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Introduction
1
 

 
Civil charges and civil penalties are authorized by the Virginia Code to penalize 

noncompliance, to serve as an incentive against future noncompliance, and support DEQ’s 
mission “to protect the environment of Virginia in order to promote the health and well-being of 
the Commonwealth's citizens.” 2  This chapter sets out the specific procedure and criteria used by 
DEQ to calculate civil charges and civil penalties3 in administrative enforcement actions, 
including:  (1) orders issued by consent; (2) special orders issued after an informal fact finding 
proceeding; and (3) special orders issued after a formal hearing.4  This chapter does not address 
civil charges and civil penalties assessed in the “Air Check Virginia” Program, which is under 
separate guidance.  Nor does this chapter address the procedure to calculate civil penalties in 
judicial proceedings. 

 
The civil charge or civil penalty calculations in this guidance include an amount 

reflecting the gravity of the violation (the “gravity component”) and are intended to remove any 
significant economic benefit of noncompliance.  The DEQ’s goal is to ensure that 
noncompliance with environmental requirements is more costly than compliance. 

 
The Virginia Code requires the development of guidelines and procedures that contain 

specific criteria for calculating the appropriate penalty for each violation based on the following 
factors: 5 
  

                                                 
1 Guidance documents set forth presumptive operating procedures.  See Va. Code § 2.2-4001.  Guidance documents 
do not establish or affect legal rights or obligations, do not establish a binding norm, and are not determinative of the 
issues addressed.  Decisions in individual cases will be made by applying the laws, regulations, and policies of the 
Commonwealth to case-specific facts.  This guidance supersedes Civil Enforcement Manual; issued December 29, 

2014. 
 
2 Va. Code § 10.1-1183.  The section also lists eleven purposes of DEQ including:  “To promote environmental 
quality through … expeditious and comprehensive permitting, inspection, monitoring and enforcement 
programs…”; and “To ensure that there is consistency in the enforcement of the laws, regulations and policies as 
they apply to holders of permits or certificates issued by the Department, whether the owners or operators of such 
regulated facilities are public sector or private sector entities.” 
 
3 The Virginia Code does not define civil charges or civil penalties.  Generally, civil charges are assessed with the 
consent of the responsible party; civil penalties are assessed in adversarial administrative or judicial actions. 

 
4 In accordance with Va. Code § 10.1-1186(9) an informal fact finding proceeding held in accordance with Va. Code 
§ 2.2-4019 may result in the issuance of a special order.  “Special Order means an administrative order issued to any 
party that has a stated duration of not more than twelve months and that may include a civil penalty of not more than 
$10,000.”  See, Va. Code § 10.1-1182.  A formal hearing can require a Responsible Party to pay civil penalties of up 
to $32,500 for each violation, not to exceed $100,000 per special order.  See, VA Code § 62.1-44.15 (8a).   
 
5 Va. Code §§ 10.1-1316(D) (Air), 10.1-1455(L) (Waste), and 62.1-44.15(8e) (Water).  See Va. Code § 10.1-
1197.9(C)(4) (Renewable Energy).  Separate statutory factors are set out for violations of Article 11 of the State 
Water Control Law.  Va. Code § 62.1-44.34:20(D). 
 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+2.2-4001
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+10.1-1183
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title10.1/chapter11.1/section10.1-1186/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title2.2/chapter40/section2.2-4019/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title10.1/chapter11.1/section10.1-1182/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title62.1/chapter3.1/section62.1-44.15/
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+10.1-1316
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+10.1-1455
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+62.1-44.15
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+10.1-1197.9
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+10.1-1197.9
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+62.1-44.34C20


 
 

Page 4 of 63 
 

•••• The severity of the violations; 6 

•••• The extent of any potential or actual environmental harm; 

•••• The compliance history of the facility or person; 

•••• Any economic benefit realized from the noncompliance; and  

•••• The ability of the person to pay the penalty. 
 

A civil charge or civil penalty is not appropriate in every case.  The Virginia Code grants 
immunity from civil charges and civil penalties for certain voluntarily disclosed violations.7  
DEQ exercises its enforcement discretion to mitigate most or all of the gravity portion of a civil 
charge or civil penalty, for violations that are discovered pursuant to a Voluntary Environmental 
Assessment and that are voluntarily and promptly self-reported and corrected.8  Finally, the civil 
charge or civil penalty amount may be partially mitigated by a Supplemental Environmental 
Project.9   

 
DEQ may depart from the recommended calculations in this guidance to seek civil 

charges and civil penalties up to the maximum sums permitted by law where the interests of 
equity, deterrence, and justice require.  While uncommon, such departure is appropriate in 
significant cases of noncompliance such as but not limited to:   

 

• where the violation or its potential or actual environmental harm are especially 
egregious or severe;  

• where the violation has resulted in a declared emergency by federal, state, or local 
officials;  

• where the violation has placed another person in imminent and substantial danger of 
death, serious bodily injury, or harm;  

• where the violation is contrary to the specific terms of an administrative order or 
judicial decree;  

• where the violation or pattern of violations results in an imminent and substantial 
environmental harm; or  

• where the violation is the result of a pattern or practice that demonstrates the willful 
avoidance of regulatory requirements.   

 
In those cases where staff believes that the violation justifies seeking up to the maximum 

penalties authorized by law, staff must provide a reasoned analysis by applying the specific 
criteria described in Virginia Code and in this chapter demonstrating how the specific facts of the 
violation warrant the civil charge or civil penalty recommend. 

 

                                                 
6 In this chapter, the use of the term “violation” prior to a case decision by DEQ means an “alleged violation.”  DEQ 
makes case decisions in accordance with the Administrative Process Act, Va. Code § 2.2-4000, et seq. (APA). 
 
7 Va. Code §§ 10.1-1199, -1233.  See, Chapter 5. 
 
8 Voluntary disclosure and reporting do not include mandatory monitoring, sampling, or auditing procedures 
required by laws, regulations, permits, or enforcement actions.  See, Chapter 5. 
 
9 Va. Code § 10.1-1186.2.  See Chapter 5. 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+2.2-4000
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+10.1-1199
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+10.1-1233
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+10.1-1186.2
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Ultimately, civil charges and civil penalties cannot exceed the statutory maximum, 
usually $32,500 per day for each violation.  Certain statutes set out other maximum civil charges 
or civil penalties, especially for portions of the Water Programs.10 

  
In all enforcement actions, the paramount priorities of DEQ are:  to correct 

noncompliance promptly; to assure prompt implementation of all necessary corrective actions; to 
oversee appropriate process improvements; and to otherwise ensure protection of human health 
and the environment. 

Consent Orders without Civil Charges 

Initially, staff establish whether the violation warrants a civil charge.11  The following 
criteria may qualify for a consent order without civil charges: 

 

•••• The severity of the violation is minimal.  Consent orders without civil charges are not 
typically available when the alleged violation has been designated a High Priority 
Violation or Significant Noncompliance; 

•••• The extent of the actual or potential harm results in little to no harm; 

•••• The Responsible Party has not been in chronic noncompliance and is making a good-
faith effort to comply;  

•••• Municipal VPDES (major or minor) upgrade or expansion or collection system 
correction delayed due to the inability to secure funding; 

•••• Interim limits needed pending connection to a municipal wastewater treatment system 
or a larger regional wastewater treatment system; 

•••• Minor VPDES permittees, such as trailer courts operating lagoons or other antiquated 
systems, which will eventually shut down or be connected to a municipal sewer 
system;  

 

The emphasis in all cases, but particularly in cases without civil charges or civil penalties, 
is on prompt and appropriate injunctive relief to return a Responsible Party to compliance with 
applicable laws, regulations, orders, and permit conditions. 
 

Consent Orders with Civil Charges 

 
Unless a violation results in a significant or substantial violation warranting a departure 

from these procedures, DEQ assesses civil charges or civil penalties using the appropriate Civil 

                                                 
10 Va. Code § 62.1-44.34:20(C) also establishes minimum civil charges and civil penalties for certain violations 
involving the discharge of oil.  Va. Code § 62.1-44.15(8f) establishes maximum civil charges for sanitary sewer 
overflows (“SSOs”) in consent orders requiring SSO corrective action.  If this guidance does not specifically 
reference a statute authorizing a civil charge or civil penalty, such charge or penalty may be calculated using the five 
statutory factors.  Va. Code § 62.1-270 established a civil penalty shall not to exceed $25,000 for each violation of 
the Ground Water Management Act of 1992.         
 
11 No civil charge can be assessed if a statute grants the party immunity from civil charges, provided all 
requirements have been met.  See, Va. Code §§ 10.1-1199, -1233.  Civil charges may be mitigated by voluntary 
reporting and correction or by a SEP.  See, Chapter 5. 
 

http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title62.1/chapter3.1/section62.1-44.34:20/
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+62.1-44.15
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title62.1/chapter25/section62.1-270/
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+10.1-1199
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+10.1-1233


 
 

Page 6 of 63 
 

Charge/Civil Penalty Worksheet (Worksheet) unless no civil charge is warranted.  In calculating 
the civil charge or civil penalty, staff first identifies the appropriate “Potential for Harm” 
classification and then work through the various categories on the Worksheet to calculate a 
Gravity Subtotal.  The Worksheet Total may also be adjusted for appropriate reasons, by 
providing a reasoned analysis on the Civil Charge/Civil Penalty Adjustment Form.  Both the 
Worksheet and the Adjustment Form are part of the Enforcement Recommendation and Plan 
(ERP).  Disclosure of the completed Worksheet and any Adjustment Form is discretionary, until 
the enforcement strategy exemption expires under the Virginia Freedom of Information Act 
(FOIA).12 

 
Civil charges or civil penalties are generally appropriate if when one or more of the 

following criteria are met (the list is not exhaustive): 
 

• Failure to adequately respond to compliance assistance efforts; 

• Violation of a consent order or consent special order without mitigating 
circumstances; 

• Violations that are avoidable or due to negligence; 

• Violations of a fundamental part of the regulatory program; 

• Noncompliance that is continuing or likely to recur absent a civil charge to serve as a 
deterrence; 

• Knowing or willful violations;13 or  

• Violations resulting in harm to human health or the environment. 

Potential for Harm Classification 

 
Using best professional judgment, staff place violations into one of three “Potential for 

Harm” classifications – “Serious,” “Moderate,” or “Marginal” – that are listed near the top of the 
Worksheet.  Staff classify the violations, in part, based on:  (1) the severity of the violation, and 
(2) the extent of any potential or actual harm.  

 

•••• Severity of the violation:  This consideration examines whether the violation(s) or 
pattern of violations at issue are fundamental to the integrity of the regulatory 
program and DEQ’s ability to monitor and protect human health or the environment. 

•••• Potential or actual Harm:  Harm evaluations consider the potential harm as well as 
the actual effect the violation had on human health or the environment.14 

 

  

                                                 
12 Va. Code § 2.2-3705.7(16).  The rules for Formal Hearings are different.  See, Chapter 6. 
 
13 Evidence of a deliberate act may be grounds for referral to criminal investigative authorities. 
 
14For example, the potential or actual harm to the environment is related to the potential to emit or discharge and/or 
the toxicity and volume of a pollutant. 
    

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+2.2-3705.7
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Serious Classification 
 

A violation is classified as Serious if (1) the severity of the violation presents a 
substantial risk or an actual harm to the integrity of the regulatory program or (2) has or 
may have a substantial adverse effect to human health or the environment.   

 
Moderate Classification 

 
A violation is classified moderate if (1) the severity of the violation presents some risk or 
actual harm to the integrity of the regulatory program or (2) has or may have some 

adverse effect to human health or the environment.   

 

Marginal Classification  

 

A violation is classified as Marginal if (1) the severity of the violation presents little or no 

risk or actual harm to the integrity of the regulatory program or (2) has or may have little 

to no adverse effect to human health or the environment.   
 
For each violation, staff should provide a reasoned analysis in the Enforcement 

Recommendation and Plan for why a potential for harm classification was selected by 
documenting how the integrity of the regulatory program was affected and/or documenting the 
actual or potential harm to the environment.   

 

Statutory Factors 

Compliance History Category
15

 

 

Staff evaluates the Responsible Party’s history of noncompliance to determine if an 
increase to a civil charge or civil penalty is warranted.  This factor is not used to reduce a civil 
charge or civil penalty when a Responsible Party has a history of compliance.  When a 
Responsible Party has previously violated an environmental standard at the same or a different 
source or facility, it is usually clear evidence that the Responsible Party was not deterred by the 
DEQ’s previous enforcement response.  In calculating the adjustment factor for compliance 
history, staff considers:16 

 
a. Consent orders, special orders, judicial orders, or federal consent decrees in any other 

media program that became effective after the period beginning 36 months preceding 
the initial violation that is subject of the current enforcement action (5% of the current 
gravity-based civil charge/civil penalty or $5,000, whichever is less); and 

                                                 
15 This criterion relates to the statutory factor of compliance history. 
 
16Because a Remedy Consent Order action is founded on noncompliance with the Remedy Consent Order itself, the 
Compliance History factor is usually limited to prior Remedy Consent Order non-compliance, but is not limited to 
36 months, since Remedy Consent Orders can be effective over many years. 
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b. Consent orders, special orders, judicial orders, or federal consent decrees in the same 

media program that became effective after the period beginning 36 months preceding 
the initial violation that is subject of the current enforcement action (0.5 factor).  If 
there has been more than one enforcement action in the past 36 months, staff consider 
whether it is appropriate to depart from the civil charge/civil penalty worksheet, as 
described in the Introduction.  

 
The evidence to establish culpability cannot be identical to that used to support an 

adjustment based on compliance history.  If the evidence is identical, an adjustment is made for 
compliance history rather than culpability.  

 
For example, take the following steps to calculate a compliance history charge: 

 

• Review the compliance history for the responsible party to determine if there have 
been any enforcement actions within the previous 36 months.   

• Determine the appropriate factor to adjust the civil charge.  Assuming that the current 
enforcement action was within the previous 36 months in the same media program, 
the compliance history factor would be 0.5 (or 50%) (x) gravity subtotal.  If there is 
an enforcement action within the previous 36 months in another media program, the 
compliance history factor would be the lesser of 0.05 (x) gravity subtotal, or $5,000.   

 

Degree of Culpability 

 
DEQ staff assesses a Responsible Party’s culpability based on the facts and 

circumstances of the case and may add a multiplying factor to the amounts for one, a subset, or 
all violations, depending on the assessment.  Enforcement Staff rate the Responsible Party’s 
culpability as low (0%), moderate (25%), serious (50%), or high (100%) based on the one or 
more of list of factors below (the ERP may document consideration of relevant factors only).  It 
is not anticipated that culpability will increase the civil charge in all cases.  A violation without 
any further evidence of culpability is usually rated as low (but is still considered a violation, 
since Responsibly Parties are strictly liable for noncompliance).  The evidence to establish 
culpability cannot be identical to that used to support an adjustment based on compliance history.  
If the evidence is identical, an adjustment is made for compliance history rather than culpability.  
In determining the degree of culpability one or more of the following should be considered: 

 
a) The degree to which the Responsible Party knew or should have known of the legal 

requirement that was violated; 
b) The degree of control the Responsible Party had over the events constituting the 

violation; 
c) The foreseeability of the events constituting the violation; 
d) Whether the Responsible Party knew or should have known of the hazards associated 

with the conduct; 
e) Whether the Responsible Party took reasonable precautions against the events 

constituting the violation; 
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f) Whether there is evidence of unjustified delay in preventing, mitigating or remedying 
the violation;  

g) Whether the Responsible Party failed to comply with a consent order, special order, 
judicial order, or federal consent decree;  

h) Whether there have been Notices of Violation (NOVs) in the same media program 
during the past 36 months preceding the initial violation that is subject of the current 
enforcement action.  However, staff do not consider NOVs that were withdrawn or 
not pursued because of insufficient evidence or strategic considerations; 

i) Commonality of ownership, management, and personnel with other RPs or facilities 
that have been subject of enforcement actions; and  

j) The level of sophistication within the industry in dealing with compliance issues or 
the accessibility of appropriate control technology.  This should be balanced against 
the technology forcing nature of the statute, where applicable. 

 
Lack of knowledge of a legal requirement is not used as a basis to reduce a civil charge or 

civil penalty.  To do so would encourage ignorance of the legal requirement.   

Economic Benefit  

 
This economic benefit is included in a civil charge or civil penalty to ensure the 

enforcement action serves as a deterrent to future noncompliance and removes any illegal 
competitive advantage.17  A civil charge or civil penalty should remove any (i.e., greater than de 

minimis) economic benefit of noncompliance in addition to the gravity component.18  An 
economic benefit is gained when the Responsible Party avoids or delays costs required to comply 
with a legal requirement or any profits generated from an illegal competitive advantage and is 
evaluated on a case-by-case basis.  Staff should use best professional judgment when making the 
preliminary determination that an economic benefit exists.  When there is evidence of an 
economic benefit based on delayed or avoided costs, or profits from an illegal competitive 
advantage, staff should estimate the value of the economic benefit and include this amount in the 
proposed civil charge.19  
 

                                                 
17 Illegal competitive advantage occurs when the party’s noncompliant actions allow it to attain a level of revenues 
that would not have been obtainable otherwise, e.g., selling a product using water resources in excess of permitted 
amounts, or draining/filling and selling wetlands without appropriate permits. 
 
18 An economic benefit may be considered de minimis if the amount would be considered trivial to the overall civil 
charge or civil penalty and the collection of which would not be a significant deterrence of future noncompliance. 
   
19 Estimation of economic benefit in the case of failure to comply with Total Nitrogen or Total Phosphorus loading 
limitations of the General Permit for Total Nitrogen and Total Phosphorus Discharges and Nutrient Trading in the 

Chesapeake Watershed is not necessary.  Nor is it necessary to use EPA’s BEN model to calculate economic benefit 
for this class of violations.  Economic benefit should be calculated using the cost of purchasing the necessary 
amount of end-of –year (Class B) nutrient credits from the Nutrient Credit Exchange Association and/or (if 
sufficient credits would not have been available through the Exchange), compliance credits from the Water Quality 
Improvement Fund for the calendar year in which the violation(s) occurred.  Central office DE staff should be 
contacted for assistance in determining the per-unit cost of the appropriate credits for relevant calendar year. 
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If the economic benefit is estimated to exceed $10,000, penalty and financial models 
produced by the U.S. EPA should be used to calculate the economic benefit.20  The U.S. EPA’s 
models compute the economic benefits of noncompliance with legal requirements and are a 
method for calculating economic benefit from delayed and avoided expenditures.  The models 
use several data variables, most of which contain default values.  The required variables include 
information about capital and non-capital costs, annual operation and maintenance costs, and the 
dates for the period of noncompliance.  A Responsible Party may provide actual financial data 
that could affect the civil charge calculation.  When the Responsible Party will not or cannot 
provide financial data in a timely manner, staff may make estimates based on available 
resources, including their best professional judgment.21  Finally, penalty and financial models 
other than those used by the U.S. EPA may be used to calculate economic benefit of 
noncompliance, where staff concludes that an alternative method provides more meaningful 
results. 

