. ENTITLEMENT TO EXPEDITED SERVICE (7 CFR 273.2(i)(1))
The following households are entitled to expedited services:

1. Households with less than $150 in countable monthly gross income, provided their
countable liquid resources (e.g. cash on hand, checking and savings accounts,
savings certificates, and lump sum payments as described in Part IX.C) do not
exceed $100.

2. Migrant or seasonal farm worker households who are destitute, as defined in Part
V.F, provided their liquid resources do not exceed $100.

3. Households whose combined monthly gross income and liquid resources are less
than the household's incurred monthly rent or mortgage, and utilities, regardless of
how or if the household pays the expenses. If the household indicates it incurs
separate heating or cooling costs or that it receives Low Income Home Energy
Assistance Program benefits, the BPS should use the utility standard, unless the
household chooses to use actual costs.

Do not consider exempted resources or excluded income in making the expedited
determination. The penalty PA income for noncompliance and income that has been
averaged, such as self-employment, contract, etc., will count however.

Expedited services processing will apply at initial application, reapplication or for
households that file recertification applications during the month after the certification
period expires.

B. IDENTIFYING HOUSEHOLDS NEEDING EXPEDITED SERVICE

The local department of social services must design its application procedures to identify
households eligible for expedited service once the household files an application. The local
department must screen all applications except recertification applications that are filed
timely. The local department must designate personnel to screen applicants as they
contact the local department to request assistance or to review applications for entitlement
if the applicant is not in the office to allow the screening. If the applicant is not in the office
and the applicant failed to complete the application sufficiently for the local department to
screen successfully, the local department must attempt to contact the household by
telephone or e-mail if such contact information is on the application.

If the BPS discovers that a household is entitled to expedited service after the initial
screening failed to identify entitlement, the BPS must provide expedited service to the
household within the processing standards described in Part V.C. The BPS must
document expedited screening results for all applications except recertification applications
that are filed timely. Methods to document the screening include: the Expedited Service
Checkilist, case narrative comments screens, or the expedited section of the Application for
Benefits.
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C.  PROCESSING STANDARDS (7 CFR 273.2(i)(3)(i))

For households entitled to expedited service, except those households entitled to a waiver of the
office interview, the local department of social services must make SNAP benefits available to the
household no later than seven calendar days after the application filing date. For residents of
public institutions who apply for SSI and SNAP benefits before release from the institution, the
SNAP application filing date is the date the applicant is released from the institution. Eligible
households that apply after the 15" day of the month must also receive benefits for the month
following the month of application by the seventh day.

If the local department of social services discovers that a household is entitled to expedited service
after the application date, the BPS must determine eligibility and provide benefits within seven
calendar days of the discovery date.

Eligible households that provide all the information needed to process the expedited application,
within seven calendar days following the date of application, are entitled to receive benefits within
seven calendar days following the date of application. If the household provides the information
after the seventh day following the date of application, the BPS will have seven calendar days to
process the application, beginning with the date the household provides the information. If the
household does not provide requested information by the 30th day, the BPS must send the
household a notice to extend the processing of the case for an additional 30 days. The BPS must
inform the household of the normal verification standards that the household must now meet to
determine eligibility. Procedures for verifying information used to determine eligibility are in Part
V.D.

Out-of-Office Interviews (7 CFR 273.2(i)(3)(iii))

If the local department of social services arranges an out-of-office interview for a household that is
entitled to expedited service, the BPS must conduct the interview and complete the application
process within the expedited service standards. Day one of the processing period is the calendar
day following the application date. If the BPS conducts a telephone interview and must mail the
application to the household for signature, the expedited standards will not include any mailing
time involved. Mailing time will only include the days the application is in the mail to and from the
household and the days the application is in the household's possession pending signature and
mailing.

D.  VERIFICATION PROCEDURES FOR EXPEDITED SERVICE (7 CFR 273.2(j)
(4)(1); 273.2(i)(4)(ii))

To expedite the certification process, the BPS must postpone all verifications required by Part IIl.A,
except the identity of the applicant, if the BPS is unable to obtain verifications within the allowable
processing time. The BPS may verify the identity of the applicant through a collateral contact or
readily available documentary evidence.

The BPS must make all reasonable efforts to verify the household's residence, income statement
(including a statement that the household has no income) and all other mandatory verifications
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within the expedited processing standards. Verification may be obtained through collateral
contacts or readily available documentary evidence before certification. The BPS may not delay
benefits beyond the expedited processing standards solely because these eligibility factors have
not been verified, however.

The BPS must attempt to obtain as much additional verification as possible but should not delay
the certification of households entitled to expedited service if the BPS determines that it is unlikely
that other verification can be obtained within the expedited period.

Once the household has supplied the name of an acceptable collateral contact or has asked the
BPS for assistance in locating such a contact, the BPS must promptly contact the collateral contact
or otherwise assist the household in obtaining the necessary verification. If the household is
unable to provide documentary evidence or the name of a collateral contact, the BPS must assist
the household in obtaining suitable verification.

Households entitled to expedited service must furnish a Social Security number for each person or
apply for one for each person by the postponed verification deadline. Household members who
are unable to provide the required Social Security number or who do not have one prior to the
verification deadline may continue to participate only if they satisfy the good cause requirements
specified in Part VI.G 4.

Once the applicant verifies identity, the BPS must not delay benefits beyond the delivery standard
defined in Part V.C.

E. CERTIFICATION PROCEDURES FOR EXPEDITED SERVICE (7 CFR 273.2(i)(4)(iii)

Households that are certified on an expedited basis and that have provided all necessary
verifications as required must have a normal certification period. The length of the certification
period and benefit delivery date is determined by the application date.

1. If verification was postponed, and the application was filed on the 1st through the 15th of
the month, the BPS may certify the household for the month of application only; or assign a
normal certification period to households whose circumstances would otherwise warrant a
longer certification period. In either case, however, benefits may not continue past the
month of application if verification continues to be postponed, even if the household is not
entitled to an allotment for the month of application because benefits prorated to less than
$10.

If certified only for the month of application, the BPS must send the Notice of Expiration as
required by Part IV.C. The household must reapply and complete the verification
requirements that were postponed. If a certification period of longer than one month is
assigned, the BPS must notify the household in writing that no further benefits will be
issued until the postponed verification is completed. The notice must also include
information that the household must provide the postponed verification by the 30th day
following the date of application or the household's case will be closed. Additionally, the
notice must advise the household that if verification results in changes in the household's
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eligibility or level of benefits, the BPS must act on those changes without an advance
notice.

In instances when the household is not entitled to an allotment for the month of application,
a determination of ineligibility must be made and the denial notice sent within seven days of
the application date. If an eligibility determination can be made for the month following the
month of application, that determination must also be made within seven days. If eligible,
benefits for the month following the month of application must be issued by the normal
issuance cycle however. Verifications must be obtained before benefits may be issued.

If the household fails to provide postponed verification by the 30" day, the BPS must close
the case on the 30™ day following the application date. If the 30" day falls during a
weekend or on a holiday, the BPS must close the case on the next business day. No
additional notice to the household is needed.

2. The BPS must certify a household that applies on or after the 16th day of the month for at
least the month of application and the next month or assign a longer certification period, if
circumstances warrant it. The BPS must issue prorated benefits to the household for the
month of application and the second month's full benefit within the expedited processing
time if the household is eligible to receive benefits. The household must receive benefits
for the second month at the time of certification regardless of whether verifications have
been postponed.

The household must submit postponed verifications no later than the last day of the month
following the month of application. The BPS must notify the household in writing that the
case will be closed if the household does not complete postponed verification by the end of
the second month. The household must receive benefits for the third month by the first day
of the month, or by the seventh working day, whichever is greater.

If the household fails to provide postponed verification by the last day of the month after the
month of application, the BPS must close the case. The BPS must close the case on the
last day of the second month unless that day falls during a weekend or on a holiday. The
closure must occur on the next business day. No additional notice to the household is
needed.

In instances when the household is not entitled to benefits for the month of application, the
household must receive benefits for the month following the month of application, if eligible,
within seven days of the application date.

3. There is no limit to the number of times a household can be certified under expedited
procedures, as long as, prior to each expedited certification, the household either
completes the verification requirements that were postponed at the last expedited
certification; or, was certified under normal processing standards since the last expedited
certification.

A household must reapply if the BPS closes the case because of the household's failure to
provide postponed verifications within the 30 days allowed. If the BPS is aware that this is
a second expedited application, the household will have seven days following the
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application date to provide the postponed verifications from the prior application regardless
of how long it has been since the prior application. If the household does not provide
verifications within the seven days, then the BPS must process the reapplication under
normal processing guidelines.

The second application must have the same case name as the first expedited application
for which the verifications were postponed. If the second application is filed in another
locality, then the household may provide the postponed verification to either locality.

A household that requests expedited service but is not entitled to it must have the

application processed under normal processing guidelines.

DESTITUTE MIGRANT OR SEASONAL FARMWORKER HOUSEHOLDS (7 CFR
273.10(e)(3))

Migrant or seasonal farmworker households may have little or no income at the time of application
and may be in need of immediate food assistance, even though they receive income at some other
time during the month of application. The BPS must use the following procedures to determine
when households in these circumstances may be considered destitute and, therefore, entitled to
expedited service and special income calculation procedures:

1.

Households will be considered destitute and must be provided expedited service when the
only income for the month of application was:

a. received prior to the date of application; and,
b. was from a terminated source.

For migrant workers, the grower, corporation or company is considered the source of
income. The crew leader is not considered the source of income. A migrant who moves
from one grower, corporation or company is considered to have moved from a terminated
income source to a new source. A change of crops, unless it involves a change in growers,
is not considered a new source of income.

If income is received on a monthly or more frequent basis, it is considered as coming from
a terminated source if it will not be received again from the same source during the balance
of the month of application or during the following month.

If income is normally received less often than monthly, however, the nonreceipt of income
from the same source in the balance of the month of application or in the following month is
inappropriate to use as a guideline to determine whether or not the income is terminated.
For households that normally receive income less often than monthly, the income is
considered as coming from a terminated source if it will not be received in the month in
which the next payment would normally be received.

Households whose only income for the month of application is from a new source are
considered destitute and must be provided expedited service if income of more than $25
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from the new source will not be received by the 10th calendar day after the date of
application. These households may expect to start receiving income from a new job.

Income which is normally received on a monthly or more frequent basis is considered to be
from a new source if income of more than $25 has not been received from that source
within 30 days prior to the date the application was filed.

If income is normally received less often than monthly, however, it is considered to be from
a new source if income of more than $25 was not received within the last normal
interval between payments.

3. Households may receive both income from a terminated source prior to the date of
application, and income from a new source after the date of application. They will still be
destitute if:

a. they receive no other income in the month of application; and,

b. income of more than $25 from the new source will not be received by the 10th day
after the date of application.

4. Destitute migrant or seasonal farmworker households must have their eligibility and level of
benefits calculated for the month of application by considering only income which is
received between the first of the month and the date of application. Any income from a
new source that is anticipated after the day of application must be disregarded.

5. Some employers provide travel advances to cover the travel costs of new employees who
must journey to the location of their new employment. To the extent that these payments
are excluded as reimbursements, receipt of travel advances will not affect the
determination of when a household is destitute. However, if the travel advance is, by
written contract, an advance on wages that will be subtracted from wages later earned by
the employee, rather than a reimbursement, the wage advance will count as income.
Nevertheless, the receipt of a wage advance for the travel costs of a new employee will not
affect the determination of whether subsequent payments from the employer are from a
new source of income, nor whether a household shall be considered destitute.

Example

A household applies on May 10 and received $50 as a wage advance for travel
from the new employer on May 1. There is a written contract that this is an advance
on wages. Other wages from the employer will not start until May 30. The
household is considered destitute. The May 30 payment must be disregarded, but
the wage advance received prior to the date of application will count as income.

6. A household's source of income is its employer. The source of income is considered to be
the grower for whom the migrant is working at a particular point in time, not the crew chief.
A migrant who travels with the same crew chief but moves from one grower to another
grower has moved from a terminated source of income to a new source of income.
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A. THE HOUSEHOLD CONCEPT

The BPS must determine the composition of the SNAP household. This chapter describes those
who may or may not qualify as household members, and the designation of head of household.
For the month of application, the household membership as of the day of application is evaluated,
including those persons frequently away from home who are included in the household under the
provisions of Part VI.A.6.

No one is permitted to receive SNAP benefits as a part of more than one household in the same
month, except for residents of a shelter for battered women and children who were members of a
household containing the person who had abused them.

1. General Criteria (7 CFR 273.1(a))

A household is composed of one of the following individuals or groups of individuals,
provided they are not residents of an institution, except as specified in Part VII.C, or are not
boarders, except as specified in Part VI.B:

a. An individual living alone.

b. An individual living with others who customarily purchases and prepares food for
home consumption separate and apart from the others. This includes a disabled
individual, who is not a required household member, living with others whose food is
purchased and prepared separately by someone else.

If an individual has insufficient income and resources to contribute to the purchase
of food, certify the individual as a separate household if the individual intends to
purchase and prepare food separately, if eligible for SNAP benefits.

C. A group of individuals living together for whom food is customarily purchased in
common and for whom meals are customarily prepared from this food supply by or
for all members of the group for home consumption.

Unless there is evidence that contradicts a household's statement, accept the household's
word on which household members customarily purchase and prepare meals together, and
which members constitute the household for SNAP purposes. Contradictions could include
situations where an individual living with others claims to purchase and prepare food apart
from the others, but previously the person had been part of the household of the others.
Verification in this situation may consist of a signed statement from the applicant and a
responsible member of the other household attesting to the separate eating arrangements.

In cases of those without sufficient income and resources who state their intent to purchase
and prepare food separate from others in the home after certification, a signed statement
may be requested at recertification to verify that the intended separation took place, if the
information is questionable.
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2. Required Household Members (7 CFR 273.1(a)(2))

The following individuals living with others or groups of individuals living together must be
considered as one SNAP household, even if they do not customarily purchase food and
prepare meals together:

a. A spouse of a member of the household. Spouse refers to either of two individuals
who would be defined as married to each other under applicable state law or are
living together and are holding themselves out to the community as husband and
wife by representing themselves as such to relatives, friends, neighbors, or
tradespeople.

b. Children under 18 years of age who are under the parental control of an adult
household member other than their parents. For this provision, children must be
financially or otherwise dependent on a household member. Parental control will be
assumed to exist if an adult household member has legal custody of a child.

C. Children 21 years of age or younger who live with natural or adoptive parents,
unless parental rights have been terminated, or stepparents, unless ties have been
severed through divorce.

In the event a child lives in the home with an adult who has parental control (b) and
a parent (c), only one SNAP household will exist.

3. Individuals in Foster Care

Households containing individuals in foster care have the option of including individuals in
foster care as part of the household or excluding them. This option takes precedence over
other guidelines for determining household composition. If the individual is not included as
a member of the foster family's SNAP household however, the foster individual may be
considered a SNAP household member of any other household in which the individual lives
for a portion of the month. A foster care service plan must exist that allows the individual to
be a part of another household on a temporary basis, such as a plan that allows weekend
visits to the home of the biological parents or prior custodian.

The foster care payment will be counted as income to the foster household if the household
elects to count the foster individual as a member of the household for SNAP purposes.

The payment is excluded as income if the foster family does not include the foster
individual in its request for SNAP benefits. If the foster individual is included in any other
SNAP household, only direct payments from the foster care grant from the foster family to
the individual or other SNAP household would count as income to that household.

An individual in foster care and residing with others may not be considered as a separate
SNAP household. Foster individuals may only receive SNAP benefits as a part of another
household in which they live, including a spouse or children living with them. The
restrictions described in this section do not apply to persons assigned to the Independent
Living Program.
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4. Special Consideration for Elderly and Disabled People (7 CFR 273.1(a)(2)(ii))

Normally, everyone who lives together and who purchases and prepares meals together
must be a household for SNAP purposes. However, separate household status may be
allowed for a person who is 60 years of age or older and who has a permanent disability, as
recognized under the Social Security Act, or one who has a non-disease-related, severe,
permanent disability. Separate household status will also be allowed for the spouse of an
elderly, disabled individual and children under the age of 18 for whom parental control is
exercised. The gross income of the remaining household members may not exceed 165%
of the Federal Poverty Income Guidelines, as listed below:

Household Size 165% Limit Household Size 165% Limit

1 $2,071 6 $5,770
2 2,811 7 6,510
3 3,551 8 7,249
4 4,290 each additional

5 5,030 member +$740

Do not count the income of the elderly, disabled person and spouse for this calculation. The
elderly, disabled person is responsible for obtaining the cooperation of the other individuals
in providing necessary income information to the local department of social services.

The key factor in determining whether a disability qualifies a household for separate status
under this provision is the inability to purchase and prepare meals. Assessment of a
disability under the Social Security Act, as well as other disability programs, is based on an
inability to work. The BPS must not automatically assume a disability constitutes an inability
to purchase and prepare meals apart from others.

No specific verification is required if it is obvious to the BPS that the person in question
could not purchase and prepare meals. However, when the inability to purchase and
prepare meals is not obvious, the BPS should request a statement from a physician that the
person is unable to purchase and prepare meals separately.

Note: This section does not apply to elderly or disabled individuals whose food is usually
purchased and prepared separately from others by someone else.

5. Residing Together Determinations

In some situations, it may become difficult to determine separate household status for
people who live together in the same house. Consider factors, such as, but not limited to
the following, to determine separate household status:

a. If there are separate, identifiable units within the dwelling, separate households
probably exist.
b. If common facilities, such as a kitchen and/or a bathroom are shared, separate

households probably do not exist.
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If a dwelling is constructed as a single-family home, separate households probably
do not exist but, a dwelling constructed as a multi-family structure (e.g., a duplex,
apartment building), separate households probably exist.

Examples
1) A 20-year-old woman lives in two rooms in her parents' basement. She has
a bed, sofa, refrigerator, hotplate, etc., but uses the kitchen and bathroom
in her parents' home. All residents must participate together since this is a
single-family dwelling and common facilities are shared.

2) Individuals live together in the same house. One person lives in an
apartment in the basement. The apartment contains a kitchenette and
bathroom along with other living space. Since the apartment is a separate,
identifiable dwelling unit, the residents are not considered as living together.

3) Individuals live in separate rooms in a hotel but must share a bathroom
down the hall. Since they live in separate, identifiable units, they are not
required to participate together even though they share common facilities.

These types of situations require careful case-by-case evaluation, and the BPS must take
care not to impose rigid guidelines, such as requiring a separate unit to have a kitchen or
requiring separate units within one dwelling to have separate entrances. Document how
the decision to consider persons residing together or not was determined in these types of
situations.

6. Household Membership of Those Frequently Away from Home

Use the following guidelines to determine household membership when an individual is
frequently away:

a.

If an individual spends at least 15 days per month in the home and otherwise
meets the definition of a household member, as described in Part VI.A.1 and Part
VI.A.2, consider the individual a household member.

If an individual spends fewer than 15 days per month in the home, the applicant
may choose whether to include the individual as a household member, provided
the individual otherwise meets the definition of a household member and is not
certified for SNAP benefits elsewhere. If the individual, who is frequently away, is
the spouse of a household member, consider the individual as a household
member unless the household can present an address to document where the
spouse resides the rest of the month. A required household member, who is part
of more than one household, must be considered a member of the unit where most
of the time is spent, if both units apply for SNAP benéefits.

Example

Household A receives SNAP for a child who visits on the weekends. Household B
subsequently applies for SNAP and includes the child, as the child resides with
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Household B most of the time. The child must be removed from the case of
Household A and added to the case of Household B, after advance notice is
provided to Household A.

If the applicant excludes an individual who is frequently away from the home, that
individual may not participate as a separate household at the same address if the
individual is a required household member, as described in Part VI.A.2.

B.  BOARDERS (7 CFR 273.1(c))

1. Those Eligible to Participate

An individual residing with a household and paying reasonable compensation to the
household for lodging and meals is considered a boarder.

Boarders in commercial boarding houses are ineligible to participate in the program. A
commercial boarding house is an establishment licensed as a commercial enterprise that
offers meals and lodging for compensation. A commercial establishment, located in an
area without licensing requirements, that offers meals and lodging for compensation with
the intention of making a profit will also be classified as a commercial boarding house.
The number of boarders residing in the house is not a determining factor.

Other boarders are ineligible to participate in the program independent of the household
providing the board. They may participate as members of the household providing the
board at that household's request. If boarders are excluded, their income and resources
will not be considered available to the household providing the board.

The household with which the boarder resides (including the household of the proprietor of
a boarding house) may participate in the program, if they meet all the eligibility
requirements for participation.

2. Making Boarder Determinations

If an applicant household identifies any individual in the household as a boarder, apply the
following conditions to determine if boarder status shall be granted. Boarder status will not
be granted to any of the following:

a. The spouse of a member of the household.

b. Children under 18 years of age under parental control of a member of the
household.

C. Children under 22 years of age living with their natural, step- or adoptive parents if

parental rights have not been terminated or severed through divorce.

d. Persons paying less than a reasonable monthly payment for meals.
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1) An individual furnished both meals and lodging but paying less

compensation than a reasonable amount, will be considered a member of
the household that provides the meals and lodging. Only direct money
payments (cash, check, money order) to the household count in making this
evaluation. In no event may SNAP benefits be paid for meals and be
credited toward the monthly payment. If payment for meals alone cannot
be distinguished from payment for lodging and meals, the full payment
amount will be used to make the determination.

2) A reasonable monthly payment must equal or exceed the following
amounts if the boarder takes two meals or less per day in the home.

Number of boarders being Minimum monthly payment required
considered as a separate This is two-thirds of the maximum benefit amount,
household rounded down to the nearest whole dollar amount,
for each household size indicated.
$ 194
357
512
650
772
926
1,024
1,170

ONOO AP WN -

3) A reasonable monthly payment must equal or exceed the following
amounts if the boarder takes more than two meals per day in the home.

Number of boarders being Minimum monthly payment required
considered as a separate This is the maximum benefit amount for each
household household size indicated.)
$ 292
536
768
975
1,158
1,390
1,536
1,756

ONO NP WN =

If a single board payment is made for more than one boarder, all boarders for whom the
payment is made must be considered as a single household.

Example
A mother and daughter board with another household. The mother pays board to
the landlord for herself and her daughter. The mother and daughter must be
considered as one household if their board payment is equal to or greater than the
required minimum monthly payment.
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Individuals furnished only meals are not considered boarders. These individuals must be
considered members of the household where most of the meals are taken.

If boarder status is questionable, the BPS may require statements from the boarder and
the person who receives the payment, attesting to the arrangement and the amount
charged or paid.

C.  NONHOUSEHOLD MEMBERS (7 CFR 273.1(b))

1. The following individuals who reside with a SNAP household will not be considered
household members in determining eligibility or the benefit allotment:

a. Roomers: Individuals to whom a household furnishes lodging for compensation
but no meals.

b. Boarders: Individuals provided meals and lodging for compensation as outlined in
Part VI.B.
C. Live-in attendants: Individuals who reside with a household to provide medical,

housekeeping, childcare, or other similar personal services. Residing with the
household means that an individual takes a majority of meals in the home.
Dependents of a live-in attendant will be considered as members of the live-in
attendant's household. A person cannot be a live-in attendant in his or her own
home.

d. Ineligible students: Students who are 18 years of age or older and enrolled at least
half-time in an institution of higher education who fail to meet the special eligibility
criteria outlined in Part VII.E.

e. Other individuals who share living quarters with the household but who do not
customarily purchase food and prepare meals with the household.

Example
The applicant household shares a house with another family to save on rent. The
two groups do not purchase and prepare food together. The members of the other
family are not members of the applicant's household.

f. Individuals in foster care that the household opts to exclude from the SNAP unit.
Roomers, live-in attendants and individuals who share living quarters may participate as
separate households, if otherwise eligible. Ineligible students, boarders, and individuals in
foster care cannot participate as separate households.

Individuals, who are mandatory household members, as per Part VI.A.1, may not be

considered nonhousehold members merely because of their roomer, boarder, or live-in
attendant status.
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2. The following individuals residing with the household will not count in determining the

household's size for assigning a benefit level for the household or for comparing the
household's monthly income with the income eligibility standards. Income and resources of
these excluded members is countable to the remaining household members in accordance
with Part XII.E. These persons may not participate in SNAP as separate households.

a. Ineligible Aliens: Individuals who do not meet the citizenship requirement or hold an
eligible immigration status (Part VII.F).

b. SSN Disqualified: Individuals disqualified for failure to provide a Social Security
Number (Part VII.G).

C. Fraud Disqualified: Individuals found guilty of committing an intentional program
violation against the Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program by a court of law or
an Administrative Disqualification Hearing (ADH), or individuals who signed waivers
to an ADH (Part XIX).

d. Individuals disqualified for noncompliance with employment program requirements
(Part VIILA).
e. Individuals who are fleeing prosecution of felony offenses or imprisonment for felony

convictions, or individuals who are in violation of probation or parole conditions are

ineligible. Individuals will be considered fleeing if:

1) There is an outstanding felony warrant for the individual by a federal, state, or
local law enforcement agency, and the underlying cause for the warrant is for
committing or attempting to commit a crime that is a felony under the law of
the place from which the individual is fleeing or a high misdemeanor under
the law of New Jersey;

2) The individual is aware of, or should reasonably have been able to expect
that, the felony warrant has already or would have been issued;

3) The individual has taken action to avoid being arrested or jailed; and

4) The federal, state, or local law enforcement agency is actively seeking the
individual by:

i. informing a state agency that it intends to enforce an outstanding
felony warrant or to arrest an individual for a probation or parole
violation within 20 days of submitting a request for information about
the individual to the state agency;

ii. presenting a felony arrest warrant; or

iii. stating that it intends to enforce an outstanding felony warrant or to
arrest an individual for a probation or parole violation within 30 days of
the date of a request from a state agency about a specific outstanding
felony warrant or probation or parole violation.

f. Individuals who receive benefits for a three-month period and who subsequently fail
to regain eligibility under the Work Requirement (Part XV).

g. Individuals convicted of murder or sexual assault on or after February 8, 2014 are
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ineligible for benefits. For this section, an individual must have a felony conviction

as an adult for an offense listed below and is out of compliance with the

sentencing.

1) Aggravated sexual abuse under Title 18 United States Code (USC),
Section 2241 or a similar state offense;

2) Murder under Title 18 USC, Section 1111 or a similar state offense;

3) An offense under Title 18 USC, Chapter 110 (sexual exploitation and other
abuse of children) or a similar state offense; or

4) A federal or state offense involving sexual assault, as defined in Section
40002(a) of the Violence Against Women Act of 1994 (42 USC 13925(a)).

D.  HEAD OF HOUSEHOLD (7 CFR 273.1(d))

The head of the household is designated when applications are filed, whether at initial
application, reapplication or recertification. The designation of the head will be made
either by the household or by the BPS. Under certain circumstances, as described in
Part VI.D.3, the head will be defined as the principal wage earner. Whether designated
by the household or by the BPS, the head must be identified in the case file at the time of
certification or household change.

Other than sanctions for violations described in Part VI.D.3, no special requirements are
to be imposed on the household or its head. The agency may not, for example, require
that the head appear at the certification office to apply for benefits rather than another
responsible household member.

1. Household Designation

Whenever an application is filed, the household may identify on the application a
household member to be the head. Households with parent-child combinations
may also designate the head whenever there is a change to the household's
composition. The person selected as the head must be included on the Notice of
Action at the time of certification or household composition change.

The household may select as head a household member who is an adult parent of
children living in the household, an adult who has parental control of a minor child
living in the household, or any other adult member. For an adult parent to be
selected, there must be at least one natural, step-, or adopted child of any age in
the SNAP household unit with an adult parent. For an adult with parental control
to be selected, there must be at least one child under 18 years of age who is
supervised or otherwise dependent on an adult living in the SNAP household.

2. Agency Designation
If households fail to designate the head by the 30th day for new applications or

reapplications or by the verification deadline for recertification applications, the
BPS must determine the head. The BPS must also designate the head if the
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household's adult members do not agree with the selection made by the applicant.

The designation by the BPS will remain in effect through the certification period or
until the head leaves the household.

3. Principal Wage Earner as Head

Unless the household has selected an adult parent or adult with parental control as
head as specified in Part VI.D.1, the principal wage earner will be considered the
head of household when evaluating noncompliance with work registration. The
principal wage earner must also be considered in determining whether a household
member voluntarily quit a job or reduced work hours to less than 30 hours per
week.

The principal wage earner is the household member who had the most earned
income in the two months prior to the month of the registration noncompliance, job
quit, or work reduction. Excluded household members, as defined in Part VI.C.2,
are evaluated in determining the principal wage earner. The income used in this
evaluation must involve 20 hours or more per week or provide the equivalent of 20
hours multiplied by the federal minimum wage.

The principal wage earner identified will not be applicable if the person who caused
the violation lives with a parent or person fulfilling the role of a parent. The
principal wage earner designation also will not apply if a parent or person fulfilling
that role is registered for work or is exempt from work registration because the
parent or person fulfilling the role of a parent is:

a. subject to and participating in any work requirement under Title IV of the
Social Security Act such as the PA Employment Services Program (Part
VIII.LA.1.c);

b. receiving unemployment compensation benefits or is registered for work to

receive these benefits (Part VIII.A.1.f); or
C. employed or self-employed and working a minimum of 30 hours weekly or
is receiving weekly earnings at least equivalent to 30 hours multiplied by
the federal minimum wage.
If there is no principal source of earned income in the household, the household
member documented in the case file as the head at the time of the violation will be
considered the head of the household.
E. HOUSEHOLDS IN INSTITUTIONS
Residents of certain institutions are eligible for SNAP benefits. This chapter contains special

provisions for households residing in eligible institutions. See Part VII.C for a list of eligible
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institutions and Part II.I for requirements and allowances for authorized representatives for
institutionalized households.

1.

Drug Addiction and Alcohol Treatment Centers

Residents of treatment and rehabilitation programs for persons addicted to narcotic drugs or
alcohol, including the children of these persons residing in the centers with the parents, may
receive SNAP benefits as individual households. The treatment center must be a private,
nonprofit organization or institution or a publicly operated community mental health center,
under Part B of Title XIX of the Public Health Service Act.

Before certifying treatment center residents for SNAP benefits, the BPS must establish that
the center meets Public Health Service Act criteria even if the center is not certified under
Part B of Title XIX of the Public Health Service Act. The BPS must also determine if the
Food and Nutrition Service (FNS) has certified the facility as a retailer and whether the
center has a Point-of-Sale (POS) device to use SNAP benefits at the institution.

To get SNAP benefits, residents of treatment centers must apply and participate through a
designated employee of the center. The household must freely choose to apply for benefits.
The resident household should assist in completing the application and should sign the
application along with the authorized representative before certification, if possible. Normal
SNAP certification notices and procedures apply to households that reside in eligible
treatment centers except for the requirement that residents must apply through a
representative of the center.

a. Accessing and Using SNAP Benefits

To access SNAP benefits, each household or representative must have an EBT
card. Eligible household residing in drug or alcohol treatment centers must
participate in the Program through an authorized representative. The authorized
representative will receive an EBT card to use on behalf of the household. The client
may not possess an active EBT card while a resident of the treatment center.

Treatment center representatives must use the SNAP benefits for food prepared by
or served to the resident addict/alcoholic. If the treatment center has a POS device,
the authorized representative must use each individual household's EBT card to
access one-half of the monthly benefit according to the household's assigned benefit
issuance date (1%, 41, 7t). If the treatment center does not have a POS device, the
authorized representative must use each resident's EBT card at the grocery store
and access up to one-half the benefit amount by the 10" day of each month. The
treatment center may access the second half of the benefits on or after the 16t of
each month if the resident remains in the center as of the 16 day of the month.

If the household leaves the treatment center before the 16" day of the month, the
household is entitled to one-half of the allotment for the month. If the household
leaves the treatment center on or after the 16t of the month, the household will not
receive any portion of the benefits directly.
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b. Responsibilities of the Treatment Center

The treatment center must notify the local agency of changes in the household's
income or other household circumstances and upon the departure of the addict or
alcoholic from the treatment center. When the resident leaves the facility, the
treatment center must provide the resident with the EBT card for the "Primary
Cardholder," if the card is available. This is not the card used by the authorized
representative. Once the household leaves the treatment center, the center may
no longer act as that household's authorized representative.

The center should return the authorized representative's EBT card to the local
agency when the resident leaves the facility.

The center must provide the household with a Change Report Form to report to the
local agency the individual's new address and other circumstances after leaving
the center, if possible. The center must also advise the household to report the
address change to the local agency within 10 days.

Each treatment and rehabilitation center must submit a certified list of residents
who are currently participating in the Program to the local social services agency.
This list must include a statement that the information provided is correct and must
be signed by a representative of the center. The center must submit the list at
least monthly, although local agency officials may request a more frequent list.

C. Penalties

The treatment center is responsible for any misrepresentation or fraud that it
knowingly commits in the certification of center residents. As an authorized
representative, the treatment center must be knowledgeable about household
circumstances and should carefully review those circumstances with residents prior
to applying on their behalf. The organization or institution is liable for all losses or
misuse of SNAP benefits accessed or used on behalf of resident households and
for any overissuance of benefits that occur while the households are residents of
the treatment center.

The treatment center may be penalized or disqualified if an administrative or
judicial determination establishes that SNAP benefits were misappropriated or
used for purchases that did not contribute to a certified household's meals. The
treatment center may be prosecuted under applicable federal or state statutes for
intentional acts that misrepresent household circumstances.

d. Local Agency Responsibilities
The local agency must ensure that applicants that reside in alcohol or drug
treatment centers apply for SNAP benefits through a designated employee of the

treatment center. The agency may not process an application signed only by such
a resident or conduct the interview without the authorized representative. The
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treatment center must receive certification notices and instructions on accessing
SNAP benefits through EBT.

The BPS should provide the treatment center with blank Change Report forms that
the center or household could complete to report changes, including when the
household leaves the center. The BPS must take prompt action to remove the
authorized representative when the household leaves the treatment center upon
learning of the address change.

The local agency must receive a monthly list of residents from the treatment
center. The agency may require the treatment center submit the list semimonthly.
The local agency must review the list to ensure that only those residents listed are
participating as residents of that institution. The agency must resolve any
discrepancies immediately between the list submitted by the center and the
agency's certification record.

In addition to reviewing the lists of residents in the treatment facility, the local
agency must conduct periodic random on-site visits to the center. This review is to
ensure the accuracy of the listings and that the local agency's records are
consistent and current.

The local agency must promptly notify the Regional Office for the Virginia
Department of Social Services when there is reason to believe that a treatment
center is misusing SNAP benefits in its possession. The Virginia Department of
Social Services must transmit the local agency's findings to USDA. The local
agency must not act however, until USDA provides instructions.

2. Group Living Arrangements

Disabled or blind individuals who reside in group living arrangements may be eligible for
SNAP benefits. See Part VII.C for specific criteria. Unlike residents of drug or alcohol
treatment centers, residents of group living may apply on their own behalf; select an
authorized representative; or use an authorized representative employed and designated
by the facility.

How residents of group living arrangements apply will determine the household size. For
instance, if a resident files an individual application or through a personal authorized
representative, the BPS must evaluate household composition based on who purchases
and prepares food together but, residents who apply through the use of the facility's
authorized representative, will be one-person households, regardless of the eating
arrangements.

a. Participating in the Group Living Arrangement
The group living arrangement may purchase and prepare food that eligible

residents will consume on a group basis, if residents normally obtain their meals at
a central location, e.g. a dining hall, as part of the group living arrangement
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services, or if meals are prepared at a central location for delivery to the individual
residents.

If residents purchase and/or prepare food for their own consumption, as opposed
to communal dining, the group living arrangement must ensure that each resident's
SNAP benefits are used for meals intended for that resident.

If residents retain use of their own SNAP benefits, then they may either use the
benefits to purchase meals prepared for them by the facility, if group home is
authorized by FNS, or purchase food to prepare meals for their own consumption.

If the facility is acting as the authorized representative for the resident, the SNAP
benefits may be handled in any of the following ways:

1) The facility may spend the benefits, prepare and serve the food to the
resident;

2) Spend the SNAP benefits and allow the resident to prepare the food; or

3) Allow the resident to use some or all of the benefits on his or her own
behalf.

If the resident applied on his own behalf, the resident may provide the SNAP
benefits to the facility to purchase food for meals served either communally or
individually for eligible residents. The eligible resident may also use the SNAP
benefits to purchase and prepare food for individual consumption or to purchase
meals prepared and served by the group living arrangement.

b. Accessing and Using SNAP Benefits

To access SNAP benefits, each household or representative must have an EBT
card. Residents of group living arrangements will receive an EBT card. If the
household has an authorized representative, the representative will also receive an
EBT card to use on behalf of the household.

The household or authorized representative must use SNAP benefits for food
prepared by or served to the resident. If the group home has a POS device, at the
beginning of each month, the household or authorized representative must use the
individual household's EBT card to access one-half of the monthly benefit. If the
group home does not have a POS device, the household or authorized
representative must use each resident's EBT card at the grocery store. If the
authorized representative is a representative of the group home, the representative
may access up to one-half the benefit amount at the beginning of each month. The
group home representative may access the second half of the benefits on or after
the 16™" of each month if the resident remains in the group home as of the 16" day
of the month.
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If the household leaves the group home before the 16" day of the month, the
household is entitled to one-half of the allotment for the month. If the household
leaves the group home on or after the 16" of the month, the household will not
receive any portion of the benefits directly.

C. Responsibilities of the Group Living Arrangement

If a representative of the group living arrangement acts as an authorized
representative, the group living arrangement must notify the local agency of
changes in household circumstances and when the individual leaves the group
living arrangement.

Once the household leaves the group home, the center may no longer act as the
household's authorized representative.

The center should return the authorized representative's EBT card to the local
agency when the resident leaves the facility.

The group home must provide the household with a Change Report form to report
to the local agency the individual's new address and other circumstances after
leaving the group home, if possible. The group home must also advise the
household to report the address change to the local agency within 10 days.

Each group living arrangement must submit a certified list of residents who are
currently participating in the Program to the local social services agency. This list
must include a statement that the information provided is correct. A representative
of the center must sign the report and submit the list at least monthly, although
local agency officials may request a more frequent list.

d. Penalties

When a group living arrangement acts as the household's authorized
representative the following additional responsibilities are applicable:

1. The group living facility is responsible for any misrepresentation or fraud
that it knowingly commits in the certification of the facility's residents. As an
authorized representative, the group living arrangement must be
knowledgeable about household circumstances and should carefully review
those circumstances with residents prior to applying on their behalf. The
group living arrangement is liable for any losses or misuse of SNAP
benefits accessed or used on behalf of resident households and for all
overissuances that occur while the facility is acting as the household's
authorized representative.

2. The facility may be penalized or disqualified if an administrative or judicial

determination finds that SNAP benefits were misappropriated or used for
purchases that did not contribute to a certified household's meals. The
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group home may be prosecuted under applicable federal or state statutes
for intentional acts that misrepresent household circumstances.

These provisions do not apply when the resident household applied on its own
behalf.

e. Local Agency Responsibilities

The BPS must certify eligible residents of group living arrangements using the
same provisions that apply to all other households. Before certifying any residents
of a particular facility, the BPS must establish that the group living arrangement is
authorized by FNS-USDA to accept SNAP benefits or is certified by an appropriate
agency of the state or locality, including that agency's determination that the center
is a nonprofit organization.

Before certifying group home residents for SNAP benefits, the BPS must establish
that the group living arrangements meets Section 1616(e) of the Social Security
Act criteria, even if the group home is not certified under Section 1616(e) of the
Social Security Act. The BPS must also determine if the Food and Nutrition
Service (FNS) has certified the facility as a retailer and whether the group home
has a Point-of-Sale (POS) device to use SNAP benefits at the group home.

The BPS should provide the group living arrangement with blank Change Report
forms so the group living arrangement or household could complete to report
changes, including when the household leaves the group living arrangement. The
BPS must take prompt action to remove the authorized representative when the
household leaves the group living arrangement upon learning of the address
change.

The local agency must receive a periodic list of residents from the group living
arrangement. The agency may establish the frequency of receiving the resident
lists. The local agency must review the list to ensure that only those residents
listed are participating as residents of that institution. The agency must resolve
any discrepancies immediately between the list submitted by the group living
arrangement and the agency's certification record.

In addition to reviewing the lists of residents in the group living arrangement, the
local agency must conduct periodic random on-site visits to the center. This review
is to assure the accuracy of the listings and that the local agency's records are
consistent and current.

The BPS must promptly notify the Regional Office for the Virginia Department of
Social Services when there is reason to believe that a group living arrangement is
misusing SNAP benefits. The Virginia Department of Social Services must
transmit the local agency's findings to USDA. The BPS must not act however, until
USDA provides instructions.
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FNS Authorization

FNS may authorize group living arrangements as a retail food store. A state or
local agency must appropriately certify these facilities. If the facility loses its
certification, FNS may withdraw its approval at any time

If FNS disqualifies a facility as a retail food store, the BPS must suspend its
authorized representative status for the same period. If a facility loses its
certification to use SNAP benefits through wholesalers or its certification from the
appropriate State or local agency, residents will not be eligible to participate except
those who have applied on their own behalf. Residents who will be ineligible are
not entitled to the Advance Notice of Proposed Action, but they must receive a
written notice explaining the termination and the effective date.

3. Shelters for Battered Women and Their Children

a.

Determination of Acceptable Shelter Status

Before certifying residents of shelters for battered women, the BPS must determine
that the shelter for battered women and children meets the definition of Part
VII.C.1.d. of this manual. The BPS must maintain documentation to support the
determination to show that the shelter meets the criteria.

If a shelter has authorization by FNS to use SNAP benefits, the shelter will meet
the criteria and will need no further determination by the local agency.

Special Eligibility Considerations

Many shelter residents will have recently left a household containing the person
who abused them. The former household may be certified for participation in the
program and its certification may be based on a household size that includes the
women and children who have just left. Shelter residents who are included in such
certified households may, nevertheless, apply for and, if otherwise eligible,
participate in the Program as separate households if the previously certified
household that includes them also contains the person who abused them.

Shelter residents who are included in such certified households may receive an
additional allotment as a separate household only once a month. The BPS must
certify shelter residents who apply as separate households solely based on their
income and resources and the expenses for which they are responsible. The BPS
must not consider the income, resources, and expenses of their former household
in certifying these applicants. Jointly held resources must be considered
inaccessible for battered women and children if access to the value of the resource
depends on the agreement of a joint owner who still resides in the former
household.

Room payments to the shelter are allowable shelter expenses.
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The BPS must take prompt action to ensure that the former household's eligibility
or allotment reflects the change in the household's composition.
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A. NONFINANCIAL ELIGIBILITY CRITERIA

Participation in the Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program is based on both financial and
nonfinancial eligibility criteria. This chapter contains a discussion of most of the nonfinancial
eligibility criteria. A household will meet the nonfinancial eligibility criteria if it:

1. Resides in the locality of application; (7 CFR 273.3) (Part VII.B.)

2. Resides in a noninstitutional setting or in an eligible institution; (7 CFR 273.1(b)(7)(vi)) (Part
VII.C.)

3. Contains no persons currently on strike unless the household would have been eligible

before the strike; (7 CFR 273.1(g)(1)) (Part VII.D.)

4. Contains a student enrolled in an institution of higher education who meets certain special
eligibility requirements; (7 CFR 273.5) (Part VII.E.)

5. Contains citizens of the United States or eligible aliens (7 CFR 273.4) (Part VII.F.)
6. Registers for work, unless otherwise exempt (7 CFR 273.7). (Part VIIL.A.)

7. Does not have a primary wage earner who voluntarily quits or reduces work without good
cause (7 CFR 273.7(n)) (Part VIII.B.)

8. Provides Social Security numbers for household members (7 CFR 273.6(a)(1)). (Part VII.G.)

The presence of cooking facilities is not a criterion for determining SNAP eligibility.

B. RESIDENCY (7 CFR 273.3)

Residence is defined as physical presence in a locality with the intent to remain either temporarily or
permanently.

Households do not have to live in the locality for a particular length of time to get SNAP benefits, nor
do they have to have any intent of staying any length of time. Persons vacationing in an area cannot
be considered as residents.

Households must reside in the locality in which they apply for SNAP benefits. Households do not
have to reside in a permanent dwelling or have a fixed mailing address as a condition of eligibility.
Migrant campsites, motels, or other temporary shelters meet the residency requirements.
Households may live in vehicles, such as cars, buses, or trucks, etc. Other individuals may live on
the street. If households maintain a physical presence in the locality, they will meet residency
requirement. Households may not participate in more than one locality at a time.

Participants in the Address Confidentiality Program (ACP) must declare they reside in the locality in
which they apply for SNAP benefits. The ACP authorization card will establish participation in that
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program. Participants may use the substitute mailing address (P.O. Box 1133, Richmond, VA
23218-1133) and the assigned authorization code as the address for SNAP purposes. The
substitute mailing address is not relative to the physical address.

See Part Ill.A and D for a discussion of the verification of residency.

Note: The BPS may choose to keep an ongoing case in active status during a temporary move from
the locality. This policy is discussed in Part XIV.A.7.

C.

RESIDENTS OF INSTITUTIONS (7 CFR 273.1(b)(7)(vi))

Except for the institutions listed in this section, residents of institutions will not be eligible for
SNAP benefits.

Definition of a Resident of an Institution

Individuals will be considered residents of an institution when the institution provides them
with most of their meals (over 50% of three meals daily) as a part of its normal service,
whether the meal service is mandatory. In instances where meal service is optional,
individuals will not be considered residents of the institution unless they participate in the
meal plan. Residents who do not receive most of their daily meals from the institution may
be eligible for benefits if all other eligibility factors are met.

Residents of public institutions who apply for SSI before their release from an institution
under the Social Security Administration's Prerelease Program for the Institutionalized may
apply for SNAP benefits at the same time they apply for SSI. For these applicants, the filing
date of the SNAP application will be the date of release of the applicant from the institution.

Eligible Institutional Residents

Residents of following facilities may receive SNAP benefits:
a. Residents of any federally subsidized housing for the elderly.

b. Narcotic drug addicts or alcoholics or the children of these individuals who reside at a
facility or treatment center under the supervision of a drug or alcoholic treatment and
rehabilitation program.

A drug or alcoholic treatment and rehabilitation program means a program leading to
rehabilitation conducted by a private, nonprofit organization or institution or a publicly
operated community health center under Section 300x-21 et. seq. of U.S. Code Title
42; meets the criteria that would make it eligible to receive funds under Section 300x-
21 et. seq. of Title 42, even if it does not actually receive funds from that source;
provides treatment and rehabilitation of drug addicts or alcoholics to further the
purposes of Section 300x-21 et. seq. of Title 42; or is authorized as a retailer by the
FNS.
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The treatment program must present information or documentation to show that it
meets the eligibility criteria. See Part VI.E for additional information about treatment
centers.

Disabled or blind individuals who are residents of a public or private, nonprofit
residential setting that serves no more than sixteen residents. These group living
arrangements must be certified by an appropriate agency of the state or locality
under Section 1616(e) of the Social Security Act and regulations based on it. See
Part VI.E for a discussion of this group living arrangement.

Individuals temporarily residing in a shelter for those fleeing domestic violence. A
shelter for individuals fleeing domestic violence refers to a public or private nonprofit
residential facility that serves individuals fleeing domestic violence and their children.
If such a facility serves other individuals, a portion of the facility must be set aside on
a long-term basis to serve only those fleeing domestic violence and their children.

Residents of public or private nonprofit shelters for homeless individuals.

D.  STRIKERS (7 CFR 273.1(g)(1))

1. Definition of a Striker

a.

For SNAP purposes, a striker is defined as:

1) Anyone involved in a strike; or,

2) Anyone involved in a concerted stoppage of work by employees (including a
stoppage by reason of the expiration of a collective bargaining agreement);
or,

3) Anyone involved in any concerted slowdown (or other concerted interruption

of operations by employees).
Examples of non-strikers include:

1) Employees whose workplace is closed by an employer in order to resist
demands of employees, e.g., lockout.

2) An individual who would have been exempt from work registration on the day
prior to the strike, other than those exempt solely on the grounds that they
are employed at the struck plant, e.g., the individual may be the caretaker of
a child under 6 years of age and, therefore, would not be affected by the
striker provisions.

3) Employees unable to work as a result of striking employees, e.g., striking
newspaper pressmen preventing newspapers from being printed and,
consequently, truck drivers are not working because there are no papers to
deliver.
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4) Employees who are not part of the bargaining unit on strike who do not want

to cross a picket line due to fear of personal injury or death.

2. Determining Striker Eligibility at Initial Certification

Households with striking members shall be ineligible to participate unless the household
was eligible immediately prior to the strike. This restriction does not include individuals
exempt from work registration. This means that the BPS must determine the household's
income as though the household applied on the day before the strike for all individuals in
the household on that date. Do not account for changes between this date and the date of
application in the eligibility determination. For example, if an individual was in the home on
the day before the strike, receiving $100 per month, and on the date of application this
individual is no longer in the home, eligibility must still be based on this individual being in
the home and the income he or she was receiving. Also, in considering the striker's income
as though the household applied on the day before the strike, if the striker was absent from
work for one week due to sickness, for example, a full month's income is still to be counted.
Normal verifications must be obtained (FNS Policy Memo 82-4).

If the household would have been ineligible had they applied the day before the strike, the
BPS must deny the application.

If the household would have been eligible if an application had been filed on the day before
the strike, the BPS must compare the striking member's income before the strike to the
striker's current income. Add the higher of the two to the current income of members who
are not on strike that is anticipated to determine the household's eligibility at the time of
application.

Use only current resources in determining resource eligibility.

Strikers who are eligible are subject to the work registration requirements of Part VIII.A.

3. Determining Striker Eligibility for Ongoing Cases

If a member of a currently certified household becomes involved in a strike, the definition of
a striker described in Part VII.D.1 still applies. The household containing a person defined
as a striker shall not receive an increased allotment as the result of a decrease in income of
the striking member(s). The BPS must compare the striker's income before the strike to the
striker's current income and add the higher of the two to the countable income of
nonstriking members.

Use only current resources in determining resource eligibility.
Strikers who are eligible are subject to the work registration requirements in Part VIII.A.

4. Changes in Striker Status

If a striker officially terminates employment with the struck employer, he/she will no longer
be considered a striker. The employer or other acceptable sources must verify an official
termination.
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If a striker accepts temporary employment with the intent of returning to his struck job once
the strike ends, he is still considered a striker.

