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Common Interest Community Board 
 

PROPOSED Guidance Document: Regarding Specific Maximum 

Allowable Fees Set by the Condominium Act and Property Owners 

Association Act that may be Charged by the Preparer of Disclosure 

Packets and Resale Certificates 
 

Adopted June 27, 2013 

Amended March 27, 2014 

Amended July 1, 2014 

Amended January 16, 2018 

Revised September 3, 2020 

 

Effective upon conclusion of the public comment period required pursuant to § 2.2-

4002.1 of the Code of Virginia 

 

 

I. Issue 

The Property Owners Association Act and the Virginia Condominium Act set 

specific maximum allowable fees that may be charged by the preparer of disclosure 

packets and resale certificates, provided that specific provisions of the applicable Acts 

are being met.  The Acts also index those maximum allowable fees to inflation and 

require adjustment every five years based on the United States Average Consumer 

Price Index, All Urban Consumers (CPI-U). 

 

II. Applicable Statutes 
 

§§ 55.1-1810 (pertaining to a disclosure packet for property subject to a 
property owners’ association) and 55.1-1992 (pertaining to a resale certificate 

In accordance with § 2.2-4002.1 of the Code of Virginia, this proposed guidance 

document conforms to the definition of a guidance document in § 2.2-4101. 
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for a unit subject to a unit owners’ association) of the Code of Virginia both 
state, in part: 

B. A reasonable fee may be charged by the preparer of the [disclosure 
packet/resale certificate] as follows for: 
 
1. The inspection of the [unit/lot], as authorized in the declaration and as 
required to prepare the [disclosure packet/resale certificate], a fee not to 
exceed $100; 
 
2. The preparation and delivery of the [disclosure packet/resale certificate] in 
(i) paper format, a fee not to exceed $150 for no more than two hard copies, or 
(ii) electronic format, a total fee not to exceed $125, for a copy to each of the 
following named in the request:  the seller, the seller’s authorized agent, the 
purchaser, the purchaser’s authorized agent, and not more than one other 
person designated by the requestor. Only one fee shall be charged for the 
preparation and delivery of the [disclosure packet/resale certificate]; 
 
3.  At the option of the seller or his authorized agent, with the consent of the 
[unit owners'] association or the common interest community manager, 
expediting the inspection, preparation, and delivery of the [disclosure 
packet/resale certificate], an additional expedite fee not to exceed $50; 
 
4.  At the option of the seller or his authorized agent, an additional hard copy 
of the [disclosure packet/resale certificate], a fee not to exceed $25 per hard 
copy; 
 
5. At the option of the seller or his authorized agent, a fee not to exceed an 
amount equal to the actual cost paid to a third-party commercial delivery 
service for hand delivery or overnight delivery of the [disclosure packet/resale 
certificate]; and 
 
6.  A post-closing fee to the purchaser of the [property/unit], collected at 
settlement, for the purpose of establishing the purchaser as the owner of the 
[property/unit] in the records of the [unit owners'] association, a fee not to 
exceed $50. 
 
I.  A reasonable fee for the [disclosure packet/resale certificate] update or 
financial update may be charged by the preparer not to exceed $50. At the 
option of the purchaser or his authorized agent, the requestor may request that 
the [unit owners'] association or the common interest community manager 
perform an additional inspection of the [unit/lot], as authorized in the 
declaration, for a fee not to exceed $100. Any fees charged for the specified 
update shall be collected at the time settlement occurs on the sale of the 
property. Neither the [unit owners'] association nor its common interest 
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community manager, if any, shall require cash, check, certified funds, or credit 
card payments at the time the request is made for the [disclosure packet/resale 
certificate]. The requestor may request that the specified update be provided in 
hard copy or in electronic form. 

§§ 55.1-1810(F) and 55.1-1992(F) of the Code of Virginia both state: 

The maximum allowable fees charged in accordance with this section shall 
adjust every five years, as of January 1 of that year, in an amount equal to 
the annual increases for that five-year period in the United States Average 
Consumer Price Index for all items, all urban consumer (CPI-U), as 
published by the Bureau of Labor Statistics of the U.S. Department of Labor. 