 
 A necessary first step when making a preliminary determination of an economic benefit 
is understanding the costs delayed or avoided through noncompliance.  Delayed costs can 
include capital investments in pollution control equipment, remediation of environmental 
damages (e.g., removing unpermitted fill material and restoring wetlands), or one-time 
expenditures required to comply with environmental regulations (e.g., establishing a reporting 
system, or purchasing land on which to site a wastewater treatment facility). Avoided costs 
typically include operation and maintenance costs and/or other annually recurring costs (e.g., off-
site disposal of fluids from injection wells), but can occasionally include capital investments or 
one-time expenditures.   

 
 Examples of avoided costs include, but are not limited to: 

 

• Sampling and analytical costs for groundwater and gas monitoring;  

• Disposing of hazardous or universal wastes at a sanitary landfill as opposed to at a 
permitted disposal facility. The avoided cost would be the difference in the cost of 
disposal at the landfill compared to disposal at a permitted hazardous waste disposal 
facility; 

• Disconnecting or failing to properly operate and maintain existing pollution control 
equipment; failure to employ a sufficient number of staff; failure to adequately train 
staff; failure to establish or follow precautionary methods required by regulations or 
permits; removal of pollution equipment resulting in process, operational, or 

                                                 
20U.S. EPA.  Penalty and Financial Models.  Five models currently are available: BEN (calculates a violator's 
economic benefit of noncompliance from delaying or avoiding pollution control expenditures), ABEL (evaluates a 
corporation's or partnership's ability to afford compliance costs, cleanup costs or civil penalties, INDIPAY 
(Evaluates an individual's ability to afford compliance costs, cleanup costs or civil penalties), MUNIPAY (evaluates 
a municipality's or regional utility's ability to afford compliance costs, cleanup costs or civil penalties), PROJECT 
(Calculates the real cost to a Responsible Party of a proposed supplemental environmental project). 
      
21 Staff may use the following in exercising their judgment:  For delayed compliance, 6% per year of the delayed 
one-time capital costs for the period from the date the violation began until the date compliance was or is expected 
to be achieved; for avoided costs, the expenses avoided until the date compliance is achieved, plus 6% per year.  See 
Va. Code § 6.2-301. 
 

https://www.epa.gov/enforcement/penalty-and-financial-models
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+6.2-301
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maintenance savings; disconnecting or failing to properly operate and maintain 
required monitoring equipment; and operation and maintenance of equipment that the 
party failed to install; 

• Monitoring and reporting (including costs of the sampling and proper laboratory 
analysis);  

• Permit fees, permit maintenance fees, or annual emissions fees; and 

• Operation and maintenance expenses (e.g., labor, power, chemicals) and other annual 
expenses. 

 
Examples of delayed costs include, but are not limited to:22 

 

• Capital equipment improvement or repairs (including engineering design, purchase, 
installation, and replacement);  

• One-time acquisitions (such as equipment or real estate purchases); 

• Failure to install equipment needed to meet emission control standards;  

• Failure to effect process changes needed to reduce pollution; failure to test where the 
test still must be performed; and failure to install required monitoring equipment; 

• Capital equipment improvement or repairs (including engineering design, purchase, 
installation, and replacement);  

• Costs associated with providing required compensatory mitigation for surface 
water/wetland impacts (such as creation/restoration of wetlands, purchase or 
mitigation bank credits, etc.); and 

• Costs associated with buying nutrient credits to comply with the discharge loading 
requirements of the General Permit for Total Nitrogen and Total Phosphorus 

Discharges and Nutrient Trading in the Chesapeake Watershed in Virginia, 9 VAC 
25-820-10, et seq. 

• Failure to remove hazardous waste 90 days after generation if the waste is ultimately 
disposed of. 

• Failure to conduct a geophysical investigation. 
 

One distinction for the Virginia Water Protection Permit (VWPP) program lies in the 
calculation of economic benefit of noncompliance.  While the BEN model may be used as 
appropriate, the BEN model often fails to capture adequately the illegal competitive advantage 
that may arise from wetlands and other surface water violations.  It may be necessary to use other 
standard accounting practices to determine the level of revenues that would have been 
unattainable had the Responsible Party abided by the law.  For example, if a Responsible Party 

                                                 
22In VPDES cases, especially municipal VPDES cases, it can be difficult to determine a clear “start date” for 
calculating the delayed costs of noncompliance.  It is not unusual for Responsible Parties to need significant time to 
evaluate biological processes and/or infrastructure needs before settlement terms can be finalized.  Issues like 
government appropriations, land availability, public participation and other facts not wholly within the control of a 
permittee can reasonably delay compliance.  Finally, it is not unusual that savings that might have been realized 
from delayed costs are overtaken and surpassed by the increased construction costs resulting from delayed 
construction.  Therefore, the calculation of the delayed costs of noncompliance should be commenced at such time 
as a VPDES Responsible Party fails or ceases to make a timely, diligent, and good faith effort to comply, while 
doing all it can to assure high quality treatment. 
 

http://lis.virginia.gov/000/reg/TOC09025.HTM.HTM#C0820
http://lis.virginia.gov/000/reg/TOC09025.HTM.HTM#C0820
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improperly filled wetlands and sold the property as sites for homes, the profit from the sale may 
be addressed as an element of the economic benefit of noncompliance.  Such profits are not 
accounted for under the BEN model calculations.  Here as elsewhere, the economic benefit 
should also include any costs avoided in failing to obtain a permit (e.g., consultant fees, delayed 
mitigation costs, and E&S controls), permit fees and tax or revenue benefits. 
 

There are three general areas where settling the total civil charge amount for less than the 
economic benefit may be appropriate.  The three exceptions are: 

 
1. There are compelling public concerns that would not be served by taking a case to 

trial; 
2. It is unlikely, based on the facts of the particular case as a whole, that DEQ will be 

able to recover the economic benefit in litigation; and 
3. The Responsible Party has successfully documented an inability to pay the total 

proposed civil charge. 
 

Ability to Pay 

 
Ability to pay is one of the five statutory factors.  In general, DEQ will reduce civil 

charge or civil penalty assessments that are demonstrated to beyond the means of the 
Responsible Party.  At the same time, it is important that the regulated community not perceive 
the violation of environmental requirements as cost savings for financially-troubled businesses, 
and DEQ will, in appropriate circumstances, continue to seek civil charges or civil penalties 
where a business has failed to allocate environmental compliance costs in their business 
operations.  It is also unlikely that DEQ would reduce a civil charge or civil penalty where a 
Responsible Party refuses to correct a serious potential for harm, or where a party has a history 
of noncompliance, or where the violations are particularly egregious.  A Responsible Party must 
claim and provide sufficient documentation of an inability to pay before a consent order or 
consent special order has been executed.  Enforcement staff will not reduce or abate a civil 
charge or civil penalty after a case decision has been issued based on a claim of an inability to 
pay.  The DEQ’s Office of Financial Management may negotiate delinquent accounts in 
accordance with the Commonwealth Accounting Policies and Procedures (CAPP) Manual. 

 
The burden to demonstrate an inability to pay rests on the Responsible Party.  In order to 

be evaluating a Responsible Party’s ability to pay a civil charge or civil penalty, the Responsible 
Party must provide information sufficient enough so that the Office of Financial Responsibility 
can calculate a potential ability to pay by using the U.S. EPA computer models ABEL, 
INDIPAY, or MUNIPAY.  Failure of the Responsible Party to provide sufficient information to 
run the ability to pay models will result in a determination that the Responsible Party has the 
ability to pay the civil charge or civil penalty.    

 
If the Office of Financial Responsibility determines that a Responsible Party is unable to 

pay the civil charge or civil penalty, or would be prevented from carrying out essential corrective 
action measures by doing so, DEQ should consider the following options:  

 

http://www.doa.virginia.gov/Admin_Services/CAPP/CAPP_Main.cfm
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• Installment payment plan (at least quarterly payments for up to three years); 

• Delayed payment schedule; and  

• Reduction, up to the full amount of the civil charge, excluding economic benefit 
and/or the illegal competitive advantage, based on ability to pay modeling. 

 
Regardless of DEQ’s determination of an appropriate civil charge or civil penalty to 

pursue based on ability to pay considerations, the Responsible Party is expected to comply with 
the applicable law, regulations, orders, permit conditions, and any corrective action. 

 

Adjustments in the Enforcement Recommendation and Plan 

Civil Charge Reductions up to 30% 

 
DEQ may adjust the gravity component of a civil charge – excluding the economic 

benefit calculation – downward by up to 30% based on several factors where there are clearly 
documented, case-specific facts that support the adjustment as provided in this section.23  This 
adjustment is not appropriate in all cases.  Enforcement staff should provide a rational basis for 
reducing a civil charge on the Civil Charge/Civil Penalty Adjustment Form.   

 

• Cooperativeness/Quick Settlement:  DEQ may adjust a civil charge where a 
Responsible Party is cooperative in resolving the case in a timely and appropriate 
manner and makes a good faith effort to settle the violations quickly. 

• Promptness of Injunctive Response/Good Faith Effort to Comply:  Good faith 
efforts to comply with regulatory requirements or permit conditions include prompt 
reporting of noncompliance, prompt initiation of corrective action, prompt correction 
of environmental problems, and cooperation during the investigation.  Responsible 
Parties who agree to expedited corrective action schedules may also qualify.  
Enforcement staff should consider institutional or legal limitations on corrective 
actions.  For example, a municipality may be unable to institute corrective action 
immediately because of a budget approval process or administrative procedures. 

• Size and Sophistication of the Violator: When considering the size and 
sophistication of the Responsible Party, enforcement staff may presume, in the 
absence of information to the contrary, that entities such as small non-profit 
organizations and small municipalities do not possess the same level of sophistication 
as other regulated entities.  The sophistication of the Responsible Party is also 
relevant in the case of a small business.   

 
To provide a disincentive for any unreasonable delay, the civil charge reduction available 

to the Responsible Party should be reduced by 5% per month beginning 30 days after the draft 
consent order has been issued to the Responsible Party. 

                                                 
23 Va. Code § 10.1-1316(B) requires courts, in assessing judicial civil penalties, to consider “in addition to such 
other factors as [they] may deem appropriate, the size of the owner's business, the severity of the economic impact 
of the penalty on the business, and the seriousness of the violation.”  Although not directly applicable to 
administrative actions, these considerations may be used to determine whether a downward adjustment is 
appropriate in the ERP, and if so, the amount of the adjustment. 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+10.1-1316
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Days after issuing the draft consent Order Percentage of reduction that may be available 

0 to 30 days 30% 

31 to 60 days 25% 

61 to 90 days 20% 

91 to 120 days 15% 

121  to 150 days 10% 

151 to 180 days 5% 

More than 180 0% 

 

Civil Charge Reductions more than 30% 

 
The gravity component may be reduced by more than 30% if appropriate circumstances 

exist.  Enforcement staff must provide a rational basis and obtain concurrence from the Director 
of Enforcement when considering a reduction greater than 30%.  The Director of Enforcement 
will evaluate the reduction for appropriateness and consistency.  Circumstances that warrant a 
reduction of more than 30% (excluding economic benefit) are as follows:     
 

• Problems of Proof:  Challenges with proving the elements of a violation may be due 
to inadequate information, conflicting evidence, or contributory activity by DEQ.  In 
many cases, problems of proof are considered as part of the Litigation Potential, but 
may also be considered independently. 

• Actual or potential harm (or Lack Thereof) to Human Health or the 
Environment:  The actual or potential harm to human health or environment should 
be considered in conjunction with other strategic considerations.    A thorough and 
reasoned analysis should be provided for reducing a gravity component of the civil 
charge beyond 30% when considering the potential for harm.  The evaluation should 
include a broad assessment of the potential or actual harm to human health or the 
environment in all media regardless of whether or not there is a legal requirement. 

• The Precedential Value of the Case:  Resolution of certain cases may establish a 
valued endorsement of an agency program or regulatory or enforcement initiative.  A 
reduction to the proposed civil charge or civil penalty may be appropriate to obtain 
such a precedent. 

• Probability of Meaningful Recovery of a Civil Charge:  In certain cases, 
information available to DEQ indicates that recovery of a meaningful civil charge is 
not possible, e.g. an inability to pay.   

• Litigation Potential.  Through negotiations it may become apparent that the case is 
destined for litigation based solely on factors not relevant to environmental 
protection.  

 
It may also be appropriate to increase a civil charge or civil penalty for continuing or 

uncorrected violations, previously undiscovered violations, or for economic benefits from 
continuing delays in achieving compliance and to provide additional incentives to resolve the 
action expeditiously.  Enforcement Staff should provide a rational basis in the ERP Addendum 
or Civil Charge/Civil Penalty Adjustment Form to support such an increase.   
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Air Program 

 
State Air Pollution Control Law (Air Law) at Va. Code § 10.1-1316(C)  provides for 

negotiated civil charges in consent orders for violations of the Air Law, regulations, orders, or 
permit conditions.  A civil penalty can not to exceed $32,500 for each violation.  Each day of 
violation constitutes a separate offense.  

 

Potential for Harm Examples 

 
Potential for harm classifications are not used to determine whether a violation warrants 

formal enforcement.  Departures from the examples should be discussed with a Central Office 
enforcement manager and documented in the Enforcement Recommendation and Plan.       

 
Serious Classification 

 
Examples include, but are not limited to:  

 

• Emissions violations at a major source involving a pollutant for which that source is 
“major” (applies to Prevention of Significant Deterioration (PSD), Maximum 
Available Control Technology (MACT), and Title V); 

• Violations which cause a documented potential for exceedance of a National Ambient 
Air Quality Standard (NAAQS); 

• Not maintaining control equipment or failure to use control equipment, for a 
regulated pollutant for which the source is major, in a manner consistent with good 
air pollution control practices.  Also applicable to synthetic minor sources where 
there is evidence that the failure may have caused emissions to exceed the applicable 
SM threshold; 

• Failure to conduct emissions tests, monitor, or maintain records necessary to 
demonstrate compliance with standards involving a pollutant for which the source is 
major; 

• For an synthetic minor source, failure to comply with standards critical to 
maintenance of that minor status or failure to maintain records sufficient to document 
continued minor status (applies to PSD, MACT, and Title V); 

• Failure to obtain a permit prior to construction, modification, or operation of a 
synthetic minor or state major source or a major modification.   

• Failure to obtain a permit prior to construction, reconstruction, or modification that 
triggers the requirements of 9 VAC 5-80-1605, et seq. or 9 VAC 5-80-2000, et seq.; 

• Violation of a National Emission Standard for Hazardous Air Pollutants (NESHAP) 
or MACT standards that indicate excess emissions or substantially interfere with 
DEQ’s ability to determine emissions compliance; 

• Violation of a substantive requirement in a consent order, consent special order, or 
judicial decree (typically not for late reports or minor record keeping deficiencies); 
and 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+10.1-1316
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+9VAC5-80-1605
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+9VAC5-80-2000
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• Failure to submit a timely Title V permit application (more than 60 days late), or to 
timely submit a compliance certification, Excess Emissions Report, or other 
substantive report required by a Title V permit (more than 60 days late). 

 

Moderate Classification 

 
Examples include, but are not limited to:  

 

• Emissions violations at a SM source that does not jeopardize the synthetic minor 
status of the source; 

• Not maintaining control equipment or failure to use control equipment, for a 
pollutant, at a SM point source, in a manner consistent with good air pollution control 
practices (unless there is evidence that the failure resulted in emissions that jeopardize 
the synthetic minor status of the source); 

• Failure to conduct emissions tests, monitor, or maintain records necessary to 
demonstrate compliance with standards involving a pollutant for which the source is a 
synthetic minor (unless there is additional evidence to indicate that the source is not 
in compliance with the limits that establish synthetic minor status for that pollutant); 
and 

• Opacity violations at a source that is subject to the PSD, MACT, or Title V Programs. 
 

Marginal Classification  

 

Examples include, but are not limited to: 
 

• Not maintaining control equipment or failure to use control equipment for a pollutant 
at a true minor source, in a manner consistent with good air pollution control 
practices, unless there is evidence that the failure resulted in emissions of a pollutant 
at a major source level; 

• Failure to conduct emissions tests, monitor or maintain records necessary to 
demonstrate compliance with standards involving a pollutant for which the source is a 
true minor source; 

• Most record keeping and reporting violations including non-substantive violations at 
major, synthetic minor, and New Source Performance Standard (NSPS) sources (see 
Serious and Moderate categories for additional information on when violations at 
major or synthetic minor sources are not Marginal); and 

• Opacity violations at a source that has been classified as either a true minor or a 
synthetic minor. 

Calculating the Civil Charge 

 
The categories are the numbered items (Categories 1 through 11) that make up the rows 

of the Worksheet.   
 
When using the Worksheet to address multiple violations discovered during the same 

compliance activity, staff calculates civil charges for each violation independently, with the 
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exception of Category 7, and then combine them to provide the total proposed civil charge.  
Applicable portions of the Worksheet may be copied to accommodate multiple violations.  Staff 
uses this procedure to determine the appropriate civil charge for each category listed and enter it 
on the Worksheet. 

 
Statutory, Regulatory, or Permit Violation Category 

 
This category is general in nature and is intended to establish a minimum civil charge for 

all violations of statutory, regulatory, or permit requirements.  This charge is in addition to any 
which may apply under the other categories of the Worksheet for the same violation with the 
exception of Category 2.  If the source is being assessed for violation of a substantive PSD, 
NESHAP, MACT, NSPS, or Title V requirement, the applicable charges in Category 1 are 
doubled. 

 

• Failure to obtain required permit:  This civil charge applies to 
construction/modification/reconstruction without a new source permit and to the 
failure to obtain an operating permit. 

• Operating without a permit:  This civil charge applies to 
construction/modification/reconstruction without a new source permit where the 
source has begun operation of the source affected by the permit applicability 
determination.  This civil charge is assessed in addition to Subcategory 1.a. 