E. STUDENTS (7 CFR 273.5)

1. Definition of a Student
For the purposes of this chapter, the term student refers to a person who is enrolled at least
halftime in an institution of higher education. The term student will refer to a person who is:

a. is enrolled in a business, technical, trade, or vocational school that normally requires
a high school diploma or equivalency certificate for enrollment; or,

b. is enrolled in a regular curriculum at a college or university that offers degree
programs, regardless of whether a high school diploma is required.

Once a student enrolls in an institution of higher education, the enrollment will continue
through all normal periods of class attendance, vacation, and recess unless the student
graduates, is suspended or expelled, drops out, or does not intend to register for the next
normal school term (excluding summer school).

Enrollment begins on the first day of the school term of the institution of higher education.

2. Student Exemptions (7 CFR 273.5(b))
To be eligible for SNAP benefits, students, as identified above, must meet special criteria
listed below. The resources of students who are not eligible are not considered in
determining the eligibility or benefit level of other household members. See Part XI.G for
evaluating the income of ineligible students.

An eligible student must meet at least one of the following criteria:

a. Be 17 years of age or younger or, age 50 or older;
b. Be mentally or physically unfit;
C. Be employed for an average of 20 hours per week or 80 hours per month and be

paid for such employment, including hours worked during school breaks that do not
exceed one month;

d. Be employed in a self-employed business for an average of 20 hours per week and
receive weekly earnings at least equal to the federal minimum wage multiplied by 20
hours;

e. Be participating in a state or federally financed work-study program during the

regular school year;

f. Be responsible for the care of a dependent household member under the age of six;
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Be responsible for the care of a dependent household member who is age six
through age eleven where the BPS has determined that adequate childcare is not
available to enable the student to both attend class and satisfy the 20 hour per week
work requirement or participate in work study;

Be a full-time student and a single parent or caretaker who is responsible for the care
of a dependent household member who is under age 12;

Be receiving benefits from the TANF Program,;

Be participating in a work incentive program under Title IV of the Social Security Act,
i.e. Virginia Initiative for Education and Work (VIEW) Program;

Be participating in an on-the-job training program; or,

Be assigned to or placed in an institution of higher education through:

1) Programs under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act (WIOA);
2) SNAP Employment and Training (SNAPET);

3) Part of a career and technical education program as allowed by section 3 of
the Carl D. Perkins Career and Technical Education Act of 2006 provided the
program or course of study is:

i. Designed to be completed in four years or less; or

ii. Limited to remedial courses, literacy, adult education, or English as a
second language.

Programs such as Fast Forward, Great Expectations or the Chancellors Merit

programs operated through the Virginia Community College system will meet

the career and technical education goals to enhance participants’

employability. Students must verify enroliment in the program.

4) A program under Section 236 of the Trade Act; or,
5) An employment and training program operated by state or local governments

where one or more of the program's components are comparable to SNAPET
components.

Students paid or subsidized for in-class hours are not considered employed during that time
so such class attendance would not make a student eligible under the minimum 20 hour per
week work requirement. In addition, the exemption for on-the-job training is valid only for the
period the person is being trained by the employer.

In evaluating a student's eligibility based on the work-study provision, note that the student
must be approved for work-study at the time of the application for SNAP benefits. In
addition, the work-study must be approved for the school term. This exemption will begin
either the month the school term starts or the month the work-study is approved, whichever
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is later. The student's exemption may not continue beyond the month the school term ends
or when it becomes known that a work-study assignment has been refused nor, is the
exemption continued between terms when there is a break of a full month or more, unless
the student is participating in work-study during the break.

In evaluating whether adequate childcare is not available for children who have reached the
age of 6 but are not yet 12, the following guidelines have been developed. If:

a.

b.

There is no licensed day care facility available; or
The student cannot afford the day care; or

There is no reliable or reasonable transportation to the day care provider, then it is
probably likely that adequate childcare is not available. Note, however, that even if
these factors exist, adequate childcare is deemed available if the student has
arranged for day care.

F. CITIZENSHIP AND ELIGIBLE IMMIGRANTS

Only U.S. citizens and certain immigrants are eligible for SNAP benefits. Based on the household’s
written declaration on the application, the BPS must determine if each household member is a
citizen or an immigrant. If a member is an immigrant, the BPS must determine if that member is an
eligible immigrant. The sponsored immigrant policies described in Part XII.C must also be
evaluated for eligible immigrants who have sponsors.

Compacts of Free Association (COFA) citizens of the Federated States of Micronesia, the Republic
of the Marshall Islands, and the Republic of Palau who lawfully reside in the United States are
eligible for SNAP. All persons born in the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, American Samoa, Guam,
Mariana Islands, and the U.S. Virgin Islands are U.S. citizens or nationals.

1. Eligibility of Immigrants

The following categories of immigrants are eligible for SNAP benefits:

a.

A refugee admitted under Section 207 of the Immigration and Nationality Act (INA).
This category includes Afghan and Iragi Special Immigrant visa holders.

Individuals who are victims of human trafficking must also be evaluated as refugees.
This designation may include the minor children, spouse, parents, or the unmarried
minor siblings of the trafficking victim. These refugees must present a letter from the
Office of Refugee Resettlement (ORR) or present a T visa that certifies or
documents the status.

An immigrant granted asylum under INA Section 208.

An immigrant living in the U.S. and for whom deportation is being withheld under INA
Section 243(h) or Section 241(b)(3).
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d. A Cuban or Haitian entrant, as defined in Section 501(e) of the Refugee Education

Assistance Act of 1980. This designation includes participants in the Haitian Family
Reunification Parole Program until their status is adjusted to lawful permanent
residents. This designation may include refugee or parole status.

e. An Amerasian immigrant as documented by the 1-94 or other forms with notations of
AM1, AM2, AM3, AM6, AM7, or AM8.

f. Lawful permanent resident immigrants who have worked for 40 qualifying quarters of
coverage under Title Il of the Social Security Act are eligible for SNAP benefits.

Quarters of work for jobs not covered by Title Il of the Social Security Act may be
credited toward the qualifying minimum. For quarters after December 1996, no federal
means-tested public benefits may be received to count as a qualifying quarter. For this
provision, public benefits are TANF, SSI, Medicaid and SNAP benefits. This provision
also includes Nutritional Assistance Program benefits from Puerto Rico, American
Samoa, and the Northern Mariana Islands.

Quarters earned by the spouse of the permanent resident immigrant during the
marriage, provided they are still married to each other, may be counted. Quarters
earned by parents, including step- or adoptive parents, of a permanent resident
immigrant before the alien turns 18, may be counted toward the qualifying minimum
for the immigrant, including any quarters earned prior to a child’s birth.

g. Native Americans entitled to cross the border of the United States into Canada or
Mexico. This group comprises persons born in Canada to whom INA Section 289
applies or members of an Indian tribe, as defined in Section 4(e) of the Indian Self-
Determination and Education Assistance Act.

h. Highland Laotians and Hmong tribe members who are lawfully residing in the United
States and who were part of a Highland Laotian or Hmong tribe between August 5,
1964 and May 7, 1975 when such tribes assisted U.S. personnel. The unmarried
dependent children, spouse, and the surviving spouse who has not remarried of
tribal members are also eligible.

Immigrants who originally had an exempt status (items a-e) but, who subsequently gain
permanent resident status are eligible for SNAP indefinitely, before and after their status
adjustment.

2. Conditional Eligibility of Immigrants

a. The following categories of immigrants are eligible for SNAP benefits provided they
also meet a qualified category in subsection b:

1. An individual who has been in the U.S. as a qualified immigrant for five years
or more from the date of entry in the country or from the date of a change in
the immigration status. The five-year period may or may not be a
consecutive period as temporary absences from the U.S. of less than six
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5.

months will not affect the status if there is no intention of abandoning U.S.
residency. Absences of periods of more than six months will be presumed
to be an interruption unless the resident is able to show intent to resume
U.S. residency. If there is an interruption in residency, the BPS must
consider the amount of time in the U.S. before and after the interruption.

Veterans with honorable discharges for reasons not related to alien status
and persons who are on active duty in the Armed Forces of the United
States, other than training. To be an eligible veteran, one must have served
a minimum of 24 months or the period for which the person was called to
active duty. The term veteran includes military personnel who die during
active duty served in the Philippine Commonwealth Army during World War
Il or as Philippine Scouts following the war.

The spouse or unmarried dependent child of a veteran or person on active
duty is also eligible. The surviving spouse of a deceased veteran or of an
individual who died while on active duty is also eligible. Eligibility of the
surviving spouse is allowed provided the spouse has not remarried and that
the marriage was for at least one year, or that they were married before the
end of a 15-year period following the end of the period of military service in
which the injury or disease was incurred or aggravated; or, that they were
married for any period if a child was born of the marriage or was born before
the marriage.

An individual who receives payments or assistance for blindness or
disability, as defined in Definitions.

An individual lawfully residing in the U.S. on August 22, 1996 and who was
born on or before August 22, 1931.

A child under 18 years of age lawfully residing in the U.S.

b. A qualified immigrant is one who is:

1.

2.

a lawful permanent resident;
a refugee admitted under INA Section 207;
a person granted asylum admitted under INA Section 208;

one whose deportation is being withheld under INA Section 243(h) or
241(b)(3);

a parolee admitted under INA Section 212(d)(5) and the status is granted for
at least one year;

a conditional entrant admitted under INA Section 203 as in effect as of April
1, 1980;
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7. a battered spouse or child, as established by INS and the agencies

providing benefits that a substantial connection exists between the battery
and the need for benéefits;

8. a Cuban or Haitian entrant; or
9. an Amerasian immigrant.
3. Verification of Immigrant Status

Verification of immigrant status is mandatory for initial applications and as new household
members are added. While awaiting acceptable verification, except as noted below, the
immigrant whose status is unverified is ineligible, but the eligibility of any remaining
household members must be determined. The income and resources of the immigrant
whose status is unverified is considered available in determining the eligibility of any
remaining members, as described in Part XII.E. If verification of eligible status is later
received, the BPS must treat this as a reported change in household size.

Verification of the number of qualifying quarters an immigrant may directly or indirectly
claim access for SNAP purposes will primarily be available from the Social Security
Administration (SSA). Verification of the quarters of coverage may be accessed through
the State Verification Exchange System (SVES). If verification is not obtained through
SVES or, in some instances, from SSA directly, the household will be responsible for
supplying proof of the amount of past wages to document the quarters earned. The
household will also be responsible for providing proof if the SSA information is contested by
the household or is incomplete.

In instances when the number of countable quarters verified by SSA is in dispute, an
immigrant will be allowed to receive SNAP benefits for up to six months while working with
SSA to resolve the issue.

As with other mandatory verifications, verification of immigration status may be postponed
for households entitled to expedited service processing. However, the household member
must claim to be of an eligible immigrant category before participation is allowed for the first
month.

Documentation from the U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS) or other
sources that the EW determines constitutes reasonable evidence of immigrant status is
acceptable. If an immigrant does not have proof of the immigration status, the local agency
must advise the household to contact USCIS to obtain verification. Form G-845S in
Appendix Il of this Part may be used to obtain information from USCIS when evidence
presented is not clear or the applicant cannot provide information.

Documentation provided by the household must be submitted to USCIS for validation
through the Systematic Alien Verification for Entittement Programs (SAVE) system. The
SAVE procedures are outlined in Appendix Il of Part VII.

Immigration documentation includes, but is not limited to, the forms listed below.
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Resident Alien Card, Form [-551: This form, called the green card, is issued to
immigrants admitted for permanent residence.

A foreign passport or USCIS documents, other than the 1-551, will be acceptable
proof of permanent residency if it has the endorsement: "Processed for |-551.
Temporary Evidence of Lawful Admission for Permanent Residence. Valid until
. Employment Authorized."

Arrival - Departure Record, Form [-94: This form is issued by USCIS to persons who
may or may not be eligible for SNAP benefits. Eligible aliens with [-94s must have
certain INA Sections or terms listed on the forms. INA Sections 207, 208, or 243(h)
or terms, such as refugee or asylum, on the 1-94 reflect eligible alien status.

Employment Authorization Document, Forms |-688B or |-766: These forms are
issued to persons who may or may not be eligible for SNAP benefits

The 1-688B will be sufficient verification for these citations:

Citation Status

274a.12(a)(1) Lawful permanent resident
274a.12(a)(3) Refugee

274a.12(a)(5) Asylum

274a.12(a)(10) Deportation Withheld

The |-766 will be sufficient verification if annotated with the following:

A3 Refugee
A5 Asylum
A10 Deportation withheld

Documents such as the Employment Authorization Card, Form |-688A or the Fee
Receipt, Form 1-689 may be used with other verification to establish alien eligibility.
These forms alone do not provide ample verification of eligible alien status.

4, Verification of Citizenship

Citizenship must not be verified unless the household's statement that one or more of its
members are U.S. citizens is questionable. If questionable, the household must be asked to
provide acceptable verification. Acceptable forms of verification include:

apow

birth certificates

religious records

voter registration cards

certificates of citizenship or naturalization provided by USCIS, including passports

General appearance of the applicant, foreign accent, inability to speak English, employment
as a migrant farm worker, or a foreign sounding name are not sufficient reasons, in and of
themselves, to consider information about citizenship questionable.

TRANSMITTAL #35



VIRGINIA DEPARTMENT
OF SOCIAL SERVICES NONFINANCIAL ELIGIBILITY CRITERIA

10/24 VOLUME V, PART VII, PAGE 12

If the above forms of verification cannot be obtained and the household can provide a
reasonable explanation as to why verification is not available, the BPS must accept a signed
statement from someone who is a U.S. citizen which declares, under penalty of perjury, that
the member in question is a U.S. citizen. The signed statement must contain a warning of
the penalties for helping someone commit fraud, such as: ”If you intentionally give false
information to help this person get SNAP benefits, you may be fined, imprisoned, or both.”

The member whose citizenship is in question is not allowed to participate until proof of U.S.
citizenship is obtained. Until proof of U.S. citizenship is obtained, the member in question
will have his or her income, less a pro rata share, and all other resources considered
available to any remaining household members. (See Part XII.E.)

If the BPS reduces or terminates a household's benefits within the certification period
because one or more of its members is disqualified as an ineligible alien, the BPS must
issue the Advance Notice of Proposed Action to inform the household that the individual is
disqualified, the reason for the disqualification, the eligibility and benefit level of the
remaining members, and the actions the household must take to end the disqualification, if
applicable.

5, Reporting lllegal Aliens (7 CFR 273.4(b))

The local agency must report to the USCIS any individual who the agency "knows" to be in
the United States in violation of the Immigration Nationality Act. The household must
present a Final Order of Deportation for the local agency to "know" that the person is in
violation to make the report to the USCIS. In no other instance may the agency make the
report to the USCIS.

If a household member presents a Final Order of Deportation issued by USCIS or by the
Executive Office of Immigration Review, the local agency director must report to USCIS.
The report must include the individual's:

. namee* address

. other identifying information

The agency must send the report to:

Director

Policy Directives and Instructions Branch
U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Service
425 | Street, N.W.

Room 4034

Washington, D.C. 20535

ATTN: USCIS No 2070-00
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G.

1.

SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBERS (7 CFR 273.6)

Requirements for Participation

An applicant must provide the local agency with the Social Security number (SSN) of each
household member or apply for a number before certification. This provision applies to
participating or applying households.

During the eligibility interview, the BPS must explain to the applicant or participant that,
without good cause, refusal or failure to provide or apply for an SSN will result in
disqualification of the individual for whom the number is not obtained.

If an individual has more than one SSN, the BPS must request and the household must
provide all the numbers.

Obtaining a Social Security Number

For individuals who provide the SSN before certification or at any other time, the BPS must
record the SSN and verify it according to Part lll.A.1.i and Part lIl.F.1.

For individuals who do not have a SSN, those who do not know if they have a number,
those who are unable to find and therefore cannot provide their number or those whose
numbers appear questionable, the BPS must direct the household to submit Form SS-5,
Application for a Social Security Number, to the Social Security Administration (SSA). The
BPS must advise the household where to file the application for an SSN and discuss what
evidence will be needed to obtain an SSN. Evidence needed includes a U.S. public record
of birth established before age five or other verification of birth, such as religious records
whose validity is not questionable, or hospital records, if they can be verified by the SSA.
While religious and hospital records will entitle the individual to an SSN, further proof of birth
is required by the SSA to establish eligibility for Social Security benefits.

If the household is unable to provide proof of application for the number for a newborn, the
household must provide the number or proof of application at its next recertification or within
six months, whichever is later. If the household is unable to provide the number or proof of
application within the time allowed, the BPS must determine if good cause provisions exist.

The BPSy must advise the household that proof of the application for an SSN from SSA will
be required prior to certification, and suggest that the household member ask the SSA for
proof of the application for an SSN. The “Receipt for Application for a Social Security
Number” may be used for this purpose. The local agency may also devise a form for this
purpose; however, the local agency must consult with the Regional SNAP Consultant before
using such a form.

Failure to Comply (7 CFR 273.6(c))

If the BPS determines that a household has refused or failed to show good cause to provide
the number or apply for a number, the individual without the SSN is disqualified from
receiving SNAP benefits. The disqualification applies only to the individual for whom the
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SSN is not provided, not the entire household. Part XII.E contains instructions for the
treatment of income and resources of the disqualified household member.

4, Determining Good Cause (7 CFR 273.6(d))

In determining if good cause exists for failure to comply with the requirement to provide an
SSN, the BPS must consider information from the household member and SSA.

Good cause for failing to apply for a number includes documentary evidence or collateral
information that the household has made every effort to supply SSA with the necessary
information to complete an application for an SSN. Good cause does not include delays
due to iliness, lack of transportation or temporary absences, because SSA makes
provisions for mailing in applications for the SSN. If a household can show good cause
why an application for an SSN has not been completed, the member in question is allowed
to participate for one month in addition to the month of application for SNAP benefits.
Good cause for failure to apply must be shown monthly thereafter for such a household
member to continue to participate.

If the household is unable to obtain the documents required by SSA to apply for an SSN,
the BPS must assist the individual in obtaining these documents.

5. Ending Disqualification (7 CFR 273.6(e))

Once a person has been disqualified for refusal or failure to provide an SSN or apply for an
SSN, the disqualified member must provide an SSN before eligibility can be established.
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SSA Quarters of Coverage Verification Procedures for Legal Immigrants

Individuals who are not citizens of the U.S. may be eligible for SNAP benefits depending on their
immigration status. (See Part VII.LF.1.) One of the eligible classes requires that the immigrant
must be credited with 40 quarters of work. This appendix contains the process for determining the
number of qualifying quarters with which an individual can be credited.

To determine the number of quarters available to an eligible immigrant household member, the
BPS must obtain answers to the following questions:

1. How long has the applicant, the applicant’s spouse, or the applicant’s parents (before the
applicant turned 18) lived in the U.S.?

2. How many years has the applicant, the applicant’s spouse, or the applicant’s parents
(before the applicant turned 18) commuted to work in the U.S. from another country before
coming to the U.S. to live, or worked abroad for a U.S. company or in self-employment
while a legal resident of the U.S.?

(If the total number of years to both questions is less than 10 years, the BPS does not need
to ask question 3 because the 40-quarter standard cannot be met.)

3. In how many of the years reported in answer to question 1, did the applicant, the
applicant’s spouse, or the applicant’s parent earn money through work?

(To determine whether the applicant’s earnings were sufficient to establish “quarters of
coverage” in those years, the BPS should refer to the income chart included in this
appendix.)

If the answer to question 3 is 10 years or more, the BPS must verify the date of entry into the
country for the applicant, spouse and/or parent using USCIS documents or other documents. If
the dates are consistent with having 10 or more years of work, an inquiry through SVES must be
made.

Information received through SVES will not report earnings for the current year and possibly not
the last year’s earnings. The household must provide verification of earnings through pay stubs,
W-2 forms, tax records, employer records, or other documents, if the quarters of this period are

needed to qualify for assistance.

If the household believes the information from SSA is inaccurate or incomplete, beyond the current
two-year lag period, advise the household to provide verification to the SSA to correct the
inaccurate income records.

In evaluating the verification received directly from the household or through SVES, the BPS must
exclude any quarter, beginning January 1997 in which the person who earned the quarter received
TANF, SSI, Medicaid or SNAP benefits. This evaluation also includes benefits from the Nutritional
Assistance Program from Puerto Rico, the Northern Mariana Islands, or American Samoa.
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Establishing Quarters

The term “quarter” means the 3-calendar-month period that ends with March 31, June 30,
September 30, and December 31 of any year. Social Security credits (formerly called “quarters of
coverage”) are earned by working at a job or as a self-employed individual. A maximum of 4
credits can be earned each year. Credits are based solely on the total yearly amount of earnings.
All types of earnings follow this rule. The amount of earnings needed for each credit and the
amount needed for a year to receive four credits are listed below.

Quarter Annual Quarter Annual
Year Minimum Minimum Year Minimum Minimum
1978 $250 $1000 2001 $830 $3320
1979 $260 $1040 2002 $870 $3480
1980 $290 $1160 2003 $890 $3560
1981 $310 $1240 2004 $900 $3600
1982 $340 $1360 2005 $920 $3680
1983 $370 $1480 2006 $970 $3880
1984 $390 $1560 2007 $1000 $4000
1985 $410 $1640 2008 $1050 $4200
1986 $440 $1760 2009 $1090 $4360
1987 $460 $1840 2011 $1120 $4480
1988 $470 $1880 2012 $1130 $4520
1989 $500 $2000 2013 $1160 $4640
1990 $520 $2080 2014 $1200 $4800
1991 $540 $2160 2015 $1220 $4880
1992 $570 $2280 2016 $1260 $5040
1993 $590 $2360 2017 $1300 $5200
1994 $620 $2480 2018 $1320 $5280
1995 $630 $2520 2019 $1360 $5440
1996 $640 $2560 2020 $1410 $5640
1997 $670 $2680 2021 $1470 $5880
1998 $700 $2800 2022 $1510 $6040
1999 $740 $2960 2023 $1640 $6560
2000 $780 $3120 2024 $1730 $6920

If a quarter for the current year is included in the computation, use the current year amount as the
divisor to determine the number of quarters available.

For quarters earned before 1978:

e A credit was earned for each calendar quarter in which an individual was paid $50 or more
in wages (including agricultural wages for 1951-1955);

e Four credits were earned for each taxable year in which an individual's net earnings from
self-employment were $400 or more; and/or

e A credit was earned for each $100 (limited to a total of 4) of agricultural wages paid during
the year for years 1955 through 1977.
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Systematic Alien Verification for Entitlements Program

Section 121 of the Immigration Reform and Control Act of 1986 (IRCA), Public Law 99-603,
required a system for verifying the immigration status of immigrants who apply for certain types of
benefits. The Systematic Alien Verification for Entitlements (SAVE) Program was developed to
prevent the issuance of benefits to ineligible immigrants. The use of SAVE is required for
determining SNAP eligibility.

Immigrants must present documentation of their immigration status before eligibility can be
determined for SNAP benefits. Part VII.F outlines the categories of eligible immigrants. Once the
household provides documentation, the BPS may determine the validity of the documents by
comparing the information submitted with current immigration records maintained by the United
States Citizenship and Immigration Service (USCIS). The process described in this appendix may
also be used to obtain information about an immigrant’s sponsor to satisfy the requirements of Part
XIl.C.

Verification for immigrants with permanent status should not be resubmitted through SAVE once
information has been obtained through SAVE. SAVE should be accessed periodically for
immigrants with a temporary or conditional status however.

Primary Verification

Primary verification is the online access to immigration records. The BPS must attempt the online
method before attempting the manual, paper-trail method of secondary verification unless
circumstances listed in the Secondary Verification section exist.

Information obtained through SAVE should be compared with the original immigration document.
If discrepancies are noted, initiate the secondary verification process. The BPS must not take any
negative action based on the automated verification only.

Secondary Verification

The following circumstances require that the BPS skip online procedures and perform secondary
verification when:

- Iltems presented as documentation appear altered or counterfeit.

- Documents have no Alien Registration Number (A-Number).

- Documents contain an A-Number in the A60 000 000 or A80 000 000 series.

- The document presented is any other form of USCIS fee receipt.

- The document presented is Form 1-181 or [-94 in a foreign passport that is endorsed
"Processed for I-551, Temporary Evidence of Lawful Permanent Residence," and the 1-181
or 1-94 is over one year old.

- The document presented is a receipt for an application for a replacement document for a

qualified status as listed in Part VII.F.1.g.
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Additional information is needed regarding sponsorship status or for the name and
address of the sponsor(s).

Documentation is needed to substantiate the status as a victim of abuse.

Expired documents are presented and the immigrant has a physical or mental disability
that prevents new documents from being obtained from USCIS.

In addition to the situations above, secondary verification should also occur when there is a
discrepancy in the records, when there is no USCIS file for the individual, or when the online
response is "Institute Secondary Verification."

Secondary Verification Procedures

1.

Complete Part 1 of form G-845, Verification Request. Separate forms must be
completed for each immigrant. A copy of the form follows this section.

Submit readable copies (front and back) of original immigration documents to the upper
left corner of form G-845. Copies of other documents used to make the initial immigrant
status determination must also be submitted. Other documentation could include
marriage records or court documents that indicate the identity or immigration status of
the holder.

The BPS must email the SAVE program at saveregistration@uscis.dhs.gov and receive
approval before you submit Form G-845

While awaiting the secondary verification from USCIS, the BPS must not take any
negative action against the case or individual based on the immigration status.

Upon receipt of a response from USCIS, the BPS must compare the information with the
case record. If eligibility of the immigrant is confirmed, the BPS must document the case
and take no further action. If the USCIS response does not confirm the household
member’s status, the BPS must take the appropriate action to reduce or terminate
benefits.

If requested by USCIS, the BPS must complete Part 1 of Form G-845 Supplement,
Verification Request. The BPS must submit the G-845 Supplement with Form 845 and
email the SAVE program at saveregistration@uscis.dhs.gov and receive approval before
submitting the Forms.

Form G-845 and Form G-845 Supplement are available at https://www.uscis.gov/g-845 and
https://www.uscis.gov/g-845-supplement, respectively.
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A. WORK REGISTRATION AND SNAP EMPLOYMENT AND TRAINING

The BPS must evaluate and record each household member's work registration status based on the
exemption criteria in Part VIII.A.1. The information must be reviewed and updated as needed at
recertification. The BPS must explain to the applicant the work registration requirements and the
consequences of a mandatory registrant voluntarily quitting a job or reducing work hours without
good cause.

Work registration status information in VaCMS is used to register participants for the SNAP E&T
component. SNAP E&T is operated through 37 local social services departments. Participation in
SNAP E&T is voluntary, however; the BPS should encourage participation in SNAP Employment
and Training (SNAP E&T) and review the SNAP E&T script with the applicant, if applicable.

1. Exemption from Work Reqistration

The following persons are exempt from the work registration requirement:

a. Any household member who is younger than 16 years of age or who is 60 years of
age or older.
b. Any household member 16 or 17 years of age who is not the head of the household

as defined in Part VI.D.

C. Employment services program participants. This exemption applies to TANF
recipients who participate in the Virginia Initiative for Employment not Welfare
(VIEW) or refugee services programs.

d. A parent/caretaker of a child under 6. Accept the client's statement unless the
information given is questionable. The registration requirement must be fulfilled at
the next scheduled recertification following the child's 6th birthday, unless otherwise
exempt.

In two-parent situations, only one parent may receive the exemption for the children.
If more than one family unit exists in the SNAP household, only one adult per family
unit may receive the exemption.

When persons who are not siblings are present in the SNAP household, the BPS
must determine, through client statement, which adults in the home exert parental
control over which children for purposes of determining the exemption.

Examples

1) A household consists of a married couple and their 4-year-old son. Mr. X'is
disabled and receiving SSI. He is exempt based on his disability. Mrs. X is
exempt based on a child under 6.

2) A household consists of a married couple and two children, ages 2 and 4.
Either parent is exempt based on children under 6. The other parent must be
registered for work if no other exemption exists.

3) A household consists of two adult sisters, each of whom has a child under 6.
Each sister is exempt
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e. An attendant for an incapacitated person. The incapacitated person is not required

to be a SNAP household member. Accept the client's statement unless the
information given is questionable.

f. Applicants for and recipients of unemployment benefits in Virginia. Since persons
who apply for unemployment benefits in Virginia (for Virginia benefits) are
automatically registered for work for SNAP purposes, no additional registration is
necessary except for persons who are on strike. Persons on strike who have applied
for, but are not receiving unemployment benefits, are not registered for work by the
Virginia Employment Commission (VEC) and, therefore, do not meet this exemption.

If the exemption claimed is questionable, the BPS must verify the information with
the appropriate VEC Office. Persons who have applied for unemployment benefits in
another state and are not yet receiving the benefit however, are not automatically
exempt from work registration. The BPS must contact the other state to determine if
registration for work occurred when the application for unemployment benefits was
filed. Persons who have filed an interstate claim in Virginia against the state they
have recently left are exempt.

g. Participants in a drug or alcoholic treatment and rehabilitation program. Accept the
client's statement unless the information given is questionable.

h. Persons employed for cash wages, in any amount, or self-employed and working a
minimum of 30 hours per week. This includes migrant and seasonal farm workers
who are under contract or similar agreement with an employer or crew chief to begin
employment within 30 days. In determining whether an applicant is working a
minimum of 30 hours per week, fluctuating work hours may be averaged. Since this
exemption is tied to a weekly figure, the period for averaging should also be tied to a
weekly figure. The number of weeks to be averaged cannot exceed either the length
of the certification period or the twelve-month work registration period. The average
may be based on any number of weeks less than either of these two periods which
will allow a reasonable approximation of the number of hours worked per week.
Accept the client's statement unless the information given is questionable.

i. Persons working less than 30 hours per week but earning at least the equivalent of
the federal minimum wage multiplied by 30 hours.

J- Persons who are obviously physically or mentally incapacitated. When disability is
not obvious or the individual does not attend the eligibility interview or other office
visit, proof of the disability may be established by the approval for or receipt of
disability benefits. See Definitions. Also, approval for or receipt of benefits such as
TANF, Medicaid, or Workers Compensation based on a disability which has been
verified by that program will be considered as proof of disability. Other individuals
claiming a disability exemption must substantiate such disability by a medical
statement from a licensed medical provider or licensed or certified psychologist or
social worker or by approval for or receipt of benefits upon verification of same, such
as an insurance company.
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k. A student, enrolled at least half-time in an institution of higher education, who meets

the special eligibility criteria of Part VII.E.

Other persons enrolled, at least half-time in any recognized school or training
program, including summer school.

NOTE: Placement in a school or training program by the SNAP E&T will not exempt
a person from work registration.

2. Frequency of Registration for Work

The BPS must register all household members who are not exempted from the work
registration requirements at the time of application or reapplication, and every twelve
months thereafter. New household members, added during the certification period, must be
registered at recertification.

If a household member who is subject to the time-limited benefits of Part XV loses the
exemption status within the certification period because of a change in the number of work
hours, the BPS must register that household member when the change is reported. The
BPS must explore with the household whether an exemption to the work registration
requirements exists.

Household members who lose their exemptions due to a change in circumstances that is not
subject to the reporting requirements of Part XIV.A must register for work at the household's
next recertification.

3. Method of Registration for Work

Work registration must be identified at:

a. Initial Application and Reapplication. Registration information will be forwarded to
the SNAP E&T worker.

b. Every twelve months thereafter.

C. Changes in Work Registration Information. The BPS must record changes to the
work registration status within 10 days from the date the change becomes known to
the BPS. Changes include noting that an individual is no longer required to be
registered.

The BPS must notify the SNAP E&T Worker through the ESP Communication Form
when there are changes in household or individual circumstances that affect
registration or compliance with SNAP E&T requests. Conversion of the SNAP case
to transitional benefits is an example of a change that should be shared.

d. Recertification. At each recertification, the BPS must evaluate each household
member to determine the work registration status of each member.
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B. VOLUNTARY QUIT AND WORK REDUCTION (7 CFR 273.7(j))

Individuals who quit a job of 30 hours or more per week or who reduce the work effort so that less
than 30 hours per week remain after the reduction are not eligible for SNAP benefits unless the
person is exempted from work registration requirements, as outlined in Part VIII.LA.1 or unless good
cause exists for the quit or reduction. If the person is the head of the household, as defined in Part
VI.D, the entire household is ineligible for SNAP benefits. The length of time the individual or
household is ineligible will be determined by the number of previous violations for this Part that
have been incurred by the individual. The disqualification periods are listed in Part VIII.C.

At application, the BPS must explain the consequences of a household member quitting a job or
reducing the number of hours worked without good cause and the consequences of a person
joining the household as its head if that individual has voluntarily quit a job or reduced the hours
worked. The BPS must assess whether voluntary quit or work reduction applies at application.
While households are not required to report job losses or reduction of work hours during the
certification period, as per Part XIV.A, the BPS must evaluate voluntary quit or work reduction when
it is discovered. If good cause does not exist, the household or individual is disqualified from
receiving future benefits, as allowed in this chapter.

The BPS must provide the SNAP Sanction Notice for Noncompliance with a Work Requirement
when a case is negatively affected when one voluntarily quits a job or reduced the hours worked
without good cause.

1. Exemptions from Voluntary Quit and Work Reduction Provisions

Most persons, who are exempt from the work registration provisions in Part VIII.A.1 at the
time of the quit or work reduction, will be exempt from the voluntary quit and work reduction
provisions. Voluntary quit and work reduction provisions will apply to TANF recipients and
refugees who are exempted from the work registration provisions because of their
employment services registration and persons who are exempted because of employment
(Part VIII.LA.1(c and h)).

For applicants, if the quit or work reduction occurred before the date of application, evaluate
work registration on the date of application to determine whether the household is exempt
from voluntary quit or work reduction provisions. If the quit or work reduction occurred after
the date of application, but before the case was processed, evaluate work registration status
on the day of the quit or work reduction to determine whether the household is exempt from
voluntary quit or work reduction provisions.

For participating households, evaluate the household member's work registration status on
the day of the quit or work reduction to determine whether the household is exempt from
voluntary quit or work reduction provisions.

2. Determination of Voluntary Quit or Work Reduction

When a household files an application for participation or when a participating household
reports the loss of a source of income or reduced income, the BPS must determine
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whether any household member quit a job or purposefully reduced the number of hours
worked.

a. Voluntary quit provisions apply if:

1) the employment involved 30 hours or more per week or provided weekly
earnings at least equivalent to the federal minimum wage multiplied by 30
hours;

2) the quit occurred within 60 days prior to the date of application or any time

thereafter; and

3) the quit was without good cause.
b. Work reduction provisions apply if:
1) the employment involved more than 30 hours per week;
2) fewer than 30 hours per week exist after the reduction;
3) the reduction occurred within 60 days prior to the date of application or any

time afterwards; and
4) the reduction was without good cause.

Changes in employment status that result from ending a self- employment enterprise or
resigning from a job at the demand of the employer do not count as voluntary quit for
purposes of this chapter. Changes in employment status will also include situations in which
renewal contracts are not offered or a decision is made not to reenlist in the military. Failure
to accept a renewal offer of a contract with comparable terms will count as voluntary quit.

An employee of the federal, state or local government who participates in a strike against
that government and is dismissed from the job because of participation in the strike, will be
considered to have voluntarily quit the job without good cause.

If an individual quits a job, secures new employment at comparable wages or hours, and is
then laid off, or through no fault of his own loses the new job, the earlier quit will not form the
basis of a disqualification.

Voluntary Quit or Work Reduction at Application

Upon a determination that a household member voluntarily quit employment or reduced the
work effort, the local agency must determine if the quit or reduction was for good cause, as
defined in Part VIII.B.7.

For an applicant household, if the quit or reduction was without good cause, the household's
application must be denied and a sanction imposed in accordance with Part VIII.C. The
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sanction period will be from the date of the quit or work reduction. The BPS must provide
the household with a Notice of Action to deny the application. The notice must inform the
household of the proposed disqualification period, its right to reapply at the end of the
disqualification period, and of its right to a fair hearing. For voluntary quits or work
reductions that occur after the date of application but before the application is processed,
the household may be eligible for benefits for the period prior to imposition of the sanction.
See Part XIII.D.2. for information on prorating benefits in these situations.

An application filed in the last month of disqualification must be used for the denial of
benefits in the remaining month of disqualification and for certification for any subsequent
month(s), if all other eligibility criteria are met.

4, Voluntary Quit or Work Reduction for Participating Households

The BPS may discover retroactively that an individual in a participating household quit a job
or reduced work without good cause. If an individual who is not otherwise exempt from work
registration at the time of a job quit or work reduction without good cause, the individual or
household must be disqualified. The disqualification may result from a quit or work
reduction that occurred during the certification period, an infraction that occurred within 60
days prior to application for benefits, or one that occurred between application and
certification. In these instances, the BPS must provide the household with an Advance
Notice of Proposed Action within 10 days after the determination of a quit or reduction. The
notice must include the act of noncompliance committed, the proposed period of ineligibility,
and it must specify that the household may reapply at the end of the disqualification period.
The period of ineligibility will be assigned according to Part VIII.C and will run continuously
beginning with the first of the month after all normal procedures for taking adverse action
have been followed.

If a voluntary quit or work reduction occurs in the last month of a certification period or is
discovered in the last month of the certification period, the procedure the BPS follows
depends on whether a recertification application is filed. If a recertification application is
filed by the end of the certification period, the household must be denied or the individual will
be disqualified beginning with the day after the certification period ends.

If the household does not apply for recertification by the end of the certification period,
establish a claim for benefits received for up to the number of months for the penalty,
beginning the first of the month after the month in which the quit or reduction occurred. If
there are fewer than the number of months for the penalty from the first of the month after
the quit or work reduction occurred to the end of the certification period, the BPS must
establish a claim and the household remains ineligible for the balance of the disqualification
period. If no claim is warranted, the household is ineligible for the number of months for the
penalty, beginning with the first month following the end of the certification period.

Example

Certification period ends March 31. The BPS discovers on March 4 that a
quit or work reduction occurred January 22. This is the second violation
incurred by the household member.

TRANSMITTAL #35



VIRGINIA DEPARTMENT EMPLOYMENT SERVICES

OF SOCIAL SERVICES AND VOLUNTARY QUIT/WORK REDUCTION
10/24 VOLUME V, PART VIII, PAGE 7
a. A recertification is filed March 15. Deny the recertification for

three months, from April through June.

b. No recertification is filed by March 31. Establish a claim
beginning February 1, the first of the month following the quit.

There are two months from February to March, the last month of the
certification period. Consider the period of ineligibility to extend
through April to complete the three-month period of ineligibility.

Each household has a right to a fair hearing to appeal a termination or reduction of benefits
due to a determination that the household's head or other household member voluntarily quit
a job or reduced the work effort without good cause. If the participating household requests
a hearing and receives continuation of benefits and the local agency determination is
upheld, the disqualification period will begin the first of the month after the hearing decision
is rendered.

5. Changes in Household Composition After a Sanction Has Been Determined

A sanction will follow an individual who voluntarily quit or reduced employment when the
person leaves the household of which he/she was a member when the quit or reduction
occurred. The sanction will follow such a member who joins another participating household
as its head if the original sanction period has not yet expired. The Advance Notice of
Proposed Action must be sent to close the case if the household is currently certified. If the
individual files an application alone or with persons who are not receiving SNAP benefits,
the application must be denied if the original sanction period has not yet expired. The new
household remains ineligible for the remainder of the sanction period. If an individual who
voluntarily quit or reduced work joins a new household and is not its head, the individual
remains disqualified for the balance of the sanction period.

If a participating household reports the addition of a person who quit a job within 60 days of
the report, and that individual meets the definition of the head of the household, the BPS
must evaluate voluntary quit provisions.

6. Ending a Voluntary Quit or Work Reduction Disqualification

Following the end of the disqualification period, a household may reapply and be eligible for
SNAP benefits.

Eligibility may be reestablished during a disqualification period and the household is allowed
to resume participation if the member who caused the disqualification leaves the household.

Eligibility may also be reestablished if the violator becomes exempt from the work
registration requirements under Part VIII.A.1 except for TANF Employment Services
Program registration (Part VIII.A.1.c) or an application for or receipt of Unemployment
Compensation (Part VIII.A.1.1).
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A household determined ineligible because of a voluntary quit may reestablish eligibility if a
new and otherwise eligible member joins as its head, provided the original head has left the
household.

If the member who caused the disqualification leaves the household or becomes exempt
from work registration before the effective date of the case closure or while an application is
still pending, the BPS must reestablish eligibility without requiring another application,
provided the household is otherwise eligible. For currently eligible households, the action to
reestablish the case may be taken in the month following the effective date of the closure as
long as the member left before the effective date.

Example

a. The head of household quit a job without good cause on May
2. The BPS takes action to close the case effective May 31.
On May 27 the household reports that the individual who quit
the job has left the household. The case must be
reestablished without requiring a new application.

b. The head of household reduced the number of hours worked without
good cause on May 2. On June 3, the household reports that the
head left the household that morning. The household must reapply.

For pending applications, the application must be denied for the period the disqualification is
appropriate, and certified from the date the disqualification can end.

For applications that have already been denied, a reapplication is needed.

If a sanctioned household splits into more than one household, the sanction will follow the
member who caused the disqualification.

7. Good Cause
Good cause for leaving employment may include but is not limited to the following:

a. Discrimination by an employer based on age, race, sex, color, handicap, religious
beliefs, national origin, or political beliefs;

b. Work demands or conditions that render continued employment unreasonable, such
as working without being paid on schedule;

C. Enroliment of the head of household or other individual required to register at least
half-time in any recognized school, training program, or institution of higher
education that requires the household member to leave employment;

d. Acceptance by any other household member of employment or enroliment at least
half-time in any recognized school, training program, or institution of higher
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education in another county or similar political subdivision that requires the
household to move and thereby requires the head of household or other individual
required to register for work to leave employment;

Resignations by persons under the age of 60 that are recognized by the employer as
retirement;

Acceptance of a bona fide offer of employment of 30 hours or more a week or in
which the weekly earnings are equivalent to the federal minimum wage multiplied by
30 hours by the head of household or other individual required to register. Good
cause will also include acceptance of such employment which, because of
circumstances beyond the control of the household member, subsequently either
does not materialize or results in employment of less than 30 hours a week or weekly
earnings of less than the federal minimum wage multiplied by 30 hours.

Leaving a job in connection with patterns of employment in which workers frequently
move from one employer to another, such as migrant farm labor or construction
work. There may be some circumstances where households will apply for SNAP
benefits between jobs, particularly in cases where work may not yet be available at
the new job site. Even though employment at the new job site has not actually
begun, the quitting of the previous employment will be considered as good cause if it
is part of the pattern of that type of employment.

Leaving a job because of other circumstances beyond the member's control, such
as, illness, illness of another household member requiring the presence of the
person claiming good cause, a household emergency, or the unavailability of
transportation.

Employment which is considered unsuitable by not meeting the following criteria:

1) The employment pays less than the federal minimum wage or, if the
employment does not fall under federal guidelines, pays less than 80% of the
federal minimum wage.

2) The employment is on a piece-rate basis and earnings are expected to be
less than the federal minimum wage or, if the employment does not fall under

federal guidelines, pays less than 80% of the federal minimum wage.

3) The employment would require joining, resigning from, or refraining from
joining any legitimate labor organization.

4) The work offered is at a site subject to a strike or lockout at the time of the
offer, unless the strike has been enjoined under the Taft-Hartley Act or an
injunction has been issued under Section 10 of the Railway Labor Act.

5) The employment would be hazardous to the registrant's safety and/or health.
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6) The registrant is physically or mentally unfit to perform the employment, as

documented by a medical statement provided by a physician or licensed or
certified psychologist or information from another reliable source.

7) Daily travel to and from work will exceed two (2) hours round trip, exclusive of
time necessary to transport children to and from a childcare facility.
Employment will not be considered suitable if the distance to the place of
employment prohibits walking and neither public nor private transportation is
available to transport persons to the job site.

8) Working hours or the nature of the employment would conflict with the
registrant's religious convictions, beliefs or observations.

It is the responsibility of the BPS to investigate any allegations of employment
unsuitability. The case record must contain the facts regarding a determination of
unsuitable employment, the date of substantiation and the method of securing the
information.

8. Verification

To the extent that the information given by the household is questionable, the BPS
must request verification of the household's statements. The primary responsibility
for providing verification rests with the household. If it is difficult or impossible for the
household to obtain documentary evidence in a timely manner, the BPS must offer to
help the household to obtain the needed verification. Acceptable sources of
verification include, but are not limited to, the previous employer, employee
associations, union representatives, farm worker service organizations, and
grievance committees or organizations. Whenever documentary evidence cannot be
obtained, the BPS must substitute a collateral contact. The BPS is responsible for
obtaining verification from acceptable collateral contacts provided by the household.

If the household and the BPS are unable to obtain requested verification from these
or other sources about the cause for the quit or work reduction, the household will
not be sanctioned. This may include instances when the employer cannot be located
or when the employer refuses to address requests about the job quit.

C. SANCTION PERIODS FOR NONCOMPLIANCE

Individuals or entire households will be barred from receiving SNAP benefits for periods when
household members quit a job or reduce work efforts without good cause. Only the person who
quits or reduces work will be disqualified unless that person is the head of the household. See Part
VI.D to determine the head of household. The disqualification procedures of Part XII.E must be
followed to attribute income and resources to the remaining household members. The entire
household will be ineligible for the sanction period for the time listed below if the person who quit or
reduced work is the head of household.
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The duration of the disqualification period is dependent on the number of times the household
member fails to comply. For each act of noncompliance by an individual, the length of the
disqualification is increased. Violations by one household member must not be added to actions by
another member to determine the sanction period.

The individual or household sanction periods are:

Participating Household Applying Household
Voluntary Quit/Reduction Voluntary Quit/Reduction
Violation 1 One month 30 days
Violation 2 Three months 90 days
Violation 3 or more Six months 180 days

For applying households, the penalty period is assessed from the day of the quit or work reduction.

The sanction period must be served before the individual or household regains eligibility except in
instances when an individual who causes the action leaves the household or becomes exempt from
work registration and related requirements. After the sanction period has been served, eligibility
may be regained by the individual or household for voluntary quit or work reduction violations.

See Part XIII.D.2 for a discussion of prorating benefits for households that reapply before the
sanction period expires.

TRANSMITTAL #35






VIRGINIA DEPARTMENT
OF SOCIAL SERVICES

TABLE OF CONTENTS

10/24 VOLUME V, PART IX, PAGE i
PART IX RESOURCES
CHAPTER SUBJECT PAGES

A. RESOURCES 1

B. RESOURCE LIMITS 1

C. NONEXEMPT RESOURCES 1-2

D. EXEMPT RESOURCES 3-7

E. HANDLING OF EXEMPT FUNDS 8

F. TRANSFER OF RESOURCES 8-10

TRANSMITTAL #35



VIRGINIA DEPARTMENT
OF SOCIAL SERVICES RESOURCES

10/24 VOLUME V, PART IX, PAGE 1

A. RESOURCES (7 CFR 273.8)

Only liquid assets will count in determining the eligibility of households except for determining the
net worth of incorporated businesses. Households must report all countable resources held by its
members at the time of application and any the members expect to receive during the certification
period. The BPS must document the assets in sufficient detail. The household's available
resources at the time of the interview will determine whether the assets are below the maximum
allowable resource limit.

B. RESOURCE LIMITS
The household's total nonexempt resources may not exceed:

- $4,500 if the household has at least one member who is 60 years of age or older or a
member who is disabled, as defined in Definitions.

- $3,000 if the household does not have a member who is 60 years of age or older or
one who is disabled, as defined in Definitions.

The resource limits do not apply to categorically eligible households or members, including those
who meet BBCE requirements. See Part 11.G.3.

C. NONEXEMPT RESOURCES
Resources used to determine eligibility include:
1. Liquid assets, such as, but not limited to:

a. Cash on hand. This provision includes money that remains on an income debit card,
such as the EPPICard for TANF or DCSE, after the month the income is deposited
when such a card is not otherwise connected to an account as addressed in b below.

b. Money in accounts. "Account" means a contract of deposit of funds between a
depositor and a financial institution. This includes checking accounts, savings
accounts, certificates of deposit, share accounts (i.e., credit union accounts), or like
arrangements.

C. Receipt of lottery or gambling winnings. Receipt of lottery or gambling winnings of
$4,500 or more for a single game before taxes or other withholdings will cause
households to be ineligible for benefits. If multiple persons shared in the purchase of
a bet or ticket, only the portion allocated to a SNAP household member is countable.

d. Stocks or bonds.
e. Lump sum payments, such as income tax refunds, rebates or credits, lump sum
insurance settlements, refunds of security deposits on rental property or utilities,

retroactive lump sum SSA, Public Assistance, Railroad Retirement benefits, or other
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payments. Lump sum payments also include accumulated vacation, sick, or
severance pay of terminated employees received in one installment.

f. Funds in a trust or transferred to a trust except as stated in Part 1X.D.9.d.

g. Earned income tax credits count two months after the month of receipt regardless of
whether the payments were received as a tax refund or periodically throughout the
year. Earned income tax credits are excluded as a resource for the month of receipt
and the following month.

NOTE: When determining the amount of nonexempt liquid resources to count, especially
bank accounts, do not consider any amount that would count as income for the same
month.

Example
An applicant deposited his Social Security check into a checking account. The

resource amount of the checking account would be the account balance minus the
amount of the deposit.

Presume that joint bank accounts belong to the parties in proportion to their net
contributions during the lifetime of all parties. A joint account between persons married to
each other belongs to each party equally (half and half) however. Except for persons
married to each other, each party's net contribution to the account may be established by
signed statements from all parties if the verbal claim is questionable. If the parties can
establish that they intended a different ownership arrangement, that ownership arrangement
prevails over the above presumption.

Example
A household member’s name is listed on her elderly mother's savings

account. Both the household member and her mother provide statements
that the daughter has not contributed any money to the account. The
account is not a resource to the client.

If parties married to each other are divorced by final decree, ownership of a joint account is
proportional to their net contributions unless the divorce decree specifies otherwise.

That portion of the liquid resources of an alien's sponsor and the sponsor's spouse (if living
with the sponsor) deemed to be those of the alien according to procedures established in
Part XII.C.2.

Business resources of self-employment arrangements. The worker must assess the
business structure to determine countable resources. Determine the number of business
owners and whether the business is incorporated. For arrangements that are not
incorporated, assess liquid resources as belonging to the business owners in proportion to
their ownership percentage. For businesses that are incorporated, calculate the company's
net worth by adding all business resources such as accounts, cash, inventory, vehicles,
buildings, etc. and subtract all business liabilities/debts/expenses. Apply each owner's
share of the net worth toward the resource maximum. Note that limited liability companies
(LLC) are not incorporated so the resources belong to the company owners.
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D.