 

III. Policy 
 
The CPI-U on 12/31/07 was 210.036, on 12/31/08 was 210.228, on 12/31/09 was 

215.949, on 12/31/10 was 219.179, on 12/31/11 was 225.672, and on 12/31/12 was 
229.601.  With a starting point of 100, the compounded increase between 12/31/07 and 
12/31/12 was 9.31%.  In order to be consistent in calculation, the Board adopted the 
following policy indicating the exact compounded monetary amounts that are the 
maximum allowable fees to be charged by the preparers of disclosure packets and 
resale certificates, as applicable.   

 
1. The inspection pursuant to §§ 55.1-1810(B)(1) and 55.1-1992(B)(1) of the 
Code of Virginia, a fee not to exceed $109.31; 
 
2. The preparation and delivery of the disclosure packet or resale certificate, as 
applicable, pursuant to  §§ 55.1-1810(B)(2) and 55.1-1992(B)(2) of the Code 
of Virginia, in (i) paper format, a fee not to exceed $163.97 for no more than 
two hard copies, or (ii) electronic format, a total fee not to exceed $136.64, for 
a copy to each of the following named in the request:  the seller, the seller’s 
authorized agent, the purchaser, the purchaser’s authorized agent, and not 
more than one other person designated by the requestor; 
 
3. Expediting the inspection, preparation, and delivery of the disclosure packet 
or resale certificate, as applicable, pursuant to §§ 55.1-1810(B)(3) and 55.1-
1992(B)(3) of the Code of Virginia, an additional expedite fee not to exceed 
$54.66; 
 
4. Pursuant to  §§ 55.1-1810(B)(4) and 55.1-1992(B)(4) of the Code of Virginia, 
an additional hard copy of the disclosure packet or resale certificate, as 
applicable, a fee not to exceed $27.33 per hard copy; 
. . .  
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6. Pursuant to §§ 55.1-1810(B)(6) and 55.1-1992(B)(6) of the Code of Virginia, 
a post-closing fee to the purchaser of the property or unit, as applicable, a fee 
not to exceed $54.66; 
. . .  
 
I.  A disclosure packet or resale certificate update, as applicable, or financial 
update pursuant to §§ 55.1-1810(I) and 55.1-1992(I) of the Code of Virginia, a 
fee not to exceed $54.66.  An additional inspection, as authorized in the 
declaration, pursuant to §§ 55.1-1810(I) and 55.1-1992(I) of the Code of 
Virginia, a fee not to exceed $109.31. 
 
On November 30, 2017, the Board authorized that the fees listed above remain 

in place until Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) published the CPI-U for December 
2017.  On January 12, 2017, BLS published the CPI-U for December 2017.  The CPI-
U for December 2012 was 229.601. The CPI-U for December 2017 was 246.524.  
Based on the calculation formula outlined above, the increase between 12/31/2012 
and 12/31/17 was 7.37%.  The revised maximum allowable fees outlined below are 
effective as of January 16, 2018. 

 

Fee Type 
Initial 

Maximum 
Fee (2008) 

Adjusted Fee 
(2013) 

Adjusted Fee 

(2018) 

Inspection of lot/unit $100.00 $109.31 $117.37 
Preparation/delivery of 
packet/certificate (paper) 

$150.00 $163.97 $176.05 

Preparation/delivery of 
packet/certificate (electronic) 

$125.00 $136.64 $146.71 

Expedited inspection 
additional fee 

$50.00 $54.66 $58.69 

Additional copy fee $25.00 $27.33 $29.34 
Third-party commercial 
delivery (overnight or hand-
delivery) 

Actual cost N/A N/A 

Post-closing fee $50.00 $54.66 $58.69 
Pre-settlement updates $50.00 $54.66 $58.69 
Additional inspection fee $100.00 $109.31 $117.37 

 

 

The Common Interest Community Board will be taking public comment on this proposed guidance 

document.  A 30-day comment period will begin on November 9, 2020.  

If you wish to comment on the proposed guidance document, you may do so via the Town Hall 

website or you may submit written comments so that they are received no later than December 9, 

2020 to: 
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                     Joseph C. Haughwout, Jr., Board Administrator 

                     Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation 

                     9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400 

                     Richmond, VA  23233 

                     (804) 367-8510 

                     CIC@dpor.virginia.gov 

 

mailto:CIC@dpor.virginia.gov