• Statute/regulation/permit violated (other than a. or b., above): This civil charge 
applies to violations of permit conditions and requirements of the Air Law or 
Regulations that are not already addressed by Subcategories 1.a or 1.b or Category 3 
for the same violation. 

 

Order Violation Category 

 

In Category 2, DEQ assesses civil charges for consent or other order violations.  This 
charge is in addition to any civil charges calculated in the Worksheet except for Category 1. 

 
Pollution Control Equipment Violation Category 

 

In Category 3, DEQ assesses civil charges for the failure to install or properly operate and 
maintain air pollution control equipment.  Category 3 civil charges are not limited to traditional 
end-of-the-pipe equipment.  Category 3 also applies to monitoring equipment and to production 
equipment where that equipment has been identified as Best Available Control Technology 
(BACT) or Reasonable Available Control Technology (RACT) or Lowest Achievable Emission 
Rate (LAER), or as a pollution control device or method in a permit or regulatory program. 

 
Failure to install required equipment:  This civil charge applies, but is not limited, to: 

 

• Failure to install air pollution control equipment specifically required by permit, 
order, or regulation, or removal of such equipment; 

• Failure to install equipment necessary to meet BACT, RACT, LAER, Best 
Achievable Retrofit Technology (BART), or similar mandatory control technology 
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requirements (in situations of construction/ modification/reconstruction without a 
permit) as may be determined through the permit review process; or 

• Failure to install pollution control equipment capable of meeting emissions limits 
established by permit, order, or regulations where installation of control equipment is 
required by a permit, regulation, consent or administrative order, consent decree, or 
court order. 

 
Failure to properly operate and maintain equipment:  This civil charge applies where the 

source does not operate the equipment properly or is not operating or maintaining the equipment 
adequately.  Staff should carefully consider the appropriateness of assessing a Category 3 charge 
if a charge is also being assessed under Category 4 of the Worksheet.  A situation could exist 
where the pollution controls are maintained and operated properly but, nonetheless, an emission 
violation still occurs.  In that situation, it is not appropriate to assess a civil charge for improperly 
operated pollution control equipment (Category 3).  If emissions violation occurred even though 
pollution controls were maintained and operated properly, select a charge for the emissions 
violation under Category 4 instead. 

 
Emissions, Reporting/Monitoring, and Toxics Violations Category  

 

• Emissions violations:  In Category 4, DEQ assesses a charge for documented 
violations of emissions standards in addition to charges applied in Subcategory 1.c, 2, 
or 3.  A Category 4 emissions charge applies to the percent over a standard 
established by state or federal statutes, regulations, permits, or orders (including 
opacity, throughput and production limits).  If a charge is assessed in Category 4, then 
a charge is also assessed in Category 5. 

• To calculate the appropriate charge for an emissions violation, staff enter the 
emissions limit or standard and the observed value in the Data column of the 
Worksheet.  Then staff calculate the “% over limit” and insert the percentage in the 
Data column.24  Staff select the charge from the appropriate Potential for Harm 
column and transfer to the Amount column of the Worksheet. 

• For example, assume a source has a permitted limit of 422 tons per year for volatile 
organic compounds (VOCs), calculated as the sum of a consecutive 12-month period.  
Records demonstrate that the facility had actual emissions of 519 tons of VOCs for a 
12-month rolling period.  Assume the violation is classified as “Serious.”  The charge 
for the emissions violation is calculated as follows: 

• Subtract the permitted limit of 422 tons from the observed VOC emissions of 519 
tons.  Divide the difference by the permit limit of 422 and multiply by 100 to obtain 
the “% over limit,” in this case, 23%.  ((519-422)/422) x 100 = 23% 

• Use the appropriate multiplier for the Potential for Harm.  The civil charge for a 
Serious violation can be calculated by multiplying the percent over by $100.  23% x 
$100 = $2,300  

• In this example, the Amount entered in Category 4.a. of the Worksheet would be 
$2,300. 

                                                 
24 Opacity violations are calculated by the highest documented non-exempt "six-minute period" of the “one hour” 
(e.g., VEE) or a “one-hour period” (e.g., COMS), as may be applicable and as defined in 9 VAC 5-10-20.  
 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+9VAC5-10-20
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As another example, assume a minor source has a permitted limit of 50 tons per year for 
VOCs, calculated as the sum of a consecutive 12-month period.  Records demonstrate that the 
facility had actual emissions of 75 tons of VOCs for a 12-month rolling period.  Assume the 
violation is classified as “Marginal.”  The charge for the emissions violation is calculated as 
follows:   

 

• Subtract the permitted limit of 50 tons from the observed VOC emissions of 75 tons.  
Divide the difference by the permitted limit of 50 and multiply by 100 to obtain the 
“% over limit,” in this case, 50%.  ((75-50)/50) x 100 = 50% 

• Use the appropriate multiplier for the Potential for Harm.  The civil charge for a 
Marginal violation can be calculated by multiplying the percent over by $25.  50 x 
$25 = $1,250. 

• In this example, the Amount entered in Category 4.a. of the Worksheet is $1,250. 
 

Reporting/monitoring violations:  Situations assessed under this category include other 
types of compliance assurance reporting/monitoring.  Violations include, but are not limited to: 

 

• Late submittal of reports:  Add $650 to the base amount on Worksheet.  The civil 
charge under this category is calculated on an emissions unit basis, e.g., if the source 
must submit a quarterly report for three emissions units and two were late, the civil 
charge would be $1,300.  This civil charge is assessed commencing with the second 
consecutive late submittal of a required periodic compliance assurance report (e.g., 
Excess Emissions Report, Monitoring System Performance Report, Data Assessment 
Report, Fuel Certification Report, Emissions Report, etc.).  Reporting requirements 
include those found in the applicable statute, regulation, order, and/or permit. 

• Failure to perform required audits:  Add $1,950 to base amount in Worksheet.  The 
civil charge under this category is calculated on a per monitoring system basis, e.g., if 
the source must conduct a quarterly audit on three individual monitoring systems 
(excluding redundant back-up systems) and two were late, the civil charge would be 
$3,900. 

• Excessive monitoring downtime:  Add $2,600 to base amount on the Worksheet for 
each monitoring system for each monitoring period that does not meet the required 
monitor availability.   

 
Toxic pollutant violations:  This civil charge is assessed for emissions and monitoring 

violations involving a toxic pollutant.  A toxic air pollutant is defined in the 9 VAC 5-60-210 as 
“any air pollutant listed in § 112(b) of the federal Clean Air Act, as revised by 40 CFR 63.60, or 
any other air pollutant that the board determines, through adoption of regulation, to present a 
significant risk to public health.  This term excludes asbestos, fine mineral fibers, radio nuclides, 
and any glycol ether that does not have a [threshold limit value (TLV)].”  Where a violation 
involves exceedance of a permit limit for a toxic pollutant, a charge should be assessed for both 
the emission violation and the toxic pollutant. 

 
  

http://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title9/agency5/chapter60/section210/
https://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/granule/CFR-2013-title40-vol10/CFR-2013-title40-vol10-sec63-60
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Sensitivity of the Environment Category 

 

Category 5 focuses on the geographic location of the violation.  Civil charges associated 
with this category are dependent on the nonattainment/ attainment status or the PSD area 
classification and the classification of the violation.  The sensitivity of the environment charge 
applies only to emission standards violations or to work practice or technology standards that 
serve as emission standards, or to violations of monitoring requirements.  When a violation 
occurs in a nonattainment area, the nonattainment charge applies only for violations involving 
pollutants or pollutant precursors for which the area is designated nonattainment.  The 
regulations contain a description of the nonattainment areas and the Class I PSD areas, and the 
remainder of the Commonwealth is currently classified as a Class II area. 25 

 
Length of Time Factor Category 

 

  The longer a violation continues uncorrected, the greater the potential for harm to air 
quality and the more severe the violation.  The Worksheet addresses this consideration in the 
category labeled “Length of Time Factor.”  Where separate charges are not assessed for daily, 
documented violations, DEQ calculates the charge for this factor as follows:  (a) multiply the 
number of days the violation occurred by 0.274 (i.e., 1/365) - this is the Percent (%) Increase 
Factor; (b) divide this factor by 100 to obtain the decimal expression, which is then multiplied by 
the Preliminary Subtotal to obtain the additional civil charge. 

 
  The time span (expressed in days) used to calculate the charge begins, based on available 
evidence, on the day the violation began.  The time span ends on the date the source corrects the 
deficiency addressed by the civil charge or the date the source agrees in principle to a set of 
corrective actions designed to achieve compliance with the regulatory requirement for which the 
charge was assessed.  For violations where the length of time exceeds five years, as determined 
by this section, DEQ calculates the charge based on a length of time of five years (1,826 days).  
This limitation on length of time is not applicable to calculation of economic benefit.  

 

• For construction without a permit, the time span begins with the start of construction 
and ends when the source either begins operation of the equipment or the source 
submits a complete permit application for the affected process or equipment or agrees 
in principle to a set of corrective actions. 

• For operation without a permit, the time span begins with the start-up of the 
equipment and ends when the source submits a complete permit application for the 
affected process or equipment. 

• For stack tests that occur prior to execution of an Order, the time span begins with the 
date the test was required (or date of the failed stack test) and ends when the test is 
completed and demonstrates compliance (must have a stack test report that indicates a 
return to compliance). 

 
  
  

                                                 
25 9 VAC 5-20-204 (nonattainment) and 9 VAC 5-20-205 (PSD). 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+9VAC5-20-204
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+9VAC5-20-205
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The following is an example of how to calculate a “length of time” civil charge: 
 

• Calculate the length of time in days that the noncompliance existed.  For example, 
200 days elapsed between the beginning day of the noncompliance and the date the 
source agreed in principle to a set of corrective actions necessary to return to a state 
of compliance. 

• Multiply the number of days by 0.274.  Take 200 and multiply it by 0.274 to get 54.8, 
which is rounded up to the nearest whole number to get 55%, or a factor of 0.55. 

• Multiply the Preliminary Subtotal calculated on the Worksheet by the Length of Time 
Factor.  Assume for this example that the Preliminary Subtotal is $1,300.  $1,300 
times 0.55 yields $715. 

• Enter the calculated charge into the “Amount” column for Category 6 on the 
Worksheet. 
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Air Civil Charge/Penalty Worksheet 

Va. Code §§ 10.1-1316, -1309 

Source/Responsible Party Reg.#  NOV Date  

Data  

Potential for Harm 

 

Amount  Serious Moderate Marginal 

1. Statutory/Regulatory/Permit Violation  
  a. Failure to obtain required permit. Y N  $           7,800  $           2,600   $       1,300              

  b. Operating without a permit Y N  $           5,200  $           2,600  $       1,300              

  c. Statute/regulation/permit violated (other than a or b above)  Y N  $           2,600   $           1,300  $          650               

   (Multiply by 2 for violation of a substantive PSD, NESHAP, 
MACT, NSPS or TV requirement) 

Y N               

2. Order Violation    

  a. Consent or Other Order condition violated. Y N  $            5,200  $           2,600  $       1,300             

3. Pollution Control Equipment Violation   

  a. Failure to install required equipment.  Y N  $          13,000  $           7,800  $       2,600              

  b. Failure to properly operate or maintain equipment. Y N  $          13,000  $           7,800   $       2,600              

4. Emissions, Monitoring, and Toxics Violations    

  a. Violation of Emission Limit or Standard   (% over limit or 

standard) 
 $100 (x) % over $50 (x) % over $25 (x) % over              

       - Limit or Standard  
 

 

       - Observed Value   

  b. Reporting/Monitoring Violation    

       (1) Late submittal of reports (per emissions unit) Y N $780   

       (2) Failure to perform required audits (per monitoring system) Y N $2,330   

       (3) Excessive monitoring downtime (per monitoring system) Y N $2,600 per monitoring system   

  c. Toxic Pollutant Violations Y N  $            2,600  $            1,300  $          800  

5. Sensitivity of the Environment  

  a. Nonattainment Area Y N  $            5,200  $            2,600  $       1,300             

  b. Class I PSD area Y N  $            2,600  $            1,300  $          800               

  c. Class II and III PSD area Y N  $            1,300  $               500  $          300               

 Preliminary Civil Charge/Civil Penalty Subtotal                 

 Data Factor    

6. Length of Time Factor (enter days)  %               

7. Compliance History                    

 
Order or decree in another media program within 36 
mo. before initial NOV 

Y N 
If yes, add lesser of 0.05 (x) Preliminary 
Subtotal, or $5,000 

 

 
Order or decree in same media program within 36 mo. 
before initial NOV 

Y N 
0.5 (x) Preliminary Subtotal (for 1 order in 36 
mo.) 

 

9. Degree of Culpability  (apply to violation(s)’ Amount or to the 
Preliminary Civil Charge/Civil Penalty Subtotal) 

Low = (x) 0 
Moderate = (x) 

0.25 
Serious = (x) 0.5 High = (x) 1.0  

10. Economic Benefit                

11. Ability to Pay (based on information supplied by the source/party)    (                      ) 

Total Civil Charge/Civil Penalty (may not exceed $32,500 per day per violation)  $             

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+10.1-1316
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+10.1-1309
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Animal Feeding Operations and Poultry Waste 

 
Va. Code § 62.1-44.17:1, provides specific statutory authority for the Department’s 

General VPA Permit for Animal Feeding Operations (AFO) and outlines certain design and 
operational criteria for AFO owners and operators.  Va. Code § 62.1-44.17:l(J) states that 
persons violating the provisions of § 62.1-44.17:1 may not be assessed civil charges that exceed 
$2,500 for any AFO covered by the permit..  Using the AFO Civil Charge/Civil Penalty 
Worksheet, staff assess appropriate civil charges on a per settlement action basis. 

 

In calculating the appropriate civil charge, staff assesses the gravity-based component of 
the charge by selecting the appropriate violation category and multiplying the individual charge 
noted by the number of occurrences of the violation.  After calculating a civil charge for each 
violation category, staff adds the civil charges to arrive at a subtotal.  The noncompliance period 
considered should generally be limited to six months.  Aggravating factors, including threats to 
human health and safety and environmental damage caused by the violation are then considered.  
If an aggravating factor is present, staff multiplies the civil charge subtotal by the aggravating 
factor multiplier of 1.5 and adds it to the Subtotal to arrive at the civil charge.  

 
Adjustments may be made in the ERP, as they are for general Water Programs charges.  

The justification for applying an adjustment should be reasonable and documented. 
 
The Total Civil Charge minus adjustments results in the Final Recommended Civil 

Charge in the ERP.  In no event may the Final Recommended Civil Charge for AFO general 
permit violations exceed $2,500.  However, it is clear from the language of the statute, which 
focuses on AFO design and normal operating conditions, and from the legislative history of that 
section of the State Water Control Law, that the General Assembly did not intend to limit penalty 
liability for onsite violations not addressed under § 62.1-44.17:1 (e.g., violations of § 62.1-44.5 
which prohibits unpermitted discharges to state waters).  Those violations should be assessed 
separately using the appropriate Civil Charge/Civil Penalty Worksheet. 

 
Like the penalty limitations for permitted AFO facilities, § 62.1-44.17:1.1(F) limits civil 

charges for violations at operations covered by the VPA General Poultry Waste Management 
Permit to $2,500.  A Poultry Waste Civil Charge/Civil Penalty Worksheet for such violations 
follows. 

 
Both the AFO and the Poultry Waste Worksheets may apply to operations where both 

activities take place.  Adjustments may be made in the ERP, as they are for general Water 
Programs charges.  The justification for applying an adjustment should be reasonable and 
documented in the ERP.  

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+62.1-44.17C1
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title62.1/chapter3.1/section62.1-44.17:1/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title62.1/chapter3.1/section62.1-44.17:1/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title62.1/chapter3.1/section62.1-44.15/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title62.1/chapter3.1/section62.1-44.17:1/
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Animal Feeding Operation Civil Charge/Civil Penalty Worksheet 

Va. Code § 62.1-44.17:1(J) 
Facility/Responsible Party Reg./Id. # NOV Date 

 Potential For Harm 
(Environmental Harm and Severity) 

Amount Data Serious Moderate Marginal 

1.  Violations and Frequency (per occurrence per 
inspection unless otherwise noted) (Severity and 

Environmental Harm) 
 

$ (x) 

occurrences 

$ (x) 

occurrences 

$ (x) 

occurrences 
  

  (a) Failure to monitor soils, waste or groundwater Y N   1000 (x) ___    500 (x) ___    200 (x) ___  

  (b) Failure to maintain records Y N   1000 (x) ___      500 (x) ___    200 (x) ___  

  (c) Improper documentation of liner, seasonal high 
water table, siting, design and construction 

Y N      500 (x) ___      300 (x) ___    100 (x) ___  

  (d) Improper operation and maintenance of waste 
storage facility (per incident) 

Y N   1000 (x) ___     500 (x) ___    200 (x) ___  

  (e) Improper operation and maintenance of equipment 
(per incident) (including but not limited to checking 
for leaks, calibrations, having manufacturer’s 
manuals on site) 

Y N   1000 (x) ___     500 (x) ___    200 (x) ___  

  (f) NMP Violations (per incident) Y N   1000 (x) __      500 (x)___    200 (x) ___  

  (g) Evidence of breached buffers or runoff (per incident) Y N   1000 (x) __      500 (x) ___    200 (x) ___  

  (h) Operator training requirements not met Y N      500 (x) __     500 (x) ___    100 (x) ___  

  (i) Insufficient notice prior to animal placement or 
utilization of new waste storage facilities 

Y N      500 (x) __     300 (x) ___    100 (x) ___  

  (j) Improper closure of waste storage facility  Y N   1000 (x) __     500 (x) ___    200 (x) ___  

  (k) Other violations Y N   1000 (x) __     500 (x) ___    200 (x) ___  

 Violations and Frequency Subtotal   

2. Adjustment Factors:  If there is a threat to human health or safety, or environmental damage multiply the 
Subtotal by 1.5 (Environmental Harm, History of Non Compliance, and Severity). 

 

Compliance History   

 
Order or decree in another media 

program within 36 mo. before initial 
NOV 

Y N 
If yes, add lesser of 0.05 * Violations and 
Frequency Subtotal, or $5,000 

 

 
Order or decree in same media program 

within 36 mo. before initial NOV 
Y N 

If yes, add 0.5 * Violations and Frequency 
Subtotal (for 1 order in 36 mo.) 