EXEMPT RESOURCES

Resources that will not count in determining eligibility include:

1.

Real property, regardless of acreage.

Mobile homes, regardless of lot ownership.
Vehicles.

Household goods, such as furniture and appliances, and personal effects, such as clothing
and jewelry. All tools are exempt, whether they are essential to the employment or self-
employment of a household member.

Burial plots. In addition, the value of bona fide funeral agreements is exempt.

Cash value of life insurance policies.

Money in pension or retirement plans. This exemption includes plans authorized under the
Internal Revenue Code or funds in a Federal Thrift Savings Plan account. This exemption
includes Individual Retirement Accounts, 401(k), 403(b), and KEOGH plans. Money
withdrawn from an exempt fund will count as income when it is withdrawn unless lump sum
provisions of Part XI.F.9 apply.

The contract amount for land, buildings, and vehicles, sold on an installment basis.

Examples
a. An applicant sells a piece of land for $3,000. The applicant continues to hold the

deed while the buyer pays $100 per month. The $3,000 selling price is exempt, but
the $100-payment counts as income.

b. An applicant sells a car for $1,900 (which is its "Blue Book" value) but continues to
hold title to the car while the buyer pays $75 per month. The monthly payment of
$75 will count as income.

Resources whose cash value is not accessible to the household, such as, but not limited to:

a. Security deposits on rental property or utilities.

b. Property in probate. For example, any property inaccessible to the household until
there is a judicial determination concerning the validity of a will.

C. Some profit-sharing programs. For example, a program that makes money available
to the employee only when necessary to allow the employee to pay excessive
medical expenses is exempt.

d. Irrevocable trust funds. These are any funds in a trust or transferred to a trust, and
the income produced by that trust to the extent that it is not available to the
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10.

11.

12.

household provided that the following four criteria are met:

1) The trust arrangement is not likely to cease during the certification period and
no household member has the power to revoke the trust arrangement or
change the name of the beneficiary during the certification period;

2) The trustee administering the fund is either:

a) A court, or an institution, corporation, or organization which is not
under the direction or ownership of any household member; or,

b) An individual appointed by the court who has court-imposed
limitations placed on the use of the funds which meet the
requirements of this chapter;

3) Trust investments made on behalf of the trust do not directly involve or assist
any business or corporation under the control, direction, or influence of a
household member; and,

4) The funds held in irrevocable trust are either:

a) Established from the household's own funds, if the trustee uses the
funds solely to make investments on behalf of the trust or to pay the
educational or medical expenses of any person named by the
household creating the trust, or

b) Established with funds of a person outside the household.

If the trust arrangement does not meet the four conditions listed above, the
household must initiate court action to establish inaccessibility within the application
processing timeframes for determining eligibility. Until the court renders a decision,
the trust is available to the household.

Governmental payments designated for the restoration of a home damaged in a disaster, if
the household is subject to legal sanctions in the event the funds are not used as intended.
These types of payments include:

a. The Department of Housing and Urban Development or through the Individual and
Family Grant Program.

b. The Small Business Administration as disaster loans or grants.

Resources that have been prorated as income for self-employed persons will not count as a
resource. This includes profits from the annual sale of crops.

Resources of nonhousehold members, including ineligible students. See Part VI.C.1 for a
list of these persons. The resources of disqualified household members are countable,
however. (See Parts VI.C.2 and XII.E.)
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13. Resources excluded by law. (Admin. Notice A-39-97). This includes:

a.

Benefits received from the supplemental food program for the Women, Infants and
Children program (WIC) (P.L. 100-435).

Reimbursements from Title Il of the Uniform Relocation Assistance and Real
Property Acquisition Policy Act of 1970. (P.L. 91-646, Section 216).

Earned income tax credits excluded as follows:

1. Federal earned income tax credits received as a lump sum or as payment
for the month of receipt and the next month.

2. Federal, state or local earned income tax credits for 12 months from receipt
if the individual receiving the tax credit was receiving SNAP benefits when
the tax credit was received and provided that the household continuously
participates during the 12-month period. In determining the 12-month
period, temporary breaks of one month or less will not be considered as
nonparticipation.

Payments for meals for children or adults on whose behalf the payment is made
through the Child and Adult Care Food Program, Section 12(3) of the School Lunch
Act.

Energy Assistance payments, including payments from the Low-Income Home
Energy Assistance Program (i.e., the Virginia Fuel Assistance Program), CSA
payments, HUD and FmHA utility reimbursements. (P.L. 99-425).

Financial assistance from a program funded in whole or in part under Title IV of the
Higher Education Act and the Bureau of Indian Affairs, as amended. Exclude also
any money incurred or issued through the U.S. Department of Education or
received under the Carl D. Perkins Vocational and Applied Technology Education
Act (P.L. 99-498 and 100-50).

Payments to certain U.S. citizens of Japanese ancestry and resident Japanese
aliens and certain Aleuts, under the Wartime Relocation of Civilians Act (P.L. 100-
383).

Payments from the Agent Orange Settlement Fund or any other fund established for
settlement of Agent Orange product liability litigation. (P.L. 101-201 and 101-239).

All compensation from the Alaska Native Claims Settlement Act and amendments
(P.L. 92-203 and 100-241).

Payments authorized under the Disaster Relief Act of 1974, as amended (P.L. 100-
707) and the Disaster Relief and Emergency Assistance amendments of 1988. The
President must declare the disaster or emergency. This exclusion applies to federal
payments and comparable disaster assistance provided by States, local
governments and disaster assistance organizations.
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Payments through the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) to property
owners under the National Flood Insurance Act of 1968 to reduce risks of flood
damage are excluded. Most funds from FEMA are excluded, but payments made
when there is no declared disaster or emergency, such as rent assistance for a
homeless household, are not excluded.

k. The following payments to or land of Indian tribes:

Indian land held jointly with the tribe or land that can be sold only with the
approval of the Department of the Interior's Bureau of Indian Affairs.

Payments under the SAC and Fox Indian claims agreement (P.L. 94-189).

Payments received by certain Indian tribal members for submarginal land
held in trust by the United States (P.L. 94-114, Section 6).

Payments received from the disposition of funds to the Grand River Band of
Ottawa Indians (P.L. 94-540).

Payments received by the Confederate Tribes and Bands of Yakima Indian
Nation and the Apache Tribe of the Mescalero Reservation from the Indian
Claims Commission (P.L. 95-433, Section 2).

Payments from the Maine Indian Claims Settlement Act of 1980 to the
Passamaquoddy Tribe, the Penobscot Nation, and the Houlton Band of
Maliseet (P.L. 96-420, Section 9c).

Payments of relocation assistance to members of the Navajo and Hopi Tribes
(P.L. 93-531, Section 22).

Per capita interests in trust or restricted lands under the Indian Tribal
Judgment Fund Use (P.L. 93-134 and 97-458).

Payments to the Chippewa Tribes: Turtle Mountain, Red Lake, Mississippi,
Lake Superior, Saginaw or White Earth (P.L. 97-403, 98-123, 99-146, 99-264,
99-346, and 99-377).

Payment to the Blackfeet, Grosventre, and Papago Tribes (P.L. 97-408).
Payments to the Assiniboine Tribes (P.L. 98-124, Section 5 and 97-408).
Payments to the Seneca Nation (P.L. 101-503).

Payments to the Puyallup Tribe (P.L. 101-41).

Payments, except for per capita payments over $2000, to the Seminole
Nation of Oklahoma, the Seminole Tribe of Florida, and the Miccosukee Tribe

of Florida and the independent Seminole Tribe of Florida (P.L. 101-277).
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14.

15.

16.

17.

18.

- Payments made under the Confederated Tribes of the Colville Reservation
Grand Coulee Dam Settlement Act (P.L. 103-436).

Resources of SSI or TANF recipients. A separate evaluation of resources for SNAP
purposes is not needed for a household in which all members are SSI or TANF
recipients. In addition to the receipt of TANF income, the resource exclusion also
applies to a household in which any member receives a TANF-funded service as
defined as a PA Case in Definitions. The BPS must evaluate the resources of
household members who do not receive SSI or TANF.

m. Amounts paid to individuals under the Radiation Exposure Compensation Act for
injuries or death resulting from exposure to radiation from nuclear testing and
uranium mining in Arizona, Nevada and Utah (P.L. 101-426).

n. Payments to individuals because of their status as victims of Nazi persecution (P.L.
103-286).
0. Payments through the Department of Veteran Affairs to children of Vietham veterans

who are born with congenital spina bifida and payments to children of female
Vietnam veterans who are born with certain birth defects (P.L. 104-204 and P.L. 106-
419).

p. Money in an Achieving a Better Life Experience (ABLE) account. ABLE accounts
are set up to provide funding for disability-related expenses for individuals
determined to be disabled before age 26.

HUD retroactive tax and utility cost subsidy payments issued pursuant to the settlement of
Underwood v. Harris, for the month in which payment was received and the following month.

Resources under a lien.

Money in individual development accounts (IDA). These exempt funds may be in the form
of a trust, trust account or a custodial account. The owner of the account must be a current
or former TANF recipient or one who is ineligible for TANF if the person’s income is less
than 200 percent of the federal poverty guidelines. Funds in the account are exempt if they
are not withdrawn. The account will remain exempt if the household withdraws the funds
and uses the money to pursue post-secondary education, to purchase a house, to start a
business or to meet an emergency need approved by the sponsoring agency. In Virginia,
the accounts are called the Virginia Individual Development Account (VIDA) and Assets for
Independence Account (AFIA).

Money in an escrow account established by the Family Self-Sufficiency Program through the
U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development.

Money in educational accounts. These accounts include Coverdell Savings accounts and
qualified tuition accounts (Internal Revenue Codes 529 and 530).
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F.

HANDLING OF EXEMPT FUNDS (7 CFR 273.8(f))

Liquid assets that are exempt from consideration, as outlined in Chapter D, that are keptin a
separate and identifiable account from nonexempt funds remain exempt as a resource for
an unlimited time.

Exempt funds kept in an account along with other nonexempt funds remain exempt for six
months from the date the funds are commingled. After six months from the date the funds
are commingled, all funds in the commingled account are countable as a resource.

Example
A two-person household has a savings account with a balance of $900. The

household receives a payment of $1,200 from the Individual and Family Grant
Program (IFG) in January. If the household places the IFG funds in a separate
and identifiable account, the IFG funds will remain exempt indefinitely. If the
household deposits these funds in the savings account containing $900,
however, the IFG funds will remain exempt for only six months from the date they
are commingled with the nonexempt funds.

If the funds are commingled in January, the total amount in the account as of July
will count towards the resource level.

Funds exempted under Part IX.D.11 will retain the exemption as a resource for the full
period over which they have been prorated as income, even if commingled with nonexempt
funds.

Example
A self-employed farmer receives a $1,000 payment that is prorated as

income over 10 months. This money is deposited in the household’s regular
checking account with other nonexempt funds. Any portion of the payment
that remains in the checking account will be exempt as a resource for the full
10-month period over which the income is prorated. After the 10-month
period, any part of the payment remaining in the account with the nonexempt
funds will count a resource.

Where a resource is exempt because of its use by or for a household member, the
exemption will also apply when the resource is used by or for a disqualified person whose
resources count as part of the household's resources. This could include the work-related
equipment essential to the employment of an ineligible alien household member or
disqualified person, as allowed under Part IX.D.4, or burial plots for ineligible alien or
disqualified household members, as allowed under Part IX.D.5.

TRANSFER OF RESOURCES (7 CFR 273.8(i))

At the time of application, households must provide information about any resources transferred
during the three-month period immediately preceding the date of application. The BPS must
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assess any resource transfer by a household member or disqualified person whose resources
count to the household. If resources have knowingly been transferred during this period to qualify
or attempt to qualify for SNAP benefits, the household will be disqualified from participation in the
program for up to one year from the date of discovery of the transfer.

Example
A client transferred resources on November 20 to be eligible for SNAP benefits. The

household filed an application the following February 21. Since the transfer occurred
more than three months before the application date, there would be no
disqualification because of the transfer.

Disqualification will also apply if the household acquires resources after being certified and then
knowingly transfers the resources to avoid going over the maximum resource limit.

The following transfers will not affect eligibility:

1. Resources that would not affect eligibility, e.g., exempt personal property such as furniture,
or nonexempt funds, such as money that, when added to other household nonexempt
resources, totals less at the time of transfer than the resource limit.

2. Resources transferred between members of the same SNAP household, including ineligible
aliens and disqualified persons whose resources count to the household.

3. Resources transferred for reasons other than qualifying for SNAP benefits. For example, a
parent placing funds into an educational trust fund.

If the BPS establishes that an applicant household knowingly transferred resources to qualify for or
to attempt to qualify for SNAP benefits, the BPS must provide the household the Notice of Action to
deny the application. The notice must explain the reason for denial and the length of the
disqualification. The disqualification period will begin in the month of application. If the household
is participating at the time the transfer is discovered, the BPS must send an Advance Notice of
Proposed Action or Notice of Action to explain the reason for closure and length of disqualification.
The disqualification period will be effective with the first allotment to be issued after the advance
notice period has expired, unless the household has requested a fair hearing and continued
benefits.

If the BPS learns that the person who transferred the resources that resulted in disqualification left
the household, eligibility for remaining household members can be determined without regard to the
rest of the disqualification period. The disqualification period will follow the member who improperly
transferred the resources, however.

Example
A nine-month disqualification is imposed on January 3 for the period January through

September. The household reapplies June 12, and the member who transferred a
bank account is no longer a household member. Eligibility for the rest of the
household can be evaluated from the date of the reapplication on June 12.
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The length of the disqualification is based on the amount by which nonexempt transferred
resources, when added to other nonexempt resources, exceed the allowable resource limit.

Example
A household has $3,400 in a savings account. To become eligible for SNAP

benefits, the household transferred $1,500 from the bank account to someone
outside the SNAP household. The resource limit for this household is $3,000. The
amount of the transferred resource used in determining the length of the
disqualification period will be $400.

The following chart is used to determine the disqualification period:

Amount in Excess of the Period of
Resource Limit Disqualification
$.01 to $249.99 1 month
$250 to $999.99 3 months
$1000 to $2999.99 6 months
$3000 to $4999.99 9 months
$5000 or over 12 months
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A. INCOME DEDUCTIONS (7 CFR 273.9(d))

Financial eligibility of a household is based on gross or net income, as described in Part XI.A.
Benefit level is based on net income which is defined as the total of all countable income, both
earned and unearned, after appropriate allowable deductions have been made.

In evaluating expenses toward the calculation of the net income, the household is given credit only
for expenses for which a money payment is made or due to someone outside the household.
Except for Low-Income Home Energy Assistance Program (LIHEAP) payments, deductions will not
be allowed for expenses or the portion of expenses made through vendor payments or for which the
household will be reimbursed. LIHEAP participants (Virginia Energy Assistance Program) may
have actual utility expenses considered or may have the utility standard applied even if the
expenses are covered by fuel assistance vendor payments but, utility expenses reimbursed or paid
through HUD or FmHA utility reimbursements are not deductible.

All households with income will be allowed the following deductions, if appropriate, in determining
net income. The BPS must assess each potential deduction and use the allowable standard
amounts unless the household elects to use actual amounts or is not entitled to use the standard.
The BPS must also assess who has responsibility to pay expenses and whose income is used to
pay to determine if the full expense or a prorated amount is used. If an eligible household member
is responsible for an expense or pays an expense, the household is entitled to the full expense. If a
disqualified household member is responsible for an expense or pays an expense, the expense
may be subject to proration as allowed by Part 12.E.

1. Standard Deduction (7 CFR 273.9(d)(1))

Each household is entitled to a standard deduction from the total gross income of the
household. The amount of the deduction is dependent on the number of eligible household
members. To determine the standard deduction, household size must not include
disqualified or ineligible members.

Household Size Standard Deduction
1-3 members $204
4 members $217
5 members $254
6 or more members $291

2. Earned Income Deduction (7 CFR 273.9(d)(2))

Each household with countable earned income may have an earned income deduction.
Twenty (20) percent of the countable gross earnings will be deducted.

The earned income deduction is not allowed when determining the amount over issued if the
basis for the claim is because the household failed to report earned income timely.

3. Dependent Care Expense (7 CFR 273.9(d)(4))

Dependent care expenses are allowed as a deduction only if it is necessary for household
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members to accept or continue employment, seek employment, comply with employment
and training requirements, attend training or pursue education that is preparatory for
employment. The expense may be incurred for the care of a child or other dependent. An
expense that could qualify as a dependent care expense or a medical expense may be
allowed as either, dependent care or medical, but not both.

See Part lll.A for verification requirements of dependent care expenses. Verification is
needed only if the household's declaration is questionable. Acceptable forms of verification
include a signed statement from the provider, receipts signed by the provider, or statements
from agencies or organizations assisting with childcare expenses.

4. Shelter Expense (7 CFR 273.9(d)(5))

The cost of shelter is allowable after all other deductions have been determined. The BPS
must add together all expenses that are part of the cost of shelter, except food, to arrive at a
total shelter cost figure. That portion of the monthly shelter costs that exceeds 50 percent of
the household's adjusted net income will be a deduction, up to $712 per month, except as
noted below. The adjusted net income is determined by subtracting the standard deduction,
earned income deduction, dependent care deduction, child support deduction, homeless
shelter standard and medical deduction from the total gross income.

The allowable deduction for shelter may not exceed $712 except for households that contain
a member who is 60 years of age or older or who is disabled, as defined in Definitions.
Households with an elderly or disabled member may receive an excess shelter deduction
that exceeds the shelter maximum allowed for other households. These households will
receive the actual amount that exceeds half the adjusted net income.

In determining the amount to use as the cost of shelter, the following expenses will count
unless vendor payments are made on a household’s behalf, except as noted in item e. See
Parts XI.F.3 and XIII.B for a discussion of vendor payments. Note the special provisions in
section 7 for assessing shelter costs for homeless households.

a. Rent, mortgage, loan payments, or other continuing charges that lead to ownership
of a home, mobile home, or other type of shelter, are allowable. This includes
second and/or third mortgages and condominium or association fees. It includes the
initial cost of moving a mobile home from a dealer to a lot, along with any set-up
charges at the lot. For a subsequent move of a mobile home, only the set-up costs
at the new lot are allowable. Costs incurred by a tenant in lieu of full or partial rent
are allowable rental costs, provided the arrangement is with the mutual agreement of
the landlord.

b. Real estate taxes or personal property taxes on mobile homes are allowable. Taxes
on the contents are not allowable.

C. Insurance premiums on the home structure are allowable. Separate costs for
insuring furniture or personal belongings are not allowable. If insurance premiums
on the home structure are combined with other costs that cannot be separated, the
total premium is allowable.
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d. Repair costs that result from a fire or flood or a similar disaster are allowable,

provided the household will not receive reimbursement or assistance from some
other source such as insurance or private or public relief agencies. The disaster
does not have to be a presidential declaration but can be a personal disaster, such
as a fire damaging only one home.

e. Utilities incurred separately and apart from the rent or mortgage cost are allowable.
Actual direct utility costs may be used in determining shelter costs, even if LIHEAP
covers the costs by a vendor payment.

In some situations, the household may be entitled to use the utility standard as its
utility expense, instead of its actual utility expenses.

A standard utility allowance has been established based on the number of persons in
the residence. The standard includes an allowance for heat, electricity, gas, water,
sewerage, septic tank maintenance fees, garbage collection and telephone. A
household may use the standard utility allowance only if the household is responsible
for a heating or cooling expense, or it receives LIHEAP benefits at the current

residence.
Number of Persons Utility Standard
1-3 $369
4 or more $467

Multiple family units living in the same residence may have only one standard utility
allowance for the residence, based on the total number of people in the residence.
The BPS must divide the one utility standard among the units that contribute to
meeting heating or cooling costs, regardless of whether each unit is applying for or
receiving SNAP benefits. In these instances, each unit may use only its prorated
share of the standard allowance, unless it uses its actual costs. The BPS may not
prorate the standard allowance if the nonhousehold members are all excluded from
the household because they are ineligible to receive SNAP benefits.

Example
A three-person SNAP unit lives in a house with another person. The

SNAP unit and the other person each pay half of the heating costs.
The SNAP unit's standard utility allowance is $233.50, i.e. $467 based
on total number of persons in the home (4 or more) divided by 2, the
number of units contributing to heating costs. The SNAP unit may opt
to use $233.50 as its utility costs, or it may use its actual utility
expense amount.

Only households that receive LIHEAP payments for its current residence or that are
responsible for an identifiable heating or cooling expense or an established
percentage of an identifiable expense, have the option of the utility standard. A
cooling cost is a verifiable utility expense relating to the operation of air conditioning
systems or room air conditioners. A heating cost is a verifiable utility expense for a
primary fuel source.
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Examples

1) The SNAP household pays for electricity that the household needs to
operate the oil furnace. Other persons in the home buy oil. The SNAP
household is not entitled to the utility standard since there is no expense
for the primary fuel source. The actual electric bill is allowable since this
is a direct utility expense.

2) A SNAP household cuts its own wood. This wood is free, but the
household incurs expenses for gas and oil for the chain saw. The
household may not use the utility standard since the household does not
incur an expense for the primary fuel source. The actual incidental
expenses connected with obtaining the wood are not allowable since
these are not direct utility expenses.

If a household incurs a utility expense, such as electricity or gas, that includes
heating or cooling along with other uses, e.g., cooking or lights, the utility standard
may still be used. If the household does not incur a separate expense for heating or
cooling, it is not entitled to the utility standard unless it receives LIHEAP payments.
Actual costs of utilities incurred by households that are not entitled to the utility
standard are allowable expenses.

Households that have their utilities included in their rent, but who may, on occasion,
be required to pay an excess utility charge, may not claim the utility standard unless
they receive LIHEAP payments. Households that receive HUD or FmHA payments
may use the utility standard if they are responsible for utility costs beyond the HUD
or FmHA payment. Households that pay a flat amount, not a percentage, for utilities
to the homeowner instead of the utility vendor may not use the utility allowance.
Actual or anticipated amounts for these utility charges are allowable.

A household may use the utility standard for a full year provided:

¢ the household incurs a heating or cooling expense at any point during the year or
anticipates such an expense; or

e the household received a LIHEAP payment during the period covered by the
utility standard, or such a payment is anticipated.

Examples

1) A household buys oil twice a year in November and February to heat the
home. This household is entitled to use the utility standard for the full
twelve months of the year.

2) A household lives in an apartment where heat is included in the rent. The
household, however, uses an air conditioner in the summer and is
responsible for the electric bill for the apartment. Since a cooling expense is
incurred, the household is entitled to use the utility standard for the full twelve
months of the year.
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Each household must receive a thorough explanation of the options available in
considering utility expenses. The household may switch between use of the
standard and actual costs only at the time of certification. If a household moves
while certified, the household may switch from one to the other. If the household
initially chose to use actual utility costs but the utility standard was allowed because
the household failed to declare costs or verify questionable information timely, the
household may not switch to actual costs once the verification is provided.

f. The utility standard includes the basic service fee for a telephone so a household
that uses the utility standard may not also claim a separate telephone expense. For
a household that uses actual utility expenses and who incurs an expense for basic
telephone service, or has an established percentage of such an expense, the
household must use a telephone standard of $52, or the appropriate percentage of
the standard.

The BPS must divide the telephone standard among households sharing the
expense. A telephone expense is allowable even if the household is not entitled to
any other utility allowance.

Example

Two SNAP units live together and each pays half of the telephone bill.
The bill includes charges for basic service. Each household will receive
half the telephone standard as its telephone expense.

g. Initial installation fees charged by a telephone, utility, or septic tank company are
allowed as an expense, over and above the cost of the actual utility. Initial
installation fees are allowable even if the utility or phone standards are used. The
household may choose to have the installation bill averaged over the months in the
certification period or to have the bill assigned to the month received or due. If a
payment or budget plan has been established, the expense may be allowed for each
month in the payment plan.

h. One-time deposits for utilities, telephones, housing, etc., will not count as shelter
costs.

i Shelter expenses, as described above, include the costs for a home (owned or
rented) that is temporarily unoccupied provided the household intends to return to
the home. The home may be unoccupied because of employment, training, iliness,
or a natural disaster or loss. If the household has shelter expenses for both an
occupied and unoccupied home, the household is entitled to only one utility or
telephone standard.

The cost of shelter cannot be claimed if the vacated home is rented to someone else

or if a rent-free occupant is claiming the cost of shelter for the home for SNAP
purposes.
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j- Verification requirements for shelter expenses are addressed in Part IIl.A.

Verification is needed only if the household's declaration is questionable. Receipts
or statements from the provider are sources of acceptable verification if such proof
is needed.

5. Medical Expenses (7 CFR 273.9(d)(3))

The cost of medical expenses incurred by elderly or disabled household members,
excluding special diets, is allowed as a deduction for those households when the cost
exceeds $35 a month. If the cost is $35 or less, no deduction is allowed. The $35-limit
applies to the entire household and is not applied individually to the expenses of members
who may be entitled to a deduction.

A medical standard deduction of $200 has been established. Households must verify that
eligible members incur more than $35 in allowable medical expenses per month to get the
medical standard deduction. Households that incur more than $235 in allowable medical
expenses per month may opt out of using the medical standard deduction. These
households may verify and claim all their medical expenses and have them evaluated as
allowed by Part XIII.B.4. Households may switch between the medical standard deduction
and actual costs only at the time of certification except when the household was not
previously entitled to the standard. Once imposed, the medical standard deduction will
remain in place for the balance of the certification period provided the household contains
at least one elderly or disabled member who was part of the household at certification.

Persons who are 60 years of age or over or who are disabled, as described in Definitions,
may be eligible for the medical deduction. An individual must be elderly or disabled when
the medical expense is incurred. Spouses or other persons receiving benefits as a
dependent of the eligible individual are not entitled to the medical deduction.

a. Allowable expenses include:

1) Medical and dental care, including psychotherapy and rehabilitation services
provided by a licensed practitioner authorized by state law or other qualified
health professional.

2) Hospitalization or outpatient treatment, nursing care, and nursing home
care. Costs for persons who were household members immediately prior to
entering a nursing home or hospital, will also be allowed.

3) Prescriptive drugs, when prescribed by a licensed or qualified practitioner,
and other over-the-counter medication (including insulin, aspirin, antacids,
etc.) which is approved by a licensed or qualified practitioner. Cost of
medical supplies, sick room equipment (including rental) or other prescribed
equipment are deductible.

4) Health and hospitalization insurance policy premiums. Costs of health and
accident policies such as those payable in lump sum settlements for death
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6)

10)

11)

or dismemberment are not allowed. Costs of income maintenance policies
such as those that continue mortgage or loan payments while the beneficiary
is disabled are also not deductible.

Medicare premiums related to coverage under Title XVIII of the Social
Security Act and any cost-sharing or spend-down expenses incurred by
Medicaid recipients.

. If a Medicaid application is pending when the SNAP benefit
application is approved, the Medicare premium is allowed as a
medical expense.

. If a Medicaid application has already been approved when the SNAP
benefit application is approved, the Medicare premium is not allowed
as a medical expense once Medicaid begins paying the expense as
verified through SOLQ-I or SVES.

Costs of dentures, hearing aids, and prosthetics.

Costs of securing and maintaining a Seeing Eye or hearing dog or other
attendant animal as well as veterinarian bills and food for the animal. This
excludes costs for emotional support animals.

Costs of eyeglasses prescribed by a physician skilled in eye disease or by an
optometrist.

Reasonable costs of transportation and lodging to obtain medical treatment
or services. Actual verified amounts may be used. If specific amounts
cannot be verified, then the prevailing rate in the community or the state
mileage allowance must be used.

Costs of maintaining an attendant, homemaker, home health aide, or
childcare services or housekeeper, necessary due to age, infirmity, or illness.
In addition, an amount equal to the one-person benefit allotment must be
deducted if the household furnishes more than half of the attendant's meals.
The benefit allotment that is in effect at the time of certification will be used
and updated at the next recertification, if there has been an adjustment in
benefit allotments.

If a household incurs attendant care costs, as defined above, that qualify as
both a medical deduction and dependent care deduction, the expense may
be allowed as a medical expense or a dependent care expense, but not both.

Telephone fees for amplifiers and warning signals for disabled persons and

costs of typewriter equipment for the hearing impaired. (These costs may not
be entered as shelter costs.)
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The expenses listed above are also allowable when incurred by a household
member who subsequently dies if the expenses are the responsibility of the
remaining household members.

b. Disallowed Expenses:

Only those costs listed above will be considered as a medical expense. Any portion
of the cost that is reimbursable by insurance policies or covered by Medicaid will not
be given as a deduction until the household verifies the portion of the cost that is its
responsibility.

Example

A household consists of one member who is 64 years old. An
allowable medical expense of $200 is incurred monthly. Insurance
policies reimburse the household $100 a month for the expense.
Disallowing the first $35 a month, the monthly medical deduction for
this expense is $65 if the household elects to use actual amounts
instead of the medical standard deduction.

6. Homeless Shelter Allowance

Households in which all members are homeless, as defined in Definitions, are allowed a
deduction for incurred or estimated shelter expenses. The homeless shelter standard is
$190.30 per month. This standard is not calculated as part of the shelter expense deduction
described in section 4 of this chapter.

To be eligible for the homeless shelter allowance, a household must incur or reasonably
expect to incur shelter costs during a month. Homeless households that incur no shelter
costs during the month and anticipate none are not eligible for this shelter allowance.

The BPS must accept the household's declaration of expenses unless the declaration is
questionable. If the BPS determines that verification is needed but the household has
difficulty in obtaining traditional types of verification of shelter costs, the BPS must use
prudent judgement in determining if verification is adequate.

Example

A homeless individual claims to have incurred shelter costs for several nights
at a hotel. The costs reported are reasonable. The BPS may accept this
information as adequate and allow the household to use the shelter
estimate.

No other shelter costs, including the utility standard or telephone standard, may be used if
the homeless shelter allowance is used. The homeless shelter allowance also may not be
used if the household claims shelter costs that exceed the allowance. Higher or other
shelter costs must be handled as a part of the shelter expense deduction (Part X.A.4) in
which case, the household may or may not receive an actual deduction.
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VERIFICATION OF DEDUCTIONS (7 CFR 273.2(f)(3))

If a deductible expense must be verified and obtaining the verification may delay the
household's certification, the BPS must advise the household that the household's
eligibility and benefit level may be determined without providing a deduction for the
unverified expenses being claimed. If the expense cannot be verified within 30 days of the
date of application, the BPS must determine the household's eligibility and benefit level
without providing a deduction for the unverified expense. If a household wants to claim
actual utility costs but does not provide verification of its questionable shelter expenses by
the 30th day, the utility standard must be allowed if the household is entitled to it. The
household is not entitled to restoration of lost benefits when expenses are not deducted
because verification could not be obtained. If, however, the expense could not be verified
within the thirty-day processing standard because the BPS failed to allow the household at
least 10 days to provide the verification, lost benefits must be restored.

If a household would be ineligible without a deductible expense, the BPS must send the
household the Notice of Action to extend the pending status of the case on the 30th day
after the initial application or reapplication was filed. If the lack of verification is the fault of
the household, the household will have an additional 30 days to take the required action.
If eligible, the household is entitled to benefits only from the day the household provides
the last verification or takes the last required action. (See Part 11.G.2.). If the lack of
verification is the fault of the local department of social services, and the household is
eligible, the household is entitled to benefits retroactive to the month of application. (See
Part [1.G.3.). If a recertification application is filed, verification time frames at recertification
(Part IV.C.4) will apply and the ability to extend the pending status of the application is not
allowed.
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A. INCOME ELIGIBILITY STANDARDS (7 CFR 273.9(a))

To be eligible for SNAP benefits, the countable gross monthly income of broad-based categorically
eligible households may not exceed 200 percent of the gross income limit shown below. The
countable gross monthly income of non-categorically eligible households may not exceed 130
percent of the gross monthly income limits shown below. Households with at least one member who
is 60 years of age or over or with at least one member who is disabled, as described in Definitions
must only meet the 100 percent net monthly income limits. This exception will also apply to a
household with a member whose 60th birthday is in the month of application.

All households, except those that are categorically eligible, must be determined eligible based only
on net income (gross income less allowable deductions listed in Part X.A). The maximum net
income limits are shown below.

Federal Poverty Level (FPL) Gross and Net Income Eligibility Limits
200% FPL 130% FPL 100% FPL
Household Size Gross Income Gross Income Net Income Limit
Limit Limit
1 $2,510 $1,632 $1,255
2 $3,407 $2,215 $1,704
3 $4,303 $2,798 $2,152
4 $5,200 $3,380 $2,600
5 $6,097 $3,963 $3,049
6 $6,993 $4,546 $3,497
7 $7,890 $5,129 $3,945
8 $8,787 $5,712 $4,394
Each additional
member +$897 $583 $449

Net income determines the amount of SNAP benefits all eligible households will receive. While
categorically eligible households, excluding broad-based categorical eligibility, as defined in Part
11.G.3, do not have to meet either the gross or net income eligibility standards, the net income limit
will determine entitlement to an allotment even for these households.

B. COUNTABLE INCOME

Countable income is all household income, earned and unearned, from whatever source, excluding
only that income specified in Part XI.F.

Income received by one person for another person or for multiple beneficiaries is considered the
income of the person receiving it, unless the provisions of Part XI.G (earned income of several
members combined into one payment) apply. Evaluate any income exclusions, such as third-party
fund exclusion, according to Part XI.F.

When verification of income is required, the BPS must verify gross amounts and the rate and

frequency (i.e., weekly, semi-monthly, etc.) of the income received. For income received more often
than monthly, verify the payment cycle, i.e., the day the income is received.
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C.

EARNED INCOME (7 CFR 273.9(b)(1)

Earned income includes:

1.

Wages and Salaries

All wages and salaries for services performed as an employee. This includes wages held by
an employer at the employee's request and advances on wages, as discussed in Part XII.G.
Gross wages are considered regardless of the amount and nature of deductions, unless any
portion of the gross pay is excludable under Part XI.F or, if the gross amount reflects credit
for employee benefits. In situations where benefits are reflected as credits and where the
employee cannot elect to receive a cash payment, the amounts shown on the pay stub will
not count as income. If an employee elects to have money withheld from the earnings to pay
for employee benefits, that money must be counted as income.

Consider vacation pay as earned income if the employer still considers an individual as an
employee. Consider sick pay as earned income if the payment to the employee is made
directly from the employer or through the employer from insurance obtained by the employer.
Consider sick pay as unearned income if the payment is made directly from an insurance
company to the employee.

If an individual has terminated employment, consider severance pay and accumulated
vacation and sick pay as earned income if the individual receives more than one installment.
Severance and accumulated pay will be a lump sum resource if the individual receives only
one payment. Laid-off employees are terminated employees for the purposes of this policy.
If a laid-off employee opts not to withdraw vacation and/or sick pay, the value of such funds
counts an available resource.

Consider bonus pay as earned income.

Self-Employment Income

The gross income from a self-employment enterprise, including the total gain from the sale of
any capital goods or equipment related to the business, excluding the cost of doing business.
(See Part XII.A.) For self-employed households, the BPS must exclude the cost of doing
business to determine the countable income.

Ownership of rental property is a self-employment enterprise; however, income derived from
the rental property counts as earned income only if a household member actively manages
the property for a minimum of 20 hours a week.

Payments from roomers and boarders count as earned self-employment income.

Training Allowances

Training allowances from vocational and rehabilitative programs recognized by federal, state
or local governments when they do not constitute a reimbursement. (See Part XI.F.) These
include, but are not limited to, vocational rehabilitation incentive payments.
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Income received by individuals who are participating in on-the-job training programs funded
through the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act is considered earned income. This
provision includes on-the-job training programs funded under the National and Community
Services Act, Americorps, the Summer Youth Employment and Training Program, and the
Youthbuild Program. This provision, however, does not apply to household members under
19 years of age who are under the parental control of another household member,
regardless of school attendance and/or enroliment as discussed in Part XI.F.8. See also
Part XI.F.11.d.

4. Payments under Title | of the Domestic Volunteer Service Act of 1973

Payments under Title | of the Domestic Volunteer Service Act of 1973 (VISTA, etc.) count as
earned income unless they are excluded from consideration. See Part XI.F.11.c.

5. Payments to Day Care Providers

Payments to day care providers for meals served to children, other than their own, funded
by the School Lunch Act will count as earned income to the provider. These payments do
not count as reimbursement. See Part XII.A.7 for allowable business costs.

6. Jury Duty Pay

Jury duty pay is countable earned income unless it meets the infrequent/irregular income or
reimbursement policy of Part XI.F.4 or F.6.

Use the following documents or records to verify the earned income of the household. The
documents are often available from the applicant.

Pay stubs Pay envelopes
Employee's W-2 Form Wage tax receipts
State or federal income tax return Self-employment bookkeeping records

Sales and expenditure records
Verification from other sources might include:
Employer's wage records VEC Office
Statement from the employer State Income Tax Bureau
D. SPECIAL INCOME OF MILITARY PERSONNEL (FNS Policy Memos 81-1,
81-5, and 81-13 and Admin Notice A-24-91)
Many members of the military receive special allowances that count in determining the eligibility and

the benefit amount of households containing such persons. Military personnel may receive the
following allowances:
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1. Basic Allowance for Housing (BAH)

The BAH is considered as earned income for SNAP purposes. The household is also
entitled to a shelter deduction. In some instances, the BAH may be listed as income and
then all or a portion of the amount deducted on the leave and earnings statement because
he or she lives on the base. Use the amount listed to compute the SNAP shelter deduction.

2. Basic Allowance for Subsistence (BAS)
The BAS is paid daily in cash or three months in advance by check. The BAS is not
considered a part of the wages. The BAS will appear on the leave and earnings statement
monthly. The BAS is considered as earned income for SNAP purposes.

3. Clothing Maintenance Allowance (CMA)

The CMA is excluded as income for SNAP purposes. The payment is counted as a
reimbursement for the job-related expense of uniforms under Part XI.F.6.

Any amount received by or made available to household members for deployment or service in a
combat zone will not count as income for SNAP purposes unless the payment was received before
the deployment. This exclusion includes items such as, but not limited to, incentive pay for
hazardous duty, special pay for imminent duty or hostile fire duty or certain reenlistment bonuses,
or special pay for certain occupational or educational skills.

E. UNEARNED INCOME (7 CFR 273.9(b)(2))

Unearned income includes:

1. Assistance Payments

Assistance payments from federal, federally aided, or state-local public assistance
programs, based on need. Examples are:

a. Temporary Assistance to Needy Families (TANF)
Note that payments received through the Diversionary Assistance Program as a
lump sum are excluded as income. See Part XI.F.9.

b. General Relief (GR)

C. Supplemental Security Income (SSI)

Income from these assistance programs will count as unearned income even if provided in
the form of a vendor payment, unless the provisions of Part XI.F.3 apply that prohibit
considering certain vendor payments as countable income. Assistance payments from

programs that require the actual performance of work without compensation, other than the
assistance payments themselves, count as unearned income.
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2. Annuities and Pensions

Annuities and pensions, such as:

a. Retirement benefits
b. Veteran's benefits
C. Disability benefits

d. Old age, survivors, and Social Security benefits (OASDI)

3. Workmen's or Unemployment Compensation

4, Strike Benefits

5. Foster Care Payments

Foster care payments made to a household on behalf of a legally assigned individual in
foster care. Note: Foster care payments will be considered the income of the foster family if
the household elects to count the foster individual as a household member for SNAP
purposes. Therefore, if the foster person is excluded from the household under the
provisions of Part VI.A.3, the payment is not considered income to the rest of the household.

6. Certain Rental Property Income

Income derived from rental property in which a household member is not actively engaged
in the management of the property at least an average of 20 hours a week. Except for the
fact that the earned income deduction (Part XIII.A.2) does not apply, treat this income the
same as a self-employment enterprise. (See Part XII.A.)

7. Support and Alimony Payments

Support and alimony payments made directly to the household from a nonhousehold
member. This includes payments redirected to the household from the Division of Child
Support Enforcement (DCSE). Payments received by or for TANF recipients that the
household should send to the DCSE as a condition of TANF eligibility will not count even if
the household fails to redirect the payments.

8. Dividends, Royalties and Interest

Payments received in the form of dividends or royalties are countable. Interest payments
will count as income if the amount averages more than $10.00 per month.
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10.

11.

Money Withdrawn from Trust Funds or Improper IDA Withdrawals

Money withdrawn or dividends that are or that the household could receive from trust funds
do not count as a resource under Part IX.E.12. Trust withdrawals will count as income in
the month received unless they are otherwise exempt. Dividends that the household has
the option of either receiving as income or reinvesting in the trust will count as income in the
month they become available to the household unless they are otherwise exempt.

Withdrawals from an individual development account (IDA) will not count as income if the
withdrawal is for pursuing post-secondary education, purchasing a home, starting a
business or as an approved household emergency. All other withdrawals from the IDA will
count as unearned income in the month of the withdrawal.

Income Available to Sponsored Aliens (7 CFR 273.9(b)(4); 7 CFR 273.11(h)(2)(iv))

For households that contain sponsored aliens (as defined in Part XII.C.), unearned income
will also include that amount of the monthly income of an alien's sponsor and the sponsor's
spouse (if living with the sponsor) deemed to be that of the alien according to the
procedures in Part XII.C.3 and 5. Income deeming applies unless the sponsored alien is
otherwise exempt from this provision as allowed in Part XII.C.1.

Actual money paid to the alien by the sponsor or the sponsor's spouse does not count as
income to the alien unless the amount paid exceeds the amount attributed to the sponsor.
See Part XII.C.4. The amount paid that exceeds the amount attributed will count as income
to the alien in addition to the amount attributed to the alien.

Funds Deposited into Joint Accounts

Funds deposited into a joint bank account by a nonhousehold member count as income to
the household, to the extent the deposited funds are intended for household use. The BPS
must use this policy only when deposited funds are intended for household use.

In situations where a SNAP household member's name is on a joint account with a
nonhousehold member and the funds deposited by the nonhousehold member are clearly
not intended for the household member's use, no income to the household will be counted.
The BPS must evaluate the account balance as a resource to the household as allowed by
Part IX. C.1.

The BPS must verify the household member's statement concerning the amount of money
available as income. If all the money deposited into the joint account is intended for the
household's use, then verification of the amount deposited would suffice. When this is not
the case however, it will be necessary to verify the amount through the nonhousehold
member.

If the statements of the household and nonhousehold member differ regarding the amount

of money intended for the household's use, the BPS must resolve the discrepancy and
document the case record.
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12. Other Money Payments

All other direct money payments from any source that can be construed to be a gain or
benefit to the SNAP household, other than monetary gifts for an identifiable one-time
occasion or normal annual occasion.

In verifying unearned income of the household, the following documents or records are generally
available through the applicant:

RSDI award letter (note that changes in Benefit payment check
benefits will not always be reflected)

Unemployment Compensation award letter Pension award notice

Veterans Administration award notice Correspondence on benefits
Income tax records Railroad Retirement award letter
Support and alimony payments evidenced by
court order, divorce or separation papers,
contribution check

Verification from other sources include:

Social Security (Form SSA-1610) Social Security District Office files
VEC - Unemployment Compensation Section | Employer's record

Union records Workers Compensation records
Veterans Administration Insurance company records

Tax records Railroad Retirement Board records
PA case file

F. EXCLUDED INCOME (7 CFR 273.9(b)(5); 273.9(c))
The following income will not count in determining eligibility or benefit level:

1. Repayment of a Prior Overpayment

Repayment of a prior overpayment provided that the income was not excludable elsewhere
in this chapter at the time of the overpayment. This includes:

a. Money withheld from an assistance payment, from earned income, or from any other
income source to repay a prior overpayment received from that income source.

b. Money received from any income sources that the household voluntarily or
involuntarily returns to repay a prior overpayment received from that income source.

Example
A TANF recipient is entitled to a grant of $225.00 but the amount of
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the actual payment is $175.00. The agency withheld $50.00 to repay
a prior overpayment. The overpayment was not the result of the
household's failure to comply with the TANF program requirements.
The net amount received by the TANF recipient is the amount that will
count as income for SNAP purposes.

However, money withheld from an assistance program that results from the
household's failure to comply with the requirements of the other program will count
as income as specified in Part XII.D.

2. Payments Received by the Division of Child Support Enforcement (DCSE)

Payments received and kept by the DCSE on behalf of TANF recipients will not count as
income. Payments redirected to households by the DCSE or supplemented through the
TANF Program will count as income. Payments received by TANF recipients that the
recipient must direct to DCSE as a condition of TANF eligibility will not count as income
even if the household keeps the payments.

3. In-Kind Benefits and Vendor Payments

In-kind benefits and vendor payments are any gains or benefits that are not in the form of
money payable directly to the household.

a. In-Kind Benefits

In-kind benefits are benefits for which no monetary payment occurs on behalf of the
household. These benefits include meals, clothing, housing or produce from a
garden.

b. Vendor Payments

A vendor payment is a money payment made on behalf of a household by a person or
organization outside of the household to a service provider or creditor of the
household. Vendor payments made to a third party on behalf of the household are
included or excluded as income as described below:

1. PA vendor payments, excluding GR vendor payments

Vendor payments from PA programs, other than GR, are excluded as income
if they are made for:

a. Medical assistance;

b. Childcare assistance;
C. Energy assistance;

d. Emergency assistance;
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e. Special and emergency assistance, not specifically excluded by other
provisions of this section, made over and above the normal grant; or

f. Emergency TANF vendor payments on behalf of a migrant or seasonal
farm worker household while the household is in the job stream.

GR Vendor Payments
Except for some vendor payments for housing, GR vendor payments do not

count as income. A housing vendor payment will count as income unless the
payment is for:

a. Utility costs;

b. Energy assistance;

C. Housing assistance from a state or local housing authority;

d. Special and emergency assistance, not specifically excluded by other

provisions of this section, made over and above the normal grant; or

e. Emergency GR vendor payments on behalf of a migrant or seasonal
farm worker household while the household is in the job stream.

HUD Vendor Payments

Rent or mortgage payments made by the Department of Housing and Urban
Development (HUD) to landlords or mortgagees are excluded. This includes
TANF payments for housing made through HUD.

Educational Assistance Vendor Payments

Educational assistance paid on behalf of households for living expenses are
excluded.

Vendor Payments that are Reimbursements

Vendor payments that are also in the form of reimbursements are excluded.
Demonstration Project Payments

In-kind or vendor payments that would normally not count as income, but
which are converted, in whole or in part, to a direct cash payment under a

federally authorized demonstration project or a waiver of federal law
provisions are excluded.
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7. Other Third-Party Payments

Money which is legally obligated and otherwise payable to the household must
be counted as income and not excluded as vendor payments when they are
diverted to a third party by the provider of the payment for a household
expense. Court-ordered support or alimony payments and wages are
examples of payments that will count as income regardless of diverted
payments to third parties.

4, Infrequent or Irregular Income

Any income in the certification period that is received too infrequently or irregularly to be
reasonably anticipated, but which is not more than $30 in a calendar quarter. This may

include interest payments on bank accounts or other financial instruments if the average
monthly payment is less than $10.00 per month.

5. Loans

All loans. The loan may be from a private individual as well as from a commercial institution.
Verify that money received by the household is a loan if circumstances are questionable as
per Part lll.LA.2. When verifying that income is exempt as a loan, a legally binding agreement
is not required. A simple statement of both parties that indicates that the payment is a loan
and that the household must repay the loan will be sufficient verification. If the household
receives payments on a recurrent or regular basis from the same source however, but claims
the payments are loans, the BPS may also require that the lender provide a statement that
addresses that repayments are being made or that payments will be made according to an
established repayment schedule.

6. Reimbursements

Reimbursement on past or future expenses, to the extent that:

a. They do not exceed actual expenses.

b. They do not represent a gain or benefit to the household.

Reimbursements for normal household living expenses, such as rent or mortgage, personal
clothing, or food eaten at home are a gain or benefit, and, therefore, are not excluded. To
exclude this money, these payments must be for an identified expense, other than normal
living expenses, and the recipient must use the money for the purpose intended.

When a reimbursement covers multiple expenses, including a flat allowance, it is not
necessary to identify each expense separately if none of the reimbursement covers normal
living expenses.

The amount by which a reimbursement exceeds the actual incurred expense will count as

income. It is not necessary to consider whether reimbursements exceed actual expenses
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unless the provider or the household indicates the amount is excessive. This applies to
anticipated expenses as well as past expenses for which reimbursement covers.

Jury duty pay may count as a reimbursement if it meets the criteria of this section.
Examples of reimbursements that do not represent a gain or benefit to the household are:
a. Reimbursement or flat allowances for job or training related expenses, such as:

1) Travel

2) Per diem

3) Uniforms

4) Transportation to and from the job or training site, including reimbursements
for the travel expenses incurred by migrant workers.

b. Reimbursements for out-of-pocket expenses of volunteers incurred in the course of
their work.

C. Medical reimbursements.

d. Dependent care reimbursements.

e. Reimbursements received by households to pay for services provided by Title XX of

the Social Security Act.

7. Third Party Funds

Monies received and used for the care and maintenance of a third-party beneficiary who is not
a household member. If the intended beneficiaries of a single payment are both household and
nonhousehold members, any identifiable portion of the payment intended and used for the care
and maintenance of the nonhousehold member will not count. If the nonhousehold member's
portion cannot be readily identified, the payment will be evenly prorated among intended
beneficiaries and the exclusion applied to the nonhousehold member's pro rata share or the
amount used for the nonhousehold member's care and maintenance, whichever is less. The
term nonhousehold member refers both to persons residing with the SNAP household but
considered nonhousehold members according to the provisions of Part VI.C and persons who
do not reside with the SNAP household.

Examples

a. Ms. X is payee for Social Security benefits for two children who do not
live with her. The check totals $200. Ms. X gives the children's guardian
$100. In addition, she deposits $25 in a savings account for the children
and spends the remaining $75 on items for the children.
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Ms. X has no income assigned from this source. The BPS must count
$200 to the children's household. If Ms. X could not account for any
portion of the $200, that portion would count as income to her.

b. Ms. Y receives child support for her two children. One child does not live
with her. The father sends $200 ($100 prorated for each child). Ms. Y
sends $150 to the child who is not in her home.

The income for Ms. Y's household is $100. The second child's income is
$150 ($100 child support and a contribution of $50 from the mother).

C. Ms. Z and her four children receive a TANF check of $300. The oldest
child is in Job Corps in another city, so the SNAP unit excludes this child.
Ms. Z sends the child $50 a month from the TANF check to cover his
living expenses.