 

Culpability(apply to 

violation(s)’ Amount or to 
the Violations and 

Frequency Subtotal) 

Low = (x) 0 Moderate = (x) 0.25 Serious = (x) 0.5 High = (x) 1.0  

 Adjustment Factor Subtotal  

3. Economic Benefit of Noncompliance (Economic Benefit)  

4.Ability to Pay (based on information supplied by the responsible party) (Ability to Pay)   (                   ) 

Total Civil Charge/Civil Penalty (not to exceed $2500 when covered by a VPA permit)  $                         

 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+62.1-44.17C1
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Poultry Waste Civil Charge/Civil Penalty Worksheet 

(for any confined animal feeding operation covered by a Virginia Pollution Abatement permit) 

Va. Code § 62.1-44.17:1.1 
Facility/Responsible Party  Reg./Id. # NOV Date 

Data 

Potential For Harm 
(Environmental Harm and Severity) 

Amount Serious Moderate Marginal 

1. Violations and Frequency (per occurrence per 
inspection unless otherwise noted) (Severity 

and Environmental Harm) 

 $ (x) 

occurrences 
$ (x) 

occurrences 

$ (x) 

occurrences 

 

  (a) Failure to monitor soils, waste or 
groundwater 

Y N   1000 (x) ___      500 (x) ___     200 (x) ___  

  (b) Failure to maintain records Y N   1000 (x) ___     500 (x) ___     200 (x) ___  

  (c) Transfer of more than 10 tons of poultry 
waste without providing the nutrient analysis 
or fact sheet to recipient 

Y N       500 (x) ___      300 (x) ___     100 (x) ___     

  (d) Improper disposal of mortalities Y N    1000 (x) ___     500 (x) ___     200 (x) ___  

  (e) Improper storage of poultry waste Y N   1000 (x) ___      500 (x) ___     200 (x) ___  

  (f) Improper operation and maintenance of waste 
storage facility (per incident) 

Y N   1000 (x) ___     500 (x) ___     200 (x) ___  

  (g) Nutrient Management Plan (NMP) 
Violations (per incident)  

Y N   1000 (x) ___      500 (x) ___     200 (x) ___  

  (h) Improper winter land application of poultry 
waste or land application to soils that are 
saturated 

Y N   1000 (x) ____     500 (x) ___     200 (x) ___  

  (i) Evidence of breached buffers or runoff (per 
incident) 

Y N   1000 (x) ___     500 (x) ___     200 (x) ___  

  (j) Improper closure of poultry waste storage 
facility 

Y N   1000 (x) ___     500 (x) ___     200 (x) ___  

  (k) Operator training requirements not met Y N      500 (x) ___     300 (x) ___     100 (x) ___  

  (l) Other violations Y N   1000 (x) ___      500 (x) ___     200 (x) ___  

 Violations and Frequency Subtotal     

2. Adjustment Factors:  If there is a threat to human health or safety, or environmental damage multiply the 
Subtotal by 1.5 (Environmental Harm, History of Non Compliance, and Severity). 

 

Compliance History                               

 
Order or decree in another media program 

within 36 mo. before initial NOV 
Y N 

If yes, add lesser of 0.05 (x) Violations and 
Frequency Subtotal, or $5,000 

 

 
Order or decree in same media program 

within 36 mo. before initial NOV 
Y N 

If yes, add 0.5 (x) Violations and Frequency 
Subtotal (for 1 order in 36 mo.) 

 

Culpability(apply to 

violation(s)’ Amount or 

to the Violations and 
Frequency Subtotal) 

Low = (x) 0 Moderate = (x) 0.25 Serious = (x) 0.5 High = (x) 1.0  

 Adjustment Factor Subtotal  

3. Economic Benefit of Noncompliance (Economic Benefit)  

4.Ability to Pay (based on information supplied by the responsible party) (Ability to Pay)   (                  ) 

Total Civil Charge/Civil Penalty (not to exceed $2,500 when covered by a VPA permit) $ 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+62.1-44.17C1.1
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Article 9 – Underground Storage Tank Program 

The Underground Storage Tank (UST) Program is authorized under Article 9 of the State 
Water Control Law, Va. Code §§ 62-1-44.34:8 and 62.1-44.34:9.   Article 9 typically addresses 
USTs for petroleum products, but also includes USTs for other “regulated substances,” as 
defined by statute.  Authority for negotiated civil charges for violations of Regulated UST 
Program laws, regulations, orders is found in the Water Law at Va. Code § 62.1-44.15(8d).  The 
maximum civil charge is $32,500 per day for each violation.26   

Potential for Harm Examples 

 

 In evaluating the Potential for Harm, issues to consider include the volume of the 
product, characteristics of the product, population density where the discharge/release occurred, 
skill set/training of employees, time of exposure, distance from a drinking water source, 
sensitivity of the environment, or any other criteria that may be appropriate.  The criteria 
established in the Storage Tank Program Compliance Manual, specifically Appendix-C 
Underground Tank Delivery Prohibition Decision Matrix, should provide additional guidance on 
determining the Potential for Harm. 
 
 For example, violation of a regulatory requirement that qualifies for an expedited process 
for delivery prohibition would qualify a serious Potential for Harm.  A violation of a regulatory 
requirement that would qualify under the regular delivery prohibition process may be qualify for 
either moderate or marginal after taking into consideration the issues listed in the preceding 
paragraph.          

                                                 
26 Va. Code § 62.1-44.15 incorporates by reference the penalty amounts from Va. Code § 62.1-44.32. 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+62.1-44.34C8
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+62.1-44.34C9
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+62.1-44.15
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Portals/0/DEQ/Land/Tanks/LPR-SRR-2014-02.pdf
http://deq.state.va.us/Programs/LandProtectionRevitalization/PetroleumProgram/StorageTanks/UndergroundStorageTanks/SecondaryContainment%2CDeliveryProhibition.aspx
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+62.1-44.15
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+62.1-44.32
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Underground Storage Tank Civil Charge/Civil Penalty Worksheet 

Va. Code § 62.1-44.15  

Facility/Responsible Party Reg./Id. # NOV Date  

Data 

Potential for Harm 
(Environmental Harm and Severity) 

Amount 
Serious Moderate Marginal 

1.  Violations and Frequency* (Severity and Environmental Harm)   

  a. Failure to Report a Release or a Suspected Release Y N $13,000 
 

$6,500 
 

 
$1,300 

 
 

  b. Corrective Action /Monitoring/Closure Report Not 
Submitted 

Y N 
 

$1,300 per phase 

 
$700 per phase 

 
$300 per phase 

 

  c. Failure to Investigate, Abate, or Remediate a Release Y N $5,200 $2,600 $1,300  

  d. Tank system Installed, Upgraded, Equipped, or Closed 
Improperly (per violation) 

Y N 
 

$2,600 per tank * 
$1,300 per tank * $700 per tank *  

  e. Tank System Operated Improperly (per violation) Y N $1,300 per tank *  700 per tank * $300 per tank *  

  f. No CAP or Failure to Execute a CAP Y N $2,600 $1,300 $700  

  g. Failure to Demonstrate Financial Assurance Y N $1,300 $700 $300  

  h. Records not Available Y N $1,300 $700 $300  

  i. Improper/No Registration Y N $1,300 per tank * $700 per tank * $300 per tank *  

  j. Other Violation Component Y N $1,300 $700 $300  

* per tank or, if compartments, per tank compartment     

 Violations and Frequency Subtotal   

2.  Degree of Culpability (Severity and Compliance 

History) (apply to violation(s)’ Amount or to the Violations 

and Frequency Subtotal) 

Low = (x) 0 
Moderate = 

(x) 0.25 
Serious = (x) 
0.5 

High = (x) 1.0  

3.  History of Noncompliance (Compliance History) 

 
Order or decree in another media program within 
36 mo. before initial NOV 

Y N 
If yes, add lesser of 0.05 (x) Violations and Frequency 
Subtotal, or $5,000 

 

 
Order or decree in same media program within 36 
mo. before initial NOV 

Y N 
If yes, add 0.5 (x) Violations and Frequency Subtotal 
(for 1 order in 36 mo.) 

 

 Subtotal (Subtotal 1+2+3)  

4.  Economic Benefit of Noncompliance (Economic Benefit)   

5.  Ability to Pay (based on information supplied by the responsible party) (Ability to Pay)   (                    ) 

Total Civil Charge/Civil Penalty (may not exceed $32,500 per day per violation) $                  

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+62.1-44.15


 
 

Page 28 of 63 
 

 

 

Article 11 – Oil Discharges and Aboveground Storage Tanks 

 
Article 11 of the State Water Control Law27 establishes a unique civil charge scheme for 

the discharge of oil, for violations related to aboveground storage tanks (ASTs), and for 
violations of underground storage tanks not regulated under Article 9.  Va. Code § 62.1-
44.34:20(C) establishes civil charges and penalties for: 

 
1. For failing to obtain approval of an oil discharge contingency plan as required by 

§ 62.1-44.34:15;  
2. For failing to maintain evidence of financial responsibility as required by § 62.1-

44.34:16; 
3. For discharging or causing or permitting a discharge of oil into or upon state 

waters,  or owning or operating any facility, vessel or vehicle from which such 
discharge originates in violation of § 62.1-44.34:18;  

4. For failing to cooperate in containment and cleanup of a discharge as required by 
§ 62.1-44.34:18 or for failing to report a discharge as required by § 62.1-44.34:19; 
and 

5. For violating or causing or permitting to be violated any other provision of this 

article, or a regulation, administrative or judicial order, or term or condition of 

approval issued under this article… 
 
Va. Code § 62.1-44.34:17 sets out exemptions for items 1 and 2, above. 28  Va. Code § 

62.1-44.34:23 sets out exceptions to Article 11 generally. 
 
Pursuant to VA Code § 62.1-44.34:20(D), in determining the amount of any civil charge 

or penalty pursuant to violations of Article 11, consideration must be given to each of the 
following seven factors: 

 
a. The willfulness of the violation; 
b. Any history of noncompliance; 
c. The actions of the person in reporting, containing and cleaning up any discharge or 

threat of discharge; 
d. The damage or injury to state waters or the impairment of their beneficial use;29 

                                                 
27 Va. Code § 62.1-44.34:14, et seq. 

 
28 The exemptions and exceptions include (but are not limited to):  (1) farm or residential tanks of 1,100 gallons or 
less capacity used for storing motor fuel for noncommercial purposes (9 VAC 25-580-10) (“UST” definition); (2) 
tanks used for storing heating oil for consumption on the premises where stored (Id.); and (3) aboveground storage 
tanks with a capacity of 5,000 gallons or less containing heating oil for consumption on the premises where stored 
(Va. Code § 62.1-44.34:17(E)). 
 
29 Though Va. Code §62.1-44.15(8e) states that the procedures for calculating a civil charge shall include, “the 
extent of any potential or actual environmental harm”, note that the specific penalty provision for violations of  
Article 11, Va. Code §62.1-44.34:20(D), does not use the term potential.       
 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+62.1-44.34C20
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+62.1-44.34C20
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+62.1-44.34C15
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+62.1-44.34C16
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+62.1-44.34C16
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+62.1-44.34C18
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+62.1-44.34C18
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+62.1-44.34C19
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title62.1/chapter3.1/section62.1-44.34:17/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title62.1/chapter3.1/section62.1-44.34:23/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title62.1/chapter3.1/section62.1-44.34:23/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title62.1/chapter3.1/section62.1-44.34:20/
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+62.1-44.34C14
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?000+reg+9VAC25-580-10
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+62.1-44.34C17
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e. The cost of containment and cleanup; 
f. The nature and degree of injury to or interference with general health, welfare and 

property; and  
g. The available technology for preventing, containing, reducing or eliminating the 

discharge. 

Harm Examples 

 
 In evaluating the seven factors, issues to consider include the volume of the product, 
characteristics of the product, population density where the discharge/release occurred, skill 
set/training of employees, time of exposure, distance from a drinking water source, sensitivity of 
the environment, or any other criteria that may be appropriate. 

Discharges to State Waters 

 
When evaluating a civil charge or civil penalty under Va. Code § 62.1-44.34:20(C)(3) the 

following are the suggested increments for each of the seven factors:  
 
Marginal – 5, 10, 20 
Moderate – 30, 45, 60 
Serious – 70, 85, 100 

 
Line 1(a): Nature/Degree of Injury to General Health, Welfare and Property - The 

greater the nature and degree of injury to or interference with property or health, the higher the 
number.  In evaluating the Potential for Harm, consider the amount of the pollutant, the 
characteristics of the pollutant, the sensitivity of the human population and the length of time of 
exposure. 

 

• Serious: Substantial injury to or interference with general health through impacts such 
as, but not limited to, drinking water supply or extensive damage to public and/or 
private property  

• Moderate: Moderate injury to or interference with general health through impacts 
such as, but not limited to, drinking water supply or moderate damage to public 
and/or private property 

• Marginal: Minor injury to or interference with general health through impacts such 
as, but not limited to, drinking water supply or minor damage to public and/or private 
property 

• N/A: No apparent injury to or interference with general health; negligible damage to 
public and/or private property 

 
Line 1(b): Damage/Injury to State Waters or Impairment of Beneficial Use - The 

greater the damage to state waters or impairment of their beneficial uses, the higher the number.  
In evaluating the Potential for Harm, consider the amount of the pollutant, the characteristics of 
the pollutant, the sensitivity of the state waters, and the length of time of exposure. 

 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+62.1-44.34C20
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• Serious: Fish kill (consider the type and number of fish and the waters affected), 
significant threat to sensitive ecosystem, loss of beneficial use, or harm to wildlife  
(especially endangered species), or other impacts that can only be corrected after a 
substantial effort or period of time. 

• Moderate: Moderate threat to State waters, adjoining shorelines, or vegetation (other 
than a sensitive ecosystem) that can be corrected after a period of time  

• Marginal: Spill created a visible sheen, film, sludge, or emulsion and damage was 
quickly corrected 

• N/A: No apparent damage to State waters or impairment of beneficial use 

 

Line 1(c): History of Noncompliance 
 

• History of noncompliance should be analyzed as in all other programs.    
 

Line 1(d): Actions in Reporting/Containing/Cleaning up the Discharge - Prompt 
action will result in a lower number.  This should not be used in conjunction with civil charges or 
civil penalties assessed under Va. Code § 62.1-44.34:20(C)(4) 

 

• Serious: Failed to timely report/contain or abate/cleanup 

• Moderate: Notification/response inadequate such that containment or cleanup was 
significantly affected 

• Marginal: Delayed notification/response with minor impact 

• N/A: Timely notification and best and most prompt response possible under the 
circumstances 

 

Line 1(e): Cost of Containment and Cleanup - The higher the cost, the lower this 
number will be. 

 

• Serious: The Commonwealth had to expend funds; actual cost to violator to contain 
and cleanup small relative to the size of the discharge 

• Moderate: The Commonwealth had to expend funds; actual cost to violator to contain 
and cleanup comparable to the size of the discharge 

• Marginal: The Commonwealth did not need to expend funds; actual cost to violator to 
contain and cleanup comparable relative to the size of the discharge 

• None: Actual cost to violator to contain and cleanup disproportionate to the size of 
the discharge 

 

Line 1(f): Culpability 

 

• Culpability should be analyzed as in all other programs.    
 

Line 1(g): Available Technology to Prevent/Contain/Reduce/Eliminate Discharge - 
(The more readily accessible and less expensive the technology to prevent, contain, reduce or 
eliminate the discharge, the higher this number.) 

 

• Serious: Technology available on site or readily accessible, but not utilized 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+62.1-44.34C20
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• Moderate: Technology not available on site, but relatively inexpensive and readily 
accessible on the commercial market 

• Marginal: Technology not available on site, but relatively expensive or not readily 
accessible on the commercial market 

• None: Technology available on site and utilized; technology not on site, but 
prohibitively expensive or not available on the commercial market  
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Oil Discharges (State Waters) Civil Charge/Civil Penalty Worksheet 

Va. Code § 62.1-44.34:20(C)(3) 

Responsible Party/Facility 

 
 

Reg./Id.# NOV Date 

Nature and degree of  Harm  

Serious Moderate 
Marginal, NA 

or None 
Amount 

C (3) for discharging or causing or permitting a discharge of oil into or upon state waters,  or owning or operating any 
facility, vessel or vehicle from which such discharge originates in violation of § 62.1-44.34:18. 

 

1. Statutory Factors Discuss each factor, circle the Potential for Harm and assign a dollar amount between $0 and $100 

to each factor.  
 

  a. Nature/Degree of Injury to Health, Welfare and Property 70, 85, 100 30, 45, 60 5, 10, 20 $ 

  b. Damage/Injury to State Waters or Impairment of Beneficial Use  70, 85, 100 30, 45, 60 5, 10, 20 $ 

  c. History of Non-Compliance 70, 85, 100 30, 45, 60 5, 10, 20 $ 

  d. Actions in Reporting/Containing/Cleaning Up the Discharge  70, 85, 100 30, 45, 60 5, 10, 20 $ 

  e. Cost of Containment and Clean Up (Relative to Amount of Oil 
Spilled)  

70, 85, 100 30, 45, 60 5, 10, 20 $ 

  f. Culpability (Willfulness) 70, 85, 100 30, 45, 60 5, 10, 20 $ 

  g. Available Technology to Prevent/Contain/Reduce/Eliminate 
Discharge  

70, 85, 100 30, 45, 60 5, 10, 20 $ 

 Gravity Subtotal  $ 

Gravity Subtotal Average [Gravity Subtotal divided by seven (7)]  $ 

Number of gallons of oil discharged  

Number of gallons discharged multiplied by the Gravity Subtotal Average  

Economic Benefit of Noncompliance  $ 

Ability to Pay (based on information supplied by the party) (        ) 

Total Civil Charge/Civil Penalty  (cannot exceed statutory maximum amounts) $ 

  

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+62.1-44.34C20
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+62.1-44.34C18
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Oil Discharges (Lands or Storm Drain Systems) Civil Charge/Civil Penalty Worksheet 

Va. Code § 62.1-44.34:20(C)(5) 

Responsible Party/Facility 

 
 

Reg./Id.# NOV Date 

Nature and degree of  Harm
30

  

Serious Moderate 
Marginal, NA 

or None 
Amount 

C (5) for discharging or causing or permitting a discharge of oil into or upon lands or storm drain systems in violation 
of § 62.1-44.34:18. 