The child's prorated share of the TANF check is $300 divided by 5 = $60.
The mother sends $50. The lesser amount, $50, is excluded income in
the SNAP calculation.

d. Household A requests the inclusion of children who reside in Household
B part of the month. A member of Household A pays child support to
Household B for one or more of these children. Household B uses that
income to pay household and the children’s personal expenses. The
child support will not count as income to Household A but would count
toward Household B if that household applies for SNAP benefits.

8. Earnings of Children

The earned income of children who are under age 18 and who attend elementary or high
school, or who attend GED classes that are operated, supervised, or recognized by the local
school board are excluded. This exclusion also applies to participants of elementary or high
school level home-school programs that are approved by the local school superintendent as
meeting the state’s home-school law. The children must also be:

a. Certified with a natural, adoptive or step-parent, or
b. Under the control of a household member other than a parent, as defined in Part
VI.A.2.b.

This exclusion will continue to apply during temporary interruptions in school attendance due
to semester or vacation breaks, provided the child's enrollment will resume following the
break. If the child's earnings or amount of work performed cannot be differentiated from that
of other household members, the total earnings must be divided equally among the working
members and the child's pro rata share excluded.

This exclusion will end the month following the month in which the child turns 18 and the
money becomes countable.
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10.

11.

Lump Sum Payments

Monies received in the form of a nonrecurring lump sum payment, including but not limited
to:

a. Income tax refunds, rebates or credits;

b. Retroactive lump sum Social Security, public assistance, Railroad Retirement
benefits or other payments;

C. Lump sum insurance settlements;
d. Refunds of security deposits on rental property or utilities.

e. Accumulated vacation, sick, or severance pay of terminated employees received in a
lump sum;

f. Gambling winnings;
g. Monetary gifts for identifiable one-time occasions or normal annual occasions; and
h. Retroactive SSI payments even when received in multiple installments.

These payments will count as resources in the month received unless specifically excluded
from consideration as a resource by other federal laws. The fact that the household or
agency can anticipate a lump sum payment does not affect the exclusion as income.

Irregular unemployment compensation benefits will not count as lump sum payments
although they may include amounts intended to cover prior periods.

Irregular support payments generally will not count as lump sum payments. The TANF
disregarded support payment received for a prior period and support payments made
through one-time payments such as the withholding of federal or state tax refunds will count
as a lump sum resource, however. The disregarded incentive support payment will be for a
prior period if the entitlement date is two or more months prior to the check date. This
exclusion does not include the TANF monthly supplement payment received for the prior
month.

Self-Employment Expenses

The cost of producing self-employment income. The procedures for computing the cost of
producing self-employment income are described in Part XII.A.5 and 9.

Exclusion by Law

Income specifically excluded by federal law from consideration as income in determining
SNAP eligibility or benefits. This includes:
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a. Reimbursements from the Uniform Relocation Assistance and Real Property

Acquisition Policy Act of 1970 (P.L. 91-646, Section 216).

b. All compensation received under the Alaska Native Claims Settlement Act and
amendments (P.L. 92-203 and 100-241).

C. Payments to volunteers under programs covered by the Domestic Volunteer
Services Act of 1973, as amended (P.L. 93-113). This includes:

- Title | - Payments to VISTA volunteers if the volunteers were receiving SNAP
benefits or public assistance when they joined the Title | program. This also
includes payments to VISTA volunteers if the payment is less than the federal
minimum wage.

- Title Il - This includes the Retired Senior Volunteer Program, Foster
Grandparents, and the Senior Companion Program.

d. Payments from programs funded in whole or in part under the Workforce Innovation
and Opportunity Act (WOIA), except for on-the-job training programs funded through
the WOIA. Payments from on-the-job training programs under this section are
considered countable earned income, except for persons under 19 who are under
parental control of a household member. For such individuals, the on-the-job WOIA
payments are excluded.

This exclusion includes projects conducted under the National and Community
Services Act, Americorps, and the Summer Youth Employment and Training
Program, as if the projects were conducted under the WOIA. Payments made under
the Youthbuild Program through the Housing and Community Development Act must
also be treated like WOIA payments (P.L. 97-300, 99-198, 101-610, 102-367, 102-
550).

e. Payments from the Community Service Employment Program under Title V of the
Older Americans Act (P.L. 100-175). Some organizations that receive Title V funds
are:

- Experience Works (formerly Green Thumb)
- National Council on Aging

- National Council on Black Aging

- American Association of Retired Persons

- U.S. Forest Service

- National Association for Spanish Speaking Elderly
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- National Urban League
- National Council of Senior Citizens

Payments from private nonprofit charitable organizations, not more than $300 per
fiscal quarter, which are not already excluded as a lump sum resource. Any amount
over the $300 limit is counted as unearned income (P.L. 100-232).

Payments under the Wartime Relocation of Civilians Act to certain U.S. citizens of
Japanese ancestry and resident Japanese aliens and certain Aleuts (P.L. 100-383).

Payments from the Agent Orange Settlement Fund or any other fund established for
settlement of Agent Orange product liability litigation (P.L. 101-201 and P.L. 101-
239.)

Payments to veterans with a service-connected disability resulting from Agent
Orange exposure are countable (P.L. 102-4).

Payments under the Disaster Relief Act of 1974, as amended, and the Disaster
Relief and Emergency Assistance amendments of 1988. The President must
declare the event a federal disaster or emergency. The exclusion applies to federal
payments and comparable disaster assistance provided by States, local
governments and disaster assistance organizations (P.L. 100-707).

Payments through the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) to property
owners under the National Flood Insurance Act of 1968 to reduce risks of flood
damage are excluded.

Most payments from FEMA are excluded, but payments made when there is no
declared disaster or emergency, such as rent assistance for the homeless
household, are not excluded.

The value of any childcare provided, arranged, or reimbursed under the Social
Security Act through the block grant childcare program (Section 6585, P.L. 102-586,
as amended).

Earned income tax credits (P.L. 101-508).

Salary reductions for military personnel which are used to fund the Gl bill (P.L. 99-
576).

The following payments to Indian tribes:

- Income from certain submarginal land of the U.S. which is held in trust for
certain Indian tribes (P.L. 94-114, Section 6).

- Income from the disposition of funds to the Grand River Band of Ottawa
Indians (P.L. 94-540).
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- Payments by the Indian Claims Commission to the Confederated Tribes and
Bands of Yakima Indian Nation and the Apache Tribe of the Mescalero
Reservation (P.L. 95-433, Section 2).

- Payments from the Maine Indian Claims Settlement Act of 1980 to the
Passamaquoddy Tribe, the Penobscot Nation, and the Houlton Band of
Maliseet (P.L. 96-420, Section 9c).

- Payments of relocation assistance to members of the Navajo and Hopi Tribes
(P.L. 93-531, Section 22).

- Per capita payments of up to $2,000 per calendar year under the Indian
Judgment Fund Act as amended (P.L. 93-134 and 97-458).

- Payments to the Chippewa Tribes: Turtle Mountain, Red Lake, Mississippi,
Lake Superior, Saginaw, or White Earth (P.L. 97-403, 98-123, 99-146, 99-
264, 99-346, and 99-377).

- Payments to the Blackfeet, Grosventre, and Papago Tribes (P.L. 97-408).

- Payments to the Assiniboine Tribes (P.L. 98-124, Section 5 and 97-408).

- Payments to the Seneca Nation (P.L. 101-503).

- Payments to the Puyallup Tribe (P.L. 101-41).

- Payments to the Sac and Fox Tribes (P.L. 94-189).

- Payments, except for per capita payments over $2000, to the Seminole
Nation of Oklahoma, the Seminole Tribe of Florida, the Miccosukee Tribe of

Florida, and the independent Seminole Tribe of Florida (P.L. 101-277).

- Payments made under the Confederated Tribes of the Colville Reservation
Grand Coulee Dam Settlement Act (P.L. 103-436).

n. Payments under the Radiation Exposure Compensation Act (P.L. 101-426).

0. Contributions of an SSI recipient into a Plan for Achieving Self Support (PASS)
account (PL 102-237).

p. Payments for meals for children or adults on whose behalf the payment is made
through the Child and Adult Care Food Program, Section 12(a) of the School Lunch
Act.

q. Payments to individuals because of their status as victims of Nazi persecution (P.L.
103-286).
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12.

13.

14.

15.

16.

r. Payments through the Department of Veteran Affairs to children of Vietham veterans
who are born with congenital spina bifida and payments to children of female
Vietnam veterans who are born with certain birth defects (P.L. 104-204 and P.L. 106-
419).

S. Money contributed to Achieving a Better Life Experience (ABLE) accounts or money
distributed from such accounts for disability-related expenses are excluded as
income. ABLE accounts are set up for persons determined to be disabled before
age 26.

Government Subsidies for Housing and Energy/Utility Payments

Payments or allowances made for housing, energy assistance or utility payments under any
federal, state or local government program will not count. This includes payments received
from the Low-Income Home Energy Assistance Program (Virginia Energy Assistance
Program), HUD and FmHA utility payments.

Shared Shelter Arrangements

In some situations, SNAP households may share shelter expenses with others. Money may
exchange hands between the units to facilitate bill paying. This exchange of money for the
purposes of bill paying in a shared shelter arrangement is not considered income to the
person receiving it. Each household is entitled to its share of the shelter expenses.

Allow the household to describe/define the arrangements. Allow each household to claim its
portion of the shelter costs if the arrangement is for the purpose of splitting living costs as
opposed to a rental arrangement where one household elects to charge another household
for shelter costs.

Note: This policy does not replace the roomer/boarder and rental property situations.

Funds Deposited in an Individual Development Account (IDA) or HUD Escrow Account

Money deposited in an IDA on behalf of a household member will not count as income nor
money deposited in an escrow account established by HUD.

VIEW Supportive Services Payments

Payments made directly or indirectly to household members for supportive services through
VIEW will not count as income. This exclusion does not include VIEW Transitional
Payments.

Educational Benefits

Money received for educational purposes. These payments include, among others,
scholarships, grants, educational loans, veteran’s educational benefits, and work-study.
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17.

G.

Legally Obligated Child Support Payments

Child support payments paid by a household member to an individual or agency outside the
household are allowable as an income exclusion. Payments to a third party on behalf of a
child, including payments to obtain health insurance for the child, in accordance with the
support order, will also be included in the income exclusion. An income exclusion for
amounts paid toward arrearages are allowable. Administrative fees charged by an employer
to collect support through wages are allowable.

The legal obligation to pay child support, the amount of support obligated, and the amount of
support actually paid must be verified before the income exclusion is allowed. The
allowable income exclusion may not exceed the monthly obligated amount unless the
amount paid includes an amount in arrears.

The child support exclusion may not include alimony or spousal support payments made to
or for a nonhousehold member.

INCOME OF EXCLUDED HOUSEHOLD MEMBERS (7 CFR 273.9(b)(3); 273.11(d))

Individual household members may be disqualified from receiving SNAP benefits or may be
ineligible to participate. See Part VI.C for a discussion of nonhousehold members. See Part XII.E
for a discussion of how to handle the income of a disqualified household member to the remaining
members.

For excluded household members who are ineligible rather than disqualified, such as ineligible
students, the income of the ineligible member is not considered available to the household. Any
cash payments from the ineligible member to the household must be considered income under the
normal income standards described in this manual. If the household shares deductible expenses
with the ineligible member, only the amount actually paid or contributed by the eligible members is
allowed as an expense. If these payments or contributions cannot be differentiated, the expenses
must be prorated evenly among the persons paying or contributing to the expense and only the
eligible members’ pro rata share deducted.

When the earned income of one or more household members and the earned income of an
ineligible member are combined into one wage, the income of the household members must be
determined as follows:

If the household's share can be identified, count that portion due to the household as earned
income.

If the household's share is not identifiable, prorate the earned income among those it was
intended to cover and count the prorated portion to the household.
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A. SELF-EMPLOYMENT INCOME

1. Definition

Self-employment income includes:

a.

The total gross income from a self-employment enterprise. Self-employment income
also includes the total gain from the sale of any capital goods or equipment related to
the business.

Farm income. Income from farming will be that income derived from activities such
as:

1) the production and sale of crops and livestock for food;
2) the raising of livestock to produce items such as eggs, wool, milk, etc.; and
3) the production and sale of tobacco, cotton and other non-food crops.

Payments from roomers and boarders.
Income from rental property. (See Part XI.C.2 and E.6.)

The BPS must assess the business structure of self-employment arrangements to
determine if the business is incorporated and the number of business owners.
Income from business arrangements that are not incorporated must be calculated as
described in this chapter and divided over the number of business owners. Income
from business arrangements that are incorporated must be handled as
wages/salaries (Part XI.C.1), not self-employment income. Note that limited liability
companies (LLC) are not incorporated so the income is considered as self-
employment. See Part IX.C.3 for a discussion of business resource assessments for
SNAP purposes.

2. Averaging of Self-Employment Income (7 CFR 273.11(a))

All self-employment income is calculated in the same manner described below, except
income from boarders not residing in a commercial boarding house. Instructions for
computing this type of income are described in Part XII.B.

a.

Self-employment income which represents a household's annual support must be
annualized over a 12-month period, even if the income is received in a shorter period
of time. For example, income from a farmer's crop that represents the farmer's
annual support must be averaged over a 12-month period, even though the income
is received in a shorter time frame. In addition, self-employment income that
represents a household's annual support must be annualized even if the household
has income from other sources.
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Note: It may be difficult to determine if self-employment income represents a
household's annual support when the household has income from other
sources. Consider other factors, in addition to the household's statement, to
indicate how long the household could sustain itself on such income. Factors
include, but are not be limited to, the previous year's business and personal
expenses, tax records, anticipated expenses for the current year, income
expected to be received from other sources during the coming year, and so
on. These factors, when compared with the income from seasonal self-
employment, should provide a basis for making a determination about how
long the income is intended to support the household.

For example, if the previous year's expenses were proportionate to the
household's income from self-employment, it could be an indication that the
income would sustain the household for a year; therefore, the household's
income should be annualized. If expenses were not proportionate with the
income, it might be determined that such income could not sustain the
household for a year; therefore, income should be averaged over the period
of time the income is intended to cover.

b. Self-employment income received on a monthly basis but representing a household's
annual support must normally be averaged over a 12-month period. Examples of
this type of self-employment includes most small businesses, such as grocers, or
some farmers. If the averaged amount does not accurately reflect the household's
true monthly circumstances because of a substantial increase or decrease in
business, the self-employment income must be calculated based on anticipated
earnings.

C. Self-employment income that does not represent a household's annual support must
be averaged over the period of time the income is intended to cover. This type of
seasonal self-employment includes vendors who receive their income in the summer
or during the tourist season and supplement it through another source during the rest
of the year.

d. Households with newly formed enterprises that have been in existence less than a
year must have their self-employment income averaged over the amount of time the
business has been in operation, and the monthly amount projected for the coming
year. If the business has been in operation for such a short time that there is
insufficient information to make a reasonable projection, a certification period should
be assigned which allows for a timely review of the household's circumstances.

If a household farming for the first year has not yet received its first income, or an
established farming household has not yet realized a change in income due to a
change in the amount or type of crops raised, the BPS should not anticipate the
amount of the expected income from the new crop when determining the
household's income.
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3. Determining Monthly Income from Self-Employment (7CFR 273.11(a)(2))

a. For the period over which self-employment income is determined, the BPS must:

1) Add all gross self-employment income, including capital gains, for the period
of time over which income is determined.

2) Subtract the cost of producing the self-employment income (See Part
XI.A.5.)
3) Divide the remaining self-employment income by the number of months over

which the income will be averaged.

b. When self-employment income is not averaged but is calculated on an anticipated
basis, the BPS must:

1) Determine any capital gains the household anticipates receiving during the
period over which the income is averaged which is likely to be the certification
period.

2) Divide the amount by 12 (use this amount in successive certification periods

during the next 12 months unless the anticipated amount of capital gains
changes. If this should occur, a new average monthly amount must be
calculated.)

3) Add anticipated monthly amount of capital gains to anticipated monthly self-
employment income.

4) Subtract the cost of producing the self-employment income. The cost of
producing the self-employment income will be calculated by anticipating the
monthly allowable costs of producing the income.

If obtaining verification of the cost of doing business will delay the household's certification,
the BPS must advise the household that the household's eligibility and benefit level may be
determined without providing a deduction for these costs. If these costs or a portion of them
cannot be verified within 30 days of the date of application, the BPS must determine the
household's eligibility and benefit level without providing a deduction for the unverified
portion. The household must be given at least 10 days to provide the verification. For initial
applications and reapplications, if the household would be ineligible unless these unverified
costs are allowed, the household will have an additional 30 days to take the required action.
Action must be taken on recertification applications as allowed by the verification time
frames described in Part IV.C 4.

One or more payments to farmers from the Disaster Assistance Act of 1988 must be
counted as earned income. These payments, made to farmers who are adversely affected
by a drought, are given for crop losses or to buy feed grain. This income is considered a
replacement for income lost because of a drought, and for self-employed farmers, the
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income must be processed using normal annualizing procedures for self-employment
income. Since the payment is counted as income, it is excluded as a resource

4. Capital Gains (7 CFR 273.11(a)(3))

The proceeds from the sale of capital goods or equipment are calculated in the same
manner as a capital gain for federal income tax purposes. Even if only 50% of the proceeds
from the sale of capital goods is taxed, the BPS must count the full amount of the capital
gain as income for SNAP purposes.

Example

Farmer A purchased a tractor for $3,000. Over a period of 10 years, he claimed
$3,000 in depreciation on the tractor. After 10 years, he sold the tractor for $1,000.
For income tax purposes, the transaction appears as follows:

Purchase price $3,000
Depreciation claim 3,000
Purchase base 0
Sale price $1,000
Reported as gross x 50%
Taxable income $ 500

For SNAP purposes, the entire proceeds or $1,000 would be included as gross
income.

5. Allowable Costs of Producing Self-Employment Income (7 CFR 271.11(a)(4))

Allowable costs of producing self-employment income include, but are not limited to, the

following:
a. the identifiable costs of labor, stock, raw material, seed and fertilizer.
b. payments on the principal of the purchase price of income producing real estate and

capital assets, equipment, machinery and other durable goods or on the principal for
improvements to real estate.

C interest paid to purchase income producing property, capital assets, equipment,
machinery, and other durable goods.

d. insurance premiums paid on income producing property.

e. taxes paid on income producing property.

f. costs of repairs to property needed for general maintenance.
g. identifiable shelter costs needed for the business enterprise.
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For households whose mortgage payments represent an investment in the
household's residence as well as an investment in income producing property, the
mortgage payment, interest, and taxes will be deductible only as part of the
household's shelter costs and not as a cost of producing income. If the household
can document, however, that costs on that portion of the home used in the self-
employment enterprise are separate and identifiable, payments on the mortgage
principal, taxes, interest, and other identifiable costs may be deducted as a cost of
doing business.

6. Costs Not Allowed (7 CFR 273.11(a)(4)(ii))

The following items are not deductible as a cost of doing business:

a. net losses from previous periods.

b. federal, state, and local income taxes.

C. money set aside for retirement purposes.

d. other work-related personal expenses, such as transportation to and from work.
e. depreciation.

NOTE: "b", "c", and "d" are included in the 20% earned income deduction.

7. Allowable Costs of Producing Income for Day Care Providers

When day care is provided in the home of a member of one household to children other than
those living in the same SNAP household, an allowance must be made for the cost of meals
and snacks that are provided. The allowance is as follows, unless the provider documents
actual costs that exceed these amounts:

Breakfast - $1.66 per meal; Lunch or Supper - $3.15 per meal; Snacks - $.93 per meal.
Money paid to day care providers under Section 12 of the School Lunch Act to serve meals

to children, other than their own, is countable. Allowable business costs, as described
above, are given.

8. Net Loss from Farm or Fishing Operations (7 CFR 273.11(a)(2)(iii))

Self-employed farmers, as defined in Part XII.A.1.b, and self-employed fishermen may have
a net loss once allowable costs of doing business are deducted from gross farm income. If
the farmer or fisherman receives annual gross proceeds of $1,000 or more from the farming
or fishing enterprise, any net loss amount must be prorated over the year in the same
manner used to prorate the farm or fishing income. Losses from farm or fishing self-
employment enterprises are offset in two phases. The first phase is offsetting against non-
farm or fishing self-employment income. The second phase is offsetting against the total of
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earned and unearned income. The gross income eligibility standard is applied after
offsetting. The earned income deduction is based on wages and salaries, and any income
from self-employment remaining after the first phase of offsetting.

9. Depreciation

Depreciation is not allowed as a cost of producing self-employment income for equipment,
machinery or other capital investments necessary to the self-employment enterprise.

B. BOARDERS (7 CFR 273.11(b))

The income of households owning and operating a commercial boarding house is handled as self-
employment income under Part XII.A.2 and 3. A commercial boarding house is an establishment
licensed as a commercial enterprise that offers meals and lodging for compensation. In localities
without licensing requirements, a boarding house is a commercial establishment that offers meals
and lodging for compensation with the intent of making a profit. The number of boarders residing in
a boarding house is not used to determine if a boarding house is a commercial enterprise.

For all other households containing boarders, the income from the boarders must be calculated
following the procedures in this chapter. See Part VI.B. to determine boarder status.

1. Income from the Boarder

The income from boarders must include all direct payments to the household for room and
meals, including payments to the household for part of the shelter expenses. Shelter
expenses paid by boarders directly to someone outside the household (such as a landlord
or utility company) are not counted as income to the household.

2. Cost of Doing Business

To determine the net amount of countable income from a boarder the BPS must deduct the
cost of doing business from the gross monthly income figure.

The cost of doing business is equal to one of the following:

a. The maximum SNAP benefit amount for the number of boarders If the boarders are
provided more than two meals per day; or,

b. Two-thirds of the maximum SNAP benefit amount for the number of boarders If the
boarders are provided two meals or less per day; or,

C. The actual documented costs for providing room and meals, if they are higher than
the appropriate SNAP benefit amount.

The allowable cost of doing business may never exceed the amount the household receives
from the boarder. If actual costs are used, only separate and identifiable costs of providing
rooms and meals to the boarders are allowed.

TRANSMITTAL #35



VIRGINIA DEPARTMENT

OF SOCIAL SERVICES SPECIAL INCOME DETERMINATIONS
10/24 VOLUME V, PART XII, PAGE 7
3. Earned Income Deduction

The 20% earned income deduction as defined in Part X.A.2, will be allowed for all income
from boarders. The net boarder payment must be added to all other earned income before
allowing the 20% deduction.

C. SPONSORED IMMIGRANTS (7 CFR 273.4(c))

Affected Groups

All immigrants granted U.S. visas based on family connections and some employment-based
immigrants must have a sponsor in order to obtain permanent residency. The sponsor must
execute an affidavit of support on behalf of the immigrant to demonstrate financial
responsibility for the immigrant.

This chapter applies to persons who file visa applications on or after December 19, 1997, and
for persons who file for an adjustment of status on or after December 19, 1997.

Individual sponsors must document that they have the capacity to financially support and
maintain an immigrant, generally at 125 percent of the federal poverty level. The sponsor
must execute a legally enforceable affidavit of support, INS Form 864, on behalf of each
immigrant. The sponsorship affidavit also requires an agreement to reimburse agencies for
any means-tested public benefits obtained by the sponsored immigrant.

The BPS must evaluate the provisions of this chapter for immigrants who are eligible for
SNAP benefits as permanent resident immigrants with 40 quarters of work credited to them
(Part VII.LF.1.f.) and for permanent residents who are conditionally eligible for SNAP benefits if
they meet a qualified status (Part VII.F.2.).

Exemptions

The provisions of this chapter do not apply to the following groups:

. Immigrants without sponsors. This group includes persons who entered the United
States without an individual sponsor who signed a legally binding affidavit of support.
These immigrants include refugees, asylees, persons whose deportation is withheld,
Amerasians and Cuban/Haitian entrants. Note, however, that this exemption does not
include Haitian entrants who gain lawful permanent resident status through the Haitian
Family Reunification Parole Program if a sponsor executes an affidavit of support.

. Immigrants whose sponsors signed affidavits of support before December 19, 1997 or
persons whose sponsors have not signed a legally enforceable affidavit of support.

. Immigrant children under 18 years of age.
. Immigrants who would be indigent without SNAP benefits or other public assistance in
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that the household’s income, including any assistance from the sponsor, is insufficient
to provide food or shelter. Indigence here means that the household's own income
and any direct cash or in-kind contribution from the sponsor or others do not exceed
the gross income level for the household's size. The only income the BPS may deem
from the sponsor for a 12-month renewable period is the amount the sponsor provides
if the immigrant is indigent. The BPS must report the immigrant and sponsor’s names
to the USCIS if an immigrant is determined to be indigent.

This exemption will last for one year from the date of the indigence determination.
The BPS may renew the indigence determination for additional 12-month periods.

Before determining indigence, the BPS must explain the determination and reporting
requirements to the household or representative. If the household elects not to
proceed, the BPS must explain the consequences of this action and of being a
“nonapplicant,” as addressed in Part II.B. The BPS must not report the names of the
sponsored immigrant or sponsor to the USCIS in this instance.

An immigrant determined to be a battered spouse, child or parent or subject to
extreme cruelty in the U.S. The person must be living separately from the batterer.
This exemption covers any 12-month period. The exemption may be extended for
additional 12-month periods if the immigrant shows that a court, administrative order
or the USCIS recognizes the battery and if the BPS determines the battery has a
substantial connection to the receipt of SNAP benéefits.

1. Computing the Countable Income of Sponsors

A portion of the monthly income of the sponsor and the sponsor's spouse, if he or she
executed the affidavit of support, must be considered in determining the eligibility and
benefit level of the household of which a sponsored immigrant is a member. The BPS must
make the determination as follows:

a.

b.

Calculate the earned income of the sponsor and the sponsor's spouse.
Deduct the 20% earned income deduction from this amount.

Add the unearned income of the sponsor and the sponsor's spouse.

Deduct the gross income eligibility limit for the size of the sponsor's household
including any person who is claimed or could be claimed by the sponsor or the

sponsor's spouse as a dependent for federal income tax purposes.

The remainder is the countable income for the sponsored immigrant for SNAP
purposes.

If the immigrant has already reported gross income information about the sponsor for the
sponsored alien rules for TANF, that income amount may be used for SNAP purposes.
Allowable deductions are limited to the 20% earned income deduction and the SNAP gross
monthly income amount stated above.
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If a sponsored immigrant can demonstrate to the satisfaction of the BPS that the sponsor is
responsible for other immigrants, the income deemed here must be divided by the number
of sponsored immigrants. The process described here to arrive at the deemed income must
also be used to exclude the amount for a sponsored immigrant or citizen child.

Money paid to the immigrant by the sponsor (or the sponsor's spouse) will not count as
income unless the amount paid exceeds the amount attributed to the immigrant under Part

XIl.C.1.a.
Exampes

. Sponsor’s income attributed to immigrant $100
Amount paid directly to the immigrant by
the sponsor for an "odd job" $ 60
This $60.00 amount will not count as income to the immigrant’s household.

. Sponsor income attributed to immigrant $100
Amount paid directly to the immigrant by
the sponsor for an "odd job" $120
The $20.00 over the $100 attributed income is countable income to the
immigrant’s household.

2. Computing Countable Resources of Sponsors

Resources of the sponsor and the sponsor's spouse count towards the immigrant
household. The total amount of the sponsor’s and spouse’s nonexempt resources must be
reduced by $1500. If a sponsored immigrant can demonstrate to the satisfaction of the BPS
that the sponsor is responsible for other immigrants, the resources counted here must be
divided by the number of sponsored immigrants that apply for or are receiving SNAP
benefits. Exclude the amount that would be attributed to a sponsored immigrant or citizen
child.

3. Termination of the Sponsor’s Obligation

The evaluation and use of the income and resources of the sponsor and spouse of the
sponsor must continue toward the SNAP eligibility and benefit level of the immigrant until the
immigrant becomes a U.S. citizen. The evaluation of the sponsor’s obligation will also
terminate when the immigrant can be credited with 40 quarters of work coverage, provided
the immigrant received no public benefits for any quarter beginning January 1997. (See
Part VII.F. for a discussion of qualifying quarters of work.)

Other conditions that will cause the sponsor’s support obligation to end are the death of
either the sponsored immigrant or the sponsor, or instances when the immigrant leaves the
country or no longer holds permanent resident status.

4. Responsibilities of the Sponsored Immigrant

The immigrant is responsible for the following:
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a. obtaining the cooperation of the sponsor;
b. providing information or documentation necessary to calculate the countable income

and resources of the sponsor at application and recertification; and,

C. providing the names or other identifying information about immigrants for whom the
sponsor has signed an agreement to support to enable the BPS to determine how
many of these sponsored immigrants applied for or are receiving SNAP benefits so
that the sponsor’s attributed income and resources can be divided by the number of
such immigrants.

If information about other immigrants for whom the sponsor is responsible is not
provided, the income and resource amounts will be attributed to the immigrant in
their entirety until the information is provided.

The immigrant is also responsible for:

. reporting the required information about the sponsor and sponsor's spouse if a
different sponsor is obtained during the certification period; and,

. reporting a change in income should the sponsor or the sponsor's spouse
changes or loses employment, or dies during the certification period. These
changes must be handled according to the timeliness standards in Parts XIV.A.

The household is primarily responsible for obtaining the information or verification
needed to determine the sponsor’s or spouse’s income and resources but, the BPS
must provide assistance as required by Part I11.B.

5. Reimbursement Procedures

After SNAP benefits are issued to a sponsored immigrant, the BPS must pursue collection
of the total amount of benefits issued. The BPS may lump together the amount of all public
benefits issued by the local department instead of pursuing separate collections for each

program. Legal and other collection costs may be included in the reimbursement requests.

The BPS must exclude any sponsor who is receiving SNAP benefits from the
reimbursement procedures.

The request for reimbursement must be sent to the sponsor by personal service and must
include the following:

a. Date of the sponsor’s affidavit or support;
b. Sponsored immigrant’s name;
C. Immigrant’s registration number;

TRANSMITTAL #35



VIRGINIA DEPARTMENT

OF SOCIAL SERVICES SPECIAL INCOME DETERMINATIONS
10/24 VOLUME V, PART XII, PAGE 11
d. Address of the immigrant;
e. Immigrant’s date of birth;
f. Type of public benefit received;
g. Date(s) benefits received; and,
h. Total amount of benefits received.

The request for reimbursement must advise the sponsor to respond within 45 days of the
request by paying the requested amount or by arranging a payment plan that is satisfactory
to the BPS.

If the sponsor does not respond to the reimbursement request, the BPS may file a civil suit
against the sponsor at the end of the 45-day period. If a final judgment is obtained against
the sponsor, the BPS must mail a certified copy of the judgment and a cover letter
containing the reference “Civil Judgment for Congressional Report - 213A(i)(3)IIRIRA” to:

United States Citizenship and Immigration Services
Statistics Branch

425 | Street NW

Washington, D.C. 20536

The BPS must send any reimbursement payments for SNAP benefits and a copy of the
reimbursement request letter to:

U.S. Department of Agriculture
Food and Nutrition Service
Mid-Atlantic Regional Office
P.O. Box 953772

St. Louis, MO 63195-3772

The BPS must send a copy of the reimbursement request letter and reimbursement check
to:

U.S. Department of Agriculture
Food and Nutrition Service
Mid-Atlantic Regional Office
300 Corporate Boulevard
Robbinsville, NJ 08691-1598

Note that while a sponsor’s obligation may be terminated for conditions noted in Section b.
above, that termination does not relieve the sponsor or the sponsor’s estate of the
obligation to reimburse programs for the issuance of public benefits provided before the
support agreement terminated.
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Efforts to collect amounts issued to sponsored immigrants through the Supplemental
Nutrition Assistance Program or other means-tested public benefits must be made within 10
years of the date of the last issuance.

6. Awaiting Verification

If the information necessary to determine the amount of the sponsor’s or sponsor’s spouse’s
income and resources attributed to the immigrant, is not received or verified in a timely
manner, the sponsored immigrant will be ineligible until all necessary facts are obtained. In
addition, if questions arise about whether an immigrant has a sponsor, the date of entry, or
the date of the adjustment of status, such questions must be resolved before SNAP
eligibility can be established for the immigrant. The eligibility of any remaining household
members must be determined. The income and resources of the ineligible immigrant
(excluding the attributable income and resources of the alien's sponsor and sponsor's
spouse) must be treated in the same manner as a disqualified member as set forth in Parts
XI.G and XII.E, and considered available in determining the eligibility and benefit level of the
remaining household members.

If the sponsored immigrant refuses to cooperate in providing and/or verifying needed
information, other adult members of the immigrant’s household will be responsible for
providing and/or verifying the information required. If the household refuses to cooperate in
this regard, the entire household is ineligible. If the information or verification is
subsequently received, the BPS must act on the information as a reported change in
household membership as required by the timeliness standards in Part XIV.A.

If the same sponsor is responsible for the entire household, the entire household will be
ineligible until the needed sponsor information is provided and/or verified.

D. HOUSEHOLDS WITH A DECREASE IN INCOME DUE TO FAILURE TO COMPLY WITH
ANOTHER PROGRAM’'S RULES

SNAP benefits must not be increased when a household’s benefits from another means-tested,
publicly funded program are reduced, terminated, or suspended because of a failure to comply with
that program’s requirements. Changes that are not related to the penalty imposed by the other
program must continue to be reflected in the SNAP benefit amount, including adding household
members who may be barred from receiving benefits from other public assistance programs. The
public assistance income, as a penalty, must not be counted in the calculation of SNAP benefits if
the public assistance case is closed at the household’s request, failing to sign the VIEW Agreement
of Personal Responsibility or for a reason other than noncompliance, regardless of prior case
actions that may have been taken due to noncompliance.

1. For federal, state, or local public assistance programs, such as TANF or GR-Unattached
Child, failure to comply will be determined to exist after it has been established that policy
exemptions and good cause provisions, if appropriate, have not been met. Failure to
comply may also be evidenced by a court conviction for a fraud conviction or a finding
through the ADH process.
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E.

When TANF or GR-Unattached Child benefits are decreased because of the household’s
failure to comply with that program’s requirements, the SNAP benefit amount must be based
on both the actual amount of the TANF or GR-Unattached Child payment and the amount of
the reduction or penalty. The penalty income must be counted as long as the reduced
payment is received. If the PA case is closed, the penalty income must be counted in the
SNAP calculation for a minimum of six months following the closure of the PA case or longer
if the PA case remains under care.

Example

The BPS reduced a household’s TANF grant from $291 to $241 per
month. The reduction occurred because of the household’s failure to
comply with the immunization requirements needed by TANF program
rules. The TANF amount to be used for SNAP purposes is $291.

The penalty amount will no longer count if the household reapplies and is approved again
for TANF or GR-Unattached Child benefits within the six-month period.

Social Security (OASDI) benefits, unemployment compensation and veteran's benefits are
not means-tested programs. If reduced payments occur for these programs because of a
failure to comply, the SNAP benefit amount must be based only on the actual amount of the
payment(s).

HUD payments and SSI are publicly funded and means-tested programs. If reduced
payments occur for these programs because of a failure to comply however, the SNAP
benefit amount must be based only on the actual amount of the check(s), to the extent the
payment is counted as income for SNAP purposes.

DISQUALIFIED INDIVIDUALS OR HOUSEHOLDS (7 CFR 273.11(c))

Individual household members or entire households may be disqualified from receiving SNAP
benefits. The reason for disqualification will affect procedures for calculating income and will affect
the eligibility and benefit level of the remaining household members.

1

Disqualified Individuals — Prorated Income/Deductions
This section applies to disqualified individuals because:

. Failure to obtain or refusal to provide a Social Security Number (Part VII.G);

. An ineligible immigrant (Part VII.F);

o Questionable citizenship (Part VII.F); or

. Ineligible because of time-limited benefits because of the work requirement (Part
XV).

a. Resources — Resources of disqualified individuals count in full to the remaining

household members.

b. Income — Prorate the income of the disqualified individual. Subtract allowable
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exclusions. Divide the income evenly among all household members, including the
disqualified individual. Count all but the disqualified individual’'s portion.

Deductions — Assess who is responsible for an expense or who pays an expense.
Divide the expenses of the disqualified individual evenly among all household
members, including the disqualified individual. Count all but the disqualified
individual’s portion except allow the utility standard in full for households entitled to
the utility standard regardless of who pays heating or cooling expenses.

Provisions allowed here for the disqualified individual do not alter or cancel
provisions of Part X.A when an eligible household member is responsible for or
pays an expense. If an eligible household member is responsible for an expense or
pays the expense, allow the household the entire expense even if the disqualified
individual is also responsible for the expense.

Eligibility and Benefit Level — Do not include the disqualified individual to:

. Assess the resource eligibility limit:

. Assess the income eligibility limit;

. Allow the unlimited shelter deduction if there are no other elderly or disabled
household members;

. Assign the benefit level; or
Assign the standard deduction.

2. Disqualified Individuals — Fully Countable Income/Deductions
This section applies to disqualified individuals because of:

An intentional program violation (Part XVII);

Voluntarily quit a job or reduced work without cause (Part VIII.B)

Fleeing prosecution/imprisonment or in violation of parole or probation
(Part.VI.C.2.e) or

A felony conviction for sexual abuse, sexual assault, or murder (Part VI.C.2.h).

Resources — Resources of disqualified individuals count in full to the remaining
household members.

Income — Income of disqualified individuals count in full to the remaining household
members.

Deductions— Count allowable deductions in their entirety to the remaining
household members.

Eligibility and Benefit Level — Do not include the disqualified individual to:
J Assess the resource eligibility limit:

Assess the income eligibility limit;

Assign the benefit level; or

Assign the standard deduction.

TRANSMITTAL #35



VIRGINIA DEPARTMENT
OF SOCIAL SERVICES SPECIAL INCOME DETERMINATIONS

10/24 VOLUME V, PART XlI, PAGE 15

3. Disqualified Households
Households that contain members who receive lottery or gambling winnings equal to or
greater than the resource limit for elderly or disabled households are ineligible upon receipt
of the money. See Part IX.B. The households will remain ineligible until they reapply for
benefits and meet allowable income and resource eligibility levels. This disqualification will
include categorically eligible households and households with elderly or disabled members.

F. AVERAGING CONTRACT AND SELF-EMPLOYMENT INCOME (7 CFR 273.10(c)(3)(ii))
1. Annualization

Households that derive their annual income by contract or self-employment in a period of
time shorter than one year must have that income averaged over a 12-month period.
Prorating the income over 12 months is appropriate as long as the income from the
contract is not received on an hourly or piecework basis. Provisions of this chapter do not
apply to migrant or seasonal farm workers but may include school employees,
sharecroppers, farmers, and other self-employed households.

Contract income that is not the household’s annual income in that it is intended to meet the
household’s needs for only part of the year must be prorated over the period the income is
intended to cover. The procedures for averaging self-employment income for shorter
periods than 12 months are described in Part XII.A.2.

The statement of an hourly rate of pay in a contract does not necessarily mean the contract
is on an hourly basis and therefore is not to be annualized. If the total amount of annual
income for the contract period can be derived from the information contained in the
contract, or information that is readily available, exclusive of days which may be missed
due to circumstances such as illness or bad weather, the income must be annualized.

Examples

1. A school bus driver's contract states he will receive $7 per hour for 5 hours
per day over the 180-day school year. The school board states the school
year has 180 days. Since a total amount of income can either be derived
from the contract or is readily available (7 x 5 x 180 = $6300 per year), the
total income is annualized.

2. A school cafeteria worker's contract calls for $7 per hour over the school year
of 180 days, but the number of hours available is not indicated. The number
of hours per day varies, and the school board cannot anticipate the number.
The total amount of income for the contract period cannot be derived from
either the contract or other information and, therefore, income is not
annualized.

There may be instances in which a contract is initiated for a partial year after the start of the
normal contract period. In these instances, the income must be prorated over the partial
contract period in the same manner as if the person was hired for the entire contract period.
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Example

A contract for a school employee is entered into in January. The regular
contract period is September - June. Income for SNAP purposes would
normally be prorated from September through August. For this partial year, the
income must be prorated from January through August.

2. Adjustments to Annualized Amounts

In cases where a contract specifies a set amount over the contract period, plus additional
monies of an uncertain amount if additional work is available and done, only the base
contract amount is annualized. Additional monies earned over and above the base contract
are counted as income when they can be anticipated. The BPS must explore with the
household the past receipt of such income and whether the person is receptive and
therefore available for the extra employment. In some instances, the pattern of past receipt
of extra earnings may suggest that such money should be anticipated.

Example

A school bus driver's contractual amount is $6300 per year. However, the
driver can earn an extra $10 per trip driving for special school functions. $6300
divided by 12 equals 525 per month to count as income from the contract.

Suppose in March the client earns an additional $40 driving to basketball
games. He reports receipt of this income to the BPS. No additional money is
expected because no other trips are currently planned and his work history
shows that no special trips occur after the basketball season. The annualized
contract amount of $525 is the only income considered for future months.

In cases where a contract calls for no pay for those days not worked, income averaging over
a 12-month period is still appropriate. If it can be anticipated at the time of certification that
certain days will be missed, the salary for these days should not be counted. Otherwise, the
income calculation is to be based on the maximum salary. The household may then inform
the BPS as days are missed. The average will then be adjusted for the remaining months.

Example

A school bus driver's contract states that he will receive $1250 for the year, but
that he will not be paid for days the school is closed or for days he is sick. When
he applies on March 10, he has already missed three days for snow in the
contract year and he was sick for two days. The contract reads that $10 will be
deducted for each day not worked. The household is certified with income of
$100 per month ($1250 - $50 = $1200 -: 12 = $100.00).

On April 5, the household reports that another two days have been missed
which were not anticipated at the time of certification. The household's SNAP
income is then adjusted to $98.33 ($1200 - $20 = $1180 -: 12 = $98.33). With
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the effective date of the next contract, the maximum income from that contract
will be averaged over the year, less the income for any anticipated absences.

It will also be necessary to adjust the average if the contract amount changes
during the contract period as a result of an increase in salary. As in the
situation above, the average is adjusted for the remaining months of the
annualized period.

Example

A school employee signs a contract that states that he will receive $3600 per
year. The contract runs from September through June. $300 is assigned to
each month in the year, beginning in September. Effective in January, the
employee reports that his salary was increased to $4800 per year. Now,
$400 is assigned to the months remaining in the contract period ($4800 + 12
= $400).

3. Termination of Annualized Income

If no further income from the same source is expected, contract income that has been
annualized is considered terminated as of the last month included in the annualization.

Example

A contract school employee is paid $6,000 over the ten months in the school
year, September through June. She grosses $600 in each of the 10 months.
She does not plan to work for the school board in the next school year.

The BPS annualizes the income over the year September through August and
counts $6,000 + 12 = $500 per month.

Should the employee apply in June, the income is not considered
terminated in June even though June is the last month she receives pay.
The income is terminated in August, the last month included in the
annualization.

Income that is interrupted within the contract period is considered terminated the month the
change in contract employee status occurs.

Example
A school employee stops work in February. The BPS annualized her contract
income and assigned income to the months September through August. The
income will no longer count for February.

Self-employment income that has been annualized is considered terminated as of the month
the person terminates the self-employment enterprise.
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G. WAGES HELD BY AN EMPLOYER

Wages held by an employer at the request of the employee will count as income to the household for
the month the wages would otherwise have been paid by the employer. Wages held by the
employer as a general practice will not count as income to the household even if it is in violation of
law. Held wages will count if the household expects to ask for and receive an advance, or expects to
receive income from wages that the employer previously held as a general practice.

This income will count if the BPS did not previously count the income.

Advances on wages count as income in the month received only if the BPS can reasonably
anticipate the receipt of the income as defined in Part XIII.A.3. Conversely, when an employer
withholds wages to repay an advance that previously counted as income in a SNAP determination,
the wages withheld will not count as income.

H. TRANSITIONAL BENEFITS FOR FORMER TANF RECIPIENTS

Transitional Benefits allow SNAP benefits to continue in a frozen amount for a brief period while
former TANF recipients adjust financially to the loss of the TANF-related income. References to
TANF in this chapter also refer to View Transitional Payments. At any time during the Transitional
Benefits period, the household may reapply and receive regular SNAP benefits. The Transitional
Benefits component does not apply to Diversionary Assistance cases.

1. Transitional Benefits Eligibility

Transitional Benefits will apply to any SNAP case if at least one household member is the
Case Name or Payee for a TANF case that closed. When a TANF case closes, the BPS
must convert the SNAP case to Transitional Benefits unless:

. the SNAP household is ineligible for Transitional Benefits, as listed below;
. the household requests to remain in the regular program; or
° the household requests closure of the SNAP case.

Transitional Benefits will not apply when:

. there is no active case certified to receive SNAP benefits at the time of the action to
close the TANF case;

o the TANF case is closed or there is no TANF payment because of noncompliance
with TANF Program rules when:
o there is a sanction or disqualification of the TANF benéefits;
. the household requests closure of a TANF case that is already being
sanctioned because of noncompliance;
o the household preempts the implementation of a sanction or disqualification
by requesting closure of the TANF case; or
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° a sanctioned or disqualified case is closed for a reason unrelated to an act
of noncompliance but the TANF sanction/disqualification remains in effect.
. the TANF case is closed for failing to sign the VIEW Agreement of Personal
Responsibility.
. the TANF case is closed because there are no eligible children in the home as a
result of a child protective services investigation;
° the TANF case is closed after discovery that the case was approved in error;
o the SNAP case is sanctioned for noncompliance with SNAP rules or all household
members are ineligible or disqualified from receiving SNAP benefits; or
. the TANF case closed because of the household’s failure to renew its eligibility at

the end of the certification period.
Transitional benefits will also not apply while a TANF case is suspended. Once the TANF
case closes however, conversion will be appropriate if the reason for the closure is not one
that is listed above.

2. Calculation of Benefits

Households will receive benefits during the transitional period based on the circumstances
that existed at the time of the TANF case closure. The SNAP benefit amount must exclude
the TANF grant as income for the month of the TANF case closure. The SNAP calculations
must not include any new income amount that may have caused the TANF case closure.
Note, however, new income amounts may be reflected in the SNAP calculations if there is
a delay in the closure of the TANF case. The BPS must leave all other eligibility factors in
place, including income, deductions and household composition.

The BPS must not reflect any changes in the SNAP benefit amount during the Transitional
Benefits period. As the BPS discovers changes or the household reports changes in its
circumstances, the BPS must act on those changes for SNAP benefits but override any
system recalculations of the benefit amount to reflect the “frozen” amount as calculated
above. In instances where household members leave the household and subsequently
apply in another SNAP household, the BPS must delete the household members who are
in another SNAP household and adjust the allotment for the new household size. In other
words, during the Transitional Benefits period, except for household composition changes
to delete members to prevent duplicate participation, the BPS must not adjust benefits to
reflect changes.

Households receiving Transitional Benefits will not be entitled to adjusted benefits through
a mass change if a mass change occurs during the Transitional Benefits period.

3. Transitional Benefits Procedures

The Transitional Benefits period will be for five calendar months after the effective date of
the TANF case closure. The certification period for Transitional Benefits cases will be five
months. The BPS must adjust the original certification period to lengthen or shorten the
period so that the certification period will be five months.
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The BPS must provide the household with a Notice of Action to notify the household of the
revised benefit amount and new certification period. The BPS must send the Notice of
Expiration before the last month of the new certification period to notify the household to
reapply for benefits to continue to receive SNAP benéefits.

Households that receive Transitional Benefits are not required to report changes in their
circumstances for SNAP purposes. These households are not subject to the Interim
Reporting requirements as addressed in Part XIV.

4, Ending Transitional Benefits

. Eligibility for Transitional Benefits will end the month an application for TANF benefits
is filed if any member of the TANF household reapplies for TANF assistance. The
BPS must provide an adequate notice for the closure. The application will be treated
as an application for SNAP benefits unless the household elects not to apply for
SNAP benefits.

o Eligibility for Transitional Benefits will also end as soon as administratively possible if
a TANF case is reinstated because of the household’s request for continued benefits
for a timely-filed appeal. The SNAP case must be changed to reflect the original
certification period and calculations that existed before the conversion to Transitional
Benefits. The BPS must provide an adequate notice.

° Transitional Benefits will end as soon as administratively possible when the
household requests closure of the case. The BPS does not need to send a notice to
the household if the request is made in writing or in person. The household must
reapply for SNAP benefits to receive additional benefits.

° Transitional Benefits will end when a household moves from Virginia. The BPS does
not have to provide either an advance or an adequate notice.

TRANSMITTAL #35



8VIRGINIA DEPARTMENT

OF SOCIAL SERVICES TABLE OF CONTENTS
10/24 VOLUME V, PART XliI, PAGE i
PART XIllI ELIGIBILITY DETERMINATIONS AND BENEFIT LEVELS
CHAPTER SUBJECT PAGES
A. DETERMINING HOUSEHOLD ELIGIBILITY AND BENEFIT
LEVELS 1
1. Household Composition 1-2
2. Special Circumstances
3. Income and Deductions 2-4
B. EVALUATING EXPENSES 4
1. As Billed 4-5
2. Averaged 5
3. Anticipated 5
4, Medical Expenses 6-8
C. COMPUTATION OF NET INCOME AND BENEFIT LEVEL 8-9
D. PRORATION OF BENEFITS 9-10
1. Initial Month Benefits 10-11
2. Proration for Special Circumstances 11-12
3. Proration Charts 13

TRANSMITTAL #35



VIRGINIA DEPARTMENT ELIGIBILITY DETERMINATIONS
OF SOCIAL SERVICES AND BENEFIT LEVELS

10/24 VOLUME V, PART XliI, PAGE 1

A. DETERMINING HOUSEHOLD ELIGIBILITY AND BENEFIT LEVELS (7 CFR 273.10(a))

Eligibility and the level of SNAP benefits for households submitting an initial application,
reapplication or recertification must be based on circumstances reasonably anticipated for the
months of eligibility.

Applicant households consisting of residents of a public institution who apply jointly for SSI
and SNAP benefits prior to release from the institution will have their eligibility determined for
the month in which the applicant was released from the institution.

Because of anticipated changes, a household may be eligible for the month of application, but
ineligible in the subsequent month. The household is entitled to benefits for the month of
application even if the processing of its application results in the benefits being issued in a
subsequent month. Similarly, a household may be ineligible for the month of application, but
eligible in a subsequent month due to anticipated changes in circumstances. Even though
denied for the month of application, the household does not have to reapply in the subsequent
month. [The same application must be used for the denial for the month of application and the
determination of eligibility for subsequent months, within the timeliness standards in Part I11.F ]

As a result of anticipating changes, the amount of SNAP benefits for a household for the month
of application may differ from the benefit amount in subsequent months. The BPS must
establish a certification period for the longest possible period as allowed by Part IV.A.2 over
which changes in the household's circumstances can be reasonably determined. The
household's benefit amount may vary month to month within the certification period to reflect
changes determined at the time of certification. Benefits for the initial month or a subsequent
month must be prorated from the day of application, the day the household provides the last
verification or takes the final action, or the day the household establishes eligibility according to
Part XII1.D.

1. Household Composition

A household's membership for eligibility determination and benefit level is assessed as of
the application date for the month of application or the first day of the month following entry
or attachment to the household for ongoing eligibility. See Part VI for guidelines in
determining household composition.

If any household member is included in another active SNAP case for the month of
application, reapplication or recertification, eligibility for the remaining household members
must be determined. The household member included in another case is added to the current
case as soon as administratively possible.

The BPS must add the individual to the gaining household for the earliest possible month after
the move. However, if the person cannot be removed from the old household effective the
following month, the person cannot be added to the new household until the person is deleted
from the old one. For example, a member moves on June 28 and there is insufficient time to
send advance notice effective July 1, so the deletion is effective August 1. A new member
cannot be added to the household until the individual's income and resources have been
determined and eligibility determined.
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If the individual's move coincides with the gaining household’s recertification, the new
member is added in the same timeframes as though the change occurred during the
certification period. The new member is added for the earliest possible month, and
depending on the dates involved, the recertification may be processed without the new
member being immediately included.

NOTE: Participation in more than one household in a month is prohibited except as noted in
Part VII for people who leave a household containing a person who abused them and enter
a shelter for individuals fleeing domestic violence.

When a household reports the loss of a member, the individual is deleted as soon as
administratively possible. The BPS has a maximum of 10 days to act on the change. A 10-
day advance notice period must be provided if the deletion results in negative action.

When an individual is deleted from a household, the income and deductible expenses of the
person must be deleted effective the same month, unless the provisions for considering
income and expenses of ineligible or disqualified members are applicable.

2. Special Circumstances

The BPS must evaluate issues related to changes in the age of household members if the
change occurs in the month of application or the month following the application filing date.
The BPS should factor in age changes when assigning the certification period as related to
issues such as income exclusions and work requirement exemptions. The BPS must
evaluate any age changes that occur during the certification period at recertification/renewal.
Except for the allowance of medical expenses, issues related to changes in age must be
reflected the month after the household member’s birthday.

3. Income and Deductions (7CFR 273.10(c))

The BPS must calculate the allotment using the household members' anticipated income
and deductible expenses.

The provisions of this chapter do not generally apply to households with self-employment or
contract income. Household members whose income is from self-employment (Part XII.A) or
a contract (Part XII.F) will have these types of income averaged as described in the chapters
cited. The income is assigned to the months over which it is averaged. If a household
member's status as a self-employed person or contract employee changes, the last month to
consider income from those sources is the month the change in status occurs.

Households receiving monthly or semi-monthly income, such as state or federal assistance
payments, or semi-monthly pay checks, must have the income assigned to the normal month
of receipt, even if mailing cycles, weekends or holidays cause the income to be received in a
different month.

For the online systems used to verify child support or unemployment benefits, mailing and
processing days must be added to the payment dates shown to reflect the period of receipt
properly for SNAP purposes. Checks are prepared and mailed on the business day following
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the APECS disbursement date or the VEC warrant date. Allow two mail days to determine
the payment date and month of receipt. Allow two business days for electronic funds
transfer payments to reach the designated debit card or bank account to determine the
payment date and month of receipt.

The BPS must:

° Consider the income already received by the household during the application
process.

o Consider any anticipated income the household and the BPS are reasonably certain
will be received during the months of certification.

o If the amount of income or when it will be received, is uncertain, that portion of
the household's income that is uncertain must not be counted.

o If the total amount of the income is unknown, the portion that the BPS can
anticipate with reasonable certainty is countable as income.

o Do not automatically project amounts of past income or assume that current
income will continue without exploring the situation with the household.

. Consider work patterns or patterns of receiving income in determining income or in
determining whether to average several monthly amounts to project future income
more accurately. In discussions with the household, consider:

the number of days and hours normally worked;

whether overtime pay is available or likely;

whether the job is subject to external forces, such as weather; or

the number of days usually missed and if pay is affected.

O O O O

For migrant and seasonal farm workers:

. Be reasonably certain that income is likely to be received based on formal or informal
commitments for work for individual instead of the general availability of work in an
area.

. Do not base income on an assumption of optimum weather or field conditions

For new income sources, the BPS must determine:

. rate of pay,
. the number of hours expected, and
. pay date, including the pay period and date of receipt.

Complete information must be known before counting the income. Estimating amounts by
using the rate of pay multiplied by the expected number of hours is acceptable if
representative pay stubs are not available. After the initial pay cycles are established, pay
stubs or payroll records must be used to project the income unless the BPS documents that
the information is not representative and why an estimate should be used.

For all application types, generally evaluate income received during the 30-day period
before the application filing date. If the income for this period does not reflect the amount
the household expects to receive during the certification period, the BPS must work with the
household to determine a more appropriate amount.

The BPS must establish the onset and termination of income. If income amounts change by
$25 or more from one pay period to the next, amounts from additional periods may be
needed to determine a more representative amount to use.

TRANSMITTAL #35



VIRGINIA DEPARTMENT ELIGIBILITY DETERMINATIONS
OF SOCIAL SERVICES AND BENEFIT LEVELS

10/24 VOLUME V, PART Xlll, PAGE 4

If income fluctuates so much that the prior 30-day period does not accurately reflect the
income, a longer period may be used if it provides a more accurate indication of fluctuations
in future income. The length of time used to create a reasonably accurate amount
anticipated does not need to equal the same number of months in the certification period.

If the household's income fluctuates seasonally, it may be appropriate to use the most
recent season comparable to the certification period instead of the 30-day period before the
application date as an indicator of future income. Use caution however, in using income
from a past season as an indicator of current income since the income may fluctuate
between the same seasons of different years.

Past income may not be used as an indicator of future income when changes in income can
be anticipated.

Whenever income is anticipated for every pay period in a month and it is received on a
weekly or biweekly basis, the BPS must convert the income to a monthly amount by
multiplying weekly amounts by 4.3 and biweekly amounts by 2.15. If the household will
receive less than a full month's pay, or if less than a full month's pay is to be counted for
SNAP purposes, either the exact amount of income, if it can be anticipated, or an average
per pay period times the actual number of pays, can be used.

Pay received daily must be converted to a weekly or biweekly amount and then converted to a
monthly amount by multiplying the weekly amounts by 4.3 and the biweekly amounts by 2.15.

The BPS must document:

. Decisions made regarding averaging;

. the exclusion or inclusion of certain amounts,

° reasons for using a wider time period to average/anticipate amount
. reasons why amounts are not representative.

B. EVALUATING EXPENSES (7CFR 273.10(d))

An expense is defined as a service provided by someone outside of the SNAP household for which a
money payment is made. If a deductible expense is covered by an excluded reimbursement, as
defined in Part XI.F.6, or is paid by a vendor payment, as defined in Part XI.F.3, no deductions will be
given except for certain energy assistance payments, as described in Part X.A, and any payments that
are also personal loans.

Methods of evaluating expenses are described below.

1. As billed - Expenses considered in determining shelter or dependent care costs are allowed
only for the month the expense is billed or otherwise becomes due, regardless of when the
household intends to pay or pays the expense. Expenses paid in advance are allowed in
the month the expense would have been due. Amounts carried forward from past billing
periods cannot be allowed as a part of the cost of shelter or dependent care even if included
with the most recent bill.
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Expenses incurred more frequently than monthly must be converted to a monthly amount by
considering 4.3 weeks in a month or by considering the actual amount billed during the
month.

Example

A household buys coal by the bag every 3 days, at $3.00 per bag. By
considering 4.3 weeks in a month, the expense is computed as follows: 7 + 3
= 2.33 bags per week x 4.3 = 10.02 bags per month x $3 = $30.06.

By considering the actual amount billed during the month, the expense is
computed as follows: 10 bags purchased x $3 = $30.00.

2. Averaged - Expenses which fluctuate from month to month and those which are billed less
frequently than monthly may be averaged over the period the expense is intended to cover
and reflected in the allotment calculation for those months. The certification period assigned
would have no effect on the months in which the allowance is given. A one-time only
expense may be averaged over the entire certification period.

Example

A household presents an oil bill of $250. The oil was received in December
and is expected to last until February. The expense of $250 is averaged over
3 months, and $83.33 is assigned to the months of December, January, and
February and reflected in the allotment calculations for those months.

The household must be given the opportunity to choose between having expenses averaged
or counted as billed.

3. Anticipated - Expenses for which the household anticipates being billed during the
certification period are allowed. These expenses will be treated as billed or averaged over
the period the bill will cover. For example, if a household anticipates a bill for property tax
during the certification period, it may be allowed as a deductible expense in the month billed
or averaged over the number of months the tax bill will cover. Another example is utility
expenses that fluctuate month to month for households that opt to use actual utility costs.
The BPS may evaluate changes in the amount billed monthly by evaluating the previous
year's bills for the same months in question, updated by overall price increases. If a recent
bill amount is the only information available, the BPS may use the utility company's estimate.

Example

The household presents all oil bills received the past winter. The household expects
the amount of oil to be the same this winter. The oil vendor gives the BPS the
current price per gallon. The BPS may use the information to project the household's
costs for the current season.

The BPS may not average prior expenses to determine the expenses without considering
whether the averaged amount reflects anticipated expenses.
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4, Medical Expenses - Households that incur and verify medical expenses of more than $35 a

month are allowed the medical standard deduction. Households that incur and verify
allowable medical expenses of $235 or more per month may opt to use actual expenses
instead of the medical standard deduction. The provisions of this chapter apply only to
households with medical expenses of $235 or more per month.

At the time of certification, households must report and verify allowable medical expenses or,
at recertification, report changes in expenses previously reported. Households may also
report allowable medical expenses that the household expects to incur during the certification
period.

Because of the different ways in which individual medical expenses are incurred, the method
for counting each bill must be considered individually. Any portion of a medical expense that
is reimbursable by insurance policies will not be given as a deduction until the household
verifies the portion of the cost that is its responsibility. The portion of the cost that is not
reimbursable will be allowed as a deduction at the time the reimbursement is received or
otherwise becomes known, even though this may be in a later certification period.

When determining the monthly medical deduction, the BPS must consider each of the
methods described below for each expense.

For a household comprised of elderly or disabled members who have a 24-month certification
period, the BPS must review the household’s eligibility before the twelfth month. If the
household reports a one-time medical expense incurred during the first 12 months, the BPS
must give the household the option of deducting the expense for one month, averaging the
expense over the remaining months of the first 12 months or averaging the expense over the
remaining months of the certification period. If the household reports a one-time expense
after the twelfth month, the household may elect to deduct the expense in one month or over
the remaining months of the certification period.

a. Lump sum deduction. The household may get a deduction for medical expenses as a
lump sum in the month the expense is billed or become due or, for items such as
drugs that have no billing, the month the household incurs the expense. If the
household cannot establish a due date for an expense, the due date will be the month
after the original billing date or incurred date.

b. Averaging. One-time medical bills may be averaged over the certification period in
which they are billed or become due. At certification, it will be the household's option
whether to count a one-time bill as a lump sum or to average it. If the household
reports a one-time bill during a certification period, the household may have the
deduction as a lump sum, if possible, or averaged over the remainder of the
certification period and reflected as an expense for those months.

Example

A household with an elderly or disabled member reports a one-time only
medical expense of $325.00 on March 5. The household's certification
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period is February 1 through July 31. The household may choose to take
the entire deduction in April, the month the change would be effective, or
have the expense averaged over the remainder of the certification period.

Lump Sum Deduction:

$325.00 one-time only medical expense
-35.00
$290.00 medical deduction for April

Averaged Deduction:

$325.00 + 4 months (April through July) $81.25
-35.00

Monthly Medical deduction $46.25

For recurring medical expenses for which a bill is not customarily issued, a monthly
amount can be determined by averaging costs for a past period that is long enough to
include all the expenses. These recurring expenses include prescriptions,
transportation costs to obtain medical services or pet food for an attendant animal.
The averaged amount will serve as the medical expense.

Example

A client has 4 regular prescriptions. One is refilled every 6 weeks, one is
refilled every 2 months, one is refilled every 3 weeks, and one is refilled as
needed, usually once every four months. Prescription expenses from the prior
4 months include each of the expenses at least once. The total is $180.
$180/4 months = $45 average monthly expense.

C. Expected rate of payment. Many persons make regular payments on large medical
bills over a period of months or years. If regular payments on medical bills are
arranged before the bill is overdue these may be allowed as medical deductions in the
month the installment payment is due.

Example

In January, a new applicant reports an ongoing medical expense of $50.00
per month. This is a payment on a hospital bill of $1,000.00 that was
incurred six months earlier. The client arranged the $50 per month
installment payment before the bill was considered past due. A balance of
$700.00 remains due. The expected rate of pay of $50 per month may be
allowed.

d. Anticipated expenses

Allowable medical expenses which the household expects to incur during the
certification period may be deducted. Reasonable estimates of the expected expense
will be allowed for the certification period. The household is not required to report or
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verify further the actual expenses when it is incurred. An anticipated expense, for
which adequate verification has been provided at certification, may be averaged over
the certification period or allowed as a one-time expense.

C. COMPUTATION OF NET INCOME AND BENEFIT LEVEL

All households, except elderly and disabled households as described in Part XI.A, must pass gross
income prescreening. All households must meet net income eligibility standards.

Monthly gross and net income amounts are determined in the following manner:

Step 1 Assess the income of each household. Exclude all allowable income sources and
amounts, including amounts for legally obligated child support payments made by the
household. Do not exceed the legally obligated amount unless a portion covers a
legally obligated amount that is in arrears. (Part XI.F.17)

Step 2 List the household's total gross earned income. Include the total net income from
self-employment enterprises (gross income from self-employment minus the
allowable costs of doing business).

Note: Farm and fishing self-employment losses may be offset against other income.
Subtract the farm or fishing loss from non-farm/fishing self-employment income. If the
non-farm/fishing gain is greater than the farm or fishing loss, offsetting is complete.
Apply this result toward the gross income total.

If the farm or fishing loss is greater than the non- farm/fishing gain, or if there was no
non-farm/fishing self-employment income in the household, the negative balance of

the calculation gain minus loss, or the farm or fishing loss will be applied against the
adjusted gross earned and unearned income total.

Step 3 List the household’s total gross unearned income.

Step 4 Total the adjusted earned income amount with the unearned income amount.
Step 5 Subtract the excess farm or fishing loss, if any, from Step 2.

Step 6 At this point, all households, except elderly, disabled or categorically eligible ones

must pass gross income eligibility limits listed in Part XI.A. For elderly, disabled and
categorically eligible households and for all other households that pass gross income
prescreening, continue the calculation to apply appropriate deductions to the case.

Step 7 Subtract the earned income deduction. Compute the earned income deduction by

multiplying the combined net self-employment and gross earned income figures by
20%.
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Step 8 Subtract the standard deduction appropriate for the number of eligible members in the

household. (Part X.A.1)
Step 9 Subtract dependent care costs. (Part X.A.3)

Step 10 Subtract the shelter allowance for homeless households that incur or expect to incur
shelter expenses during the month. No other shelter costs may be allowed (Step 12)
if the shelter allowance is used.

Step 11 List medical expenses of members eligible for this deduction. Compute the medical
deduction by totaling the expenses and subtracting $35. (Part X.A.5)

Step 12 The remaining figure is the adjusted net income. To compute the shelter deduction,
compare shelter expenses to half the adjusted net income. If shelter expenses
exceed half the adjusted net income, the excess shelter expenses can be allowed as
a deduction under these guidelines:

a) If the household does not contain an elderly or disabled member, the excess
shelter expense cannot exceed the maximum deduction for shelter (Part
X.A.4),

b) If the household contains an elderly or disabled member, any amount of

excess shelter expense can be allowed as a deduction.

Step 13 Subtract the shelter deduction from the remaining income to determine the net
income.
Step 14 Round down to the nearest whole dollar amount if the net income amount ends in 1-

49 cents. If the net income amount ends in 50-99 cents, round up to the nearest
whole dollar amount.

Eligibility and benefit amounts are based on the net income. See Part XI.A for
allowable net income standards and Part XXIII for the benefit amounts for each
household size.

D.  PRORATION OF BENEFITS (7 CFR 273.10(a))

The benefit level for the household for all applications, except timely filed recertification applications,
will be based on the day of the month the household applies for benefits or, in some instances, the
day the household supplies needed verifications or takes required actions. The date of application
for persons in public institutions jointly applying for SSI and SNAP benefits prior to release from the
institution will be the day the person is released from the institution. Using a 30-day calendar,
households will receive benefits prorated from the date of application, as defined in Part I1.B, the
date of eligibility, or the date actions/verifications are provided to the end of the month. (A household
applying on the 31st day of a month will be treated as if it applied on the 30th day of the month.)
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After using either table described below to determine the benefit amount, the BPS must round the
product down if it ends in $.01 through $.99. If this computation results in a benefit amount of less
than $10, then no issuance will be made for the initial month however, this month will count as the
first month of the certification period. This policy applies to all eligible households, including one-
and two-person households who otherwise would be entitled to a minimum allotment of $23.

1. Initial Month Benefits

The initial month of application for the purposes of proration is defined as:

a. The first month in which a household applies for benefits in a Virginia locality; or
b. The first month in which a household files a reapplication for benefits, as defined in
Definitions.
Example

1) A household applies on July 15. The application is denied for July but
approved for August. The application is processed within the initial
30-day period. The household must be given a full month's benefits
for August.

2) A household's certification period ended June 30. The household
reapplies on August 15. The application is approved on August 20.
Benefits for August would be prorated because August is the "initial
month of application" as defined above.

C. The first month after the 30" day in which an applicant household supplies any
remaining verification or finally provides required information needed to process the
application.

Example

A household applies on July 15. The household fails to submit
verifications or to take actions until August 20, 36 days after the
application date. The household caused the processing delay so
benefits must be prorated from August 20.

d. The first month in which a household files an application for benefits following the end
of the last certification period.

Example
A household’s certification period ends June 30. The household files

another application on July 15. If the household is determined eligible,
benefits for July must be prorated.
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NOTE: For migrant or seasonal farm worker households, the initial month's benefits will not
be prorated if the household has received SNAP benefits anywhere within the 30 days prior
to the date of application.

2. Proration for Special Circumstances

SNAP benefits are generally calculated from the date of application or for an entire month. In
some instances, however, it may be necessary to calculate benefits and eligibility from a date
other than the application date or the first of a month. The instances in which this proration is
permitted follows:

a.

The head of the household quits a job or reduces work without good cause after an
application is filed but before the household is certified. Benefits must be prorated for
the period between the application date and the date of the quit or reduction, if the
household is otherwise eligible.

Examples

1) A household applies on April 12. The head of household reduces his
work hours on April 21 before the household is certified. The sanction
is imposed on April 21; the household may be eligible for 9 days
benefits for April, i.e., April 12-20, inclusive.

2) A household applies April 17. The head of household quits his job on
May 4, before the household has been certified. The sanction period
begins May 4. The household may be entitled to April benefits
prorated from the date of application and benefits for the first 3 days of
May.

The head of the household quit or reduced work without good cause resulting in the
ineligibility of the household. The household reapplies before the sanction period
expires. (The application must be denied if the sanction period does not expire during
the month of application.) Benefits must be prorated from the day after the sanction
period expires through the last day of the month.

Example

A household is sanctioned for voluntary quit. The last day of the sanction
period is April 12. The household files a reapplication on April 9. April's
benefits are prorated from the day after the sanction period ends, i.e., April
13.

A reapplication is filed for a household that lost its eligibility because of the Work
Requirement. The household will regain eligibility after the application date by
completing a work activity within 30 days as required by Part XV.C. Benefits must be
prorated from the day after eligibility is regained through the last day of the month.
(The application must be denied if eligibility is not regained during the month of
application.)
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Example

A one-person household, subject to the Work Requirement, received its
three initial months of benefits during January, February and March. (The
household was subsequently denied or it would have been denied
because of the Work Requirement if an application had been filed.) A
reapplication is filed on June 11 showing that the applicant started to work
on May 17. It is projected that the applicant will have completed 80 work
hours on June 15. Benefits must be prorated from June 16 if verification
supports the claim that a minimum of 80 hours has been completed within
the 30-day period.

Proration of benefits from a date other than the application date, for the situations described
here, is appropriate only when an entire household is penalized through disqualification or
ineligibility. Individual household members must be reconnected to the ongoing case at the
beginning of the month following the end of the sanction period or the date eligibility is
regained.
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3. Proration Charts

CHART 1

The following formula is to be used to determine the amount of the prorated allotment. Find the date
of application, the date actions/verifications are provided, or date of entitlement in Column 1.
Multiply the monthly benefit amount by Column 2.

Column 1 Column 2 Column 1 Column 2 Column 1 Column 2
1 1.0 11 .6667 21 .3334
2 .9667 12 .6334 22 3
3 .9334 13 .6 23 .2667
4 .9 14 .5667 24 .2334
5 .8667 15 5334 25 2
6 .8334 16 5 26 .1667
7 .8 17 4667 27 1334
8 .7667 18 4334 28 .10
9 7334 19 4 29 .0667
10 7 20 .3667 30 .0334

31 .0334
CHART 2

The following table may be used to prorate a month's benefits that are calculated based on a specific
number of days of eligibility, rather than calculated from a particular date to the end of the month.
Column 1 is the number of days of eligibility; column 2 is the proration factor. Multiply the full
month's allotment by the proration factor for the number of days for which benefits are being
provided.

Column 1 Column 2 Column 1 Column 2 Column 1 Column 2
1 .0334 11 .3667 21 .70
2 .0667 12 .40 22 .7334
3 .10 13 4334 23 .7667
4 .1334 14 4667 24 .80
5 .1667 15 .50 25 .8334
6 .20 16 .5334 26 .8667
7 .2334 17 .5667 27 .90
8 .2667 18 .60 28 .9334
9 .30 19 .6334 29 .9667
10 .3334 20 .6667 30 1.0

31 1.0
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A. CHANGES DURING THE CERTIFICATION PERIOD

When changes occur within the certification period that affect the household's eligibility or the
amount of the benefit allotment, the BPS must act to adjust the household's benefit level. The
responsibility for changes lies with both the recipient household and the local department of social
services. The household must report certain changes in income and household status; the BPS
must adjust entitlement to benefits and benefit levels based on reported changes and for changes
the BPS initiates. Households certified for seven months or longer must file an Interim Report about
their circumstances during the certification period except households certified through the VaCAP or
ESAP component.

1. Changes that Must Be Reported
The length of the certification period determines change-reporting requirements for each
household.
a. Certification periods - one to four months
Households certified up to four months must report the following items:
. Change in household composition with members moving in or out of the
SNAP household;
. Change in the household’s residence and shelter costs that result from a
move;
. Change in legally obligated child support paid outside the household;
. Receipt of lottery or gambling winnings of $4,500 or more;
. Change if the number of hours worked per week for persons who are subject
to time-limited benéefits is less than 20 hours per week;
. Change of more than $125 in the amount of income;
. Change in the source of income including starting or stopping a job; and
. Changing from full-time to part-time status or from part-time to full-time
status.
The household does not have to report changes in TANF income for a Virginia TANF
case.
b. Certification periods — five months or longer

With the exception of households that receive benefits through the Transitional
Benefits component for former TANF recipients or certified through VaCAP,
households certified for five months or longer must report the following items:

. Receipt of lottery or gambling winnings of $4,500 or more;

. Change if the number of hours worked per week for persons who are subject
to time-limited benefits is less than 20 hours per week; and

. The total income exceeds the gross income limit based on household size as

established as of certification, the Interim Report evaluation, or a change
reported during the certification period. The income limits of the first chart
below will apply to most households but the income limits of the second chart
apply for households that are ineligible for Broad Based Categorical Eligibility.
The income limits are:
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Chart 1 (Gross Income Limit 200%) Chart 2 (Gross Income Limit 130%)
HH Every 2 Twice a HH Every 2 Twice a
Size Monthly Weekly Weeks Month Size Monthly Weekly Weeks Month
1 $2,510 | $ 583.72 | $1,167.44 | $1,255.00 1 $1,632 | $ 37953 | § 759.06 | $ 816.00
2 3,407 792.32 1,584.65 | 1,703.50 2 2,215 515.11 1,030.23 1,107.50
3 4,303 1,000.69 | 2,001.39 | 2,151.50 3 2,798 650.69 1,301.39 1,399.00
4 5,200 1,209.30 | 2,418.60 | 2,600.00 4 3.380 786.04 1,572.09 1,690.00
5 6,097 1,417.90 | 2,835.81 | 3,048.50 5 3,963 921.62 1,843.25 1,981.50
6 6,993 1,626.27 | 3,252.55 | 3,496.50 6 4,546 1,057.20 | 2,114.41 2,273.00
7 7,890 1,834.88 | 3,669.76 | 3,945.00 7 5,129 1,192.79 | 2,385.58 2,564.50
8 8,787 2,043.48 | 4,086.97 | 4393.50 8 5,712 1,328.37 | 2.656.74 2,856.00
Additional Additional
members | +$897.00 | +$208.60 | +$417.20 | +$448.50 | members | +$583.00 | +$135.58 | +$271.16 | +$291.50
C. ESAP households must report the following changes during the certification period:
. Changes to household composition;
. If a household member receives earned income during the certification
period; and
. Lottery and gambling winnings of $4,500 or more.
2. Time Required and Methods for Reporting Changes

Households must report required changes listed above within 10 calendar days from the
date the change occurs or, at the latest, 10 days into the next month after the month the
change occurs.

Households may report changes using the Change Report form, by telephone, by personal
contact, by mail, or electronically. The household may also report a change of its
circumstances with the filing of the Interim Report. A household member, an authorized
representative, or any person having knowledge of the household's circumstances may

report the change to any staff member of the local department of social services. When the
household reports the change by mail, the report will be timely if the postmark of the letter is
within the required 10-day period regardless of when the local department of social services
receives the information.

During the interview, the BPS must advise applicants:
¢ the responsibility to report changes;
when changes needed to be reported;
how to report changes;
the changes that need to be reported; and
the telephone number of the local office and, if necessary, a toll-free number or a
number for accepting collect calls from households outside the local calling area.

The BPS must provide the Change Report form to each household at initial application,
reapplication, and when the household size changes. Additionally, the BPS must provide
the form at recertification, if the household needs another form, whenever the household
returns a form, or reports a change in the number of household members.
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3. Local Agency Action on Changes (7 CFR 273.12(c), 273.2(f))

Except when households receive Transitional Benefits for former TANF recipients, the BPS
must act promptly to terminate or to adjust benefits when changes in household
circumstances are reported by recipient households, including information about an
upcoming or future change reported at application/renewal or through the interim report. For
changes that will occur in the future, the BPS is encouraged to use electronic or manual
reminders to adjust the benefit level or a household's eligibility for benefits timely when the
change finally occurs. For Transitional Benefits cases, the BPS must input changed
information during the Transitional Benefits period, but the benefit amount must remain in
the same amount calculated when the TANF case closed, i.e., overriding a calculated
benefit amount. (See Part XII.H.)

The SNAP case must reflect the following changes:
e changes reported by the household;

o If the household reports an address change, the BPS must inquire about shelter
costs that result from the move. If the household fails to provide new shelter
costs, the BPS must remove existing shelter costs from the SNAP calculations.

e changes put into VaCMS to meet reporting or policy requirements of another program;

e changes to prevent duplicate participation; and

e changes that are considered verified upon receipt, such as information about the
removal of a child from the home by a foster care worker or information from a drug
treatment center that says a client moved.

Other information may become known to the BPS through other means than listed above. If
the change is one that the household was required to report, the BPS must act on the
information. If the change is a change that was not required to be reported, the BPS must
hold the information and evaluate it at the next interim report or renewal, whichever comes
first.

The Appendix to this chapter contains charts that outline the procedures for handling
changes reported or discovered during the certification period.

The BPS has 10 days from the date the BPS learns of a change to act on the new
information. When the reported change requires a reduction, termination or suspension of
benefits, the BPS must issue an advance notice within 10 calendar days, beginning with the
date the BPS receives the change, unless one of the exemptions for mailing the notice in
Part XIV.D is applicable. In these cases, depending on the change, the BPS must send an
adequate notice if a notice is required at all.

Part Ill.F contains required BPS actions needed in response to information obtained through
IEVS. The household or the source of information must verify unverified information
received through IEVS. If the BPS opts to obtain verification from the household, the BPS
must request the information and allow the household 10 days to respond, as allowed in
section d below.
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If the household reports the addition of a new member, that person may not be included
in the allotment until the BPS knows the income and resource information about the
individual.

a.

Required Supplemental Allotments

If the reported change requires an increase in the household's benefits, the
change must be reflected no later than the first allotment issued ten (10) days
after the date the change was reported. However, if the increase in benefits is a
result of the addition of a new household member or is the result of a decrease of
$50 or more in the household's gross monthly income, the BPS must reflect the
change no later than the month following the month in which the change was
reported. Ifitis too late in the month to adjust the upcoming month's allotment, it
will be necessary to issue a supplementary allotment by the 10th of the upcoming
month.

Voluntary Supplemental Allotments

At its option, the local agency may give a supplemental allotment for individual
household changes in the month of the changes. The agency may not give
supplemental allotments for household composition changes. The agency may
give supplemental allotments for income reductions or increased shelter, medical
or dependent care expenses.

If the agency opts to provide supplements, the agency must give the supplements
for all similar situations, e.g., medical expenses more than $100, loss of income or
income reductions of $200 or more, etc.

Changes and Verification

Households may need to verify information that changes during the certification
period. See Part IIl.E for a discussion of verification requirements for changes
unrelated to the Interim Report process. See Part XIV.C.2.c for a discussion of
verification requirements for changes related to the Interim Report.

Contacting the Household

Whenever the BPS learns of a change or a potential change in the household's
circumstances during the certification period, the BPS must determine the impact
of the change on the household's eligibility and benefit level based on the
information reported. The BPS must initiate the review of the change within ten
days of the notification of the change.

1) Informal Contact
Depending on the source of the information reported, as addressed above,
and the completeness of the report, the BPS may need to contact the
household for additional information or clarification. If the BPS is unable to
determine the impact of the information as reported, the BPS should
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contact the household by telephone or letter/memo to clarify the information.
If the BPS is unable to obtain clarification, the BPS must address the
information at renewal or the interim evaluation, whichever is first.

Request for Contact
Upon receipt of unclear or unverified information, additional information will
be needed before the BPS may act on the information. The BPS must
pursue clarification and verification, if appropriate. The BPS must assess:
¢ If the information is fewer than 60 days old;
¢ Whether the household would be required to report the information
based on the household’s reporting requirement, if the information
was accurate; or
¢ If the information significantly conflicts with information presented at
certification.
If these conditions apply, the BPS must send the household the Request for
Contact. The Request for Contact must also be sent when mail is returned
by the post office as undeliverable. The BPS must complete the form to
request information or to request that the household complete an action
within ten calendar days. The BPS must not send the Request for Contact
to evaluate changes the household is not required to report or that do not
meet one of the four instances for responding to changes immediately, as
outlined above in section 2. See Part XXIV for the Request for Contact
form.

Timely Response - No change Reported

If the household responds timely to the Request for Contact form and there
are no changes in the household's circumstances, the BPS must take no
other case action related to the change report.

Timely Response - Changes Reported

The BPS must send the household a Request for Contact form when a
household must clarify its situation or provide additional information as
indicated above. The household has ten days to provide the requested
information. If the household responds to the request for information within
the ten-day limit and reports changes in its circumstances, the BPS must
evaluate the changed information within ten days of receiving the
information. If the change results in an increased allotment, the BPS must
send the Notice of Action to show the allotment change for the next month.
If the agency provides voluntary supplemental allotments for similarly
reported changes, the BPS must approve the supplemental allotment for the
current month, in addition to the change for the next month. If the change
results in a reduction or termination of benefits, the BPS must send the
household the Advance Notice of Proposed Action or the Notice of Action to
allow a minimum of ten days for the household to appeal before the
reduction or termination becomes effective.

Untimely Response - No Changes
The BPS must send a SNAP household a Request for Contact form when a
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household must clarify its situation or provide additional information as
indicated above. The household has ten days to provide the requested
information. If the household does not respond within the ten-day period,
the BPS must send the household an Advance Notice of Proposed Action
or Notice of Action to close the case. If the household responds before the
effective date of the closure and there are no changes in the household's
circumstances, the BPS must rescind the adverse action notice and
reinstate the case.

Untimely Response - Changes Reported

The BPS must send a household a Request for Contact form when a
household must clarify its situation or provide additional information as
indicated above. The household has ten days to provide the requested
information. If the household does not respond within the ten-day period,
the BPS must send the household an Advance Notice of Proposed Action
or Notice of Action to close the case. If the household responds after the
reporting period but before the effective date of the closure, and reports
changes to its circumstances, the BPS must review the change report
and determine the impact, if any, on the household's eligibility or benefit
level. If the household remains entitled to an allotment despite the
information, the BPS must send a Notice of Change to increase benefits
from zero to the revised amount.

No Response to the Request for Contact

If the household does not respond to the request for information by the
tenth day, the BPS must send the household an adverse action notice to
close the case. The basis for the case's closure will be the household's
failure to provide clarification.

If the contact request form is undeliverable by the post office because of
the address, the BPS must send the contact request to the new address,
if one is supplied by the post office and the new address is in the same
Virginia locality as the BPS taking the action. If a returned address
indicates that the household is no longer in the locality, the BPS must
close the case. Depending on when the changes occurred in a
household's circumstances, the BPS might need to file a claim for
benefits that the household incorrectly received.

Suspension

When changes cause a household to become ineligible and it appears that the
ineligibility will be temporary, the BPS may suspend benefits for one month
rather than close the case. The BPS must send An Advance Notice of Proposed
Action to suspend unless the change meets one of the exceptions for sending
the notice. After the month of suspension, if ineligibility continues, the BPS must
close the case. The BPS must send another Advance Notice of Proposed
Action. If the ineligibility is indeed temporary, the BPS must reinstate the case
effective the month following the suspension.
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Changes in Public Assistance (7 CFR 273.12(f))

The provisions described in this section do not apply to households converting to
Transitional Benefits when a TANF case closes. If a change for a PA case requires
either a reduction or termination in public assistance benefits and reduction or
termination in SNAP benefits, the BPS must issue a single Advance Notice of
Proposed Action for both the public assistance and SNAP actions.

If the household requests a fair hearing within the period provided by the Advance
Notice of Proposed Action, the BPS must continue the household's SNAP benefits on
the basis authorized immediately before sending the notice. The household must
reapply for SNAP benefits if the certification period expires before the fair hearing
process is over, however. If the household does not appeal, the change goes into
effect according to the procedures specified in Part XIV.A.2.

If any household's benefits will increase because of the reduction or termination of
public assistance benefits, the BPS must not take any action to increase the
household's SNAP benefits until the household decides whether it will appeal the
public assistance adverse action. If the household decides to appeal and its PA
benefits continue, the household's SNAP benefits must continue at the previous
allotment amount. If the household does not appeal, the BPS must make the change
effective according to the procedures in Part XIV.A.2 except the date the notification
of the change is received is the day after the date the Public Assistance Advance
Notice of Proposed Action expires.

If a change results in the termination of a household's PA benefits and the BPS does
not have enough information to determine how the change affects the household's
SNARP eligibility or benefit level, the BPS must take the following action:

a. When the BPS sends the PA Advance Notice of Proposed Action the BPS
must wait until the notice period expires or until the household requests a fair
hearing, whichever occurs first. If the household requests a fair hearing and
the PA benefits continue pending the appeal, the household's SNAP benefits
must continue at the previous benefit amount.

b. If a PA Advance Notice of Proposed Action is not required or the household
decides not to request a fair hearing or continuation of PA benefits, the BPS
must send the household a Request for Contact form to seek information or
clarification from the household. If the household does not respond within ten
days, the BPS must send an adverse action notice to close the case.

In jointly processed cases in which the SSI determination results in a denial
and the BPS believes that SNAP eligibility or benefit levels may be affected,
the BPS must send the Request for Contact form for the household to clarify
its situation within ten days. The BPS must close the case if the household
does not respond to the clarification request.
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5. Mass Changes (7 CFR 273.12(e))

A mass change is one that affects the entire caseload or significant portions of the
caseload. Mass change notices are not required if the change does not affect current
benefits such as an increase in net income limits. For mass changes that only affect
benefits for a portion of the caseload, the BPS may opt to send notices to the
households potentially or actually affected by the change only instead of the entire
caseload. These changes could include a mass change in TANF grant amounts. For
mass changes that result in a reduction or termination of benefits, the BPS does not
need to send an Advance Notice of Proposed Action. Each household must receive
an individual notice that a change will occur, however.

A general notice may be used for mass changes. Households must receive the
notice no later than the benefit availability date. Minimal information needed on the
mass change notice includes:

a. the general nature of the change;

b. examples of the change's effect on allotments;

C. the month in which the change will take effect;

d. the household's right to a fair hearing;

e. the household's right to continue benefits as long as its appeal is filed in a
timely manner and the issue appealed is the improper computation of SNAP
eligibility or benefits, or the misapplication or misinterpretation of federal law or
regulation;

f. general information on whom to contact for additional information; and

g. the liability the household will incur for any overissued benéfits if the fair

hearing decision is adverse.

Instead of the above notice, the BPS may send each household an individual Notice
of Action.

Mass changes include (7 CFR 273.12(e)):

a. adjustment to the maximum allowable monthly income.
b. adjustment to the shelter cost deduction.

C. adjustments to the dependent care deduction.

d. adjustment of the utility standard.

e. adjustment of the standard deduction.
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f. adjustment of the full benefit amount.
g. cost-of-living adjustments in Social Security and SSI benefits.
h. any other cost-of-living adjustments in benefits such as VA or Black Lung when

VDSS notifies local agencies that a change will be a mass change.
i. mass changes to TANF or GR grants.

monthly supplements to TANF grants based on the receipt of child support
issued at the beginning of the month.

—

Many of the mass changes listed in this section may be effective on October 1 of each
year.

Local and state agencies will receive instructions for implementing mass changes as
the changes occur.

Failure to Report Changes

Households must report certain changes in circumstances as specified in Part XIV.A.
If the BPS discovers during the certification period that a household failed to report a
change as required and, as a result, received benefits to which it was not entitled, the
BPS must issue an Advance Notice of Proposed Action and establish a claim against
the household according to Part XVII.A if the BPS has enough information to
determine ineligibility or the new benefit level. If the BPS does not have enough
information to determine a new benefit level or ineligibility, the BPS must send the
Request for Contact to allow the household ten days to clarify information or to supply
verification. The household must supply information or take required action within ten
days or the BPS must close the case. The BPS will have ten days to act on the
change from the date the BPS learns of the change.

The BPS may not disqualify household members for failing to report a required change
unless the BPS establishes, through investigation, that an intentional program violation
occurred. In addition, the BPS may not file a claim against a household for failure to
report a change that it is not required to report.

Reductions or Terminations Due to Disqualification (7 CFR 273.11(c)(3)

When the BPS determines that an individual is ineligible within the household's
certification period, the BPS must determine the eligibility or ineligibility of the
remaining household members.

a. If a household's benefits are reduced or terminated within a certification period
because one of its members was disqualified due to intentional program
violation, the BPS must notify the remaining members of their eligibility and
benefit level at the same time the excluded member is notified of his or her
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disqualification. The household is not entitled to an Advance Notice of Proposed
Action but may request a fair hearing to contest the reduction or termination of
benefits, unless the household has already had a hearing on the amount of the
claim.

b. If a household's benefits are reduced or terminated within the certification period
because one or more of its members is disqualified, as addressed in Part XII.E, the
BPS must issue an Advance Notice of Proposed Action that informs the household
of the disqualification, the reason for the disqualification, the eligibility and benefit
level of the remaining members and the actions the household must take to end
the disqualification, if appropriate.

8. Retention of Cases When Households Temporarily Leave Project Area

The provisions of this section will not apply to households with active TANF, Refugee
Assistance, or Medicaid cases if the BPS transfers a TANF or Refugee Assistance case.

When a participating household is forced to seek temporary housing outside the
city/county of usual residence, but still in Virginia, the original locality may, at its option,
keep the SNAP case in an active status for up to two calendar months after the move to
another Virginia locality. The BPS must transfer the SNAP case at the end of the second
month if the household does not return to the original locality, provided the household
maintains contact with the BPS. The BPS must transfer the case even if the household
intends to return to the locality.

Changes to reflect the new address, shelter costs, income, household composition, or any
other reported changes must be acted on and verified, if necessary, in accordance with
the "Local Agency Action on Changes" section of this chapter and Part Ill.E.

The BPS should consider the distance to the household's temporary address in deciding
to keep a case active after the move from the locality. If the distance and/or other
concerns such as inadequate transportation would hinder continued participation, the BPS
should transfer the case. The BPS must close the case if the household requests closure.

This policy only applies to ongoing cases, including households due for recertification.
Newly applying and reapplying households must file applications in the current locality of
residence. If the household moves while an application (new or reapplication) is pending,
the original locality must determine eligibility for the month of application and any other
month during which the household was in the locality on the first day of the month and
then transfer the case.

9. Transfer of SNAP Cases

When a household moves from one Virginia locality to another, beyond a temporary move
as addressed in subsection 8 of this chapter, the agency must generally transfer the case
to the other Virginia locality. Agencies must work cooperatively to ensure that there is no

break in certification and the issuance of benefits for affected households or that
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households are not referred to the original office to file applications, Interim Reports, etc.
once they visit or make other contact with the new office.

a.

Cases to Be Transferred

The transferring agency may generally transfer any certified, ongoing SNAP case
with at least one month remaining in the certification period. These cases may
include regularly certified cases and cases receiving transitional benefits. The
transferring agency must complete any processes related to the Interim Report and
postponed verifications for applications certified under expedited service processing.

If a household moves while an application/renewal is pending, the transferring
agency must process the application and generate benefits for any month the
household was residing in the locality. After the application has been processed, the
transferring agency must transfer the case to the new locality.

In some instances, the BPS may request a closed case file when a household
reapplies for benefits in another locality. The transferring agency must also honor the
request for a closed case file and transfer the case file promptly.

Cases that Cannot Be Transferred
The BPS must not transfer SNAP cases in the following instances:

o The household moves from a Virginia locality to another state. The BPS
must close the case.

. There is a pending application/renewal. The BPS in the original locality must
process the application. The BPS must secure sufficient information to
process the application.

. A case is suspended because of ineligibility unrelated to the move from the
locality that is projected to last one month. Resolve the issues that lead to
the projected ineligibility and then either close the case or transfer it to the
new locality.

. The Interim Report process is incomplete. Resolve any issues related to the
Interim Report. Transfer the case if the household remains eligible after
evaluation of the Interim Report. If the household contacts the new locality
without having submitted the Interim Report, the new locality should provide
the Interim Report. If the completed Interim Report and needed verification
are provided to the new locality, both the interim and verification must be
forwarded to the original locality.

. There is a loss of contact with the household, but the BPS has information
that the household no longer resides in the locality.
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C. Case Transfer Process for the Transferring Agency

Within five working days after being notified that a household has moved from the
locality, the BPS must complete a desk review of the case. The desk review is to
ensure that documents are properly filed; the record is complete and orderly; and
that documentation of case actions is complete. The BPS must also review the
accuracy of the benefit amount in relation to the reported move. The BPS must
complete the address change and other changes such as household composition,
income or shelter expense changes that result from the move or reported before the
move occurs. If the household fails to provide new shelter costs, the BPS must
remove existing shelter costs from the SNAP calculations. The BPS must provide
sufficient documentation to advise the receiving agency to initiate claims collection
activities after the transfer occurs. The case documentation must also support
ongoing collection actions.

While the assessment of the case must take place within five days of the reported
move, there are instances when the transferring agency must wait a month before
completing the transfer. The final assessment of the case must take place after
handling postponed verifications for an expedited case or after processing the interim
report. The final assessment of the case may take place as late as a month after the
report of the move.

If the household reports changes in household circumstances, verification of the
changed elements may be needed before the second month, by the next
recertification, or for the Interim Report, depending on the impact of the changes on
the allotment. Verification will be needed before the second month if the SNAP
benefit will increase because of the reported changes. The transferring agency must
notify the household on the Notice of Action that reflects the allotment change to
provide the new verifications to the new agency. The transferring agency must also
notify the receiving agency on the Case Record Transfer Form to obtain the
verification or change the allotment back to the original amount.

The BPS must complete the Case Record Transfer Form and forward it to the
receiving agency. The transferring agency must transfer the entire case file. Atits
option, the agency may keep photocopied or other duplicates of case documents.
The transferring agency may not keep any of the original documents from the case
file except when the transferring and receiving agency both use a compatible
electronic filing system or when there is an ongoing claims investigation in which
case the agency may keep applicable case information and send a copy of the
documents to the receiving agency or arrange to secure the necessary documents
later from the receiving agency.

The BPS must complete a Notice of Transfer form to notify the household of the

transfer of the case. The BPS must send the Notice of Transfer to the household
along with a Change Report form.
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The transferring agency must deliver the intact case file to the receiving agency by
certified mail, by authorized courier service, or hand delivery by local agency
personnel. The transferring agency must obtain a receipt for the case file from the
receiving agency. Note: If the transferring and receiving agency both use a
compatible electronic filing system, the transferring agency may share the case
information electronically if that is acceptable to the receiving agency. If the
receiving agency does not use an electronic filing system, the transferring agency
must print the case information and send the documents to the receiving agency.

d. Case Transfer Process for the Receiving Agency

Within five days of receiving a case file transferred from another Virginia locality, the
receiving agency must review the case file and determine the continued eligibility
and benefit level. The household is not required to report or verify any eligibility
elements that may have changed because of the move beyond the mandatory
reporting elements (i.e., income that exceeds the gross income level and number of
work hours for persons whose benefits would be time-limited).

The receiving agency will be responsible for all future processes related to the
transferred case, including such actions as but not limited to, sending the Notice of
Expiration for the end of the certification period, receiving applications for continued
benefits, establishing claims or providing restoration, or responding to quality
assurance or hearing officer requests.

The receiving agency must not return a case transferred to it unless the case was
sent to the incorrect locality. The receiving agency must not return a case even if the
case was not eligible for transfer as noted in section b above.

B. CHANGES REPORTED BY AN APPLICANT HOUSEHOLD WHILE AN APPLICATION IS
PENDING

Households must report required changes, as outlined in Part XIV.A.1, no later than 10 days after
receiving the Notice of Action to approve the application. If households report any changes before
the application is processed however, the BPS must act on that information using the following
steps.

1. Assess the information to determine applicability to the month of application or a subsequent
period.
2. Determine if verification is needed. If verification of the element is needed, as per Part Ill.A

and Part Ill.E, request the information from the household. Send a revised verification
checklist, allowing the household 10 days to supply the verification.

If this 10-day period would cause the application to be held more than 30 days, extend the

processing time, even if all other verification/information has already been provided. If the
household provides the verification on or before the 10" day, the household would receive
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benefits for the month of application. (Code the delay in processing as Agency Delay so
that the household may receive benefits for the month of application, provided the
verification is provided by the 30" day or the 10" day noted above.)

3. If the change is reported after Day 30 so that the processing period has already been
extended, the household would still get 10 days to provide the additional information.
Benefits would be prorated back to the date of the request for the additional information if
the verification is provided on or before the 10" day instead of prorating from the date when
the final element was verified.

4, Once the changed element has been verified, the new information must be factored in the
benefit calculation for the month of application as well as any months that follow the
application month. Eligibility and benefit level for the household must be based on the
income and expenses already received/reported as well as elements that are anticipated
with reasonable certainty to occur during the month.

5. There will be instances when the change will not affect the application month. Such an
instance would be when there is a change in the household’s composition. Part XIII.A.1
requires that household composition must be evaluated as of the application date so that
any change to the household’s membership would be reflected the month after the month of
the change. This restriction would also include any associated changes such as calculating
the income or personal deductions for a specific member.

6. The application must be denied if the household fails to verify the new elements or the items
requested originally.

C. INTERIM REPORT FILING

All households must file an Interim Report by the sixth or twelfth month of the certification period
unless they are exempt from filing as noted below. In instances where households lose ESAP
eligibility, the Interim Report may be due by month 24. Household composition and financial
circumstances at the time of application will be the basis of the SNAP benefit amount for the first
half of the certification period unless the household reports a change during the certification period
before the Interim Report period. Household composition and financial circumstances reported on
the Interim Report will be the basis of the SNAP benefit amount for the remainder of the certification
period unless the household reports additional changes after filing the Interim Report.

1. Exemption from Filing

The following households are exempt from filing Interim Reports:
a. Households with certification periods of six months or less which may include:
1) Households with unstable or changeable circumstances, such as homeless
households and households with migrant or seasonal farm workers.

2) Households that receive Transitional Benefits for former TANF recipients.
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b. Households with certification periods of 12 months or less if all household
members are elderly or permanently disabled and there is no earned income.
C. Households certified through VaCAP or ESAP.
2. Interim Reporting Filing

The Virginia Department of Social Services will generate and mail Interim Reports to
certified households for which the sixth or twelfth month of the certification period is the
following month. A list of cases sent the Interim Report each month and a copy of
individual reports are available online.

a.

Household Responsibilities

The household must:

. Complete the Interim Report and return it to the local department of social
services by the fifth day of the sixth or twelfth month. Any responsible
household member or authorized representative may complete the
Interim Report.

. Supply verification of changed elements.

. Provide additional information or verifications, as requested, within 10
days of the request.

Agency Responsibilities

The BPS must:

. Assess Interim Report forms returned from households for completeness,
accompanied verifications and reported changes.

Remove all shelter expenses if the household fails to declare
shelter expenses that result from a move reported on the Interim
Report.

Give no allowance for unverified or undeclared expenses. Leave
the prior child support payment amount in place but remove all
existing shelter expense amounts.

. Assess and act on returned Interim Report forms:

Interim Report forms returned on or by the 20" of the sixth/twelfth
month (or the 18™ or 19t of February, as appropriate), complete
the assessment and reinstate the case to provide benefits timely
for month seven/thirteen for eligible households.