 

1. Nature and Degree of the Violation  

  a. Nature/Degree of Injury to Health, Welfare and Property $4,060 $2,030 $1,020 $ 

  b. Actions in Reporting/Containing/Cleaning Up the Discharge  $4,060 $2,030 $1,020 $ 

  c. Cost of Containment and Clean Up (Relative to Amount of Oil 
Spilled)  

$4,060 $2,030 
$1,020 

$ 

  d. Available Technology to Prevent/Contain/Reduce/Eliminate 
Discharge  

$4,060 $2,030 
$1,020 

$ 

 Gravity Subtotal  $ 

2.  Degree of Culpability (Severity and Compliance 

History) (apply to violation(s)’ Amount or to the Violations 

and Frequency Subtotal) 

Low = (x) 0 
Moderate = 

(x) 0.25 
Serious = (x) 
0.5 

High = (x) 
1.0 

$ 

3.  History of Noncompliance (Compliance History) 

 
Order or decree in another media program within 
36 mo. before initial NOV 

Y N 
If yes, add lesser of 0.05 (x) Violations and 
Frequency Subtotal, or $5,000 

$ 

 
Order or decree in same media program within 36 
mo. before initial NOV 

Y N 
If yes, add 0.5 (x) Violations and Frequency Subtotal 
(for 1 order in 36 mo.) 

$ 

 Subtotal (Subtotal 1+2+3) $ 

4.  Economic Benefit of Noncompliance (Economic Benefit)  $ 

5.  Ability to Pay (based on information supplied by the responsible party) (Ability to Pay)   (                    ) 

Total Civil Charge/Civil Penalty (may not exceed $32,500 per day per violation) $                  

  

                                                 
30 Note that VA Code 62.1-44.34:20(D) does not reference the potential for harm.  This worksheet should not be 
used to assess a civil charge or civil penalty for damage or injury to state waters or the impairment of their beneficial 
use.     

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+62.1-44.34C20
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+62.1-44.34C18
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Article 11 – Other Violations 

 
For violations of C(1), C(2), and C(4), the noncompliance period considered should 

ordinarily be limited to six months, but may be longer if, for example, there has been a slow leak.  
Staff use best professional judgment on the gallons discharged if better estimates are not 
available. 

 
When evaluating the potential for harm for violations of C(1), C(2), and C(4), consider 

the following examples: 
 

• In assessing C(1), failing to submit and obtain approval of an oil discharge 
contingency plan (ODCP) would be at the higher end of the spectrum compared to an 
incomplete ODCP.  In addition, failing to have an ODCP for a product with a high 
toxicity and requires a special type of emergency response would fall into the higher 
end of the spectrum compared to failing to have an ODCP when a less toxic product 
is involved. 
o Assign a dollar amount of not less than $1,000 nor more than $50,000 for the 

initial violation, and $5,000 per day for each day of violation thereafter  
 

• In assessing C(2), for failing to maintain evidence of financial responsibility, a 
Responsible Party whose storage capacity is 25,000 gallons or less would be at the 
lower end of the spectrum compared to an RP whose storage capacity is over 1 
million gallons.  In assessing the potential for harm to the environment, an 
Responsible Party whose product requires a more expensive response cost would be 
at the higher end of the spectrum compared to an Responsible Party whose product 
requires a minimal response cost, which would be at the lower end of the spectrum.   
o Assign a dollar amount of not less than $1,000 nor more than $100,000 for the 

initial violation, and $5,000 per day for each day of violation thereafter.  
 

• In assessing Line C(4) for failing to cooperate in the containment and clean-up, or 
failing to report:  For example, failing to report a discharge of a highly toxic product 
would be at the high end of the spectrum, whereas failing to report a discharge of a 
low toxicity product would be at the low end of the spectrum.  In addition, a 
Responsible Party failing to provide information about the product (i.e., amount, type, 
characteristics) which would hinder the clean-up process would fall at the higher end 
of the spectrum, compared to a Responsible Party who provides necessary 
information about their product.  Furthermore, failing to report a discharge for a week 
would fall into the high end of the spectrum, whereas failing to report a discharge for 
a few hours would fall into the low end of the spectrum. 
o Assign a dollar amount of not less than $1,000 nor more than $50,000 for the 

initial violation, and $10,000 for each day of violation thereafter.  
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Article 11 – Other Violations Charge/Civil Penalty Worksheet 

Va. Code § 62.1-44.34:20(C)(1,2,&4)) 

Facility/Responsible Party Reg./Id. # NOV Date 

Data 

Nature and degree of Harm 

Amount Serious Moderate Marginal 

1. Violations and Frequency    

a. Failure to obtain approval of an oil discharge 
contingency plan.  

 

Y N $8,500 $4,500 $1,000 $ 

Y N 
Each subsequent day of violation is subject to a 

penalty of $5,000 per day.   
$ 

b. Failing to maintain evidence of financial responsibility. 

 

Y N $32,500 $20,000 $1,000 $ 

Y N 
Each subsequent day of violation is subject to a 

penalty of $5,000 per day.    
$ 

c. Failing to cooperate in containment and clean-up of a 
discharge.   
 

Y N $8,500 $4,500 $1,000 $ 

Y N 
Each subsequent day of violation is subject to a 

penalty of $10,000 per day.  
 

$ 

d. Failing to report a discharge  

Y N $8,500 $4,500 $1,000 $ 

Y N 
Each subsequent day of violation is subject to a 

penalty of $10,000 per day.  
 

$ 

2.Violations and Frequency Total  

  a. Nature/Degree of Injury to Health, Welfare and Property $4,060 $2,030 $1,020 $ 

  b. Actions in Reporting/Containing/Cleaning Up the Discharge  $4,060 $2,030 $1,020 $ 

  c. Cost of Containment and Clean Up (Relative to Amount of Oil 
Spilled)  

$4,060 $2,030 
$1,020 

$ 

  d. Available Technology to Prevent/Contain/Reduce/Eliminate 
Discharge  

$4,060 $2,030 
$1,020 

$ 

 Gravity Subtotal  $ 

3.  Degree of Culpability (Severity and Compliance 

History) (apply to violation(s)’ Amount or to the Violations 

and Frequency Subtotal) 

Low = (x) 0 
Moderate = 

(x) 0.25 
Serious = (x) 
0.5 

High = (x) 1.0 $ 

4.  History of Noncompliance (Compliance History) 

 
Order or decree in another media program within 
36 mo. before initial NOV 

Y N 
If yes, add lesser of 0.05 (x) Violations and Frequency 
Subtotal, or $5,000 

$ 

 
Order or decree in same media program within 36 
mo. before initial NOV 

Y N 
If yes, add 0.5 (x) Violations and Frequency Subtotal 
(for 1 order in 36 mo.) 

$ 

 Subtotal (Subtotal 1+2+3) $ 

5.  Economic Benefit of Noncompliance (Economic Benefit)  $ 

6.  Ability to Pay (based on information supplied by the responsible party) (Ability to Pay)   (                    ) 

Total Civil Charge/Civil Penalty  $                  

  

http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title62.1/chapter3.1/section62.1-44.34:20/
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Aboveground Storage Tanks Charge/Civil Penalty Worksheet 

Va. Code § 62.1-44.34:20(C)(5) – For violating or causing or permitting to be violated any other provision of Article 11, 

including most AST violations (9VAC25-91-10 et seq.).  Each day of violation of each requirement constitutes a separate 

offense.  Discharges of oil to state waters from an AST should be assessed using the Article 11 Worksheet for violations of 
Va. Code § 62.1-44.34:20(C)(3).   

Facility/Responsible Party Reg./Id. # NOV Date 

Data 

Nature and Degree of Harm 

Amount Serious Moderate Marginal 

1. Violations and Frequency    

  a. Corrective Action /Monitoring/Closure Report Not 
Submitted 

Y N $1,300  per phase $700 per phase $300 per phase  

  b. AST, pipeline, or facility: Installed, Upgraded, 
Equipped, or Closed Improperly (per violation) 

Y N $2,600 per tank $1,300 per tank $700 per tank  

  c. AST, pipeline, or facility Operated Improperly (per 
violation) 

Y N $1,300 per tank $700 per tank $300 per tank  

  d. Failure to implement any applicable oil spill 
contingency plan or  Failure to Execute an approved CAP 

Y N $2,600 $1,300 $700  

  e. Records not Available Y N $1,300 $700 $300  

  f. No Registration or inventory of ASTs Y N $1,300 per tank $  700 per tank $300 per tank  

  g. Other Violation Component Y N $1,300 $700 $300  

2.Violations and Frequency Total  

  a. Nature/Degree of Injury to Health, Welfare and Property $4,060 $2,030 $1,020 $ 

  b. Actions in Reporting/Containing/Cleaning Up the Discharge  $4,060 $2,030 $1,020 $ 

  c. Cost of Containment and Clean Up (Relative to Amount of Oil 
Spilled)  

$4,060 $2,030 
$1,020 

$ 

  d. Available Technology to Prevent/Contain/Reduce/Eliminate 
Discharge  

$4,060 $2,030 
$1,020 

$ 

 Gravity Subtotal  $ 

3.  Degree of Culpability (Severity and Compliance 

History) (apply to violation(s)’ Amount or to the Violations 

and Frequency Subtotal) 

Low = (x) 0 
Moderate = 

(x) 0.25 
Serious = (x) 
0.5 

High = (x) 1.0 $ 

4.  History of Noncompliance (Compliance History) 

 
Order or decree in another media program within 
36 mo. before initial NOV 

Y N 
If yes, add lesser of 0.05 (x) Violations and Frequency 
Subtotal, or $5,000 

$ 

 
Order or decree in same media program within 36 
mo. before initial NOV 

Y N 
If yes, add 0.5 (x) Violations and Frequency Subtotal 
(for 1 order in 36 mo.) 

$ 

 Subtotal (Subtotal 1+2+3) $ 

5.  Economic Benefit of Noncompliance (Economic Benefit)  $ 

6.  Ability to Pay (based on information supplied by the responsible party) (Ability to Pay)   (                    ) 

Total Civil Charge/Civil Penalty (may not exceed $32,500 per day per violation) $                  

 
  

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+62.1-44.34C20
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title9/agency25/chapter91/section10/
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+62.1-44.34C20
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Construction Stormwater 

 

The Construction Stormwater Program is a separate VPDES program authorized under 
the Stormwater Management Act, Article 2.3 of the State Water Control Law, Va. Code §§ 62.1-
44.15:24 through -44.15:50.31  This guidance addresses civil charges and penalties for DEQ 
enforcement actions for violations of state requirements.  Negotiated civil charges and civil 
penalties are authorized by Va. Code §§ 62.1-44.15:25(6) and 62.1-44.15:48(D)(2) for violations 
of the Stormwater Management Act, construction stormwater permit, Virginia Stormwater 
Management Program (VSMP) Regulations, or order of the Water Board or DEQ.32  The 
maximum civil charge or civil penalty is $32,500 per day for each violation.33 

 
Staff should calculate an appropriate civil charge or civil penalty using the Worksheet at 

the end of this section.  In calculating the appropriate civil charge, staff assess the gravity-based 
component of the charge by selecting the appropriate violation category and potential for harm 
category and multiplying the individual charge noted by the number of occurrences of the 
violation.  Each month of violation is treated as a separate occurrence unless otherwise noted.  
The Degree of Culpability, History of Noncompliance, Economic Benefit, and Ability to Pay 
categories are calculated as they are for other Water Programs. 

 

Violations of Construction Stormwater requirements often accompany violations of 
VWPP Program requirements (unauthorized impacts to wetlands and/or streams).  When VWPP 
violations result from unauthorized discharges of stormwater from land-disturbing activities, the 
VA Water Protection Program Civil Charge/Civil Penalty Worksheet should be used to calculate 
the appropriate civil charge or civil penalty for the VWPP violations,34 and the Construction 

                                                 
31 Effective July 1, 2017, HB 1250/SB 673 (2016) consolidates the stormwater and erosion and sediment control 
programs into the Virginia Erosion and Stormwater Management Act, Article 2.3 of the State Water Control Law. 
Code citations referenced in this guidance are those effective prior to that date.  Some authorities will be located at 
different sections of the Code beginning July 1, 2017.   
 
32 Note that this guidance is only applicable to land disturbing activities subject to regulation under the Stormwater 
Management Act.  Sites with land disturbances between 10,000 square feet and an acre, not part of a larger common 
plan of development or sale, are subject to different penalty authorities under the Erosion and Sediment Control Law 
(ESCL).  The Construction Stormwater Civil Charge/Civil Penalty Worksheet should not be used for violations at 
such sites. For violations of the ESCL, Regulations, and orders of the Board, the ESCL limits penalties to $1,000 per 
violation, up to $10,000 for a series of specified violations arising from the same operative set of facts.  Va. Code §§ 
62.1-44.15:54, 62.1-44.15:63.  For violations of court orders, the ESCL authorizes penalties up to $2,000 per 
violation.  Va. Code § 62.1-44.15:63.  Effective July 1, 2017, these penalty authorities will be amended by HB 
1250/SB 673 (2016). Note that for land disturbing activities subject to regulation under the Stormwater Management 
Act, erosion and sediment (E&S) control deficiencies typically constitute violations under both the Stormwater 
Management Act and the ESCL.  DEQ addresses such deficiencies with its greater penalty authority under the 
Stormwater Management Act, and staff should calculate the appropriate civil charge or civil penalty using the 
Worksheet at the end of this section.   
 
33 Va. Code §§ 62.1-44.15:25(6) and 62.1-44.15:48(D)(2) incorporate by reference the civil penalty amount from 
Va. Code § 62.1-44.15:48(A). 
 
34 The line for unauthorized impacts to wetlands and/or streams (line 1(i)) on the VA Water Protection Program 
Civil Charge/Civil Penalty Worksheet should be used when the unauthorized discharge of stormwater from land-
disturbing activities results in a measurable volume of sediment accumulation on the bed of the receiving wetland, 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+62.1-44.15C24
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+62.1-44.15C24
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+62.1-44.15C50
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+62.1-44.15C25
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+62.1-44.15C48
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title62.1/chapter3.1/section62.1-44.15:54/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title62.1/chapter3.1/section62.1-44.15:63/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title62.1/chapter3.1/section62.1-44.15:63/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title62.1/chapter3.1/section62.1-44.15:25/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title62.1/chapter3.1/section62.1-44.15:48/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title62.1/chapter3.1/section62.1-44.15:48/
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Stormwater Civil Charge/Civil Penalty Worksheet should be used to calculate the appropriate 
civil charge or civil penalty for the Construction Stormwater Violations. 

 
Civil penalties in § 10.1-1186 Proceedings and Formal Hearings are assessed as for other 

Water Programs, but use Construction Stormwater Program authorities and criteria.  

Potential for Harm Examples 

 

a. Potential for Harm for Unpermitted Discharge to State Waters or Discharge to 

State Waters Not in Compliance with a Permit  

 

DEQ staff follow the guidance applicable to other Water Programs in assessing the 
potential for harm for unpermitted discharge to state waters or discharge to state waters not in 
compliance with a permit (line 1.a(2)).  Examples of Serious violations for line 1.a(2) include, 
but are not limited to:  fish kills, loss of beneficial uses, and destruction of aquatic habitat. 
 

b. Potential for Harm for all other Violations 

 
In assessing the potential for harm for all violations other than unpermitted discharge to 

state waters or discharge to state waters not in compliance with a permit (line 1.a(2)), DEQ staff 
should first consider the size of the land disturbing activity as follows: 

 

• A Serious ranking generally should be used for large construction activities that result 
in land disturbance of greater than or equal to ten acres of total land area. 

• A Moderate ranking generally should be used for construction activities that result in 
land disturbance of greater than or equal to five acres and less than ten acres of total 
land area. 

• A Marginal ranking generally should be used for construction activities that result in 
land disturbance of less than five acres. 

Staff may adjust these potential for harm thresholds based on case-specific factors if they 
provide additional justification.  Factors that may impact the potential for harm ranking include, 
but are not limited to: proximity of the land disturbance to the receiving water; surrounding land 
use and cover types; site conditions such as permeability, erodibility, and slope; property 
degradation; impacts to aquatic and wildlife habitat; fish kills and other impacts to wildlife; 
unique aspects or critical habitats; location in a Chesapeake Bay Preservation Area, Resource 
Protection Area, or Resource Management Area; presence of endangered species; water quality; 
any applicable Total Maximum Daily Loads;  impacts to beneficial uses; pollutant content of 
stormwater; proximity to critical area; and extent of the deviation from the statutory, regulatory, 
and/or permit requirement. In assessing potential for harm for failure to install or to properly 

                                                                                                                                                             
stream, or other surface waters.  Unauthorized discharge of stormwater from land-disturbing activities includes both 
discharge without a required construction stormwater permit and discharge in violation of a construction stormwater 
permit.  The VWPP Worksheet should not be used when an unauthorized stormwater discharge results in turbidity 
of the receiving surface water without a measurable volume of sediment accumulation on the bed of the receiving 
water.  See, discussion below regarding use of line 1.a(2) on the Construction Stormwater Civil Charge/Civil 
Penalty Worksheet to address turbidity and other harm to state waters not amounting to a VWPP impact. 

http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title10.1/chapter11.1/section10.1-1186/
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install post construction stormwater management BMPs (line 1(a)(8)) and failure to install or to 
properly install or maintain E&S controls or other pollution prevention measures (line 1(a)(9)), 
additional factors that may impact the potential for harm ranking include the number of deficient 
BMPs, controls, or measures; drainage area of deficient BMPs or controls; and severity of 
deficiencies.   

Calculating the Civil Charge 

 

a. Unpermitted Discharge to State Waters or Discharge to State Waters not in 

Compliance with Permit 

 
Line 1.a(2) should be used where there is a discharge of stormwater from land-disturbing 

activities, which reaches state waters, either (1) from a site without required construction 
stormwater permit coverage, or (2) from a site with permit coverage where required treatment, 
controls, and pollution prevention measures are wholly or almost entirely lacking or deficient, 
such that stormwater discharged from the site has essentially bypassed treatment or control, or  
(3) from a site with permit coverage where stormwater discharge due to a violation of permit 
conditions results in a significant demonstrated environmental impact (e.g., a fish kill).  This line 
should not be used when stormwater discharge results in a measurable volume of sediment 
accumulation on the bed of the receiving water (in which case use line 1(i) on the VA Water 
Protection Program Civil Charge/Civil Penalty Worksheet for unauthorized impacts to wetlands 
and/or streams). 

 

b. Failure to Develop a SWPPP, Incomplete SWPPP, and Failure to Have an 

Approved E&S Control Plan or Agreement in Lieu of a E& S Control Plan 

 

In addressing stormwater pollution prevention plan (SWPPP) violations, failure to have 
an approved E&S control plan or agreement in lieu is addressed separately from the other 
SWPPP components as follows:   

• If a Responsible Party does not have an approved E&S control plan or agreement in lieu 
for a site, and no other components of a SWPPP have been developed both lines 1(a)(7) 
(failure to have an approved E&S control plan) and 1(a)(3) (failure to develop a SWPPP) 
should be used.   

• If a Responsible Party does not have approved E&S control plan or agreement in lieu for 
a site, and it has some, but not all, of the other components of a SWPPP (e.g., it has an 
approved stormwater management (SWM) plan, but not a pollution prevention plan) both 
lines 1(a)(7) (failure to have an approved E& S control plan) and 1(a)(4) (Incomplete 
SWPPP) should be used. 

• If a site has an approved E&S control plan, but does not have any other components of 
the SWPPP, line 1(a)(3) (failure to develop a SWPPP) should be used. 

• If a site has an approved E&S control plan and has some, but not all, of the other 
components of a SWPPP (e.g., it has an approved SWM plan, but not a pollution 
prevention plan), line 1(a)(4) (Incomplete SWPPP) should be used.  
 
In applying line 1(a)(4) (Incomplete SWPPP), the SWPPP should be considered as a 

whole, rather than assessing a separate occurrence for each SWPPP component that is missing.   
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c. Failure to Maintain SWPPP on site 

 

Line 1(a)(5) should be used when a Site has a SWPPP but it is not on site and notice of 
the SWPPP’s location is not posted.  This line should not be used in conjunction with line 1(a)(3) 
(failure to develop a SWPPP).  If the SWPPP is not on site because no SWPPP has been 
developed, line 1(a)(3) should be used, and not line 1(a)(5). Line 1(a)(5) should be used if there 
is no SWPPP onsite, and DEQ staff have insufficient evidence to support a finding of failure to 
develop a SWPPP. 

 

d. Failure to Install or to Properly Install Post-Construction Stormwater 

Management BMPs, and Failure to Install or to Properly Install or Maintain 

E&S Controls or Other Pollution Prevention Measures 
 

In determining the number of occurrences for Line 1(a)(8) and Line 1(a)(9), deficiencies 
with post construction management BMPs, E&S controls, and pollution prevention measures 
should each be assessed cumulatively for the entire site (rather than assessing a separate 
occurrence for each BMP, control, or measure).  For Line 1(a)(9), a separate occurrence should 
be assessed for each month of documented noncompliance.  Deficiencies with E&S controls and 
deficiencies with pollution prevention measures should be assessed separately.   
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Construction Stormwater Civil Charge/Civil Penalty Worksheet 

Va. Code §§ 62.1-44.15:20 through -44.15:50 

Facility/Responsible Party EA No. Per./Reg. No. NOV Date 

Data 

Potential for Harm 
(Environmental Harm and Severity) 

Amount Serious Moderate Marginal 

1. Gravity-based Component   

a.  Violations and Frequency (per month unless  noted)   $ (x) occurrences  

  (1) Failure to obtain permit coverage when required prior 
to commencing land disturbing activities 

Y N   5,200 (x) ___   2,600 (x) ___  900 (x) ___    

  (2) Unpermitted discharge to state waters or discharge to 
state waters not in compliance with a permit (per day 
or per event) 

Y N 13,000 (x) ___   6,500 (x) ___   1,300 (x) ___  

  (3) Failure to develop a stormwater pollution prevention 
plan (SWPPP) 

Y N   5,200 (x) ___   2,600 (x) ___      900 (x) ___    

  (4) Incomplete SWPPP other than E&S control plan 
requirements (e.g., lack of approved stormwater 
management (SWM) plan (or agreement in lieu of 
SWM plan) or pollution prevention plan)   

Y N   2,600 (x) ___   1,300 (x) ___      650 (x) ___   

  (5) Failure to maintain SWPPP on site (per event) Y N   1,300 (x) ___   700 (x) ___      300 (x) ___  

  (6) Failure to have approved annual standards and 
specifications when required 

Y N   5,200 (x) ___   2,600 (x) ___      900 (x) ___   

  (7) Failure to have an approved E&S control plan or 
agreement in lieu of a plan 

Y N   3,900 (x) ___   1,900 (x) ___      700 (x) ___  

  (8) Failure to install or to properly install post-construction 
stormwater management BMPs (per site)  

Y N   9,200 (x) ___   4,600 (x) ___      900 (x) ___    

  (9) Failure to install or to properly install or maintain 
E&SC controls or other pollution prevention measures 
(per month)  

Y N   5,200 (x) ___   2,600 (x) ___      900 (x) ___    

  (10) Failure to comply with approved annual standards and 
specifications 

Y N   5,200 (x) ___   2,600 (x) ___      900 (x) ___   

  (11) Failure to conduct or record inspections, or 
incomplete inspections  

Y N   2,600 (x) ___   1,300 (x) ___      650 (x) ___   

  (12) Other record or reporting violations  Y N   1,300  (x) ___      650 (x) ___      260 (x) ___   

  (13) Failure to implement permit and/or SWPPP 
requirements or to comply with SWM plan, E&S 
control plan, or other requirement, not otherwise 
specifically listed 

Y N   2,600 (x) ___   1,300 (x) ___      700 (x) ___   

  (14) Failure to submit notice of permit termination Y N   5,200 (x) ___   2,600 (x) ___      900 (x) ___   

  Subtotal 1.a – Violations and Frequency    

b. Aggravating Factors   

  (1) Compliance History    

 
Order or decree in another media program within 36 
months before initial NOV 

Y N 
If yes, add lesser of 0.05 * subtotal line 1.a, or 
$5,000 

 

 
Order or decree in same media program within 36 
months before initial NOV 

Y N If yes, add 0.5 * subtotal 1.a  

  (2) Degree of Culpability (applied to specific line 

amount(s) or subtotal line 1.a) 
Low = (x)*0 

Moderate = 
(x)*0.25 

Serious = 
(x)*0.5 

High = (x)*1.0  

  Subtotal 1 b. – Aggravating Factors  

  Subtotal - Gravity Based Component Subtotal (Add Subtotal #1.a and Subtotal #1.b)     

2. Economic Benefit of Noncompliance   

3. Ability to Pay (based on information supplied by the facility)   (            ) 

Total Civil Charge/Civil Penalty (may not exceed $32,500 per day per violation)   $              

http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title62.1/chapter3.1/section62.1-44.15:20/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title62.1/chapter3.1/section62.1-44.15:50/
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Groundwater Withdrawal Program 

 
Pursuant to VA Code § 62.1-270(A), “Any person who violates any provision of this 

chapter, or who fails, neglects or refuses to comply with any order of the Board pertaining to 
ground water, or order of a court, issued as herein provided, shall be subject to a civil penalty not 
to exceed $25,000 for each violation within the discretion of the court.  Each day of violation of 
each requirement shall constitute a separate offense.” 

 
 For the purposes of calculating an occurrence for an unpermitted withdrawal, each month 
of a withdrawal of 300,000 gallons or more should be considered a separate occurrence.     

Potential for Harm Examples 

 
 Volume of Withdrawals 

 

Serious, Moderate, and Marginal rankings are based on the annual water withdrawals of 
the withdrawal system and adjusted based on any specific environmental harm assessment.  In 
the case of unpermitted withdrawals, best professional judgment should be used to estimate the 
annual withdrawal amount where withdrawals were not metered or readings may be suspect.   

  
Environmental Harms 

 

Serious Classification 

 

• withdrawal systems permitted to withdraw 1 billion gallons or more annually; 

• exceeding annual permitted withdrawal limit greater than 10%; 

• unauthorized withdrawal or withdrawal exceedances at or near areas where there are; 
water levels estimated to be below critical surface levels; 

• failure to implement a Water Conservation Management Plan or mandatory 
conservation measures during a declared drought emergency; or 

• multiple well pump intakes set below the top of the aquifer. 
 

Moderate Classification 

 

• withdrawal systems permitted to withdraw less than 1 billion gallons but more than 
10 million gallons annually;  

• exceeding monthly permitted water withdrawal limits greater than 10%; or  

• Failing to implement a water conservation and management plan. 
 

Marginal Classification 

 

• In the absence of specific environmental harm or areas more sensitive to excess 
withdrawal, a Marginal ranking is to be used for withdrawal systems permitted to 
withdraw 10 million gallons or less annually. 

 

http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title62.1/chapter25/section62.1-270/
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Staff may adjust the potential for harm thresholds based on case-specific factors such as 

but are not limited to: proximity to other groundwater withdrawals, evidence of land subsidence, 
incidents/reports of well interference, coastal areas with high risk of saltwater intrusion/increased 
chloride zones, populated areas dependent on groundwater. 

 

Calculating the Civil Charge 

 
 

Line 1(c) through 1(e): When assessing a civil charge or civil penalty for these line items, chose 
the line item that corresponds with the longest reporting period only.  In the event that one or 
more of these line items is violated, staff should evaluate the potential for harm to determine 
whether its potential for harm should be increased.     
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Groundwater Withdrawal Civil Charge/Civil Penalty Worksheet 

Va. Code § 62.1-270(A) 
Facility/Responsible Party 

Data 

Reg./Id. # NOV Date 

Potential for Harm 
(Potential for Harm and Severity) 

Amount Serious Moderate Marginal 

1. Violations and Frequency  (Severity and 

Environmental Harm)       
 

 
$ (x) occurrences $ (x) occurrences $ (x) occurrences  

a. Unpermitted withdrawal  Y N 12,500 (x) ____   6,250 (x) ____  3,125 (x) ____  

b. Failure to mitigate  Y N 12,500 (x) ____   6,250 (x) ____  3,125 (x) ___  

c. Daily withdrawal limits (per day) Y N   1,680 (x) ____      840(x) ____     170 (x) ____  

d. Monthly withdrawal limits (per month) Y N   3,360 (x) ____   1,680 (x) ____     840 (x) ____  

e. Annual withdrawal limits  Y N   6,710 (x)  ____   3,360 (x)  ___  1,680 (x) ____  

f. Failure to implement a Water Conservation 
Management Plan 

Y N 5,200 (x) ___ 2,600 (x) ___ 1,300 (x) ___  

g. Failure to submit, complete  Record or 

reporting);  (per reporting period) 
Y N 3,100 (x) ___ 1,550 (x) ___ 840 (x) ___  

h. Failure to install and/or maintain equipment 
or other operational deficiencies 

Y N   3,360 (x) ____   1,680 (x) ____     840 (x) ____   

i. Other, Violation of Permit, Special 
Exceptions or Special Conditions NOT 
listed above (per event) 

Y N   3,360 (x) ____   1,680 (x) ____     840 (x) ____  

 Violations and Frequency Subtotal   

2. Adjustment Factors  (applied to Violations and Frequency Subtotal)  

a.   Compliance History (Compliance History)   

Order or decree in another media program 
within 36 mo. before initial NOV 

Y N 
If yes, add lesser of 0.05 (x) Violations and Frequency 
Subtotal, or $5,000  

Order or decree in same media program within 
36 mo. before initial NOV 

Y N 
If yes, add 0.5 (x) Violations and Frequency Subtotal 
(for 1 order in 36 mo.)  

 
b.  

Degree of Culpability (Severity and 

Environmental Harm) (apply to violation(s)’ 

Amount or to the Violations and Frequency 
Subtotal)       

Low = (x) 0 
Moderate = (x) 

0.25 
Serious = (x) 0.5 High = (x) 1.0  

 Adjustment Subtotal  

3. Economic Benefit of Noncompliance (Economic Benefit)    

4.Ability to Pay (based on information supplied by the responsible party) (Ability to Pay)  (                ) 

Total Civil Charge/Civil Penalty (may not exceed $25,000 per day per violation)   $   

 

 

  

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+62.1-270
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Land Protection and Remediation Programs 

 
The Virginia Waste Management Act at Va. Code § 10.1-1455(F) provides for negotiated 

civil charges in a consent order for past violations of the Act, any regulation or order of the 
Board or Director, or any permit condition.  The maximum civil charge is $32,500 for each 
violation, with each day being a separate violation.   

 
For this section, the Land Protection and Remediation Programs include the Solid Waste, 

the Hazardous Waste, and the Remediation Programs.  Remediation Consent Orders (RCOs) 
under the Remediation Program are not enforcement orders, but are based on the authority of the 
Virginia Waste Management Board under Va. Code § 10.1-1402(19) through (21) allows the 
Board to take actions to contain or clean-up sites where substances within the jurisdiction of the 
Board have been improperly managed.  The Board has authority to enforce RCOs as any other 
order. 

Potential for Harm Examples 

 
Risk of Exposure 

 
The risk of exposure involves both the probability of exposure and the potential 

consequences that may result from exposure.35  In considering the risk of exposure, emphasis is 
placed on the potential for harm posed by a violation as well as on whether harm actually 
occurred.  The facility may have no control over the presence or absence of direct harm.  Such 
facilities should not be rewarded with lower civil charges simply because the violations did not 
result in actual harm. 

 
Where a violation involves the improper management of waste, a civil charge should 

reflect the probability that the violation could have or has resulted in a release of waste or waste 
constituents or could have or has resulted in a threat of exposure to waste or waste constituents.  
Staff determine the likelihood of a release based on whether the integrity and/or stability of the 
waste management unit is likely to have been compromised.  Some factors to consider in making 
this determination are:  evidence of release (e.g., existing soil or groundwater contamination); 
evidence of waste mismanagement (e.g., rusting drums); and adequacy of provisions for 
detecting and preventing a release (e.g., monitoring equipment and inspection procedures).  A 
larger civil charge is presumptively appropriate where the violation significantly impairs the 
ability of the waste management system to prevent and/or allow detection of releases of waste 
and constituents. 

 
In calculating risk of exposure, staff weighs the harm that would result if the waste or 

constituents were in fact released to the environment.  Some factors to consider in making this 
determination are:  quantity and toxicity of wastes (potentially) released; likelihood or fact of 
transport by way of environmental media (e.g., air and groundwater); and existence, size, and 

                                                 
35  While the violation must have occurred in Virginia, the assessment of environmental harm may consider impacts 
both within and beyond the boundaries of the Commonwealth (e.g., impacts to a neighboring state’s groundwater). 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+10.1-1455
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+10.1-1402
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proximity of receptor populations (e.g., local residents, fish, and wildlife, including threatened or 
endangered species); and sensitive environmental media (e.g., surface waters and aquifers). 

 
There are some requirements of the Land Protection and Remediation Programs that, if 

violated, may not appear to give rise directly or immediately to a significant risk of 
contamination; nevertheless, they are necessary to assure protection of human health and the 
environment.  Examples of regulatory harm include, but are not limited to:  

 

• Failure to notify as a generator or transporter of hazardous waste and/or owner of a 
hazardous waste facility; 

• Failure to comply with financial assurance requirements; 

• Failure to submit a timely/adequate solid waste Part B application; 

• Failure to respond to an authorized information request; 

• Operating without a permit; 

• Failure to prepare or maintain a hazardous waste manifest; 

• Failure to install or conduct adequate groundwater monitoring; and  

• Failure to maintain records required to verify compliance. 
 

The following section provides examples for each of the classification levels.  The 
examples of violations for each classification are not used to determine whether a violation 
warrants formal enforcement.  Departures from the examples should be discussed with Central 
Office and documented in the Enforcement Recommendation and Plan. 

 
Serious Classification 

 

• In Hazardous Waste, failure to make a waste determination.  9 VAC 20-60-262, 
incorporating 40 CFR § 262.11.  It is possible that the waste is in fact hazardous, 
which could lead to improper management and disposal of the waste.       

• In Solid Waste, failure to take immediate steps to minimize, control, or eliminate 
a leachate seep, and to contain and properly manage the leachate at the source of 
the seep.  9 VAC 20-81-210(F).  Additionally, they are required to properly 
collect and dispose of any leachate outside the lined area permitted for waste 
disposal.  If a Responsible Party fails to properly address its leachate seeps as 
required by the regulation and does not control the seep or properly dispose of 
leachate outside the lined area there is a substantial likelihood that this leachate 
will adversely affect human health and the environment through potential soil, 
surface water and groundwater contamination, thus substantially increasing the 
likelihood of exposure.    

 
Moderate Classification 

 

• In Hazardous Waste, failure of owners/operators to inspect, at least weekly, container 
storage areas to ensure containers are not deteriorating or leaking (incorporated 40 
CFR § 264.174).  If a Responsible Party was inspecting storage areas twice monthly, 
this situation could present a significant risk of release of hazardous wastes to the 
environment.  Because some inspections were occurring, it is unlikely that a leak 

http://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title9/agency20/chapter60/section262/
http://www.ecfr.gov/cgi-bin/text-idx?SID=70bc365c2419fd3277e2b2f4f400c135&mc=true&node=se40.26.262_111&rgn=div8
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title9/agency20/chapter81/section210/
http://www.ecfr.gov/cgi-bin/text-idx?SID=70bc365c2419fd3277e2b2f4f400c135&mc=true&node=pt40.26.264&rgn=div5#sp40.26.264.i
http://www.ecfr.gov/cgi-bin/text-idx?SID=70bc365c2419fd3277e2b2f4f400c135&mc=true&node=pt40.26.264&rgn=div5#sp40.26.264.i
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would go completely undetected; however, the frequency of the inspections may 
allow a container to leak for up to two weeks unnoticed.  9 VAC 20-60-264, 
incorporating 40 CFR Part 264, Subpart I.   

• In Solid Waste, 9 VAC 20-81-140(B)(2) requires that the active working face of a 
sanitary landfill shall be kept as small as practicable. If the Responsible Party fails to 
keep the working face as small as practicable, there is an increased risk that vectors, 
fires, odors, blowing litter, and scavenging will not be controlled. 

 
Marginal Classification 

 

• In Hazardous Waste, failure of owners or operators of hazardous waste facilities to 
sign each manifest certification by hand.  If a facility was using manifests that had a 
type-written name where the signature should be, but the manifests were otherwise 
completed correctly and had other indicia that the information was correct, the 
likelihood of exposure and adverse effect on the implementation of the program may 
be relatively low.  9 VAC 20-60-262, incorporating 40 CFR § 262.23. 