Interim Report forms returned after the 20" of the sixth/twelfth
month (or after the 18" or 19t of February, as appropriate),
complete the assessment and reinstate the case to provide
benefits within 10 days of receipt, as all other reports of changes.
The BPS is encouraged to act promptly to avoid case closures
and delay of benefits. (See Part XIV.A.2.)

Evaluate and act on completed interim report forms returned in
month seven/thirteen after closure of a case. If eligible for
benefits, reinstate the case without requiring the household to
reapply.

" Provide benefits, as allowed in section d. below, after
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determining the cause of the delay.

" Provide benefits, as allowed in section d. below, after
determining the cause of the delay.
" Require the household to reapply for benefits if the household

returns the interim report after month seven/thirteen.

Send the Interim Report Form - Request for Action form

° If the household fails to return a completed Interim Report timely.
Send the Interim Report Form-Request for Action by the 15" of the
month when the Interim Report is missing. Provide another Interim
Report if the household requests it.

° If the returned Interim Report is incomplete or lacks required
verifications of reported income changes and the BPS is unable to
obtain information from the household by telephone or other
household contact. Send the original Interim Report to the household
along with the Interim Report Form-Request for Action if information is
not obtained.

° If the returned Interim Report lacks a signature. Send the original
Interim Report to the household.

" The household will have 10 days to supply information,
verification, or to complete the form, even if the 10-day period
expires after the case should automatically close.

. Photocopy an incomplete Interim Report before sending the
form back to the household.

If the household fails to return an Interim Report or fails to return a completed

Interim Report by the VaCMS cutoff of month six/twelve, the case will

automatically close at the end of the sixth or twelfth month, as appropriate.

The BPS must send an adequate notice before closure of the case if the

household fails to submit a completed Interim Report. The BPS must also

send an adequate notice before closure of the case if the household fails to
take required actions or to supply requested verifications.

Incomplete Interim Reports

The Interim Report is incomplete if:

The case name, head of the household, responsible household member or
authorized representative has not signed the form;

The household fails to answer each question or fails to submit verification of
income; or

The household fails to provide information needed to determine eligibility or
benefit level, such as failing to note if changes have occurred in household
composition or the address.

The BPS must use reasonable judgement to determine if the Interim Report is
incomplete. For example, if the household indicates that no changes have occurred
for income but supplies new pay stubs, the report is complete. Consider the Interim
Report complete even if the household fails to:
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Provide proof of reported changes in its child support obligation or the
amount paid; or
Declare new shelter expenses that result from a move to a new residence.

C. Verification Requirements
To determine eligibility for the second half of a certification period, the household
must provide the following:

Proof of changed income amounts, (= $125) or source changes, including
starting or stopping. The BPS must request sufficient income verification that
will allow a reasonable monthly estimate of the income expected.

Note: The household does not need to submit verification of self-employment
or contract income that has been averaged or verify exempt income or
resources.

Proof of other elements. The household may need to verify other eligibility
elements reported on the Interim Report, as needed.

d. Calculation of Benefits
The BPS must:

Determine a household’s continued eligibility and benefit level effective the

seventh or thirteenth month based on information provided through the

Interim Report or generated through systems inquiries if the source

generated and verifies the information.

Determine the date of receipt of the Interim Report or required verification if it

is received in month seven/thirteen.

o Determine who caused the delay. A delay will be agency-caused if
agency actions contribute to a delay in the return of the Interim Report
(such as an incorrect address) or if the initial request for required
verification or information is delayed so that the 10-day period to
return the information extends into month seven/thirteen.

. Agency Delay: Provide benefits for month seven/thirteen in
full without proration.
. Household delay: Prorate benefits for month seven/thirteen

from the date when the Interim Report is submitted or when
the last required verification or information element is
provided.
Reinstate the case after the evaluation of the Interim Report; and
Provide an adequate notice to the household, as appropriate, of ineligibility or
the benefit calculation for the second half of the certification period that
results from the evaluation of the Interim Report.

D. ADVANCE NOTICE OF PROPOSED ACTION

The household must receive written notice prior to any action to reduce or terminate benefits within
the certification period. The advance notice period is 10 days and begins with the day following the
date the BPS gives or mails the notice to the household. The BPS may use the Notice of Action for
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this purpose, unless benefits in both TANF and SNAP are reduced or terminated simultaneously.
In that case, the BPS may use the Advance Notice of Proposed Action. Both forms and
instructions are in Part XXIV.

Neither an advance notice nor an adequate notice is necessary when (7 CFR 273.13(b)):
1. All members of the household have died.

2. The household has moved from the locality, except in those situations where the agency
transfers the case or opts to retain the case as allowed by Part XIV.A.7.

3. Restoration of benefits is complete and the household had previous notification when the
increased benefits would terminate.

4. The allotment fluctuates monthly due to anticipated changes and the household had prior
notice at the time of certification.

5. Simultaneous applications were made for TANF/GR and SNAP benefits and the
household was notified that receipt of financial assistance could reduce the benefit level.

6. A household is given a normal certification period under expedited service contingent on
the receipt of postponed verification, provided the household receives written notice that
benefits may be reduced or terminated upon receipt of the postponed verification or if
verifications postponed are not received.

7. A household's benefits increased based on a reported change and later decreased to the
original amount when the household fails to provide verification, provided the local
department advised the household at the time of the increase. (See Part XIV.A.2.)

8. All members have moved into an ineligible institution (one that does not meet the
requirements of Part VII.C.1a-d).

9. The household voluntarily requests to end its SNAP benefits or requests to end
Transitional Benefits and makes the request in writing or in the presence of a worker. If
the household does not provide a written request, the local department must send the
household a letter to confirm the voluntary withdrawal.

10. A participating household fails to respond to a demand letter requesting repayment of a
claim and the local department initiates benefit reduction.

11. A household is converted from cash and/or a voluntary benefit repayment of a claim to
benefit reduction. (See Part XVII.F.)

In instances where the BPS does not need to send a notice if the household had prior notice of
the change, the BPS must send an advance notice if the household did not receive a notice. In
addition, the advance notice is not necessary when the household reports a change before the
beginning of the certification period even though the Notice of Action to inform the household of
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approval may have already been sent.

Example

A household files for recertification and approved on July 18. The BPS provides
a Notice of Action on this same day. The new certification period is to begin
August 1. On July 25, the household reports a change that would decrease the
benefits for August. The Advance Notice of Proposed Action is not required.
Instead, provide a revised Notice of Action.

The advance notice may be retracted if it is mailed by mistake. It may also be retracted if it
becomes unnecessary because the household's situation changes during the advance notice
period. The household must be informed of the retraction.

If an advance notice is mailed giving erroneous information, a corrected notice must be mailed.
If the new allotment will be more than that which the household has already been told, the BPS
must continue with the original effective date. If the new allotment amount will be less than that
which the household has already been told, the BPS must begin the 10-day advance notice
period again.

Example

An advance notice is mailed on October 20 to decrease benefits to $50. The
new amount should have been $45. A corrected notice is mailed on October 25.

Decrease benefits to $50 effective November 1. Decrease benefits to $45
effective December 1.

E. ADEQUATE NOTICE

Adequate notice of a change in benefits is by the time the changed benefits are received by the
household, or by the time the benefits would have been received if the case had not been
closed. The Notice of Action may be used for this purpose. The form and instructions are in
Part XXIV.

Adequate notice is necessary In the following situations:

1. Certain mass changes take place. (See Part XIV.A.4.)

2. A waiver to an Advance Notice of Proposed Action is signed because continuing the
original benefit amount will result in a claim for which the household may be required to
repay. The BPS must explain to the household that it is the household’s choice whether
to sign the waiver.

3. Benefit reduction is invoked when a participating household responds to a demand letter
by requesting renegotiation of the repayment schedule but the BPS determines
renegotiation is not warranted. (See Part XVII.F.)
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10.

11.

The person is a resident of a drug or alcoholic treatment center or group living
arrangement and the facility loses its FNS authorization or its certification from the
appropriate state or local agency.

Note: Residents of group living arrangements applying on their own behalf are still
eligible to participate.

A household member is disqualified for fraud, or the benefits of the remaining household
members are reduced or terminated to reflect the disqualification of that household
member.

The BPS determines that, based on reliable information, the household will not be
residing in the locality as of the first day of the next month unless the agency opts to
retain the case, as allowed by Part XIV.A.7, or unless there is sufficient information to
allow the agency to transfer the case, as allowed by Part XIV.A.8.

A certified household’'s address is unknown and mail has been returned by the post
office indicating no known forwarding address. The agency must send the Request for
Contact in response to the returned, undeliverable mail.

A household files a timely request for a fair hearing and requests continuation of benefits
in response to a prior notice to reduce or terminate benefits.

A household becomes ineligible for Transitional Benefits, such as when it reapplies for
TANF assistance.

The BPS completes an evaluation of eligibility and benefit level based on a returned,
completed Interim Report.

The household files an incomplete Interim Report or the household failed to submit a
completed Interim Report.
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CHANGES IN INCOME, DEDUCTIONS, RESOURCES
Within 10 days of the report from one of the four sources listed in Part XIV.A.2, the BPS must:

. Determine the amount:

Income: Frequency, rate, dates of receipt

Deductions: Frequency, amounts, due dates, entitlement

. Include in existing calculations to determine continued eligibility and benefit level.
. Compare to gross/net income standards, resource or deduction maximum, as
appropriate.

After change evaluation, is the household still eligible?

Yes

No

Unknown

Send 10-day advance
notice if the benefits
decrease. Verification
needed at recertification.

Send Notice of Action if the
benefits increase. Verify
new information before
Month 2. If not verified,
amount is returned to the
original amount.

Send 10-day advance
notice to close case or to
suspend case for one
month. Verify information if
questionable.

Household must clarify or
verify change within 10
days.

Contact the household
informally. If the household
does not respond or take
sufficient action, consider
the information at
recertification or for the
interim, whichever is first.

The BPS must normally make changes for the month after the month the change is reported.

Except for household composition changes, the BPS may give supplemental allotments for

reevaluations made in the month of the change. The BPS may authorize supplemental

allotments at the local agency’s discretion but must do so uniformly. If the agency makes

voluntary supplements, the BPS must provide supplements for all comparable changes.
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CHANGES IN HOUSEHOLD COMPOSITION

New Household Member Reported - Is person required to be in the household?

v
Determine the eligibility of the new <« Does the household request new
person and the household person be added to the unit?
v YES NO
Screen:
New person subject to work requirement v
exhausted SNAP entitlement? Evaluate as separate household IF
New person known to agency/system? food is purchased and prepared
New person disqualified? separately
New person included in another case?
\ 4 \ 4
YES NO
\ 4 A 4
Disqualification period must Add person to case
end. Person must be removed for next month.
from old case before adding
to new case, if eligible. v

Does person have income/resources/expenses?

[ves ] (o]

Determine amounts v

Add new income/resources/deductions to household Add person to case for next
budget to determine the household’s eligibility and month.
benefit level.

Add person to case for next month.

Verification of income or questionable information
required before month 2 if allotment increases.

Other actions due with change evaluation: Alien status established
Student eligibility established
Actions due at recertification: Social Security number obtained or proof of application for number
Work registration completed
Alien registration number obtained

These actions may be discussed and information obtained at the time of the change report however, no
negative action may be taken if processes are not completed at this time.
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A. GENERAL PROVISIONS

All individuals, able to work, must be working or actively engaged in a work activity to receive
SNAP benefits. Unless an exemption to the work requirement exists, individuals may receive
SNAP benefits for only three months during a 36-month period. Individuals must be evaluated for
exemptions as allowed in Part XV.B. After the initial three-month period (Y1 benefits), an
individual may receive benefits through a Special Exemption (E9) to allow certification up to six
months. Special Exemption E9 months may also extend the certification period to six months for
households with members who regain eligibility (Y2 benefits), as allowed in Part XV.C. The E9
allowance does not apply when an individual’s status changes during an established certification
period. After the initial and regained benefit months (Y1, Y2) have been exhausted, an individual
may receive benefits only if there is an exemption to the work requirement.

To receive SNAP benefits beyond three months, a nonexempt able-bodied household member
must:

1. work for cash wages in any amount or for in-kind goods or services for 20 hours or
more per week, averaged monthly;

2. participate in and comply with requirements of an employment services program
operated by the Department of Social Services, other than job search, for 20 hours
or more per week or for the number of hours assigned for the work experience
component as calculated by the household's allotment divided by the federal
minimum wage;

3. participate in and comply with non-departmental (VDSS) work programs for 20
hours or more per week;

4. serve in an unpaid, volunteer capacity for a public or private agency, at a minimum,
for the number of hours that is equal to the household's allotment divided by the
federal minimum wage; or

5. any combination of these activities.

If the member was unable to work, as described above, and is able to show good cause, the
member will meet the work requirement as long as the absence is temporary and the member
retains the job.

The 36-month period is a fixed period from the first of the month in which a household containing
an individual between 18 and 54 years of age is certified in Virginia. The 36-month period will
begin and continue for any household member who is at least 18 and under 55 years of age, even
if an exemption from the work requirement exists for that member at the time of certification or
other case action. Tracking must be completed for all individuals within the age range, even when
they are exempt.

Any month in which an affected individual receives the full benefit month as part of a certified
household will count toward the three-month limit.
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Months in which a household receives prorated benefits will not count toward the three-month limit.
Months in which a household does not receive an allotment because benefits are prorated to zero
(i.e., less than $10) will also not count toward the limit. Months in which a certified household is
eligible to receive benefits but does not actually participate do not count toward the three-month
period. Months for which a household repays benefits received erroneously also will not count
toward the three-month limit once the household repays the claim in full.

For the purposes of this provision, a work program will include programs operated under the
Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act (WIOA) and the Trade Adjustment Assistance Act in
addition to the agency-sponsored employment and training programs. Job search activities
assigned through SNAP E&T or other state or local social services programs are not acceptable
tasks to count toward establishing a household member’s eligibility for continuing benefits beyond
the initial three-month limit. Job search activities assigned through WIOA will be evaluated as an
acceptable task, however.

An unemployed (0 work hours) or underemployed (<30 work hours) individual is not entitled to
additional benefits during the balance of the 36-month period after receiving benefits for three
countable months, unless the individual meets an exemption from the work requirement or meets
the regaining provisions of Part XV.C. The BPS must send an advance notice to participating
households when a member becomes ineligible to participate further because of the work
requirement. Such a household member is a disqualified household member during any period in
which the individual does not meet the work requirement. See Parts VI.C and XII.E for a discussion
of disqualified household members.

Ongoing households with members who are not eligible because of the work requirement must
continue to report changes involving these members.

B. WORK REQUIREMENT EXEMPTIONS

The following individuals are exempt from the work requirement:

1. Any individual who is under 18 years of age or 55 years of age or older. See Part
XILA.2.
2. Any individual who is medically certified as mentally or physically unfit for work or

have other barriers that make them unfit for work, such as chronic homelessness.
Chronic homelessness is defined as meeting at least one of the components of the
homeless household found in Definitions for six months or more.

3. Any adult member of a SNAP household of which a child under age 18 is part of the
SNAP household.

4. A pregnant woman.

5. Any resident of an exempt locality. The exemption may be based on the
unemployment rate of the locality or its identification as a Labor Surplus Area.
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6. Any individual who is otherwise exempt from work registration as outlined in Part
VIILAA.

7. A United States veteran.

8. An individual who is 24 years of age or younger and who was in foster care on their
18th birthday.

9. A homeless individual.

The BPS must:

. assess each individual for exemption from time-limited benefits;
. assess fitness for employment at certification or recertification; and
. document that the household was informed of the exemptions or how to comply.

Documentation may include that the SNAP Time-Limited Benefit flyer was provided.

The BPS must establish the 36-month period and track the reasons for the exemption for everyone
who meets an exemption other than age.

C. REGAINING ELIGIBILITY

Nonexempt individuals denied eligibility after being eligible for three months of Y1 initial benefits, or
those who would have been denied if an application had been filed, can regain eligibility. These
individuals may regain eligibility only under specific conditions for the balance of the 36-month
period. Individuals who regain eligibility by being exempted from the requirement will remain
eligible as long as the exemption exists. Individuals, who regain eligibility through work activities,
as listed below, are eligible for a maximum of three months of regained benefits (Y2) if they are no
longer working or involved in a work activity.

1. Eligibility Dependent on Changes in Circumstances

SNAP eligibility may be reestablished for an individual who loses eligibility because of the
work requirement if the individual becomes exempt from the work requirement as listed in
Chapter B. For participating households, an individual may regain eligibility the month
following the month the change occurs. Reapplying households may regain eligibility on the
date of application or a later date if the individual's status has changed.

2. Eligibility Dependent on Work Activities

Nonexempt individuals denied after being eligible for the initial three-month period of Y1
benefits, or any subsequent period of unemployment, may regain eligibility only if the
individual:

a. works 80 hours or more during a 30-calendar day period; or
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b. complies with requirements of work programs identified in Part XV.A for 80 hours or

more during a 30-calendar day period.

The BPS must document the case to show that the required work effort met the 80-hour/30-
day requirement. The documentation must include the number of hours, place, and period
of employment. Households may not use any work activities performed before the three-
month eligibility period for Y1 or Y2 benefits have expired to regain eligibility.

Nonexempt individuals who have received their three initial months of benefits (Y1) can
receive SNAP benefits for up to three consecutive months (Y2) once the 80-hour, 30-day
requirement has been satisfied. Once the evaluation period for regained benefits begins,
the period must continue even if the individual is ineligible for SNAP benefits during a
portion of the period. Benefits for the second three-month period may be provided only if the
qualifying work (a-b above) has terminated or is reduced below the qualifying standards of
Chapter A. Once the BPS establishes eligibility for Y2 benefits, the certification period must
end.

If the qualifying work continues after the initial 80 hours, eligibility may continue under the
normal work requirement rules. Entitlement to the Y2 benefits is postponed until a later time
during which the household member is no longer working or is no longer exempt from the
Work Requirement.

Applications filed for nonexempt household members before the completion of the 80
hours/30-day rule must be denied if the 80 hours will not be completed during the month of
application. If the 80 hours will be completed during the month of application but after the
application filing date, benefits must be prorated from the date after eligibility is established.
See Part XIlI.D.2 for additional information regarding the calculation of benefits.

Regaining and Maintaining Eligibility

After receipt or authorization of the second set of benefits (Y2), following subsequent
periods of unemployment or under-employment (less than 20 hours per week), a nonexempt
member must regain (a—b above) and maintain that eligibility by engaging in a work activity
as required by Chapter A. During a period of unemployment or underemployment, a
nonexempt member is not eligible for benefits. There is no limit to the number of times a
member may engage in this regaining-maintaining eligibility cycle.
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Localities Whose Residents Are Exempted from the Work Requirement*

May 2018 May 2018- April 2020- July 2023- July 2024-
March 2020 March 2020 June 2023 June 2024 June 2025
Accomack Pittsylvania Statewide Brunswick Brunswick
Alleghany/ Portsmouth Exemption Buchanan Buchanan
Covington Prince Edward Danville Danville
Bath Prince George Dinwiddie Dickenson
Bland Pulaski Franklin City Dinwiddie
Bristol Richmond County Greensville/ Greensville
Brunswick Russell Emporia Emporia
Buchanan Scott Hopewell Hopewell
Buckingham Smyth Nottoway Martinsville
Carroll Surry Petersburg Petersburg
Charles City Sussex Portsmouth Surry
Charlotte Tazewell Prince George Sussex
Craig Washington Sussex
Cumberland Westmoreland
Danville Williamsburg
Dickenson Wise
Dinwiddie Wythe
Franklin City
Galax
Grayson
Greensville/
Emporia
Halifax
Hampton
Henry/
Martinsville
Highland
Hopewell
Lancaster
Lee
Lunenburg
Mecklenburg
Northampton
Northumberland
Norton
Page
Patrick
Petersburg

*The BPS must track the work requirement for all household members except those persons under 18 or
over age 54.
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A. RESTORATION OF LOST BENEFITS (7 CFR 273.17(a) and (b))
1. The local agency must restore any benefits that the household lost whenever:

a. The State Department or local agency causes an error that results in a loss,
including an invalid denial of an application or termination of benefits;

b. Federal regulations or instructions specifically provide for restoration of lost
benefits; or,
C. The loss was due to an intentional program violation disqualification based on a

court conviction and the decision of the court is reversed.

The local agency must also restore benefits whenever the loss was caused by an error
of the Social Security Administration (SSA) when the error resulted from joint processing
of an SSI household. Such an error would include, but is not limited to, the loss of a
SNAP application after the applicant filed an application with SSA.

2. Households will not normally receive restoration for an action that occurred more than 12
months before the most recent of the following:

a. The month the household, or another person or agency notified the local agency
in writing or orally of the possible loss to a specific household;

b. The month the BPS discovers, in the normal course of business, that a loss to a
specific household has occurred; or,

C. The date the household requested a fair hearing to contest the adverse action
that resulted in the loss.

Any exceptions to the 12-month restriction on restoration, will be noted at the time
specific policy requiring a restoration is issued.

If the state or local agency determines that a loss of benefits has occurred and the
household is entitled to restoration of those benefits, the BPS must act immediately to
restore any benefits lost within the limits described above. No action by the household is
necessary.

The BPS must notify the household of its entittement and other pertinent information by
providing the household with the Entitlement to Restoration of Lost Benefits. See Part
XXIV for a copy of the form and instructions. The BPS must also use the form to notify
households who have requested a review of their case for lost benefits that the
household is not entitled to restored benefits.

The BPS must provide restoration benefits to any household entitled to the benefits even
if the household is currently ineligible.
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B.

COMPUTING THE AMOUNT TO BE RESTORED (7 CFR 273.17(d))

After correcting the error and excluding those months for which benefits may have been lost
prior to the 12-month time limits described in Part XVI.A., the BPS must calculate the amount to
be restored as follows:

1.

If the household was eligible but received an incorrect allotment, the BPS must calculate
lost benefits only for those months the household participated.

If the loss was caused by an incorrect denial or termination of benefits, the BPS must
calculate the months affected by the loss as follows:

a.

If an eligible household's initial application or reapplication was erroneously
denied, the month the loss initially occurred will be the month of application, or
for an eligible household filing a timely application for recertification, the month
following the expiration of its certification period.

If an eligible household's benefits were erroneously terminated, the month the
loss initially occurred will be the first month benefits were not received because
of the erroneous action.

Example

An eligible household's benefits were erroneously terminated
effective June 30. The error was discovered in August and the
household was given an opportunity to participate in August. The
household is entitled to restoration of lost benefits for the month
of July.

After computing the date the loss initially occurred, the loss must be calculated
for each month after that date until either the first month the error is corrected or
the first month the household is found ineligible.

Examples

1) The BPS has determined that a household is entitled to
restoration of lost benefits beginning July 1. The error made by
the local agency was corrected in September and an opportunity
to receive the correct allotment was provided in September.
Benefits must be restored for July and August.

2) The BPS has determined that another household is also entitled
to restoration of lost benefits beginning July 1. The error was
found in September, at which time it was determined that the
household would not have been eligible for other reasons in
either August or September. The household would have been
eligible in July. Benefits must be restored for July only.
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3. For each month affected by the loss, the BPS must determine if the household was

indeed eligible. In cases where there is no information in the household's case file to
document that the household was eligible in that month, the BPS must advise the
household of what information must be provided to determine eligibility for these months.
For each month the household cannot provide the necessary information to demonstrate
its eligibility, the household is ineligible.

4. For the months the household was eligible, the BPS must calculate the allotment the
household should have received. If the household received a smaller allotment than it
was eligible to receive, the difference between the actual and correct allotments equals
the amount to be restored.

Example

A household was certified for benefits for $70.00 for the months of
July through September. The household participated, i.e.,
benefits were posted to the EBT account each of these three
months. The benefit amount should have been $100.00 each
month. As a result, the household is entitled to $90.00 in lost
benefits ($100.00 - $70.00 = $30.00 X 3 months = $90.00).

5. If a claim against a household is unpaid or if an overissuance and an underissuance of
benefits are discovered at the same time, the BPS must offset the amount to be restored
against the amount due on the claim before the household will receive any restored.
Claims may not be offset against the household's current month's even if the initial
allotment includes a retroactive amount.

C. METHOD OF RESTORATION (7 CFR 273.17(f))

Regardless of whether a household is currently eligible or ineligible, the BPS must restore lost
benefits to a household by issuing an allotment equal to the benefit amount that were lost. The
BPS must provide the restored amount in addition to the monthly benefits currently eligible
households are entitled to receive.

The BPS must honor reasonable requests by households to restore lost benefits in monthly
installments. A reasonable request would include that the amount to be restored is more than
the household can use in a reasonable period.

D. RESTORING BENEFITS TO HOUSEHOLDS NOT RESIDING IN THE LOCALITY

There may be times when a household no longer residing in the locality is due restoration of lost
benefits. In these instances, if the household is receiving SNAP benefits in another Virginia
locality, the BPS must notify the new locality and submit documentation to allow the new agency
to authorize restored benefits. If the household is not receiving SNAP benefits in another
Virginia locality, the agency must authorize restored benefits.
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E. CHANGES IN HOUSEHOLD COMPOSITION (7 CFR 273.17(g))

Whenever a household is due lost benefits and the household's membership has changed, the
BPS must restore the lost benefits to the household that contains most of the individuals who
were household members at the time the loss occurred. If the BPS cannot locate or determine
the household that contains most of household members, the BPS must restore the lost benefits
to the household containing the person designated as the head of the household at the time the
loss occurred.

F.  RECORD KEEPING (7 CFR 273.17(h))

The local agency must maintain any documentation that supports the entitlement to restoration
for each instance in which restoration of lost benefits is appropriate.

G.  DISPUTED BENEFITS (7 CFR 273.17(c))

If the BPS determines that a household is entitled to restoration of lost benefits, but the
household does not agree with the amount to be restored as calculated by the local BPS, the
household may request a fair hearing within 90 days of the date the household is notified of its
entitlement to restoration of lost benefits. The household may also request a hearing on any
other action taken to restore lost benefits. If the household requests a hearing before or during
the time BPS is restoring lost benefits, the household will receive the lost benefits as determined
by the local agency pending the results of the fair hearing. If the fair hearing decision is
favorable to the household, the local agency must restore the additional lost benefits in
accordance with the decision.

If a household believes it is entitled to restoration of lost benefits, but the BPS does not agree
after reviewing the case file, the household has 90 days from the date of the local BPS
determination to request a fair hearing. The BPS must restore lost benefits to the household
only if the fair hearing decision is favorable to the household. The household is not entitled to
benefits lost more than twelve (12) months before the date the local agency initially discovered
the household's possible entitlement to lost benefits.
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A

CLAIMS AGAINST HOUSEHOLDS (7 CFR 273.18(a))

A claim against a household is an amount owed because:

B.

. A household received more SNAP benefits than it was entitled to receive, resulting in
an overpayment; or

. SNAP benefits were trafficked which is the buying or selling of SNAP benefits for

cash or consideration other than eligible food; or for the exchange of firearms,
ammunition, explosives, or controlled substances.

TYPES OF CLAIMS (7 CFR 273.18(b))

There are three types of claims:

1.

Agency Error (AE) Claims

An Agency Error is any claim for an overpayment caused by an action or failure to take
action by the state or local department of social services.

Inadvertent Household Error (IHE) Claims

An Inadvertent Household Error is any claim for an overpayment that results from a
misunderstanding or unintended error on the part of the household.

Intentional Program Violation (IPV) Claims

An Intentional Program Violation is any claim for an overpayment or trafficking resulting from
an intentional error on the part of the household. An IPV is defined in Definitions.

In order for a claim to be an IPV, there must be a finding of IPV or fraud by a court, a signed
waiver to an Administrative Disqualification Hearing (ADH), or a finding of IPV by a hearing
officer as a result of an ADH.

Prior to the determination of IPV, a claim against the household must be established as an
IHE claim, except for a trafficking claim, which may only be established as an IPV.

However, if the prosecutor advises that collection action may prejudice the case, or the
person responsible for signing ADH referrals decides to postpone collection action on cases
referred for ADH, no collection action should be taken. If the household member is found not
guilty of IPV, either by a court or through an ADH, the claim must be handled as an IHE
claim.

a. Referral for Prosecution (7 CFR 273.16(a))

The local department of social services must confer with the local prosecutor to
determine the types of cases acceptable for possible prosecution and actual cases of
alleged IPV to refer for prosecution. An agreement between the local department of
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social services and the prosecutor must include information on how and under what
circumstances cases will be accepted for possible prosecution and any other criteria
set by the prosecutor for accepting cases for prosecution, such as a minimum
amount of overpayment.

The local department of social services may refer a case for prosecution regardless
of an individual’s current eligibility. The local department of social services is
encouraged to refer for prosecution persons suspected of committing an IPV where
large amounts of overpaid benefits are involved or where more than one intentional
act is suspected. The local department of social services should also encourage the
prosecutor to recommend to the court that a disqualification penalty be imposed in
addition to any other criminal penalties for such violations. Information on a prior IPV
should be shared with the prosecutor to support the assignment of an appropriate
disqualification period.

b. Referral for Administrative Disqualification Hearing (ADH) (7 CFR 273.16(e))

See Part XIX for complete ADH guidelines.

An ADH is an impartial review by a hearing officer of a household member's actions
involving alleged IPV. The hearing officer must decide if a household member is
guilty or not guilty of committing an IPV.

The local department of social services may refer an individual for an ADH
regardless of the current eligibility of the individual.

The local department of social services should request an ADH when:

o the agency believes the facts of the case do not warrant criminal prosecution
through the courts;

. a case referred for prosecution was declined by the prosecutor;

° a case referred for prosecution was formally withdrawn by the local
department of social services because no action was taken by the prosecutor
within a reasonable period.

Cases dismissed or acquitted in court may not be referred for an ADH. A case may
not be referred for an ADH while its referral for prosecution is in process. An ADH
does not prevent the local department of social services, state or federal government
from prosecuting the household member for an IPV in a court of appropriate
jurisdiction.

C. CALCULATING THE CLAIM AMOUNT (7 CFR 273.18(c))

1. Claims Not Related to Trafficking

A claim must be calculated back to at least twelve months prior to when the BPS discovered
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the overpayment, except for an IPV claim, which must be calculated back to the month the
act of intentional program violation first occurred. In addition, for all claims, the BPS must
not include any period that occurred more than six years before the BPS discovered the
overpayment.

The BPS must determine the correct benefit amount for each month the household
participated. The income conversion factors of 4.3 or 2.15 must be used, if appropriate,
based on Part XIII.A.3, to determine the monthly income. If the claim is an IHE or an IPV
claim, the BPS must not apply the earned income deduction to that part of any earned
income that the household failed to report in a timely manner.

If, due to either an inadvertent error on the part of the household or an intentional act on the
part of the household, a household failed to report a required change in its circumstances
within the prescribed time limits provided in Part XIV.A, the first month that benefits were
overpaid will be the first month in which the change would have been effective had it been
reported timely. Factor in only the 10-day reporting period and the advance notice period.
In no event, however, may the BPS determine as the first month in which the change would
have been effective, any month later than two months from the month in which the change
in household circumstances occurred.

If the household reported a change within the prescribed time limits, but the BPS did not act
on the change timely, the first month affected by the failure to act must be the first month the
BPS should have made the change effective. Therefore, if an advance notice was required
but was not sent, the local department of social services BPS must assume that the
maximum advance notice period, as provided in Part XIV.D, would have expired without the
household requesting a fair hearing. Do not factor in a 10-day agency action period.

If an overpayment is discovered for a month or months in which a mandatory SNAPET
participant has already participated in a work experience assignment, the BPS must
determine if the person who performed the work is still subject to a work obligation and
determine how many extra hours were worked because of the improper benefit. The
participant must be credited that number of hours toward future work obligations.

Once the BPS calculates the amount of correct benefits the household should have
received, the BPS must subtract the correct amount of benefits from the benefits the
household received to determine the amount of the overpayment or claim.

After calculating the amount of the claim, the BPS must offset the amount of the claim by
any amounts which have not yet been restored to the household. The BPS must also offset
the amount of the overpayment by the amount of any electronic benefits expunged from the
household’s EBT account. The difference is the amount of the claim.

If the information needed to compute an overpayment is lacking, no claim can be
established until the information is received.

Averaged Income Calculation for Cases Pending Prosecution
The provisions of this section will apply only after the local department of social services has
attempted to obtain monthly wage information through all possible means, including issuing
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a subpoena duces tecum. A subpoena duces tecum is not appropriate if an employer
confirms a monthly breakdown of the income is not available or if the employment records
are maintained in another state as some states may not honor another state’s subpoena.

The BPS must:

Verify the beginning and end dates of each period of employment.

Evaluate the individual’s tax return or W-2 forms to calculate a monthly average if
other records are not available. VEC records may not be used.

Establish the claim with NFD (No Fraud Decision) status code. Use the NFD code
even if there is an agreement with the Commonwealth’s Attorney (CA) to pursue
collection prior to prosecution.

Advise the CA the overpayment amount was calculated by using a monthly average
instead of the actual monthly wages.

If the case is not accepted for prosecution or the person is found not guilty, collection
may still be appropriate and if so, an IDL is required.

Annotate the Overpayment Calculation form generated with the IDL with: “To
calculate the overissuance, we used a monthly average as we were not able to get
your actual monthly wages from your employer. If you disagree with the use of a
monthly average, you may request an agency conference and provide your actual
income, and we will recalculate your overissuance to determine if there is any
change.”

2. Trafficking Claims

The amount of a claim resulting from trafficking of SNAP benefits will be determined by:

The individual’s admission of the amount trafficked;

A determination by a court; or

Documentation that forms the basis for the trafficking determination, such as EBT
transaction data.

For both trafficking and non-trafficking claims, the local department of social services must
maintain documentation to support how the claim was calculated.

D.  CLAIM ESTABLISHMENT (7 CFR 273.18(d)(1))

A claim must be established before the end of the calendar quarter following the quarter in which
the overpayment or trafficking incident was discovered, except as allowed below. The date of
discovery is the date the BPS has sufficient information to determine that an overpayment or
trafficking offense has occurred. The BPS must document the date of discovery. The BPS must
also ensure that no less than 90 percent of all potential claims are either established or disposed of
within this time frame.

Timely claim establishment exception: Trafficking claims where the court conviction date or ADH
decision date causes the claim to be established outside of the timeliness standard. The BPS must
have documentation to support the determination of an IPV by a court, a Waiver, or an ADH and the
claim should be established within 30 days of the disposition of a court or an ADH.
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1. Claim Thresholds (7 CFR 273.18(e)(2)(ii))

The BPS must establish a claim for any household-caused overpayment that totals more
than $125 and for any agency-caused overpayment that exceeds $300. The BPS must also
establish a claim for an overpayment in any amount for an error identified in a Quality
Assurance review. The BPS may initiate collection action for household-caused claims
under the $125 threshold or when multiple overpayments for a household within the last six
years total or exceed the threshold for the claim type.

2. Liable Persons (7 CFR 273.18(a)(4))

The following persons are responsible, or liable, for paying a claim:

a. Each person who was, or should have been, an adult member of the household, age
18 or older, when the overpayment or trafficking occurred; and
b. A person connected to the household, such as an authorized representative, who

actually caused an overpayment or trafficking.

E. INITIATING COLLECTION ACTION (7 CFR 273.18 (e))

1. Demand Letters

The BPS must initiate collection action by mailing or otherwise delivering to the household
the appropriate initial demand letter, Request for Repayment of Extra SNAP Benefits and a
Repayment Agreement. The demand letter and repayment agreement must be sent
immediately following the establishment of the claim, unless the household cannot be
located or a court ordered repayment of the claim. Additionally, if a claim is established as
an IHE and collection action is being postponed because the case is being referred for
prosecution or an ADH, the BPS must initiate collection action by sending the demand letter
and a repayment agreement, if the case is not accepted for prosecution or an ADH. The
local department of social services must retain a copy of the initial demand letter to
document the claim was properly established.

The household has 30 days from the date of the initial demand letter to tell the BPS how the
household intends to repay the claim. The household must make its first payment within 30
days of the date of the letter. If the household pays the claim, follow the procedures in Part
XVII1.Q for submitting payments.

If a participating household does not respond to the initial demand letter, benefit reduction
must be initiated. The household's benefit must be reduced not later than the first day of the
second month following the date of the initial demand letter.

If a non-participating household does not respond to the initial demand letter, a Request for
Extra SNAP Benefits-Follow-Up demand letter and Repayment Agreement should be sent at
30-day intervals until the household responds by paying, agrees to pay the claim, or until the
criteria for terminating collection action have been met, as specified in Part XVII.K.

TRANSMITTAL #35



VIRGINIA DEPARTMENT
OF SOCIAL SERVICES RECIPIENT CLAIMS

10/24 VOLUME V, PART XVII, PAGE 6

If a non-participating household agrees to repay the amount of the overpayment but does not
make a payment by the due date specified on the Repayment Agreement, the BPS should
send a Request for Repayment of Extra SNAP Benefits-Payment Overdue letter at 30-day
intervals until the household begins to pay again, or until the criteria for terminating collection
action, as specified in Part XVII.K have been met. If the household makes the overdue
payments and wishes to continue payments based on the previous schedule, these
payments will be considered voluntary unless a new Repayment Agreement is signed. If the
household renegotiates a new Repayment Agreement with the local department of social
services and makes a payment before the end of the 60-day Notice period, any further
involuntary collection will be prevented if the terms of the agreement are kept. Only the
Treasury Offset Program (TOP) Coordinator may negotiate a new repayment agreement
once a claim has been certified to TOP.

If the household requests renegotiation and the BPS concurs with the request, the household
may negotiate a new payment schedule. Both the BPS and the household have the option to
initiate renegotiation of the payment schedule if they believe that the household's economic
circumstances have changed enough to warrant such action.

If a participating household agrees to repay the claim by making installment payments but
does not submit a payment by the specified due date, the BPS must invoke benefit reduction.

2. Compromising Claims

The BPS may determine that a household's economic circumstances dictate that a claim will
not be paid in three years. The BPS may compromise the claim amount or a portion of the
claim by reducing the amount owed to allow the household to pay the claim within three
years. Note that the monthly payment amount determined through the Repayment
Agreement may result in a claim being repaid in a period that is longer than three years. A
claimant may request a compromise at any time after a claim is established but only one
compromise will be allowed per claim.

A claim may not be compromised if:

o the claim is the result of an intentional program violation (IPV);

o the claim has been certified to the Treasury Offset Program (TOP); or

o the gross income for the SNAP claim household exceeds 200% of the Federal Poverty
Level at the time the compromise is requested.

Compromise Process

The local department of social services should use the Compromising Claims worksheet
(032-03-0572-00-eng) to project the repayment amount expected in three years. The entire
balance may be compromised if the household’s actual monthly shelter expenses and actual
monthly medical expenses exceed the household’s monthly gross income and there are no
changes expected in the household’s economic circumstances.

The evaluation process factors in household income, expenses, and liquid resources. The
process also requires the agency to:
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o Determine the household size at the time the overpayment occurred;

o Determine 200% of the Federal Poverty Level for household size;

¢ Determine available funds by subtracting household expenses from calculated income
and resources;

o Multiply 10% of the available funds for repayment by 36 months.
The compromised amount is the difference between the amount to be paid and the total
overpayment.

Example
A claim was established for $1000 due to an agency error. The household requests a
compromise stating an inability to pay the amount owed.
¢ The difference between the monthly expenses, monthly income and 10% of the
resources is $200 which is the calculated funds available for repayment.
e 10% of the available funds is $20; ($20 x 36 months = $720), the amount the household
is expected to repay in 36 months.
$280 is the compromised claim amount ($1000 - $720 = $280).
o Enter the compromised amount as a payment using the code CR.
The household must repay $720.

The BPS must document the reason for the compromise or if the request is denied.

The BPS may use the full amount of the claim, including any amount compromised, to offset
a restoration of lost benefits. The BPS may reinstate any compromised portion of the claim,
if the claim becomes delinquent. The BPS must notify the claimant that the compromised
amount may be restored to the claim balance if the claim becomes delinquent.

F.  COLLECTION METHODS (7 CFR 273.18(f)&(g))

1. Allotment Reduction (7 CFR 273.18(g)(1))

A household may choose to have its SNAP benefits reduced to repay a claim. However, the
local department of social services must implement allotment reduction against a
participating household unless the household is making regular payments in an amount
greater than the amount that could be recovered through allotment reduction.

Prior to reduction, the local department of social services must inform the household orally or
in writing of the appropriate formula for determining the amount of SNAP benefits to be
recovered each month and the effect of that formula on the household's allotment, i.e., the
amount of SNAP benefits the local department of social services expects will be recovered
each month.

For an AE or an IHE claim, the amount of the reduction must be limited to 10% of the
allotment or $10, whichever is greater, unless the household agrees to a higher amount. For
an IPV claim, the amount of the reduction must be limited to 20% or $20, whichever is
greater, unless the household agrees to a higher amount. The Repayment Agreement must
be used to document the household's request for a higher allotment.

TRANSMITTAL #35



VIRGINIA DEPARTMENT
OF SOCIAL SERVICES RECIPIENT CLAIMS

10/24 VOLUME V, PART XVII, PAGE 8

The BPS may not reduce the initial month's allotment at application or reapplication unless
the household agrees to the reduction. The BPS must document this agreement.

The local or state department of social services may not use involuntary collection methods,
such as state or federal offsets, against individuals in a household that is having its allotment
reduced.

2. Lump Sum Payments (7 CFR 273.18(g)(4))

The local department of social services must accept any payment for a claim, whether it
represents full or partial payment. The payment may be made with cash, check, or money
order. The local department of social services may accept a credit or debit card for payments
if the agency has the capability to accept these types of payments. The local department of
social services must retain appropriate documentation of the payment.

3. Installment Payments (7 CFR 273.18(g)(5))

The local department of social services may accept installment payments as the result of a
negotiated repayment agreement. The repayment agreement must include a due date for
the payments. The payments may be made by cash, check, or money order. The local
department of social services may accept a credit or debit card for payments if the agency
has the capability to accept these types of payments. Unless a court order prohibits it, a
certified household must make installment payments in an amount that is greater than the
amount that is recoverable through benefit reduction. The local department of social services
must retain appropriate documentation of the payments.

If the household does not submit a payment according to the terms of its negotiated
repayment agreement, the claim is delinquent and subject to additional collection actions. If
the household is participating in the program, benefit reduction must be invoked.

4. Electronic Benefit Transfer (EBT) Accounts (7 CFR 273.18(g)(2))

The local department of social services must allow a household to pay its claim using
benefits from its EBT account. At the household’s request, this reduction may be used in
addition to allotment reduction or other repayment methods. If a certified household chooses
EBT account deduction as the primary collection method, the monthly payment must be
greater than the amount that is recoverable through allotment reduction, unless a court order
prohibits it.

The local department of social services must obtain written permission from the household to
collect from an EBT account. The household should complete the Repayment Agreement
form to note permission for a one-time or monthly payment from the EBT account. The
agency must send the household a receipt of each transaction.

After 365 days of inactivity, the local department of social services must also use any benefits

expunged from the household’s EBT account of which the local department of social services
is aware to offset the amount of the claim. This offset may be done at any time during the
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collection process. The local department of social services does not need the household’s
permission to apply expunged benefits to a claim but the agency must send the household a
receipt to note the claim reduction. The agency may use the Request/Receipt for EBT
Account Deduction as the receipt

Offsets to Restored Benefits (7 CFR 273.18(g)(3))

The BPS must reduce any restored benefits owed to a household by the amount of any
outstanding claim. This offset may be done at any time during the collection process.

Public Service (7 CFR 273.18(g)(7))

The local department of social services may accept public service as a form of payment, but
only if a court orders the public service specifically in lieu of paying the claim. The local
department of social services, in conjunction with the court, should set the hourly rate for the
work performed. The local department of social services must retain appropriate
documentation.

Treasury Offset Program (7 CFR 273.18(n))

The Virginia Department of Social Services must refer eligible claims that are delinquent for
180 days or more to Treasury Offset Program (TOP) for offset against any eligible federal
payment. This includes, but is not limited to, federal tax refunds, salaries of federal
employees and retirement benefits. The Virginia Department of Social Services will submit
claims to TOP using instructions of the Treasury Department. See Appendix | of this chapter
for TOP procedures.

Other Collection Actions (7 CFR 273.18(g)(8))

The local department of social services may employ involuntary collection action to collect
delinquent claims against non-participating households. These actions include, but are not
limited to, civil action, to include wage garnishments and/or liens against property, referral to
public or private collection agencies, and the repayment of claims by offsetting the balance
against state tax refunds or lottery payments. Note that SNAP debts are not subject to credit
reporting and may not appear on individual credit records.

Unspecified Collections

When funds are received for a combined public assistance/SNAP benefit claim and the
household does not specify to which claim to apply the collection, each program must receive
its pro rata share of the amount collected.

Overpaid Claims

If a household overpays a claim, the household must be provided a refund as soon as
possible after the over-collection is discovered, unless the over-collection is attributed to an
expunged EBT benefit. The method of refund will depend on what caused the over-collection.
For example, an over-collection due to allotment reduction will be refunded by a restoration to
the household.
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G. COLLECTING IPV CLAIMS

When a household member is found to have committed an IPV by a court of appropriate jurisdiction,
the local department of social services must request the matter of restitution be brought before the
court. If the court mandates restitution, the amount of the claim against the household will be
established by the court, even if the amount of restitution ordered is less than the amount of the
original claim. The court order to repay will serve as the household’s demand letter.

The BPS must initiate collection action if:

° the court does not rule on restitution:
° the IPV was established by an ADH: or
. the household member waived his/her right to an ADH.

The BPS must send the household the demand letter, Request for Repayment of Extra SNAP
Benefits (IPV) and a Repayment Agreement unless:

. The household has repaid the overpayment because of an IHE demand letter; or,

° The BPS has documentation that shows the household cannot be located.

An IPV demand letter and a repayment agreement must also be sent for any unpaid or partially paid
IPV claim, even if the household has previously received an IHE demand letter.

The local department of social services should pursue other collection action to obtain restitution
against any household that fails to respond to a written demand letter for repayment of any IPV claim
if the claim cannot be collected through direct payment or allotment reduction, unless the agency
determines that other means are generally not cost effective.

If an individual who was court ordered to repay the overpayment does not pay as ordered, the local
department of social services should advise the local prosecutor or the probation office, as
appropriate.

H.  CHANGES IN HOUSEHOLD COMPOSITION (7 CFR 273.18(g)(1)(vii)

If a household's membership has changed since the overpayment occurred, the BPS may pursue
collection action against any household which has a member who was an adult member of the
household that received the overpayment. The BPS may also offset the amount of the claim against
restored benefits owed to any household which has a member who was an adult member of the
original household at the time the overpayment occurred. See Part XVI.B.5. for the process to apply
amounts due for restoration against outstanding claims.

The local department of social services may also pursue collection from any individual liable for the
claim that is not currently a member of a participating household that is undergoing allotment
reduction.

l. DETERMINING DELINQUENCY (7 CFR 273.18(e)(5))

A claim must be considered delinquent if:
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. The claim has not been paid by the due date on the initial demand letter or repayment
agreement and a satisfactory payment arrangement has not been made; or

. A payment arrangement has been established and a scheduled payment, either no payment
or one in a lesser amount, has not been made by the due date on the repayment agreement.

The claim will remain delinquent until payment is received in full, a satisfactory payment agreement
is negotiated or allotment reduction is invoked.

A claim will not be considered delinquent if:
. Another claim for the same household is currently being paid, either through an installment

agreement or allotment reduction, and the local department of social services expects to
begin collection on the claim once the prior claim(s) is paid in full; or

. The local department of social services is unable to determine delinquency status because
collection is coordinated through the court or probation office; or
. A fair hearing has been requested and a hearing decision has not been rendered.

J.  TERMINATING COLLECTION (7 CFR 273.18(¢)(8))

A claim must be terminated if the claim meets any of the following criteria and the action is supported
by documentation:

. All adult members of the household are dead and there are no plans by the local department
of social services to pursue collection from the estate;

. A claim has an outstanding balance of $25 or less and no payment has been made for 90
days or more;

. A claim is delinquent for three years or longer; no payments have been received in three
years and the claim has not been certified to TOP;

. The household cannot be located, unless the claim has been referred to TOP. If the claim

has been referred to TOP, the local department of social services may keep the claim active
until the claim meets criteria #3, listed above;

. A claim has been discharged through bankruptcy. The discharge of the debt removes the
liability from all liable persons, not just the individual who filed bankruptcy, unless contrary to
the court order;

. A claim has been transferred to another state for collection; or.

. It is no longer cost effective to pursue the claim as the balance is less than $1 for a
participating household or less than $5 for a household that is not currently participating.

A claim must also be terminated if there is insufficient information or documentation to substantiate
that the claim was properly established or to determine the correctness of the balance due. Properly
established means that an initial demand letter was mailed or a court ordered repayment.

The local department of social services must document the reason for termination.

Note that a terminated claim may be reinstated if a new collection method or a specific event (such

as winnings the lottery) increases the likelihood of further collections.
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INVALID CLAIMS

A claim found to be invalid through a fair hearing, the ADH process, a court determination, or
discovered as erroneously established by the State or local department of social services, must be
deleted. If the documentation to support the claim is no longer available and cannot be recreated,
the claim must be terminated. Deleted claims are treated as terminated claims.

L.

IPV DISQUALIFICATION PENALTIES (7 CFR 273.16(b))
IPV Penalties

Individuals found to have committed an IPV, either by a court of appropriate jurisdiction or by
an ADH or, who waived their right to an ADH, are ineligible to receive SNAP benefits for:

One year for the first violation;

Two years for the second violation;

Permanently for the third violation; and

Ten years for a determination that fraudulent statements or representations of identity
or residency were made to receive benefits in more than one household at the same
time. The ten-year penalty does not apply when a household fails to report a move to
the agency at a former address.

aoow

An individual may receive more than one IPV by violating two or more unrelated program
rules, such as change reporting and trafficking, during the same period.

In addition to these disqualification penalties, individuals may be disqualified from the
program for other program violations. Individuals will be disqualified for two years for a
finding by a court that they used SNAP benefits to purchase illegal drugs. A second court
finding regarding these purchases will result in permanent disqualification from the program.
Individuals will be permanently disqualified from the program based on a court finding that
SNAP benefits were used to purchase firearms, ammunition, or explosives, even if it is the
first such finding.

A conviction of trafficking in SNAP benefits of $500 or more will also result in the permanent
disqualification of the individual.