• IN Solid Waste, failure to control blowing litter.  If blowing litter was observed on 
the landfill and the violation was not chronic or continuing, the marginal potential for 
harm classification would be appropriate.  9 VAC 20-81-140(B).  

 

Calculating the Civil Charge 

 
The categories are the numbered items (Categories 1 through 6) that make up the 

rows of the Worksheet.  Because there is no listing of violations on the Worksheet, a 
separate Worksheet is completed for each violation; however, staff may consolidate 
multiple violations that arise out of a single act or omission into a single violation for 
purposes of calculating civil charges.  Staff use the following procedures to determine the 
appropriate civil charge for each category listed on the Worksheet. 
 

  

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+9VAC20-60-264
http://www.ecfr.gov/cgi-bin/text-idx?SID=70bc365c2419fd3277e2b2f4f400c135&mc=true&node=sp40.26.264.i&rgn=div6
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title9/agency20/chapter81/section140/
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+9VAC20-60-262
http://www.ecfr.gov/cgi-bin/text-idx?tpl=/ecfrbrowse/Title40/40cfr262_main_02.tpl
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+9VAC20-81-140
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Extent of Deviation from Requirement Category 

 
The "extent of deviation" from Land Protection and Remediation Program requirements 

relates to the degree to which the violation departs from the requirement.  In determining the 
extent of the deviation, the following categories should be used:  

 

• Major:  Deviations from requirements of the statute, regulation, order, or permit to 
such an extent that most (or important aspects) of the requirements are not met, 
resulting in substantial noncompliance.  

• Moderate:  Discernible deviations from the requirements of the statute, regulation, 
order, or permit, but some of the requirements are implemented as intended.  

• Minor:  Deviations to a lesser extent from the statute, regulation, order, or permit, but 
most (or all important aspects) of the requirements are met.  

 
As one example, 9 VAC 20-60-265, incorporating 40 CFR § 265.112, requires that 

owners or operators of treatment, storage, and disposal facilities have a written closure plan.  
This plan must identify the steps necessary to completely or partially close the facility at any 
point during its intended operating life.  Possible violations of the requirements of this regulation 
range from having no closure plan at all to having a plan which is minimally inadequate (e.g., it 
omits one minor step in the procedures for cleaning and decontaminating the equipment while 
complying with the other requirements).  Such violations should be assigned to the "major" and 
"minor" categories, respectively.  A violation between these extremes might involve failure to 
modify a plan for increased decontamination activities as a result of a spill on-site and would be 
assigned to the moderate category.  

 
As another example, 9 VAC 20-60-265, incorporating 40 CFR § 265.14, requires that 

owners or operators of treatment, storage, and disposal facilities take reasonable care to keep 
unauthorized persons from entering the active portion of a facility where injury could occur.  
Generally, a physical barrier must be installed and any access routes controlled.  The range of 
potential noncompliance with the security requirements is broad.  Total noncompliance with 
regulatory requirements such as this would result in classification into the major category.  In 
contrast, the violation may consist of a small oversight such as failing to lock an access route on 
a single occasion.  With all other factors being equal, the less significant noncompliance should 
draw a smaller penalty assessment.  In the matrix system this is achieved by choosing the minor 
category. 

 
To determine the charge for a violation or consolidated violations, staff select the proper 

charge from the Worksheet corresponding to the Potential for Harm and the Extent of Deviation 
for the violation(s), and enter this number in the “Amount” column of the Worksheet. 
 
Multi-Day Component Category 

 
A multi-day factor for continuing violations may be applied by multiplying the number of 

days of continuing violations by the factor in the appropriate Worksheet column based on the 
Potential for Harm classification and the Extent of Deviation designation.  Where separate 
charges are not assessed for daily, documented violations, DEQ uses the Multi-Day Component 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+9VAC20-60-265
http://www.ecfr.gov/cgi-bin/text-idx?SID=70bc365c2419fd3277e2b2f4f400c135&mc=true&node=se40.26.265_112&rgn=div8
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+9VAC20-60-265
http://www.ecfr.gov/cgi-bin/text-idx?SID=70bc365c2419fd3277e2b2f4f400c135&mc=true&node=se40.26.265_114&rgn=div8
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Category for days 2 through 180 for continuing violations in appropriate cases.  This factor is 
generally applied when there is solid evidence to support continuing, discrete violations over an 
extended period.  For example, a multi-day component would normally be applied in cases 
where multiple, continuing releases occurred under the same circumstances.  The multi-day 
factor would not routinely be used for violations not related to discrete, continuing violations 
(e.g., operating without a permit).  Use of a multi-day component is presumed for days 2 through 
180 of all violations that cause a facility to be designated as SNC.  For purposes of enforcing an 
RCO, each day of noncompliance with the RCO is considered a “discrete violation.”  A violation 
of an RCO that is also a violation of another statute, regulation, permit condition or order, should 
be assessed as an RCO violation and a violation of that standard. 

 
Upon determining that a multi-day factor is appropriate, staff would then select the 

proper charge from the Worksheet, depending on the Potential for Harm and the Extent of 
Deviation.  Staff then multiply the appropriate multi-day factor by the number of days of 
continuing violations, and enter the subtotal in the “Amount” column of the Worksheet.  The 
multi-day component may be applied beyond 180 days in appropriate or egregious situations. 
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Land Protection/Remediation Civil Charge/Civil Penalty Worksheet 

Va. Code § 10.1-1455 

Permittee/Responsible Party  Permit/ID No. NOV Date 

Data 

Potential For Harm 

Amount      Violation No. ______ Serious Moderate Marginal 

1.  Extent of Deviation from Requirement   

  a.  Major Y N 
$26,000 
 

$9,000 
 

$2,600 
 

                  

  b.  Moderate Y N 
 $13,000 
 

 $6,000 
 

 $1,300 
 

                  

  c.  Minor Y N 
 $8,000 
 

 $3,500 
 

 $300 
 

                  

  d.  Subtotal                    

2. Multi-Day Component (n = number of days of continuing, discrete violations)  

  a. Does the multi-day component apply?  If no, go to #3.                                                                                       Y N       

  b. Major Y N $1,300 (x) n =   $700 (x) n =  $200 (x) n =                    

  c. Moderate Y N $1,000 (x) n =  $400 (x) n =  $150 (x) n =                    

  d. Minor Y N    $700 (x) n =   $200 (x) n =  $100 (x) n =                    

  e. Remedy Consent Order Y N     $250 (x) n =  $100 (x) n =  $50 (x) n =  

  e. Multi-day subtotal                    

3. Degree of Culpability  

  Culpability subtotal (apply to violation(s)’ Amount or to the sum 

of 1 and 2.) 
Low = (x) 0 

Moderate = (x) 
0.25 

Serious = (x) 
0.5 

High = (x) 1.0                   

4. Compliance History   

 
Order or decree in another media program within 36 
mo. before initial NOV 

Y N 
If yes, add lesser of 0.05 (x) sum of 1 and 2, 
or $5,000 

 

 
Order or decree in same media program within 36 mo. 
before initial NOV 

Y N 
If yes, add 0.5 (x) sum of 1 and 2 (for 1 order 
in 36 mo.) 

 

 RCO Compliance History Y N If yes, add 0.15 (x) sum of 1 and 2  

5. Economic Benefit of Noncompliance                   

6. Ability to Pay (based on information supplied by the owner/operator)   (                     ) 

Total Civil Charge/Civil Penalty (may not exceed $32,500 per day per violation)   $ 

 
  

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+10.1-1455
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Pollutant Discharge Elimination System and Pollution Abatement Program 

 
The State Water Control Law at Va. Code § 62.1-44.15(8d) provides for the payment of 

civil charges in consent orders for past violations.  This statutory section is the basis for 
negotiated civil charges in the Virginia Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (VPDES) 
Program, and Virginia Pollution Abatement (VPA) Permit Program.  With the exception of 
consent orders to prevent or minimize sanitary sewer overflows (SSOs),36 the maximum civil 
charge is $32,500 for each violation, with each day being a separate violation.37   

 

Potential for Harm Examples 

 
This section provides some examples of violations for each potential for harm 

classification.  These examples are not determinative of whether or not a violation warrants 
formal enforcement.  The evaluation of other examples of a specific potential for harm should be 
done in collaboration with the Central Office and documented in the Enforcement 
Recommendation Plan. 

 
Serious Classification 

 
Examples include, but are not limited to:  fish kills, effluent violations resulting in loss of 

beneficial uses, failure to report an unpermitted discharge, chronic refusal to apply for a permit, 
or perform a Toxics Management Plan (TMP).  

 
Moderate Classification 

   
Examples include, but are not limited to:  failure to perform annual or quarterly 

inspections as required by a VPDES general permit, failure to observe Best Management 
Practices (BMPs) in VPDES permits, chronic late submission of monitoring reports or permit 
application, or failure to follow an operation & maintenance manual. 

 
Marginal Classification 

 
Examples include, but are not limited to:  an improperly completed Discharge Monitoring 

Report (DMR) in any case where the DMR does not report permit violations that would be 
classified as Serious or Moderate; minor exceedence of VPDES permit effluent limits and of 
land application rates with no impact to ground or surface water. 

                                                 
36 Va. Code § 62.1-44.15(8f) establishes maximum civil charges for SSO violations in consent orders requiring SSO 
corrective action.  Any such order may impose civil penalties in amounts up to the maximum amount authorized in § 
309(g) of the Clean Water Act.  These limits are subject to change and the Code of Federal Regulations should be 
consulted 
 
37 The maximum amounts for consent civil charges are incorporated by reference from Va. Code § 62.1-44.32(a). 
 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+62.1-44.15
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+62.1-44.15
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+62.1-44.32
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Calculating the Civil Charge 

Gravity Based Component 

  
Staff identifies all of the violations being addressed in the gravity-based component 

section of the Worksheet and calculates the civil charge separately for each violation.  The 
gravity-based component covers two areas:  (a) violations and frequency; and (b) aggravating 
factors as multipliers.  Staff categorize the charges in the first area (violations and frequency) 
based on their Potential for Harm classification. 

 
The noncompliance period considered should generally be limited to six months prior to 

the date of referral.  Civil charges generally should not exceed $50,000 per month of 
noncompliance.  Under the gravity-based component staff mark “Y” or “N” for each violation 
that applies and determine the civil charge per violation based on the number of occurrences and 
the Potential for Harm classification.  The charge is then entered into the “Amount” column of 
the Worksheet. 
 

Violations and Frequency:  The violations generally fall into one of the following 
categories and the frequency is per month, unless otherwise noted: 

 
(1) Effluent Limits (per parameter per month, or longer, specified interval)38 
(2) Operational Deficiencies 
(3) Monitoring/Submissions 
(4) Spills/Unpermitted discharges (per day or per event) 
(5) Compliance/Construction/Payment Schedules 
(6) No Permit 
(7) Failure to Report (per event per month) 
(8) BMPs not installed or maintained 
(9) Failure to record inspections (storm water) 
(10) No storm water pollution prevention plan (SWPPP) (storm water) 
(11) Incomplete SWPPP or SWPPP not on site (per event) (storm water) 
(12) Biosolids transport violation (per vehicle or per event)39 
(13) Other 

 
Staff should mark the data column for each type of violation and apply the appropriate 

multiplier in the Worksheet, depending on the number of occurrences and whether the violation 
is Serious, Moderate, or Marginal.  The charge is then entered into the “Amount” column of the 
Worksheet. 

 

                                                 
38 For purposes of penalty calculation, permit conditions with the same limits for daily, weekly, and monthly 
concentrations of the same pollutant are considered one parameter. 
 
39 If the biosolids transport violation also causes a discharge to state waters, use both items (4) and (12). 
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Aggravating Factors as Multipliers:  After calculating charges for each violation 
category, staff add the charges to arrive at a subtotal.  Aggravating factors are then considered 
and added as appropriate.  Aggravating factors are:   

 

• Major Facility:  If a VPDES facility is classified as "major" using EPA criteria, this 
factor applies. 

 
Flow Reduction Factor:  The gravity-based component total may be reduced for small 

sewage treatment plants (STPs).  The reduction is discretionary and is based on good faith efforts 
to comply.  The factor relies on actual average daily STP flow40, as follows: 

 

FLOW REDUCTION FACTOR 

Average Daily Flow (gpd) Percent Reduction 

9,999 or less 50 

10,000 – 29,999 30 

30,000 – 99,999 10 

100,000 and above No Reduction 

 
If the reduction is being considered for a non-municipal STP, staff should ensure that the 

facility or parent company employs less than 100 individuals.  In using the flow reduction factor, 
staff multiply the gravity-based component total by the appropriate percentage figure (e.g., for a 
facility with less than 5,000 gpd average daily flow, the reduction is 50%) to obtain the reduction 
amount.  If the permit flow is monthly, divide by 30.4 to get the gpd.  Using the appropriate 
Worksheet, staff subtract the reduction amount from the gravity-based component total to obtain 
the flow-adjusted gravity-based component total. 

 

  

                                                 
40 “Flow" means monthly average daily flow from the facility for the month in which the violation(s) occurred. 
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VPDES Civil Charge/Civil Penalty Worksheet 

Va. Code § 62.1-44.15 
(For Violations Other Than VWPP, Article 9,  Article 11, Surface Water/Ground Water Withdrawal, AFO/Poultry and Const. Stormwater Programs) 

Facility/Responsible Party EA No. Per./Reg. No. NOV Date 

Data 

Potential for Harm 

Amount Serious Moderate Marginal 

1. Gravity-based Component   

a.  Violations and Frequency (per month unless otherwise 
noted) 

  
$ (x) 
occurrences 

$ (x) 
occurrences 

$ (x) 
occurrences 

 

  (1) Effluent Limits (per parameter per month, or longer, 
specified interval) 

Y N   1,300 (x) ___      700 (x) ___    300 (x) ___   

  (2) Operational Deficiencies Y N   1,300 (x) ___      700 (x) ___    300 (x) ___   

  (3) Monitoring/Submissions Y N   1,300 (x) ___      700 (x) ___    300 (x) ___    

  (4) Spills/Unpermitted Discharge (per day or per event).  
Discharges of oil must be assessed using the Article 11 
worksheet.   

Y N 13,000 (x) ___   6,500 (x) ___   1,300 (x) ___    

  (5) Compliance/Construction/Payment Schedules Y N   1,300 (x) ___      700 (x) ___     300 (x) ___   

  (6) No Permit Y N   5,200 (x) ___   2,600 (x) ___     900 (x) ___    

  (7) Failure to Report (per event per month) Y N 13,000 (x) ___   6,500 (x) ___   1,300 (x) ___    

  (8) BMPs not installed or maintained (stormwater) Y N   6,500 (x) ___   2,600 (x) ___   1,300 (x) ___   

  (9) Failure to record inspections (stormwater) Y N   1,300 (x) ___      650 (x) ___      260 (x) ___    

  (10) No SWPPP (per event) (storm water) Y N 9,100 (x) ___   5,200 (x) ___   1,300 (x) ___   

  (11) Incomplete SWPPP or SWPPP not on site (per event) 
(storm water) 

Y N   2,600 (x) ___   1,300 (x) ___      650 (x) ___   

  (12)Biosolids transport violation (per vehicle or per event) Y N   6,500 (x) ___ 2,600 (x) ___   1,300 (x) ___  

  (13) Other Y N  2,600 (x) ___   1,300 (x) ___      700 (x) ___   

  Subtotal 1.a – Violations and Frequency    

b. Aggravating Factors     

  (1) Major Facility Y N Subtotal #1.a (x) 0.4   

  (2) Compliance History    

 
Order or decree in another media program within 36 mo. 
before initial NOV 

Y N 
If yes, add lesser of 0.05 (x) subtotal line 1.a, or 
$5,000 

 

 
Order or decree in same media program within 36 mo. 
before initial NOV 

Y N 
If yes, add 0.5 (x) subtotal line 1.a (for 1 order 
in 36 mo.) 

 

  (3) Degree of Culpability (applied to specific line amount(s) 

or subtotal line 1.a) 
Low = (x) 0 

Moderate = (x)  
0.25 

Serious = (x) 
0.5 

High = (x) 1.0  

  Subtotal 1 b. – Aggravating Factors  

  Subtotal - Gravity Based Component Subtotal (Add Subtotal #1.a and Subtotal #1.b)     

c. Flow Reduction Factor (STP VPDES only) (discretionary 

based on good faith efforts to comply) 
Y N % Reduction  

Reduction 
Amount 

  (                    ) 

 
 Flow-Adjusted Gravity Based Component Subtotal (Subtract Subtotal 1.c from Gravity Based Component 

Subtotal) 
 

2. Economic Benefit of Noncompliance   

3. Ability to Pay (based on information supplied by the facility)   (                    ) 

Total Civil Charge/Civil Penalty (may not exceed $32,500 per day per violation) (SSO maximum civil subject 

to change.  Refer to the CFR).  
 $              

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+62.1-44.15
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+62.1-44.15
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Water Protection Permit Program 

Wetland and Stream Impacts 

Potential for Harm Examples 

 
In assessing the potential for harm for this line DEQ staff should first consider the 

relative level of impacts reflected by the permitting thresholds.  For example, discharges or 
impacts that would require an individual permit are considered serious, impacts that would have 
required a full general permit requiring compensation are considered moderate, and impacts that 
would have required reporting-only are considered marginal.  

 
If staff believe that these thresholds should be adjusted staff should provide additional 

justification by considering the following factors:   classification of a wetland type (e.g., PFO, 
PSS, PEM)41; surrounding land use and cover types; nutrient, sediment, and pollutant trapping 
ability; flood control and flood storage capacity, and flood flow synchronization; erosion control 
and shoreline stabilization; groundwater recharge and discharge; aquatic and wildlife habitat; 
unique aspects or critical habitats; water quality; and recreation, education, aesthetics, or other 
beneficial uses. 42  
  

Calculating the Civil Charge 

 

The Virginia Water Protection Permit (VWPP) Program is authorized under Va. Code §§ 
62.1-44.15:20 through -44.15:23.  Negotiated civil charges for Virginia Water Protection Permit 
(VWPP) violations are authorized by Va. Code § 62.1-44.15(8d). The maximum penalty is 
$32,500 per day for each violation.43   

 
This section addresses wetland excavation; draining, altering or degrading; filling or 

dumping; permanent flooding or impounding; new activities that cause significant alteration or 
degradation of existing wetland acreage or functions; or alteration of the properties of state 
waters. 