Reporting Procedures (7 CFR 273.16(i))

The BPS must enter information in the Electronic Disqualified Recipient Subsystem (eDRS)
to report information about individuals disqualified for an IPV. The disqualification may be
based on an ADH, a conviction by a court of appropriate jurisdiction, or a waiver to an ADH.
The BPS must enter information in the eDRS within 30 days of the effective date of
disqualification. In cases where the disqualification for IPV is reversed by a court of
appropriate jurisdiction, or was submitted in error, the agency must update the eDRS to
delete the information relating to the disqualification.
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3. Imposition of Disqualification Penalties

To determine the appropriate disqualification penalty to impose on an individual who has
been found to have committed fraud or an IPV, BPS must access the eDRS to see if there is
a record of other IPV rulings for individual household members. One or more IPV
disqualifications that occurred before April 1, 1983, will be considered as only one previous
disqualification when determining the appropriate penalty to impose in a case under
consideration.

When eDRS is used to determine the disqualification penalty for an individual found to have
committed an IPV, the BPS must verify the information with the Locality Contact provided by
the eDRS. A verbal confirmation from the Locality Contact may be accepted for the initial
assessment but documentation that supports the prior disqualification(s), must be obtained
before a final determination is made of the length of the penalty.

The actual number of prior disqualifications will determine the penalty for a new IPV, not the
disqualification number that a State or a Virginia locality assigned to the offense. Only the
individual found guilty of IPV is disqualified, not the entire household.

If a court fails to impose a disqualification period for the IPV or fraud conviction, the BPS
must impose the disqualification penalties described in this chapter unless it is contrary to the
court order. If disqualification is ordered by the court, but a date for initiating the
disqualification period is not specified, the individual must be disqualified beginning with the
first month which follows the date of the court decision. The BPS must send the Notice of
Disqualification before the effective date of the disqualification.

If a hearing officer rules that the household member committed an IPV, that member must be
disqualified beginning with the first month that follows the date the household member
received written notification of the hearing decision. If the household member signed a
waiver to an ADH, that member must be disqualified beginning with the first month which
follows the date the signed waiver was received by the agency. The BPS must send the
Notice of Disqualification before the effective date of the disqualification.

For a disqualification that results from a court decision or the ADH process, the local
department of social services must send the Notice of Disqualification to inform the
household of the length, reason and starting date of the disqualification. The BPS must send
the Notice of Disqualification before the effective date of the disqualification. The BPS must
maintain a copy of the notice.

A BPS may not lengthen the disqualification period after it has been imposed by judicial
decision, ADH, or waiver. Once a disqualification penalty has been imposed, the period of
disqualification must continue uninterrupted until completed, regardless of the eligibility of the
disqualified member's household. If an additional IPV is determined for a person who is
already serving a disqualification period, the new disqualification period(s) must begin before
the original period expires so that the disqualification periods run concurrently. If the BPS
determines the household member is currently serving a disqualification imposed by another
locality within Virginia or imposed by another state, the BPS must calculate how much time
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is remaining in the disqualification period before adding the person to the case as an active
household member. If one or more months remain in the disqualification period, the BPS
must disqualify the household member for the remainder of the disqualification period.

If the BPS fails to impose the disqualification within the timeframes described above, an
agency-caused claim (AE) must be established for the months the individual should have
been disqualified. A household-caused claim (IHE) must be established if the agency
discovers that a member participated during a disqualification period imposed by another
locality or state.

Use of eDRS Perior to Certification

As outlined in Part lll.F.1, all adult household members must be screened through eDRS
prior to certification for a new application or a reapplying household. Information obtained
from the eDRS must be independently verified. A verbal response from the eDRS Locality
Contact is acceptable for the initial assessment. The household must be given an
opportunity to respond to the verbal information obtained from the Locality Contact. If the
household affirms the verbal information provided by the Locality Contact, a determination on
the individual member's eligibility may be made without additional documentation from the
Locality Contact. The household is allowed a minimum of 10 days to respond to the eDRS
findings.

If the household member disputes the information or fails to respond to the request for
information, the BPS must get written documentation from the Locality Contact to process the
application or to determine the length of the disqualification penalty. If the household is not
entitled to expedited processing, the BPS must hold the application pending until the written
verification from the Locality Contact is received. Applications entitled to expedited
processing must be processed and benefits delivered within the required seven-day period,
even if the household's affirmation or written documentation from the Locality Contact is not
received by the seventh day. An IHE claim must be established, however, for any overpaid
benefits.

DOCUMENTATION

The local department of social services that establishes the claim must maintain documentation to
support proper establishment of the claim, including how the overpayment amount was determined,
documentation to support the date of discovery and documentation to support disqualification. In
addition, documentation to support the balance due must also be maintained by the agency(s)
collecting the payments. Documentation includes, but is not limited to, verifications from employers,
landlords, schools; applications with false or omitted information; a copy of the initial demand letter; a
copy of the Notice of Disqualification; and receipts for cash payments. If the local department of
social services does not have documentation to support the claim, the claim must be terminated.
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N. INTERSTATE CLAIMS COLLECTION (7 CFR 273.18(i))

In cases where a household moves out of Virginia, the local department of social services must
initiate or continue collection action against the household for any overpayment to the household
which occurred while the household was under the local department s jurisdiction. The local
department of social services may transfer a claim to another state if the receiving state agrees to
accept the claim. The local department of social services must provide documentation needed to
show the claim is legally enforceable to allow the receiving state to pursue collection. Terminate the
claim when it is transferred to another state.

Local departments of social services may accept claims established in another state if requested.
The local department must receive documentation needed to show the claim is legally enforceable
from the other state and must confirm that the other state terminated the claim prior to initiating
collection activity in Virginia.

O.  BANKRUPTCY (7 CFR 273.18(j))

Local departments of social services may act on behalf of, and, as the USDA, in any bankruptcy
proceeding against bankrupt households owing SNAP claims. Local departments of social services
possess any rights, priorities, interests, liens or privileges, and must participate in any distributions of
assets, to the same extent as the USDA. Acting as the USDA, local departments have the power
and authority to file objections to discharge, proofs of claims, exceptions to discharge, petitions for
revocation of discharge, and any other documents, motions or objections that USDA might have
filed. Any amounts collected under this authority must be transmitted to the Virginia Department of
Social Services as normal claims payments.

All collection activity on a claim must cease upon receipt of the notice of bankruptcy filing, pending
the outcome. If the notice of discharge identifies USDA, FNS, VDSS, or the local department of
social services as a creditor whose debt has been discharged, the claim must be terminated and any
amounts collected after the date of the bankruptcy filing must be refunded. The discharge of the
debt removes the liability from all liable persons, not just the individual who filed bankruptcy. If the
discharge notice does not identify USDA, FNS, VDSS or the local department of social services as a
creditor whose debt has been discharged, collection activity on the claim will resume.

P.  SUBMISSION OF PAYMENTS (7 CFR 273.18(1))

Once a month, local departments of social services must submit one consolidated check to cover
cash and state tax intercept payments received from all households for the month. The check,
payable to the "Treasurer of Virginia" must be sent to:

Virginia Department of Social Services
Division of Finance, SNAP Collections Unit
5600 Cox Road

Glen Allen, VA 23060-
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The Monthly Payment Record (MPR) must be sent with the consolidated check. If no cash or state
tax intercept payments are received during the month, the local department of social services must
send an e-mail to barbara.mosley@dss.virginia.gov and jewel.lee-gaines@dss.virginia.gov and copy
emory.freeman@dss.virginia.gov to acknowledge that no payments were received. The check and
MPR, or e-mail must be sent to be received by the 15th day of the month following the report month.

Q. DISPUTED CLAIMS

If a fair hearing or a court did not establish the amount of a claim and/or the individual(s) liable for
repaying the claim, the household has 90 days from the date of the demand letter to appeal the
amount and /or their liability by requesting a fair hearing. The household must also be notified of the
following actions relating to claims and has the right to appeal these:

- After initial notification, whenever the amount of the claim changes;

- Whenever a claim is used to offset a restoration and prior notification of the claim had
not been given;

- When multiple overissuances within the last six years total $125 or more and
collection action is now being initiated, and prior notification of the claim had not been
given.

If the fair hearing determines that the claim is valid, the BPS must re-notify the household of the
claim amount. The post-fair hearing notice must inform the household that the claim amount is still
due and that repayment is required. A Repayment Agreement must be sent with the re-notification.
The household cannot request a fair hearing based on this second notice. Delinquency will be
determined by the due date of this subsequent notice, not the original demand letter.

R. OTHER MONEY RETURNS

Money is sometimes returned to the agency for reasons other than because of a claim. In these
instances, the money is not to be submitted to the State Office as claims payments would be. A
check or money order payable to "USDA-FNS-HQ" and a letter explaining the circumstances must
be submitted to:

USDA-FNS-HQ

P.O. Box 953807

St. Louis, MO 63195-3809
S. SYSTEM OF RECORD

Virginia Case Management System (VaCMS) is the system of record for claims. This means
VaCMS must be used to:

e establish all claims;
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o reflect all payments received;

e report terminations of claims; and

o reflect dates for:
o initial demand letter;
o follow-up demand letters; and
o court-ordered restitution.
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Treasury Offset Program

The Treasury Offset Program (TOP) is used to recover delinquent SNAP claims through the offset of
federal payments. Federal payments, such as tax refunds, Social Security benefits and salaries or
retirement benefits of federal employees, may be used to repay SNAP claims. A debtor referred to
TOP may have any eligible federal payment due to them intercepted through TOP.

All liable persons are equally responsible for the full amount and any fees associated with TOP.
The Finance Division of the Virginia Department of Social Services is responsible for the
administration of TOP. The Finance Division’s system will determine if claims are delinquent, refer

claims for TOP certification and will keep all payment and intercepts information.

Referral Process

Recipient claims that are delinquent for 120 days and are legally enforceable must be referred to
TOP. This excludes a debtor who is a member of a participating household whose benefits are
being reduced.

Legally enforceable claims are those where the debtor:

received a 60-day notice;

was given the right to appeal;

no longer participates in the Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program; and

currently has an outstanding balance. The outstanding balance must be more than $25.

Exceptions to Referring to TOP

Claims will not be referred to TOP if any of the following apply:

o The debtor is currently paying on any approved existing claim;

o The claim is in pending status because collection has been postponed awaiting a court or
Administrative Disqualification Hearing (ADH) decision;

e The debtor enters into a repayment agreement and makes a payment during the 60 day
notice period;

e A court orders the debtor to pay the claim through court or a probation office;
The debtor is a member of a participating household undergoing allotment reduction; or

e The debtor has filed for or is in bankruptcy proceedings.

Notification

The debtor must be given notice 60 days in advance of the impending referral to TOP. The 60-day
notice will be sent to an address that has been verified as an adequate address by the Food and
Nutrition Service (FNS). The notice will inform all liable debtors that the claim amount and the
appropriate action needed to prevent the debt from being offset. The notice must advise the debtor
of the right to appeal the referral at both the state and federal level and provide the timeframe for
requesting an appeal.
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The LDSS may negotiate a new repayment agreement any time prior to the end of the 60-Day
Notice period. A new repayment agreement will prevent any further involuntary collection if the
terms of the agreement are kept. The repayment agreement must be initiated to have the claim
repaid in full within 36 months of receipt of the 60-day notice. When this is not possible due to the
client’s financial situation, the repayment amount should be a minimum payment of $25.00 per
month. The LDSS must evaluate financial hardship prior to accepting a repayment of less than $25
per month.

If a claim has been certified to TOP, only the State TOP Coordinator may negotiate a new
repayment agreement

TOP Appeal

A debtor should request an appeal within 30 days of the 60-day notice. Regardless of the request
date, the BPS must conduct a desk review and render a decision. The request for an appeal must
be in writing to the local department of social services. A TOP appeal is a desk review, not a fair
hearing, which is completed by the local supervisor or designated staff. The desk review is to
ensure the debt is past due and legally enforceable. The supervisor or designee must verify that:

The request for the review was timely;

The client received an initial demand letter or there is a court order;
The claim calculation is complete and accurate;

The claim is delinquent; and

The debtor is not currently in a participating household.

The decision from a TOP appeal must be in writing within 30 days of request. The decision must
give instructions for requesting a federal appeal, contain the FNS address, instruct the debtor to
send proof of the reason why the claim is not past due and legally enforceable and instruct the
debtor to provide the applicable case number. Send TOP appeal requests to

Attn: Treasury Offset Program Review
Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program
USDA/Food and Nutrition Service

Mercer Corporate Park

300 Corporate Blvd

Robbinsville, New Jersey 08691-1598

Claims in TOP
When a claim is in TOP, the Division of Finance must ensure:

That the date of delinquency is correct;

The status of the debt is accurate;

The balance is adjusted when payments are made outside of TOP; and
All refunds due to over collection by TOP are reported to TOP.
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Inactivating Claims in TOP

A claim must be made inactive in TOP if:

The debtor is a member of a participating household whose benefits are being reduced;

DOF renders a decision that an acceptable arrangement has been made for the debtor to
resume payments; or

There is any pending litigation on the claim.

Removing Claims from TOP

A claim must be removed from TOP if:

FNS or the Treasury Department instructs the local department of social services to remove
the claim;

The claim is paid in full;

The claim is disposed of through a hearing, termination, compromised, bankruptcy
proceeding or any other means;

The claim was referred in error;

The debtor is a member of a participating household whose benefits are being reduced; or

DOF renders a decision that an acceptable arrangement has been made for the debtor to
resume payments.
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A. Replacement of EBT Cards

This chapter covers general guidance for replacing EBT cards, benefits in electronic benefit
accounts and food purchased with SNAP benefits destroyed in a household disaster. See Chapter
G of the Virginia EBT Policies and Procedures Guide for additional information.

Households need an EBT card to access SNAP benefits. The cardholder may call the Customer
Service Representative (CSR) for the EBT card vendor to request a replacement card or contact
the local agency. The CSR will validate the system address before issuing a replacement card if
the cardholder calls Customer Service for a replacement card. If the address is incorrect, the card
vendor cannot mail a replacement card. The CSR will status the card if lost or stolen and will refer
the cardholder to the local agency to have the address updated. The local agency must issue a
replacement card via mail or a vault card, per the household’s request.

The local agency must offer a vault card as a replacement card upon request by the SNAP
household. The agency must status the card immediately upon notification from the cardholder
that the card is lost and/or stolen. A member of the eligibility staff in the local agency must
complete the Internal Action and Vault EBT Card Authorization form to authorize the issuance of a
vault card and notify the card issuance unit so that the card is available for pick as soon as
administratively possible. Document crediting the replacement fee to the household's account.
See Part XXIV for a copy of the Internal Action and Vault EBT Card Authorization form.

A request for a replacement card will result in the deduction of a $2.00 card replacement fee from
a household's EBT account, unless the fee is waived by the local agency depending on the
household’s circumstances. The vendor cannot waive the card replacement fee. The local agency
must credit the fee back to the household's account if the replacement is due to a household
disaster, lost or stolen, if the original is undelivered through the mail, the card is worn, or violence
against the household or for improperly manufactured cards. See Part XVIII.A.4 for information
about assigning and crediting of the fee for replacement cards.

1. Undelivered EBT Card

a. Undeliverable, Returned Cards
The post office will not deliver EBT cards with inaccurate or incomplete addresses.
The post office will not forward EBT cards to a new or changed address if
households move but fail to report the change to the local agency.
If the card is undeliverable because of an incomplete or inaccurate address for the
primary cardholder or the authorized representative, the BPS must update the
mailing address, as appropriate.

b. Nonreceipt of the EBT Card

In instances when cardholders report the nonreceipt of a mailed EBT card to the

local agency, the agency must check the EBT account to determine the mailing
date and check if the status of the card has been changed. If more than six mail
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days have passed and the status of the card is unchanged, the local agency must
offer the household a vault card. The local agency must issue the replacement card
via the method requested by the household, either a vault card or sent vial mail.

If the cardholder reports the nonreceipt of a mailed EBT card to Customer Service
after a sufficient mail period, the CSR will change the status of the card to cancel
the card. The vendor will mail another card to the household or, at the cardholder's
option, defer mailing another card to allow the cardholder to receive a vault card at
the local agency. In either case, the card must be available for pick up in the
agency or is mailed within two business days of the cardholder's report.

Households will not have the $2.00 card replacement fee assessed against their
benefit accounts when they receive replacement of undelivered cards. Households
will generally have the card replacement fee automatically deducted from the
account except when there is a replacement card for a card in an inactive status
such as the initial card lost in the mail or one returned as undeliverable.

2. Lost, Stolen, Damaged Cards

When a cardholder reports an inability to access the household’s benefits because the EBT
card is unavailable for use, the cardholder must call the agency or the CSR to request
deactivation of the card. Deactivation will prevent the usage of the card should the
cardholder or someone else attempt to use the card.

The cardholder must request replacement of the card through the CSR or the local agency.
The cardholder must note the reason for the replacement to the local agency. A
replacement card must be available for pick up or mailed immediately.

The reason for the destruction or unavailability of the original card will determine whether
the local agency credits the replacement fee back to the household’s account. Reasons for
replacing an EBT card include:

° Lost — The cardholder loses or misplaces the card.

. Stolen — The cardholder loses the card through violence exerted upon a
household in an act of robbery or burglary committed by someone outside
the household.

° Household Disaster — The cardholder loses or damages the card through a
household fire or natural disaster, such as a flood or tornado.

° Card Damage (negligence) — The card is unusable because of the
cardholder’s neglect.

. Card Damage (improperly manufactured) — The card is unusable because of

a manufacturing error
3. EBT Card Replacement Fee

Each cardholder will receive written and verbal instruction on how to protect the EBT card.
When an EBT card is or becomes unusable for any reason, the cardholder must obtain a
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replacement card to access the household's EBT account. The EBT card vendor will deduct
$2.00 from each SNAP case benefit account for replacement EBT cards in nearly every
instance when a cardholder receives a replacement card.

The automatic fee deduction will not occur when the original card has an inactive status or
when a household reapplies for benefits. The chart below summarizes application of the
card replacement fee.

No Fee Fee Deducted Fee Credited
Reapplication x (if applied)
Inactive card, such as lost x (if applied)
in the mail
Lost
Stolen/robbery X
Household disaster x (verify if questionable)
Improperly manufactured X
Cardholder name change X
Card damaged/destroyed
x Agency-caused error,
such as misspelled name

4. EBT Card Replacement Fee Credit

The EBT vendor will automatically deduct a $2.00 fee from a household's SNAP EBT
account in most instances when a cardholder requests a replacement card. There are
instances however, when, despite proper care of the card by the cardholder, the household
experiences loss or destruction of the EBT card. In these instances, the local agency must
credit the $2.00 replacement fee back to the household's account.

An eligibility or administrative unit supervisor must authorize the fee credit on the Internal
Action and Vault EBT Card Authorization form.

The local agency must credit the card replacement fee when a household experiences an
individual household disaster or there is a natural disaster. An EBT card destroyed by fire or
a flood, tornado, hurricane or earthquake would allow the agency to credit the replacement
fee back to the household. The agency must verify the impact of the disaster upon the
household if the report is questionable, otherwise, the household's statement is acceptable.

The local agency must also credit the replacement fee when a cardholder loses the card
through violence inflicted upon the household or cardholder by someone outside the
household. The agency may verify the existence of the police report if the information is
guestionable, otherwise, the household's statement is acceptable In addition to crediting the
replacement fee for instances of a household disaster or violence against the household, the
local agency must credit the replacement fee if the agency discovers an improperly
manufactured card after a cardholder receives the card. The agency must also credit the
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replacement fee if the vendor fails to identify a replacement card at reapplication or a
replacement for an inactive card. The local agency may also credit the fee back to the
household's account, if requested, when the household identifies another primary cardholder
or authorized representative.

The chart above summarizes instances when the local agency must credit the card
replacement fee to the household. As indicated above, an eligibility or administrative
supervisor must authorize the credit. The Issuance Supervisor must provide the credit.

B. BENEFIT REPLACEMENT

Households will not receive a replacement for benefits lost due to loss of the EBT card and/or PIN
up to the time that the cardholder reports the loss to CSR or the local agency. Households will
have benefits replaced if someone accesses the benefits after the household reported to CSR that
the card was lost or stolen. Households will also receive replacement for benefits lost due to a
system error.

C. REPLACEMENT OF FOOD DESTROYED IN A DISASTER

Households may request a replacement for food purchased with SNAP benefits and that was
subsequently destroyed in a household disaster. This policy may apply to an individual household
disaster or a disaster that affects more than one household.

The BPS must use prudent judgement when households request a food replacement. Eligibility for
a replacement must be based on the benefit amount for the month, the amount of the food loss
reported, and time of the month when the loss occurred on a case-by-case basis. The agency may
deny replacement requests, such as for unsupported explanations or unacceptable collateral
contacts. See Part lll.A.3 for a discussion of collateral contacts. Households may appeal the denial
of a replacement request or the authorized amount.

Normally, replacements would only be made to currently participating households, but this is not a
requirement for a food replacement. The household must be able to provide a reasonable
explanation to document the food purchase with SNAP benefits and the amount of time lapsed from
participation in the program.

The household may be entitled to a replacement of the actual value of the loss but the amount may
not exceed the benefit amount for one month. The household must report the disaster within 10
days of the loss. A household member must sign the Food Replacement Request form attesting to
the loss. If the local agency does not receive the affidavit within 10 days after the report of the loss,
the household will not receive a replacement. If the 10th day occurs when the local agency is
closed and the affidavit is received the day after the local agency reopens, the BPS must consider
the statement as received timely. See Part XXIV for the Food Replacement Request form.

The BPS must verify the household's disaster. Sources of verification include community agencies,
such as the Red Cross or fire department or the power company to determine power outages.
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Replacement may be provided for food destroyed after power outages that exceed eight hours.

The agency must provide replacement benefits within 10 days of the reported loss or within 2
working days of receiving the affidavit, whichever is later.

There is no limit on the number of times a household may receive replacement of food destroyed in
a disaster. If USDA issues a disaster declaration and the household is eligible for emergency
benefits under that policy, the household may not receive both the emergency benefits and a
replacement for the same time period. See Part XX for a discussion of the disaster program.

D. SNAP REPLACEMENT DUE SKIMMING, CLONING OR OTHER FRAUDULENT MEANS

The Consolidated Appropriations Act of 2023 allotted funds temporarily to replace SNAP benefits
that were stolen due to skimming, card cloning and other similar fraudulent methods.

1. Replacement of benefits due to skimming, cloning or other fraudulent means is limited to the
losses of SNAP benefits that occurred between October 1, 2022, and September 30, 2024.
Households may receive only two replacements from October 1 to September 30 of each
year.

Households must report losses that occurred from August 1, 2023 to September 30,
2024 to the local department within 30 days of discovering the loss. Households must
submit a signed SNAP EBT Replacement Request and Client Attestation form within 10
days of reporting the loss.

The local department staff must review the EBT transaction history and household’s account

to determine if the loss of benefits most likely occurred due to cloning, scamming, phishing,

or other fraudulent means. If the local department determines that the replacement request

is valid, replacement benefits must be processed and provided replacements the later of:

o Ten business days after the LDSS receives the completed and signed SNAP EBT
Replacement Request and Client Attestation request from the household; or

o Two business days after receiving a signed and completed SNAP EBT Replacement
Request and Client Attestation.

2. The amount of the replacement benefits is the lesser of:
o Twice the amount of all the SNAP benefits in the month prior to the fraudulent
transaction; or
o The amount of the fraudulent transaction.

If the theft occurred in the first month of the household’s receipt of SNAP benefits, the BPS
must use the first month of SNAP benefits to calculate the replacement benefits. If the theft
occurred after a gap in receipt of benefits, the BPS must use the last prior issuance month
of SNAP benéefits to calculate the replacement benefits.
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3. Record keeping.

The local agency must maintain any documents to support the SNAP Replacement
transaction to the case. Such documents may include the completed attestation form,
EPPIC transaction history, information submitted by the household, and an optional police
report if one is supplied by the household.

The BPS must provide households a written determination of approval or denial of the
restoration of benefits within two business days of the determination. The notice of
determination must include, at a minimum, a summary of the determination, the approval
status, the amount requested, the amount approved, and the right to appeal.

For disputed benefits, see Chapter G.
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A. INTRODUCTION (7 CFR 273.15(c))

The Food and Nutrition Act requires that each state provide a fair hearing to any household
aggrieved by any action of the local social services agency that affects the household’s receipt of
SNAP benefits.

An individual has the right to appeal and receive a fair hearing when:
e a claim for benefits is denied, or is not acted upon with reasonable promptness;
e the individual is aggrieved by any other agency action that affects entitlement to or receipt
of benefits; or
e agency policy in its administration of the Program affects the individual's situation.

Within 60 days of receipt of a request for a fair hearing, the State must assure that the hearing is
conducted, a decision is reached, and the household and local agency are notified of the decision.

1. Role of the Commissioner of Social Services

§63.2-517 through §63.2-519 of the Code of Virginia give the Commissioner of Social
Services ultimate authority and responsibility for the appeal process. The State Board of
Social Services, as authorized by §63.2-801 of the Code of Virginia, establishes policies and
procedures to implement SNAP, including the appeal process, according to federal
regulations.

The Commissioner may delegate authority to make decisions in any appeal case. The
Commissioner must appoint a panel to review hearing decisions upon the request of either
the household or the local agency. The panel must report periodically to the Commissioner
regarding the need for changes in the conduct of future hearings, or to policy and
procedures related to the issue of the appeal.

2. Definitions
The following definitions will be applicable to the terms used in this chapter.

a. State Hearing Authority - A comprehensive term used to designate the State
decision-maker in appeal cases; as such, it includes the Commissioner and qualified
hearing officers of the Virginia Department of Social Services. Hearing officers have
the authority to make binding decisions in appeal cases in the name of the State
Hearing Authority.

b. Hearing Officer - An impartial representative of the State to whom appeals are
assigned and by whom they are heard. The hearing officer must not have been
involved in any way with the agency action on appeal. The hearing officer has the
authority to conduct and control hearings and to decide appeal cases.

C. Claimant - The SNAP household that files an appeal about an aspect of its
entitlement to SNAP benefits.
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B. RIGHT OF APPEAL

The agency must inform applicant households of the following:

. the right to a fair hearing:
. how a hearing may be requested;
° the right to be represented by others or for self-representation

In addition to information about the right of appeal, the BPS must advise SNAP households of the
right to appeal when:

. there is dissatisfaction with the agency’s action or the failure to act in relation to the
household’s eligibility or level of participation; or
. action is taken to deny or reduce benefits

Households denied expedited service must also be offered an opportunity to request an agency
conference. During a conference, households must receive an explanation of why they were
denied expedited service processing and must have an opportunity to present any information on
which disagreement with such action is based. The Notice of Action and the Advance Notice of
Proposed Action forms may be used interchangeably for denial or negative actions, except as
required for issuing a joint notice with public assistance programs (See Part XIV.A.3).

Each household has a right to a fair hearing to appeal a denial, reduction, or termination of benefits
due to a determination that a household member is not exempt from work registration and
employment services requirements, or a determination of failure to comply with work registration
and employment services requirements.

Individuals or households may appeal local agency actions related to work registration and
employment services if the individual or household believes that a finding of failure to comply has
resulted from improper decisions on these matters. These actions include exemption status, the
type of employment and training requirement imposed, or local agency refusal to make a finding of
good cause.

C.  HEARING REQUEST (7 CFR 273.15 (h))

A household that is aggrieved by any local agency action may request a hearing by any clear
expression, oral or written, to the effect that an opportunity to present the case to a higher authority
is desired. Such request may be made by a household member, the authorized representative, or
some other person acting on the household's behalf, such as a legal representative, relative or
friend. The right to make such a request is not to be limited or interfered with in any way. If a
household makes an oral request for a hearing, the local agency must complete the procedures
necessary to start the hearing process. The Notice of Appeal form must be made available to the
household to facilitate appeal requests; however, completion of this form by the household is not
required if a clear expression for a hearing has been made by some other method. Local agencies
must help the claimant submit and process the request, and prepare the case, if needed.
Information and referral services must be provided to help claimants make use of any legal services
available in the community that can provide legal representation at the hearing.
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Upon request, the local agency must make available, without charge, information from the case file
for a household or its representative to determine whether a hearing should be requested or to
prepare for a hearing. Confidential information, such as the names of individuals who have
disclosed information about the household without its knowledge or the nature or status of pending
criminal prosecutions, must be protected from release.

D. TIME LIMITS FOR REQUESTING A HEARING (7 CFR 273.15 (g))

A household must be allowed to request a hearing on any adverse action or loss of benefits which
occurred in the prior ninety (90) days. Action by the agency will also include a denial of a request
for restoration of any benefits lost more than 90 days, but less than a year prior to the request.

The household must be allowed to appeal and request a hearing at any time during the certification
period if it is dissatisfied with the current level of benefits.

If the amount of a claim was not established by a fair hearing or a court, the household will have 90
days from the date of notification of the claim to appeal the amount or establishment of the claim.

E.  LOCAL AGENCY CONFERENCE (7 CFR 273.15 (d))

When a household advises the local agency that it wishes to appeal denial of expedited service
processing, the BPS must offer an agency conference. At the conference, the recipient may be
represented by an authorized representative, legal counsel, relative or friend. Upon receipt of a
request for such a conference, the BPS must schedule the conference within two working days,
unless the household requests that the conference be scheduled later. The household’s failure to
request a BPS conference has no effect upon the right to appeal and have a fair hearing or upon
the right to continued participation.

The conference with local agency staff is designed to allow the household to receive, a verbal
explanation of the reason expedited service was denied. The conference is to avoid a lack of
understanding by the household. The household should be given the opportunity to explain why it
is entitled to expedited service processing.

The conference may be attended by the BPS but must be attended by an eligibility supervisor or
the director and a household member or its representative.

The local agency conference may or may not result in a change in the agency decision regarding
entitlement to expedited service. Regardless of the result of the conference, the household must
be provided with a fair hearing unless there is a written withdrawal of the request for a hearing.
The agency must provide the results of the conference in writing to the household. The fact that
the conference was held will not affect an appeal or the required time limits for filing or
implementing a decision.

F. PARTICIPATION DURING APPEAL (7 CFR 273.15 (k))
When a verbal or written hearing request is made during the adverse (advance or adequate) notice
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period, the household is entitled to continued participation until the end of the current certification
period or until a decision on the fair hearing is reached, unless the household specifically waives
continuation of benefits in writing. The household's participation in the Program will be continued
on the basis authorized immediately prior to the adverse action notice. Continuation of benefits
during the appeal process is only appropriate if the appeal is a result of a change which occurred
during the certification period and for which an adverse action notice was issued or required. The
agency must explain to the household that continuation of benefits is strictly at the household's
option and that should it elect to have benefits continued and the hearing decision upholds the
agency action, the household will be required to repay the value of any benefits overissued prior to
and during the period such benefits were continued. A Notice of Action must be provided to the
household when benefits are continued.

1.

Determining Continuation of Benefits During the Appeal Process

The local agency must be aware that an appeal was made during the required time frame

prior to authorizing continued participation. This means that the local agency must have

(1) received the request directly from the household, or

(2) written or verbal confirmation from the Hearings Manager or a hearing officer that a
timely appeal request was received.

If a hearing request is not made within the period provided by the adverse action notice,
benefits must be reduced or terminated as provided in the notice. If the household
establishes that its failure to make the request within the adverse notice period was for good
cause, the hearing officer must require that the local agency reinstate the benefits to the
prior basis.

When benefits are reduced or terminated due to a mass change, participation on the prior
basis must be reinstated only if the issue being contested is that the SNAP eligibility or
benefit amount was improperly computed or that federal law or regulation is being
misapplied or misinterpreted by the state. Households requesting an appeal of a mass
change are eligible for continuation of benefits as long as they request a hearing within 90
days of the action being appealed and meet the requirements of this paragraph.

Exceptions to Continuation of Benefits

Once benefits have been continued or reinstated during the appeal process, they must not
be reduced or terminated prior to the receipt of the official hearing decision unless:

a. the certification period expires;

b. the appeal issue is one of federal law or regulation and written notice has been
received from the hearing officer;

C. a change in circumstances affecting the household's eligibility or benefit level occurs
while the hearing decision is pending and a request for a second hearing has not
been received; or,

d. a mass change occurs.
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G. PREPARATION FOR THE HEARING

The appeal request, upon receipt by the Hearings Manager, must be assigned to a hearing officer
who will validate the appeal and acknowledge the request by letter to the claimant with a copy to
the BPS and other appropriate parties. Appeals staff will arrange with the local appeal coordinator
to gather sufficient information to determine the validity of appeal requests. The local department of
social services must provide validating information within five business days of the request for
information.

The BPS must prepare a Summary of Facts of the case and forward it to the hearing officer within
five days prior to the hearing. A general outline of this summary follows, although the content may
vary to fit case situations. All statements made should be factual and phrased in a way not
objectionable to the claimant.

For appeals that involve work registration or SNAP E&T noncompliance, eligibility staffand E & T
staff must prepare the Summary of Facts jointly except when a household member refuses to
register.

The Summary of Facts should include the following:
1. Identifying Information:

Name of local agency

Name, address and case number of claimant
Persons included in the SNAP household
Name, age, relationship to claimant

Other persons in household

Name, relationship

2. Date of Request and Reason for Appeal (quote the claimant in requesting the hearing)
3. Statement of Agency Action
a. Give a brief, factual statement of the reason for agency action, or failure to act, and

the nature and date of agency action. Note if there was an agency error, negligence
or administrative breakdown.

b. Under the heading "Agency Policy", cite and quote passages from the Virginia SNAP
certification manual on which agency action was based.

C. If the level of participation is in question, give a detailed breakdown of the claimant's
financial circumstances as it appears on the SNAP application with whatever
explanation may be necessary.

d. Note the date and result of an agency conference on the denial of expedited service,
if appropriate.
4. State whether participation is continuing during the appeal process on the basis authorized

immediately prior to the adverse action notice.
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5. The Summary must be signed and dated by the agency director or designee. The BPS
must retain a copy of the Summary, which is the official document for presentation of its
case at the hearing.

The BPS must provide a copy of the Summary and any other documents and records which are to
be used at the hearing to the claimant or representative. The summary or documents must be
provided at a reasonable time prior to the date of the hearing.

If documents pertinent to the hearing are received by the local department of social services or
there are changes in the situation following transmittal of the Summary, copies of the documents
and a written statement of the changes must be mailed in advance of the hearing to the hearing
officer. Copies of the additional information must also be made available to the claimant or
representative.

During the period between the filing of the appeal and the receipt of the decision from the State
Hearing Authority, the local department of social services continues to be administratively
responsible for the case on appeal. This responsibility includes appropriate adjustment in eligibility
status or level of participation necessitated by changes in the claimant's situation, income, changes
in household composition, or changes for any other reason.

If a change in circumstances occurs during the appeal process that results in a reduction or
termination of benefits, an advance notice must be sent. If the claimant fails to appeal the
proposed additional change, participation will be adjusted with respect to this change in
circumstances. The change must be reported to the hearing officer for consideration of possible
effect on the decision.

H. RESPONSIBILITIES OF HEARING AUTHORITY (7 CFR 273.15 (i))

In preparation of the hearing, the hearing authority must consider and act on the following
situations:

1. If the request for a hearing is from a household, such as migrant farm workers, that plans to
move from the locality, the hearing must be held as quickly as possible so a decision may
be reached before the household leaves the area.

2. If the household requests postponement of the hearing, it must be granted. The
postponement may not exceed 30 days. The time limit for action on the decision may be
extended for as many days as the hearing is postponed.

3. If there are a series of individual requests for hearings, the appropriateness of conducting a
single group hearing must be determined. The hearing officer may consolidate only cases
in which the sole issue is one of State and/or federal law, regulation or policy, and with the
consent of the appealing parties.

In all group hearings, the policies governing hearings must be followed. Each individual
claimant must be permitted to present his own case or be represented by legal counsel or
other spokesman. If the claimants request a group hearing on an issue specified in this
chapter, the request must be granted.
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l. DENIAL OR DISMISSAL OF REQUEST FOR HEARING (7 CFR 273.15(j))

A request for a hearing will not be denied or dismissed unless:

1. The request is not received within 90 days of the date of agency action or failure to act;

2. The request is withdrawn in writing by the household or its representative;

3. The household or its representative fails, without good cause, to appear at the scheduled
hearing; or

4. Files an oral request to withdraw without coercion. The hearing officer must send the

household a notice to confirm the withdrawal and offers the household an opportunity to
reinstate the hearing within ten days. If reinstated, the 60-day process period will begin
anew.

J. HEARING PROCEDURE

The hearing must be conducted at a time, date, and place convenient to the claimant(s).
Preliminary written notice must be given at least 10 days prior to the hearing. (Allow two days for
mailing in addition to the postmark date.) The claimant will be requested to advise the local
department of social services immediately if the scheduled date or place is inconvenient, but,
without such notification, it is assumed the arrangements are convenient. The hearing may be
conducted through a teleconference.

The local department of social services is responsible for assuring that the claimant has
transportation to the hearing if the claimant is unable to make arrangements.

When a claimant indicates that the scheduled date is not convenient, the hearing date may be
extended. The hearing officer will determine whether the provision of extension is being abused
and reserves the right to set a date beyond which the hearing will not be delayed.

The hearing is to be conducted in an informal atmosphere and every effort will be made to arrive at
the facts of the case in a way that will put the claimant at ease. It is the hearing officer's
responsibility to assure that this is done, and the hearing officer may, within the discretion allowed,
designate those persons who may attend the hearing or the particular portion of the hearing they
may attend. The hearing officer has full authority to recess the hearing or to continue to another
date in the interest of fairness.

When the issue on appeal is of a medical nature, (e.g., concerning a diagnosis, an examining
physician's report, or a Disability Determination Services decision), the hearing officer may request
a medical assessment by someone other than the person(s) involved in making the original
examination. Such an assessment will be obtained at combined State and local expense from a
source satisfactory to the claimant and will be made a part of the hearing record.
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Any material from the SNAP case record must be made available to the claimant and/or his
representative upon request. Additionally, a household must be allowed to examine its employment
component case file at a reasonable time before the date of the fair hearing. Confidential or other
information, which the head of the household or his representative does not have an opportunity to
hear, see, and respond to, must not be introduced at the hearing, nor will it become a part of the
hearing record. It is within the discretion of the hearing officer to designate what is pertinent to an
issue on appeal and admissible as evidence during the hearing, including the entire case record, if
appropriate.

When benefits are continued pending a hearing decision, the hearing officer must rule at the
hearing whether the issue being appealed is one of federal law, regulation or policy, or whether the
issue relates to a matter of fact or judgement applicable to an individual case. If the hearing officer
rules that the issue being appealed is one of federal law, regulation or policy, benefits will be
reduced or terminated as proposed by the Advance Notice of Proposed Action or the Notice of
Action.

If, during the appeal process, the need for adjustment in eligibility or basis of issuance in favor of
the claimant becomes evident, reconsideration or modification of the former decision will be made
by the local department of social services. If an adjustment is satisfactory to the claimant, the
claimant may withdraw the appeal or of have a formal decision made by the Hearing Authority.

The local department of social services employment services staff or the agency's designee
operating the relevant employment and training component must receive sufficient advance notice
of the hearing so that representatives may attend the hearing or are available for questioning by
telephone during the hearing. If a hearing is scheduled by households appealing a work
registration or employment and training issue, the results of the hearing are binding on the local
department of social services.

K. EVENTS OF THE HEARING

The hearing must be attended by the BPS and the claimant or a representative. The household

may also bring relatives or friends along if it so chooses. The hearing officer has the authority to

limit the number of persons present if space limitations exist. The hearing officer will coordinate the
following activities at the hearing:

1. Identification of those present for the record.

2. Provide an opening statement to explain the hearing purpose, procedure to be followed,
how and by whom a decision may be made and to be communicated to claimant and local
agency, and the option of either party, if decision is made by the hearing officer, to request
review of the decision by the Commissioner.

3. The claimant or his representative must be given the opportunity to:

a) examine all documents and records which are used at the hearing;
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L.

b) present the case or have it presented by legal counsel or other person;

c) bring witnesses;

d) establish pertinent facts and advance arguments; and,

e) question or refute any testimony or evidence, including the opportunity to confront

and cross-examine adverse witnesses.

The local department of social services will have the opportunity to clarify or modify its
statements contained in the Summary of Facts and to question the claimant, his
representative, or witnesses on the important issue(s). The local department of social
services has the same rights as the claimant to examine documents, bring witnesses,
advance arguments, question evidence and submit evidence.

Evidence admissible at the hearing is limited to information that is related to the issue(s)
being appealed. Such issues include those given by the claimant at the time of the appeal
request and those given by the local department of social services as a basis for its actions
or inaction under appeal. The hearing officer must determine whether an issue, other than
the one being appealed, may be introduced, but no additional issues are admissible without
concurrence of the claimant and local department of social services.

DUTIES OF THE HEARING OFFICER

The hearing officer must:

1.

2.

Ensure that all relevant issues are considered.

Request, receive, and make part of the record all evidence determined necessary to decide
the issues being raised.

Regulate the conduct of the hearing consistent with due process to ensure an orderly
hearing.

Order an independent medical assessment or professional evaluation from a source
mutually satisfactory to the household and the local department of social services if it is
relevant and useful.

Render a decision in the name of the State Hearing Authority. Decisions must comply with
regulations as stated in the Virginia SNAP Certification Manual and the Virginia EBT Policies
and Procedures Guide and must be based on the hearing record. An official report
containing the substance of what transpired at the hearing, the findings and conclusions of
the hearing officer, together with all papers and requests filed in the proceeding, will
constitute the record for the decision.

Provide a copy of the decision that reverses the actions of a local department of social
services to the SNAP Regional Consultant.

TRANSMITTAL #35



VIRGINIA DEPARTMENT FAIR HEARINGS AND
OF SOCIAL SERVICES ADMINISTRATIVE DISQUALIFICATION HEARINGS

10/24 VOLUME V, PART XIX, PAGE 10

M.  HEARING DECISION (7 CFR 273.15(q))

An official report containing the substance of the hearing, together with the findings and conclusions
of the hearing officer, and all papers filed in the proceeding, will constitute the record for the
decision. The household and the local department of social services must each be notified of the
decision by a copy of the written official report of the decision.

The decision of the hearing officer will be final and binding when presented in writing to the claimant
and the local department of social services.

The claimant, the claimant's representative, and the local department of social services must be
given written notice of the right to request a review of the hearing officer's decision by the Appeals
Review Panel. The decision must be put into effect regardless of whether review by the Appeals
Review Panel of the decision has been requested. In addition to the claimant's right to request a
review by the Appeals Review Panel, the claimant may seek a judicial review of the decision.

The request for the Appeals Review Panel review by either party must be submitted in writing within
10 days following the date of the hearing officer's written decision with a written statement of the
reasons for the objection to the decision. A copy of the review request by the local department of
social services must be submitted to the claimant.

The Appeals Review Panel will make recommendations about future policy changes or the conduct
of future hearings only. The claimant, the claimant's representative, and local department of social
services will not be notified about the panel’s recommendations.

When the decision of the hearing officer is adverse to the claimant, all available administrative
remedies have been exhausted.

All hearing records and decisions are available for public inspection and copying, subject to the
disclosure safeguards, provided identifying names and addresses of household members and other
members of the public are kept confidential.

N. IMPLEMENTATION OF DECISIONS

All final hearing decisions must be reflected in the household's benefits within time limits specified in
this section. Local departments of social services must provide documentation to the hearing
officer of compliance with hearing decisions.

1. Decisions that result in an increase in household benefits must be reflected in the benefit
amount within 10 days of the receipt of the hearing decision, even if the local agency must
provide a supplementary allotment or otherwise provide the household with an opportunity
to obtain the allotment outside of the normal issuance cycle. The local department of social
services may take longer than 10 days if it elects to make the decision effective in the
household's normal cycle, provided that the issuance will occur within 60 days from the
household's request for the hearing.

2. Decisions that result in a decrease in household benefits must be reflected in the next
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scheduled issuance following receipt of the hearing decision. No additional notice to the
household is needed.

3. When the decision of the hearing officer or Commissioner, as appropriate, determines that a
household has been improperly denied program benefits or as been issued a smaller benefit
amount than it was due, lost benefits must be provided to the household as allowed by Part
XVIA.

4. When the decision of the hearing officer or Commissioner, as appropriate, upholds the
action of local department of social services, a claim against the household must be
prepared, as allowed by Part XVII.A for any overissuances.

O.  INTRODUCTION TO ADMINISTRATIVE DISQUALIFICATION HEARINGS (ADH) (7 CFR
273.16(e))

An Administrative Disqualification Hearing (ADH) is an impartial review by a hearing officer of a
household member's actions involving an alleged intentional program violation (IPV) for the purpose
of rendering a decision of guilty or not guilty of committing an IPV.

In order to request an ADH, there must be clear and convincing evidence that demonstrates that a
household member committed or intended to commit an IPV as described in the Definitions section.
Examples of evidence include, but are not limited to, the following:

1. Written verification of unreported income or resources received by the household;

2. Verification that the household understands its reporting requirements by its signature under
the rights and responsibilities section of the application or on some other form;

3. An application or change report form submitted during the period the IPV is alleged to have
occurred which omits the information in question; and

4, Documented contacts with the household during the period the IPV is alleged to have
occurred in which the household failed to report information in response to agency queries
about household circumstances.

Each example noted above does not have to be presented to document intentionality, however, it is

likely that such deliberateness can only be shown through the presentation of more than one of
these evidence examples.

P. INITIATION OF AN ADH
The local department of social services must ensure that the evidence against the household
member alleged to have committed the IPV is reviewed by either an eligibility supervisor or agency

director to certify that such evidence warrants a referral for an ADH.

Prior to submitting the Referral for Administrative Disqualification Hearing to the State Hearing
Authority, the local department of social services must provide the forms, Notification of Intentional
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Program Violation and Waiver of Administrative Disqualification Hearing and may provide the
"Administrative Disqualification Hearings" pamphlet to the household member suspected of the IPV.
To determine the appropriate disqualification period for the notification form, the agency must
access the electronic Disqualified Recipient Subsystem (eDRS) to determine the number of prior
disqualifications an individual may have. The eDRS information about prior disqualifications must
be verified before deciding on the length of the penalty. See Part XVII.L.2 for additional information
about eDRS.

The waiver must be returned to the agency within 10 days from the date notification is sent to the
household to avoid submission of the Referral for ADH. If a signed waiver is received, no ADH is
conducted and the disqualification period is imposed in accordance with policy at Part XVII.L.1. No
further administrative appeal procedure exists after an individual waives his/her right to an ADH and
a disqualification penalty has been imposed. The disqualification period cannot be changed by a
subsequent fair hearing decision. The household member is entitled to seek relief in a court having
appropriate jurisdiction and the period of disqualification may be subject to stay or other injunctive
remedy by a court of appropriate jurisdiction. Allegations of coercion by the household member,
household head, or legal representative to VDSS or the local department of social services will
negate the waiver however and the case must be referred for an ADH.

If no waiver to the ADH is received within 10 days, the local department of social services must
submit the Referral for Administrative Disqualification Hearing to the Hearings Manager by the 15%
day following the date notification was sent to the household. The additional five days allows for
possible mail delivery delays. The form must include the following information:

1. Identifying Information as requested at the top of the form;
2. Summary of the Allegation(s);

3. Summary of the Evidence; and

4. Copies of documents supporting the allegation.

The referral must be signed and dated by the supervisor or director.

If a case is referred for an ADH, it must not simultaneously be referred for prosecution. The local
department of social services may combine a fair hearing and an ADH into a single hearing if the
factual issues arise out of the same or related circumstances and the household receives prior
notice that hearings will be combined.

If the ADH and fair hearing are combined, the agency must follow timeframes for conducting an
ADH. If the hearings are combined for the purpose of settling the amount of the claim at the same
time as determining whether the IPV has occurred, the household will lose its right to a subsequent
fair hearing on the amount of the claim. However, the local department of social services must, at
the household's request, allow the household to waive the 30-day advance notice period for the
scheduling of the ADH when the hearings are combined.
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Q.

SCHEDULING THE ADH

Upon receipt of the request for the ADH, the Hearings Manager will forward the request to the
appropriate hearing officer.

1.

Advance Notice of ADH (7 CFR 273.16(e)(3))

The hearing officer must schedule a date for the ADH and provide written notification to the
household member suspected of IPV at least 30 days in advance of the date the ADH has
been scheduled. The form, "Advance Notice of Administrative Disqualification Hearing" is
used for this purpose. The pamphlet that describes the ADH procedures may be sent with
the advance notice. The ADH advance notice may be sent by first class mail, certified mail -
return receipt requested, or be any other reliable method. If the notice is sent by first class
mail and it is subsequently returned as undeliverable, the hearing may still be held.

Once the ADH has been scheduled, the ADH is to be conducted and a decision made within
90 days of the date the household is notified in writing that the ADH has been scheduled. A
copy of the decision must be provided to the household and the local agency.

Time and Place of the ADH (7 CFR 273.16(e)(4))

The time and place of the ADH must be arranged so that the hearing is accessible to the
household member suspected of IPV. The member or representative may request a
postponement of the ADH if the request for postponement is made at least 10 days in
advance of the date of the scheduled hearing. The ADH will not be postponed for more than
30 days and the State Hearing Authority may limit the number of postponements to one.
When a hearing is postponed, the time limit for rendering and notifying the household and
agency of the decision is extended for as many days as the hearing is postponed.

Failure of Household Member to Appear at the ADH

If proof of nonreceipt of the ADH advance notice has not been received, the requirement to
notify the individual alleged to have committed the IPV has been met. The ADH may be
held even if the member or representative subsequently cannot be located or fails to appear
without good cause.

The individual has 10 days from the date of the scheduled ADH to present reasons other
than nonreceipt of the notice to show good cause for failure to appear at the hearing. Good
cause reasons based on nonreceipt of the notice must be presented within 30 days of the
scheduled hearing.

Even though the household member is not represented, the hearing officer must carefully
consider the evidence and determine if an IPV was committed based on clear and
convincing evidence. If the household member is found to have committed IPV but a
hearing officer later determines there was good cause for not appearing, the previous
decision is no longer valid and a new ADH shall be conducted. The hearing officer who
originally ruled on the case may conduct the new hearing. The good cause decision must
be entered into the hearings record by the hearing officer.
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4, Participation While Awaiting a Hearing (7 CFR 273.16(e)(5))
A pending ADH will not affect the household's right to be certified and receive SNAP
benefits. The household member alleged to have committed an IPV cannot be disqualified
through an ADH until a hearing officer finds the individual guilty of IPV, so the eligibility and
benefit level of the household is determined in the same manner as for any other household.
R. CONDUCT OF THE ADH

The hearing officer will preside and conduct the hearing informally. Technical rules of evidence are
not required. The hearing may be conducted via a teleconference. The hearing may also be
recorded.