 
Civil charges and civil penalties for VWPP violations are assessed per occurrence.  An 

occurrence is defined as a separate, identifiable, discrete act that results in a discharge of a 
pollutant to state waters.  Separate civil charges are usually assessed:  (1) for total impacts to 
streams and (2) for total impacts to wetlands, based on the potential for harm to the environment 
and the extent of deviation from regulatory program.  However, each separate NOV marks a new 
occurrence for purposes of determining wetlands and streams violations.  Wetland type is not 
considered when determining the number of occurrences, unless the different wetland types were 

                                                 
41 Under the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service Wetland Classification System, wetlands are of two basic types: coastal 
(also known as tidal or estuarine wetlands) and inland, also known as non-tidal, freshwater, or palustrine wetlands 
which have three classes: palustrine emergent (PEM), palustrine scrub-shrub, (PSS), and palustrine forested (PFO). 
 
42 Va. Water Protection Functional Loss Criteria.  See, 9 VAC 25-210-80(B)(1)(k)(1) and 9 VAC 25-210-116(A). 

43 Va. Code § 62.1-44.15 incorporates by reference the civil charge amount from Va. Code § 62.1-44.32. 
 

http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?000+cod+62.1-44.15C20
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?000+cod+62.1-44.15C20
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?000+cod+62.1-44.15C23
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title62.1/chapter3.1/section62.1-44.15/
http://www.water.ncsu.edu/watershedss/info/wetlands/class.html
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+9VAC25-210-80
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+9VAC25-210-116
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title62.1/chapter3.1/section62.1-44.15/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title62.1/chapter3.1/section62.1-44.32/
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subject to separate discharges of pollutants in a new NOV.  Also, an individual stream reach is 
not considered when determining the number of occurrences, unless there have been separate 
discharges affecting the same or differing portions of the stream(s) in a new NOV. 

 
In assessing a civil charge for the unauthorized discharge of pollutants to state waters, 

three elements will be considered and evaluated individually: 
 

• Discharges to wetlands 

• Discharges to streams 

• New NOVs alleging:  (1) discharges discovered since a prior inspection; (2) 
continuing and ongoing discharges that took place over days, weeks, or months; 
or (3) erosion and sediment (E&S) control violations that have not been abated. 
 

Line 1(a): Failure to obtain coverage under an Individual Permit (IP) or a General Permit 
(GP) prior to commencing activity - This line should be used to assess the effect on, and the 
extent of the deviation from, the regulatory requirements, e.g. avoiding and circumventing the 
permitting and evaluative process which ensures the appropriate avoidance and minimization 
options and alternative sites were fully explored, and any areas that could not be avoided were 
fully compensated for in a consistent and manner to ensure no net loss. 

 

Description Serious Moderate Marginal 

Impacts to more than two (2) acres of 
wetlands or open water or more than 1,500 
linear feet (LF) of stream 

 

X 
  

Impacts from 1/10 to two (2) acres of 
wetlands or open water or from 301 to 
1,500 LF of stream 

  

X 
 

Impact to less than 1/10 acre of wetlands or 
open water or up to 300 LF of stream. 

   
X 

 
Line 1(b): Exceeding coverage authorized under an IP or GP – This line should be used 

when a Responsible Party has exceeded the impacts covered by the type of permit or registration 
it holds.  This line should be used to assess the extent of the deviation from the regulatory 
requirements.  The potential for harm for this line is assessed as follows: 

 

Description Serious Moderate Marginal 

Exceedances that: 
1) Cause a project to move from 
requiring a GP to an IP (i.e., total project 
impacts now exceed 2 acres of wetlands or 
open water or 1,500 LF of streams); or  
2) Exceed permitted impacts by 2 or 
more acres of wetlands or open water, or 
1,500 or more LF of stream. 

 

X 
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Exceedences that: 
1) Cause a project to move from 
requiring a reporting-only general permit to 
a full general permit (i.e., total project 
impacts now exceed 0.10 acre of wetlands 
or open water, or 300 LF of streams.); or 
2) Require a major modification of an 
individual permit (i.e., changes that 
cumulatively exceed 0.25 acre but less than 
2.0 acres of wetlands/open water, or that 
cumulatively exceed 100 LF but less than 
1,500 LF of stream); or 
3) Require an additional GP or 
reauthorization of a GP.  This would be 
change(s) that cumulatively exceed 0.25 
acre of wetlands/open water or 100 LF. 

  

X 
 

Exceedances that would be equivalent to or 
less than a minor modification of an IP 
under 9 VAC 25-210-180(F) or a Notice of 
Planned Change under 9 VAC 25-690-
80(B).  Thresholds are cumulative increases 
in acreage of wetland or open water impacts 
up to 0.25 acre and cumulative increases in 
stream bed impacts up to 100 LF. 

   

X 

 
Line 1(c): Failure to perform or complete compensatory mitigation - This line should be 

used to capture the failure to perform or complete compensation requirements required by the 
permit, e.g. purchase of wetland or stream credits, preservation, restoration or enhancement, or 
wetland creation.   

 
Line 1(d): Failure to perform or complete corrective action relative to unsuccessful 

compensation (after the monitoring period has begun) - This line should be used when the 
Responsible Party fails to implement corrective action to ensure compensation meets no net loss. 

 
Line 1(e): Failure to conduct compensation monitoring or water quality monitoring - This 

line should be used when the Responsible Party fails to perform the affirmative act of monitoring 
or the totality of the circumstances indicates that the monitoring has not been conducted.  Not to 
be used in place of 1(l) but in conjunction with it. 

 
Line 1(f): Failure to conduct construction monitoring - See, 1(e) above. 

 
Line 1(g): Failure to submit preconstruction notice. 

 
Line 1(h): Failure to submit plans and specifications prior to commencing construction 

 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+9VAC25-210-180
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+9VAC25-690-80
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+9VAC25-690-80
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Line 1(i): Unauthorized impacts to wetlands and/or streams (wetlands and streams will be 
assessed separately). 
 

i. This line should be used when the Responsible Party has discharged 
pollutants to state waters (wetlands or streams) per occurrence, and should 
be used in conjunction with 1(a) or 1(b). 

ii. Where the discharge of pollutants is a result of, but not limited to, the 
failure of E&S controls and unattenuated stormwater, failure to stabilize 
disturbed lands, or the failure and/or inadequate use of BMP’s, this 
violation should be used without assessing line 1(a) or line 1(b).   
 

Line 1(j): Failure to comply with permit special conditions - This line should be used 
when the Responsible Party has failed to comply with permit special conditions including, but 
not limited to, storm water management; E&S controls; flagging non-impact areas; restoring 
temporary impacts; working in the dry time-of-year restrictions; maintain minimum instream 
flow; operating equipment in streams; discharge of concrete to waters; etc. 
 

Line 1(k): Failure to submit a complete, final compensation plan –Not to be used with 
1(h) or 1(l). 

 
Line 1(l): Records or reporting violations - This line should be used, but is not limited to, 

when the RP has failed to:  record easements (other than 1(c)); certify reports; submit complete 
construction, mitigation, or water quality monitoring reports; submit as-built surveys; notify of 
permit transfer, etc. 
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VWPP Civil Charge/Civil Penalty Worksheet 

Va. Code §§ 62.1-44.15:20 through -44.15:23 

Permittee/Responsible Party 

Data 

Reg. No. Date 

Potential for Harm 

(Environmental Harm and Severity) 

Amount Serious Moderate Marginal 

1.  Gravity Factors – Surface Water and Wetlands (Severity and Environmental Harm)  

                Violations and Frequency        $ (x) occurrences $ (x) occurrences $ (x) occurrences (Comments) 

a. Failure to obtain coverage under an Individual 
Permit (IP) or a General Permit (GP) prior to 
commencing activity 

Y N 6,500 (x) ___ 2,600 (x) ___ 1,300 (x) ___ 
 

b. Exceeding coverage authorized under an IP or 
GP  

Y N 6,500 (x) ___ 2,600 (x) ___ 1,300 (x) ___ 
 

c. Failure to perform or complete compensatory 
mitigation   

Y N 26,000 (x) ___ 13,000 (x) ___ 6,500 (x) ___ 
 

d. Failure to perform or complete corrective action 
relative to unsuccessful compensation. 

Y N 13,000 (x) ___ 6,500 (x) ___ 2,600 (x) ___ 
 

e. Failure to conduct compensation  monitoring or 
water quality monitoring 

Y N 6,500 (x) ___ 2,600 (x) ___ 1,300 (x) ___ 
 

f. Failure to conduct construction monitoring  Y N 6,500 (x) ___ 2,600 (x) ___ 1,300 (x) ___  

g. Failure to submit preconstruction notice  Y N 13,000 (x) ___ 6,500 (x) ___ 2,600 (x) ___  

h. Failure to submit plans and specifications prior 
to commencing construction 

Y N 6,500 (x) ___ 2,600 (x) ___ 1,300 (x) ___ 
 

i. Unauthorized impacts to wetlands and/or streams 
(wetlands and streams will be assessed 
separately) 

Y N 26,000 (x) ___ 13,000 (x) ___ 6,500 (x) ___ 
 

j. Failure to comply with permit special conditions  Y N 6,500 (x) ___ 2,600 (x) ___ 1,300 (x) ___  

k. Failure to submit a complete, final 
compensation plan  

Y N 6,500 (x) ___ 2,600 (x) ___ 1,300(x) ___ 
 

l. Record or reporting violations (not otherwise 
specified) 

Y N 2,600 (x) ___ 1,300 (x) ___ 700 (x) ___ 
 

 
 

  

 Violations and Frequency Subtotal  

3. Aggravating Factors (Severity and Compliance History)  

a History of Noncompliance   

 
Order or decree in another media program 
within 36 mo. before initial NOV 

Y N 
If yes, add lesser of 0.05 (x) Violations and Frequency 
Subtotal, or $5,000 

 

 
Order or decree in same media program 
within 36 mo. before initial NOV 

Y N 
If yes, add 0.5 (x) Violations and Frequency Subtotal (for 1 
order in 36 mo.) 

 

b Degree of Culpability(apply to violation(s)’ 

Amount or to the Violations and Frequency 

Subtotal)) 
Low = (x) 0 

Moderate = 
(x) 0.25 

Serious = (x) 
0.5 

High = (x) 1.0  

 Aggravating Factor Subtotal  

 Gravity-Based Component Subtotal  (1+2)  

4. Economic Benefit of Noncompliance (Economic Benefit)   

5. Ability to Pay (Ability to Pay)    (                     ) 

Total Civil Charge/Civil Penalty (may not exceed $32,500 per day per violation) $               

http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?000+cod+62.1-44.15C20
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+62.1-44.15C23
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Surface water Withdrawal Program
44

 

 
 The Virginia Water Protection Permit Program should pursue violations of Va. Code § 
62.1-44.15:22 and 9 VAC 25-210-10 et seq. that involves the unauthorized withdrawal of surface 
water and other conditions necessary to protect beneficial uses.   

Potential for Harm Examples 

 
Staff may adjust the potential for harm thresholds based on case-specific factors such as 

but are not limited to: proximity to other surface water withdrawals, potential impacts to 
downstream uses; impacts to aquatic and wildlife habitat; fish kills and other impacts to wildlife; 
unique aspects or critical habitats; water quality; any applicable Total Maximum Daily Loads; or 
impacts to beneficial uses. 
 

Serious Classification 

 

• exceeding(daily, monthly, or annual)  permitted or excluded water withdrawal limits 
greater than 25%; 

• unauthorized Withdrawal comprises greater than 25% of instream flow at the intake; 

• failure to implement a Water Conservation Management Plan or mandatory 
conservation measures during a declared drought emergency; or 

• exceeding withdrawal limits or failing to meet instream flow requirements or 
impoundment releases in streams resulting in impacts to wildlife. 

 

Moderate Classification 
 

• exceeding (daily, monthly, or annual) permitted or excluded water withdrawal limits 
between 10% and 25%  

• Unauthorized Withdrawal comprises between 10%  and 25% percent of instream flow 
at the intake 

• Failing to implement a drought management plan 

• Chronic late submission of monitoring reports or permit application, or failure to 
follow an operation & maintenance manual. 

 

Marginal Classification 

 

• Exceeding (daily, monthly, or annual) permitted or excluded water withdrawal limits 
by less than 10%  

• Unauthorized Withdrawal comprises less than 10% of the instream flow at the intake 

                                                 
44 Surfacewater withdrawals in violation of the Virginia Water Protection Permit Program should not be 

confused with violations involving Surface Water Management Areas.  Violations of this section of the State water 
control law are to be assessed pursuant to that pursuant to VA Code § 62.1-252(A) which states that, “Any person 
who violates any provision of this chapter shall be subject to a civil penalty not to exceed $1,000 for each violation.  
Each day of violation shall constitute a separate offense.” 
 

http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title62.1/chapter3.1/section62.1-44.15:22/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title9/agency25/chapter210/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title62.1/chapter24/section62.1-252/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title62.1/chapter24/section62.1-252/
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Civil Charge Calculations 

 
Line 1(a), Unpermitted Withdrawal:  An occurrence is defined by the regulation to be 

per day or per month based on the type of the withdrawal and location. 
 

Line 1(e) through 1(g): Exceeding a Withdrawal Limit: When assessing a civil charge 
or civil penalty for these line items, chose the line item that corresponds with the longest 
reporting period only.  In the event that one or more of these line items is violated, staff should 
evaluate the potential for harm to determine whether its potential for harm should be increased.   
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Surface water Withdrawal Civil Charge/Civil Penalty Worksheet 

Va. Code §§ 62.1-44.15:20 through -44.15:23 

Permittee/Responsible Party 

Data 

Reg. No. Date 

Potential for Harm 
(Environmental Harm and Severity) 

Amount Serious Moderate Marginal 

1. Gravity Factors – Surface water Withdrawal  (Severity and Environmental Harm)  

                Violations and Frequency        
$ (x) 

occurrences 
$ (x) occurrences $ (x) occurrences 

 

a. Unpermitted withdrawal  Y N 13,000 (x) __ 6,500 (x) ___ 3,250 (x) ___  

b. Failure to mitigate Y N 13,000 (x) __ 6,500 (x) ___ 3,250 (x) ___  

c. Failure to implement a Water Conservation 

Management Plan 
Y N 5,200 (x) ___ 2,600 (x) ___ 1,300 (x) ___  

d. Failure to submit a permit application Y N 5,200 (x) ___ 2,600 (x) ___ 1,300 (x) ___  

e. Exceedence of withdrawal limit (Daily) Y N 1,300 (x) ___  700 (x) ___ 100 (x) ___  

f. Exceedence of withdrawal limit (Monthly) Y N 2,600 (x) ___ 1,300 (x) ___ 700 (x) ___  

g. Exceedence of withdrawal limit (Annual)  Y N 5,200 (x) ___ 2,600 (x) ___ 1,300 (x) ___  

h. Failure to submit, complete  Record or 

reporting);  (Failure to maintain and/or 

submit are separate occurrences) 

Y N 2,600 (x) ___ 1,300 (x) ___ 700 (x) ___  

i. Failure to report (requested application, 

water audit, new well, etc)  (per event) 
Y N 2,600 (x) ___ 1,300 (x) ___ 700 (x) ___  

j. Failure to install and/or maintain equipment 

or other operational deficiencies 
Y N 2,600 (x) ___ 1,300 (x) ___    700 (x) ___  

k. Other Violations; Permit, Special 

Exceptions, or Special Conditions NOT 

listed  above (per event) 

Y N 2,600 (x) ___ 1,300 (x) ___ 700 (x) ___  

 Violations and Frequency Subtotal  

3. Aggravating Factors (Severity and Compliance History)  

a History of Noncompliance   

 

Order or decree in another media 

program within 36 mo. before initial 

NOV 

Y N 
If yes, add lesser of 0.05 (x) Violations and Frequency 

Subtotal, or $5,000 
 

 
Order or decree in same media program 

within 36 mo. before initial NOV 
Y N 

If yes, add 0.5 (x) Violations and Frequency Subtotal 

(for 1 order in 36 mo.) 
 

b Degree of Culpability(apply to violation(s)’ 

Amount or to the Violations and Frequency 

Subtotal)) 

Low = (x) 0 
Moderate = 

(x) 0.25 

Serious = 

(x) 0.5 
High = (x) 1.0  

 Aggravating Factor Subtotal  

 Gravity-Based Component Subtotal  (1+2)  

4. Economic Benefit of Noncompliance (Economic Benefit)   

5. Ability to Pay (Ability to Pay)    (                     ) 

Total Civil Charge/Civil Penalty (may not exceed $32,500 per day per violation);  a civil penalty not to exceed 

$1,000 for each violation in a designated Surface Water Management Area.   
$               

http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?000+cod+62.1-44.15C20
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+62.1-44.15C23
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Appendix A 

Civil Charge/Civil Penalty Adjustment form 

(FOIA-exempt until after a proposed sanction resulting from the investigation has been proposed to the 

Director of the agency (i.e., public notice (Water or Waste) or presentation for DEQ execution (Air)) 

 

Facility/RP 

 

 

Per./Reg. No. Enforcement 

Action No. 

NOV Date 

 Data Amount 

Total Civil Charge/Civil Penalty from Worksheet(s)  

1.  Adjustments before Economic Benefit of Noncompliance  

a. Cooperativeness/Quick Settlement  
 

Y N  

b. Promptness of Injunctive Response/Good Faith Effort 
to Comply 

Y N  

c. (Air Programs only) – Statutory Judicial 

Considerations (from Chapter 4) 

Y N  

d. (Water and Land Protection/Remediation 

Programs only) – Size/Type/Sophistication  of the 

Owner/Operator 

Y N  

2.  Adjustments to Worksheet Total   

a. Problems of Proof  Y N  

b. Impacts or Threat of Impacts (or Lack Thereof) to 
Human Health or the Environment  

Y N  

c. Precedential Value of the Case Y N  

d. Probability of Meaningful Recovery of a Civil 
Charge/Civil Penalty  

Y N  

e. Litigation Potential  Y N  

3.  Total Adjustments   

4.  Increase for continuing or uncorrected violations, 

economic benefit from delay 

Y N  

5.  Adjusted Total Civil Charge/Civil Penalty  

 
Justification: 

 
 

Prepared by:  __________  Date ______ 
 

DE Concurrence:  __________  Date ______ 
(signature, email, or ECM Workflow) 

(needed only if reduction >30% of gravity-based amount) 
 

Approved by:  __________  Date ______ 
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