1.

Attendance at the ADH

The ADH is attended by persons directly concerned with the issue. This normally means a
representative of the local department of social services and the household member alleged
to have committed an IPV and/or the household's representative. If space is limited, the
hearings officer may limit the number of persons in attendance.

Responsibilities and Duties of Hearing Officer

The hearing officer must:
a. Identify those present for the record;

b. Advise the household member or representative that he/she may refuse to answer
questions during the hearing;

C. Explain the purpose of the ADH, the procedure, how and by whom a decision will be
reached and communicated, and the option of either the local department of social
services or the household to request a review of the hearing officer's decision by the
Commissioner;

d. Consider all relevant issues. Even if the household is not present, the hearing officer
must carefully consider the evidence and determine if an IPV was committed based
on clear and convincing evidence;

e. Request, receive and make part of the record all evidence determined necessary to
render a decision; and

f. Regulate the conduct and course of the hearing consistent with due process to
insure an orderly hearing.

Rights of the Household

The household member alleged to have committed IPV and/or the representative must be
given adequate opportunity to:
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f.

Examine all documents and records to be used at the ADH at a reasonable time prior
to the ADH as well as during the ADH. The contents of the case file, including the
application form and documents of verification used by the BPS to establish the
alleged IPV, must be made available, provided that confidential information, such as
the names of individuals who have disclosed information about the household
without its knowledge, or the nature and status of pending criminal prosecutions, is
protected from release.

The local agency must provide a free copy of the portions of the case file that are
relevant to the hearing If requested by the household or its representative.
Confidential information that is protected from release and other documents or
records which the household will not otherwise have an opportunity to contest or
challenge may not be introduced at the hearing or affect the hearings officer's
decision.

Present its case or have it presented by legal counsel or another person.

Bring witnesses.

Advance arguments without undue interference.

Question or refute any testimony or evidence, including the opportunity to confront
and cross-examine witnesses.

Submit evidence to establish all pertinent facts and circumstances in the case.

As the household may not be familiar with the rules of order, it may be necessary to make
particular efforts to arrive at the facts of the case in a way that makes the household feel
most at ease.

The household member or representative may refuse to answer questions during the
hearing.

4, Responsibilities and Duties of Local Agency

The local agency representative is responsible for presenting the agency's case in the ADH.
The agency representative has the same rights as the household as listed in Part XIX.R.3.,
items a. through f. above.

S. NOTIFICATION OF ADH DECISION (7 CFR 273.16(e)(9))

The hearing officer is responsible for rendering a decision. The decision must be based on clear
and convincing evidence from the hearing record, which is an official report of the hearing, including
all papers and requests filed in the proceeding. The hearing officer must substantiate the decision
by identifying supporting evidence and applicable regulations.
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Following the ADH, the hearing officer must prepare a written report of the substance of the hearing
that must include findings, conclusions, decision and appropriate recommendations. The decision

must specify the reasons for the decisions, identify the supporting evidence, identify pertinent SNAP
regulations and respond to reasoned arguments made by the household member or representative.

The hearing officer must notify the household member of the decision. The form "Administrative
Disqualification Hearing Decision" must accompany the findings. The hearing officer must inform
the household of its right to request review of the decision. If the household member is found guilty
of IPV, the decision must advise the household that disqualification will occur.

The determination of IPV by the hearing officer cannot be reversed by a subsequent fair hearing
decision.

The household member is entitled to seek relief in a court of appropriate jurisdiction. The period of
disqualification may be subject to stay by a court of appropriate jurisdiction or other injunctive
remedy.

The amount of the overissuance subject to repayment may be appealed by a fair hearing, provided
that the household member did not request a fair hearing for that reason that was consolidated with
the ADH.

If the household member or representative did not appear at the hearing and the hearing officer
determines that an IPV was committed, the hearing officer will delay notification of the decision until
10 days after the date of the hearing to allow the individual time to present good cause for failing to
attend.

T. IMPLEMENTATION OF THE ADH DECISION

Upon receipt of the notice of a decision from the hearing officer finding the household member
guilty of an IPV, the local agency must inform the household of the disqualification by sending a
"Notice of Disqualification Due to Intentional Program Violation" or other disqualification notice
approved for use. The notice must inform the household of the reason for disqualification and must
inform the household that the disqualification will be effective upon receipt of the notice. The
household member who committed the IPV must be disqualified in accordance with the length of
time specified in Part XVII.M.1. The local agency must also provide written notice to the household
of the benefit amount that will be received or advise that a recertification application must be filed if
the certification period has expired.

If it is determined that the individual did not commit an IPV, no disqualification will be imposed and
any overissuance must be handled as a nonfraud claim.
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VIRGINIA LEGAL AID PROJECTS

1-866-LEGLAID (1-866-534-5243) Legal Aid Hotline, www.valeqalaid.org

Blue Ridge Legal Services, Inc.
204 N. High Street
Harrisonburg VA 22803

540- 433-1830

www.brls.org

Blue Ridge Legal Services, Inc.
132 Campbell Ave., SW, Suite 300
Roanoke VA 24011

540-344-2080

www.brls.org

Central VA Legal Aid Society
229 N. Sycamore Street, Suite A
Petersburg VA 23803
804-862-1100, 800-868-1012
www.cvlas.org

Legal Aid Justice Center

1000 Preston Avenue, Suite A
Charlottesville, VA 22903
434-977-0553
www.justicedall.org

Legal Services of Northern VA
10700 Page Avenue, Suite 100
Fairfax VA 22030
703-778-6800, 866-534-5243
www.Isnv.org

Legal Services of Northern VA
8A South Street, SW
Leesburg VA 20175
703-778-6800, 866-534-5243
www.Isnv.org

Legal Services of Northern VA
8350 Richmond Highway, Suite 309
Alexandria, VA 22309
703-778-6800, 866-534-5243
www.lsnv.org

Legal Aid Works

311 Virginia Street
Tappahannock VA 22560
804-443-9394
LAWtapp@LegalAidWorks.org

Southwest VA Legal Aid Society, Inc.

16932 West Hills Drive
Castlewood VA 24224
276-762-9354
svlas.org

Virginia Legal Aid Society, Inc.
217 E. Third Street

Farmville VA 23901
434-392-8108

vlas.org

Blue Ridge Legal Services, Inc.
303 S. Loudoun Street, Suite D
Winchester VA 22604
540-662-5021

www.brls.org

Central VA Legal Aid Society

101 West Broad Street, Suite 101
Richmond VA 23220
804-648-1012, 800-868-1012
www.cvlas.org

Legal Aid Justice Center

626 E. Broad Street, Suite 200
Richmond, VA 23219
804-643-1086
www.justice4all.org

Legal Aid Society of Roanoke Valley
132 Campbell Avenue SW, Suite 200
Roanoke VA 24011

540-344-2088

www.lasrv.org

Legal Services of Northern VA
100 N. Pitt Street, Suite 307
Alexandria VA 22314
703-778-6800, 866-534-5243
www.Isnv.org

Legal Services of Northern VA

500 Lafayette Boulevard, Suite 140
Fredericksburg VA 22401
703-778-6800, 866-534-5243
www.Isnv.org

Legal Aid Works

500 Lafayette Boulevard, Suite 100
Fredericksburg VA 22401
540-371-1105
LAWfred@LegalAidWorks.org

Southwest VA Legal Aid Society, Inc.
227 West Cherry Street

Marion VA 24354

276-783-8300

svlas.org

Virginia Legal Aid Society
513 Church Street
Lynchburg VA 24504
434- 846-1326

vlas.org

Virginia Legal Aid Society, Inc.
16 Liberty Street Extension
Martinsville VA 24112
434-799-3550

vlas.org

Blue Ridge Legal Services, Inc.
215 S. Main Street

Lexington VA 24450
540-463-7334

www.brls.org

Central VA Legal Aid Society

103 E. Water Street, Suites 201-202
Charlottesville VA 22901
434-296-8851, 800-390-9983
www.cvlas.org

Legal Aid Justice Center

6402 Arlington Blvd., Suite 1130
Falls Church, VA 22042
703-778-3450
www.justice4all.org

Legal Aid Society of Eastern VA
125 St. Paul’'s Boulevard, Suite 400
Norfolk VA 23510

757-627-5423

www.laseva.org

Legal Services of Northern VA
3401 Columbia Pike, Suite 301
Arlington VA 22204
703-778-6800, 866-534-5243
www.Isnv.org

Legal Services of Northern VA
9240 Center Street

Manassas VA 20110
703-778-6800 866-534-5243
www.Isnv.org

Rappahannock Legal Services, Inc.
1200 Sunset Lane, Suite 2122
Culpeper VA 22701

540-825-3131
LAWculp@LegalAidWorks.org

Southwest VA Legal Aid Society, Inc.
155 Arrowhead Trail

Christiansburg VA 24073
540-382-6157

svlas.org

Virginia Legal Aid Society
519 Main Street

Danville VA 24541
804-799-3550

vlas.org

Virginia Legal Aid Society, Inc.
2480 Pruden Blvd.

Suffolk VA 23434
757-539-3441

vlas.org
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A. Introduction

If there is an emergency or major disaster, such as a hurricane, tornado, storm, flood, snowstorm,
drought, fire, explosion or other disaster, the regular program may not be able to handle the
increased number of households needing food assistance. Under certain conditions, localities and
states can petition the Food and Nutrition Service (FNS) to authorize implementation of the
Disaster Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (D-SNAP).

This chapter outlines how the Commonwealth of Virginia will administer an effective and efficient
D-SNAP. Depending on the circumstances, Virginia will request program waivers, as appropriate.
Additionally, the Virginia Department of Social Services will advise local departments (LDSS) of
changes to required information needed for eligibility determinations.

The D-SNAP Web-Based Eligibility Application User's Guide outlines procedures for accessing the
online D-SNAP system. The User’s Guide is available at
https://fusion.dss.virginia.gov/bp/BP-Home/SNAP/Disaster-SNAP.

B. Local Planning

Each LDSS must develop and maintain a local disaster plan. Local plans must be submitted
annually by April 15" to the state office D-SNAP coordinator electronically for storage on a state
shared drive. See Part D, Assessment and Evaluation of a Disaster for elements that should be
included in the plan. A disaster planning guide is available online at
https://fusion.dss.virginia.gov/bp/BP-Home/SNAP/Disaster-SNAP.

When a disaster occurs, VDSS will communicate with local personnel identified as the Local
Contact for the affected locality. This contact will be to discuss the feasibility and desirability of
operating a D-SNAP. A list of local contacts is available online at
https://fusion.dss.virginia.gov/bp/BP-Home/SNAP/Disaster-SNAP.

If many localities are affected by the disaster, VDSS will hold a conference call with the Local
Contacts to review the criteria for operating the D-SNAP. If one or more LDSS opts to apply,
VDSS will convene regional, face-to-face, or teleconference meetings to discuss aligning program
days/hours of operation and program options within the region. If appropriate, all localities must
operate the D-SNAP during the same days and use the same program options.

Each locality offers different resources and may face different challenges in terms of staffing of the
local social services department, physical space and community demand. If a disaster occurs, the
need for assistance can vary greatly from one area to another.

Each LDSS must develop a local disaster plan that addresses issues and prepares the community
to meet the needs of the citizens. The local plan must identify and include appropriate community
partners.

The plan should also include other city/county government agencies that will share responsibilities

during the disaster. The LDSS, with the help of its partners, will carry out those plans in the event
of a disaster that warrants implementation of the D-SNAP.
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C. PRE-CONDITIONS FOR AUTHORIZATION OF THE DISASTER PROGRAM
1. The following pre-conditions must be met before the D-SNAP may be authorized:

a. The President must proclaim a disaster for individual assistance in Virginia. After
this decision, states and localities can request the D-SNAP.

b. Commercial channels of food distribution (wholesale and retail food outlets) must
have been both DISRUPTED and subsequently RESTORED such that they are
now currently available.

C. The regular program must be unable to handle the increased number of
households needing food assistance expeditiously.

2. Commercial channels of food distribution must be DISRUPTED under any of the
following conditions, provided the condition was directly caused by the disaster:

a. Retail food outlets are closed.

b. Normal operating hours of food outlets are reduced to the extent that a
household's opportunity to purchase food supplies is significantly reduced.

c. Power failure significantly restricts the operation of food outlets.
d. Household access to retail food outlets is limited because of disruption to
transportation (such as damage to roads or bridges or disruption in otherwise

availability of public transportation).

e. Unusually heavy demand for food exists such that a household's opportunity to
purchase food supplies is significantly reduced.

f. Delivery of food supplies to food outlets is significantly hampered to the extent
that a household’s opportunity to purchase food supplies is significantly reduced.

3. Commercial channels of food distribution will be considered RESTORED when
conditions or operations have been improved to the extent that households have
reasonable access to food outlets with sufficient food supplies.

D. ALTERNATIVES TO THE DISASTER PROGRAM

Implementation of the D-SNAP is not appropriate for every disaster. The choice of whether to

utilize the regular program or to request FNS authorization of the D-SNAP depends on the

nature of the disaster.

1. The following factors suggest continued utilization of the regular program or a modified

program:
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E.

The affected population is fairly small.

The affected population is mostly the same population that is already eligible for
or would be eligible for food assistance under the regular program.

The disaster appears to be fairly short term.
The increase in the demand for food assistance is expected to be manageable.

The regular program would be able to adequately respond to the needs of the
affected population.

The following factors suggest implementation of the Disaster Program:

The affected population is large.

The affected population includes a large population that would not be eligible for
food assistance under the regular program.

The disaster is severe and widespread.
The increase in the demand for food assistance is expected to be dramatic.

The damage is so severe and widespread that application procedures under the
regular program would be too cumbersome.

The disaster is such that many households would not have the verifications
required by the regular program.

The affected population needs benefits more quickly than would be provided
under the regular program.

The regular program would not be able to adequately respond to the immediate
needs of the affected population.

ASSESSMENT AND EVALUATION OF A DISASTER

Once a disaster has occurred, the local department of social services director in each locality
affected must contact the Director of Benefit Programs or specified designee in the Home Office
of the Virginia Department of Social Services to provide information regarding the extent of the
damage caused by the disaster. This contact is to discuss and determine information specific to
the disaster that may need to be gathered and submitted with the request to run a disaster
program, e.g., data from the electric company about the extent of power outages. The local
agency and Home Office will also discuss whether the D-SNAP or a modified disaster program
is the appropriate response.
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The local social services agency must request approval to run the D-SNAP. The request must
be in writing and submitted to the Director of Benefit Programs or specified designee. The plan
must be designed to provide benefits to applicants within three calendar days. (The first day is
the day after the application is filed.) A sample cover letter and template for the request are in
Appendix Il of this chapter. The request to operate the disaster program must include the
following information:

1.

Names, positions and phone numbers of key contact people responsible for the
operation of the D-SNAP. Include also the date of request.

Completion of a needs assessment that includes:

e Status of food distribution, i.e., a statement whether commercial channels of food
distribution have been both disrupted and restored.

¢ A statement of why the food assistance needs of these households cannot be met by
the regular program.

¢ An estimate of the number of households expected to apply, and whether the D-
SNAP is needed to meet the needs. There must be separate calculations for
applicants and ongoing recipients.

An estimate of how long it will take to accept and process D-SNAP applications from
the affected population. The disaster application processing period cannot exceed
seven days. Include the date application processing is anticipated to begin and the
date it will end.

¢ Indicate the disaster period requested, i.e., whether a full or half-month of benefits is
requested. This recommendation will be based on the nature, severity, and
anticipated duration of the disaster. (FNS will make the final determination)

Public information plans for informing the public about the availability of the D-SNAP.
The LDSS must identify newspapers, radio stations, television stations, and key media
and government websites that cover its service area.

List of volunteers and their contact information to assist the LDSS in the operation of the
D-SNAP. Information about any disaster relief agencies that the local agency wants to
use in administering the D-SNAP. Examples include the Red Cross or Salvation Army.
Specify the functions that will be delegated to the disaster relief agency in connection
with the certification and issuance of benefits and the geographical areas in which these
functions will be performed. NOTE: Volunteers, including relief agencies, may not
conduct eligibility interviews or determine eligibility.

The Virginia disaster state plan does not assign a role to private disaster relief agencies
within the Commonwealth. However, access to volunteers from those agencies is
available, if needed. During a declared State of Emergency, VDSS is the lead agency
for Emergency Support Function (ESF)-6 with responsibility for mass care, housing and
human services. In this role, the Virginia Voluntary Organizations Active in Disasters
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10.

(VVOAD) is a support organization to ESF-6. VVOAD is an organization of over 20 non-
profit groups including faith-based organizations. Several of these organizations support
feeding operations within impacted areas during emergencies.

Indicate the number of BPS available to process applications. Include how you will be
able to contact your own employees (home phone numbers, cell phone, etc.) Also,
include a plan to house staff in case of an extreme emergency.

Each LDSS is responsible for obtaining sufficient personnel to administer the D-SNAP.
Such staff includes persons to provide clerical, eligibility determination, issuance, and
crowd control duties or functions. Staffing considerations must factor in language needs
of the community by having bilingual staff available. To ensure that sufficient staff is in
place for a disaster, each LDSS must have a plan in place to expand the number of
available workers to perform functions related to the D-SNAP. These additional workers
may include workers from other programs within the LDSS, other city/county staff, staff
from other LDSS, and volunteers. VDSS will perform a broker function and match
volunteers from one LDSS to work temporarily for another LDSS when necessary.

List of workers and their contact information willing to assist other LDSS in the event a
D-SNAP is operating in another county or city.

Procedures for working with power companies — determine what type of data they will
provide. Also give any additional information that may be helpful such as conditions in
the locality (e.g., duration of power outages, shut down of major employers.)

Identification of local demographic data that is available such as population counts of low
income individuals and the elderly population in various parts of the locality. If only part
of the locality was affected, use street names and zip codes to define geographical
areas within the locality in need of assistance. Provide maps if available.

The LDSS must identify one or more alternate certification sites to operate a D-SNAP.
This option may be necessary if the LDSS is unavailable or inaccessible because of the
disaster or because it cannot accommodate an anticipated volume of applicants. In
determining the location of the alternate site, the LDSS must consider the accessibility of
the location to parking, the location’s accommodations for disabled individuals, power
and telecommunications arrangements, and the capacity to establish Internet access for
multiple computers.

A contingency plan for supplying additional hardware for operations should be identified,
if necessary.

The LDSS is responsible for ensuring that all personnel implementing a D-SNAP is
adequately trained. VDSS staff will provide initial face-to-face training or
videoconference training sessions for affected localities. VDSS will provide an electronic
version of all training materials for ongoing reference.

Once a county/city has been approved to operate a D-SNAP, the LDSS must determine
the training needs for all staff involved. At a minimum, each LDSS should have two

TRANSMITTAL #35



VIRGINIA DEPARTMENT
OF SOCIAL SERVICES D-SNAP

10/24

VOLUME V, PART XX, PAGE 6

11.

12.

representatives attend the VDSS-provided training. Additionally, there will be daily
conference calls where any LDSS staff member may call-in and ask questions of VDSS
staff regarding the operation of the D-SNAP.

Describe procedures for accepting and processing applications, including crowd
management procedures at application and issuance sites and fraud prevention
measures. Describe also any pre-screening activities. If any volunteers will be there,
explain where they are from and what their duties will be.

Volunteers may perform screening activities that do not involve duplicate participation
checks. They cannot perform any interview or certification activities.

Plan for crowd control including procedures to reduce applicant hardship (i.e. water,
bathrooms, etc.) Include information about how to provide accessibility for the elderly or
disabled.

Crowd Control

It is anticipated that the number of applicants for the D-SNAP will be significantly larger
than the normal flow of SNAP applicants and recipients. The LDSS must have a plan to
address an increased number of people.

In order to even out the flow of applicants on a daily basis, the local agency may ask
potential applicants to apply alphabetically or according to birth date or Social Security
number. Arrangements should be made to acquire crowd control equipment such as
rope barriers, directional signs and some form of public address system.

The plan must provide for the deployment of additional staff and volunteers to carry out
various functions. These functions may include maintaining orderly lines, assigning
numbers to applicants in order for them to be served, informing applicants of the
approximate waiting time, or cutting off lines at the closing hour of business identified in
the local plan for operating the D-SNAP.

Human Comforts

The LDSS must attempt to provide basic human comforts to those individuals seeking
assistance at D-SNAP certification sites. These comforts include bathroom facilities,
access to emergency medical care (which may require having a nurse or other medical
personnel on site), and the provision of water and small snacks, which may be available
from the local Red Cross or other emergency providers.

Some applicants, such as the elderly, those with disabilities, and those whose primary
language is not English, may have special needs that must be addressed. This would
include ensuring that certification sites and bathroom facilities are handicapped-
accessible and that there is adequate, appropriate staff to assist applicants who are
blind or deaf or have other impairments. In some instances, the LDSS may need to
arrange transportation, conduct home visits, and secure translation services.
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13.

14.

15.

16.

Plan for handling employee applications.

Describe procedures for issuing benefits. This would include the plan for the physical
security and tracking of EBT cards, the data entry process, card delivery or card
replacement. Include any recipient training or customer service training to be
implemented.

D-SNAP households will be issued EBT cards over-the-counter. Designated local
agency issuance personnel may access the card issuance screen in the EBT system
using Manual Account Setup prior the demographic and benefit files being transmitted to
issue vault cards to eligible households. Cardholders must sign for receipt of the card.
Cardholders must select a Personal Identification Number (PIN) by calling the EBT
vendor's Automated Response Unit. The LDSS is encouraged to provide a telephone
for cardholder use in acquiring the PIN.

Disaster benefits must be provided within 3 days of the application date. (Day 1 is day
after the application is filed.) Disaster benefits will be available for household use for 274
days. The EBT system will expunge unused benefits on the 275" day the benefits were
issued for the D-SNAP.

Fraud prevention procedures. This would be a description of application/issuance site
controls and possible use of onsite fraud investigators. Include in this any specific plans
to handle employee applications.

While the primary focus of the D-SNAP is to distribute benefits to eligible disaster victims
as quickly as possible, precautions must be taken to guard against fraudulent receipt of
benefits. Workers must verbally advise applicants of D-SNAP rules and of the penalties
for fraudulent receipt or use of benefits. A checklist given to eligibility workers should
include circumstances that would trigger a referral to an investigator.

The automated system will cross check data entered to ensure that new applicants and
household members for the D-SNAP are not already receiving either regular SNAP
benefits or D-SNAP benefits. The automated system will also check to ensure that the
case has not already been found to be ineligible for benefits in any jurisdiction. The
system will perform an edit check on any Virginia Department of Social Services
employee applying for the D-SNAP. The system will identify the receipt of support
through the Division of Child Support Enforcement.

If the automated system is unavailable, the LDSS must maintain lists of
applicants/recipients, which must be checked for duplicates at the close of each
business day. Other fraud prevention measures will include investigation of
questionable information. In no event however, must any investigative activity delay the
issuance of D-SNAP benefits beyond three days.

There needs to be confirmation that the LDSS can access the following documents from
this chapter in electronic format:

o D-SNAP client application (Appendix 1)
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o Cover letter to VDSS requesting to operate a D-SNAP and the application to run the
program template (Appendix 1)

o Press release and fact sheet which is also a flyer that can be posted (Appendix VI)

F. APPLICATION TO FNS FOR AUTHORIZATION OF THE DISASTER SUPPLEMENTAL
NUTRITION ASSISTANCE PROGRAM

Upon completion of the application to operate the D-SNAP, local officials must submit the
application to Director of the Benefits Division or designee at the Virginia Department of Social
Services. Virginia Department of Social Services staff will submit the application to FNS on the
locality’s behalf first by email or fax and then a hard copy will be mailed.

G. FNS AUTHORIZATION TO IMPLEMENT THE DISASTER PROGRAM

1. APPROVAL OR DENIAL. FNS approval or denial will be made to Home Office. The
letter of approval will generally contain procedures the locality must follow that are
specific to the disaster. The approval or denial may be as immediate as the next day.

If the application is denied, Home Office may request a review of the denial should
additional information subsequently become available to substantiate the request for
authorization.

2. GEOGRAPHICAL AREA. FNS will specify the locality or parts of localities where the D-
SNAP is authorized.

3. DISASTER APPLICATION PERIOD. FNS will authorize a period of up to seven days for
receiving, processing, and approving applications. Depending on the volume,
processing applications may continue to occur after the expiration of the application
period.

No D-SNAP application may be taken after the expiration of the disaster application
period.

4, DISASTER BENEFIT PERIOD. For the D-SNAP, FNS will specify either a half-month or
a full month disaster benefit period, depending on the nature, severity, and anticipated
duration of the disaster.

5. USE OF DISASTER RELIEF AGENCY. FNS will authorize the use of any disaster relief
agency in administering the Disaster Program as well as specifically authorize which
functions the agency may perform in connection with the certification and distribution of
D-SNAP benefits.
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H. APPLICATION TO FNS FOR EXTENSION OF THE DISASTER PROGRAM

An extension of the GEOGRAPHIC AREA covered by the D-SNAP may be requested if the
effects of the disaster are more widespread than originally determined.

An extension of the DISASTER APPLICATION PERIOD may be requested if a significant
number of D-SNAP applications cannot be taken during the original application processing
period.

l. INFORMING THE PUBLIC

During a disaster, state and local levels will disseminate information about the D-SNAP. The
VDSS will issue press releases and have information available on its public website about the
operation of the D-SNAP in different counties and cities. When a disaster occurs where the
LDSS has been approved to operate a D-SNAP, VDSS will contact media and government
outlets identified by the LDSS. The press release may include information about:

o Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program background

Eligibility requirements

Locations and the hours of operation

. The distribution of food and commodities through the Red Cross and other organizations
Additionally, the LDSS should arrange for food retailers, advocacy organizations and community
and faith based organizations to display posters and distribute flyers. Posters should be
displayed in local businesses and areas where disaster victims may congregate or seek other
assistance.

The LDSS must also issue press releases and post information on its website to update the
public on the status of the D-SNAP.

Local agencies serving affected areas must ensure the public is advised:

. about the availability of disaster benefits;

° how to apply for benefits;

° where and when to apply for disaster benefits;
. eligibility and verification requirements;

. the proper use of D-SNAP benefits and EBT cards;

. retailer availability;
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° penalties for fraud; and

. a post-disaster review of D-SNAP applications.

Special efforts must be made to contact those segments of the community that may not be
reached by mainstream media, such as persons living in rural areas, the elderly and disabled,
the deaf and hearing impaired, and the non-English speaking. Suggested wording for a flyer
and news release are in Appendix VI of this chapter. A poster that must be at all application
sites is also in Appendix VI.

J. MAJOR DIFFERENCES BETWEEN THE REGULAR PROGRAM AND THE DISASTER
PROGRAM

There are major differences between the regular program and the D-SNAP.

1. ELIGIBILITY CRITERIA. Eligibility criteria are less strict to provide food assistance to
households that might not otherwise qualify for the regular program.

2. VERIFICATION. Depending on the nature of the disaster, verification rules are relaxed
to streamline the application and eligibility determination process. For example, if
homes are destroyed in a tornado, verification might not be available.

At a minimum, the identity of the applicant must be verified. Residence verification is
also requested but not required; i.e., the application can be processed without
verification of residence.

Households may be required to verify income and resources depending on the nature of
the disaster. There is a standard deduction for disaster related expenses and verification
will not be required.

If a household must provide additional verification after the interview, the worker must
advise the household that the information must be provided by the end of the period the
agency is authorized to take disaster applications.

3. AMOUNT OF BENEFITS. An eligible household will be provided the maximum allotment
for the household size. The allotment will not vary depending on income, as it does in
the regular program.

4. DELIVERY OF BENEFITS. In the D-SNAP, benefits are provided within three calendar
days of the date of application (day one is the day after the application date), or, if
verification is still needed, within three calendar days of the household providing
verification, but no later than the last authorized date of the disaster period.

5. NON-FINANCIAL FACTORS. Some non-financial factors are not asked about or
evaluated in the D-SNAP. These factors include:
o Citizenship and alien status
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K.

Student eligibility (Students living in institutions are not eligible.)
Striker

Work registration

Disqualification under the regular program

Work Requirement and time-limited benefits

HOUSEHOLD APPLICATION PROCEDURES FOR THE DISASTER PROGRAM

To apply for D-SNAP benefits, a household member or its authorized representative must complete
and submit an Application for Disaster Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program Benefits. See
Appendix | of this chapter for a copy of the application. The household or its authorized
representative must be interviewed. At a minimum, the identity of the applicant must be verified.

If an authorized representative is applying on behalf of a household, written permission from the
head of the household must be provided.

1.

FILING AN APPLICATION. If the web-based D-SNAP application is used, the household
must sign a Request for Disaster Benefit Assistance in order to inform the household that
the Social Security Numbers and names of household members will be matched against
various files. See Appendix | of this chapter for a copy of the request form.

If a paper application is used, the household must submit a completed and signed D-SNAP
application to the local agency authorized for the D-SNAP, either in person or through an
authorized representative. The agency must record the date the application is received.

The household must file the application during the disaster application processing period
authorized by FNS. If a D-SNAP application is mistakenly filed outside of this disaster intake
period, it must be denied.

Households that apply outside of this disaster intake period may complete an application for
the regular program and have the application processed according to the regular program
application procedures.

MATCHES. Applicants must be screened to prevent duplicate participation. They also will
be subject to various other matches. To prevent multiple issuances of Disaster SNAP
benefits to an individual by more than one locality simultaneously, the local agency must
accept applications and inform applicants that eligibility is contingent upon a subsequent
check for duplicate participation.

If the web-based application is used, the household will be screened automatically against
extracts from VaCMS, the Division of Human Resources State Employee Database, Child
Support Enforcement, and the web-based file itself. Match results will be provided to the
worker online for information and evaluation. The local agency must screen all household
members against SPIDeR and the local employee database(s). In some disasters, persons
who match in VaCMS, and who have already received benefits through the regular program
will not be eligible for D-SNAP benefits. A match with the VDSS state employee file is an
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indication to the worker of an income source to explore during the interview. A match
with support enforcement files is an indication to the worker of a possible income source
to explore during the interview. A match with the disaster file itself shows people who
have already applied for D-SNAP benefits and the disposition of that application.

If a paper application is used, the household members on the application must be
entered into the web-based automated system to check for duplicate participation prior
to approval. The application will be automatically screened against the same sources
noted above as the web-based application.

INTERVIEWS. The household must be interviewed. The individual interviewed may be
the head of the household, spouse, any other responsible member of the household, or
an authorized representative. If an authorized representative is applying, that person
must have written permission from the household. The interviewer must review the
information that appears on the application and resolve unclear or incomplete
information with the household.

In addition, the interviewer must advise the household of its rights and responsibilities,
including the right to a fair hearing, the proper use of benefits and EBT cards, penalties
for fraud, and the civil and criminal penalties for violations of the Food and Nutrition Act.
The interviewer must advise the household that it may be subject to a post-disaster
review.

The interviewer must inform each household of the ongoing food assistance program
and how to apply for benefits.

Local agency certification staff, other designated agency staff, staff from other local
agencies and state social services staff, may be used to interview households and to
determine eligibility.

VERIFICATIONS. Verification requirements will depend on the nature of the disaster,
e.g., if homes were leveled, verification of several elements may be waived. |dentity of
the applicant is always verified. Examples of acceptable verification of identity include,
but are not limited to, a driver's license, work or school ID, voter registration card, or birth
certificate. A collateral contact may be used as a source of verification if the applicant's
identity cannot be verified through documentary evidence.

For items where verification can be waived, the household declaration on the application
must be used in the eligibility determination.

HOUSEHOLD COOPERATION. If the household refuses to cooperate with any aspect
of the application process, the application must be denied at the time of refusal. For a
determination of refusal to be made, the household must be able to cooperate, but
clearly demonstrate that it will not take actions that it can take and that are required to
complete the application process.

BENEFIT AMOUNT CALCULATION. Households determined eligible for Disaster

Program assistance must receive either a half-month or a full month allotment,

depending on which disaster benefit period level was authorized by FNS.
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L.

The actual amount of the allotment will be based on the household size. The benefit
allotment tables must be used to determine the amount of the allotment.

PROCESSING STANDARD. Eligible households that complete the D-SNAP application
must have their eligibility determined the same day, or as soon thereafter as possible, to
ensure that benefits are issued no later than the third calendar day following the date the
application was filed. Ex: Application date is September 17, so September 18 is day one
of the processing period.

Ideally, an opportunity to obtain benefits should be provided the same day the application
is approved. Benefits will be issued by vault EBT cards.

If, due to the volume of applications, additional processing time is needed, the local
agency must forward the request for additional time to the VDSS SNAP Unit. The request
must indicate the date by which all D-SNAP applications will be processed.

CERTIFICATION NOTICES. The household must be advised in writing of the disposition
of the application. See Appendix | of this chapter for the Notice of Action for the Disaster
Program. If an application is approved, the household must be advised of the amount of
the allotment and the period the benefits are intended to cover. If the application is
denied, the basis of denial must be explained. If an application is withdrawn, list the date
of the withdrawal on the notice to confirm it. Appeal information is on the notice.

HANDLING CURRENT SNAP HOUSEHOLDS. In some disasters, ongoing recipients
may apply for and be certified for disaster benefits. FNS has previously approved options
such as the issuance of automatic replacements to ongoing households. The way
ongoing households are to be handled will be determined in negotiations with FNS at the
time of a disaster.

ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS FOR D-SNAP

To be eligible for the D-SNAP, a household must meet basic eligibility factors or requirements.
These eligibility factors are for the household to: live in the affected area (Residency); intend to
purchase and prepare food during the disaster benefit period (Purchase and Prepare); have
suffered an adverse effect other than loss of food as a result of the disaster (Adverse Effect); be
evaluated with people who would normally be part of the household (Household Composition),
and to meet the income and resource eligibility test (Income and Resource Test). These factors
are explained fully below.

1.

RESIDENCY. At the time the disaster struck, the household must have been residing
within the geographical area authorized for implementation of the Disaster Program. Such
a household may be certified even though it is temporarily residing outside of this area. In
this situation, the household would need to apply at the local agency where it lived at the
time of the disaster. There may be exceptions for those who worked in the disaster area
but do not live there. This will depend on the disaster circumstances.
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PURCHASE AND PREPARE. The household must intend to purchase food and
prepare meals during the disaster benefit period.

ADVERSE EFFECT. Depending on the disaster, the household must have experienced
one or more of the following adverse effects that directly result from the disaster.
Additional adverse effects may be identified at the time of the disaster.

a.

Loss or Inaccessibility of Income.

Loss or inaccessibility of income means a reduction or termination of income, or
a significant delay in receipt of income, due to the disaster. This could occur, for
example, if a disaster has caused a place of employment to close or reduce its
work days, or if the work location is inaccessible due to the disaster (e.g., roads
washed out).

Inaccessibility of Liquid Resources.

Inaccessibility of liquid resources includes situations in which the financial
institutions in which the household has its resources are expected to be closed
due to the disaster for at least half of the disaster benefit period.

Note: This may be an infrequent occurrence, as households can usually access
their resources via online banking or ATMs even if the bank branches are closed
in the affected area.

Disaster-Caused Expenses Due to Damage to the Home Property or Self-
Employment Business.

The household must have had damage to the home property or self-employment
business and have unreimbursed out-of-pocket expenses to qualify under this
criterion for the D-SNAP. The client will not have to verify these expenses.

Eligible expenses include but are not limited to; home and business repairs,
home and business protection, temporary shelter expenses, evacuation
expenses, medical expenses due to personal injury, disaster-related funeral
expenses, disaster-related pet boarding fees, disaster-related damaged vehicle
expenses, storage expenses, expenses for clean-up supplies, and expenses
related to replacement of items, such as clothing, appliances, tools and
educational materials.

Loss of Food. (state option)

Food lost or damaged in a disaster or lost because of a power outage that
exceeded four hours.

Virginia utilizes a Disaster Standard Expense Deduction (DSED) in lieu of actual disaster
expenses incurred by a household. Only households with actual unreimbursed disaster-related
expenses equal to or greater than $100 qualify for the DSED. Households with deductible
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disaster-related expenses that fall below the $100 threshold will have their eligibility determined
using their actual expenses.

The DSED is designed to capture food loss along with other disaster-related expenses, such as
loss of income and damage to or destruction of property. The DSED must not be applied to cases
in which food loss is the only disaster-related expense.

All applicants must list the type and value of their disaster-related expenses on their D-SNAP
applications.

Example

Client applies for D-SNAP for herself, her husband, and two children. She stated they
have disaster-related expenses, but the expenses are $75 due to their insurance
deductible. Since the family’s disaster-related expenses fall below the $100 threshold, the
BPS must enter the household’s actual expense of $75.

4. HOUSEHOLD COMPOSITION. The household must include as part of the application
process the people normally living and eating together when the disaster occurred. Do not
include any persons temporarily staying with the household or with whom the household is
temporarily staying. If members of the family are not together on the date of application
because of circumstances directly related to the disaster, but they were living and eating
together on the date of the disaster, include those persons also.

Examples

In the following examples, the date of the disaster is September 18 and the disaster
benefit period is September 18 — October 3. The date of application is September 30.

a) Client applies 9/30 for herself. Her husband, who was in the home on
9/18, went to jail on 9/20. He is not included as a household member;
he is not there on the date of application and his absence is not related
to the disaster.

b) Client and her husband moved in temporarily with her mother because
their house was flooded. Do not include the mother because the client
and her husband are temporarily staying there.

c) Client’s sister moved in with her temporarily because the sister has no
power. Do not include the sister on the client’s application.

d) Client applies for herself and a baby born 9/20. The new baby is
included because he is now part of the permanent household, even
though he was not there on the date of the disaster.

e) Client and her husband have four children. Their home was destroyed
in a tornado. Nobody can house all six of them, so three children are
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Q)

with their grandmother, and the other three people are with the client’s
sister. The application can include the family of six, because they were
living and eating together on the date of the disaster and the reason
they are scattered is directly due to the disaster.

Client’'s daughter is home from college because the college closed. Do
not include the college student because she is there temporarily.

Client normally resides in the barracks on a military base. He is not
eligible for benefits because he is in a facility that provides him food.

Students or others who have meals provided are considered residents of institutions and
are not eligible for the D-SNAP.

5. INCOME AND RESOURCES TEST. The household must meet the disaster income limits.
This is determined as follows:

a.

Determine the household's gross earned and unearned income during the disaster
benefit period. For self-employment income, count the amount that remains after
costs of producing the income are subtracted.

Count income the household has received during the disaster benefit period, or
expects to receive with reasonable certainty during this period.

Income that is countable in the regular program will be countable for disaster
benefits. Similarly, excluded payments under the regular program will be excluded
for disaster benefit determinations.

For the D-SNAP, average weekly and bi-weekly income must NOT be converted to
a monthly figure by the 4.3 or 2.15 conversion factors used in the regular program.
Instead, the BPS must determine the income already received during the disaster
period, and anticipate the income expected for the rest of the disaster period.

Example

The disaster period is August 17 through September 16. The
household files a D-SNAP application on August 30. The client has
four pay dates during the disaster period. He had a full paycheck on
August 23, but no pay on August 30 because the business flooded. He
expects full pay again for the next two pay dates, because he is back at
work. Count the one pay received and the two anticipated basing the
amounts for the anticipated two on the one received.

D-SNAP income does NOT include any disaster assistance payments received or

expected to be received during this period from Federal, State, or local government
agencies or disaster assistance or relief organizations.
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b. Determine the household's accessible liquid resources as of the date of application.

All liquid resources that the household can access must be counted. They include,
but are not limited to, cash on hand, money in checking, savings, and credit union
accounts, Christmas or Vacation Club accounts, certificates of deposit, and money
market accounts.

Jointly held resources between married persons belong to each party equally.
Jointly held resources between other people belong to the parties in proportion to
their net contributions. If the parties establish that they intended a different
ownership arrangement, that arrangement prevails.

Example

A daughter is listed on her elderly mother’s bank account. The daughter and
her mother say the money belongs to the mother. The account is not a
countable resource to the daughter.

Individual Retirement Accounts, stocks, bonds and Keogh plans are not counted.

Do not count the same money as income and a resource for the same month.

Example

A client’s paycheck is deposited directly in a checking account. Count
the paycheck as income but deduct that amount from the resource
balance.

C. To be eligible for benefits, households’ income and accessible liquid resources must
be below the allowable levels.

For households with $100 or more in unreimbursed disaster-related expenses use
Chart A. The income levels in Chart A incorporates the Disaster Standard Expense
Deduction (DSED). Households whose total income plus accessible liquid
resources that are less than or equal to the levels in Chart A would qualify for D-
SNAP.

For households with $100 or less in unreimbursed disaster-related expenses, or
food loss is the only expense use Chart B. The income levels in Chart B does not
incorporates the Disaster Standard Expense Deduction (DSED). Households
whose total income plus its accessible liquid resources minus their actual disaster-
related expenses must be less than or equal to the levels in Chart B to qualify for D-
SNAP.

If the household’s income is at or below the limit for its size, the household is
eligible for the benefit shown:

TRANSMITTAL #35



VIRGINIA DEPARTMENT

OF SOCIAL SERVICES D-SNAP
10/24 VOLUME V, PART XX, PAGE 18
Chart A (DSED):
Benefit Amount Benefit Amount*

Household Size Income Limit Full Month Half Month

1 $3,041 $ 292 $ 146

2 3,958 536 268

3 4,547 768 384

4 5,354 975 488

5 5,899 1,158 579

6 6,588 1,390 695

7 7,087 1,536 768

8 7,588 1,756 878
Each additional

person +$501 $220 $110
Chart B:
Benefit Amount Benefit Amount*

Household Size Income Limit Full Month Half Month

1 $1,950 $ 292 $ 146

2 $2,343 536 268

3 $2,737 768 384

4 $3,130 975 488

5 $3,555 1,158 579

6 $3,982 1,390 695

7 $4,375 1,536 768

8 $4,768 1,756 878

Each additional

person +$394 $220 $110
* The half-month benefit amount is calculated by dividing the full month
amount by two and rounding up to the nearest whole dollar amount.

d. For eligible households, the BPS must complete the Internal Action Form for
Disaster Benefits to authorize the issuance of the EBT card. See Appendix | for a
copy of the form.

M. DISASTER PROGRAM BENEFIT PERIOD
1. The benefit period for the D-SNAP is not based on a calendar month as it is for the regular
program. The benefit period is determined by the disaster benefit period authorized by

FNS. The period will be either a half-month (15 days) or a full month (30 days).

2 The full amount of accessible liquid resources must be counted regardless of whether the

length of the disaster benefit period is a half month or a full month.
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3. If the disaster benefit period is a half-month, income over the 15-day period must be

counted. If the disaster benefit period is a full month, then income during the 30-day period
must be counted. The maximum income limit for the appropriate household size must not
exceed the disaster income eligibility limit as shown in the table in Chapter L.

N. VAULT CARD ISSUANCE PROCEDURES

For the D-SNAP, eligible households must receive a new EBT card and EBT account. There must
be a new card and account even if households are already known to the EBT system. Procedures
for setting up EBT accounts are in Appendix IV of this chapter.

To issue EBT cards in the D-SNAP, the local agency must issue vault cards in the same manner
they are issued for regular program operations. The eligibility worker must authorize issuance of a
vault card in the stand-alone D-SNAP system and prepare the Internal Action Form. Refer to the
EBT Policy and Procedures Guide.

The agency must provide an overview of the issuance process and use of benefits to the applicant.
The overview must also advise the applicant of the approximate time when the EBT card will be
available for use and when to select the Personal Identification Number (PIN). Households must
select or change the PIN to access benefits through the Automated Response Unit.

0. FAIR HEARING

Households denied Disaster Program benefits may request a fair hearing in accordance with Part
XIX. If the household decides to withdraw its request for a fair hearing, the request must be in
writing.

P. TRANSITION TO THE REGULAR PROGRAM

Households that are issued D-SNAP benefits may follow up and file applications for the regular
program. In such situations, benefits for the regular program must be prorated from the day
following the end of the disaster benefit period, or the day of application for the regular program,
whichever is later.

Example

The D-SNAP benefit period is August 18 through September 17. The household filed
for and was approved for disaster benefits on September 1. The household files an
application for the regular program on September 15. If eligible, benefits are
prorated from September 18, the day following the end of the disaster benefit period.
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Q. DISASTER REPORTS

The VDSS must report daily to FNS the number of households and persons approved for disaster
benefits. The report must distinguish between households and persons participating in the normal,
ongoing program and new, nonparticipating households and persons. This information will be
gathered at the end of each business day from the web-based system or the Master Issuance File
or EBT files if a paper application is used. Daily reports will also capture the value of benefits
issued and the number of households denied benefits.

The VDSS must submit additional reports at the end of the disaster period. These reports include:

FNS - 292B Report of Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program Benefit
Issuance for Disaster Relief

FNS — 388 Monthly Issuance Report

FNS — 209 Status of Claims Against Households Report

FNS — 46 Issuance Reconciliation Report

Appendix VIl contains guidance for the completion of these reports.

The VDSS will complete reconciliation and settlement reports through established processes and
must address card production and delivery, benefit authorization, and posting issues.

R. RECIPIENT CLAIMS AND ENTITLEMENT TO RESTORATION

The LDSS must establish and pursue collection of claims for disaster benefits issued incorrectly.
The LDSS must establish claims as soon possible, but no later than the end of the quarter following
discovery of the overpayment. Regular Program rules apply for establishing and collecting
amounts. See Part XVII.

The LDSS must restore benefits to any household that was incorrectly denied or that received too
few benefits. The LDSS may discover the need for restoration through the fair hearing process,
post-disaster review, or evaluation of household complaints. Regular program requirements apply
for restoration so restored benefits may be offset against an existing claim. See Part XVI.

S. INTENTIONAL PROGRAM VIOLATION DISQUALIFICATION

Disqualification in the regular program does not disqualify a person from the Disaster Program.
Committing an Intentional Program Violation (IPV) in the Disaster Program will count towards
disqualification in the regular program, however. See Part XVII.

T. POST-DISASTER REVIEW

After operations for a disaster program have ended, the VDSS will review a sample of certified

cases. The VDSS will select a sample of 0.5 percent of the cases certified for the D-SNAP, up to a
maximum of 500 cases. Following the reviews, errors identified will be analyzed and
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corrective actions developed and implemented. Cases identified as being over- or under-
issued will be referred to the local agency for appropriate action. Potential fraud cases will also
be referred.

In addition to the sample of cases, all applications of VDSS and LDSS personnel will be
reviewed.

The VDSS will provide a report on the post-disaster review within six months of the close of the
disaster period or as specified in the authorization from FNS to operate a D-SNAP.

U. Retention of Records

Each agency must maintain D-SNAP records in accordance with its established filing system.
Program records must be retained for a minimum of three years.
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A. GENERAL PURPOSE

This chapter provides guidelines local agencies must use if the USDA orders a reduction,
suspension or cancellation of SNAP benefits. Depending upon the orders issued by USDA, there
could be a suspension or cancellation of benefits for one or more months, a reduction for one or
more months or a combination of these.

B. DEFINITIONS

1. Reduction - A reduction of SNAP benefits means that there will be a percentage reduction
of the maximum benefit amounts. Local agencies will receive benefit tables that reflect the
reduction as it applies to each household size at each income increment.

2. Cancellation - A cancellation of SNAP benefits means that there will be no benefits issued
for a particular month or months.

3. Suspension - A suspension of SNAP benefits is basically the same as a cancellation
except it should be more temporary. The net effect of a suspension may mean that
eligible household would receive benefits a delayed basis.

C. REDUCTION

The Virginia Department of Social Services will notify local agencies if there must be a reduction
of SNAP benefits. The notification will include the effective date of the reduction and the
percentage.

When agencies receive the notice that a reduction must occur, local workers must act
immediately to implement the order. Modification of the statewide computer system must also
occur so that households would receive the appropriate benefit amounts.

Any household with one or two members whose reduced benefits would be less than $23 would
generally receive a minimum benefit of $23. If there is a reduction rate of 90% or more for the

affected month, one or two-person households would not receive the $23 minimum. Benefit
levels of $1, $3 and $5 must be rounded up to $2, $4 and $6 respectively.

D. SUSPENSION AND CANCELLATIONS

The Virginia Department of Social Services will notify local agencies if there must be a suspension
or cancellation of SNAP benefits and the effective date of the suspension or cancellation.

Households will not receive a minimum benefit if benefits are suspended or cancelled.
When agencies receive the notice that a suspension or cancellation must take place, local
workers must act immediately to implement the order. Reprogramming for the statewide

computer system must also occur timely to make necessary computer adjustments.
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E. GENERAL OPERATING PROCEDURES

1. Notifying Eligible Households

A reduction, suspension or cancellation of benefits would be a mass change. Normal
requirements applied to mass changes would be used:

a. Notification of recipients through news media.
b. Posters in certification offices.
C. General explanatory notices mailed to participating households.

The BPS may not use the Advance Notice of Proposed Action to notify households if there
is a reduction, suspension or cancellation of benefits.

2. Restoration of Benefits

Households receiving restored benefits or who are to receive retroactive benefits at the
time of the order for reduction, suspension or cancellation of benefits, will not have these
benefits affected during the month(s) the action is in effect.

Households who receive reduced or cancelled benefits because of these procedures are
not entitled to restoration of benefits at a future date unless USDA orders the restoration.

3. Record Keeping

There must be a record of benefits that households receive during a month(s) when a
reduction is in effect and the amount households would have received had full monthly
benefits been distributed. There must also be records kept showing the benefit amount
households would have received if there is a cancellation of benefits.

4, Eligibility Determination

An order for a reduction, suspension or cancellation of benefits will not affect the
determination of eligibility. The BPS must accept and process applications within normal
time frames. If an applicant is determined eligible and a reduction is in effect, that
household must receive benefits according to the revised issuance tables that reflect the
reduction.

If an applicant is eligible and a cancellation is in effect, the household will not receive any
benefits.

5. Expedited Services

a. Households eligible for expedited processing who apply during month(s) when a
reduction or suspension is in effect must be processed as allowed by expedited
procedures.
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1) If a reduction is in effect the allotment issued must reflect the reduction.

2) If a suspension is in effect at the time of certification, the eligible household
will not receive any benefits until the suspension of benefits is no longer in
effect.

b. Households eligible for expedited processing who apply during month(s) in which

cancellations are in effect must have their cases processed either in seven
calendar days or by the end of the month of application, whichever date is later.

6. Certification Periods

A reduction, suspension or cancellation will have no effect on the certification periods
assigned to eligi